DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

faithnhope,

i never conceive tru ivf though. my this bb is conceived naturally.. so hope if i wanna hv #2, i can conceive naturally too.. else just be it.. play with joy n kelcqi's bb gal can liao...

I see.. natural it shall be! Don't worry too much

hazeline

hmm they dont send reminders ah? I think i still have 3 left. used 7 embroys after the first IVF for my first 2 gals. Dr fong advised me not to discontinue until Richelle is born. anyway, i have 3 kids, enough for me le ;)

faithhope, how many weeks are you now? so excited to go for Dr Fong's appt now right ? I always look fwd to see bb on the scan ;)

Hi lbt, I just saw Dr Fong. Bb's at 15w6d, measuring abt 10cm.. Can't be sure about gender yet cos blocked by umbilical cord and Dr Fong guessed bb could be a girl.. hehe.. I hope so too!! Now gotta wait another 4 weeks for detailed scan.. hehe

Hi ladies, can I ask if any of you took Dr Fong's package (from 5th month onwards?) Do you think it's worth it? His package is $700 which includes consultations ($50), scans ($70) and urine tests ($3).

Based on Eileen's estimation, generally one would have 7 scheduled consultations from 20wks to 38wks (and some 39wks). Assuming mine will be from 20wks to 38wks, the amount will be:

20wks - consultation + urine = $53 (cos I'll be seeing Dr Fong same day after detailed scan so need to scan again)

24wk, 28wk, 32wk, 35wk, 37wk, 38wk - consultation + scan + urine = $123 x 6 = $738

So all in all, mine is about $791, not a lot of difference from the package leh...

The package doesn't include unscheduled consultations, supplements/meds and visit at Paragon.

Any advice? Thanks!

faithhope

wah you did your maths !
seriously, i just take up the package without thinking. and I always utilise all 8 visits !

so just pay once, and dont bother abt it on every visit ...

faithnhope
I took up the pkg at Paragon. I saw him 8x b4 I popped.. which is 2wks early... so I thk mine's quite worth it oredi.

Yes, the pkg is tied to only 1 clinic. But I did hv 1 appt which I went to c him slightly earlier than scheduled cos of bad water retention. I was allowed to use the pkg lor, so ok lah.

Thanks lbt and haze1ine! Looks like we do need at least 8 visits, which will probably be worth it lah.. Yup Eileen said it's tied to one clinic only unless otherwise instructed by Dr Fong should there be a need to see patient at the other clinic.

Hi gd morning everyone

It's been a while I came in here how's everyone ?
Currently I m in my 13 week.
Just to check with you ladies here, I was told to stop taking utrogestan and injection after 12 week. Now I am worried that my progesterone level might be low as I was on heavy dosage on utro and injection before. What if my placenta doesn't really produce enough of progesterone? Am I worrying too much?

Hi glimmerhope, have you seen Dr Fong recently for your 12wk or 13wk scan? Usually at 12wk, if the scan shows that your placenta has formed, Dr Fong will ask to just complete whatever utrogestan you have left and don't need to continue already. Instead, we'd be given fish oil, multi-vits and calcium pills.

Hi faithhope, yes i have seen him at 12wk scan and he told me no need to take injection n utroges and start with the supplements.
i m just worried that the placenta will not produce enough P support as i have low P to start with..
Maybe i m too paranoid la.. but keep thinking what if this happen.

glimmerhope, don't worry yah if Dr Fong said you can stop utrogestan. I'm sure he'll continue to monitor. If you are concern, instead of monthly visit, you can ask for fortnightly visit?

Hi faithnhope, ya maybe you are right, might schedule an appt on my 14wk.. cannot wait for 16wk haahaa..i guess meanwhile i will monitor my body for any unusual symptoms..Tks for your advise.

Yup, lbt has answered your question. I asked Dr Fong that too when I saw him at 12wk; whether I need to continue folic acid and vit c. He said no need but if we want to, we can, no harm.

