Hong Kong Disneyland

I have just booked my trip for March.

the character breakfast takes place in the Disney Hollywood Hotel ?

One mummy mention that : Go into Disney early before opening to have breakfast, the Disney characters will come mingle with you and take pictures.
The Disneyland opens at 10am ? what that means ?

My son was 2.5 year old when we were there last year April. He enjoyed it alot.

Disney park is a distance from the Disney Hotel. must take a shuttle bus .

We stayed in Disney Hollywood hotel and had our b/f there. We didn't see any disney characters but the buffet spread was good. The hotel room was one of the best that i had stayed in . Ask for King size bed. We managed to squeeze in two kids and two adults.

Bring some snacks like bread, cakes , biscuits or cup noodles. There is no convenience shop in the hotel . Kids might go hungry at night.

hi coffeedrinker
Can i know how much you paid for the tour? F&E? I also planning to go end mar or early apr. Any idea what's the weather like then?

coffee drinker: you can ask for double room, this will have 2 Twin beds. spacious for a family of 4 (3 adults & 1 toddler).

As for the Characters during BKF, i think only happens in Disney Hotel. But at times when you are lucky, you might bump into Chip & Dale.

Asfor snacks, you can get it at the CAFE below Disney hollywood, but they closes just before midnight. if you are worried, u can grab some bread or pastries from Disneyland inside.

my girl (27mths) who just went to Disneyland, came back and keep asking for Minnie & Mickey mouse. I guess she enjoyed the place lots! Esp. with a Stay 1 day & play 2 days.... i think kids will be the happiest!

the double room comes with 2 QUEEN (not twin)beds..so very spacious for 2A + 2C to sleep on.

Character breakfast only at Disney Hotel, not Hollywood hotel. But if you stay in Hollywood, u still can pay and go for breakfast at Disney Hotel (just take the free shuttle bus there or a slow walk).

disneyland is actully more of a theme park for very young children (as place very small and most rides pretty friendly)...hence my 2.5YO son enjoyed himself there. even i can carry my 1YO daughter on some of the rides

Hi bbash,
I paid around $950 for 4D/3N SQ flight.
Good timing as departure 11am flight, return home flight is 8.20pm
so I fully use almost one day
My gal (2.5yr old) is $600

I think the weather will be 18-22 degree.. hope the forecast is accurate.

Hi coffeedrinker,

I am also travelling to HK on early March, in fact a couple days soon.... 4th Mar via SQ too, u going on yr own or with a group?

hi coffeedrinker
i book for my trip already. departing 22/mar, 5D4N.

Hope the weather forecast is correct. The temperature sounds good!

I want to go to The Peak and the thousand buddhas, Can you pls guide me how to get to the Peak via MTR/bus.

I will be staying in Disney Hotel (All thanks to workingmom for yr advise on the annual pass thingy) Got promotion for 50% discount for room reservation for 4 nights

Thanks in advance

just grab the MTR map at the airport and you can figure how to get to the peak. but if u got enuff persons (e.g. hb and kids) then may be cheaper or not be alot more ex to catch a cab instead (more convenient!)...

for stanley market, just check the tourist guide (can usually get at the airport) which will tell u how to get there (or any other attractions) by bus. the last time i was in HK with my hb and 1.5YO boy, we took the bus (it's the small private bus type) using the guide to stanley market. altho a bit of hassle, we did it bringing our quinny zapp stroller...it's fairly easy to get around HK, though less friendly if u got a kid on stroller

1) Going to Central MTR
What can I do there ?
I know there is a Yung Yee Goose Rest for Lunch
The Peak is nearby
any shopping?

2) Going to Yuen Long
- Can buy Wifey Biscuit (Hang Hueng)
- What there that I can go?

Hi coffeedrinker,
1) There's H&M (like Zara & Mango) at Central. The Landmark Mall (Lane Crawford and luxury goods brands)
http://www.mtr.com.hk/jplanner/images/maps/cen.gif

2) As to my knowledge, Yuen Long is an industrial area. However, there are some factory outlets there. For Hang Heung, I get them at Mongkok. They oso sell at Sogo and Times Square mall.

