Cooking Tips & Recipe

lyn, I went to bintan early this year... very relaxing trip.
I'm going to phuket next year...although went there twice but still very excited.

sophie, thanks...but right now I'm not happy.... just quarrel with my hb... saw my FIL at my house downstair, wanted to call him but he's too far away and when chase after him, he's gone. So I told my hb about it and he blame me for not calling him...although is a small matter but don't know why I'm very angry with him for blaming me although is not my fault .... now he wanna patch back with me but I don't want...best of all, my ds1 side me so much and keep scolding my hb... what a lousy day for me...

cannot take pics of the nasi lemak liao, cause it's all in our tummies now! haha!

ok i will learn to make the sambal and then post the recipe here. i just know the ingredients are dry chili, onions, lemongrass, belachan (the dry round pinkish ones), tamarind paste, salt, sugar. but the proportion and how to make i don't know how. heehee...

annlee,
your prada story soooo funny leh! i burst out laughing when i read it!

HOLS:
me also not going for hols this year end, cause in june already went to paris with hubby. but next yr feb/mar me and hubby going to bangkok for our b'days, so gonna shop like mad.

Receipe
Ingredients
150g unsalted butter
120g icing sugar
150g cake flour
50g all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
3 eggs
1 canned blue berries

1. beat butter in mixing bowl, add icing sugar then beat till mixture is fluffy and pale yellow.
2.combine cake flour, all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder . shift into butter mixture and mix well.
3.beat 2 whole eggs and 1 egg yolk together. pour into the butter mixture over 4 times and stir well.
4. Toss in the Blueberries and stir well.
5. Pur mixture into greased paper cup till 80% full.
6. Bake at 170 deg for 18-20 mins

tks for the compliment, but hor my muffins got pigmentation . it seem the circle nearer to the cup more brown and the center raise unevenly and crack abit.

Lyn, i like veg soup. yours sound interesting and i will try some day. I ususally only put celery, carrot, onion and wolfberry.

Van, i like pepper lunch but dare not put too much sauces very salty i find.

Sophie, diaper pants is like those cover, just fold the nappy and wrapped withe cover. Yes it is abit hot . during confinement i took out the pants at times.

oh ya forget to say, today lunch we went to Shima at Goodwood Park . Very nice and to my surprise, the price reduce alot since i went there 2 yrs ago. Eat until cannot walk :p putting on weight again.

then we went shopping at suntec . trying to get thermal wear and my old ones are too old liao. Heard beijing is now 1 to -1 deg liao. OMG!!!

me also no holiday tis year. bb still young and me work like siao, so many deadlines , i dun even know i got time to njoy CNY or not.

hi ladies...

thank you to all of you for e advance birthday wishes... hehehe...
i'm e opposite of most of u all here leh, i'm romantic, but hubby is not.. i'd love to receive flowers on special occassions, but have only rcv 2 stems of roses from hb b4 - 1 for proposal, 1 for 1st anniversary.. even my hand-bouquet on ROM day was bought by myself...

starry,
yummy... ur muffins e colour juz nice, who say not pretty..
hope u had a good "belated" anniversary dinner wif ur hubby...
btw, can kaypoh ask u wat u work as??? u like very very bz all e time..

sophie,
very disappointed wif singaporeans rite..??? i felt e same way as u during my preggie time...
e maternity shots are okay... i'm not quite satisfied wif e make up n hair lor... but his photography skills r okay.. i free then put some of them onto our yahoo group to share okay...u got intention to take too???

hehehe... nowadays wif ayden, dont say go out lah.. even at home also got to "juggle" meal times.. cannot eat together liaoz... unless ayden is super co-operative...

choc,
y cannot bring didi go jalan?? put him in e pram.. only when time to feed then go nursing room lor... if not then pump out some milk so u can go out for awhile??
ayden is okay, growing bigger n more alert nowadays... bf ok.. but not enuf, i continue to supplement wif FM.. now trying fenugreek to see if can help increase supply or not...
no picture of ur HK jap rice???
enjoy ur penang trip!!!

