Gestational Diabetes

Ling, I'm anxious coz praying hard that baby will aarrive these few days so no need to induce as induction is not gteed may end up emergency c sect which will be very exp. Yes, I'm a private patient. Im aiming to go for A1 ward but depends on situation. If I've to be induced, I will.opt for B1 first and if all goes smoothly then I will upgrade to A1, if avail.

jia you Ocean Blue! I also stressful..scare later induce might end up as C-sec. now i keep walking and walking but also cannot over-walk coz later bb pop too early. I need more time for my handover

today weather super hot. I had an ice-cream all by myself. Have to sacrifice my lunch, just half a bowl of bee hoon nia. Very satisifed!

OCean_Blue, u with which hospital? NUH? if end up c section, they will caculate as c section unless more complication ...
but for private like TMC, they double charge lor...

but if u take B1 n then upgrade to A1, all services taken under B1 hv to upgrade also leh ... like first few hr in delievry rm will b under A1 charges

for lunch.. wanted to eat fish ball tang hoon soup + chicken.. but all chicken stall closed... so bought kuay chap.. wow.. the kuay chap portion was alot ... eat till me very full .. went to walk 2 rounds of chinatown pt ...

JC, u can take bee hoon? me cant .. reading sure shot up ... understand that bee hoon also made from rice leh ...

my #1 walking also no help to make her come out fast fast ... in the end she overdue n gyane wan me to induce as my blood pressure went up liao ...

bee hoon (soup or fried) is okie for me but i don't take the whole bowl.

yellow mee and guo tiao is big no no to me but i still crave for char kuey teow. If i eat, i will share with my hubby

i long time no eat kuay chap leh....coz of the braised meat. abit sweet for me.

Ling, I'm seeing TTSH head of dept of diabetes.

Mummies, Food ctrl for diabetes is tricky. Worse when most of our food we eat outside at KPT/hawker are mixed carbo. I usually take more protein & veges to make myself fuller, I do very well with sandwich (eg: subway: half side of wheat with chicken breast, loads of lettuce and other veges & 1 sauce only. And I can have a packet of chips and diet coke. But i need 6 units of fast acting insulin to go back to acceptable range).

Evey, oic..

ya, food at outside r tricky n challenging for us ... wow, good tat subway ok for u .. i hv craving for tat but hv not try yet as my office area dont hv any outlet ... mayb i shd go n try one of my off days ...

JC, so far those kuay chap i take r more of salty one.. not those sweet one..

yesterday kuay chap failed the reading.. but i cheat... i went walking around chinatown pt 2 rounds n back to redo the reading which is like half hr later... the reading is ok after the walk ... hehe ...

i also crave for char kuey teow ... but i'm sure super no no for me bcos of the kuay teow, yellow noodles n sweet sauce ...

i find tat i hv many craving these 2 weeks...all the no no food ... char kuay teow, durians, tau sha piah, tau suan, you tiao etc... haiz ...

so now jus wait for after birth lor

i jus went for my walk walk again ... i saw toast box.. crave for the kaya toast ... haiz ...

so many craving .. worst than first trim .. where i dont hv any for the 2 pregnancies... hiaz ...

hehe..my craving are all sweet sweet stuff. the irony is that i don't even like sweet things before. Than got GD..than now cannot eat, the more i crave.

You know the new burger that KFC launch. I told my hubby this is diabetic friendly. Coz no bread at all!!!...haha..i had 1 yesterday and my reading was 5.7 only.

JC, me too ... me no sweet tooth one.. but tis GD made me into one ... arhhhhh ...

haha... jus the 'burger'? how abt the fries n drink? hehe ...

me scare of the oily feeling after eating it ...

last weekend also dont know wat to eat, had the chicken burger n hamburger on diff day.. remove a pc of bread and go along with a pack of HL milk ... so far reading ok for the 2 meals...

but lack of fibre in meal ... after taking fybogel twice daily, my stool stil not smooth .. not like those i get from chinese medical hall/health product, faster ... soften very fast ...think the amt of husk etc lesser in fybogel ...

did u all read abt putting 2 cut lady fingers in water for overnight and drink the next day will help to reduce the diabetics in facebook?

