Cooking Tips & Recipe

annlee,
ya... im thinking of changing hairstyle liaoz.. cos my hair quite flat type... now i look so sian everyday, partially due to my hair... but dont know where to go find a good stylist leh.. i dont hv a regular one anymore..... lasttime used to go Monsoon, but too ex liaoz, now cant bear to spend tat kind of $$$ anymore....
ya, going for 2nd one.. next year lor... hehehe.. but if i strike TOTO on friday and i'll become a SAHM, then maybe immediately.. hahahahaha...

littlecat,
how formal u need e dress to be??? if its something u will wear again then buy lor.. cos loan also not cheap...

annelise,
tats my intention.. but my biz trips sometimes quite hectic.. scare no time to pump lor... e other "problem" is, i find frozen milk quite yucky leh.. sometimes smell liaoz i wana "gag".. donno how ayden can drink sometimes... i try to give him e frozen BM within 1mth, so its not so "old" lor...

nancy,
it might shock u... but since i became a mummy... i think lots of pple seen my breasts liaoz... hahahaha.... i dont feel paiseh anymore, cos being a mummy n feeding my son is more impt to me than my modesty....

my son also, like to play nowadays while bf-ing...

Nancy, guess what.....I on the TV half an hour ago and saw the programme making longan steam cake or maybe you've seen the repeat show. Here's the ingred if you miss the show,
Dried longan about 1 bowl, black sugar abt 1 bowl, flour 1 1/4 bowl, 4 eggs, 1/4 baking powder, 3-4 tbsp oil, cashewnuts and longan water 1/2 cup. Longan water can steam the dried longan and it will produce the water after steamed.
The amount of the ingred I'm estimating as I don't understand the amount they mentioned in mandarin.

Hi LittleCat, I just saw didi's pics - he's so cute! He looks like a happy, contented baby! Gor gor looks very grown up next to him!

Hi starz, I used to go to Monsoon too - tt's during my pre-sahm days. Nowadays, any hairstylist will do! Yeah, the frozen milk is quite yucky - esp when the layer of oil separates from the rest of the milk! Do you use the avent storage bags or glass bottles? I find the bags very convenient to use esp since I use the avent pump, I just pump in directly, no need to wash bottle, hehe! My fren who used to travel quite often looks at her bb's photo whilst pumping milk - she says the "let-down" effect is faster!

Hi Nancy, I sent you the invite already

I made egg tarts during CNY. Does anyone know how to make the top nice and smooth?

706754.jpg

Annlee,
kao_kiss.gif
Thank you!!!

Annelise,
I think if you use a sieve when pouring the egg mixture, it should be smooth. Also use a paper towel to 'wrap' the surface of the egg mixture will help. (correct me if I am wrong)

Your creation very professional and pretty leh.
kao_drool.gif

Krisjoy,
My baby's first month celeb will be next weekend.
Planning to order from Delihub, a subsidiary of Neo Garden that is halal. They have the exact same menu as Neo Garden.
I remember you said Neo Garden's beehoon & curry were good - the beehoon is the Sin Chow Mee Hoon yeah?

LittleCat,
4 month old baby really fun to play with?
My bb now just keep wanting to latch, then got bad temper too, wanna eat now means NOW, otherwise will yell at the top of her lungs, which is very loud for a 2.5kg baby *sigh*
I think of going through another phase like that I scared liao!

I also wanna latch more, but now right nipple really sore... it actually turned white liao, so no choice just latch left side and pump right side.

Nancy,
Hee, my sinseh also very grouchy, so much so that I sometimes dread to see him in case get scolding

So how long did you bf your kids?

I'm so tired with the bf-ing cos I think I don't have enough milk, baby keeps fussing and not wanting to sleep... didn't know first month was so difficult. I thought all infants just eat, sleep and poo!
Baby keep wanting to latch, and I don't know if it's cos she's trying to generate more milk supply, or if she's just using me as a pacifier?
But I tell myself to try and persevere with the bf since I've come this far already, but just supplementing with FM while building up my milk supply.

starz,
Heee, I've also lost all my modesty liao - my MIL has seen my breast and nipples already! No choice cos my bb seems to be latching to me 24hrs like my new accessory!

