DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

hello ladies,

i went to see Dr Fong for the 1st time (@ TB) yesterday and i find him very friendly and assuring(though i was quite shy with the scans and all...hehe)
i do agree TB is realy v small cuz there were only enough seats for 3-4 ladies inside the clinic...
can i chk if i go to the paragon clinic, the price will be watever i pay at TB+7%? cuz i paid $200 for my first consultation yesterday...is it common to pay such a price? ive been scheduled to see him in another 1.5wks time..really gotta reduce my shopping trips now to save $$... =)

oh my gosh!
jean and hazeline, wat did u all do or scan at first visit to pay so much?????? Dun scare me leh, cos if his fees are that high, i wont go lor. my previous gynae at TMC was much cheaper!!

my_trend
I dun thk Dr Fong's fees are high... it's quite average actually. U can't compared with govt charges of course! Rem u're seeing a private gynae now. And rem to use the 1st consultation charges to compare... cos subsequent ones are usually much cheaper.

1st consultation usually takes a much longer time. He'll want to know ur history... everything. Then there will most likely be a scan, for ur case, to c if ur bb is ok. : )

Actually, I thk u shd really go n meet him in person! Then u judge for urself...

Maybe Jean took the folic acid from him.. : P And maybe Vit pills too? I really duno the details unless u hv the breakdown of the charges. I dun hv mine with me now, if u want, I can check for u when I'm back tonite...

hazeline
my previous gynae was also in private practice at tmc.
thanks, would appreciate if u could share ur details with me tonight. Then at least i have got an idea of how the charges are charged

hazeline

BINGO !! aiyo now u know my age ehheh

we are not OLD yet lah so u can still TTC ok ?

yes the expensive charges is due to the 1st consultation. It is written very clearly on the charges slip at the reception. Subsequent visits would be cheaper.

mytrend
I'll go back n search n let u know tonite. I hope I stil hv it..

labbit
U already hv two cuties.. me stil TTCing... duno try til when then it's my turn.

Yesterday I saw the channel 8 programme, they happen to show Mark Lee's wife giving birth. And a few days ago, the papers also interviewed him. He also wait for very long.. 6 yrs. 2 failed IVF attempt n numerous TCMs.

I was thking, maybe govt shd do an actual survey, on whether ppl really dun want to hv kids.. or they really cannot or cannot afford. There's a lot of difference right.. u dun want n u cannot?

hazeline

oh i din know abt Mark Lee's TTC story.

So u shld be encouraged by it?

govt is introducing more goodies for couples having kids leh .. aiyah I will miss it ! ehhe unless I go for 3rd one ??

duno felt encourage or even more sad...

U can stil try for no. 3 and even no. 4 rite... if u stil hv frozen embroys left. Else, who knows.. u might strike it naturally. : )

I'll go read up on IVF... thk cannot escape liao. AF already at my door front le...

Dr Fong did told me, IVF dun hv to start til abt 3rd wk of ur menses... is it? I'll be away this wkend... So I can call for an appt again aft I'm back.

Hey Hazeline and Lbt,

i saw from the newspaper that his wife actually get pregnant after sitting on Zoe Tay's bed coz Zoe just gave birth only. Don noe zun or not.

Hazel,

how long have u been trying. I am trying for abt a yr. I had 2 failed IUI. My last first IUI i had 3 eggs in good size and none manage to implant. Dr Fong was quite shocked also and commented that i had stubborn ovaries. I also don noe what he meant by stubborn ovaries. Then i saw the JE sinsey, she said my eggs r all empty shell. Haiz.... Had been following dos and dons and yet all attempt failed. Seriously i can under how u feel.

Mytrend,

My first consultation is $80 and ultrascan is $80 + 7% gst is abt $171.2o(Paragon). Mine does not include medication. Subsequent consulation is $50 and scan is $70. I find that Dr Fong's charges is reasonable compared to others clinic at Paragon. Hope it helps.

hazeline

i still have 3 frozen embroys in the fridge at MT E. Think can only try another time, so no no.4 for me unless conceive naturally.

i cannot rem the details of IVF as in what week to start etc so u gotta ask Dr Fong.

Joy

ehhe they so superstitous. Then I welcome all who trying to TTC to come sit on my bed ??