feel like trying ...

morning ladies....

i asked my chinese doc on the lady's fingers drink, he say better dont try as we r pregnant.. bb will share wz us all the stuff... not sure if any effect on bb or not ...

if wan to try.. then after give birth ...

sat bring my mom, mil n daughter to Mac, had fish burger n fries ... though only a pc of bread on burger ... n black tea w/o sugar ...
as we put all the fries together.. i jus eat n eat the fries...

tat reading after 2hr is 7.9... almost faint ...shd had pass all the fries to them ... jus non stop for the fries... hiaz ...

i am waiting for my colleagues to go for lunch but super hungry now. i just finish a packet of yam yam..i think jia lat liao.....

JC, go for a walk lah.. reduce the reading very fast ... i jus walk around chinatown pt when i feel tat i will hv high reading or when my readings r high ... 2 rounds of walk n reading can down from 6.9 to 6.0 ...

if too high, hv to walk more rounds...

i was dignosed with high sugar level during my pregnancy. is this the same as Gestational Diabetes ? wen i was 1st dignosed with high sugar level, gynae asked me to cut down on food intake. i suggested it was the food i juz took b4 i saw him to prick my finger.

anyway, on the 2nd time, finger pricked but no high sugar level liao! i purposely choose not to take meal b4 the test,is it related?

anyway,doc said i muz follow up after i delivered which i din. follow up on wat and is it a muz? it has been a yr since i delivered...

Good morning ladies ...
hot n humid day ...

Dreamer, think ur sugar level is not tat high till ur gynae ask u to go for OGGT test (aka Orange junice test) with blood test ... tat is the one tat will determine if u r GD/debetic or not ...

some mummies, if just taken soft drink/meals n do the routine urine test ... might hv high sugar...

since u r not under GD, so dont think is compulsory to go for the follow ...but to feel safe, y not ask for one test to see ... no harm testing ...

for us, a confirm GD case, need to go back for review 6 weeks after delievery to see if diabetic follow us or not ...

hope tis help ... from my understanding ...

hope later nurse teoh will not call n ask me to increase my dosage ...

yesterday lunch had korean hot pot rice.. had asked for half amt of rice ... n stil didnt finish all the rice.. my 2 hr after meal reading was 7.6... faint ..

dinner also.. jus had brown rice, some potatoe stir fry, dumpling n soup .. 2hr after meal reading was 7.5 .. faint again ...

3hr after dinner, the reading also high at 7.0 ... 10mins later.. worst 7.5 ...

so stress last nite ...

Hi Ling

These 2 days my reading also crazy until I dare not take reading.. can we take pokka oolong tea? Am dying for a nice cold drink leh

Btw has anyone tried rice king (or something rice).. those small outlet where u choose which type of rice and filling..

Ling : korea rice is those jap rice? These type of rice is more sugary than white rice. So u might wan to cut down. Same as gutinious rice. After i got GD, i dont dare to eat na zhang. If i eat sushi/hand roll, i try to eat the liao only

Same for potato an dunpling. Also starchy and flour.

Kids affair : i recently crave for teh peng..so i modify and go for teh c kosong pengz haha..anything in noderation is okie lah..at least to me

My hubby frd say his father got diabetic biut he eat alot of rice. What he know is he boil the rice first. Than throw away the water and cook again. The first round will draw the sugar out. If use rice cooker, u just cooking bac the sugar into the rice. I dont know will work anot ...they are those hard labour type. If no rice, no energy

Going to see diabetic specialist today. Have been very relax these few weeks. Hopefully my test is okie. After that will be waiting to pop liao

Morning ladies...

JC, ya, those jap rice.. lunch time, my colleagues wan to eat good food so went to korean rest ... i only a little bit of the rice.. mostly r the carrots/cucumbers/veg ... hiaz ... wrong choice.. shd hv stick to the fish ...

last round at jap rest, had 3 pc of sushi the reading stil pass.. dont know y the kor one failed...

as for dinner, no choice, my mil cook.. so hv to eat .. somemore is brown rice... jus eat little also kanna high reading... haiz..

mayb my insulin workers wz the medicine also start to take rest even earlier.. or mayb on MC... haha ...

all the best for u follow up today ...

waiting game now for u ...

me now at week 26... long way to go ...

