Ectopic Pregnancy

My gynae is suspecting that i might have EP. Had done blood test on wed and will be doing another one tonite. Would appreciate if you could tell me more about EP. If i cfm do have EP, that means i have to go for surgery rite? And by gg for surgery means to remove one of the tube affected? That means we will left one tube to get pregnant?

hi mad, sorry.. tink i missed ur post on 20 apr.. hope u are ok nw

hi ling76, hope ur blood test turn out to b ok
erm.. u need nt go for surgery if u hve EP.. there is another option which was wat i had gone through.. inject chemo-like drug into the body to kill off the pregnancy cells.. but hve to satisfy certain criteria before u can opt for tat... if surgery then will b left one tube i tink...

Sorry, read thrgh all posts again and found that some of you did had bleeding.
Think i definitely have EP cos there are not much difference in the HCG level for both of my blood tests.
Saw that some of you go thrgh laproscopy instead under the knife, can recommend me your gynae. Is he or she good? TIA

hi all ladies..
I had my embryo removed on 9th May due to ectopic pregnancy..would like to share my experience here..

I was bleeding but i knew it wasnt my normal menses. The stains lasted for more than a week. I was in alot of pain the day before my surgery..I went to see my GP and he said its nothing maybe some hormonal imbalance. I suspected its more than that and went to see a gynea near my place but it was fully booked for the next few days..Went home to rest while still in pain..In the evening cannot tahan anymore, searched for another gynea with an evening clinic. Went for ultrasound and the gynea couldnt trace any abnormality too. But i questioned the gynea about the bad pain (I thought it might be a cyst). He suggested I do a pregnancy test. I went back to the clinic the next morning and urine test confirmed I was pregnant. He sent me for a scan and the nurses told me to go back in the evening.

Everything happened in a whirl after that. I went for detailed scan and results was indicative of an ectopic. Went to see another GP (my MIL's friend) and she said it is an emergency and I shouldnt wait anymore. She referred me to Dr Lisa Chin at Gleneagles. I underwent keyhole surgery that evening.

While i was waiting for my surgery, I was in quite a bit of a mess, anxious and upset. The first gynea actually called me when I didnt go for my appointment in the evening and also scolded me after knowing I went to another gynea. Very unprofessional of the gynea, made me even more upset!

Ling76, Dr Lisa Chin is a very nice and patient lady. Her surgery skills was recommended my GP. Dr Chin was supposed to be on leave but came back to tend to me. She managed to preserve my fallopian tube and at the same time removed a small cyst on the right side. I'm really grateful to her.

min, so sorry to hear about that.. so i guess ep isnt tat rare after all... are u currently resting at hme?

ling, ur results out yet? still praying for u...

Hi Min,
Can give me her contact number? Btw may i know how much did you paid for the op?

Hi Joey,
I took another blood test yesterday, will be seeing my gynae today. Not sure whether to ask him to do the op or to look for another gynae who had done the op b4 to do it? Confuse now. Any suggestion?

hi ling, it all depends on hw comfortable u are with him... have u read abt him in the forum? mayb u can find his thread n read more abt him before u decide... min's gynae sounds good.. u currently working?

Thank you for all your concern this past week, your supports and advises means so much to me. Yesterday went to gynae to see my third blood test results, and it shows my hCG has went down till about 100+. Previous results were both 800+. By looking at the result, the gynae said i'm safe from EP and thus discharge me.
But i still wants to thank everyone. While waiting for the results, nobody understand how i feels except you ladies. THANK YOU !!!

I pray for everyone here ttc to have good news soon. Thank you again.

Hi every1

Juz wondering if it is true that you will most likely have an ectopic pregnancy if u once had numerous induced abortion

Juz trying to clear some of my doubts

Thx

Hi Ling,

Yip Yip Hooray!!! Happy for u!! of cos we knw hw u feel.. we been through it...

Anytime u need a listening ear or someone to talk to can always email me at [email protected]

Jennifer,
I am not sure abt the cause of ectopic if it is related to induced abortion.. but think i read it fr the web before... hw true i m nt sure though...but then again.. i heard of my relatives having many induced abortion but still can get pregnant n give birth.

Hi Joey

Thx for sharing. The reason of asking was coz i had miscarriages b4 n i wanted to conceive again but this is 1 of my concern

Hi Joey

I did chk with my gynae n he says i still stand a very gd chance of getting pregnant again but im juz afraid that history wld repeat itself n i oso dun wish to disappoint my hubby again n again

Hi Jennifer,

Dont stress urself too much by thinking so much..
i used to be like u.. nw starting to pick myself up... starting a brand new life..
i am sure ur husband will go through tis with u.. hoping to hear good news fr u soon

hi Jen,
EP happened due to hundreds of reasons.
did you have full check up, as to why miscarriage.
I still trying, if after this month still dont have, I going to see doc.

and how come got chemical pregnacy?