BTW, I also asked him if I could do light exercise like swimming (now that I'm 16wks), he said better not, and to wait till 20wks detailed scan wor...

faithnhope, ya better not first as Dr Fong says so.. wait for 4 wks more hehe hope that is a bb Gal for u!!
for the detailed scan will Dr Fong be scanning for you or need to go down to 8th floor?

glimmerhope (glimmerhope),

remember to ask the sonographer o let ur dh in drg detailed scan. latest practise they don allow dh in but i insisted n my dh were in.. heeheee

glimmerhope
Congrats on coming this far!

The multi-vit oso has a small amt of folic acid.. so dun worry abt it. And rite, once placenta takes over, u dun hv to worry abt not hving enuff P.

faithnhope
If u want to do a 4D scan aft ur 20wk, rem to ask nurse to book earlier for u hor... cos I decided too late & didn't get to do it. BB too big then n not worth to do 4D scan, plus, can't get a slot that i wanted.

Esp if u want a Sat slot... gonna book earlier.

Good luck on hving a bb gal... u'll hv tonnes of stuff to buy, believe me! There's a lot of overseas sprees here on SMH where u can get much cheaper bb clothes from US... u may want to chk them out.

mrsong
hmm... I rem my DH was only allowed in aft the sonographer is done w wot she is supposed to do. They wil go thru it again w him. So I actually know the bb's sex b4 he does... hehe

mrsong, yeah when the time comes, i will insist on dh to come in if they allow me..hehe

hazeline, yeah tks! me cant stop worrying aiyoh cant stand myself!!

mrsong, they don't allow?? Why? I don't care - I will insist my hubby accompanies me cos he'll be going with me anyway hahah! Eileen has helped me booked the 20wk scan on 20 Sep late afternoon, afterwhich I will bring the results to see Dr Fong. BTW, how much does the detailed scan cost ar?

haze1ine, if I'm not wrong, 4D scan is not cheap right? I think I can do without lah unless there's a gd reason/benefit to do so hahaha! As for buying bb stuff, I will take any hand-me-down from my siblings haha!

faithhope, glimmerhope

i just had detailed scan early this year and my hubby went in with me leh.

4D scan has no medical benefits, hence I think can save on the money lah

oh btw, faithhope, Dr Fong will not do another scan if you see him on the same day after your detailed scan.

faithnhope
yeah.. no medical benefits, jus a keepsake.

I a bit regretted not doing it cos.. might be my one & only child lor.

oh, ya... sonographer asked dh in later. but i insisted to hv my dh in throughout =)

detailed scan is abt 140-150? cannot remember already... poor mummy brain...

i did 3d scan, FOC by another gynae, bb look the same when born.. very cute... but true it's for keepsake...

lbt
dun thk so easy can get no.2 for me lah... I wil stil try w my remaining 3 embryos some time nex yr.. but aft that, dun thk I wil want to do any ART liao. Jus let things b...

Ladies, btw.. my gal has this small white spot on her gum... what is that ah? Seems lik it's itchy cos she tends to put her fingers in on that side n bite. Not sure if I shd bring her to c doc... Im seeing doc 2wks later for her 16wks jab

hazeline
is it oral thrush ? my bb has it too. i bgt daktarin for bb from pharmacy. but it is harmless to bb.

btw i also conceive my #2 from frozen embroys. dont worry, i think with 1st sucessful attempt, subsequent tries shld be easier.

lbt
I chk up on the white spot online, like u said, likely oral thrush & I jus ned to clean her gums more often.

Abt FET, let's c nex yr Im successful on 1st try or not lor. Cos Im a 4th attempt IVF success leh..

hazeline,
wow you r one brave gal ! 4 attempts ! i went through once and i tot it was the most difficult part of my life. i dont think i can go through the phase of terrible bloating again !

dont worry, our body gets better after each birth, be positive.

lbt
no lah.. I did only 2 fresh cycles & 2 FETs, total 4 IVF tries in that manner. My bloating for the 1st one was pretty bad but I felt ok for the 2nd fresh.

Yes... I will nv forget that 'want to die' feeling!

hazeline

ic ...still very brave to go through fresh cycle twice leh !

anyway, enjoy the time spend with your #1. think of #2 after she turns 1

good to try for another kid, then they will learn to care and share for siblings. my hubby always wanted many kids, so that the responsibility of taking care of us is distributed among the kids.

hazeline

thanks ! i hope they will !

faithhope, Joy,

how's your pregnancy so far ? anyone know their bb gender already ?