Kids Affair, at least u dont hv to jab insulin ... jus take reading ... me diff, take insulin liao shd b controling the reading to within safe range,... yet some readings r high .. jus scare of the nurse call n increase dosage... some r saying my dosage r high liao for so early GD...

hv great day ...

nurse jus called to say my reading for the post lunch n dinner high.. must watch out wat i eat .. hiaz..

if today reading stil got high reading ... then need to increase my dosage... arhhhhhhh ...

crossing fingers now ...

Morning Ladies

JC: I was told cannot drink chinese tea when preggie but cannot tahan the weather, had to down something icy cold. Will try teh c kosong later :p

Ling: am given a chance to control via diet but if cannot then I think must jab liao. That's why very miserable coz a lot of trigger food. And always a quarter full.

Gynea said must eat more coz am losing weight and bb needs to grow
... another 14 weeks more

Kids Affair, must try all the best for control via diet .. dont like me .. give in to doc to take jab after 3 weeks of faint diet ...

hubby is worrying that will effect bb .. but doc say will not .. but who know ...

i jus comfort myself tat me not the first n last pregnant mummy taking insulin jab ..

had watch the documentary on GD mummies in USA... would say all survived the whole journey, y not me... for i also control my diet n jab lor ... but sometime food jus fail me... arhhh ...

my gynae r not worry me losing weight ... as long bb growing, they bother abt me... btw, me plus size lah... had loss 4kg since Jan .. hv not put on any grams...

My prick test at clinic today increase wor. Increase to 5.3 from 5.0 but doc say within range. Ask me no need to worry. He tell me 6.6 is very strict. As long dont exceed 7 is fine. Anyway he increase my dinner to 10. So now i am taking 6-8-8-10

My next appt is 3 months later. During my stay at hospital, they will monitor my sugar profile and decided whether to continue insulin. Had scheduled me for OGTT prior to my 3 months appt

He keep reminding me that i might have diabetics before that..haiz. I think if i really diabetic, i will switch to go polyclinic see and get subsized rate. Super expensive to see as private patient

It okie to lose weight. I lost abt 9-10kg. Than put on 1kg plus so far but it is baby weight. Did my growth scan..bb is abit small but still within range.

Kids affair : my mum also nag at me when i drink teh...haha i drink in moderation lah or share with my hubby.
But if you not comfortable, than dont take.

JC, 5.3 is within range lah ...

the OGTT not 6weeks after delivery?

Dr Soh also say i might b slight diabetic before pregnancy ... so hv to extra careful after delivery ... dont make it into a real one tat need insulin ...

ya, private is too expensive in sin ...

how big is bb now? is ok as long within the range ... bb put on 1kg within a short time? tat is good leh ...

for tis pregnancy, after i know i hv high blood n diabetic, i eat alot of bittergourd ... then mil love kang kong ... so i had been like taking alot of cooling veg ... as long not too much at a go shd b ok ...

JC, bb ready now? so anytime will come?

jiayou!!

5.3 is the HB1AC test. Not the normal daily reading. my last test is 5.0 than increase to 5.3 ..haha

i got another 4 weeks to go till week 38. my gynae will induce me. Bb now is 2kg.

Doc schedule me is 12 weeks appt. He say don't want to bother me so much, about 7-8 weeks after my delivery.

JC, oic.. so is by mid may ... i wrote down ur's as early may ... so hv time to relax n enjoy ...

HB1AC also under normal lah .. as long within the range can liao ... sure sometime will up n down .. as long not excess the max limit can liao ...

bb might b smaller now.. mayb soon will put on all the weight in 4weeks time... old folks always say last 4weeks is the time tat bb grow very fast ... jiayou ...

me also hope to c section by week 38 ... stil hv another 12weeks to go .. long wait ...

eh last time i also think very far but suddenly left 4 months.

my handover still not done leh. My backup on medical leave..haiz.....i very panic liao.

i okie lah with bb size. Too big later must C-sec but till now bb not engaged yet.

ya, time flies fast ... me actually also hv not prepare for tis pregnancy yet .. not even the new born clothing ...

dont panic.. later bb also panice.. hehe ...

let ur boos/superior knows tat ur handover not done yet .. see wat can b done by them lor...

