Cup cakes for birthday

Dearie_e,
Talk to them nicely they tot u paper tiger hack care. soemtime they can play together quietly but within few minutes can hear them screaming, fighting liao... haiz!!! ya, i oso know that will affect the bb's char. Tat's wat i keep telling my 2 gals next time bb will be more fierce than mummy.

Eileen,
wow, v nice cake wor... so many pretty flowers.....

1-0, nice one! Job Well Done! *pat pat on back*

All, Merry X'mas and Happiest New Year 2009!!!

ice, did u manage to get ur alligator clips?... never Tong-Di me... milk milk now OOS liow... *sigh*...

did this banana cake (dump ALL into bowl and just stir) ... review was good and it was gone the next day - eat and da-bao!!

Used 4 VERY ripe bananas and 1 sliced to deco top.

Cake was moist and fluffy.

2011005.jpg
2011006.jpg
2011007.jpg

1-0
very nice cake. Well done. Now very 'gian' to sign up the course oso.

Wishing all bakers

Merry Christmas & Happy holidays!!!

Catz,
me only get 10 small ones. sms u but no reply from u leh. Tot u out town kai kai cos u oso din come in here. Ur banana cake look gd.... how u get the moist part huh. Bake the choc cupcake using peng come out quite dry leh..... But i use vegetable oil instead of corn oil.

I have always been a silent reader of this thread and I really enjoyed reading it and seeing all the bakes. I hope to join u gals on the baking journey

I attended AY's class on macarons and she told us MUST use pure icing sugar. Buy from sun lik, never buy from PH, coz the macs will sure fail. Furthermore, cannot pipe too many layers, will cause the top part to crack also. As for colouring, best to use powder form

I have not tried baking macs coz I reali have no confidence. AY told us macs are very nasty "biscuits" hahaha

Hi everyone, I'm back after a mth of long holiday in states and Bkk. Wanted to bake something for the party tonite so last nite after touch dwn immed rush dwn to Phoon Huat to buy. Reached there at 7pm sharp and saw the gal closing the door. I knock and said i just want to pick up 1 item, very fast, but the gal just refused to let me in. So angry. Rush dwn all the way for nothing.

Peng, nice present frm yr hubby. I think i read abt this in the sunday times. Review was good. Maybe yr hubby has been read the ST also, thats why buy for you

Icelime, congrats on yr preg. I guess after having 2 kids, it makes no diff whether 3 or 10 kids liao. Everything auto-pilot.

Eileen, thats a very nice cake!

To all my fellow bakers, Merry Christmas to you and yr family!

Hi mummies, it's been a while since I've logged in here. Missed baking a lot but basic survival takes priority since we've a baby ruling the house now. Here's a 8mth old baby Dana wishing all of you here a very Blessed Christmas filled with good things in the New Year. Cheers to this baking thread and do continue to share your fruits!

2012376.jpg

hii vege..

i used ph's icing sugar, anyhow piak the mac when i fold.. all my mac turn out nice.. oh.. n layer my batter when i pipe.. ALL with feet..

hmm.. so it shows that AY is not always right..

good morn....need some advice

I've baked a cheesecake & wanted to melt some choc ganache to go with it.

I've searched some recipes & they call for Heavy Cream. Is heavy cream the same as Pure Cream? I've bought a cup of Bulla's Pure Cream by mistake - Can i use it for melting choc?

Cat, u all into making hairclips too? hehehe.

plim, u can try baking a small batch of macs each time to 'test' ur oven first. we really need to get to know our ovens well..hehehe. i m still getting to know 'it'.

Hi kendy
Oh, that means PH icing sugar does work for macs lor? Since it works, then i will use PH icing sugar, since I have a pkt. i also feel very sian if i have to purposely go down to sun lik just to buy the icing sugar, haha

CL, haha..yes, almost all the ingredients that AY use are from sun lik

angel, u have such a cute baby!

Are the shots taken from maryann's studio? Coz initially i also wanted to bring my baby to maryann for the xmas shoot but i could not make it for that timing

heres my 'fruits' for this 2 weeks. Been pretty busy baking and cooking for parties at my place and friend's place.

my macs were successful only at the 3rd attempt, although it has feet but somehow cracks abit on the top. Bake xmas fruit cake, quite an easy recipe, the cake turn out quite nice but i think it will taste nicer with more liquor and more spices.
2017009.jpg
2017010.jpg

So many days din log in, busy painting my house from Christmas till now. Still haven't finish yet, so tired! In a rush, make a birthday cake for my aunt today birthday celebration.

