Cooking Tips & Recipe

B2,
Hee, I'm currently a SAHM that's why wanted to buy a single pump at first. Thought I'd have the luxury of time at home to pump, but then on second thoughts, got to do a lot of household chores, surf Internet (I'm addicted to the Net!), read etc, so I think dual pump still makes more sense. It is a really good bag, and I like the bag too

Woah, you pump in tandem? I'm not sure if I am confident enough to so that... I'm still not very good at handling baby yet. My mum says I am too "chor lor" (rough) with my baby
maybe wait till her neck is stronger first then I try.

Now trying the method of emptying out the breasts totally after bf.

sophie,
which bag did u get.. mine is the old PIS traveller..so or biang.
Now they got the limited edition in blue or beige trimming. so nice. u got that one?
Forgot to add, i oso have the medela harmony manual pump. find the PIS too heavy. so when i out shopping w/o my baby, i bring that along. otherwise, after the whole shopping trip.. my back will break.

Annelise,
Wow, you didn't latch and still can manage to pump so much? For me, at this stage, I still need to latch to feel some letdown... else just looking at the pumping machine, not very "turned on" to produce milk

Have a great trip to Japan and Happy Shopping!

B2,
Hee, the old PIS bag is indeed or biang!
I got the new shoulder bag with beige trimming

For manual pump, I've got the Avent one, so I think once breast milk more established, I can use it when moving around. Now not established, I pump until the tendons in my arms ache!

Van, Ambrosial, Joy, sp
Haven't seen you guys for a while?

hey sop, no problem u r always welcome.

annelise, hehe esp both wear in the blue chinese contume hor?
The one didi wearing, last time the gor gor wear at 9month still very loose...
Have a good holiday!
Envy u gals leh can go holiday.

Kailin, wow can't wait to have a bowl of white rice to go with it! yummy!
btw r u working or sahm ?
do you go to jap school?

starz, hehe paiseh go kacau u to come to this thread.. me also busy but very sian think of work. think of this thread then got motivation ...

Hi LittleCat, ya lor, they look so matching - so cute! Btw, I just had a quick shopping fix at Metro and there were a lot of Arthur Yen formal dresses on sale. I bought a pale blue floral one for $19 - couldn't resist it!

Hi Sophie's mummy, thanks
Btw, I couldn't latch my dd on because I had inverted nipples and she was super impatient and cried like mad out of frustration - the lactation consultant also bo pian! So I had no choice had to pump from day 1 at the hospital

gebbera - the curry is very easy to cook actually..just buy the instant curry mix plus the ingredients and you ready to cook the curry

Sop - the yu sheng does looks yummy but it's only veggies though :p

annlee - i only added 200ml coconut milk but i added lots of home-made sambal in addition to the curry mix that i bought..that's the red colour that you see in the pic..

Can you gals feel the earthquake? I was holding tight on the table while surfing the net and thought I'm gg to faint ha....

kailing, thanks for the recipe. Think the kids will love it. Mirin is it rice wine(sake)?

gohong, ok noted ...

annelise, oh really, must go see look tomorrow. I only scare i can't fit in leh...

annlee, yes i feel the earthquak before lunch and just now another round.
The first round i tot i was having low blood cos almost lunch time tot going to faint :p hehe...

LittleCat, I'm a UK size 14 and can fit quite comfortably into Arthur Yen's size 10. I had my 2 girls with me, so couldn't really browse through everything - may go again tomorrow!

annlee, littleCat, heehee, I too thought I was going to faint when I felt the tremors! But the last time when I was in tokyo it was so bad that I was almost shaken out of bed!

there's a new shop open in Pasir Panjang Wholesale centre Blk 14 seling organic produce quite cheap and quite a lot of varietes for veg. 1 pack for about $2 (lesser than), broccoli ($2+, small) there's organic fruits too (the grapes were so delicious!)

annlee,
Mirin is sweet rice wine used for cooking, you can find in the Jap food section (used for sushi too!)

Sophie
I din have a life for abt 8 months. I either bring the baby with me or I would run those errands while baby is sleeping. Really cannot imagine how I survive the those months. I will try to express the next time. Abt baby sleeping while sucking, the confinement lady ask me to wake the baby if she falls asleep while sucking. I find that if I make sure that she
drinks enough she would be able to last longer.

annelise, when are you leaving to Japan?