Annelise,
I only know how to eat egg tart, dunno how to make, but yours look good enough to eat!
The cupcakes are gorgeous! I think it must be quite difficult making those little twirly flower stems cos they are so delicate?

Just pop in to say "Hi". Very busy, will pop by when time permits, too many things to do.

Annelise, you are a great baker!

Nancy...I bfd anywhere even when there are people but I use a sling.

Hi Sophie,
'So how long did you bf your kids? '
<font color="0077aa">I only have one but I almost 'peng san'. I bf her from birth till now a little monster with eight and a half teeth!(17th month</font>

I'm so tired with the bf-ing cos I think I don't have enough milk
<font color="0077aa">by and by your production will increase (demand and supply)</font>

baby keeps fussing and not wanting to sleep...
<font color="0077aa">please check if she has colic</font>

Baby keep wanting to latch, and I don't know if it's cos she's trying to generate more milk supply, or if she's just using me as a pacifier?
<font color="0077aa">could be both! Actually its soothing for them to suckle (reduces discomfort)but you must know when to draw the line (Sorry hor but its easier said than done</font>

<font color="ff6000">Why don't you change your perspective and think that this is priviledge (daddies cannot leh, they don't know the closeness). Your motherly love can overcome all this minor hardship lah! JIA YOU!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">When time to come for her to stop, I am going to miss the feeling of her latching
. Its was like after I gave birth I missed the feeling of her in my tummy...</font>

Hi Nancy,
Thanks for your encouragement. I also miss the feeling of baby in my tummy - something which I know nobody else can experience except my baby and I.

I think it's just the post-pregnancy hormones plus lack of sleep wrecking havoc on my emotions, but I am definitely going to try and bf for as long as I can. It's just that I feel bad for baby cos I don't have enough supply for her, and at first didn't know that so didn't supplement with FM.

Today tried using a mini electric Medela passed to me by a friend, and it is less tiring than using my manual pump, so expressing while having a sore nipple is not that bad

Hmm.... have not seen <font color="ff0000">Joy</font> for a long while too?

sophie, forgotten to tell you abt the beef...nowadays super blur... My ex-boss, a health conscious person and my confinement nanny ask me to take beef during confinement because is bu. May I know your mum reason for not taking beef?

Nancy, no problem...we're all the mummies here to help each other

Annelise, I like your cupcake so much....you are pro man... my ds1 saw the egg tart(his favourite) and ask me to buy for him and I told him I'll bake some for him when daddy buy me an oven. Btw, can share the recipe and menthod of making?

annlee,
My mum says beef may cause pus in wounds, so when I had chickenpox last time, I abstained from beef too. Now C-sect wound, lagi must abstain.
I get my iron from dark green veges and red dates.

Hello Everyone !
Mind if I join this thread.
I love cooking & collecting recipes. But eversince my ds came along, I have no time cooking or should I say no time cooking new dish. Its always the same old dishes.
Hope to get to know you guys better and share my recipes...

Hi everyone. Been busy today surfing the Net to find the location of the Hello Kitty Giftgate in Shinjuku and Chiba area. One more week to the trip and I haven't quite confirmed my itinerary yet! Thanks for all your compliments on the cupcakes - they were fun to do, especially making the fondant flowers!

Hi Kailin, welcome to the thread! We keep our recipes in a database in Yahoo groups. If you'd like to aceess, please pm me your email add so tt I can send you the invite.

Hi annlee, hee, I didn't have time to bake the tart shell so I bought the ready-made ones from Phoon Huat. They are quite nice and crispy. But I dunno whether my oven was too hot cos when I baked the tarts, quite a number cracked and the custard leaked out onto the baking sheet.

I was thinking of using the frozen puff pastry from Cold Storage and baking them in the mini cupcake trays - do you think it'll work? I'm too lazy to do the dough from scratch! Anyway, here's the recipe for the custard:

2 eggs
2 tbsp condensed milk
200 ml milk
100 ml water
2 tbsp sugar

Beat eggs, condensed milk in a bowl. Warm the milk, water and sugar mixture over the stove. Pour slowly into the egg mixture, whisking whilst pouring. Strain and spoon into the ready-made cases. Bake at 150 deg C until custard sets.

