Cooking Tips & Recipe

Krisjoy,
I hd browsing the popular for their cookbook everytime i went
but maybe i am kind of slow in preparing the raw ingredient before cooking. Therefore by the time we finish eating is abt 8.30 -8.45pm <haiz....>

Furry,
Thx for the web add. V useful....

Lyn,
Me more into chinese as in veg, fish n soup. BTW, d u see any sinseh for ur back pain?

Sophie,
Thx. Hope d lac specialist able to help u with ur BF prob. Kind of 'sim tia' seeing bb crying out loud if they cant get d supply rite. Experience it b4 with my dd who is 7mths nw.

Just drop by since ds retires to sleep early tonight and I am preparing my homeschooling materials and also updating my blog at the same time. Trying to keep everything up to date and and yet to find the time to add in recipes.

Annelise, hope all of you enjoy yourself in Japan, we had a great time there from Sept 06 to Jan this year. Hope your dd2 has recovered. What is the temperature like? In fact, if temperature is about 15 deg C is not that bad. When we were there temperature was about 4-8 degree celius and also it snowed for 2 days.

Weather in Vancouver is still unpredictable and it snowed again this morning even though it was sunny yesterday.

Lyn...I have developed my own curriculum which integrated English, Maths, Science, Chinese, Art, Household chores and lots of reading and singing and playing and sport (dh's job). It is very time-consuming to prepare all the materials but ds and I enjoy each session that we have. Currently, our theme is on Farm. Just to share part of what we do on art here, for English - learn Vocabulary on Thing and Animals found in the Farm, then the male and female animals and their young, and the sound make by these farm animals. And for chinese, we talk about the same animals but in chinese. And we are into addition for maths till 20, hopefully to work for simple problem sum soon. Science- we have yet to complete on Space and solar system. And we are also into art and craft, here's what we did for craft.

Doing crafts on duck found in farm
724730.jpg

724731.jpg

724732.jpg

724733.jpg

Doing craft on rabbit on the farm
724734.jpg

724735.jpg

Animals on the farm with tractor and farm house
724736.jpg

Kai singing Old MacDonald has a farm.
724737.jpg

Just some sharing, got to go and get all my materials ready for tomorrow's homeschooling. And for this theme, we are going to bake chicken sheperd's pie since we are going to use all the vegetables and chicken found on farm to prepare.

Hope that gave you some ideas of what I do with homeschooling.

cecelia,
Yap. I am seeing an accupuncture "jiao4 shou4" at AMK hospital. He told me after 2 treatments I will be fine. The first time I saw him, he did accupuncture and then tuina for me. After the first treatment, I dun feel pain anymore. Then when I reached home, I carried baby and went for stroll with baby. The pain came back worse

Simple vegetable and quite healthy will be steam broccoli and cauliflower. The sprinkle some soya sauce and sesame oil and stir
hee... but dunno whether you will like it. For fish, just steam with soya sauce and "hua tiao jiu". For soup, I will recommend a thermal pot
very easy and fuss free to boil soup.

Priscilla,
What is your blog address? Can I see?
Wow... Your DS has very good fingers skill. His art is very nice for his age.
Do you have a fixed timing for the curriculum?

Hi ladies, thanks for the warm welcome.

Wow..Pris, so impressed by your efforts and your son's developments! Also interested in learning more from you. I'm actually based overseas as well but not so brave as to homeschool full time. I'm hoping to do simple teaching for my 15+ month old though.

Cecelia, you can try to use crock pot or those slow cooker to cook? Prepare the ingredients the night before, morning just pop them in and turn it on. Fry veg and pop the rice cooker when you get home? I've got help now but I used to do stuff like that before I did.

Sop, tell yourself the first month is the hardest. My friend encouraged me with that advice too and I really CLUNG onto it and really, its true. BFing get so much easier after the first month. Your TMC LC is right in that you and your child needs to relearn how to latch properly. Else it will be uncomfy for you in the long run. Bfing is tough but very fulfilling...I'm still Bfding my DD even though I work FT. Hang in there
Come here to relief stress la! :p

I'm back from TMC LC appt. Thanks for all your concern abt my bf problems

Verdict: My latch is OK, but I don't have enough milk for my baby's needs now. What they did was weigh the baby before the feed and after the feed, then calculate how much the baby took in.
My baby only took in 40ml of milk after 30mins of sucking!