Nancy, read that organic wholesales at pasir panjang, very good hor.... But very inconvenient to go there for me and I don't drive.

Thanks on the mirin!

cupcake, same here....no life for the beginning and almost gg crazy as I'm a person who love travel and freedom. But seeing them growing up makes me realise is all worth it.

sop,
congrats on yr bb! sorry I very long never come into the forum! I have missed so much of action here, hehehe.

my new job is pretty hectic and initially I really dare not use company computer to come here... but now I'm not so scared already, so here I am, hehehe. I'll be spending the next few days playing catching up!!!

sop, all the best with bf, it's really tiring, so pls accept all the help u can get and rest more okie!!! take care, catch up with all mummies here again soon... cheers...!

Hi Nancy

Depending on what you define as life I suppose?

Dh and I only missed the weekly clubbing that we have with friends and other than that ds is involved in all our activities. We bring him to the track from young when dh trained and I jog and he goes to the pool and dh will swim with him and play with him when I swim for my own exercise. We have done a couple of ten-km run as a family too.

Hi Nancy
surely now is much better. Of course we can no longer go clubbing or holidays at a whim but we enjoy bringing my gal to playgrounds/parks. Going out requires more planning and barang barang. Holidays to child friendly places and super over loaded luggages are still possible.

Actually we have gone to Taiwan and Genting (many times) woth ds, she okay but its just kind of inconvenient and yah the luggage is super super heavy (mostly her stuff). Of course there's a lot of joy too! But you know sometimes can't help complaining mah....

Sorry been MIA for a while...Been busy at work! Sigh!

Hope all of you are doing well. When is our gathering? Can't wait to taste all the food!hahaha!

hi sp my KL kaki, long time didn't hear from u.
so u were 'scare' aiyoh hope u scare no more and join us more!

krisjoy, get gathering meh? let me know leh..

Nancy, I found that bfd also make it very easy for me to travel with ds when he was young. And in fact, we do not need to bring much time and with one luggage is good for all of us. And I do not use the stroller and just the sarong sling. Ds used the sling till he is about 27months.

Just imagine those fm baby, more things to carry. So we should not complain too much. And imagine the bonding with the baby. In fact, I still have my life when I am a sahm since ds went everywhere with me and he could sleep anywhere.

Prisc,
yah but got to bring a lot of diaper, baby food (glass bottled ones) and distilled h20 (kiasu mah M'sia water not so clean I feel...). And I remember when we when Taiwan just the 3 of us our lugguge is about 40kg (mostly her stuff you know!). Maybe I do not know how to travel light, got to learn from you all lah.

hahahaha nancy, i can definitely rem the diaper part. We went perth for a two week stay. I think I brought 2 big packs of mamee poko. hahahaha and we ran out on the last day. So worried...lucky they provide on flight.

Nancy...when I travel...I bought even diaper for baby to use for a day and we bought the diapers, H2O from the supermarket there so do not have to carry too much and for food when ds was 6 months, we ask for special order from the kitchen with no added salt or seasoning and what we have is a small food thermal to put food for ds and also a small water bottle where we boil the mineral water that we bought from supermarket so not much to bring just clothing.

Wow...all of you bring so many diapers on your trip. I never do that and most of the time we are on free and eazy and the first thing dh does is to go to the hotel or resort, then head to supermarkets to get the essentials.

Yesterday was a bit of a nightmare!
Called NUH Bf hotline about my "white" nipple and the nurse said it's a blocked milk duct, better go see gynae or GP to make sure no infection.
Couldn't get appt with gynae so went to see GP - GP used a needle to prick it *OUCH* but it stubbornly refuses to dislodge, so GP gave me some cream and antibiotics to prevent infection and told me to just go home and use hot compress.
Then brought baby to MAH for jaundice test, then happened to meet lactation nurse and asked her - she said no need to prick it lah... it's just a blocked milk duct and as long as milk can come out from it, just leave it alone.
She said it'll disappear and come back again like a pimple!
Then asked me to show her how I latch when she saw me sore nipple, then told me my latch is wrong cos baby not opening mouth wide enough.
She then took over baby and taught me how to latch baby on my breast.
She squeezed my breasts and milk sprayed out! Said I have enough milk, should not supplement cos baby get used to bottle, don't wanna open mouth big for breast, so now I have to "re-condition" baby.
When I went home, baby wanted to feed every hour, and I basically had to wrestle with baby cos she is impatient and does not want to open her mouth.
BF is tough man!

