Hong Kong Disneyland

carole
not been feeling well leh. most of the time during weekend, i was confined at home. hopefully this weekend can collect from you. dont' charge me storage fee hor. hehe....

re: sarong sling
ya, i agree that sarong sling is good choice, espcially at cold weather or raining days. i sling my gal to walk 200+ steps up to see the big buddha at lantau island. hehe...
but i still brought the light weight stroller there when we went for shopping and disneyland. to tired to use sarong sling whole day.

carole
nvm lah. mayb battery flat liao. don't worry lah. i try to go collect from you this weekend. sunday afternoon you at home?

carole
nvm lah. mayb battery flat liao. don't worry lah. i try to go collect from you this weekend. sunday afternoon you at home?

wenn, that sounds really scary!!! My son likes to roam ard on his own. He's only 15 mths.

I have never used a sling b4 but I have already borrowed one from my fren. Hope it's gonna be helpful. Should I rent an ERGO?

My fren has finally got back to me about the list of things to do in HK.

Sightseeing:
1. The Peak (where else?)
2. Ngong Ping Skyrail (this is new; cable car ride that brings you to
see
the big buddha; nice scenic ride)
3. Disneyland (not sure if it's that great)

Shopping:
1. Tsim Sha Tsui (just walk any and every where!)
2. Mongkok (Ladies' Street Market, Langham Place Shopping Centre [must
go
and take the super long escalator right to top floor at night!])
3. Causeway Bay (Sogo, Times Square, little boutiques outside)
4. Central (ifc mall, discount shops on Li Yuen East/West Street)
5. Stanley Market (this is further out, but near the beach, so it's
really
nice and scenic and can do alfresco dining. get the hk visitor's kit
and
it'll give you very specific directions to get there. this still is my

favourite place in hk.)
6. Tai Koo (a bit further out, but right next to mtr. there's a
shopping
mall there that's not too bad, and there's a newly opened jusco there
as
well)
7. Tung Chung factory outlets (this shopping mall is a factory outlet
for
brands. if you visit Ngong Ping Skyrail, they're at the same mtr
station.
tung chung mtr station is really far out, it's the station after
disneyland!)

hi missk,
U can try to sling him in an ERGO 1st before renting. Tried on my girl and she struggled out. :p So din rent in the end... ha ha..

Hee hee, your fren's list make me wanna go again... Been to IFC. It's like our Taka. I like Tung Chung outlets. Got a shop there selling Thomas the Train stuffs too. I think Ngong Ping skyrail is still suspended. We took the bus up.
http://www.np360.com.hk/html/eng/front/index_special.asp

Haven't been to Tai Koo & Stanley Market yet. But i read that Kwun Tong station there got a new shopping mall called APM.

FYI, another HK chat thread here

http://www.flowerpod.com.sg/forums/index.php?showtopic=60&pid=1543696&st=5920&#entry1543696

sunny: sunday afternoon, i will be at The Warren, or u wanna meet Lot 1 to collect or The Warren? U sms me.

wenn, thanks so much for your info. I am going to check out those websites u listed
What's your next destination?

Actually, I have a BB Bjorn. The weight limit is 11 kg. Currently my son is 9.5 kg. So I think it should be ok. Most likely, I wun rent the Ergo.

missk, dun mention it

Hmm, my fil wants us to go HK again. B4 his air ticket expires in May. Then my uncle wants us to go Perth to see his new house. So will drop by Brisbane to visit hubby's cousin. Argh! Have to save more money!

Hmm, the BB Bjorn should be just fine. You and ur hubby can take turns to sling ur son ;) In Disneyland, can rent their stroller. So can take a break from slinging him.

wenn, wow...so many destinations!!!! Hahah..really need a lot of money for travelling!!! Haiz Haiz! How old is your child btw?

2.5 years old, so need to get a seat for her on the plane liao. That time went HK, forgot to order child's meal for her. So ended up she kicked up a fuss when we gave her adult's meal instead... The kids behind her all got kids meal... kekeke...