Then they make me pump for 15mins to see how much milk I have, and I've only got about 25ml in my breasts left.
So 40ml + 25ml is not enough for my baby's requirement of 110ml per feed.
They taught me how to top up with formula and feed baby.
I'm supposed to do this feed + pump + top-up feed until next appt on Monday.
Then the famous Mrs Wong also said must drink lots of soup esp. fish bones papaya soup boiled for 12 hrs, so tonight I'm hopping over to my mum's to borrow her slow cooker.
Am also taking fenugreek supplements.
She recommended goat's rue, but it's out of stock at TMC.
She said I need to rest when baby rest, so that I will not be so tired and can produce milk properly.

Overall, TMC more scientific compared to Mt A one who just told me my latch is not right, and insisted I "gagged" my poor baby till she sweat!

Hopefully all this effort will ensure I can eventually have a good supply for baby.

lyn,
You take care of you back! It's one of the most problematic areas if really kenna injured badly.

Delihub website is http://www.delihub.com.sg/
I catered for 40pax, and they were nice enough to split my beehoon into 1 tray beehoon and 1 tray fried rice, else 2 trays of beehoon a bit boring.

furry,
Thanks for info!
Checked the website - but now I am a bit confused...
-> Should I take Goat's Rue or More Milk Plus or both?

I'll order it once you reply me... am really going all out to make bf work!

Sop..think try one better ba...or ring up the company and ask them? I think its a home based run business...

I actually ordered both to try the last time and tried Goat's Rue first and only tried MMP after.

furry,
Thanks. I've sent them an email to ask cos they don't have tel number on their website.

Gohong,
You're still cooking on weekdays now that you're pregnant?
How're you coping with pregnancy plus your twins plus cooking?

Hi Lyn

I still have no time to update on homeschooling yet in my blog, basically just updating on our lives away and the things that we faced or more like a daily sort. And also on recipes that I created, shared by friends, from my mum that need little modification since not all ingredient can be found here. And will do up a page on ds where homeschooling should be attached there.

pm me your email since my blog is being privatized. I have a schedule of what to teach each day but do not set timing as to when to teach each item, Kai gets to choose and he is rather disciplined when it comes to homeschool unless he is unwell or too tired where we will give some a miss.

Pris, I thought of another cooking forum that may interest you. www.kitchencapers.net . try it. I've found some useful recipes to use when I'm overseas as well...def. helps satiate that "missing SG food" craving

Sop, hopefully they reply you soon. Did you manage to get some rest ?

I am a little late but, a warm welcome to cecelia n furryfurry

Wat happened to the 'hum' gang? disappear already??

wow, furryfurry, u have recommended very interesting sites. But kitchencapers required recommendation 2b members rite? I tried to registered a few months ago but without sucess. Can't read much of the forum cos they restrict access for alot of the conversations. hiaz

Sop
How is ur bf coming along? I remember last time when I juz started, I make sure baby open mouth big big then stuff my nipple in to make sure got right latch. If not correct then I will unlatch n try again. hahaha sounds v unpro hor

Cupcake,
there's nothing unprofessional lah... Me was even worst when I was first bfing, I don't even know what possition and things like that (KKH is not helpful at all, their LC is not where to be seen! And when I ask the nurses they just say like that, like that loh! They are the unprofessional ones!). I just fumble and fumble but as long as my ds drinks and is happy I am okay..

Sop,
Enjoy the bonding hor!

Pris,
You are so capable... all the cooking and home schooling!

Furry furry,
how old is your dd/ds? You also got a lot of time to cook/bake hah? Me still have not got time to steam the Logan cake that Annlee help to get the recipe...

welcome all the new member !

Lyn, aiyoh, u take care hor!

cupcake, u miss the hum huh?
aiyoh never near from Choc for very long time also hor?

Cookiemonster & I were suggesting to have a picnic on 24/March, Saturday, 9am at Botanic Garden.

We can do Pot luck, ie, me will fried some beehoon, cookiesmonster will bring sandwich..

We can start a small first, later we can have more function at different location.

Anyone keen to join?

furry,
I got the Goat's Rue & More Milk Plus. My hubby called up TMC Retail Pharmacy and they have stock today. He went and got 1 bottle of each for me, and I just popped them

Hope it works!