2019643.jpg
2019644.jpg

1-0... you very super eh.. painting still got time to bake such a nice cake.... ur aunty sure very blessed with the thought from you.

CL, nice blog you hve.

Mummies, sheng siong have disc for phil cream cheese. $4 instead of usual $4.90. I've stock up 3 blocks.

<font color="aa00aa">hihi mummies..
i long time never log in here.
was pleasantly delighted at seeing your lovely cakes, macs and cute dana!!!

i have been so busy spending time and going out with my family and especially with faiq since i will be going back to work full time on 2nd Jan.
though it wont be back to teaching, i will be doing admin but still in govt service.
hoping to kill some time, earn spending money and still have more time for my boy as compared to teaching...hehee

catika,
saw from another thread that u are a teacher too and on NPL.
wow...teacher who can bake well just like missyling.
hehehe..</font>

lynzi, which thread??? *blur*... u a teacher too??? hahahahahah... HB keep 'nagging' me to quit... but I 'no heart' to do so leh... so still on NPL... till end of 09 then decide...

can we switch to admin??? hmm... admin in HQ/Sch? we PM to 'discuss' ... hahahaha... ok ok?

1-0... ONZ... know our slogan: We NEED deco = you know what to do liow... muahahahahah...

Dear fellow baking friends,

"As the holidays draw near, I wish you
A teaspoon of excitment, a tablespoon of success,
A cup of creativity, a pint of comfort,
A quart of good fortune,
And a gallon of friendship,
May your bread rise high,
Your cookies never crumble,
And may your kitchen be filled with friends
and family, laughter and love

Happy baking and thanks for another great year".

ladies, need to chk anyone here use TEFAL oven?
izzit good?
i saw from best denki is about $120+ only.
tempted to buy..

<font color="ff6000">Oily</font>,
I just changed my oven a couple of months ago to Tefal Activys 26L with fan. The one you are looking at no fan, ya?

<font color="ff6000">Chicken Little</font>,
Can check with you: your Tefal has fan or not?
The browning is even? Coz mine doesn't have an even "tan". Tends to be more brown on the left side of the cupcake/muffin.

I tried out the "oven fan" (fan without heat element) &amp; "Pastries Function" (fan + lower heating element). Both has more browning on the left.

Which modes do you use?

TL
mine is without fan. Bought in Feb this year. looks even to me. Function ? I only choose the one with top and bottom heat.

The only thing is I always adjust the heat up by 20 degree more than what is stated in recipes. The heat seems lower

By the way,
ha ha i wanted to ask. I just bought a 1L Elle and Vire cream to make banana boat. Only used 250 ml. still have a lot. What can i use it for ?

<font color="ff6000">Chicken Little</font>
Serious? Dunno if the fan is the one that is causing the uneven browning. The only function without the fan is the grill (top heat). Ummm... I should try the one with the top &amp; bottom heat (with fan) and see how is it.

Ya, I also noticed that the temp is not as hot as it should be, when I use no heating element. Funny. I guess this is about "knowing your oven".

Thanks for your feedback.

btw, I saw that you do scrapbooking too? The traditional paper scrapbooking? I do digital scrapbooking. =) I have to split my time betw the 2 hobbies baking and DSB. Heh.

chicken little: yours also $120+?
TL: i can't rem the capacity and spec. but sales asst said the wire is z shape (normal one is U shape) which can to the baking evenly.

oily
that time i paid $199 I think. I got taka voucher $100 then the rest ah lau top up.

TL
ya ya i am into traditional sb. Wanted to try DSB. teach me leh.

<font color="ff6000">Oily</font>
Ummm... mine has big U then zig-zag inside the U. Dunno is it the same as what you mentioned.
But from the looks of it, better for you to get the oven without the fan - Chicken Little's oven (no fan) and browning is even.

When I bot mine, there was offer going on for the version without fan too - $199. Mine's $299.

hmm... actually... my LOVE list: blueberry, banana, freshly whipped cream ...butter .. cheese ... and coffee... *think of the aroma of these food... at this hour?!?!??! hungry...*

seasonal will be durians ... shiok!!