Hehe..at least yr #2..can use back most of the stuff

ya loh..trying to relax now. can feel tummy tightening more often. I also worry will pop early..haiz

I've just given birth yest
25hrs of labour!!
Just to share, post delivery sugar check shed be anything below 8. Gotta do OGTT 6Weeks postpartum. Can eat anything during confinement. No need to take insulin nor check sugar level during this time. If really want to keep track, just check once a week 2hrs aft meal.

Congrats ocean!

Natural birth? Did the nurse areange the diabetic doc to see you during the stay or they brief you before that?

Ocean_Blue, congratz ... woow... hip hip hurray ...

must take great care tis mth ... relax also ... rest more.. less computer/hp etc...

during my #1, i on the computer from day 5 onwards after my hubby back to work..hehe .. he didnt allow me any hp/laptop/computer even when in hospital ...

jus 2 days of computer, like 2hr each day, my eyes were very tired n tear alot ... from tat day onwards.. i understand y hubby dont wan me to play wz computer... really tiring for us...

jus rest/sleep when bb sleep... eat after bb milk ... less walking ...

can visit u after ur confinement? hehe ...

next will b JC... anxious? kan cheong?

dont worry too much ... relax as much as possible

enjoy .. the last few weeks of bb inside us... i miss the time when my gal in there ... but now she is jus too active/playful/naughty ...arhhh ...

Ya i going to miss my bb inside but also looking forward to jold in my arms..hehe

Getting anxious liao. I had nitemare yesterday..i dream i admit to hospital and have problem wearing the cover for the hair. Whole dream i keep adjusting and adjusting hahahah

At first not stress..but i see may mummies popping i also scare

I wan bb to stay till 38 at least...my backup
On long mc till 30th apr..haiz...

JC, dont stress ... dont stress ,...

they must b those first in the Q, so is normal that bb come out 1-2 weeks earlier than EDD ...

u jus concentrate to rest well can liao ...

rest well before bb come where we are not able to rest one .. busy wz the little one ...

very quiet ah this thread..hehe..

my colleagues commented that my tummy is lower liao. Does it mean engage liao? the last checkup - my gynae say the head down but not engaged yet.

aiyo i more and more worried liao...bb really must guai guai stay as long as possible

morning ...

ya, thread very quite ...

my boy also head down very early tis pregnancy ... tummy was lower since 5th mth ...

dont worry since bb not engaged yet ... they will engage when they r ready ... bb stil can turn around even they head down ...

ready for birth only when they engaged...

dont worried lah ... bb will listen to mama n stay inside the 5star accomodation longer ... sure bb wan to enjoy inside...

Just to share good news. I passed my OGTT test(6 weeks after delivery)!!! So happy.
I ate everything during the confinement too, including the red date longan tea.

Jiayou everyone who are going to pop soon.

morning, everyone...

Bibi, congratz ... woow ... hip hip hurray ...
u back to eat rice, noodle n bread during confinement?
how r u n bb .. must rest well

ocean_blue shd hv given birth ...

next is JC ...

me stil hv 2 mth ...

i down to my last few pieces of strip. Still thinking whether to get another 50+50+10.

the clinic no longer call me for my readings.

Dr Chua had given me a tentative date for my induce which will be on 20th May. Still have to go for another growth scan next thurs before can confrm again

Congratz Ocean_blue!!

Ling, jiayou, 2 mth will pass very pass. Hang on.
Yes, i ate rice, noodle n bread during confinement. Initially, i was worried seeing my reading still around 7-8 2 hours after meal. But, decided not to think too much and just eat. The portion just same/slightly more than during pregnancy. Well, i also went to TCM and asked TCM doctor to give me confinement medication , telling him my GD issue. Not sure if that help.

Mummies who currently experience water retention, feet feel heavy to walk or at confinement period, i advise you to wear a good pair of compression socks...to prevent vericose veins, relieve swelling, blood circulation, get rid of water retention.

I currently wear a knee length compression socks made in USA, and i have all good praises on it as it has helped me a great deal. Price is very affordable,good quality.