Factory Outlets in HK (I had this list in 2006. So not sure if it is outdated)

Adidas Factory Outlet
B12-13, 7/F, Block B, Hong Kong Industrial Centre
489-491 Castle Peak Road
Lai Chi Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District: Sham Shui Po
Phone: +852 2959 0357 (General Enquiry)
Opening Hours:
Mon - Sat: 10:30am - 8pm
Sun & Public Holidays: 11:30am - 6:30pm
Homepage: http://www.adidas.com.hk
How to Get There: Take MTR to Lai Chi Kok Station (Exit C), and then walk for 5 mins

Adidas Factory Outlet
Unit H, 11/F, Phase 2, Yip Fat Industrial Building, 73-75 Hoi Yuen Road
Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District: Kwun Tong
Phone: +852 2793 2791(General Enquiry)
Fax: +852 2793 0630
Opening Hours:
Mon - Sat: 11am - 7:30pm
Sun & Public Holidays: 11:30am - 6:30pm
Homepage: http://www.adidas.com.hk
E-Mail: [email protected]
How to Get There: Take MTR to Kwun Tong Station (Exit B3)
Record Owner(Eng): 2723

Baby Mart
Rm 103, 1/F, Lai Cheong Factory Building, 479 Castle Peak Road
Lai Chi Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District: Sham Shui Po
Phone: +852 2542 3231 (General Enquiry)
Fax: +852 2815 1521
Opening Hours:
Mon - Sat: 9am - 6pm
Sun & Public Holidays: Closed
Items: Products of babies and maternity
Homepage: http://babymart.popart.com.hk/a/
How to Get There: Take MTR to Lai Chi Kok Station (Exit B1)

Dickson Warehouse
Shop 113, 1/F, Maritime Square
Tsing Yi, New Territories, Hong Kong
District: Kwai Tsing District
Phone: +852 2681 1882(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours: 11am - 9pm (Daily)
Items: Clothing & Accessories
Brands: Polo Ralph Lauren, S.T. Dupont, Charles Jourdan, Guy Laroche, Escada Laurel, Escada Sports, Karl Lagerfeld, Prima Classe, Brookes Brothers and Warner Brothers
How to Get There: Take MTR to Tsing Yi Airport Express Station (Exit A2)

Dickson Warehouse
Shop G08, Basement, Olympia Plaza, 243 - 355 King's Road
North Point, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
District: Eastern
Phone: +852 2907 1068(General Enquiry)
Fax: +852 2815 1521
Opening Hours:
Mon - Fri :11am - 8pm
Sat, Sun & PH :11am - 9pm
Brands: Polo Ralph Lauren, S.T. Dupont, Charles Jourdan, Guy Laroche, Escada Laurel, Escada Sports, Karl Lagerfeld, Prima Classe, Brookes Brothers and Warner Brothers
How to Get There: Take MTR to Fortress Hill (Exit B)
Record Owner(Eng): 2723

Dickson Warehouse at Kowloon Station
MTR Kowloon Station, 1 Austin Road West
Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District: Yau Tsim Mong
Phone: +852 2626 0298 (General Enquiry)
Fax: +852 2626 9238
Opening Hours:
Mon - Fri : 11am - 8pm
Sat, Sun & PH: 11am - 9pm
Items: Fashion apparels and accessories, sports goods, children's apparels, CD/DVD/VCD, books, electronic, cosmetics, toys, furniture, luggage, household goods
Homepage: http://www.dicksonwarehouse.comv
How to Get There: Take MTR to Kowloon Airport Express Station
Record Owner(Eng): 2561

Esprit Outlet
Shop 201, Level 2, Citygate
Tung Chung, Outlying Islands, Hong Kong
District: Islands
Phone: +852 2109 3221(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours: 12pm - 9:15pm (Daily)
Items: Clothing & accessories
Brands: Esprit
Remarks: Prices up to 90% off
Homepage: http://www.esprit.com.hk
How to Get There: Take MTR to Tung Chung Station (Exit C)

Esprit Outlet
Shop 327-331 & 338-339, Level 3, Sun Yuen Long Centre
Yuen Long, New Territories, Hong Kong
District: Yuen Long
Phone: +852 2442 0282(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours: 12pm - 9:30pm (Daily)
How to Get There: Take bus no. 68X outside Yau Ma Tei MTR Station (Exit A1) and get off at Sun Yuen Long Centre.

