Cooking Tips & Recipe

cupcake..

yup..i wonder what time my mum has to wake up just to prepare all that spread..when we reach at 12pm..all we had to do was eat haha..

my gers (that's actually 2 bbs that you all are seeing) are 8 mths old

ambrosial, ahh I see! okie, luckily I happened to have just completed our reno months ago, so I can easily call up my contractor to check. Thanks!

Berry, WELCOME!!!

B2B3M4, don't feel neglected, you shld post more over here and to be honest, this is the best thread I have been to.

littlecat, I'm starting to have porriage today and continue to have porriage on Monday cos over the weekend going to have feast again so going light next week and I'm putting on 2 kg hee.....

Gohong, you're dd very sweet... she's only 8 months and she's eating fry chicken, ngor hiang...cannot lah..or you trying to tempt her

Wow, so many pics

starz,
Your goddaughter is very leggy! And Ayden's hair grew back already, so fast!

Berry,
Welcome!

I don't have much comments on standalone tabletop oven as I don't own one.

Krisjoy, LittleCat, cupcake,
Heee, maybe I should change my nick, but so lazy cos have to ask moderator to do it!

How is it going back to work full-time for you girls? Miss your babies or can't wait to get back to the corporate world? I have friends who cannot stand staying home with baby all the time, and cannot wait to start work.

gohong,
Your dds are cute! Are they identical or fraternal twins?
Eh, are they really eating fried chicken?

annlee,
Now I can confirm with you that it's really a MUST to do a proper confinement!
I am doing a "not-so-traditional" confinement cos paiseh to ask MIL to wash dishes etc so I do it myself, but didn't let my mum know else she'll grumble about "wind" going into the body.
Then a few days ago, hubby said I looked really pale after taking a walk downstairs with baby, like how I looked when I came out of op theatre, so he quickly made chicken essence and black chicken soup for me, then my lips got some colour back.
Heee, the only thing I have to bear with is my MIL's comments about how she never did any confinement herself and yet there's nothing wrong with her... blah blah blah

Sophie,
I m one of those who can't wait to go back to work..hehehe...I tried taking care of bb for a month and almost went crazy liao. Very bored leh...Now that I am to work, I look forward to seeing her every evening and will treasure these times with her. Guess is individual lor ;p

cupcake,
Me too! If my next one are twins, I can really close shop liao

Sophie,

just bear with the comments of yr mil and dun think too much into it. take good care of yrself. I learnt to take things easy after confinement and not having the blues.

Berry,

Yes, it something like the oven should have its own socket and not shared socket with other appliances, else drawing too much power from a single source will cause the circuit to trip.

gohong, wow your twins so cute!

annlee, i ask my hb to join me to drink the oatmeal every morning, plus 2 slices of bread.
Rather than eating a bowl of noodle or a plate of fried bee hoon, so oily and salty.
Wow put on 2kg so fast ?
me still got alot to shed leh. I am more or less back to before PG weight, but my pre-PG weight already overweight so got to work harder lor..

Sophie, it is ok we are so used to calling u 'Sophie' liao

Abt confinement, better drink more of the chicken soups if not can drink the chicken essence too. During confiment i took the chicken essence every morning, so face looks abit rosy also.

Abt back to work, i am abit like krisjoy, can't take it if have to look after baby whole day... but now after started working miss him so much.

My boy is 4 months now, the auntie put him on the walker for an hour that day just b4 CNY. When i saw the walker i ask her how come there is a walker here? she said she got it from a fren. (cos we purposely keep a brand new walker from her thinking of only pass to her when the baby is ready). Then i ask her u put him there for how long? at first she said 1 hour, i got a shock and ask again 'how long'? she quickly say for half an hour.. but later i check with the maid she said the baby was there for an hour plus.
She told me my boy even with the pillow infront and back still can't hold himself straight, got to sit there for an hour plus! and the auntie see him can't sit straight and find it funny keep laughing!

Buay tahan, told her not to do it so early cos he is still not that stable yet, then she not happy with me these few days...sian..
Then someime when baby cry she will ask the maid not to carry him & let him stay at the bouncer.
Her theory is not to spoilt him.