Hi lbt, me so far so gd. about 18 weeks now.. at the 16 weeks check, Dr Fong couldn't confirm the gender yet (blocked by umbilical cord) but he guessed could be a girl.. hehe.. I'm going holiday tomorrow.. yipeee!!

faithnhope
Enj ur holiday... spend some quality time alone w ur HB. Else very diff to get time alone aft bb born lor...

Me starting work nex Mon... super sianz! 16wks jus flew pass like that...

Thanks haze1ine. Yah, agree that time flies! 2010 is gonna end very soon!

Hope you are all prepared to go back.. I read about weaning off baby, preparing to resume work etc.. seems a difficult task!

hazeline, i am starting work on 27 Sept too ... super sian hor !!

and because this is the first time I have 16 weeks maternity leave (previously was 12 weeks for first 2 kids), I don't feel like going back to work !!

I just intro bottle to my Richelle last week, and luckily she takes on quite well. phew !

faithnhope

great to know u r doing fine ! any gender is good as long as bb is healthy

do whatever you want now !! with a baby, you'll have not much spare time. imagine I have 3 kids, i really need extra help when I want to go out. many arrangements to make !

I wean off liao... started abt a mth ago.. I was feeling quite miserable in the process cos of engorgement but now ok. BB was on FM for nite feeds previously so she took it ok.

Jus took her for her 16wk chkup & jab... now 6.8kg. hehe

lbt
U oso take 16wks ah? I tot only I do.. but hopefully since it's year end, time will pass very fast.

btw, the white spots on my bb's gums... doc say it's apstein pearls. Nothing to worry abt & it'll go away. Thrush wil b more troublesome.. luckily it's not!

Ladies, any idea when AF wil come aft weaning off? I read abt 2mths but depends oso on individual...

hazeline

you stop BF le ? wah your bb is heavy weight ! my gal is 5.85kg at 3 mths old. anyway she was born small at 2.8kg.

I have never heard of apstein pearls ... good to hear it's harmless.

So who's taking of your bb when you go back to work?

My AF came back during BF for my #2. When I was bf-ing #1, it only came back like 2 mths later after I stop BF.

lbt
1st day of wk oredi got rush job.. super sianz.

yes.. stop more than a mth ago.. dun 1 2 feel engorged when I start wk. My wkplace not BF friendly, bopian.

my gal oredi 3.4kg at birth.. now she's doubled her birth wt.

My mum take care of her lor, we fetch her back every nite n on wkends. But she got classes at nite, so I hv to rush off immediately aft wk.

Hmm... guess my AF shd b here soon then. Funi when I was BFding, I hv spotting, rem? Now I stop liao... nothing! haha

hazeline

supersian to go bk to work hor !!!
yeah irem your gal was heavy at birth. my richelle also doubled her wt at 3 mths old

great to know your spotting stops ! so great to not have mensus heheh

lbt
yes... very sianz!

Thk my gal got a bit of cough.. heard her coughing a few times. And when she 'speaks'... her throat like got phelgm like dat. And she dun seem that active.

Hmm.. if bring her to doc, wil doc giv her anythg to take? Or can I giv her anythg on my own? She's now only on FM...

hazeline

when the bb is too young (< 6 mths old), usually PD will not prescribe any medication, as the dosage for this age group is low hence not effective. Only if the condition gets worse, then PD order to give some medication.

My Richelle also cough when she was only 1 mth+. She caught the virus from her sis. So PD says let her body recover by herself but gave med to standby if her cough worsen. In the end, her cough went away like 2 days later. So guess BF helps.

If the cough is disturbing your bb's sleep and she is seems less active, should seek medical advice.

lbt
jus called my mum to chk.. she said bb seems ok to her lor. She nv hear her cough n is her usual 'ned to c ppl around' mood.

many told me too there's limited med doc can giv oso, so mayb I monitor her 1st since she no fever oso.

thx!