Cooking Tips & Recipe

littlecat,
Wah... your ds2 overtake zzzcookie "pui pui" already... hahaha... he looks so cute. He looks meaty, not fatty

Long time no see.. wanna go out again?
Your elder boy so cute. hahaha... Great that he likes books!

joy,
How long have your maid been working for you? My BIL's maid's second year already. She dares to ask if can massage for the "sir". hahaha... Some more took and drank the chicken essence left on the table for my sis. Then a few days ago, she was sick, but still can cook one whole fish and brown rice for herself. And my sis gotta go out tabao cos the maid was sick.

sophie,
I think yoga mat is a good texture for baby to learn crawling. Maybe you gotta do some stimulation exercises if you wanna encourage her to crawl earlier. Yu started crawling at 5 months. Me and my hubby did the exercises with him daily. We will alternate his hands and legs like crawling. Need to people to do that. Then lie on his tummy, alternate his hands and legs too.
How's your preparation today? What's Sophie having?

hi lyn,
I just made sweet potato puree and fed Sophie

Didn't know feeding solids is such a challenge - she is constantly aiming to grab my spoon & bowl, and it's actually quite a mess, but fun!
I just heard from my friend that she fed her baby sweet potato once and he kept waking up in the night cos he needed to fart as sweet potato is windy.
Oh dear, I hope Sophie will be OK, cos she is quite a gassy baby.... now wondering if I should stop the sweet potato and switch to pumpkin or continue for the next 3 days?

OK, I'll try to do the crawling exercise with her later.

Lyn

Maid has been with me for almost 1.5 years, choosy on food and always go on diet....Daring also...too much pride too...lied also, which is common.

There was once she was caught eating chocolate that was not meant for her....

She is on diet yet eat 1kg of sugar each mth.

sophie mom,
I seldom give sweet potato for a start. Mostly potato. Cos A got constipation after taking sweet potato initially. Give her another spoon to hold. She's learning how to put things in her mouth

joy,
wah.... your maid has sweet tooth... My dad's ex-maid drink 1kg of milo a week on her own! At that rate, it's like babies drinking milk. hahahaha...

lyn,
Heee, I did... gave her another spoon to hold, btu she wants my bowl!

I think maybe I'll stop the sweet potato and give pumpkin on Monday... so Sat and sun will be full bf again.

heee.. talk about maids... one of my mums' previous maids ate 60 mandarin oranges during Chinese New Year, then her whole face broke out in pimples!

Joy,
aiyoh she is not patience with kids type right?
my maid is super patience with kids.

yeah with her kind of working attitude dun think she deserve it.

I find the maid is really a good help and the way she take care of my boy, i find she deserve it as long as i can help will try to.

She always share with me her story, once i heard she mention her dad is sick nobody working so kind of like having financial prob. I ask her if she want advanced pay, i can help to TT over.
But she is the one refuse to accept, she told me she don't feel good like owing someone and scare she can't paid back.
Think is the value her grandma pass to them.

She is with me since last September, i hope she continue to behave this way.
The previous maid for my elder boy, was with us about 5 months, after tat start to change attitude and ask more thing liao.

Sop, haha yeah ur right he is meaty!
he very funny, when u give him food he will be very fren with u.
that is the reason why we don't like to use the walker. Sometime they get so use to it and become dependant or lazy. My maid is the one who object on using it.
yesterday my maid was telling how my boy walk with the stool, the leg shake and walk and stop for awhile leg shake again then walk, like an old man using a walker to walk, we both laugh till tear coming out...

wow the maid really 'solid' man! got gut!
i think the up bringing also, skali at home is a spoilt kid, come to singapore work as a maid, how to tahan must eat ho-liao..

not sure how she keep the test kid, may be vacuum pack it..haha

Lyn,
yeah he will ask me to read book for him and we encourage him to go library also.
Eh good idea leh, let's meet up one of this day..
I am thinking of having an indoor gathering, can be somebody's house or in a function room, then we do pot luck, hey, we are from the cooking tips thread, must show off our cooking skill man! :D

Why she want to massage for Sir, did the sir ask for it or she volunteer it?

Sop, my baby like sweet potato also leh.. and the pumpkin also.
yeah like lyn suggset give another spoon or sometime she can play with.
hehe it is always fun to start something new.
and u will luv to feed my pui pui, he never reject one!

60 oranges ? aiyoh... pei fu!

btw gals, any good recepi how to make dumpling "jiao zhi', recently i like to eat and like the vinegar too :p

Also what brand of the zhe chu (vinegar) is good ?