I just gone through a surgery to remove my EP 2 weeks ago on 4 Sep. It all happened too fast... discovered preggie on 31 Aug, then was I was about 6 weeks preggie. Din reaslise I was pregnant as I had my normal menses. I felt quite down for awhile as the beanie had a heartbeat.

Now 2 weeks after surgery, I still have spotting (but no cramps and pains). The spotting started from red to brown now...and I am still waiting for my menses to come (suppose to due a few days ago). Wonder is my spotting normal.... haiz...

Hi tomatoes,
sorry to hear abt ur EP...

regarding your spotting, did you ask ur doctor? mine was mtx no surgery so I am not sure abt your case.

Dont worry too much.. I m sure everythg wil b fine

Hi Joey

I had emailed to my doc and he said if no pain and cramps, just let it be wor.

Actually I was hoping that I can dissolve my pregnancy via jabs but my HCG too high liao.

hey tomatoes,

since ur doc say ok then u shdnt worry
rem to stay cherry n happy

erm... i personally dont like the jabs.... pain... glad its over any way...

Hi astromum,

For ectopic pregnancy, whether the tube has to be removed or not will depends on your doctor. It very much depends on the surgery itself.

I had the more invasion surgery, after the operation the doctor removed my left fallopian tube. According to percentage, then my fertility will fall to half, since I can only get pregnant through my right fallopian tube. However, if I need to go for ivf, then egg retrievel can still be done from both the left and right ovaries.

However, the doctor did say that depending on why my ectopic happened in the first place, which till now I do not know, there is also a concern and possibility that my right tube may have problems as well.

Currently I am expecting our first baby conceived naturally, who is due in January. So there is hope after all.

need some advice here!..

jus did laprascopy for my ectopic at TMC, the bill came up to be 6.8k, paid arnd 5k in cash n the rest was medisave.

My question is: anyone here did claims with their insurance like hospitalisation plans successfully??

My agent is telling me: I can claim only based on govt hospital/surgery rates...

Can i also claim from my office insurance if i cant claim full from mine?

Hey Debbie

I did ask about the insurance claim but was told regarding pregnancy issue, no claiming will be allow. I paid around that amount too.

Everyone:
Just to let you know i am left with a tube and had ectopic twice and miscarriage once.
I had a son who is going 3 years old and now i am pregnant again. Just want to say DONT GIVE UP.

I cant make any claim either. And when I ask my agent can or not, she ask me to pay doc $75 for a medical report to send to the company. In the end cannot claim. Wasted my money.

hopefully

i think your agent got no experience. When i asked my agent about it, she told me unlikely but will check for me.
She got back to me and told me she even check with CPF, they too said pregnancy related problems are not able to claim.
Anyway, i already got a insurance on woman sickness and it does include ectopic etc. You may want to get it. It is available in AIA and PRUDENTIAL.
I got from AIA in beginning but they exclude my ectopic. So i check with prudential and with my medical review, they allow me.

Dear Hopefully

Yes, i got insured.

I submitted my last medical report on my laproscopy saying that i have a good tube. Prudential actually approve and gave me the insured.

hi ladies, what's if 6 weeks and yet to detect any sac? does it conclude as ectopic pregnancy? Pls advise, many thanks

Hi to all, Im new here. Just like to share my sad story with all of u. I was married in year 1998 and aft TTC for 3 years...finally end'2001 i got pregnant but i had a M/C. We tried again aft 6 mths then mid'2002 i had an ectopic pregancy on my right tube but the gynae didnt remove my right tube. Aft the op, i was told dat my left tube was also damaged n blocked too. So i gave up on trying since then...Surprisingly 5 years later, I got pregnant again (last Aug 2007) BUT UNFORTUNATELY, I got an ectopic on my right tube again and tis time, the tube was removed. I think mine is hopeless n gone case already, nw im left with a tube dat is also blocked n it's impossible for me to get pregnant again. Im already 29 yrs old n i reali giv up. Guess i got no chance to be a mummy

Piscesss, don't give up. There will always be a miracle. Pray, if you have a religion. And if you have hope, there may be medical advancement in the future to enable you to be a mummy. You are still quite young at 29. there are ladies out there who get pregnant despite medical problems adn they are much older than you.