I leave my baby with maid at home today. Just now i call back the maid so excited telling me my son know how to flip by himself without help from her.

May be i should change my plan instead sending all to the auntie's house, may be just leave the maid with baby at home and convert the elder one to full day... sigh more headache...

Sop - Dr said they are identical but to us, we think they are not :p and by the way, the eating of fried chicken is for show only..haha..

cupcake - twins very 'xiong' to take care leh..me now one versus two plus one more on the way..

hi hi....

littlecat,
okay, i shall go post more photos there... took alot of photos over CNY cos got to spend so much time with ayden mah... i am a "photo-siao" mummy.. hehehe...

aiyo.. how come e auntie like tat one... i feel heartpain for GC leh.... he muz have been reli tired tat day... *sayang*....
ayden also juz managed to flip on his own today... he's been trying so hard for e past few days n getting himself frustrated... finally he did it himself liaoz, he so happy he actually smiling leh.... hehehehe.....

berry,
welcome...
kao_welcome2.gif

eh, i got a microwave-cum-grill-cum-oven.. due to lack of space in my kitchen... its definitely not as good as a oven, but nowadays i dont hv much time to bake liaoz, so can make do lah... my mum is a "baby belling" lover.. she said its e best...

krisjoy,
ya.. ayden hair growing quite fast... its more than 1inch long liaoz... BUT still only e "top" part got hair, e sides stil cant grow out yet.. may shave him again to see if can help e hair grow out evenly or not...

gohong,
wow... twin girls.. i tot u typed wrongly initially when i saw "gers" but look alike leh... now one more ar?!?!? how many mths preggy liaoz..?? boy or girl??? u muz b an amazing woman.. taking care of twins n preggy...

sophie,
i donno how to answer ur qn leh... most of e time, i wan to b a SAHM... but i do get bored when i stay at home too long, cos being with bb, not much "brain work".... so...
kao_confused.gif
but i can never b a SAHM due to circumstances lah... so dont need to think so much....
aiyo... u muz take care of urself too leh... cos urs is c-section somemore.. muz take extra care mah... do try to take chix essence or DOM whenever u can lor....

ladies ar, i need help...
my hair is dropping like nobody's business leh.. altho i heard its normal after delivery will drop..but e qty is scary!!! can see very obvious tat im losing my hair liaoz.... does anyone hv any idea what food can help grow more hair / prevent further loss??? i didnt hv much hair to start with... if drop further, i reli scared wil hv bald patch... im losing more than 50 strands per day ar.... help.......

starz, thanks for your reply!

Hairloss- its very normal after delivery cause alot of women will have thicker hair during pregncny due to hormones, so after the birth, the hormones return to normal. In comparism, you'll suddenly feel like you have much lesser hair. But normally it shouldnt cause excessive hairloss such that thins your hair more than normal times before you got preggie.

Sophie, I didnt really do the confinement thingy either cause I dislike those confinement food (yikes I hate ginger :p), drank only about 1-2 cups of red date tea in all 30 days, went out a week after I discharged (shopping mall!) and took regular baths daily hehe! I think I broke just about every rule in the confinement book

Missng baby- I am a sahm, so I guess I'm one of those who just cant bear to be away from my girl right from day one, its a good thing I didnt have to go back to work cause I doubt I'll be able to bring myself to leave her behind :p But then these things are v individual lor, diff mums have diff personalities n thresholds.

Hi everyone, Happy Chinese New Year! I haven't had time to drop by the forum for a chat - too busy cooking and cleaning! Welcome to B2 and berry!

Hi starz, I ijust went to Yahoo group to see your pics - ayden's grown so much! I love the pic of him lying on all the hong baos! Hehe, quite a bumper harvest he's got there! Your quan jia fu is very nice - your god-daughter has grown a lot!

Re: hair dropping, like berry said, it's due to the hormones, it should stabilse in a few weeks. In the meantime, you could try washing with a very mild shampoo and avoid tying up your hair too tightly so that it doesn't pull at the roots. My sister used this hair tonic called Neril which she bought from the pharmacy and she said it worked for her.