Esprit Outlet
Kai Seng Commercial Centre ( 尖沙咀漢口道騏生商業中心 )
G/F (portion), Basement, 4-6 HanKow Road, TST
Tel: 2721 3318
How to Get There:Take MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui Station

I.T. Sale Shop
Shop 72-119, 3/F, Silvercord, 30 Canton Road
Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District:Yau Tsim Mong
Phone: +852 2377 9466(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours: 12pm - 9pm (Daily)
Brands: Alexander McQueen, Anglomania, Camper, Christophe Lemaire, Gomme, Jean Colona, Miu Miu, Zucca
Remarks: Off - season goods Price are up to 80% off
Homepage: http://www.ithk.com
How to Get There:Take MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui Station (Exit A1), and walk along Haiphong Road about 3 mins.

Ice Fire Outlet Shop
LG11-12, Kowloon City Plaza, 128 Carpenter Road
Kowloon City, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District:Kowloon City
Phone: +852 2382 1794(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours: 12pm - 9pm (Daily)
Brands: Bobson, Champion, Salty dog, Scene, Vans
Remarks: Prices are up to 80% off
How to Get There:Taxi from Lok Fu MTR Station. Maxicab no.25M from Kowloon Tong MTR / KCR Station.

Joyce Warehouse
21/F, Horizons Plaza, 2 Lee Wing Street
Ap Lei Chau, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
District:Southern
Phone: +852 2814 8313
Opening Hours:
Tue - Sat: 10am - 7pm
Sun & PH: 11am - 7pm;Mon: Closed
Brands: Ann Demeulemeester, Anna Sui, Comme des Garcons, Girogio Armani, Jil Sander, Vivienne Westwood, Zucca
Remarks: Off-season goods Prices are up to 30% - 70% off
How to Get There: Take Bus No.671 from Diamond Hill MTR.Take Bus No.90 or M590 from the Exchange Square Bus Terminus

Nike Factory Outlet
Shop 1, 1/F, Enterprise Square, 9 Sheung Yuet RoadKowloon Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District:Kwun Tong
Phone: +852 2707 9159(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours:
Mon - Sat: 11am - 7pm
Sun & PH: 11am - 5pm
Homepage: http://www.nike.com
How to Get There: Take MTR to Kowloon Bay Station, then take bus no.224M.

Nike Factory Outlet
Unit G, 8/F, Phase II, Yip Fat Factory Building, 73-75 Hoi Yuen Road
Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
District:Kwun Tong
Phone: +852 2172 7938(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours:
Mon - Sat: 11am - 7pm
Sun & PH: 12pm - 6pm
Homepage: http://www.nike.com
Items: Sport shoes, Sportswear and other sport goods
Brand: Nike
How to Get There: Take MTR to Kwun Tong Station (Exit B3), and then walk for 3 mins

Paradiso Clearance Shop
G/F, N & K Centre, Island Place
North Point, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
District: Eastern
Phone: +852 2907 8816(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours: 11:30am - 9:30pm (Daily)
How to Get There: Take MTR to North Point Station (Exit B3)
Record Owner(Eng): 2340

Replay Factory Outlets
1/F, Phase 1 Aberdeen Centre, Nam Ning Street
Aberdeen, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
District: Southern
Phone: +852 2555 8892(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours:
Sun - Fri: 11am - 8:30pm
Sat: 11am - 9:30pm
How to Get There: Take MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui Station (Exit A1), and walk along Haiphong Road for 5-10 mins.

Space Warehouse (aka Prada)
2/F, South Horizons Plaza (East Wing)
Ap Lei Chau, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
District: Southern
Phone: +852 2814 9576(General Enquiry)
Opening Hours:
Tue - Sat: 10am - 7pm
Sun & PH: 12nn - 6pm;Mon: Closed
How to Get There: 1. Take bus no.90B at Admiralty MTR Station.
2. Take bus no.590 at Central MTR Station.

VIVIENNE TAM
Shop 219, Times Square
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
District: Wan Chai District
Phone: +852 2785 6308
Email: vthk@the_coltd.com.hk
Brand: Vivienne Tam
Remarks: Prices are up to 50% - 70% off
How to Get There: Take MTR to Causeway Bay Station (Exit A)

Lao Po Bing
Info:
Give them a call to ensure the address before you go. It is within walking distance from Mong Kok MRT station, Look for exit to Grand Hotel Shopping Centre

恒香老餅家有限公司
Hang Heung Cake Shop Co Ltd
電話:2394 7668
旺角 九龍旺角雅蘭酒店商場地庫K86號
No. K86, Lower Floor, Grand HotelShopping Centre, Mong Kok, Kln., Mong Kok

恆香老餅家有限公司 Hang Heung
新界元朗大馬路64-66號 電話:2479 2141
元朗大馬路 Yuen Long Main Road 近輕鐵 '大棠道' 站 LRT 'Tai Tong Road'

Besides Hang Heung, there are also Wing Wah & Kee Wah lao po bing.