Oops... sorry for my long rambling and grouches

sp,
So you changed jobs! Heee, at the beginning part of new job, of course must be "careful" first

Krisjoy, LittleCat,
Are we really having gathering? Maybe can do a picnic or something...

Hi Sop,
So you have enough lah! Good thing the nurse told you... that's why I feel that its important to go to the right people to advise you! Not just some half baked advise or opinion!

Yah you got to train your ds to latch. Just hang on the difficult part is only the begining, it will be over soon! Take care!

SP,
hoping u settling into yr new job well and come in here more often to yak.

Sop,
The blip can cause infection.
I got that once, and I did not know what's that.
A few days later I could not pump out much milk and baby also refuse to latch on the breast with blip much. Then I ended up with fever and really painful breast which I could not even touch. Went TMC Mrs Wong for help. And she told me its actually infection. And the worst thing is the milk i pump out during the fever look normal. But after left in the fridge for a few hours the bottom part became greenish in colour and we were so worried so threw away the milk.
So make sure u empty yr breast each time until the blip disppear.

SY,
long time never see u. Thinking of whether to wean off now. Cos he's starting to bite. Everyday i am anticipating when the 'Jaws' will attack.

Littlecat,
today i cannot resist temptation... heee.. early morning quickly report here.
And how's yr tiramisu?

Pris,
If u have time, can pls post the recipe for the bread pls. Looks so inviting.

Choc,
how u doing? never see u long long time.

Van,
u must be very busy also.

Starz,
now that my baby is 9months and my hair still dropping, but rate of dropping slowing down. U don't worry too much.

Hi zzzcookiemonster,
Once you "educate" him not to bite he will stop. Like my ds now she occasionally bite but its unintentional (when she's asleep, her jaw relax). So just hang on a bit more!

Hubby cooked these for dinner last nite

721792.jpg

Stir-fried french beans with fish cake and dried scallops

721793.jpg

Fried fish fillets and fish cakes

721794.jpg

Home made chill sauce

721795.jpg

Bah Kut Teh

721796.jpg

The Bah Kut Teh Mix that we used..

Hi Nancy,
Can impart some 'gong fu' how u educate yr baby pls.
Very jia luk, last night my baby bite me hard and we scolded him. He continue to cry and bite and we gave him the bottle instead. And to our horror, he bite the teats and part of it came off. Imagine if its my B. Faintz.
But luckily in the middle of the night when I latch him, he did not bite again.

Ambrosial,
heee.... yummy food can tempt u out.
How's yr job hunting?

hello all!

Sop is it getting better after the lactation nurse advice?

Btw when you can officially come out? hehe we can plan a picnic at Botanic Garden.

Me & cookiemonster planning and still planning lor...

Cookie, no Tiramisu lah LS-me-too adalah...
I made the banana muffin again last saturday.

I was telling cookie, me & hb The "MC couple" yesterday both got MC. Me down with stomach flu and he got stiff neck.
Yesterday only eat white porridge & can vege + salted egg.
Now feeling super weak...

And i forgot to bring my medicine to work!! guess have to leave it to my body to fight liao...

Mind if i join in?? Can see that the ladies here is superb in cooking n baking. Me more into baking n lousy in cooking. Hope we can share our baking recipe.

Hi zzzcookiemonster,
I remember when my ds first start teething, she tend to test her teeth and you by biting when BFing. I 'shoot' her mouth and tell her not to do it and that its painful. If she continue I will not let her have milk... The moment she bite I will unlatch (this will be repeated again and again). Usually the bitting is only a phrase it will disappear in no time. You just have to be patient and persever. You may want to try to give your dd some teething gel as for his chase his gums may be too itching that why his biting alot more.

Hello gals!
Long time never come in here... V busy having to look after baby on my own. Now having bad backache and have time... hahaha.. cos my mum helping me.

zzzcookie..
My boy also bit me with his teeth! Very painful and I screamed. He cried when I screamed. Then I will explain to him that mama hurts when he bites. Seems to work. Now, he dun bite already.

sophie,
Hang on there
If you have problems with breastfeeding again, can go to TMC to see lactation consultant. Think it's $45 per consultation.