Hi gohong, haven't "seen" you for a while
Your babies are very cute - love their sweet pinky cheeks! Congrats on your pg! When is your edd? You, your hb and your mum all cook so well, you always have lots of yummy food to eat, so lucky

Hi LittleCat, your bb so poor thing, have to sit in the bouncer for so long - maybe just explain to the auntie that it is not good for the baby's posture to be seated for long periods at the bouncer cos' his muscles are not so strong yet? Did she look after your ds1 from when he was a baby too?

Hi Sophie's mummy, bb sophie is sooo sweet - looks like you! Hee, pple usually have a very traditional mil - yours is very westernised!

Okie, gotta go - need to tuck the girls in soon. Catch up with y'all later in the week.

Van, how are you? Remember to report here when free.

sophie,how's sophie Jnr?? And you getting??

You shld drink more soup or chicken essence and red dates tea for blood circulation too.

Try not to touch water, when my 1st confinement and I'm washing my breast shield (paisay to ask my in law to wash for me) few days later I can feel my hand numb, same goes to my sis. I'll wash my hand using warm water.

littlecat, I can put on weigh within a day and lost them for weeks haiz... metabolic super slow for me.
My hb is eating oat porriage on weekdays. Very healthy breakfast but not for me right now...my tastebud prefer heavier food in the morning.

starz, don't worry, it will grow back as long you don't go for crash diet later. I lost alot of hair on 3rd month after giving birth. I've slight bald patches so got to cut my hair short to have more body.

krisjoy, I remember you mention one of the tunglok restaurant at paramount hotel, how's the food and do they serve chinese dish beside steam boat?

gohong, congrats!

wow better take care of yourself lucky u have reliable helper.

starz, like the photo#19, Ayden looks so big boy! :D
About hair lost, me also, but still not as much so i kind of wait and see for awhile.
yeah any tips huh? can try chinese med?

eh dun shave lah, it will grow evenly soon, just wait awhile.
my d1 after shave grow quite fast but initial stage also patch here and there.
my d2 never shave the hair grow very slow, certain photo he just look like a little monk...

annlee, me also this type, can put on quick and take long time to get rid off

Did u do any excercise ?

annelise, yeah i will use the 'doctor say' can not this can not that. I did ask the PD, his concern is safety and also the walker doesn't really help the baby 'walk' at all..
Just have to keep repeating the thing to her liao..

krisjoy when u trying 2nd ?

i saw some mommy from Oct06, expecting liao...
right starz?

i brought my d2 for checkup last saturday, he weight 9.1kg and 70cm, the PD said he is like a 9months old boy! he is wearing gor-gor 1 year old clothes now.
I ask PD for sample of cereal for 4month,but he said WHO recom 6 month then give, to reduce allergic.
anyway he said for my boy case better dun start so early wait he grow too much. But can start him with fruits like pear or apple.

sophie,
it really depends how u view confinement. essentially one must remember to have enough rest, and proper diet. Avoid all food that r too spicy or "toxic". this is to avoid falling sick. the old wives tales abt not getting wind or touch water is to avoid one falling sick. In the past when living stds n food are not so good, not taking care of oneslef during this stage can make a mother more weak bcos of the additional stress to care for bb and breast feed. I did confinement for myself. i eat healthly and take iron n vitamin supplements. many of us look very pale bcos we lost alot of bllod during the child delivery process. if one didn;t take enough iron during this stage, very easy to be anaemic for life. esp if planning to have 2 or 3rd babies...

littlecat,
your boy only 4 mhts old n ur auntie put him in a walker!!!??? Actually it is not recommended to put babies in walker. they are more accident prone n it impairs their ability to learn to walk.

annlee,
that tunglok restaurant not bad... i esp like their steamboat buffet. very fresh prawns n salmon sashimi.

want to check with mummies with Tiger Magic pot. do u know whether i can use a smaller inner pot in a larger outer pot. bcos i know one have to fill up at least half the pot w food. i am wondering if i get a smaller pot, it will work the same.