榮華餅家
Wingwah Cake Shop
簡介:中式結婚禮餅
地址:香港九龍彌敦道662號5樓
電話:23906048
傳真:23966679
網頁:http://www.wingwah.com

奇華嫁喜禮餅
簡介 ﹕極品「嫁喜」禮餅
地址 ﹕九龍旺角新世紀廣場一二二號舖
電話 ﹕27856066

There are 3 different Lao Por Bing shops in hong kong airport, after you have cleared the immigations but remember to go in early if you want to buy from there

depends on what you are looking for...they have 3-4 children outlets (chickadee, one french brand, etc) plus an espirit outlet (which is quite good, not as big as the one at Tshim Tsa Tsui but i find it is more orderly and less crowded) and addidas outlet, etc. it is good to go esp if you are at disneyland as only 2-3 train stops away. otherwise up to u lor (cos take the train is about 30+ min away)....

Intend to go hkg this coming jul during their summer sale. But heard that Jul and Aug is china vacation, will be very pack. Any mummies went there during this period, how is the condition? Is it that bad??

Train from airport to island is quite fast - if i remember correctly, 30 to 45 min depending on whether you are heading to Kowloon or HK Island side...u can double check by checking on the website (google for the HK airport or the train website)

hi pooh,
i stayed in eaton, BP int'l and doresett previously. i thk so far eaton is the best. very central and the hotel looks good.
i m heading to hkg during the vesak day holidays with the kids.. not sure if the flus thing is now ok.. anyone know?
I have given the kids the flu vacin, doc told me it will last them 3 - 6 mths..

Anybody took the cable car to Lantau Island, where the big Buddha is? Is it safe to take the cable car? Heard that an accident just occured 2 weeks ago.

The weather is cooling at Hongkong..Night time quite foggy and cold, temperature at 18degree at night time.

Hi Pooh
Depending on whether you are travelling with kids or not..cos the hotels in HKG i tell you hor is so pathetic very small ah...if you are bringing kids i suuggest you request for a bigger room! My stay 2week ago Largos at Jordon loction ok just behind MTR and opp temple street..tell you hor during day time the street sell lots of uptrend kids clothing and accessories and there are a few shop sell nice Korea and Japanese kids clothing tho not cheap..

Yoyo
The flu thingy like nothing there leh..stil lots of tourist vist Disneyland esp singaporeans and lots of kids baby around HKG..But 1 thing HKG not a baby friendly country, use stroller hor very ma fan de..

Tenten
By than the weather should be ok already i heard from HKG people during March/April weather is slightly cold and foggy due to the change in weather..The disneyland is not at all affected, still lots of people there

Mumdearie
When i was there the incident happened..its not accident lah, just that, the particular cable car electricity got some technical problem..solve within half a day! But the queue was supper long while waiting for cable cars..Tho some ask for refund while the majority still proceed the ride

Hi tenten
Please dont take Largos!!! Cos its very small.....there is no place for you to walk or place your luggage! But location wise is very very convenient! Out from hotel make a turn is Jordon MTR and opposite street is Temple street! Lots of things to eat, buy esp children's clothing nicer than those in Shan Shui Po! But than again Hongkong hotels majority are quite small! I extract from my blog the hotel pic you see it yourself..
1383119.jpg

Hi tenten
If you don't mind than its ok location wise very convenient in terms of MTR just behind or infront of hotel! But the hotel is something like SG Hotel81 tho small but clean lor and safe!My hello kitty stuff bought everywhere haha as and when i see i just buy..mostly bought in causeway bay & mongkok...don't know if you like Mickey Mouse casing luggage, not found in Singapore, cos ppl go HKG to buy nice! both me and my friend bought 1 each 29" casing lugguage infact was pre-planned.. we went with extreme small lug and bought the mickey lugguage there

I'll be going to HK with my hubby and son (6yrs old) during the Vesak Day holiday. We'll be staying at Novotel Nathan (newly renovated) in Tsim Sha Tsui area.