Sop mom n Little cat

I do not know what to say about this maid. Mood swing type...Anyway, 5 more months to go and that it is. Her patient?I really do not know cos infront of me is like this, at the back, I do not know....Anyway, as long as there is no harm to my kids, I close one eye for the moment since I cannot handle kid stress for the time being....

Cat
You are so lucky to have a good maid. For me, next maid, I sure hope its not one with mood swing and attitude problem as in mood swing and black face...enough of this nonsense for the last one year plus...

hey girls,
For those who cook brown rice... today, I got to know a lady to know working in an organic shop and she gave me a tip on cooking nice fluffy nutritious brown rice.

She said we should soak the brown rice for at least 8 hours in the fridge, then it will "sprout". We won't really see the "sprouts", but we'll see that the brown rice has fattened up. If we're lucky, we may see a slight split.
After 8 hours, take them out from the fridge, throw away the soaking water and put in fresh water to cook the brown rice.
She said that by doing this, our bodies will absorb the nutrients from the brown rice more readily, and the rice itself will be fluffy.

Hi there... I chanced upon this thread when I read about cooking brown rice. Actually no need to soak the brown rice. I just cook with double the amt of water needed for white rice, and cook for 2 hours. The brown rice will come out nice and fluffy too. Just sharing.

hi stepford,
Thanks for info!
I also add in additional water, but still don't find it as fluffy if I don't soak it.
But I don't normally soak for so long... just about 20mins.

The lady said the soaking for 8 hours method is really so the body can absorb the nutrients better... haven't tried it so far yet

Littlecat,
I dun mind offering the function room at my place for pot luck
Then can bring some toys for the party too
My place is at YCK. When?

sophie's mom,
The version I heard is to soak and use the soaking water to cook the rice for it to be more easily digested. Can add some rice vinegar too to soak for it to be better digested.
For Yu, I will soak in the morning, then use the soaking water to boil the porridge
So far so good, no constipation. Last time he had constipation when I did not know about the soaking part.

hi ladies....

good to see e thread lively again!

<font color="aa00aa">brown rice</font>
about brown rice hor.. my mum buys tis "elephant brand" organic brown rice from a chinese medicine hall in rivervale mall... tis particular brand is e softest... wat she does is every morning she come, abt 8am, she'll wash & soak e rice in a bowl of water.. then when she cooks it for my ds's lunch, she only needs to cook it over e stove for abt 30mins, n its soft enough for my ds to eat liaoz... BUT my ds is 1 kind 1, he baby dont wana eat baby food.. he likes his porridge grainy, not "nua nua"...

<font color="aa00aa">littlecat</font>
wow, GC so chubby n cute leh!!! 12kg?!?!??!?! ur arms breaking or not when u carrying him???
e last time i weigh A was abt 1.5 or 2mths ago.. he was then 8kg.. now my arms already breaking, n my back killing me.. cant carry him for long anymore...

<font color="aa00aa">sophie's mom</font>
lil sophie is a beauty leh... her eyes can talk next time u hv to put out e "queue barrier" outside ur door liaoz....
u juz started giving her solids huh... have fun.. hehehe...

<font color="aa00aa">kris</font>
how r u??? hope everything is well with you...

<font color="aa00aa">lyn</font>
share some photos of aloysious leh... i remember him as a "bah bah" baby boy in e england jersey nia.. he muz hv grown up alot liaoz rite..???

Thanks Lyn! YCK is fine. Yes pot luck and baby gathering.

Let's fix a date so Lyn can reserve the room first. We will plan what to cook when closer to the date.
We will be back by 11 August.
Sop, when is your malaysia roadtrip? which date more comfortable? better not the day before u travel or the day immediately after u r back

hi Starz! long time no see **hugs**, how r u ?
yeah got to be careful carry when u carry A now.
ur EDD in Oct is that right?
haha 4 kg diff. My arm didn't break but got tone up haha...and i ask my maid, she said she use to carry 50kg at home so no prob haha!

eh upload some A's photo leh..

starz,
We miss you!!!
Thanks for the brown rice tips!
Heee... and thanks for the compliments on my baby
My auntie actually expressed her disappointment that baby looks more like Daddy than me... haha, that made the Daddy upset

So is your little one in your tummy a prince or princess?

lyn,
Thanks for your brown rice tips and the function room offer

I'll be off to Malaysia from 18-29 Aug... anytime before or after that is OK with me.
But if everyone can only make it during this period, I'm also OK lah... can join you guys next time

LittleCat!!!!
How can you put pigtails on your boy???
I think he really won't friend you next time if he finds out about this!