B2, yeah lor dun know what the auntie thiking...

u mean u have got 2 diff size of magic pot? not sure if it can help to keep the heat if is not the right size.

littlecat, I do not exercise...hee....i know is bad maybe will go for some taichi or qigong in future.
I don't put my kids on walker too and that's what B2 mentioned abt the accident I've read before.

B2, do you know they serve ala carte chinese food beside steam boat?

About the Tiger pot, some of the mummies is using it. There...little meow is one of them... heard from them is a good pot

Can mummies recomend good chinese restaurant? My sister wanted to give the family a treat(got big bonus hee) so she suggest noble house but some say the food not so good. Any other recommendation?

annelise - thanks for the compliment..actually my mum is the real cook..me and hubby is the anyhow cook..got things just throw in and cook lor..

littlecat - thanks dear..will take care of myself

annlee,
yes, yes... they have ala carte as well. think can check for set dinner. saw quite a few pple eating it when i was there for my reunion dinner (b4 CNY lah!)
Actually Noble house not bad leh... If ur sister feeling rich, can try Lei Garden's set dinner too.

littlecat..
i dun have 2 pots lah.. (where got so rich)... just thinking whether to get the smaller inner pot.

Hi annlee, have you tried Peach Garden? Their newest outlet is at OCBC Centre. I love the food and ambience at that outlet and the view is fantastic too. I haven't tried the CNY menu yet, though. The tel nos. for the other outlets are:

6254 3383 (Novena Garden) - quite small, may have parking prob
6451 3233 (Thomson Plaza)
6535 7833 (OCBC Centre).

Peach Garden
(OCBC Centre)
65 Chulia Street
#33-01 OCBC Centre

My other favourites are Wah Lok at Carlton Hotel, Wan Hao at Marriott, Jade at Fullerton. The new Tung Lok Signatures at Vivocity is quite nice too.

Noble House used to be pretty okay - but the last time we had set dinner whilst everyone else was having the buffet and the kitchen & staff were so busy serving the buffet orders that we had terrible service and the food was not satisfactory. If you do go there, don't order the set menu, I think it's better to get the buffet instead.

Bon appetit!

Annelise,
Yeah, my MIl super westernised... asked me wanna eat MOS burger or sandwich for lunch leh!

LittleCat,
I think your auntie is so "evil"! Baby cannot sit properly cos neck not stable and she can still laugh at him!
I've also heard alot of accident stories about walkers... pretty scary!
But I think if you home does not have a lot of "steps" e.g. entrance of kitchen etc, should be quite safe? And if walker can adjust height to make baby's soles totally flat on the ground, I think don't have to worry about baby tip-toeing in future?

starz,
Me also starting to drop hair
Just that I've got short hair so it's not that obvious!
Hey, Ayden really looks quite a big boy now! I like his "Will work for milk" T-shrt

I wanna get one for my dd too, but have to wait till after confinement then can go out shopping

annlee,
Sophie Jnr is doing well, but feeding every 1 hr!
No one told me breastfeeding was this tiring?!

I hope this is what the book calls cluster feeding for growth spurts, and will not last forever, else I don't even have time to go toilet or drink water, not to mention make red date tea!

gohong,
Heh, I also wish I will have twins, then also close factory liao

How many mths are you now? Must be siong be be looking after twins and being preggie at the same time!

Berry,
I try to follow confinement rules leh, cos I am kiasu... heee, better be safe than sorry.
The only thing I don't really follow is wearing of long-sleeved clothes and showering... too hot to wear such stuff and I definitely need my shower everyday!

B2,
I don't dare to take iron pills... scared constipated cos I think bf already makes my system a bit sluggish!

Re. the inner pot, I think Van uses the smaller one in her larger outer pot. I remember she mentioned the effect is just as good and can cook smaller portions. Think she either got it from Taka or Isetan... about $20+ if I remember correctly.

Van,
Haven't seen you for a long time... hope you are doing well!