Hi Sophie's mummy, the white swirls were supposed to be piped using a smaller tip but PH was closed during CNY so I had to make do with what I have on hand. Btw, have you tried taking black bean soup? I've read that it's really good for nourishing the blood too. How's your op wound? Do you have to remove the stitches or are they the soluble type?

Hi Pris! Haven't seen you for a while - are you back in Japan? How's the weather, temp still around 15 deg or so? Does it get very cold at night? I'm thinking of hanging around in Disneyland for the fireworks display, but am worried that it'll get too cold for the girls.

Hi Nancy, thanks for the tips - I'll try them the next time!

Gotta go - more research to do!

Hi Annelise

I am back in Vancouver. Was in Japan from Oct 06 to Jan 07. Very busy with ds homeschool, entertaining guests and also with CNY gatherings here in Vancouver with friends from Singapore stationing here.

In fact, temperature around 15 degree was pretty good. When we were at Disneyland and DisneySea, temperature were slightly lower. Just make sure they have winter wear will do. Over here in Vancouver, it has been snowing again for the past few days and temperature are below 0 deg C.

Sophie, did not know that beef cause pus, I only heard about prawn, and shellfish. Yea, black bean is very good, nourish the blood.

Kailin,
Welcome!

Sophie,
Yes the Sing Chow mee hoon is good! ^_^

annlee,
Yes, I bought the diaper bag but cannot be converted to backpack. Just a normal carrying kind. Already collected on CNY's eve itself. U planning to get one?

B2,
Thanks! Actually as long as your kids are healthy they should be fine. I'm quite worried if my dd would be overweight in months to come..

annelise,
Hey, I dunno that PH sells ready-made crusts. Can they be used for fruit tarts too? How's the taste? Your cupcakes are lovely! How did you make the frosting? Kay-poh a bit..where do u learn them from?

Hi everyone, today is packing day - hoping to pack all the big bulky winter wear into one luggage first. Hoping to have as much free space as possible for all my shopping!

Hi Priscilla, thanks! That reminds me, I'd better buy gloves for them too - btw, are ear muffs necessary?

Hi Krisjoy, yeah I never knew tt PH sold the ready made crusts until my sis told me - I've never noticed them before. They're sold in a pack of 20 for the big ones and 30 for the small ones. They taste really nice and crisp - and not too sweet. Yeah, you can fill the shells with custard and top with fresh or canned fruits and glaze it with a little gelatin. They also sell instant custard powder, just need to mix with water, but I've never tried before so dunno how it tastes. The frosting is pure butter and sugar whipped together with some colouring. I learnt on my own - I used to buy lots of cookbooks when I was working but never had the time to read. So now that I'm a sahm, I catch up on my reading and do some baking in my spare time

Hi Annelise & Kris,
Thanks for the welcome !

Annelise,
Read that you are going to Japan. I'm actually half-Jap. Only get to go back once a year. But haven't gone back since ds came along. Will post some Japanese homecook food soon.

annelise,
wow, your are so smart and baking-savvy! look at cookbook then can do so professionally liao ;p

kailin,
that's interesting! my cousin is also half-jap. Dad's a Jap and mom is S'porean (she is my aunty). What about yourself? Were you born here? My cousin was born and bred here so he is very much a Singaporean. The only difference is that he has a sharper nose than us ;p

Hi Kris,

I'm opposite. My mom is Jap and dad is Singaporean. Born in Japan but spend most of my life here. So shld say I'm more Singaporean than Jap. Hee...

Went to baby fair at suntec to buy water filter from Hyflux,they're having promotion and they giving away 500 pitchers tomorrow but definitely long queue. Also got some goodies bag from the entrance, some samples and vouchers.

Kailin, Welcome!!! wah....we got Japanese friend here....

sophie, oh..didn't know beef will cause pus, luckily did not take that during confinement.

annelise, thanks for the egg tart recipe! To be honest, I know nothing about baking and wanted to do the baking when I get an oven.

krisjoy, I wanted to get the convertible diaper backpack but just got to know they no longer produce the backpack.

Nancy, did you bake longan cake? If so, how is it?

littlecat, went to see didi's pic again... aiyo, look abit like Carebear, so good to hug.