He's got such rosy lips... like your ds1 hor?

Ambrosial,
Airconditioned gathering!!!
Join us OK?

Van,
You too.... join us for gathering if you read this!

Thanks Sophie, but I thot that is for cooking the pig trotter type?
is it nice to go with dumpling?

btw just check with cookie, she and family will be able to join the gathering.

Lyn, let me know if you are able to book the function room then we can plan a date.

We will do a count see how many can join, once confirm we will communicate thru SMS or email on the actual location.

As for what to bring, hehe let's discuss here and make sure everyone drool......

LittleCat,
Haha, it never occur to me that cooking pig trotter vinegar and dipping dumpling vinegar is different?

Hello gals...
Shall we fix on 11 Aug morning? The function room is available on that day for morning slot
I have made the booking. It's until 3.30pm. Kids can swim too if the weather permits. Sophie mom can come too

11 Aug is good with me

Van, Ambrosial, annlee and other khakis whom we haven't seen for a long time, do come along!

Sop, yes it is different leh.. hmmm i am still thinking of that nice venegar smell..! made in china leh.. sometime abit scare got kena poison or not :p

11 Aug should be fine with us, but we will be slightly late, as my D1 got class till 11am and by the time we reach YCK, think abt noon.. knowing his driving skill... plus no sense of direction..haha!

Now plan the food!
I will ask my maid to cook the sambal with brinjal, prawns.
Before need to know how many leh..
Cookies will join also.

i have sms starz, annelise & van.
Van said her MIL is not well, so likely can not join us.

how about my sister choc? ooi? cockles party lai liao!!

hi hi...

<font color="aa00aa">gathering</font>
aiyooo... why is 11 Aug such a "hot date"... i got too many things happening liaoz, ds going for gym trial, housewarming... have to give this a miss yet again... cannot stay out whole day, ds will be cranky, n i'll probably collapse..

<font color="aa00aa">lyn</font>
went to ur blog to see... aloysius did "shoot upwards" alot leh.. no longer e chubby baby i remember...

<font color="aa00aa">littlecat, sophie's mom</font>
my EDD is 1st Dec... but highly likely tis will end up a Nov baby instead...
nowadays (@ 5mths) already feeling e strain.. gynae said pregnancy too close, my "stomach muscles" havent recover, now 'loose' liaoz.. i've been having quite bad pain in e pelvic bone area.. so got to wear e maternity belt for "additional support".. will get worse in e later months...
not finding out e gender for baby #2 leh... cos at my 1st checkup (b4 3mths) gynae already told me, "most likely a boy"... so i dont wana confirm this fact.. like tat stil can hope for surprise mah... hehehee.... i know, abit "zhi qi qi ren"..

as for A's photo ar.. all at home... wait i free at home then upload ar....

<font color="aa00aa">maid</font>
eh.. i'll be getting a maid in about 1-2mths time... any tips / qns to ask/check during e interview??? i'm completely clueless....

hi just posted two delicious dish to tempt those thinking want to join or not.. haha!

no lah, my maid cook this, same sambal one with brinjal and one prawns..

Joy,
I haven't met any of them before... only met Van once.
Join us!

LittleCat,
Woah, so much ho liao?
Don't stress me leh... I don't think I can cook on that day leh.
Hubby away overseas, left only me and baby... I'll prob be busy cooking baby food in the morning.
Can I order a cake for dessert instead?

starz,
I didn't know having 2 pregnancies that close together will cause strain!
You better take care of yoruself, and remember to do a good confinement this time round... you getting a cf lady yeah?

Heh, I also didn't wanna find out gender taht time, but silly gynae had it in his computer liao, so when he did the 5-mth detailed check, he forgot to delete it and it came out in the report!

what a hot date u hv there? i already hv appts liao. Like Starz i hv 2 housewarmings to attend and a kopi session liao.

U gals hv fun and eat on my behalf:p

heard this is good... anyone try before ?

Room for dessert:
http://www.roomfordessert.com.sg/aboutus.htm

Joy, it will be at YCK.. Lyn's place.
hehe thanks! it taste very good too. like the sambal she made, not oily.

Sops, hehe, dun worry we understand lah..
the sambal is nice!
my hb like the chicken rendang, but i fine too diluted.. prefer those dry one.

starry, serious huh, 2 house warming.. aiyoh what a good date Lyn has choosen? hehe!

Starz, u take care leh...
the maid, what nationality ?
i can send u some housework list so can act as guideline for her to follow.