Annlee, wow big feast coming! aiyoh got big bonus huh? why not Crystal Jade? hehe, she will regret telling u is big bonus liao!

Agreed with annelise, Peach Garden is good and price also not cheap :D

B2, how many people u intend to cook the soup or dessert etc? for me small family 4.5L is good fo me. Last weekend i cook the whole pot enough for 5 adults.

Junior Sop, hehe so many people crave for burger during confinement and can't get...haha!

THe auntie old fashion type and very inpatient type.. sigh.. so heart pain heard the didi kena 'torture' like that...
She will only complaint to me he is very noisy and cry alot. But he is new to the environment need sometime to adjust also.
Previously what we do is to tie a string to the walker so there is limited space he can move, so less chance of him falling or bang on something.
The tip-toe thing sigh.. my D1 still doing that althought he is 5 years old now. Probably is the side effect asking her to take care using the walker lor...

sop / lil cat, I read that even if walker is adjusted such that baby's sole can firmly touch the ground, its still not good for natural development(might delay standing/walking) cause the baby will be using underdeveloped muscles to do the 'walking' with the aid of the walker. Plus, for babies at this age, free exploration is extremely impt to developement, so its not ideal to place babies in such devices (walkers, exersaucers, jumperoos etc) for too long a day.) Just wat I've read lar

B2, thanks for the infor on the restaurant.

Annelise, oh... Peach Garden is good...okok noted!! Have send my sister the details on the restaurant for her to decide. Thanks!!

Littlecat, yah...my sis got big bonus, even though she din mention we also know hee hee.....

For your ds2 case, I'll not let this auntie take care of my kids leh....must have alot of patience to take care of bb and already 'torture', can't imagine what will happen when is up to her limit. If she's not that bad then shld be ok lor....

sophie, same here....me oso breastfeed ds1 every hour for the 1st month but 2-3month will not be that much for feeding. Breastfeeding is very tiring and almost give up when I fall sick on my 1st month of BF.
Wah....your MIL so westernised. If possible ask her to make some beef for you, rich in iron very bu for you.

littlecat,
there's 5 pple at home. one 2yo tod that eats like n elephant, a 9mth bb, hb, me n maid. i usually cook a bit more so that i can pack them for lunch tmr. need time to ebm, so not much time left to go out for lunch.

sophie,
i got to take iron pills otherwise my gynae worried i will become anaemic. she thinks my 2 preg too near oredi (the kids r exactly 2yr apart) n i do confinement alone w/o help. didn't take much pu, only nutritional food, so these supplements help. oso ensure i eat lots of food to prevent constipation.

Re : breastfeeding
i always tell new mothers, breastfeeding is not easy. its either u dun have enuf milk n bb cry. u supplement wif FM, breast get engorged n need to pump or dun get stimulate enuf to supply bb's demand. or, bb fall asleep whenever u breastfeed n therefore not full n need to feed ever hourly. bb becomes an accessory u wear.. (stuck all the time) n no one can help u bcos u breastfeed.
and when u think everything has finally settled down.. u realise u can't wean the bb off u. or u can't give up bcos of the closeness only u n bb share.
then u realise u can't part with bb for long periods of time (like travel abroad)...

hi hi ladies...

berry,
u r welcome..

hairloss -
my hairloss hor.. seems quite bad leh, my hair is thinner than before preggy.. cos can see obviously my "fringe" area is balding leh... sianz... my mum trying to find out if "he shou wu" would help or not.. i remember u ladies chatting abt this a long time back??? anyone still remember how to cook this "herb"?? i'm still bf-ing, can take or not??? how about "shou3 wu1 jing1"?

annelise,
thanks for e compliment on our quan jia fu... hehehe.. bumper harvest for him ya.. but daddy & mummy "bleed to death" liaoz...

i'm only using "scrungee" to tie my hair at home leh.. not tight liaoz, stil like tat.. i'll go checkout e Neril shampoo...

annlee,
i look awful with short hair leh... but if my hair still dropping at this rate then i may hv to look ugly with short hair, rather than ugly with long but balding hair liaoz....