Can I check whether the thermal pot can be used to cook ds's food or not? Need to be softer.

Also which brand is better? should I buy the small one only for ds? or buy one that we can use also. Any promo now?

Sorry ah so 'loh soh'.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Thank you all!

Think we have lots of new friends here. Welcome to all of you, I am going back the thread alittle. Hi B2 and Kailin, hope you enjoy this thread as much as I do.

Annelise, we did not use that at all not even when it is below zero here in Vancouver. We just wear the hood on our winter jackets.

Nancy, you should be able to use that. I used slow cooker to boil porridge for Kai when he is young.

Here's some sharing of Kai and his invited korean friend bread making session.

Kai kneading his dough
709896.jpg

Kai lending his rolling pin to his friend
709897.jpg

Kai's korean classmate, Tae Woong and his mum
709898.jpg

Kai spreading his sauce before adding sausage to the dough.
709899.jpg

Here's some of the buns Kai and his friend made, a total of 24, one dozen of sausage and another dozen of tuna buns.
709900.jpg

And as you would have guessed it, the boys ate the buns straight from the oven, steaming hot and they had some much fun making.

Ok, I have to go read my mail since we are having another baking session and sharing here in Vancouver and I need to find out whether the Singapore ladies here could find all the ingredients we need for baking. Will pop in here and then as I will be alone most of the time now with ds as dh is preparing for a conference that he is presenting his research.
Cheers! Wishing all the last few days of CNY with good health, good wealth and a great year ahead!

prisneo,
wanna check wif u, do u add in any bread enhancer when u make bread dough? somehow whenever i make bread, it always ended being denser than those i buy from the stores..

Hi Kailin,
Welcome! You'll find that we talk about lots of stuff other than cooking too

Annelise,
Yep, I've been taking black bean soup with pork almost every 2 days, but still like that.
My mum says I am not eating enough "heaty confinement" food cos I fell sick during confinement - had those itchy cough at night.

Prisc,
Your buns look professional! Good enough to sell in Breadtalk!

To the bf mummies,
Can I ask if you have any preference for breastpumps?
I have an Avent manual but found it too tiring to pump... pumped till my foream ached!
My friend loaned me a Medela Mini Electric, but it hurts after pumping. LittleCat, I remember you mentioned you used Medela Mini Electric and it hurt too?
I asked a shop assistant today and she said it could be cos Mini E is not for long term use or for increasing milk ss... it's more for the occasional use when milk ss is already established.
She recommended either Medela PIS or Swing - if Mini E hurts, I am nto sure if these will hurt, and if I should invest a few hundred bucks in it before I've tried it?

Sophie, I'm using medela. Probably not use to the pump for the first time pumping and can adjust the intensity, you might wanna try low intensity if is hurt. For me if the intensity is low, is quite difficult or slow to pump out the milk but then again is not painful for me as I'm used to it. And also must drink more soup, better to drink it everyday.

Gohong, the veggies curry is so good to go with the beehoon. I like the top crispy cracker on the yusheng.

annlee, haha u r right very good to hug! he is like little sumo.
I just check with cookiemonster the other day, my didi is heavier than her boy at 4months...

Sophie's mom, cookiemonster want to pass this mesage to u, she saw your posting, but no time to post yet :
Abt the white blister on nipple,
pls pass the msg to her that must go pump out all the milk everytime. cos i got that once and ended up high fever cos that's actually 'blip'."

As for the medela mini, me also give up cos very painful, then i use the manual pump.
But i heard from other thread u can go buy a bigger funnel, so it won't hurt.

Kailin, welcome and looking forward to the recepi!

Nancy, i m using Tiger brand ( i am like spoke person liao.. must charge them :p).
It depends on the amount of time u leave the food there. The longer it will be softer.

Like yesterday nite we have some left over chicken soup, i boil the soup, put the rice in, then turn off fire and put the pot back to the outder pot. Then morning we have chicken porridge.

The porridge turn out to be very soft almost like congee.
If u want it to be softer u can even do it before u sleep. then morning u just stir abit then it will be very soft.