LittleCat,
That online cake place was what I was looking at yesterday after you stressed me up by putting up the yummy pics

Cos they deliver, and my friend said their cakes are nice. Was wondering if you girls prefer
- Summertime Carrot Cake
- Raspberry White choc a Lot
- Mad About Cherries

Was also wondering if the raspberry would be sour? Cos those raspberry that I buy in supermarkets and in ice cream form is always a bit sourish.

Hello gals,
hmm.. 11 Aug afternoon, I have an important appointment already. I gotta get ready to go out at about 12pm. How about 8 September morning instead? The function room is available on 8 September. Then Starz can join in too
and can take our time.

starz,
He started to crawl at 5 months. Since then, he slimmed down already.
You take care... Walk slowly...

8 Sep is good

Hubby will be in SG, so maybe I can make something too!

lyn,
What kind of swim float or swim aids do you use for your boy cos I remember you brought him swimming at 4 or 5 mths right?
Those floats I saw at departmental stores are all the usual donut ring type, the hold int he centre is too big for infants leh.

sophie mom,
I borrowed a book called "water babies" and follow from there. I did not use swim floats nor aids at the start
All babies have natural buoyancy balance. If we used the floats, they will lose this natural balance that comes with them. I started swimming at 12 weeks. I think it's in my Sep06/Oct06 blog
I did write a bit on what I read from the book.

lyn,
Thanks! Hee... I've been checking out your blog on weaning and Shichida, but never really look further back to see before 6mths.

Will check it out!

lyn,
Glad that you don't find me a lazy mummy... never bother to read up myself.

I saw the book Water Babies on NLB catalogue... will go borrow it today or tomorrow!

littlecat,

I've tried room for dessert cakes before. Liked their chocolate cake. Their famous carrot cake taste more like cake cum kway type or maybe carrot cake suppose to be like that. Their chocolate banana cake I find it too sweet.

I like your eggplant, look spicy ...ever since sophie recommend her vietnamese eggplant, I began to like this veggie.

annlee!
Haha, LittleCat's pictures managed to lure you out!

Thanks for Room for Dessert recommendation... oh yeah, they're quite near where you stay right?
You think their choc cake better or Awfully Chocolate?
Cos between Lana and Awfully Choc, I prefer Awfully Choc.

Yeah, most eggplant dishes are very oily cos eggplant needs a lot of oil to cook, but the Vietnamese is appetising and healthy

Are you joining us for the gathering then?

sophie,

ya lor... saw littlecat's eggplant and cannot tahan so must come out and say something hee...

For room for dessert, is only 5 mins away from my place
I find room for dessert choc cake taste better than Awfully choc but my hubby prefer Awfully choc. But I find Rive chocolate cake is the best among them. Never try Lana before leh...

Agreed that the viet eggplant is very healthy dish, think I'm gg to cook them tmr but will use mince chicken so my maid can eat them too...

Don't think can join the gathering, thanks for inviting. My mum's maid having lotsa problem, abit sot sot, one mins says wanna go back agency next mins says she don't have the intention to leave haiz....even my maid says the maid is weird.

lyn,
I read in your blog that you flashed GD flashcards to Yu?
You bought the whole set? Roughly how much did you pay?

Cos I'm thinking of flashing some cards to Sophie... think she is quite bored with just toys and physical stimulation everyday.

annlee,
OK, see you online then... and join us next time!
You must be busy now that your ds are older!

sophie mom,
SAHM dun have a lot of time one. kekeke... I understand
It's worse than working full-time. Sometimes I do not even have time to press the power button of my laptop.

I paid about $2k for Eng, Maths, Chinese, Malay, encyclopedic sets of cards.

If you want, I can recommend you the person to talk to. He's a very nice guy who sold me the sets

If you wanna consider flashcards, you can read "How to multiply your baby's intelligence" first. That will give you the summary to all the read, maths and encyclopedic programs. When you buy the sets, you will get the individual books.

From my experience, I am thankful that I can buy the cards. kekeke... cos I tried to flash and I cannot catch up with the pace as recommended in the books although I am a SAHM. Preparation can be very hectic. It's worse if I gotta prepare the cards myself.

wow... thread is happening nowadays.

Lyn,
For the flashcard we must do according to the books? Must start from how old? Me tempting on flash card and DD is oredy 1 yrs old liao. Problem is i bought the flashcard for her to try on but she is kind of keen in physical activities
n lazy on the card. Everytime flashcard she turn away nt interested.

Can see from your blog that u v on leiz....

Starz,
U oso planning for DS' birthday?

Littlecat,
Me saw the sambal prawn drooling lei... if add some petai lagi shiok.
Ur DS is v yan dao lei.