Yah, sob... all the money when into travelling... But I tell myself, better do all the travelling b4 she starts Pri 1 :p

wenn: when u gng brisbane? thinking of gng to visit my hb's eldest bro near 3rd or 4th quarter. will wait till hb collect more flyer mile. hiak hiak

carole: not sure yet... most likely next year liao :p
OOO, lucky u! Can get flyer miles... kekeke My hubby is stuck at his desk at work... ahaha...

hi missk,

Thanks! Me just back from HK. hee

Saw a few crocs shops there. standard price for kids cayman is HK$198 + taxes. slightly more than S$40. It's cheaper compare to the crocs stores here. But I didnt buy, got it from one of the BPs happening now instead - S$37.

I like the outlets stores at Citygate, Tung Chung MTR: http://www.citygateoutlets.com.hk/index.html

The weather still hot there. Cannot stand the afternoon sun. And it's really stroller unfriendly there.

But, overall the trip quite fun for my boy.

hi: me & family going to macau end nov to visit sis-in-law working there, and will hope over to HK for 2 nights staying at disneyland hollywood.
Lobang tip: u can get 30% off the disneyland rooms if you buy their annual pass (works out cheaper if u got many adults and stay at least 1N at their hotel). E.g. if u buy Disneyland annual pass (value pass which is HK$640 per adult and HK$400+ for 3-11 child, u can get 30% off disneyland room rates for Mon-Thu stay, and 20% of their restaurant F&B)! good deal if you got say family of 4 staying in the room...just 1 night stay can oredi save some money (plus u get an annual pass for your return within 1 year). so i plan to get 2 annual pass (as we need 2 rooms for all 6+2 of us) and stay there for 2 nights. all this info available on the disneyland HK website:
http://park.hongkongdisneyland.com/hkdl/en_US/ticketsAndReservations/overview?name=AnnualPassPage

also another discussion thread here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/934258.html?1190091980

fyi, i paid HK$949 net for the cheapest room (with 2 queen beds in each room) at disneyland hollywood. one of the annual pass will be under my father in law name, i.e. HK$370 only since he got senior citizen discount (above 65 years old)

wow ish and working mum, thanks so much for the info. REally useful!!

Ish, how old is your boy? How do u handle his meals? Next time if there's a croc BP, chio me ok!! I kinda like crocs although their designs can be a little ..urm..yucky. Quite comfortable. The sasara (not sure if this is right) is really comfortable.

Wm, haiz..i already booked the room liao!! Maybe next time! Do u know where to go in Macau and how I can get there? I intend to go there for a day trip.

missk,
take the turbojet (1hr)
their website i think is www.turbojet.com.hk
(got abit of discount if book via visa credit card). their usual tourist spots will be the st paul cathedral, macau tower, etc. maybe the casinos like the newly opened venetian...

btw the turbojet avail at Tshimsatshui ferry terminal or the (causeway bay?) ferry terminal...all this info avail on the turbojet website. got a few sailings daily, but i think u should avoid going on fri or sat to macau as i heard can be quite crowded (fyi, macau during weekends v crowded with mainland chinese going there to gamble)....

hi missk,

my boy is coming to 2 soon. We brought cereal/heinz baby food/cornflakes there, just in case.

Normally he will have noodles or porridge but sometimes quite difficult to find nice & spacious eating place unless u go to the restaurants (we brought the stroller everywhere so quite diff to squeeze into some of the small eating places).

I like Sweet Dynasty (suggested by someone in this thread i think), website -http://www.sweetdynasty.com.hk/eng/address.html
we went just before 6pm and still able to enjoy the offer for their afternoon tea (think is spend HK$30 and get a free drink/dessert) the total bill was around HK$150 for porridge, fried rice, some dim sim + the free drinks.

Shamrock Hotel's restaurant (opposite Prudential Hotel) dim sim is nice too but the fried stuff/noodles can be a bit oily. Go before 12noon. Total bill around HK$100 for 2.

I remember we had dinner at the Food Court of Harbour City (http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-4129412-ocean_terminal_ocean_centre_and_harbour_city_hong_kong-i) on our first night there. There's Shanghai noodles, Japanese food, etc but no porridge. So just let my son had some noodles. And there's a supermarket in there as well, you can buy diapers, heinz baby food, etc from there.

The food court at Citygate Outlets was not open yet (we saw the sign say opening in Sep, so maybe you will see the foodcourt when u r there). There're also Restaurants, McDonald & KFC there.

hope i'm not being too longwinded. hahah

ish, wow..that's really good info on the places to eat. How was your son's appetite when he was in hk?