Gohong,
wah... You are very good... Can cook so many dishes for dinner

Priscilla,
Your DS is physically superb. I wish my boy can be like your son. But dunno how cos me and DH dun jog. I got no stamina...

I cannot stand sitting here liao.. gotta go and lie down... buay tahan... ouch... later all...

Sophie and Littlecat,
Actually we toyed with the idea of meeting up sometime back...But it has not materialised ;p So now revisiting this idea. I dun mind Botanic Garden..did not go there for years!

lyn,
What happened to you? why got pain??

Hi there

MIA for a long time and will still be MIA since very busy with homeschooling and also dh is going away for conference and I will be alone handling ds alone.

Krisjoy...Botanic Garden is very nice now. Went there with my bro and mum when we were back last September and there is a nice air-con foodcourt, and a very nice facelift for the whole garden as well as some nice restaurant in there too. Ds enjoys himself there very much. Lots of stuff to learn about ecology.

lyn...well, weather beginning to pick up so will probably start ds on the track again for running as it has been snowing and raining non-stop for the past weeks and months. What happen to your back?

cookiemonster...the filling, you decided what you are using. I will give you the dough recipe.

Ingredients:
Part A:
1.5 cup Warm water
1 tsp fine sugar
8g active dry yeast

Part B:
5 cups All-purpose flour
2 tbsp fine sugar
1 tsp Salt

Part C:
2/3 cup Milk
3 tbsp Butter
1 large beaten egg

Prepared extra flour for kneading.

1. Dissolve sugar in warm warm and sprinkle the yeast over top. Allow it to stand for 10 minutes or until the yeast has doubled (about 10 to 15 minutes). Stir until yeast dissolve.

2. Sifted Part B into a huge bowl while waiting for Part A to be ready.

3. Add in Part C into Part B and knead. After that add in Part A to knead. Mix until dough pulls away from side of the bowl and is no longer sticky.

4. Knead the dough on a clean and lightly floured surface for 10 minutes and add 1 tbsp of flour at a time if necessary till smooth and elastic. Place dough in a greased extra-large bowl, turning once to greased the top. Cover with greased wax paper and a tea towel. Let it stand in the oven with light on and door closed for 30-45minutes until dough doubled in size.

5. Take the dough out of oven and punch dough down. Turn it on a lightly floured surface and knead for 1 to 2 minutes. Divided the dough into 12 portions. And fill each portion with the filling.

6. After baking the bun, let them stand in the lighted oven for 15-20 minutes, removed from oven. Then heat up the oven to 375 deg F think it is about 180-190 deg C. And bake at the temperature for 25 to 30 minutes (Time varies depending on the size and also oven, so you might have to check every now and then).

Sophie...hope you enjoy the bonding tbf your girl.

Cecelia...welcome to the forum, we are all food lovers and there are very good cooks around here, like Van, Choc06, and the other. (No offence to those that I did not mention names, if I do, the list will be very long.)

By the way, mummies, anyone has the recipes for lotongs, mee soto, please pm or post. We are having craving for these food and could not find any here in Vancouver so need your advise. Thanks in advance.

Hello, been reading this thread with interest for some time now but never really posted.

Priscilla, admire your homeschooling efforts. I'm sure your son is having a great time with you
As for recipes, have you tried the makasutra forum ? A lot of lovely recipes there to try.

www.makansutra.com

Anyone know any cookbook/recipes for simple n delicious meals. Me is FTWM who need to prepare dinner everyday n hv picky son.

annlee - the chilli is actually made by one of my hubby's auntie..we just add in lime to it and viola..yummy and spicy chilli sauce

lyn - hubby cooked all that..not me although that's the no. of dishes that we eat coz we dun eat rice

Thanks for all your concern.
That night when I tried "wrestling" my baby in the "correct" position that the MAH LC showed me, my poor baby gagged and cried and then sweat all over!
I felt so bad that I stopped and reverted to my old latching method, then the baby fed and fell asleep giving a contented look.
So tomorrow I'm going to TMC for an appt with the LC, like what lyn suggested.
I think bf should be enjoyable for both baby and I, and that it need not be so gagging for baby?
Will also ask TMC LC about my white blip.

cookie,
So what did you have to do with the white blip? Take antibiotics?

