Gleneagles Baby

kolabear

Dear MTB
I wld be delivering my 1st BB in Gleneagles in Mar 07. would anyone like to share on thier experience and perks in Gleneagles? like what to take note and perks given?

saw online they provide 6mths AIA insurance. any comments on thier prenatal classes?

Hi Kola,
Am giving birth at Glen Mar07 too!!
I am a first time mum as well, so not too sure if the experience at Glen will be good.
Where did you see they have 6mths AIA insurance? From aia website?

Heard that Glen prenatal class is not that great from the other threads....I am currently taking the prenatal class at Thomson. Not too bad.

Hi Kola,

I delivered at Gleneagles in April 06. I'm very pleased with their service and everything during my stay there. Yes, they provided 6 mths AIA insurance but I didn't take up 'cos I already bought insurance for my gal from birth.

As for prenatal class, my friend told me it wasn't good and it is generally more costly. I went to the one at Mt. Alvernia. However, I would say it could be better to go to the one at the hospital you are delivering at 'cos each hospital will quote example from their own hosptial practice. Not sure how you feel about it. But I don't quite like it this way.

Cheers~

Hi Kola Bear and Keann... I am also a March 07 MTB. But this is my second pregnancy. I delivered my boy in GE in Jul 05.

Generally I like GE because the place is convenient from where I stay (very important esp when you need to rush to hospital on D-day) and the PD for my boy has her clinic at GE. The food isn't too bad and the nurses are friendly.

Yes... if your baby is born in GE... you get six months free of insurance from AIA.

The other perk is that your baby can join their Kiddies Club (free for first year). The Kiddies Club entitles you to join courses conducted at the hospital and discount at some retail outlets. The other thing is that if the baby is admitted to GE during the term of membership... you get 10% off the boarding charges.

When I delivered in 2005, GE was having a promo with Citibank. By paying upfront when I did my pre-admission registration with a Citibank credit card, I got special rates.

I think the other perks are probably pretty much what you get as other hospitals... like freebies from milk powder company etc.

Generally they are not famous for their prenatal classes unlike TMC... but for me I personally find it ok.

Hi, heard that GE provides limousine services too. Not sure if it's true though.

Yes, confirmed GE provides limousine services. I took that home heee...

And oh yes, when I delivered, I also signed up with the Citibank Promotion Package.

Cheers~

hmm.. is the Citibank promo still on? don seems to see that. so nice to hear that Keann and Odie are both delivering in Glene. My gynea is Dr Mary Yang and EDD on 19Mar but expect to be earlier and gynea say mine's a fat fat gal gal

i shld be signing up thier prenatal classes which starts on 09 Jan 07 running for 4 lessons.

Jasminetea....u delivered at GE. Me too in mid-Feb 2006.

Kola...I done mine at KKH which was recommended by my SIL. At that time i did a comparison. KKH is money well-spent in term of the course coverage. Do go for the hospital tour (1-2hr) which is opened for ALL GE patients.

If you are thinking of an epidural, ask for DR Ernest Lim. He's really good. I had him for my second delivery in Aug05. I felt nothing at all and was still bruising my husband's hand when he said the procedure was over. The first time I had another doc (I think best not to mention his name here), and it was really painful when he poked. You can imagine the vast difference from the first time. Also he didn't let my husband watch. Maybe he was more nervous giving me the epidural than I was getting it.

I delivered both my babies there. Excellent service! The nurses are very caring.

But I did my prenatal course in Mt Alvernia. It was sars then in 2003, so no prenatal courses available everywhere until pretty late in july that year. Sister Kang, the lady running the prenatal course in MAH, was my support during my first lactation experience. Wonderful lady with a wealth of experience to share on breastfeeding and babycare.

hi kristin's mum
i always thought epidural is given by the same gynea who delivers BB for me :p i will be taking epidural as am really scare of e pain.

Hi kolabear,
Epidural is administered by an anaesthetist nt the gynae himself.