Kris,
u bz with ur full-mth celebration preparation huh??? remember to drop by n let us know how it went leh... plus havent seen ur princess's photo yet leh..

lyn,
my pc e memory also not enuf at e rate i'm going.. thinking of getting an external harddisk once i'm more "mobile" liaoz... cannot help it leh.. i juz love taking photos of him now...

eh, u mention u also using e medela electric n it sucks ur whole nipple into e funnel.. i also using leh.. n found out tat e funnel is too small for me, cos very slow "output".. so i went to get a bigger funnel from "mom & babe" @ United Sq, n it works better.. mayb u can try???

so envious u all going holidays... e earliest i can go holiday is next year end... *haiz*....

starz,
i brought my dd for her 1st hols when she was only 4.5mths old leh! we went to Sunway Lagoon Resort in KL and drove all the way up there and back. went with hubby, my mum, dad, sis, and BIL. then when my dd was 11.5mths old we went to melbourne for hols, to attend my sis' wedding. i find when they are bb seems easier to bring for hols, cause easier to feed and they are not so mobile, so easier to handle. our trip to melbourne was very enjoyable, but SOOOO tiring for hubby and me. after that trip we swore not to bring my dd for anymore hols until she is 3yrs old! haha!!

annlee,
Don't get upset on your birthday! Your hubby don't mean anything - maybe he is just afraid that your FIL may have seen you and then say you never call him... you know lah, old pple can sometimes pick on nothing, although I think FILs are easier to handle than MILs in general!
Think of it this way - it's a small matter which your hubby let slip of tongue, so don't waste your energy getting upset over it OK?
Hope you would have patched back with your hubby by now!

I remember getting this story on an email and I love it - it's about a boy who is very bad tempered.
One day his father tells him to hammer a nail each day into a wooden fence.
When the fence was full, he asked the boy to take out the nails.
Then he asked the boy what he saw. The boy answered "A lot of holes where I hammered the nails in."
And the father told him "That's how pple's heart feel when you are bad tempered and says nasty things to them. Once the words are said out, they are already hurt even if you say sorry afterwards. So try to control your temper and think before you speak."

Heee... maybe when your dh cools down, can "subtlely" send him this email to hint to him not to be so quick in saying things next time!

Lani,
Nasi lemak so fast all in stomach liao? Must be really good!
OK, we'll wait for pics next time + recipes

Van, twinkle,
Thanks for info on diaper pants! Think I may stick to the safer plastic safety clips then -> cheaper!

lyn,
Eh, I don't know if diaper pants are bumwear? It looks something like this:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/599441.html?1165544637

I also like sunflowers and gerberras!
They're my favourite flowers! Makes me happy too... I remember seeing a field full of sunflowers in Italy... I felt like I was in heaven!

starz,
Haha, it's OK... my bouquet for ROM was also gotten after much hard work... I had to tell hubby "Eh, I jokingly said don't want flowers, really no flowers?"
Then he bought it that morning itself.
Heee... not to mention he realised he didn't have a proper shirt and bought it only that morning too, cos we spent the previous week holidaying through Melaka and KL, then totally bochap ROM!

Yep, I was wondering whether to take the maternity shots... a bit expensive! I'd much prefer to spend the money on a nice handbag

I took some shots myself at home, but the effect is not really the same

Aiyoh, I think really not easy with a kid... I am now already a bit nervous about delivery and then motherhood... got lots to learn from you gals... thank God for this forum!

Don't be envious about the holidays esp. if you have not enough leave etc cos need to save your leave for those "emergency days" too. It'll be your turn soon! Plus time passes so quickly with a kid that you wouldn't even have noticed 1 year has passed!

OK gals,
Have a great weekend ahead!

I am happy cos we'll have Universal Studios in Singapore by 2010!
Can bring our babies there!

sunsweet,
happy belated birthday! how did u celebrate yesterday?

lani,
weekend we bring bb out for half day shopping, come home I already very very tired, can't imagine travelling, everyday on the move, wah, I cannot tahan...

sophie, choc,
thanks for explaining tempeh! got chance must try...

sophie,
nice handbag u can get anytime, but preggie photos is different, let's say this time u skip, next pregnancy u take it, but it'll be later on, u'll be older too, think abt it... take now lah, don't think anymore, heeheehee...

starz,
I just love to read yr posting, yr words so cute and the emoticons also, hee. yalor, got bb already, really not much chance to eat together with hb!

starry,
thanks for the recipe!

annlee,
make yr hb take u out and give u a nice treat this weekend, heh...

lyn,
oh, 17 Dec, aiya, like that the timing a bit tight... we'll be leaving Penang after breakfast becoz need to meet up with friends for get-together in KL at 6.30pm.

van,
wish u lots of <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">GOOD LUCK</font></font> and hope u can get your tickets to Japan!!!

choc,
ok wat, go Penang to pig out is "normal", I've done it few times already, wuahaha...