Managed to get a bit of rest today cos went to my mum's place so she can help coax my baby while I express 15mins after every feed. Then she'll help me bottlefeed baby the expressed milk + formula top up.

cupcake,
I also unlatch and relatch my baby, so she will learn that she has to open her mouth.

LittleCat,
I'm keen on the outing, but I need to confirm next week OK?
Cos after seeing TMC LC on Fri, I'm now on this Plan -> bf, then pump, then top up EBM with formula.
Not sure how I'm going to pump my milk at Botanic Gardens

Hope this Plan will work wonders with the Goat's Rue and More Milk Plus so I can start going on outings!

Nancy,
I didn't know KKH LCs are so unprofessional? Thought they were quite good.

Sophie,
I think TMC got sell d papaya soup for bfing mum. I read it in the 06 thread prev. Or u ask ur confi lady or mum prepared for u everyday. Soup is said to make ur supply more. Cia yu ok...

Pris,
Check with u on the homeschooling. D u follow any homeschooling guideliness for the curriculum? It is indeed v interesting. Am taking from various site, some english, science n math material for my ds homework.

Lyn,
I din noe amk hospital got acupunture service. Thx for ur recipe. For cauliflower n brocolli been doing dat for sometimes liao till my ds bored. Would like to check with u on thermal pot, would the soup pipping hot when u comeback in the evening? Intend to buy that yesterday at OG sales, but after finding out it is only can 'tahan' up to 6hrs, make me reluctant.

Furryfurry,
would like to gam sia u on the website. Indeed a large variety of recipe.

Cecelia...I don't use any website. I have a couple of preschool books with curriculum which were recommended by a friend's sister who is the principal of a popular preschool in Singapore on the curriculum in her preschool and as a teacher myself, I do not fully follow the curriculum, I incorporate my own curriculum and create my own activity that need my boy's needs. I have the integration of English, Chinese, Maths, Science, Art & Craft, Social Studies(very limited - too young to know all), Music and Sports. Ds only used the books that I bought to practise writing. We used lots of stories books and non-fiction books, DVDs to supplement the lesson as well as lots of fieldtrips.

Nancy...in fact overseas, most mummies homeschool their children and what keep me going is that ds is learning and picking up new information daily. And all these are comments given by strangers and friends whom have spoken to ds since I am teaching him, I do not know how much he knows compare to his peers but was pretty surprised to find out from other that he is very advanced in term of knowledge for a child his age. I supposed it is important for me to nurture him since we are our child's first teacher.

Sop - I cook on weekedays when I feel that I'm up to cooking..mostly just simple dishes like soup coz I can just dump the ingredients into the slow cooker in the morning and it would be ready by late afternoon and some other dishes depending on what is in the fridge
but if I'm in the lazy mood then we will either order delivery or tabao from kopitiam..

The gers are still considered quite well-behaved in the daytime and since they are sleeping through the nite now, I have ample rest so I'm still good..thanks for your concern

KrisJoy - yup, I'm pregnant - going 4 months soon

Krisjoy, littlecat,
I am feeling much better now

Sophie,
Glad that you have found someone who can really help you in breastfeeding

How do they know that baby only sucked 40ml by weighing? Very interesting... I cannot guess how much my baby drink now.
I think oatmeal can really helps in more milk production. Lately, I have been eating oatmeal daily again, and I get lots of milk.

Priscilla,
Can share with me a typical day on what to teach please? I have PM you

Gohong,
Congratulations! Wish you smooth months ahead...

littlecat,
Oh... Picnic ah... me! me! I am keen to join. I planned to go to the zoo that Saturday wor... Let me ask my hubby see can change or not

cecilia,
There's a TCM section in AMK hospital called "Hong Hua".
I bought a Thermos thermal pot. I boiled the soup in the afternoon, open to drink in the evening, close it. Next morning, still hot! I think gotta get a good one. Some of the gals here are using Tiger brand, which has good feedback

Sop, great to hear that you've managed to get what you need! You sound so much more upbeat already. Keep it up
I agree with lyn, oatmeal helps too.