Any idea when the next BP would be?

missk, you can just PM subaru say you are interested in the next BP

Oh, his appetite.. he can finished everything if we give him cereal. but as for the porridge/noodles, didnt take as much as home-cooked porridge but should be ok cos we gave him milk in-between meals.

ish..i am so nervous honestly...haiz...my son doenst quite like milk..so hard to get him to drink milk. I wonder if anyone has the same problem as me.

missk: nt only u hor.. mine.. ask her to drink milk like gng to kill her.. playing catching with her.. in the end.. nt even a sip!!!

Can ur kids drink from straw? I got those disposble elmo cups to wean my girl off milk bottle after she started reject milk bottle. Initially, we just use normal straw & her Avent bottle to feed her milk before we bought the disposable Elmo cups :p

carole
can pm me your hp number and address so that i can ask my hb to pick up the watch from you. haha... weekday day time you at home?

For those who have stayed at Disney Hollywood hotel, may I know if you can watch the nightly fireworks from the room or do you have to go into Disneyland ? I am arriving there in the evening and it will be a waste to buy the Disney entrance ticket for that day.

encounter:
you can write in to disney to check (their contact on their website)....i think they have promo now where if u stay in their room and buy a one day pass, the pass can be upgraded to 2 day visit over 2 consecutive days (i..e u can visit today and tomorrow).....also, read my post on Sep19 to save $$

<font face="Book Antiqua"> Planning to bring my girl to Disneyland in Dec b4 my gyne stops me from flying.

Just check out the price in Zuji - it's will cost S$2516++ for 2 adult & 1 children to fly out via Cathay Pacific & stay in Disney Hollywood for 4 days 3 nites (28-Dec to 31-Dec). HB said it's too ex

jenifur..it's ard that price if you want to stay in Disneyland Hotel. Maybe you can compromise by staying one night in Disneyland then the rest in the city.

jenifu,
u going at the superpeak period that's why so ex.
if on non-peak, staying 3 nites weekdays at Disney Hollywood and flying by Jetair, i think the total for 2 adults + 1 children would be ~ $1.5K or less...

jenifur: is far too ex.. SIA is having promo for GV2. i chk tix for one adult n 1 child only 800+++ excl hotel. adult tix abt 400+++, i guess a 4 nites hotel will be abt 2k for whole family... chk it out

hi tamarind,
i read your experience...very informative thanks! wow, u actually did so many things with 2 little kids at disneyland in just 1 day! i have no patience with queues, and anything beyond 15 min is considered too long for me!

i've booked 2 nites at disneyland hollywood hotel end Nov 2007 (6 adults + 2 kids in 2 interconnecting rooms), so can take it easy as i'm also bringing 2 kids - 10 mth old gal and 2.5 year old boy! hope we'll have a cool and enjoyable time there.

hihi working mum

i'm bringing my small boy (8mths old), big boy (4 years old) and old boy (aka hubby) to HK from 22-26 Nov.

Most likely staying in Nathan Hotel or Majestic Hotel. U?

Staying at disney hotel on 22 Nov....

Actually still dunno if it'll be an enjoyable trip. Big boy is a lazy walker, wants to be carried every now and then...small boy is on total breastmilk but doesn't latch on, taking EBM, old boy is forever sleepy and tired....

hi traz,
i'm actually going to macau and hopping to HK disneyland for 2 nights from 23 nov - 1 dec. i'll be staying at HK disneyland for 2 nights (28-30 nov) as it is the most "econcomical" - can squeeze all of us in just 2 rooms for less then HK950 nett per room (cos if you get the annual pass, you can book the room for 30% off during weekdays....u should consider this - ie..get the annual pass HK300+ for your 4 year old boy then book a room there - just book direct with disneyland hk on their website - u will about breakeven with just 1N stay cos savings is at least HK$300+/nt, plus u get F&B discount and ur boy gets an annual pass so a benefit if u wanna go back within the same year).

fyi, u can rent stroller (HK$50/day) at disneyland HK if you dun wanna bring your stroller. suggest you bring a hip seat (e.g hippy chick, infantino brand) to carry your 8 mth old - easy to use and will take a load of weight off you - plus u dun wanna have to manage 2 strollers between your hb and yourself only (plus the 2 kids).

if your main focus is disneyland hk, take note that they now have promo stay 1N get 2D park visit pass promo, i.e. u get to go into disneyland over 2 days so you can take it easy. fyi, if u stay an extra night in disneyland, u can go to citygate outlet mall for some shopping (very near to the disneyland)

it is indeed quite troublesome if your boy on total breastmilk yet dun latch cos that means you gonna go back to your hotel to express (cos very troublesome to bring your pump out and need to find a room to pump, etc). my gal latches so i will just feed her when needed - i dun care even if i have to do it in public as i can do it pretty discreetly with my nursing tops.

nathan is not bad as they have a family room (got 3 single beds or something like that).