LittleCat,
I'm not sure if MAH LC's advice is correct leh, so I am going to TMC LC tomorrow.
I can offically come out liao! Went to Thomson Plaza just now, but cos baby wants to makan, so I just pulled a shaw over and walk and bf at the same time.
You take care too - you've been falling sick with diarrhoea and flu quite a lot recently?
Botanic Gardens picnic will be nice!

Cecelia, furry,
Welcome!!!

lyn,
How come you've got backache?

Pris,
I do enjoy bonding with my baby, but right now, more tired cos she wants to feed every hour.
She's a BIG eater... today makan at every hour from morning till evening, then at 7pm, took my left and right breast, then another 85ml of expressed breastmilk, then makan my right breast again, then finally fell asleep for 2.5hrs!
Wonder if this is normal.... it's been like that since 2 weeks ago!
I feel drained - physically and mentally!

Krisjoy,
Thanks for Neo Garden recommendation!
I ordered my bb 1st mth buffet from DeliHub, a Neo Garden halal subsidiary with same menu.
You are right - the curry is fantastic! The satays are also very good, and sweet and sour fish crispy and well-done.
Lots of approvals from my friends!

gohong,
Woah, I notice your hubby really like to cook hor?
Does he cook only during weekends, or even on weekdays?

i'll like to join this thread as i'm now into baking! i do cook but not as good as some of the experts here!
can i ask where is a good place to start shopping for my baking utensils?

Hi everyone! It's 0530 in Tokyo now and it is really cold and windy here! I almost had to cancel my trip cos dd2 was sick - when her fever subsided, thought okay to bring her but she fell sick again over the weekend when we arrived. No chance to shop so far
Have been going to Disney for the past 2 days, the kids cannot tahan the weather so have to leave the park before sunset that's why hb bought the 3 day passport so tt we can take our time to cover the parks. Am having insomnia, that's why am logging in at such an odd time - but I can barely make out the keys so keep having typos!Gotta go get ready for yet another day in Disneyland - catch y'all later!

Priscillia,
I am so suay-ku..stay in Spore and yet have not been to Botanic Gardens ;p

Sophie,
Glad that you and your family enjoyed the food from Neo Garden. You'll feel better when baby is about 3 months old. Their feeding patterns are more stable by then

Ribena,
You can try Phoon Huat. They have a few outlets so depends on where you are staying. They have a wide range of baking utensils at affordable prices ;p

Annelise,
Wow! I can feel the chill over here! Hehe! Enjoy your trip ya!

Cecelia and furry,
Welcome!

Cecelia,
Wow, you need to cook dinner every nite after work? That must be tiring! That's why they say women are the best multi-taskers!
You can go to Popular bookstore to check out the cookbooks. They have some from Periplus which come in smaller sizes and you can choose those topics that suit you most. I bought a few of them myself..

Krisjoy, Priscilla, sophie,
The baby cot is a hazard
I hurt myself while carrying baby out of the cot at night. The cot is at the lowest level now cos DS can creep over the rail. Pain till I cannot walk properly. Now cannot carry baby at all, cos carry already will make the pain worse.

Priscilla,
What do you do for homeschooling? Do you have a schedule or something like that? I am interested in homeschooling too, but feeling scared cos I dunno how to.
I am wondering how to train my DS to run 10km cos neither me nor my hubby jog nor run.

cecilia,
What type of food are you looking for? Ang mo? Chinese? Vege? Meat?
hee... cooking is rather simple to me.

sophie,
Hope you and your baby will get better in breastfeeding soon
If you need, I know Gleneagles LC do home visits, but not cheap. Gotta pay them transport plus $50 per hour.
I think your baby is going through growth spurt. I had that at about 1 month, and again at about 3 months. I fed every hour. I put baby on the bed and latch on. While baby latch on, I can sleep. It will not be too tiring that way. Maybe you can ask the LC how.
My DS is having a growth spurt at 9 months! He wanna eat every 2 hours. I gotta prepare his breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner. ***sweat*** And he's napping 45 minutes only, just enough time for me to prepare his food when I am alone.
Does Delihub has any website?

annelise,
It sounds very cold there. Hope you will enjoy your trip at Disneyland.