littlecat,
yupz correct... there's a Oct mummy who is 12weeks preggy liaoz, i think EDD is sept... salute her lor... i still too tired to "ahem"... hehehe...

ur didi very "powerful" leh... ur arms muz b very toned from carrying him liaoz rite???

sophie,
i got e t-shirt from a shop in Suntec.. e baby corner there leh... its e shop right at e end...
try to take ur iron pills lor.. i didnt take it right after delivery, until there was a period of time i felt dizzy all e time, prob due to low blood pressure.. so started taking n i havent got dizzy spells again.... now not preggy liaoz, wont b so easily constipated le...

B2,
u r absolutely right abt bf-ing... for me, i've got "less" obstacles as bb latch on well, i've got enough supply... but bb got breastmilk jaundice so got no choice but during e 1st mth got to supplement with FM too...
now still persisting with bf-ing altho super tired cos i simply love e latch on sessions... each time he smile at me while "biting" my nipple, its "OUCH".. but my heart melting lor....... i need to travel in a couple of mths time liaoz... dreading it cos its almost definitely will disrupt my bf-ing plans.....

starz,
your dd no teeth yet hah? If not kanna bite its killing!!! When my ds was first teething she bite I almost slap her cause her teeth very sharp! Another time she fell asleep and her jaw relax and kanna me again I immediately became wide awake (bleed ah).

Starz when I take supplement too heaty so I never take after I give birth.

Other mummies how do you all react to supplements?

annlee,
My mum says cannot take beef during confinement. Maybe it's different dialect group practice. Actually she wanted to make pig liver for me, but I told her not to, cos I read that it will reduce bm supply.

Today had a bad day - right nipple got a white thingy that looks like a blister. I think it's a sore nipple. So I latch baby only on left breast and pump right breast. The after pumping, cos I was carrying a crying baby that made me kan cheong, I split half of it. Almost wanted to cry on the spot then, but didn't *sigh*
Supply still don't seem enough so I fed baby her first formula feed. Hope baby won't reject latching and my bm after trying out fm!

starz,
Thanks for the shop info. I see whether can persuade dh to go Babycare Festival at Suntec this weekend, then can buy at the same time

For dizzy spells, if you are taking fenugreek, do be careful cos I read that it may lower blood sugar level, and an overly low blood sugar level can cause dizziness too.

Hee.... you planning for 2nd one issit? Then better start to ramp up your "ahem" activity!

B2, Nancy,
You girls reminded me! I do take supplements before preggie, so I may now resume with my usual multi-vit then

annlee,
Sorry for the late reply. Yes, Paramount Tung Lok also serves a-la-carte buffet but not sure if it's available during CNY...

As for Peach Garden, I have only tried the one at Novena Ville and the food is good. My friend told me she tried it both times at Thomson Plaza and was disappointed...

Littlecat,
Wow, your ds is really growing well!
Mine is 6.29kg at 3 months. I m planning for the 2nd one end of this year. You mean some of the Oct MTD are oredi preggie? That's real fast! ;p

Sophie,
Hang in there! When is your dd's first month celebration? Which caterer are you planning to get?

Hi Sophie,
Yah you bfing then better take supplement. Me heaty never take so ds drain all my storage supply.

starz,
my 2nd dd oso have jaudice and need hospitalisation. hers was due to blood group incompability. however i continue to give her BM. The jaundice took longer to clear but otherwise she is well.

Nancy,
aiyoh.. talking abt teething. Yah.. super painful when they bite, esp wif their bb teeth. dunno why so sharp. wat's worse, mine like to pinch me on my flesh n refuse to let go. that's y i say, breastfeeding is a painful yet rewarding process....

Krisjoy,
Wow!!! Your ds only 3mths predi 6.29kg.. Haiz.. all my kids have the same "weight" problem. The older 2yo one only weigh 13kg, the 9mth one 7kg. i was get very stress when i come to this forum n see the bb's weight here.

starz, yeah lor, pei fu her man, so fast PG again.

i ask my hb a month ago if want another baby, his reaction like almost 80% NO, esp when we hear feedback from teacher how D1 behave in school, he kind of worry if we can't cope once they are schooling and we start to stress over their study etc...

