Hong Kong Disneyland

Hi Lill, i'm going for 7nights, hence through agent will be too ex for the hotel stay, furthermore they sell only double room. I have 3 adults 2 children gg along. Due to 2 of the tickets are mileage claimed by SQ, Initially had booked mid-nov but now clashes w kid's pri sch orientation, forced to change date and by then diff to clinch any good dates. Then the balance tickets need to be purchased and thinking of making use of the 2 to travel SQ promo. had tried other airlines, including budget airlines, nothing cheaper than the SQ fare. Due to air-tix already cost a bomb, need to save abit on the accommodation for the places of interest, like disneyland, ocean park, etc for the children and shopping. The hotel during this period is extremely expensive esp you need to cater all into a room which means a big room. Someone had recommended me the hostel, I believe most of the time will be out of the lodging in those themeparks or places of visit... thinking of giving the hostel a try to save lodging cost.

hi Lill, some recommended Dragon Hostel, which is in Mongkok, convenient, clean and safe. Hostel is something like what we used to see in HK series whereby they have many rooms for rent.... I took the family one which consist of 1 double and 2 single beds, a private bathroom, at HK$440/nite. Of cos they are not of comparison to hotels for I believe they are much smaller than hotel rooms. something like a master bedroom w toilet size in our SIN 3-room flat. My main concern is about security, hygiene and hot shower available or not... bec this time round is with children. If only we adults stay anywhere is ok. Therefore I had been pondering hotel or hostel for the kids. Then my hubby said it will be good to let the kids have a taste of the real HK living, Otherwise they are having too good life in SIN and tend to take things for granted in SIN. Furthermore we won't be staying whole day in the room unless it rains. Even with a 3-star hotel, the room aren't much spacious to do anything. Maybe you can go to their web to have alook and give me your views.
http://www.dragonhostel.com/

Had contacted the hostel in-charge, there is hot water heater for shower individually installed in the bathroom. So ease my worries....

Had heard of Gan Eng Seng Pri. My son is going to Sembawang Pri due to i stay in Sembawang.

Hi natellehcim, just to share with you..I'm going with hubby and 2kids..originally looking at hotels aroung Mongkok. But with the 2 kids, I'm looking at additional bed for my elder one. The travel agency then recc me L'Hotel at Nina Tower. Its a new hotel with 2 queen bed at each room. After comparing the price with Mongkok Hotel (huge difference), where rooms is smaller and have to take additional bed, I decide to take the L'Hotel, its a very nice hotel, 4/5 stars, cant remember. Can check out their website. As we are with kids, more concerned regarding hygiene. Its located at Tsuen Wan area. It will be 30mins of MTR ride to TST area. Of course, it depends on what you are looking for..

natellehcim

when's china's golden week?

if u dun mind, jetstar havin 50% disct promo 4 travel till 15 oct. bought 4 adult n 2 child txs 4 $2k+

<font color="aa00aa">mummies:
do you know how much the buffet costs at Enchanted Garden at Disneyland?

Thanks</font>

Hi applestruz, thanks for sharing. Had gone to L'Hotel's web and indeed it looks great! Understand that it is in the convention center area, any 'activites' around the area during the eveing? Or it becomes very quiet, unlike the Kowloon area? Distance is not an issue, the MTR travelling shall be something like TPY to City Hall distance.

Hi JH, the china's golden week is our Children's Day week. 1st Oct is their national day, if I'm not wrong. China used to have 2 wks' break but guess now becoming 1 wk.. Hence during this period, many will starts travelling and most will go asia including HK. BTW, where you see the jetstar promo? I can't find any 50% disc in their web. Base on your no of pax, booking on SQ will roughly cost abt 2.9k, maybe you might want to look at other airlines such as CX or TG. Many years back i took TG and had a stopover at BKK for shopping, fully ustilising the ticket. :p So when are you going and which hotel you shall be staying?

nataellehcim,

o no. my travel period is rite smack durin de golden wk; travellin 1 oct! how ah?

juz chked jetstar website. u r rite. promo's gone. booked last wk.

havent plan de hotels yet. u?