I've been trying for 3 long yrs... My previous TCM told me, ur eggs quantity n quality r wot u're born with. If it's no good, there's nothing one can do to 'improve' it.

hahha.. how that JE sinseh know ur eggs r empty shell? Did u tell Dr Fong that?

I do thk I might hv some problems with my egg quality, though I wil only believe it to be true aft it's scientifically proven. Else i really can't explain the 2 failed IUI attempt. Timing is right.. ovulation is there... my HB's sperm is almost perfect... only my lousy eggs lor.

I checked my tubes when I did my cysts op, it's not blocked.

Hv u all heard of this gynae at Mt Alv.. who sort of council u into thking that u're fertile n hv no problems at all? I've got a collegue who said i shd go n try that. She said this gynae, believe a lot of infertility is all in the mind...!

my_trend
I found my 1st consultation bill:
- consultation $100
- scan $80 (inclusive of a card w/ultrasound pics of ur womb n ovaries n details)
- and GST of course!

Actually, labbit... when one has tried so many times n hv no success, anything that gives u hope, u'll go n try!

May I know how much it cost to store embroys? Something like cord blood storage?

hazeline

u make the gynae sounds like she's going to hypnotise u ! eheh but I do strongly believe mind over body leh. why not u give it a try?

It cost abt $480+ to store the embroys for 2 yrs I think. it's only a one time payment, unlike cord blood storage where u pay yearly.

i still freeze my remaining embroys. dunno got energy to go #3. and also becos I had c-sect for #2, v scared to have #3 since I dont think I can do VBAC. Need to ask Dr Fong.

two weeks ago when I see him, my hubby asked when can I have 3rd child. Dr Fong says 6 mths later ! siao ah !!! tot c-sect wound need more time to recover ?

lbt...
My colleague told me her cousin went... n got preggie aft 2 mths. Her cousin's friend recommend her there. So she ask me to giv it a try if I want.

I jus found out IVF wil cost a bomb.. duno if I can really afford it leh. Someone told me u stil hv to fork out abt 10K cash! : (

But the storage sounds quite reasonable.. not that expensive. I tot it'll cost a few Ks. each yr.

Hey, some ppl say hypnotism helps too!

Actually, we're not young anymore leh. I was thking, if I really can hv kids, I would want one aft another as soon as possible! Cos I wasted too much time liao..

I'll talk to u ladies again when I'm back...

hazeline

my IVF also cost abt 10K+, which we can claim $6k from medisave for 1st attempt. So still affordable for us.

but I think cost is not an issue, it's us going thru the whole process. need a lot of support from hubby especially.

haze1ine,

Dr Fong did nt subscribe folic acid and vit for me cuz i have been taking them on my own since TTC but he gave me 1.5box of Utrogestan to stablise my foetus cuz i told him i have pulling sensation on my lower adomen...if w/o the medication will cost me $155..
As for the U/S pic, did u req for that or he gave it to u w/o yr req?? he didnt give me leh..hmm...i think i will ask from him on my next U/S. hehe

jean
I thk the cost is abt there. : ) My consultation might be a bit more cos it's infertility case n we did discuss a bit longer. I didn't request for the pics... he jus gave it to me.

lbt
Here I am again! haha HB brought laptop to do work! Yes.. on our supposing relaxing vacation... anyway.. got foc internet access n there's absolutely nothing to do here.. so I'm checking my mails again.

Seems that Dr Fong's cost is quite ok. Someone told me she has to pay abt 10K more in cash for her IVF treatment. So I got quite a shock.. I was wondering how many 10K I can afford.. : (

But I thk everyone's cost varies, depending on how u'll react n ur treatment.

Support from my HB ah... *sigh* I really duno leh. I'm a pretty determine person myself. For him.. he would love a child but he might not understand all the things I hv to go thru lor, he will thk it's all in my mind n I'm jus throwing tantrums!

I'll make sure he is there when Dr Fong goes thru the treatment process.. so he'd know I'm not jus kidding him.

Hihi Ladies,

Long time nv log in here le. Erica and my hubby had been sick. So these while doing nite shift ALONE. I'm so tired man. I sick also have to do nite shift, hubby sick can go home sleep. Life's so unfair as a woman. I miss coming into forum. Missing everyone here. Hows everyone?

Jean, my trend, Hazeline
Welcome to this thread.

Jean,
COngrates on your pregnancy. Anything not sure juz feel free to give the clinic a call. Dr FOng's a great gynae. Enjoy your pregnancy under his care, you're in good hands!