Hi Kristin's mom,
My anaesthetist was Dr Dicky Tay. He's really good too.. I didn't feel much pain during the procedure. Maybe cos I have super low threshold for pain so i listened carefully and followed closely to every single instruction he gave during the procedure.
After the administration, my hubby told me that he was shocked to see the anaesthetist holding such a thick and long "needle"..

kolabear... last I heard was that the Citibank promo has ended. Hopefully they have another round of promo soon =p

serrich, I agree that Dr Dicky Tay is really good. He's quite humourous too. Thanks to him and Dr Chan that I didnt freak out during my epi c-section.

Do u mean that u need to book the anaesthetist and not the person on duty that day will give me the epidural injection?

serrich, I'll def book Dr Dicky Tay.

Chupa, you can book the anaesthetist if you got someone in mind.

hi giggler,

ur gynae is also dr chan? i will be deliverg in May 07 and gynae is Dr Chan. How is your experience with him? I find him great other than his costly fees :p

very nervous about the epidural jab you guys discussed above.... is the needle really that thick?

hi giggler!

You are one brave woman to do a epi c section!
I would have freaked out no end!
Though I had epidural for vaginal delivery, I told the anaesthetist to set it such that I can still feel each pressure (contraction) but not the pain. And to think of a C section with epidural, the feeling of the pressure...yikes! think that will kill me.

actually i'm not afraid of needle poking but will definitely freak out at the thought of me being cut open conscious.

but the first time was an electrifying pain when the anaesthetist poked. I had backache for quite sometime. But the second time round, din feel a thing at all.

so do i book the anaesthetist thru my gynae or thru the hospital? and any extra charges for booking that particular anaesthetist?

I think either one will do it for you.
I'm not sure of the extra charges.
I booked a PD from another hospital to come in to check on my second one and it seemed that the charges were the same with the previous one. But we're with this PD since my no.1 while she was still at Gleneagles.

hi kolabear!

An anaesthetist is usually a trained doc who administers anasthetic, meaning a chemical agent that will cause partial or total loss of sensation (thus you don't feel the pain) either with or without the loss of consciousness.

An anaesthetist administers an epidural anaesthesia by injecting the drug into the lumbar area of the spine (lower back), and then you'll feel numbness from the point of injection downwards. A good and experienced anaesthetist should take care while executing the procedure coz the point of insertion is quite near the spinal cord. I think my first time round wasn't done well at all hence the electrifying sensation and then the subsequent backache after childbirth which only went away gradually after a year.

Hope this info helps. You can also refer to many other reference pregnancy/childbirth books. I think they all have pretty good write-ups on options of analgesics or anaesthesia used for various forms of childbirth.

But don't let this scare you. Giggler's got a good recommendation and my second experience proves that a good anaesthetist can do a procedure so smoothly that you won't even know when the insertion is done.

Don't worry about the size of the needle... you won't be able to see it anyway, unless you ask to look at it when kit is brought in. You'll be back facing the anaesthetist when the procedure is being done, remember?

Hi Kolabear!

Just in case you wanna know the no turning back point if you wanna try natural birth without any pain relief.

The anaesthetist told me when one's 8 cm dilated, it'll be too late to ask for an epidural coz the baby will probably be out before the anaesthetic takes effect.

Giggler,
Me too! Already booked Dr Dicky Tay..

Kristin's mom,
Yah, I also freaked out when my gynae told me that i have to go for emergy epidural c-sect! The worst thing is I have to face it all alone cos my hubby is nt allowed to enter e operating theatre.. I felt so cold, scared and was shivering in fear cos i do nt know wat to expect during the op.. My mind was in a blank lor..
Lucky Dr Dicky Tay was there to chat wf me, gave me the assurance tat everything's gg to be fine, etc.. He was the one who helped me to pushed my bb out while my gynae was standing at the other end receiving my bb..
I could feel the surgery knife cutting thru my skin, the discomfort when my gynae tried to get my bb out and the stitching done thou its a painless process.. When i first saw my bb, all the fear was gone. All i could think of was my beautiful bb.

This time round i opted for epi c-sect again so that my hubby can witness bb's birth together..
Guess I wouldnt freak out like the first time since this is planned so we are mentally prepared and know what to expect..