I m back home!! Will post my princess photos in our Yahoo's website and will all of u know once done ;p

So excited to see all the nice pics of food and cakes
Will definitely bake something in Jan when I handover my baby to baby sitter...

Sophie,
I do not have cravings after confinement cos still can't fit into all the old skirts and pants
So need to lose weight and dare not eat too much.

Btw, congrats to you!! Are you happy that your baby is a princess? Will spend a lot of money on all the sweet clothings

Starz,
Glad to hear that you are coping very well with Ayden. Who is taking care of him once you are back to work?

Starz,
Can I check with you on diapers? What brand are u using for Ayden now? Do u need to change him in the middle of the nite? Is there any brand and type that we can use that can last the whole nite? Cos my bb sometimes sleep through the nite and by morning she is leaking. But I do not want to wake her up to change in the middle of the nite since she is sleeping so soundly...

Good morning gals!

Krisjoy,
I saw your little girl - lovely hair and very sexy pouty lips!

Do you think she looks more like your hubby or you?

The Hello Kitties on the cake are cute too! Edible or not? If it's not the edible type, I'd probably clean and keep them in a box to give my little girl next time!
Where did you order the cake from?

Did you shave her hair at one month?

Don't worry about losing the weight... looking after the baby during this maternity leave period should help lose some, then can take baby out for walks and exercise a bit too. But I think that confinement food can be quite "fatty", like the pig's trotters, so good thing your confinement is over now!

Yep, very happy that baby is a girl. In fact, hubby was telling me he was secretly hoping for a girl cos he is afraid a boy will turn out to be very naughty like him, then he wouldn't know how to control the kid.

But my MIL seems to want a boy, cos when hubby happily told her it's confirmed a girl, she told him "it's OK, boy or girl is the same" (???) which made my hubby a bit confused as to why she said that.
So I think what she said is reflective of her own feelings, esp. when I told her my sis' baby is a boy, she was ooh-ing and ahh-ing over the baby boy

Heee, cos I was watching TV when she was ooh-ing and aah-ing, I just kept quiet over the phone and then she quickly said "Actually, boy or girl is the same."
Hmmm.... hope I can tahan her in my home during my one month confinement!

sophie, thanks for your console and that little boy story....I'm not angry already...is nice to know someone like you...tot noone will respond when I vent my anger here,abit regett after sending the message here hee....

krisjoy, will view your princess later....

So what's cooking tonight? My maid is making bee hoon kway, if is nice will let you'll know about it.

krisjoy, saw your baby's photo, wow so cute!
she looks so alert!
I am using Huggies diapers,size M, quite good, can last 5-6 hours sometime.
So i use less of the cloth diapers now. Anyway if using cloth diaper got to wash using water and powder, can be more costly at the end.

yesterday went IMM, first time with baby. aiyoh thought he will sleep when push him with stroller, but he cry leh.. later finaly he sleep already and i thot i can go shopping liao, but later he cry again cos he wake up can't find the pacifier.. jia lat! Later got to get maid to carry then he can sleep.
I find i so useless leh.. cos everytime he cry i can't soothe him, have to let the maid do it... :'( :'(

Enjoy your trip for those going holiday!

Sohpie/Lyn, i bought the small pack of multi grain from NTUC liao.. how do u cook normally?

sophie, abt the boy/girl thing, dun care what they say, important is how u two feel.

Annlee, next time dun tell him lah.. if he dun know wont say such thing to irritate u..

sophie, my MIL also want a boy but I prefer a girl hee... both are equally good lah...our fresh and blood mah....

Is it possible not to get your MIL involve with your confinement? Because I read about your MIL, think your confinement will be a good one without her around in your house. But if you got difficulties, then got to close one eye.

ok littlecat, next time dun tell him

Happy Birthday to all the Dec Birthday Boys and Girls!
So many dec babies.
heee... maybe many public holidays in Feb to facilitate production ;)

Van,
can't wait for yr chunky peanut butter cookies photos and recipes.

I also don't know what happened to the braised peanuts, and there's still a lot of water after braising. My dh asked if I am cooking black coloured peanut soup.
Initially i thought my tiger thermal pot spoilt, very sim tia. So tried making porridge and luckily porridge turns out to be fine.