Lbt, I love the pics of Rachel and Rianne. I agreed with Joy, should submit e pics to competition. Not to forget mentioning, your hubby's a great photographer. Haha...

Re: Dr Fong's charges. Dr Fong increase his charges already? I remember my first consultation not that ex leh. Mine was only 80 for 1st consultation. But my friends they all said Dr Fong's delivery charges not cheap after knowing my hospital bill. Haiz, I still think mayb the hospital made a mistake with my bills...

Been a while that I had disappeared from the forum too... Was bz @ work and just came back from a holiday...

How's everyone getting along? Lbt, how are u coping with your little one? How about pettygal, how's your little twins? Yet to see their photos... maybe can pm me your site...
... Kelcqi, hope you are coping well... come in often to seek the advises from the ladies here...

Me currently into my 28 weeks... my Minnie been rather notti.. keeps on kicking me especially when I've meetings... Sound like she doesn't like meetings (boring, so kicks me)... and when her daddy places his hand on my tummy, she stops kicking...somehow she feels her daddy's hand... (shy)...BTW, for those experienced mummy, may I know how often will your bb kicks you???

During my last scan, I was asked not to put on more than 2kg by Uncle...My Minnie was 900 over gram during the 25weeks scan... Actually, my Minnie is the one gaining weight so far not me... hee hee hee...

My next appt will be 16 Aug... Anyone going to see Uncle on that day??? BTW, need to check when are we expecting to see Uncle fortnightly har???

Hi Kelcqi,

Thanks! I was actually looking around for a gynae not too far from my place and happened to see this thread..read about yr pregnancy too..and congrats to u for having a healthy and cute girl.

lbt,
i will definitely ask for the pic on my next visit.maybe he didnt print out for me cuz too small to see anything? could only see the heartbeat after he zoomed in hehee...
duno when can i know the gender..cant wait =)

puppy, wah u having a gal too ! Congrats ! My rianne was much more active than rachel, so every bb is different. U will only see him fortnightly when abt 35/36 wks.

Kelcqi, ok i will tell my hubby. Hehe

Hazeline, wah u on holiday ! Whr r u ? Hmm i miss going holiday too ! Ivf cost 4 dr fong seems to b ard there. Pettygal also spend abt the same amt as me. Yes, bring ur hubby along when u c dr fong else he wont understand. It is nt an easy journey. Gd luck !

Jean, take care during 1st tri !

Long time didn't post here. Share with you Jerrell pic at 3mths old.
1601943.jpg

1601944.jpg

1601945.jpg

You can see everything he use is pink colour cos that's from his sister.

Halo ladies n mummies here...
Guess it's not easy being a mummy... jia you all mummies here!

I myself wil also jia you n not give up hope of being a mummy.. Hope to join ur league one day. : )

Will be back 2molo... in bintan. All those who's been here, wil know it's a really boring place! haha I dun like the sun, dun like the sea. My HB said we shd go somewhere where there's no shopping for once! So we end up here.

bbrooster, jerrell is very fair ! So envy. My gals r abit dark, like me.

Hazeline
Jia you ! U enjoy nw while u can !

haha... a lot of mummies told me to enj now b4 I hv kids. I guess one look forward to hving kids when one hv none..

I'm seeing Dr Fong again on 23rd... wil discuss abt IVF then.

Hv to drag myself to work today...

hehee ya back from holiday ya ?

my confinement finally over !! yeah can bath everyday ehhe

hazel
so u keen on IVF ?

lbt
Yap.. back to work.. that's why hv to drag myself up today!

Woah... can eat everything liao, or can u?

Not keen.. its bopian. Cos IUI doesn't work... I duno wot else wil. I ned to know if my eggs r alright.

That time Dr Fong jab for me those 2 jabs to clear my cyst temp.. wil only last til end of this yr. So if I want, I hv to try b4 end of the yr.

Somemore jus now read something on my fortune for 2009.. woah.. lagi suay leh! So thk better do this yr lah.. dun wait liao.

hazeline

u funny lah, dont believe in those fortune telling. Only believe in GOOD ones ok !

i still have to eat healthily and i miss my COFFEEEEEEEE !! arghhhhhh my maid, mum and hubby are drinking coffee everyday in front of me !! cant take it ahahha

u go listen to what Dr Fong will say abt IVF. Maybe U can read up on IVF before you see him then you'll know what qns to ask.

lbt
Human beings tends to believe more in the bad things than the good. Human nature lah.. hehe

Maybe u smell can liao... the coffee I mean. It's all in the mind, dear! Control.. : P

Yahlor, wil c wot Dr Fong has to say. Purposely book on a Sat... so my HB's got no excuse.