Then just this week i ask again, he said 'dun know leh...' looks like he would like to have another one, esp now it is really fun to play with the 4 months old baby.

If really want to plan have to be early cos the clock is ticking esp for me lah...

Krisjoy, that's good gap too. But for me, have to do it fast due to age issue leh.. also i heard the first 6 months after delivery very fertile right?

yeah lor i dun know why he put on so much.

B2, dun get stress over the weight issue, me lso worry if he become too fat later and when go t P1 got to join those special program in school.
Like my niece, she is fat since baby, now got to go excercise during lunch, then she get so hungry when she go back home eat like a pig.. dun know what is the point of having such program??
Don't they know they can't go without food when losing weight?

Sop, remember i call the consultant, she told me just make sure u latch her on more often the supply will increase.
Me stop BF after back to work, first was the supply really low, second i have some abnormal discharge went to see doctor, at first she give me some table to insert, which is safe for BF. Later the thing doesnt work so i request for the oral type and those can not BF. Since really not much supply at all so i stop BF.
I ask Doc is it infection, but she said could be the germs there not balance, accoridng to her there are 3 types of bacteria, if one grow too much and take over the rest will have such prob.
After taken the full course, the prob like still there leh.. sian.

Starz, yeah i do miss those time when i bf my boy.
It took me awhile to decide to stop it.

eh back to TTC (Trying To Conceive) issue, so got to take folic acid right? heard can just bought from Guardian?

good morning!!!!

LITTLECAT!!!
ARE U SERIOUS?!?!?! hehehehe.... TTC liaoz ar.. kudos to u leh...

yes u got to take folic acid.. its only $2+ for 50 or 100tablets from Guardian... n i also started taking preggy multi-vit (obimin) a month b4 i "strike"...
for me now ss still enough for him, today pump for tomorrow's feed... n i stil got lots of frozen BM in e freezer too.. so still persisting lor... very very tired ar... but..... cant bear to give up lor...

nancy,
hehe.. my boy havent reach 4mths yet.. so no teeth.. but he biting with his gum also abit pain...
i also feel heaty nowadays.. but i juz try to drink lots n lots of water lor.. now tat im not preggy n no need to worry abt water retention, i'm back to my usual "camel" self.. drink more than 4l of water a day...

sophie,
dont worry too much abt bb rejecting ur breast lah... most babies do take to both equally well.. mayb for a start get a teat that has a smaller hole, so tat bb still got to "use energy" to suck.. so that she wont find ur breast too "difficult" when she has to switch and wil cont to bf lor... i've been using NUK latex teat on ayden since day1.. use e small hole one until recently then switch to medium hole... so he's been taking bottle n breast equally well....
oh, i didnt know fenugreek will lower blood sugar... but recently im only taking it as and when i feel necessary, not regularly liaoz.. think my supply sort of "stablise" liaoz...
hahaha... im more interested in getting ENOUGH sleep for now... i wan another year-end baby.. so prob will TTC only early 2008...

B2,
mine e same, breastmilk jaundice can b caused by mum n baby having different blood group... but my PD tat time ask me to feed FM to reduce it faster.. so i listen lor.. cos 1st baby... blur blur lor...

starz, don't cut too short, for me is ard shoulder length to give more body but if your hair is not flat like me, then shld not be a prob.
Oh....so are you gg for a second one??

krisjoy, is ok...thanks for the infor!! You're busy packing for your new home soon?
Check with you, you have just purchase a diaper bag from the forum, have you receive it? If so, can it convert to backpack?

Littlecat, forgotten to tell you, your ds2 superboy man....saw his pic and look at his thigh, wah...my mum will call that piggy leg

B2, don't stress about your bb weight as long they're healthy, eating well...right

Nancy, for me I will feel very heaty on calcium tablet. My body is not heaty type but only get very heaty when having calcium tablet even though I drink lotsa water.