Hi jh, oh that is golden week think hotel rates gonna be increased. maybe you can check online the http://www.asiatravel.com/ for the hotel rates online, to source for the hotels. This web is recommended by many ppl for their rates are quite reasonable. For me I've tentatively reserved for a hostel recommended by many ppl online also, Dragon Hostel, had paid a 1-day deposit to it. It has its own website and I've liaise directly with the owner through email.

Hi Lill, i heard friends telling me Oct is monsoon period, hence pls check on their weather to confirm for my geograhy knowledge is not so good.. But pls ensure rainy tools such as raincoats for the kid. :p

Ya i was worrying about the room condition for such hostel and confirm they are not so spacious at all. I had been to HK 11yrs ago and had staying in CHungKing Hostel and had a very bad experience, room size is acceptable, but no hot water, and it was nov cold period...hence quickly change to a 3-star hotel the next day. Most worrying about Dragon Hostel is whether they have hot shower in the bath, although many reviews singing praises for this hostel. Further confirmation with the owner in the web that each bathroom has individual heater installed ( I don't like shared for hot water only last few mins if high usage thorught the hostel). Hence book it in case last min no rooms...

Me currently doing homework on where to go and what to do over there. May drop by Macau for a day tour if time allows.

Surprised to hear that your son likes museums. Places you should not miss should be like The Peak, Ocean park and Disneyland for the kid. you may want to go to their HK tourism web to discover more.... http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/index.jsp

How many days will you be there?

Hi Lill,
Sorry that I've not frightened you about the monsoon period. I might be wrong... so is better to check it out. But 1 Oct is definitely their National Day. good to hear such a young kid likes science. My kids still do not know much about science...

Hi Lill, wow, really envy you for son so good in such... mine only tv, computer games and fight among the siblings.. headache...
ya, mentioning about milk, not sure if it's safe for their milk tea. also looking forward to the milk tea... saw other forum talking about Mongkong, have delicious breakfast... yum! yum! Looking forward to it also. I will be having at least 1 week stay in HK, minus off the 2 flight dates, so that I can go easy with the trip... you know lah, bring kids (1 kid is ok, but is 2) and senior need to take it easy.... can't expect them to wake up very early and sleep very late. Can't possibly finish many places within a day.

hi, does anyone know whether do they sell mamy poko pull ups in hongkong? heard its not easily purchased there? I don't wanna bring too many over cos I thought can buy over there. thanks!

me just back from hk disney. very fun esp now halloween period, disney has additional parade in the evening for halloween. so can stay there whole day till after the fireworks at 8pm on weekdays.

tried both b/f with characters at hotel &amp; theme park. both buffet style. hotel cost abt hk$250 -adult(if i remember correctly) &amp; theme park is abt hk $150.

cindy: i didn't see mamy poko in hk but there is huggies pull up, i think.

hope this info is useful to all.

I think now is the low period for the hotel cos I got free upgrade of room with jacuzzi. Book a room of value hk$1600 upgrade to one of value hk $2300.
My kids enjoy the room cos got playhouse disney channel on tv as well as the jacuzzi.
Can request for bed guard and baby cot as well.

wow, kwala, that's very lucky of you having free upgrades. isn't the period you went is their Golden week? How's the weather there?

For me think my period (end Nov-Dec) is peak seasons... should hv arranged to go earlier then.

guess you should have enjoyable trip there.

not golden week yet but already got a lot of china people who like to cut queue. :p

the weather is as hot as s'pore now.

spent 1 day at ocean park. nothing much for kids and a lot of walking. It is not as fun as I expected.

Can only give better details abt disney as I spent 2 days at disney theme park and shopping here and there. and that's abt it.

oh, i thought ppl said Ocean Park seems more fun than disneyland. Anyway i will go to both. If time allows will visit Snoopyland also. Did you go to Lantau Island? I will bring my MIL to visit . So my trip will includes places for the kids and also for senior....

there is nothing much at snoopyland.
disneyland is on lantau island lor.

ocean park is more for young adult for the trill rides. some part of the park at lowland is under renovation. There is a lot of up and down slope and steps. that's why not very pram friends and yound children/elderly friendly.

