Hello Kitty Fans Gathering

Thanks lili.

Hi Emma,
I left my DS with maid after my maternity leave. However, in the end, I still send DS to infant care cos caught my maid doing things that upset me and it's always during times that my aunt and Dad were not around. Actually, as kids grow older, think it's also easier for the maid to handle.

Nowadays, I do leave DS with maid alone at home. No choice, mum not around and forget about mil who is very materialistic. Sometimes really need to close one eye.

Hi Ronniemini,
It so happens got one of each, but the child's health is more important than the gender...trust me.

Hi PrincessEmma,
I understand yr situation. Having a helper is good in a sense she can clean up the house & cook lunch/dinner on weekends. Only thing is I have never left my kids with the helper alone at home. Agree with Purin that when the kids are older, you don't have to worry about the maid bcos you have 'junior 007'.
If have to go supermarket, then hubby goes on weekends to get vegetables. Mum will help buy meat/fish. So when going out shopping, everyone goes.
When my daughter was younger, I close both eyes where housework is concerned...priority is safety and hygiene. Now I close one eye, but cleanliness must be acceptable lah.

Bubblesangel,
Can I ask you whether you saw the shorter version of the wallet pls ?? Wow, it sounds like XiaoLiTang is a great place to shop. Sure hope Annie manages to find it.

PrincessEmma,
If you are considering to get a maid, try to get one the school holidays to train, like June/Dec, esp since you're a teacher. There are pros and cons of nanny versus maid.

Ronniemini,
Sellers in Yahoo TW or even HKG do not entertain overseas buyers
...you will drool when you see the HK pics in TW site. Since you don't have any kids yet, can consider going there for a holiday. Bubblesangel just returned with lots of exciting loots...hehehe

Hi Emma,
I have cameras at home. That's how I discovered things.

There is one thing that my maid cannot do when no one is at home with them, i.e. bathing my DS.

Janet,
ya,maybe i should plan where to go for holiday...hee.btw,anybody have the address for HK shops in tw & hgk?

i absolutely agreee that the child's health is more important than the gender!

emma,
for me, i also do not leave my dd alone with my maid at home. at most, maybe for no more than 30mins, if i have to go down to the shops quickly to pick up some things and it's not convenient to bring my dd (eg. when she was sick). if not, i will always bring my dd with me.

for me personally, i do not like the idea of leaving kids alone at home being taken care of by the maid, esp. if the child is still very young, ie. babies or toddlers. that's because the child is young and not able to tell you exactly what happens or what the maid does.

and young kids are not easy to take care of the whole day, so can understand if the maid gets frustrated or can't manage. when this happens, very likely the maid may take it out on the kids. also, you aren't able to monitor the maid, esp. when you want things done a certain way.

i feel kids who are older, ie. at least 6-7yrs old, are more suited to be left home alone being taken care of by maids. because at this age they are much older and less likely to be easily "bullied" by maid, so maid can't anyhow do things at home without the kids telling on the maid. also, older kids are much easier to take care of, so the maid will be less stressed and less likelihood of maid not doing her job well.

having said all this, i feel a good and reliable maid, esp when it concerns childcare, is VERY rare & hard to find. alot of working moms i know who have no choice but to leave their young kids alone at home, always tell me no choice, they gotta close one eye lor. but for me personally, i can't accept "closing one eye" when it comes to my dd leh. when it comes to her welfare, safety and well-being, i expect nothing but near-perfection, so that's why i don't trust anyone else to take care of her.

even now at home when my maid helps me with my dd, sometimes she does certain things that i don't like, and i never hesitate to tell her off. she probably thinks that i am soooo fussy when it comes to my dd, but i have made it clear to her that when it comes to my dd, YES i am VERY fussy, and she MUST do things my way and according to my standards, and i do not accept compromises nor do i make any apologies for it.

i am ok with closing one eye when it comes to household chores, etc. even when my maid makes mistakes with household chores (eg ruin my clothes when she ironed or washed them) i have never scolded her, and even told her no need to pay me back (even when she offered) cause these are just material things and i know she made mistake and didn't do them on purpose.