Kola, think Kristin helped me to ans your qns.

lovedogs, yup.. my gynae is also Dr Chan.
Hes really professional. He did epi c-section and later lapro to remove cysts for me. I didnt feel much pain after those lor. I didnt manage to see the needle leh.

kristin, hehehe epi c-section is ok lah. At least hb was there beside me to give support mah. Also, I got to see bb first-hand, thats my main movitation lah. But the doc and nurses also helped me a lot. I didnt feel pain when Dr Tay administer the epi too.

Chupa. I booked my anaesthetist via my gynaes clinic. Dun think theres additional charge.

serrich, you able to feel so many things? I think I was too nervous and felt really numb liao. Hahaha Dr Tay and Dr Chan were really gd and they really gave me lots of assurance during the delivery.

Giggler,
Har, u cant feel it? Maybe cos I was alone so i was very conscious of what Dr Chan was doing.. Such a pity tat i didnt get a chance to see how my placenta look like! This time I must make sure i get to see it!

Btw, have u decided whether to store ur bb's cordblood? I am left wf 3 weeks bt havent start my research on it ley..

Kolabear - No more citibank promotion. But DBS Ladies Card gives 10% off room rates at Gleneagles and other parkway hospitals.

Serrich - Hello

serrich,

think i would have felt what you felt too...
anyway, i wouldn't know now and if i ever have the choice, this is something i will always choose to avoid... definitely not an epi c. but as your experience as shown, sometimes it's not something we wish for, right?

but i do salute you to do it again!

Hi Lovedogs,

I delivered naturally in Jul06 by Dr Chan as well. He's great, cool and great stitching, no pain. Felt really safe in his hands. His nurses even came to visit me n baby after the delivery.

Dr Dicky Tay did my epidural too, painless. Not too sure if its a standard procedure, but he came back to check on me after adminstering the epidural and explain to me what's epidural all about and what I should take note of, This really helps to put the first time mom at ease. Great doc!

have checked with DBS, if u take up the maternity packages, u are not entitled to the 10% discount.

Hello moomoo and giggler,

many thanks for your reassurances on Dr Chan. Althou i still have many months away, i am really very worried abt the delivery process. I have very very low threshold for pain and yet, i hope i can avoid c-section.

wow, giggler...how did u go throu epi c-sect? That's really brave of you!

hi Chupa,

I called up Gleneagles to check about the DBS 10% discount.

The CS lady told me not applicable if we take up the maternity packages. sigh.... like no way to keng further discount from glenE

in 25weeks now, should i book the anaesthetist now as going to my gynea tommo.

Hmm.. anaesthetist is the one who gives me the epidural. err.. whats PD? i seen pp mentioning abt PD.

do u think delivery at GlenE is really more exp than at KK? when i took GlenE, MIL was aksing why choose such an exp hospital. but i think the charges these days are pretty much competitive in fact KK seems more exp

by chance, any mummies were born from GlenE as well?

serrich, I haven think much abt bb's cordblood leh. Not sure if I'll store them at all. If I still cant decide, I'll just donate to public hosp then

lovedogs, I got very low pain threshold too but I managed to survive thru my epi c-section and lapro from Dr Chan.
In fact, some mummies thought I went thru natural delivery cos I looked gd after my delivery. Hehehe...

kolabear, PD is specialist doc for bb and kid.
Dun think you need to book anaesthetist so early but you can check with the clinic's nurse? Think Mt E and GlenE are the most ex hosp in Spore leh.

HI all,
Guess we have a GlenE club here. I deliverd my bb in jan05, my gynae is also Dr Chan. PD is Dr Lee. Cant remember his full name.His clinic is opp Dr Chan. Dont know why my friend's bb also delivered by Dr Chan, but the pD is from Singapore bb and child.Anaesthetist is also Dr Dicky. Were you all told to curl yourself up like a "prawn" before he admin the epidural? I remember that when he tried to poke the needle behind me, I feel a sensation and give a sudden shake. I was unable to control it as it is the body reflex. The nurse then reminded me that it dangerous to do that. But I'm speechless at that time. Then Dr ask nurse to assist me to curl up. Now thinking back, its so dangerous hah!
Hi Kola bear,
PD is padiatrician, doctor specialise in babies and children.

Hi hi...
Looks like quite many of us here are Dr Chan's patients hor?!