hi kwala, me had been to Ocean Park 10yrs ago liao... ya, i believe more for young adults. Juz wondering the rides in Ocean Park or Disneyland has any age or height limits? Would not want to go to these places and ended up my kids can't play much. they will be disappointed. They are aged 5 &amp; 6.

i didn't take the thrill rides in ocean park cos my 5 yrs old son likes the birds &amp; the aquarium there. but the heat and the up/down slopes are too much for my 16mth old girl.
your kids shd be able to take all (if not most of the rides) so I think they will definitely enjoy the trip. end oct/nov weather shd be cooling and just nice.
my girl loves the "it's a small world" at disney. we took the cruise 5 times in 2 days. :)
it is air-cond and i think the seniors will like them too

Anyone been to the Citygate outlet mall at Tung Chung?

I understand that there's a Thomas &amp; Friends shop there. Not sure if the prices are attractive.

wow, sounds good...
ya i've chosen nov period partly bec of it's weather. The period i'm going is SIN sch holidays, but definitely will be visiting these 2 places on a weekday, hope no need to queue for too long for their rides. Is it hot during the time you went? Now is their halloween theme in Disneyland, heard they hv just started their parade quite nice with their glowing clothings and theme in the dark.

I won't be staying in Disneyland hotels, hence would like to know if 1 day at Disneyland is enough?

ya, kwala, jus realised the snoopy photos were posted by you earlier.. :p

You booked your own air-tix or through travel agency? Which airlines you've taken? care to share more pix of your trips?

1 day shd be enough if u plan well esp when ur kids are quite big already.

will post pix tomorrow or in a few days time after i load into the computer.

book my own hotel and air ticket from SQ.

Re: Ocean Park

I'm bring my nearly 3yr old toddler to Ocean Park in dec. Is it a good place to go? He likes aquariums and I doubt we'll be able to take any rides other than tea cups and carousel type of kiddy rides.

hi kwalamama,

you mentioned u tried bfast at both disneyhotel and the park itself. which is better and is the breakfast at the park any gd?

the disney hotel you mentioned is it hollywood? say we stay at hollywood, can we have breakfast at disneyhotel?

tks for the info

Hi p_p02,

The b/f at disneyhotel is better. the characters I met are mickey, goofy &amp; pluto. the park itself is only mulan, chip&amp;dale. the spread of food is also more at hotel.
It is disneyland hotel that I stay. No sure whether u can book the b/f if u stay in hollywood but u can try. I have previously post the tel no. in this thread, need to call them and book.

hello mummies..so nice to see u guys going on a trip to HK. We were there in JUly and had a blast.

Weather in Oct
Oct is great for travelling. I was there last year and the weather was great. It was rather cooling and no rain at all. It's nice to travel under such condition. Disneyland was extremely quiet. For most of the rides, we only had to queue for about 10 mins max. I guess we were there just after the Golden Holiday.

I remember the Halloween parade. Awesome! I suggest you have dinner at Main Street. The cafe offers child's menu

Ocean Park
We brought our toddler there twice. He's ok about the place. Perhaps the park is more suitable for older children. i like the aquariums there. You can really get up close and personal to the sting ray. One thing though, there's loads of escalators there.

Ya, guess kids will love disneyland. Me wondering should we stay a night in the hotel there, but many ppl advise me that the park can be completed within a day, staying there will be kind of boring, for nothing much there in the night already.

hello nat, I stayed there for 2 nights in Oct last yr. It was quite a good experience. It gives the convenience to hang around a little longer in the park after the fireworks. Also, there are things u can do within the hotel itself. The brekkie is lovely with all the characters around. Basically, it puts you in a good mood.

My son was about 16 mos when we were there. We toured the park in a leisurely manner and that allowed us to take some rides twice. Even so, we did not manage to do all the rides

Found this thread and read it to know more before going Hk disney this dec. I am bringing my girls both 5 and 3 year old from 8-11 dec. Staying 1 nite at disney hollywood and 2 nites at Kimberly Hotel. Any recommendation on where to visit and shop?

tks kwalamama for info
will see how it goes...

hi micsarah, what a coincidence! i'm also planning to go same dates

Hi, regarding the breakfast at the hotel. I called up before. If we do not stay at disneyland hotel, we can book for the breakfast one month (or 3weeks) in advance if I'm not mistaken.. I called up too early and the officer asked if I stay at disneyland hotel, I'm staying at hollywood and she asked me to call back again nearer to the date. Hope this helps..