Anyone been to Ocean Park? Anything to see there or rides suitable for a 6 yo? From other forum, understand that Ocean Park is now under renovation.

Did any of you take the Ngong Ping 360 cable car ride or visit the Giant Buddha?

Do you know where to find those "cha chan ting" where we can have breakfast like toasts, "po luo bun" and coffee/tea?

Tenten as per request, here's the Mickey Mouse 29" 2 compartment casing luggage S$120

1388193.jpg

can't advise you on YMCA,cos only stay in Majastic and Largos before only..am thinking of going this June/July again..hopefully

Hi tenten
No this is not the only design there..if you see others you will *drool* we were at the shop choosing and talking about luggage for almost 2hrs! Actually this is not the one we wanted, initially at another shop saw a sweet pink Hello kitty29" with a die cut face shape in addition it comes with international warranty but cannot hand carry gota check in than sure get dirty so drop the idea..
and bought this Mickey Mouse instead..before you buy hor the man will ask you to go on top the luggage and jump, YEs we did, its durable and never went out of shape or slight crack or break haha..No disneyland dun sell luggage we bought it a ladies street 1 of the inner shop which can be easy found! But dun go to the shop which sell Hello kitty luggage anyway there is only 1 shop in the whole ladies street that sell HK luggage cos they bought over the copyright and authorizership from Sanrio to sell..the rest of the shop which also carry this Mickey Mouse is ok..cos luggage there i tell you is dirt cheap! this MM mouse is not found in singapore! you just take mine for reference 650hkd * 5.55 = 117.11 if you find cheaper than its extra bonus to shop haha..by answering yr quest make me more and more excited too cos we plan to go again this jun/jul

forget to add shopping is good tho some things are not cheap BUT not all food is great..most food suck big time!!! Cos realise HKG ppl intake of food can be quite simple! JTS, at "cha chang ting" their big breakfast is actually 2 sunnyside up egg with 2 piece of toast bread with a bowl of sussage maggi noodle and 1 cup of "yuan yang" or coffee or tea! the noodle is tasteless!!!

hi jovan's mum,
wah just saw the mickey mouse luggage bag.. my gal will luv it. do u know if they have it in smaller size for kids?
oh btw thanks for the hkg handbook, i m trying to read them so as to fully utilise my coming trip during vesak day

Hi yoyo
dun mentioned
yes this Mickey Mouse got 3 diff sizes..and the smallest will be those for check-in type..got other design too yr gal will *drool* haha..

Hi tenten
ya can't wait whahaha,

oh yes for those going to Disney, you may wana stop at Tung Chung where all the apparels factory outlet is..cos citygate mall is somewhere there right <font color="0000ff">WENN</font> ? can compare the price tho

hi yoyo

I'm also going HK during the vesak holiday with my HB and 6yo boy. We will depart on 16 May (Fri) - 10.15am flight and coming back on 19 May (Mon)- 20.00 pm flight. We are flying by Cathay and will stay at the new Novotel Nathan Kowloon Hotel.

This is our 2nd trip to HK. We went there 2yrs ago when my boy was 4 yo. Last time, we stayed at Langham Place. My boy enjoyed Disneyland very much. This time we are thinking of bringing him to Ocean Park. U going to Ocean Park?

thanks Jovan's mum! I will look out for it.

Hi linda,
wah we are so close yet so far.. i m leaving on 16th May 8.05am and back on 19th May 1615 via Cathay too.
We are staying at kimberly hotel.

Have not bring my kids to hkg b4, it is our first time bringing them there. Not too sure if we are going ocean park this time but cfm gog to Disney land.

cheers!

Hi Jovan's mum

Ya, its really siok to stay in Langham Place. the room was REALLY SPACIOUS! You can even ask for the type of pillows you like (eg, soft, hard, feathered) and as many pillows you want! The bathroom was really nice with a big bathtub. My son "swam" in there for the 3 days we were there.

Actualy, my boy requested to stay in Langham again for this trip. HA... my boy really know how to enjoy life! But i told my HB no need to stay in 5* hotel lor cos quite ex. So, the travel agency booked Novotel Nathan for us which i understand they are newly opened in April 2008.