i guess my advice to you is to do whatever you are comfortable with. but it's not easy having a maid lah. they do need to be constantly monitored and supervised. sometimes it does feel like there's another person you need to take care of.

my maid is very capable and has a very good attitude, and even with such excellent attributes she still needs to be monitored time and again. so can you imagine what it's like if the maid is extremely incapable, untrustworthy and has a bad attitude?

anyway, i will be maid-free soon, most likely by the end of the year, cause my maid's contract ending soon and next yr onwards i won't need a live-in maid anymore once dd goes to sch.

feifei,
you posting the loots up at 10am ah? this time is VERY busy for me, cause dd would have just woken up so need to attend to her. i hope you can post slightly later, maybe ard 11am? hee...

Its a wet mon lor, raining heavily here..

Lani,
hmm.....Okie lor, will post my loots at 11am lor, so that more ple can settle their work in e morning 2st =).

Hi Lani,
I agree with what you have said about maids...it does feel like there is another person to be supervised. Housework is not impt, but where my kids are concerned, they are the MOST important. That's why I stress on safety ALL the time, esp when bathing time.
It's such a pity to let go of your capable maid bcos it's really hard to find one you can rely on. My maid's contract is finishing next Sep, but I will be sending her back in June bcos need time to train new one. The thought of that is scary bcos I don't know what the new one will be like.

<font color="ff6000">List for Li Li's BKK trip:</font>

1) Hello Kitty waffle container.
- Ms Blur 4x
- Dior (1 Dozen but please sent back can?)- Will confirm with you when nearer the date of departure cause asking my friend to buy now but only will know 2 weeks later.
- Emma x2
- Sharon x1
- szu x4
- ktgal88 x2
- liveyourdream x4

2) Round small size sauce plate (Pref HK pic)
- Acthia (x 4pcs - budget less then $4)
- Emma x 4 rectangular ones (if i dun remember wrongly, its sold for abt $2 plus.. my budget is less than $3. arigato!)

3) Charmmy Kitty sleeveless tee.
- MC (size L)
- Acthia (Size S, the purple colour one)

4) HK French rose glasses (not sure if ok for u coz it's fragile, if you can't it's ok)
- purplepenguin (4 tall, 4 short) ($2 each according to Emma)
- Janet (4 tall, 4 short, budget $2 each)

good morning...

emma, abt having a maid. me too will be getting a maid to look after bb... cos if i send him to nanny or infantcare plus my girl's studentcare... i dun think i can afford...
so a maid will be a better choice for me.. cos after work, i can concenrate on my gal instead of rushing thr my housework...
so my gal will help me to look after the maid til 11.30am in the morning, then bb will be alone with maid til 2pm... then my mother or in mil will come over to look see look see...

i should be installing cctv at home to monitor her...

sigh, hope this will solve my problem... but i will only have a miad til bb 18 mths... cos after that will send him to childcare centre...

Good morning ladies!!

Feifei,
You still have loots? Wah, U did major shopping!!!

Janet,
Like the wat you said junior 007. V true from wat I see from my nieces.

Emma,
Its better to have someone oversees the kid. Its difficult to handle housework and kid at the same time yourself. Let alone a maid who has no feelings for your boy. I used to have a client whose 1 yr old niece was suspected to be killed by their maid. Both parents were working and left the baby alone with maid. THey suspected that maid took her frustration out on the baby via violent shaking. Then my HB's boss son told his parents when he was older that their previous maid put his finger (he was nearly 2 that yr)into the fan as she was new and panicked when the family was planning to go on holiday and leave her alone in the house. They thought it was an accident at that time and that he put his finger at the revolving blades without anyone noticing. Only when he talks then they realised the truth, by then, the maid left.

Msbrown,
My condolences on the passing of your grandpa.

Lili,
Cant join u gals for lunch leh, coz' one of my colleague is on MC, so will go lunch with my another colleague, if nt she's alone.