Diff gynaes hv diff ways to go abt doing IVF... and I thk it's also tailored to individual. I've jus heard a lot abt raw egg whites! Eeeks! Can dun take or not? I dun even eat sashimi... I dun take anything raw... I hv my steak well done!!!

hazeline

aiyah I quitted coffee since 2006 when I was preg with #1. So I am use to not having coffee already though the temptation is there.

eh the raw eggs ah .. u take only if u are bloated. I was very badly bloated after all the injections.

Dr Fong ask u to take with cold milo so it's still easier to consume. But then again, u just have to take it to reduce the bloating.

Nothing else easier to swollow? No medication to reduce the bloat? The IUI bloat is stil manageable.. though a bit uncomfy n I cannot wear my regular pants anymore.

Some say u swell til u're like 5 mths preggie! Scary leh.. maybe can start applying stretch mark cream then hor... haha

hazeline

u r right, i looked like 5 mths preggy that time ! then my sis's maid saw me and she look very puzzle. .. must be thinking how come I become " pregnant" over a week ? ahahah

there is a drip from Dr fong to reduce the bloating but that one alone cost abt $500 !!!! soooo take your egg whites ! heeh

ok so u see, must be mentally prepared hor else very difficult to survive leh .

Hi Haze1ine,

It'll be better for you to consult Dr Fong on the IVF journey and most impt the support from your spouse. It needs 2 hands to clap and go thru the process before, during and even after.

Having egg white is to reduce bloatedness... You'll need more if more bloatedness occurs... As mentioned by Lbt, another form to assist is by drip... Not so expensive as mentioned by Lbt lah... cost around $100+... I had the drip 3 times and it works, however, egg white will be cheaper...
In the end, I'm still resort to egg white with cereal or milo...

Anyway, when things comes/happens, you'll be mentally prepared and ready to overcome it.. Don't get too stress over it..

lbt, puppy2006
But why mus it be raw?? Half boiled eggwhite cannot mah?

Thk bopian.. want child, for ppl like me, hv to sacrifice. Since I can do the self-jab thing.. eggwhites shd be 'chicken feet', rite? haha

Thx, ladies. Wil c wot 'plan' Dr Fong has for me then.

Btw, I stil hv 300iu of puregon, anyone stil neds it? If nv use, wil expire, it was open on 16 Jul, I thk. Cannot keep aft 28 days, rite? Throw away like wasted also lor.. so might as well giv it to those who neds extra.

haze1ine,

I also don't know why must be raw eggwhite...Maybe the protein is higher in raw eggwhite... half boiled= half protein..

Yah egg white is chicken feet, initial was a tough... then after that was like a breeze... after long consumption, u feel sick on that...

Yeh, u got to work it out not only with Dr Fong but with your spouse too... Mine was a different story from SO-IUI converted to IVF, even lagi not prepared... Too shocked to react!!!

I think unused puregon can returned to clinic...
can check with them...

All the best for your consultation with Dr Fong, pray and hope for your success!

puppy

oh not so ex ah ? ahaha seriously I cant rem ! my memory is failing after having 2 kids.

btw how's ur pregnancy ? excited or not ?

hazeline

think u have to direct your qns to Dr Fong ... ya u challenge him why raw egg white lor ! ehehhe

the self injection is very easy cos the needle is very fine. I cant handle the bloating only ! I had very very serious backache due to the bloating cos it came too fast for my body to react. And also I cant eat cos I feel bloated ALL the time, then I was admitted to Mt A due to gastric problems.

see, for me, one prob leads to another.

Think Dr Fong was very sympathetic towards me during that period cos I was very weak and I lost abt 5 kg due to IVF. ahahha funny right ?

But dont worry, not all ppl are so "suay" like me .. but then again, if w/o this journey, I wont have my 2 gals now. So it's ALL WORTH it lah !