Sophie,
getting very excited for u!
So nice, can get all the pinky stuff, nice hairbands, dresses, tops, skirts, bikinis, socks, towels etc etc

SY,
must be so 'bu she de' when u weaned baby off latching.
I am half hearted now, worried i will be the one getting withdrawal syptoms and begging my baby to 'please latch please latch'.

Lyn,
I have not wean baby off completely. Still latching at night, that's why asking all the experience moms where what to do.
For day time, in order to prepare for back to work, starting fm 2nd month I started to reduced no. of latching, fm 8 to 7, to 6 etc.
When i started work, only pump once in the morning before going to work and once in the after baby sleep.
Now only latch in the evening and during the night, no more pumping. I do not have lots of supply, so was lucky and do not have bad engorment.
So upset, brought some overseas biz associate out for dinner. Have not seen them for 2 years, and when they saw me, asked me why i am still so fat now.
ai yo.. me so depressed, must quickly do something abt it.

Will pm u for the details on 5day slimmping progamme. But can bf while doing the 5 days slimming programme?

Choc,
My pui pui monster going on diet i think.
He refused to drink milk during the day. Very day without failed while looking through the record sheets fm maid, will shake my head.
Baby only drinking 280ml each day fm 730am to 730pm, with one cereal feed.
Maybe he's decided to slow down his weight gain or he's simply drinking too much during the night while latching on and have got enough reserve to last him throughout the day so can be on strike.
My baby also like didi when I was still on maternity leave. After all the carrying by friends and family memebers during weekend, monday and tueday will be nightmare for me. After going back to work and baby taken care of my by mil and maid, its constant nightmare now. Cos my mil can carry him fm the time i leave for work till i come back, even carrying him to sleep. I protested, but no use.

Sophie,
hmm.. maybe u are not big enough for others to know that u are pregnant?
Think on the positive side, u sure can tahan yr mil.
Worse case scenario, yr dh will be on yr side and will tell yr mil whatever u don't like or can ask her to leave.
Just don't think too much okie.

Lani,
which uni in melbourne did u go to?
i was studying in melbourne also miss it heaps!

SP and Choc,
Help me eat more penang laksa and char hway tiao plsssss.

Littlecat,
maybe yr auntie and yr maid can help u care for yr ds. U and husband can have a romantic evening
Don't worry abt unable to sooth yr baby. Probably u will prefer u to play with him.
Am sure it will get better and u will want to bring him out more often.

Annlee,
don't be angry anymore okie. Its heartwarming to know yr ds1 sayang u so much.

Krisjoy,
Yr baby is so cute! she looks serene as well.

Sophie and Littlecat, thanks for the compliments. My baby's eyes take after my hubby and her nose and mouth take after me...My MIL and mom say my baby got boy look leh..Hope she will be more girl-like when she grows up ;p

Sophie,
The Hello Kitties are non-edible. We have cleaned them so that can put in baby's room next time. They cost $1 per piece. I ordered the cake from Pine Garden in Ang Mo Kio, lychee martini flavour. Service is good but I find their black florest cake is still better...

I've yet to shave baby's hair cos very lazy to bring her to the hair salon leh..hehehe..

I think most elderly people would prefer boy. Cos when I told them mine is a girl, they would say that first child girl is better. This would mean that after that they prefer boy...

Littlecat,
What a coincidence! I also brought my bb to IMM on Sat and this is her first outing with us
Then I brought her to Causeway Point yesterday and she slept through the whole trip cos I tink the aircon made it very conducive for her to sleep ;p I also started her on Dryers small size cos it is cheaper than Pampers ;p Btw, do u know if Fitties is good? I saw that they have the overnight diapers but am wondering if it makes any difference...

SP,
Thanks for your <font size="+2">big</font> <font color="ff0000">red</font> <font color="ff0000">GOOD LUCK</font> wish.Red is supposed to be my lucky color, since my Ba Zhi is weak fire.
610064.gif
.Unfortunately, still no good news yet. Hb tried to convert our redemption to Econcomy ticket, but the SQ's CSO said Economy is not given priority over Economy saver.
610065.gif
,so may b really no luck to go Tokyo this month,and worse, hb's confirmed going, so he won't be celebrating dd's birthday with her.

cookiemonster,
Haven't got time to try out the chunky peanut butter cookies yet.