Gillian, 6 weeks may still be too early to tell esp if your fertilization date is uncertain. Best way to tell is to take blood, test HCG levels, then take blood a couple of days again, test HCG levels for a comparison. Or else, go back for a scan after a week. If you dun have severe cramping or any bleeding, it may not be ectopic. I was a suspected extopic case, cos of severe one sided cramping during early pregnancy but sac was seen at about 5 weeks.. but I'm very very regular normaly.

hey piscesss

Dun give up. I think you should change a gynae. Block tube can go thru lapro to unblock it, thus your tube will be able to function. Hey i left with one tube too and currently pregnant with my second kid due on aug. Dun worry, seek a second opinion and it may help.

piscess, don't give up. never give up. sometimes life may seem impossible, but be optimistic and relax and sometimes the miracle that you are waiting for will happen.

we ttc for about 1 month and i got pregnant in 2005, but the sac was not seen, worse i even went on a holiday for 2 weeks to china, then i came back which my pregnancy at 8 weeks was found to be a ectopic, my gyne even said to me, thank god i did not die in china. anyway, operation found the ectopic in my left tube, and it was removed. gyne could not confirm if my right is ok. we ttc since then, and i was about to give up. i went to see tcm and was told to stop eating chicken, i actually did that for 2 years, nearly feel like dying. was depressed becoz pple around all had kids and were getting preggie. but i learn to let go and be more positive about life and when all things seem impossible, i got pregnant in 2007.

my bb girl is now 2 months. so never say never

cheer up. there are so many of us here to talk to if you ever need a listening ear.

Dear gals,

Thanks for your encouragement and Im glad to be in this forum with u gals ard.

Let me know if u have a gd gynae who is good in opening blockage tube, maybe i just go n seek for 2nd opinion. If anyone has a gd TCM to recommend for pregnancy probs, do let me know too.

I just wish to have a complete family but everytime it was disappointment. Dats y I wanted to give up, hope miracle will hapen.

Once again, Thanks gals!

Piscesss, miracles won't happen if you give up. cos once you give up, it means you no longer want a baby and even if you are pregnant, it won't be a miracle to you but rather, a burden. Good for you that you are thinking positive now. Remember, you are still young.

just to share my story.

I was detected of ectopic pregnancy on the 6th May 2008 at TMC. At that point of time, i was about 7 plus week and baby's heartbeat was healthy. Had to remove the pregnancy on the right tube, 7th May 2008 as I was already suffering from internal bleeding.

However, thank god. My tube was saved and gyne did a flush on 2 tubes. Gyne came by my ward to give a post evaluation, she mentioned that in my case, it was a blockage of infection that causes ectopic (infection tissues have been cleared). and recurring ectopic pregnancy may be abt 20-30%.

Now, i am seeing chinese physician to tio my body as i plan to try in 2 - 3 months time.

Piscess, please do not give up, i can recommand you my chinese physician. However, she is kinda costly. But i personally feel it is worth it.

Also, any one knows the cause of their ectopic pregnancy? Any in the same boat as myself?

God Bless.

Hi I also just had a surgery to remove my right fallopian tube due to an ectopic pregnancy. Doc decided that it's better to remove it so as to prevent recurrence.

My surgery was on Thurs. I am still not able to shit. Anyone has the same experience? Can give some advise?

TenQ, i also fall victim to ectopic and had surgery to remove both tubes on the 15th aug. My stomach is very weak so I just take milk and i'll be spending time in the toilet. you can try some invasive food like laksa or what then maybe will poo poo..

Hi, I also a victim of ectopic pregnancy, done the laproscopy on last sat. Need to check with you girls whether your tummy look bloated after the surgery? Mine become more bloated than b4 the surgery

Beyond, i feel very hungry and maybe that's why my tummy is quite big as i'm always eating. I wonder if the baby is really out cos I have twins and one in the womb but the other one in the tube. Dr remove both my tubes and did a d&c. So i lost both my babies. Did you bleed like menses? I have some spotting and that's it. I wonder if it's normal.

WanBB,

Infact, I didn't eat much. When I discharge from the hospital the next day after the surgery, my tummy already bloated. I feel like there are a lot of wind inside. I only had some spotting.

Beyond, Oh! I know why you feel bloated. During the surgery, dr will insert some air inside our tummy so they can see what's going on. Or else our organs will be sticking together. I let off gas for many times during the first few days but it's not smelly at all. So don't worry abt it. You should be fine in a few days.

Hi All, I am on one them that suffers from EP too. I just had my op on 08.09.08. Feeling a little paranoid and worried about the future and no sure will there be any complication. Jus found a little lump at the lower left adorminal, no pain. Not sure what is it, but will arrange with my gy for another check up. Hope that there is no complication.
Feeling slightly down now.

Hi Diana, don't worry, if you need a listening ear, you can come here and shout all your worries out loud =). Many listening ears around here.

Can understand how you feel now, when I had my EP 2 years ago, I also felt very down and life was so bleak. I felt no one around understand me and my friends were getting bored of me be being in a never ending "feeling pity for myself" mode.

But for now, just concentrate on getting your health back on track, try not to do anything too strenuous k. Gambattee!!!!!

Hi Angelsky, thanks for the encouragement. I will be going for a holiday this week with my husband, hope that this will wash away the blues. Now just hope that things will move on smoothly from now on.

Ronniemini, I think there is no chance that one have EP and give birth. The little fella will not grow well in your tube and your tube will burst. Correct me if I'm wrong.