Hi Gohong,
Yummy Vegetarian Curry!!!
kao_drool.gif

Thank Little cat,
Tiger brand mmm, what about Zojirushi? What's the price range like for both brands? Thanks ladies in advance!

Nancy, littlecat is right....the longer time in the pot the softer it will be. My thermotpot is not as good as Tiger so I just reheat the pot every 3 or 4 hours to soften the food. I've tried using it to cook congee recently and turn out to be very smooth and soft. Shld be no problem for your ds.

Littlecat, kekeke....so cute...little sumo didi

annlee - you'r right..the veggie curry absolutely compliments the veggie bee hoon..i also like the crunchy stuff on the yu sheng..every year we would bought extra packet of that stuff just to put on top of the yu sheng

nancy - thanks for the compliment..the curry is very easy to cook actually..preparation and cooking all in 45 mins or less..

annlee,
Thanks... think I may invest in a proper medela Swing which has the 2-phase function if a bigger funnel is not the solution to my current situation.

Gohong,
Your yu sheng is yummy, even though it's vegetarian... this year I cannot eat yu sheng cos doing confinement so that plate really tempted me!

LittleCat,
Thanks for passing the message from cookiemonster!

I kept using the Medela Mini E to pump even thought the whole area was sore after each pumping session, and at first the "blister" still looked plump and white, then during one of the pumping sessions, I saw that milk flowed out from there, so cookie could be right, it's could be some blip that's caused by milk blocking it.
Now still latching baby on even though nipples are sore, hopefully it'll get better!
Am also trying fenugreek and drinking lots of soup to try and increase supply.

hi hi ladies...

sophie,
littlecat sms me to come n reply u on e Medela pumps... hehehe... eh, first of all, what intensity are u using??? if straight away u go "too high", its definitely painful lah... wat i usually do is start at level 2 (e 2nd dot), then slowly slowly move upwards... then for e funnel, it shd be "sucking" e nipple, and some parts of e aerola... if e funnel is too small, its only "sucking" e nipple portion n no parts of e aerola, also painful..
u can buy e bigger funnels @ Mums & Babes at United Square.. i think $27.50 for a set of 2...
i'm also using e PIS advance, bought from e last ISetan Private Sale @ $600+... got another Isetan Private Sale coming up 15 March.. can check out if they r having any special promotion for e pump u wan....
but if i nv remember wrongly, Swing is only for rental??? u hv to buy e "spareparts" for use though...

LittleCat,
Thanks for getting me all the help!

Starz,
Thanks for coming in, tho' I know you're prob very busy with work!

For intensity, I am a chicken, used only the lowest intensity on the Mini Electric but still find it painful.
So you and LittleCat could be right - the funnel could be too small for me... oh dear, didn't know I got big nips

When I use it, the funnel only has a very small extra space at the sides of my nipple, and sometimes when suction begins, one side of nipple may touch the side unless I really aim in the centre exactly.
Then for aerola, most part of it is not being sucked... it's under the plastic part at the "cone" shape area. So when the suction begins, aerola gets sucked against the funnel plastic. So this is too small for me yeah?

OK, will go check out the bigger funnel... cos hubby went last week, they say funnel is standard size!

Swing is for sale too... it's a retail pump, not hospital grade one. Mums & Babes sell it. Similar to PIS advanced but it's a single pump. Mums N Babes selling for $329 I think.

Thanks for info on Isetan sales! Will check it out.

P/S. Girls, I've got the Mums N Babes discount card that can get 12% off non-promo items, so if you girls can't wait for those Robinsons/Isetan sales and need something urgently, can borrow from me

sophie,
no problem...

from ur description, it does sounds like e funnel is too small for u..if u are still unsure, n not "paiseh".. ask e sales staff @ Mums & Babes for help... tat time i didnt know whether to get e 27mm funnel or e 30mm funnel.. so i ask e sales girl if she can advise, n i show her.... then she told me i better get e bigger one....
hehehehe... even salesgirl also see my nipple liaoz.. can see how "immune" i am to being "exposed" liaoz.... hahahaha....

i didnt know Swing is for sale, cos i asked them b4, n e lady told me its for rental only.... tats y i went to buy e PIS during isetan sale...

Hi LittleCat, I just saw gor gor and didi's CNY pic - they look sooooo cute together!