I have been using small thermal pot to braise peanut.Next time, I'll try using the TIGER 5.2L,with the smaller 3L inner pot, and see how's the result, then let you know if it turns into black peanut soup.(your ang is very funny!)
610066.gif

Krisjoy,
Saw you gal's photo.She is very sweet,doesn't look boyish at all!

My girls looks very boyish, and look very much like her dad when she was a baby,then people keep consoling me, don't worry,girls change a lot when they grow up. Nu Da Shi Ba Bian.Now nobody says she look like boy liaoz.

I find that Pampers Premium is still the best for overnight wear. I remember I used cheaper brands of diapers for dd's day wear, and reserve Pampers Premium for overnight and outings,to save some money.

annlee,
agree with Littlecat, next time similar thing happen, don't bother to tell then save some trouble. My hb is also like that, so friends and relatives have been telling me, don't tell him about this or that, then don't have to see him so kan cheong ...

Ambrosial,
I was about to ask about you.Haven't seen you for many days.

zzzcookiemonster
tell u something funny. on sun i tried to latch my boy on and he gave me a funny stare...sigh, he forgot how to latch already. in fact, he touched my nipple and reject liao..sob sob but it was a funny reaction.

sophie,
hmm, MIL usually will wan boy. last time my MIL very obvious. cos my hb wanted a gal more, my MIL said boy better than no need to worry and keep saying my hb mad for wanting a boy. but now i think having gal first better. i feel boys are naughtier and makes us think twice abt having the next kid!

sophie,
i din use diaper pants cos i find them thick and scared hot. i used pampers premium for first 2-3 months then i switched to nepia.

Sophie,

Bumwear is the one that u need to insert the so call nappy into it. i din buy tat one bcos i still not convinced. The diaper cover or so call pant is thin but the material could be abit hot if yr bb is scare of warm. tonight i go home and try to upload his photos with his diapers cover. Hahaha

Starz, me in business transformation. Busy with projects lor. I want to change job leh missing my son so much . travelling again when now he very manja w me.

We went for advance anniversary celebration cos actual day is this friday as i will be in Beijing liao. hb quite upset as it is the 1st anniversary w a bb

cookiemonster, so qiao! i also fm one of the Melbourne uni.

zzzcookiemonster,
both hubby and i studied in Monash. i was there 1995-1997. really mis it too!! but i dont miss the weather lah!! haha! actually we went back in feb this year, with my dd, to attend my sis' wedding. it was nice bringing her there...

annlee,
Don't worry about telling us here... we're here to console each other when we're down!
LittleCat's strategy is also good - what he wouldn't know would not upset him, so next time can choose not to tell too!

Tonight I think not cooking - got a mild case of food poisoning just now... stomach so pain I thought I was going to give birth. Then when I started to retch and vomit, then realised I probably ate something wrong. Checked then realised my Nutrisoy soy milk expiring today! So maybe stomach sensitive to that.

As for my MIL, cannot "un-involve" her leh, cos she already made up her mind to join us for the 1-mth confinement. But hubby says if I don't want to follow any of her wishes, just tell him and he will tell her, cos he think I am not insistent enough for his mum!

LittleCat,
You're not useless! Never think of yourself that way!!!
The fact that you carried the baby in your tummy for 9 mths + labour and delivery is already a testimonial of your strength!
Plus remember you had to suffer all the side effects like constipation, swollen feet, piles etc... I think even men can't do it, so don't put yourself down just cos baby wants to cry.

For the multi-grain rice, I normally use it in porridge only, cos I tried cooking it as rice... very hard and not so nice leh.
For porridge, I also find Greenmax brand not "starchy" enough, so I add in some Jap white rice to make it more gluey like porridge.
I don't normally put anything other than sweet potato in it, cos I mostly eat my porridge the Teochew style with dishes.

cookiemonster,
Hahahaha.... I like your theory of Dec babies!

Eh, actually my tummy is round enough for other to see liao... plus my T-shirt tops are tight kind, so can see a little round "balloon"
I think some Singaporeans are just not nice lah... my aunt-in-law says that day a young chap fought with her for a seat in the bus! She was walking towards the seat and this young guy quickly walk past her on the narrow bus aisle and sat down quickly then started to close his eyes and pretend to sleep! And my aunt-in-law is 60+ with white hair liao!