Question: where can i find low budget dinner dress ?
also is it better to loan or buy?
cos i hardly wear those dress and dun want to spend money and never wear later...

Hi LittleCat, wah, you're fantastic - planning for number 3 already! I'm pretty sure I'm stopping at 2 - my reserves are depleted already after 2 pgs of severe morning sickness which lasted right up to delivery! I think I'm the only person to lose 10 kg during pg

Btw, regarding the discharge, why don't you try going back to the gynae and ask her to do a swab and send it in for lab test for other types of bacteria - maybe you need antibiotics? The pessaries and oral medication usually works well if it is due to yeast. Btw, does your dinner dress need to be very formal? I bought a long floral Arthur Yen gown when it was on sale at Metro for $28. I'm not sure if there're any more stock though.

Hi Nancy, I have just approved 2 Yahoo membership requests - did you just send your request in? If not, pm me your email and I'll send you the invitation, ya?

Hi starz, try to slowly build up a supply for bm in the freezer since you have excess so that when you are overseas, he still has his supply of bm. When you're travelling, bring along a manual breast pump just to pump and keep your supply going. But I guess those you'll have to throw away.

Gotta go...need to feed the girls their lunch. Catch up with the rest of you in the afternoon!

Hi anyone of you wath the Channel 49 on cable and has the steamed logan cake recipe? I am interested in the recipe but missed some of the igredients. By the way anyone of you have any steamed cake recipe? I prefer steamed cake as its not so heaty (my ds quite heaty already).

Hi Annlee,
I heaty once I eat supplement. At first when I pregnant I was on the multi vit supplement, I was wondering why my urine so yellow and I get headaches and giddy (when I am 'overheated' I get them). Only when the chinese sinseh told me then I know. By the way I know this sinseh who's very good but very bad tempered (you just need to give him ang pow) but I find him too far away (pandan garden). After seeing hm he will give you a prescription and you jave to go buy the herbs yourself. I totally recommend (provided you can stand his eccentric temper).

annlee, hehe we call it the Lotus root leg.
I uploaded few more u can see his 'spare tyre'.

Annelise
when i was at the delivery ward i tell myself this will be the last.. when i was doing confinement i tell myself -heng ah, last round, when i heard him crying and i can't pacify him, i tell myself just 'tong' for awhile till he is bigger everything will be fine...

But later when you see him so cute responding to u, smiling to u etc... u just want to do it again to have another one and also be able to bf again...

starz, about toning my arm.. yestrday i carry him from the auntie's house, walk 1 level down, and take lift from 11 floor to 1st floor think less than 5 min, i feel my arm numb liao...

I ask my maid is it tiring to carry him? she said it is ok lah, cos she used to carry 50kg rice..

Now i know why the auntie keep complaining when she need to carry baby liao.. must be hand 'sen'..

nancy, your sinseh got character.
guess he is too heaty too.
btw 49 is what channel huh?
i only know 69 is the AFC.

Sophie and starz,
Sometimes I feel that its so troublsome to BF (sorry lah). Very inconvenient - say when you are in the car and there are other people with you, my ds like to suck and 'play' (turn around, change position etc.) so nursing wear cannot totally protect you. There was one stage she perpetually wants BF anywhere she go that's a difficult time.

But the closeness makeup for all those. My heart really melts...

So enjoy mummies who are still BFing, ENJOY THE PROCESS!

littlecat, for the dinner gown you might wanna try Isetan or Metro. Daniel Yam boutique at wisma. There's one at Bugis Junction level 1 opp body shop if not wrong and I find their evening dresses quite nice but if you prefer simple one then you shld skip this shop.

oh you're right....your ds leg really look like lotus root hehe... feel like biting them

Nancy, I got the same problem too...headache, giddy and urine is yellow after taken calcium tablet. But for multi-vit and iron I'm fine.

I went to this sinseh opp aljunied MRT station during my 1st preggie and he's weird and bad temper. About your sinseh, what is he good at??

Channel 49 cooking show is it host by a man?? Did not watch his cooking show since cny leh...