Hi Sophie's mummy, I had the same prob with the mini electric too, so I used the Avent pump - I didn't find it very tiring because I did it very slowly - like say, 5 secs each pump. It worked very well for me and it took me 10 mins each side to get abt 8 oz of milk.

Hi gohong, I just had my lunch and looking at your pics is making me hungry again!

Hi pris, the bread look very yummy! Guess the best part about the baking session is eating them all up!

Hi Kailin, I love going to Japan! This will be my 3rd visit - my kids love Jap food! Btw, I have one free day left on my itinerary - should I go to Puroland or go to Hakone?

<font color="ff0000">Here's A BIG THANK YOU!</font>
You girls have been a great help and source of encouragement!
Yesterday, my mum asked me to squeeze my nipples and when she saw only a few drops of milk coming out, she said I didn't have enough milk and that I have to supplment.
She also said that if I have enough milk, it'll come out in squirts, whereas for me, even if I pump, it'll come out only a a few squirts then the rest are drops.
Quite demoralizing... but luckily there is this forum

This FM supplementing is a vicious circle - I started 1 bottle FM a week ago cos of sore nips, and now baby is onto 3 bottles a day.
Have to try and reduce the FM before I lose my ss totally.

starz,
Heh, ok, tonight if baby not too fussy, I'll go to Mums & Babes to flash them my nips too

Annelise,
I think my arms really not used to the exercise that Avent manual pump requires.
Woah, you got a lot of milk leh!
I pumped an hour and only got 2oz of milk leh... then when I spilt half on the floor, almost wanted to cry!
Maybe when my milk supply is established, I'll try it again.

Gohong, your beehoon and curry makes me feel like cooking them tomorrow. Your veggie curry did you add lotsa coconut milk? Yours look red spicy and I like it but I prefer lesser coconut milk.

sophie, didn't know there's so many model for medela now...

annelise, when you leaving for Japan? I love the country and thir food....so envy....

sophie,
PLEASE!!!!! ur bb havent even full-mth yet mah... of cos ur milk ss wont b "over-flowing" lah... got to slowly build up 1... its still early days, u can try to stimulate e ss up again.. as long as u persist lor...
my breasts also abit "stubborn".. even tho use e PIS, i still take approx 40mins-1hr to pump.. then muz squeeze my breasts at e same time, or else e milk wont come out... sometimes during e process i can get a 2nd "let down" sensation even.. so gotto b patient lor....

annlee,
Yeah, Medela Swing is a new model, but I think PIS is an older model and very popular cos it's very good.

starz,
My mum insisted that women who bf have HUGE HARD breasts leh, that's why when she see my tiny breasts producing only droplets of milk, she said not enough lor.
I think I'll hold back on Medela Swing and buy a proper-fitting funnel first. Then if bm is established, I'll get the PIS when there is sale.

I called up Joyful Parenting helpline, and the lady was very good... told me frankly that I have to be prepared to bf up to 15 times in 24hrs to wean bb off the FM... then during full-month lunch this weekend, sure kenna by my mum again

Sop
I fully bf my gal till 14 months. I never had huge hard breasts. I can never pump out enough often less than 2 oz...very demoralising at times. I gave up pumping after awhile which means that I have to be always there when baby needs milk. I also wonder if my baby had enough. Luckily my family and pd are very supportive and my baby filled out. Guess my baby is a better pumper than my Medela PIS.

There is a cheaper alt to Medela which some say is juz as good, Ameda sold by MIM. Perhaps you can try that.

sophie, hee....starz is right lah.... some more is your first time BF so the flow will be slow. I also got tiny breast hee... that's why on my first BF is very difficult and milk flow very little but the more bb suck the more it produce, take times.

Annlee,
forgot to tell you I have yet to try the recipe, after I try will try you the results...