Yep, I'm lucky hubby is on my side...
Oh no, pui pui on food strike again? But I think as long as the baby is growing healthily should be OK?

Krisjoy,
Don't worry about her looking like boy boy! I look TOTALLY like a boy when young... really! Plus my mum either has me topless (cos I get heat rash easily), or I am in boy-looking clothes/shorts/dungarees. In fact, there isn't any pictures of me in a dress or skirt!
But now still feminine-looking lah

Hey, my grandma also said the same thing! She said first kid girl good so next time can look after didi!

Ah, Pine Garden cake shop! I was just there last night!
Bought assorted slices of cakes to try and verdict is:
- Black forest: Very good, cake is moist and cherries soaked in cherry wine.
- Raspberry choc cake: So-so; I find raspberry topping a bit too sweet.
- Lava Flow: Supposed to be the Lana type of cake, but cake too dense and dry, although the chocolate used is imported German ones and quite good. Cannot even come close to Choc-a-Bloc or Awfully Chocolate. I'll have to go buy a Lana one someday for old times' sake

- Lychee Martini: My hubby said not bad, sponge cake is nice and soft, altho he said cannot taste any alcohol/martini. I didn't dare to try cos of the alcohol.
- Ikea Cheesecake: Fantastic, even for me who is not a big fan of cheesecake. Bottom crust is thick and tasty while cheese is not too dense with tangy flavour. They make in bulk for Ikea, that's why they call it Ikea Cafe Cheesecake.

Still got a Triple Choc slice and Orange Zest slice in my fridge to try tonight!

Ambrosial,
Yep, baby confirmed a girl

Hey, how's your sewing getting along? Sewn anything for Sally?

SY,
Your boy forgot how to latch? How long hasn't he been latching?

Hey gals,
Thanks again for the extra info on bumwear and diaper pants!
Van showed me some safer plastic safety pins, so I may stick to those - cheaper, plus all you girls' reviews on those pants are "hot" and "thick", plus I saw th elastic band, scared that part may irritate baby if baby got fat thighs!

Hello gals !

Hey soph, the diapers are quite ex leh ! You want to try out the velcro kind where you place the cloth diapers in it Haven't tried the diaper pants before .. how to use huh ?

Don't worry too much about your delivery.. the ladies and aunty here will gladly give you advice.. Keep yourself happy now and you'll have a happy bb.. I realise that for the 3 preganancies..

What's flaxmeal ?
Recently I bought a few small pots of orchirds.. still trying to see if my fingers are green.. my mint plant just matied.. My limau purut plant is thriving

Hey van, I used jap calrose rice.. I should have added some seaweed and some other liao to make the rice more tasty ..

Hey twinkle, thanks for the muffin recipe.

Eh starz, I am very scared to push the pram up the escalator .. used to be able to do it but have phobia now.. you coping ok ? Have u gone back to work ?

Hey cookie, maybe pui pui will take some time to get use to it.. I know that kind of sim tia feeling u have

don't care about what others say .. I kena from my ang's uncle a few times, asking why I so pui aft giving birth! Very upset, but when I lose wt, they don't say anything.. sigh ! I love melbourne too.. the devonshire tea !!

Eh cat, don't say yourself useless hor .. When my sis carries didi, he sleeps very well, but not so for me ! Is your maid fleshy ?

You can soak the muti grain for an hr first.. I usually put peanuts, soy beans and white bait, carrots and pork ribs in it..

sophie, wow u can take over seetoh (makansutra) liao! sample so much cake at one go?? could it be the cause of the stomach upset?
hope u r feeling better, dun anyhow eat hor...
thx, i will try not to think that way.. sometime really upset leh, see him cry so terrible. but the louder he cry make me more kan cheong then more difficult for me to soothe him.. so i got to leave it to the maid.
I think he will learnt Indonesian better than chinese/english liao...

cookie, i sometime run away from him :p esp when he is awake and the amplifier going to start...bad mommy!
About the romantic dinner, now got 2, so must make sure both being taken care of. Then i very jia lat one, once they are not around me i will miss them, i will properly rush my hb to eat fast and go home fast...:p

krisjoy, may be from my house to IMM too near, can't rock him to sleep yet.
I heard feedback from frient Fitti not good leh, anyway I never try this brand b4.
R u using Drypers ? cos u put "Dryers"?
if is Drypers i find it very rough leh.. i got few from the gift hampers,one touch u know it is very rough..