Pris, oh...so you were a teacher yourself. I guess that gives you a bit more confidence than we normal beings on teaching our kids fulltime. I def. think that your son will be more advanced than his peers as you're about to spend 1 on 1 time with him fulltime, unlike in school. I was ringing up a school yesterday for enquiry and they were saying that the kids are allowed to watch tv. Shocking...considering the program was for my 15 month old daughter and only lasts 3 hours in a day! The only "good" thing is that they have very good syllabus modelled after Glen Doman and Shichida. So far the only school I've found here in Shanghai. That's where we are based right now.

Nancy, I don't have much time to cook and bake as I'm a FTWM as well but I LOVE to collect recipes and meddle around when I do have the time (and energy). I love Martha Steward stuff..and will collect has mags when I come across them. The last thing I made was my DD's one year old birthday cake. That was about 3-4 months ago liao...hehe...

Gohong, congrats!

furryfurry,
Shichida strongly discouraged TV leh... It will affect kids' visual and auditory development. And also the brain development. Even for adults, watching too much TV will deteriote our brains. For Glen Doman and Shichida methods, doing home practice with mother or father will give the best results. They gotta be done with lots of love. Do you read their books?
I heard that China has their own very good programs. I heard the best is in Beijing. My dad know people who send their toddlers to Beijing to attend school! Not cheap... Maybe Shanghai will have a school on that too... Sorry, but I dunno any names for the program. I just hearsay so far...

Pris,
Ohhh.. u are school teacher urself. Will be much more easier rite??
I did experience it myself as i am teaching ds myself before we send him to childcare last year. He is consider advanced compared to his pier. Even now, in the evening, am coaching him on subject that school din touch on (such as Bahasa Indonesia, oral n written) or sometimes go into in-depth of the subject that he learn in school. BTW, is it ok to share ur idea on the subject that u teach as mine weak on science,art n social studies. Thx in advance.

Lyn,
Thx for the advise. so far ur thermos din fail u rite??

Can someone give me some feedback on the tiger thermal if u own one?? Thank u...

Furryfurry,
So u are working in shanghai now. For how long??

Gohong,
Congrats... Wish u smooth preggie.

Little cat,
Me interested in the picnic. Thinking of bring Vegetarian buns of ordering pizza (got to know how many of us first!)... how what do you all prefer?

Actually thinking of making pizzas but don't know if got time or not...

Hi there

Since each child has a different need, it has to focus on their need.

I do not have a fix time. We could be like doing craft for 15 minutes, then ds is off to play, then he may come back and request to read or to do some simple maths etc.

As for curriculum, I still to supplement what he learnt in school by going more indepth, I am using the books I bring to get him to practise writing. So my one day is made up with lots of activities.

Social Studies, since over here we have mountain, low land, etc and farms which I am planning to bring ds for a visit which I can teach agriculture like breeding animals, planting crops etc, geographical locations etc
Science - going into life cycle of farm animals for this topics etc

hello all:

About the picnic, here's the list attendee:

Cookiemonster (will prepare sandwich)
Sop (will confirm next week)
Lyn (will confirm with hb)
Nancy
Starz (will check with hb)
Little cat (will prepare fried beehoon)

Pls response asap leh :D

Nancy, i am thinking of something simple. we can have diff people making diff sandwich for example or fried beehoon, or noodle. Or just fried some hotdog as 'liao' for the fried beehoon also welcome :p
Or some bring fresh fruits, salads.. cocktails (?)...

Gals any other suggestion for picnic?

Hi Gohong,
Is that a vegetarian one? (if yes, I want to try leh...) Looks so yummy! Mayabe I should try baking something like that for my hubby (vegetarian version of course!)

Little cat,
If that's the case I bring vegetarian buns, is it okay?

nancy - i used pork, carrot and onion for the filling..but if you want to do it vegetarian..can consider using the vegetarian char siew..i think it will taste yummy too..just have to spend a bit of time testing out the ingredients

Littlecat, when is the picnic? Only we mummies going for picnic or include kids, baby and hb??

Gohong, congrats!!

Nice pie!!

Errrr picnic in Botanic Gardens...

the list of attendees:

Cookiemonster (will prepare sandwich)
Sop (will confirm next week)
Lyn (will confirm with hb)
Nancy
Starz (will check with hb)
Little cat (will prepare fried beehoon)
Ambrosial(hates the sun!!)

hi ladies...

very hectic couple of days... sorry nt able to drop by to chat...
i'll most prob be able to join u all for e picnic nex sat... but need to know wat time, and if we could possibly find any shady spots/ sheltered area to camp out at... me also hate e sun, cos since preggy, i honestly sweat like a pig liaoz... n my Ayden also scared of hot.. he will b rather cranky leh....
tentatively, i'll b in charge of e drinks can??? n mayb some "agar agar" for e adults n some fun snacks for e kids... now with ayden, reli no time to cook/bake... he is now adding his two cents worth , "typing" on my keyboard as i'm carrying hhim at e same time...