It has been a lonnnggg time since i last chat in this thread.
I tested +ve and I will be seeing dr fong this afternn to cfm my pregnancy. This is my 2nd baby, my 1st baby also delivered by dr fong last april. He is still so popular that i cldnt get an appt to c him!

morning lbt, yah, not that ex, u sounded to me lossing memory is part of motherhood... scary leh...

Me in my 28th week now... my Minnie rather hyper, kicking me here and there... sometimes with both hands and legs... Of course feeling excited... can't wait to see how my Minnie looks like... better look like me... hahaha...

Congrats cocoa on your 2nd pregnancy...

Ok ok... will bomb Dr Fong with all these questions when I c him.. but usually, when u c him in person, u'd forget all abt wot u're suppose to ask! So I'll always write it down.. so it feels kinda funny, me with my list!

Yes.. he's very packed. I hv to wait til 23rd b4 I can c him but also maybe cos I ned a Sat.

cocoa
Congrats on ur pregnancy... I hope to announce mine one day here too.. haha

puppy
28wks... mus be really excited.
So far, most of u delivered by Dr Fong went to Mt Alv?

lbt
Uhm... so cannot travel when u're on treatment? When did u ladies start feeling bloated?

I tot of 'blackmailing' my HB to go for another trip b4 the actual IVF procedure...

The nurse at the clinic jus called me.. they tot I hv good news.. Too bad lah. I said I've already made another appt but it's to discuss IVF, not pregnancy.

haze1ine, better don't travel during the treatment, u need a good rest during these period. Also u need to go back to clinic to "donate blood" almost every 2-3 days...

It's good that you can list down your qns to ask Uncle in the consultation, don't worry, he'll patiently answer your qns... Sometimes, I also note down to ask him else, sometimes we talked other topics and missed out the qns to ask him and have to get his staff to ask him.. more troublesome...

Maybe it's good to have another good trip b4 the actual procedure.. :p Else if not, u've to wait till your 2nd trimester of the pregnancy, then can travel and it's no longer fun too.. 'cos cannot walk too long and get tired easily. Like me lor, just came back from a holiday, not much but shop, eat, rest only, unlike last times can shop till drop.

So when is the clear window period that I can go? I read that pre-treatment takes abt a mth, ur menses wil ned to be suppressed for a mth. Then the nex cycle, wil be ur actual procedure.

So if I were to travel during my pre-treatment mth, shd be ok, rite? This mth is my 'resting' mth.. took so many jabs, duno wil hv problem or not.

I know aft the procedure, is a no-no. Wil hv to hv bed rest.. rite?

hehe.. I want to go BKK again. Where did u go, puppy?

not exactly sure on the procedure for IVF, 'cos mine was SO-IUI to IVF, found too many follicles so immediately converted to IVF and then I proceed with ET and ER within 5 days... Maybe ladies here been thru the whole cycle of IVF can advise.

After IVF, it's good to rest thru' out... (1) is for the embrioes to stable (2) u'll be bloated and tired too... so good resting will be nice.. not really total bed rest but minimize heavy duty or stressful work

I went to HK-Macau... luckily been there before. This round, I spent most of my time in Macau, if u intend to go, go now, 'cos it's their summer sales period (15 July to end Sept).. I stayed in Venetian, nice place, downstair is shopping arcade so no need to travel out... in terms of cheap shopping, definitely BKK is still the best.. But the weather is terrible esp. HK, even hotter and more humid than S'pore...

Yingqi: please email me your list by today can? your friend one can add on later.

Any ladies want items from babymallonline.com? I doing a spree, closing tomm morning

I got no good news to share, so, hopefully one day, I can announce good news also ... i wan twins!! 1 boy 1 gal!

Woah... u go HK. I went there ages ago when I was like.. in my teens! haha But I've nv been to Macau. I guess everywhere is hot now. My colleague jus came back from Osaka n she said it's burning!

prettybunnie
haha.. I wish I can hv twins too.. then like one shot, settle all!

cocoa

congrats !! hope you see your bb heartbeat today !

mrs lai, hazeline

having twins not easy leh ... it is very difficult during pregnancy and taking care of 2 babies is no joke !! need a lot of extra help !

I always ask my hubby to key in the qns into his PDA phone so he will read out the qns everytime we see Dr Fong. ehhehe my personal secretary.

i have postpone my appt frm this Thurs to next Thurs cos I am still spotting.

Anyone see Dr Fong on 14 Aug ?