I'm also wondering whether to take breakfast ath th ehotel or at th epark..seems that the hotel is a better choice.

Hi missk,

Thk dec in Hongkong is cold so normally sell winter clothing which is not suitable for singapore weather. I love shopping for my own clothes, bags,shoes and my girls clothing also. Food wise we like cantonese food like noodle, dumpling, dim sum, egg tart etc.

Hi p_p02, have you book yours? Who are you going with? I booked mine with ASA. Is it expensive? We pay around $3.2k for 4D3N for a family of 4 and stay 1 nite at disney hollywood. Taking cathay flight.

Hi micsarah,

I think your package is quite ex. I took SIA (2A1C + 1 infant)ia abt $1.6k and disneyland hotel for 3night is abt $740. So total is only $2.4k. we book all these by ourselves but then again u are going in Dec so could be more expensive due to the peak season.

helo micsarah, yah..during winter there are more winter clothing for sale. Sometimes Espirit factory outlets still have summer stuff. You can take a look if you are a fan of Espirt.

I patronised this restuarant quite a bit when I was there recently. You must try the crab beehoon. It's usually very crowded at night. Many people like to go there for supper. You can also take breakfast there. They offer different breakfast sets. A must-try in the restaurant is iced watercress honey - very thirst quenching.
Macau Restaurant
地址 : 尖沙咀樂道25-27號

電話 : 2366-8148

You may want to try these restaurants:

Lan Fong Yuen
地址 : 中環結志街2號

電話 : 2544 3895/ 2854 0731

Tai Cheong Bakery
地址 : 中環擺花街 35 號地下 (近閣麟街)

電話 : 2544 3475

Tsim Chai Noodle
地址 : 中環威靈頓街98號地下

電話 : 2850 6471

TSui WAh
地址 : 中環威靈頓街15-19 號地下至二樓

電話 : 2525 6338

Yee Shun Dairy Company
地址 : 油麻地彌敦道513號地下

電話 : 2374 5460

Tao Heung Super 88
地址 : 旺角彌敦道639號雅蘭中心3樓B舖

電話 : 2390 0882

Ocean Empire
地址 : 銅鑼灣東角道26號

電話 : 2890-8717

Sushi hiro
• Address: 10/F, Henry House, 42 Yun Ping Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
• Phone: 28828752

The above are recommendations from my HK fren

Hope this helps

Hi Missk,

Thank you so much for the information provided. Will print it out and bring there.

Hi Kwala,
Ya lor, think my package exp but this is my first time bring my girls taking plane so thot take package better. Do not want to be too adventurous lor. U book thr zuji.com or asiaroom.com?

Thk next trip book myself already.

Thank you for sharing and nice to know you all here.

Micsarah

I'm going same time as you! Going from 8 Dec till 13 Dec, taking SQ and staying at Cosmo Hotel (HK island near Times Square) with breakfast. 2A+1C total abt $2.5k for 5nts. I booked all separately by myself on their websites. So I also think your package is a little ex. HK is actually quite easy to get round by ourselves. Maybe we might even bump into each other on the streets.

hi missk, tks for info. shall bring it along n see if can find any of the places
are they mostly in HK island, kowloon, tsim sha tsui or lantau island area? tks

hi micsarah, i got them online. checked with few tour agents but rather costly. also included city tour which i dont want.found CX more ex, strangely...anyway, since youve booked it, don't worry abt pricing. just enjoy yourself
might bump into you and mashybrainz at disneyland!

Hi micsarah, i personally feel your package should be reasonable, for during Dec holidays, travel agencies will have some surcharges and Kimberly Hotel is not cheap either. ya since it's booked just enhoy yourself there.
I've also booked my flights online with SQ during their promos. Me also going during the sch hols, 25Nov-3Dec.

Hi missk, your list is indeed useful. Thanks for posting the info. Shall use it during this coming trip. Thanks.