Botanic garden website, the map :

http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo/mapofground.asp

We normally go to the Central Core, from visitor centre u will pass by the symphony lake, before the orchard garden, many tall tree, quite shady, even if we were there around 11:00am.

Will try to find more info next week.

Also other than food, can anyone bring tent, mats etc. ?

And any other essential thing huh? hehe pai seh first time organizing...

nancy - the main reason for me cooking despite being pregnant is to satisfy my craving..with my twin gers, it is hard to eat out and sometimes the food do not taste as nice when you tabao it back so might as well cook

hi girls,
Wow, all the picnic planning sounds fun, but it looks like I may not be able to attend cos hubby just left for a last-minute trip to Taiwan today and MIL is staying with me.
Heh, don't want to bring her along cos don't want her to know I've been coming into the forum for support.
Maybe next time can join you girls.

btw, what do you girls think of pacifiers for a 5-week-old baby?
Today my bb downed 110ml of bm + ebm + formula and still refused to sleep, so in the end I had to exchange my nipples for some sleep for myself.
Let her suck while I catch up on my sleep *sigh*

lyn,
TMC calculates the amount baby takes by weighing baby before and after latch. The weight difference is roughly equivalent to how much baby took in cos 1ml is approx equals to 1g.
It's only a rough guide, not super accurate cos baby can suck at different intensity at different sessions, and plus it also depends on how much milk I have in my breasts at different times.
MIL today asked me how accurate it is, whether any research has been done into it and whether my milk production has increased etc... makes me so stressed lah.
Then she asked how much I expressed out after the latch, I answered 30ml, her reply was "30ml only?"

Sop,
Just ignore her remarks lah! Don't let her stress you unnecessarily... Its always easier to make empty comments! By the way the amount you produce also depend on your physical condition... like me fat but 'empty' thats why I only let my ds direct latch and don't pump out excess anymore as dh afraid that my body cannot take it...

Hi Littlecat,

What time is the picnic? I am currently in the midst of moving into my new place so need to see if I can attend...

Check with you mummies....any good rice cooker to recommend?? Was looking at Buffalo brand, their stainless steel rice cooker pot claim to be a very healthy choice, anyone using it?

littlcat, will confirm the picnic with you again as my ds1 is having classes on saturday, will check with my hb to see whether is it too rush for it or not

sophie, aiyo....your MIL question until like that...don't stress yourself, any problem just let us know. And forget what she say after reply her.
About the pacifier, I don't give my boys and try not to let them suck their thumb. I also let them suck my nipples to get some sleep.... at that time really have little time for myself and when I have the time is to quickly have a shower or have my meal.

Sophie,
Aiyoh.... dun stress urself. I read somewhere that our 'supply' depend on our mood oso lei... Ur case still nt bad, after latch still hv 30ml. My case lei kosong liao after latch.
I oso never gave pacifier to ds n dd.

Gohong,
ur shepherd pie v yummy lei...

Nancy,
I think can use the mock mutton as well to replace the char siew. Am tempting of trying that this weekend/one of the weekdays, let u know the outcome as still got some mock mutton in the fridge.

Gohong,
Is it ok to share ur pie recipe??

Annlee,
Me also thinking of buying the Buffalo Brand leh... So anyone can give review???

Ariesan,
I will need the recipe before I can modify it leh (cause I never bake shepherd's pie before).

Gohong,
Your shepherd pie looks very good. Can share your recipe? I am going to Bintan in 2 weeks' time, and I gonna make shepherd pie
Now looking around for recipe. Can use pork?

I will join you all in the picnic
. I will bring some fruits. Anybody has any preference of fruits?

Littlecat, I have a small foldable kind of tent and a small mat. I can bring them.
Think will need some utensils to eat too. Why dun we bring our own eating utensils? Easier that way...
If everything finger food, then no need eating utensils.

Can tell me how to get to the place from the gate at Gleneagles hospital? I will be taking a cab down.