Giggler,
I also cant decide whether to store or nt. Most prob i will donate to SCBB bah..

kolabear,
Delivering in GEH def more exp than KKH.. My mum also scolded me for gg to GEH when KKH is so much cheaper if i get a referral from polyclinic..

pantone,
Yah i remember that i was told to curl up like a prawn. Dr Tay was very good. He gave me very specific instructions like when to breathe in & out, when to hold my breathe and what i am gg to expect, etc.. I super kia si so i kept very still and followed his instruction.. Don't recall myself giving a sudden shake when he poked thru.. Hope that i'll have a painless experience like the last time..

hello serrich,

when the needle goes in, can u feel it? i wonder how deep its in? how long was the jab? can remember? or they will leave the needle in throughout the entire delivery process?

how big was your bb during birth? i wonder will the delivery be tougher if the bb is big?

Hi lovedogs,
Yes, I can feel the needle poking in.. I think it went quite deep bt I try nt to think of it then.. I didnt get a chance to see how long is the needle ley cos my back facing the anaesthetist. Bt my hubby told me that the needle was thick and long!! He feared for me when he saw it! Errmmm I am nt sure if it was a tube or needle that they left in the spine ley..

My gal was 3.55kg at birth. She is bigger cos she's a full term bb.. If we are opting for c-sect, they prob just have to make a longer cut if the bb is bigger?? Kekeke..

Hi Serrich,

so meaning after they poke, the leave the needle hanging there? alamak, then can u turn back to your lying on your back position, wont you be adding weight on the needle then? Do they inject a LA on the area before they poke in the epidural jab? i think i getting very scared.

wow, ur bb girl is big for new born hor... how old is she now?

Hi Kola,

Sorries for late replies. Saw your PM but was so swapped with work.....and this thread has so many replies!!

My doc is Dr Gordon Tan, i think it's just right across Dr Mary Yang's clinic.

I'm attending antenatal class at Thomson Medical, conducted by Mrs Wong BB. Find her very humourous and her classes are quite fun. She teaches you exercises, breathing techniques, how to handle a baby etc etc.

lovedogs,
Oh it's the catheter tat stays in the spine, nt the needle.. Here's an extract of info i managed to find:

"An anesthesiologist will place the epidural, the entire process takes about 10 to 15 minutes, and most women find the procedure pain-free. A quick shot of local anesthetic (like the kind you may receive at the dentists office) is injected to numb your lower back- then, on that site, a needle which threads a fine, narrow tube called a catheter, is placed in your lower back. The needle is removed quickly and the catheter stays in place. The medications then flow from a pump into the catheter and can provide pain relief within minutes, that will last throughout the rest of your labor and birth."

My gal is nw 17.5mths old.. Yah she was really chubby at birth bt now she's only average size.. Only 10kg ley..

hi serrich,

Many thanks for the info
at least with LA, i think i am more relief
after the whole process, do u experience back pain?

btw, for V birth...will it be painful when we urinate? pai seh, me first time very KS... and scared..

can ask whether u BF your gal? wow...half a year more will be 2 years old

hi gals, any PD to recom? btw whats e charges? today went for my regular ck up and was ask which PD i wanted. think there is no diff in charges on the PD we choose rite?

btw does any mummy here kws of the following, my gynea says the 'water' inside me is a little excess and cos i am overwight, wants me to do a Glucose Tolearence Test but i really don wish to do. any opnions of this?

o kolabear,
it's just a prick in the finger. Very fast one!
hmmm, my gynae did quite a no. of time for me for both pregnancy coz my babies like to put on weight at one shot... though i usually didn't have much weight gain until i passed the 5th month. weight gain is alright as long as it's gradual. no harm doing the test, the doc is just ensuring that the weight gain is not due to pregnancy induced diabetes.

hi Kolabear,

I delivered both my kids in gleneagles. My kids' PD is Dr Gong Wei Kin on the 6 floor. He is very good! Very patient and humble.

hi ribenang
whats e charges for PD? hear from e nurse additional $300+ for 3 days stay in hospital. is it necessary to hv one?

I am not sure if it is compulsory but he is appointed for both my kiddos. He was in the labour ward for my elder kid as he had cord around his neck. For both my kids, he would check on them everyday and give them injections during my stay there. The price is about $300.