Emma,
For me, my maid is alone with the kids everyday. She is oso taking care of my niece. So far she is ok lah, been with me for 2 yrs plus liao. I wont say everything she do is perfect, but juz hav to close/open one eye loh. As long as its nt a major mistake or wat, i wont take it to heart. But whenever i ask her to do things, she will follow my instructions & do the things promptly lah. As for my gals, they can be very noisy & cranky at times, so i knew her difficulties of taking of them too loh. Even im alone with my gals, i oso buay tahan liao, so let alone my maid who has to face them alone everyday. For my elder gal, if she's nt happy with wat my maid did, she would complain to me when i reach hm loh. But i always told her, she must nt complain to me in front of my maid. If she wana complain to me, can onli do so when she's alone with me in my bedroom, coz' sometimes my gals sleep with me mah. Of course i did explain to her y i do nt wan her to complain to me in front of my maid loh.

<font color="ff6000">Emma</font>,
I do have a maid at home.. but I still send my gals to full-day childcare. This is because (1) I dun trust my maid to take REALLY good care of my gals without me around to aupervise her. Somemore they are at an age (3yrs & 5yrs) where the maid can still "threaten" them. Not safe. I've heard too much horror stories. (2) Sending them to childcare will enable them to learn more things cos there's lessons in Maths, Science, English, Mandarin, Computer, Speech & Drama, Arts & Craft, etc... etc... PLUS learning socials & interaction skills.

Having a maid around does have numerous pros and cons. Many people will be able to provide tons of insight into this.

BUT, I'm a firm advocate that when you have a maid, she's not a slave. We've got treat her like a human being. i'e, I try not to scold her but rather, tell her in a firm, tactful manner. I always beleive that scolding and yelling gets you nowhere cos they have their own pride too. Scolding and yelling will only make them rebel back. The scary part... you dunno how she will rebel. Go crazy & psycho? Take it out on your children? Spit in your food? etc.. I also make sure she has enough rest, compensate her "adequately" in terms of $$$ and day offs, she also needs some private area for storing her things, sleeping,etc. My maid currently sleeps in the study room so when it's bedtime @ 10pm, everyone needs to "clear-out" from the study. But in doing so.. you also need to balance this out so that the maid does not start to "climb on your head". She needs to be put in her place that she's there to help-out, not taking a holiday, etc.

So before getting a maid, it's not just about whether you can afford her... it's also about managing yours & her expectations, logistical arrangements, and on and on. Good luck.

HI Dorothy,
Since you have yr daughter around, then mum/MIL later in the afternoon, it's worthwhile getting a maid bcos got someone around to keep the house clean.

Emma,
Having a maid allows me to spend time coaching my son in the morning while she looks after my daughter...she also does the housework, cleaning/washing and that gives me time with the kids...what hubby says is 'non-value added' jobs.

Ms Blur,
I am at home with my kids 24/7 and that can drive me crazy...so I totally understand how it feels for a maid to look after kids alone. It's not easy esp for ladies with younger kids...looking after them, the housework can drive one nuts !!!

lani/janet/muffin/dor.. thanx for ur advice.. hmm.. we are still thinking.. another alternative is to either put enzo at nanny for half day, then bring back when i go home, or put enzo at childcare and also bring back when i go home.. cos with a helper ard, i still get to do my things.. actualli the main role for this helper is to do housework lahz.. maybe help take care of enzo a bit.. so i guess leaving them alone at home is out of the qn hor.. but thanx for ur advice.. realli gotta think it thru..

janet.. u have that sit ribbon + poodle towel too? how much did u pay for it? i paid $7 for it.. dunno got kenna ketok not..

Purin/dor.. i think installing cctv might work lah hor.. but still best if someone is there to watch her.. but if realli no choice.. then i guess cctv is the next best alternative.. but that means muz install in every corner? i mean every room?

<font color="ff6000">feifei</font>,
Hi hi.. *wave* What a rainy morning... couldn't climb out of bed. Did not oversleep but still 5-mins late for work cos the trains moving slower. haiz...

Acthia,
Sometimes we don't understand what the maid is thinking. My maid sleeps in my daughter's room...but my kids sleep beside me every night.
It's important to treat maids as human beings, but don't allow them to climb on top of our heads.