Working_Mom,
Glad to know that you read my article

We brought 2 strollers, one for each kid, so that's why we can do so much in one day, it was quite easy to push both of them around. But then we still did not manage to cover everything. So your 2 nights there will be better.

we are planning to go hk on 18 Jan and back on 25th Jan.

any mummies going that period? i m thinking to go & stay at HK disney on 21 & 22nd.

ya, even though many said disneyland can be covered in a day, but with 2 little ones...it will be pretty slow moving so 2 days will be better for a relaxing trip (esp since they have the Stay 1N Play 2D promo!)...

Any mummies know where can book apartment - thinking of cheaper accomodation for longer stay in Hong Kong? Anyone can advise. Thanks.

hi working mum
wow...u certainly have done a lot of research...
it was really an impulse decision on our part...told hb that we must take a break and go for a trip at the end of the year...then went to NATAS travel fair and booked a package JUST LIKE THAT...without thinking much on the logistics, things to pack, weather, food 4 bb etc...

We booked the package (2 adults, 1 kid, 1 infant/cathay pacific airlines/1N@disney hotel/3N@Nathan or Majestic): $2700. Expensive hor?

Reckon we'll spend a lot on the taxi fare cos we plan to slot in a trip back to hotel during mid day for me to express milk and for bb to take his feed.

So in order to make the fullest from the trip, i think i'll hv to start doing my "homework" now and read up more..

einstein,
it's difficult to get a "cheap" apt in HK for short stay - and hotel "apt" are pretty expensive...how long you planning?

traz,
i like to DIY my holiday and dun like pkg much (cos i find less control), thus do quite a bit of research for all my holidays. i've travelled with my 2.5year old son to chiang mai, KK, HK, malaysia, bintan/batam, and recently even with my 10 mth old daugther to hanoi. with little ones though, i would search for apt (with kitchen) or bigger hotel rooms to stay (may need to spend more for better quality). alot of planning in packing is required (i would have a checklist so my maid can help me to pack otherwise quite a headache!).

i think the main bulk of you costs went into the airtix. if you stay at disneyland hotel, no need to take cab as the disneyland is practically at your doorstep! i suggest you take the train from Nathan to Disneyland (if tpt not provided) cos it is cheaper and faster and very easy. in fact, when my hb and i went to HK last year with our son (< 1year old then), we took the train from airport to HK causeway, then from cab to the hotel. main reason is that it is actually faster this way. we managed that even with the stroller and 2 soft luggages (no problem as the train at the airport caters to tourists and will stop for quite a while for you to get on/off)!

Will be gng to Hongkong next week with my 2 kids who are below 5yrs, and is our 1st overseas trip & me neber been to HK before, so really dunno what to expect/plan. Hubby booked the F&E package cos he wanted the kids to spend more time at Disneyland

Need advise from mummies here. Is there is any shopping malls nearby Disneyland where I shop & eat? Any recommendments for makan/shopping place? And issit advisable to bring the kids to Ocean park? Any other places which is more suitable for kids? Thanks u in advance

Oh ya, regarding transport from airport to hotel (Disneyland hotel), what should I take? And will there be communication problems if we dunno how to speak cantonese? Thanks

Citygate (outlet) mall is couple of train stops away from disneyland.

my recommendation is to take the train from airport to hotel (very near - prob about 20mins or so?). not sure if u need to change train, but you can easily check this at the airport ticket counter when you purchase the train ticket.

fyi, u can rent stroller at disneyland for HK$50/day, so if u dun wanna lug a stroller along (i.e. HK streets are not that stroller friendly), u can hire at disneyland. remember that if u stay at disneyland for 1N, u can go into the park for 2D even if you are on a package (with 1 day pass) - i think you need to convert the pass at your hotel reception.

i dun speak cantonese and i never have problem making my way around HK (between mandarin and english will do).

enjoy your trip!