Sophie,
relax a bit lah, stress can reduce supply too. So be happy and smile more and think that you are producing more and more (self hypnotise...hee! hee!). Supply will increase as you go. Try drinking milk (milk produce milk, I tried this method and the fenugreek and nettle too!) Take care.

starz,
I just bought the Medela PIS Advanced! Went to Mums & Babes at United Square and flashed the lady my nips

She advised me to get a bigger funnel than the standard size too.
At first I bought the Swing, then a lady from the BF Singapore Association returned my call and advised me to get the dual one cos can save time, lasts longer and got resale value.
So I went back to Mums & Babe to change. Paid $642 after my Privilege Card discount, so quite an OK deal too.
Just tried it cos baby just finished her feed - only had about 10 drops of milk left in my breast to pump, but overall very happy cos it's so much gentler than the Mini E, plus no horrid motor noise that makes me think it's gonna break my nipple!

Thanks for the recommendation!!!

annlee,
heh, pple like us with tiny breasts always get the "are you sure you got enough milk?" reaction from older folks!

cupcake,
You always latch? Eh, then if need to go out run errands without baby, then baby how?
But you are right - baby is the best pump in the world!

Nancy,
You also do hypnotherapy? Hee, I used that to help me relax.

Hi, here's my first recipe to share with you gals. Its called Niku Jyaga - Minced meat with potato.
Hope you'll enjoy the dish !

Minced meat C 150g
Potato C 3 pieces
Onion C 1 piece
Japanese cooking wine C 2 Tablespoon
Mirin C 2 Tablespoon
Sugar C 2/3 Tablespoon
Soy sauce C 3 Tablespoon
Water C 2/3 cup

Method:

Peel off the potato skin and cut them into quarters. Soak the cut potato in water for 10 mins, afterwhich just place them on the plate. Same goes for onion but cut it into smaller pieces and dont need to soak it in water.

Add oil to the saucepan in medium heat. Fry the minced meat first, until it turns brown. Then add the potato into the saucepan. Fry it for about 3 mins, then add the cooking wine and water to the saucepan. When it starts to boil, add mirin and sugar in. Cover the saucepan and lower the heat to cook for 8-10 mins. Next, add the onion and soy sauce into the saucepan. Cover it again and let it cook for another 5-6 mins.

Annelise,
It really depends. Hakone is famous for its hotsprings and it is halfway from Tokyo to Mt Fuji. Kids will not enjoy this kind of places but adults will love it. You'll get to stay in Ryokan (aka ancient like hotel) and eat good fresh food. Whereas for Puroland, it is much more like an amusement park. Kids will definitely love it.

sophie...
sorry for the late reply for the breasfeeding issue... haiya, u bought the oump oredi. last week i wen to Mum s & Babes at AMK hub n they gave me a beta price than that. but nvr mind,, trust me me its a good buy. esp if u r planning to continue to work n breastfeed. Like wat the BF asso says, dual pump is much faster. esp when at work. cannot spend half n hr on 1 breast (2 breast = 1hour), boss will not be happy.
Let me know when u need tips on how to handle bf when back at work. and dun worry too much abt milk supply... i belong to low production mother and milk only sort of stablise after 1 month. and if u really wan to increase supply, now u have the PIS, u can try to pump in tandem. meaning while feeding ur baby, pump on the other side. but u muz remeb to cap the other suction which u are not using, otherwise the pumpmwill not work. I find tandem pumping is the fastest way to increase milk production. U are making the body think that ur baby need DOUBLE amot of milk.
So no worries.. i have bf 2 of my dd...and the 2nd one is 9mths old n i'm still bf her.

Hi Sophie's mummy, sorry I didn't clarify that I did not latch my dd on at all. I fed her only ebm and pumped 4 times a day, that's why I accumulated more milk at each pump. I found taking the fish + papaya soup very effective for me - every time I feel my supply dropping, I will drink the soup throughout the whole day. Cupcake is right, with direct latching and constant feeding, the breasts will never become engorged cos' the milk is being emptied all the time. Our mothers belong to the generation where they were told that formula milk is better, that's why they are not so pro-bf. My mum also kept asking me to stop, saying that my milk is too thin and not nutritious enough, got quantity but no quality! So, not to worry, ya? Did you get nipple cream to apply? Maybe it'll heal faster that way.

Hi Kailin, thanks for the recipe! I will try it when I'm back from Japan! I guess I will have to give Hakone a miss - my girls are just recovering from flu and it is still very cold in Tokyo, so sheltered Puroland sounds like a good idea!

Gotta go, need to speed up on my packing.