Btw is the Pampers premium different from pampers newborn ? cos initially i use pampers newborn, can not last whole nite leh.. may be the Premium one can ?
At least Huggies can last me 5-6 hours, somemore so much cheaper than the pampers newborn.

aiyoh amplifier start liao chat later...

Choc,
You're very cheeky, asking LittleCat if her maid is fleshy?!

But I know what you mean - my nephew don't like me to carry him, cos very I'm bony on the arms and elbows, not as comfy and fleshy as his grandma

For diaper pants, my friend says just wrap cloth diaper on baby, then quickly pull up pants which hold the cloth diapers, so no need safety pins.

Your place got morning sunlgith right? By right, your mint should thrive leh. Not enough water? My friend's mint look like going to mati, then she put in a lot of water, and under the morning sun, it bloomed very well!
Don't think I can even keep my houseplants for long liao - my cats decided that my airplant is quite yummy and trimmed it for me... now it's quite botak!

Flaxmeal are ground flaxseeds... flaxseeds look like brown sesame seeds, has Omega-3 altho some says it's not as readily absorbed as Omega-3 in fish oil. It's a good source of fibre too, and in wikipedia here, it says it's a "galactagogue" (A galactagogue is a substance, typically a herb, that increases lactation).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flax

My friend tried it and said can feel her breasts engorging after having not been engorged for a long while, cos her baby on growth spurt and she needed to supplement her bm with fm.

If you're going to eat flaxmeal, better to buy the seeds and then grind it yourself in a grinder/blender, then put in jar and keep in fridge. Cos ground flax loses its nutrients after getting exposed to light, so buying the ground ones/flaxmeal not so good unless it's packed in opaque plastic bag. Seed form also cheaper than ground ones. Hubby's friends say it taste like sawdust

Hi Sophie,

I am using both diaper covers and bumwear. U are refering to those plastic covers with velcro but inside still need to use muslim cloth type? I used that for my gal since she is born till abt 6 months. I think its not very hot(I used pigeon brand) for babies cos its the cloth that touch the bum bum. The covers prevents urine from the diapers from touching the bed covers. Only thing is that it stinks after a few changes. Also once ur gal puts on wt n legs fat fat, the velcro will leave reddish marks.

After 6 months I am using bumwear diapers. I find that its not v suitable for babies with thin legs. Uring tends to flow from leg hole the first few months of using even though my gal is quite 'pui' then. I had to change T shirts a few times cos urine dribbled onto my shirts while I carried my gal. The prob seems to go away as my gal grows bigger. Now I am also using their diaper pants which I find is the best, no dribble and easy to wear when u need to quickly change a struggling toddler. I can even change her while she is standing. Now trying to toilet train her so that I can let her wear panties...so many cute ones out there hehehe.

Can I check if the plastic pins are those by snappi?
610432.jpg
I was quite keen on them but din find them at the malls.

At nite I will use disposables. Used to use mamy poko but now using nepia cos its cheaper and they do delivery.

cupcake,
Woah, thanks for the detailed review!
The diaper covers stinks? But can wash right?

For the safety clips in the pic, yep, I was referring to this - can find at Kiddy Palace. Van actually told me about it and I checked it out last weekend. I think $6.90 for 3 pcs. It uses a "fork" method i.e. the underneath of the 3 points has fork-like contraptions which "grabs" the cloth diaper tight.

Then Kiddy Palace also sells another kind that looks more like the kind of clips that your hanger has to hold skirts... that one is 2 for $3.90 I think. But I didn't like this kind cos I thought some part of the plastic may be in contact with baby's skin and cause irritation.

sophie,

Maybe my nose sensitive to urine smell cos the cover supposed to use for a few changes before u need to wash them but if my gal had a major urine output, I find that i need to wash immediately becos of the smell. Even for bumwear diapers, I will wash the cover once she urine even though they say u can juz change the inserts.

If I use the fastener for my next baby, I would have to learn a new method of folding diaper cos my method does not allow me to use the pins.

sophie
my boy stopped latching for about a month. he was never good at latching in the first place. i total express in the first few months and only started to latch him more often when he was abt 5 months. then he couldn't let go of my breasts and needed to latch to sleep. but when i fell sick, i cut off latching and now he refuse to latch

little cat,
dun be too sad if u can't be the one to carry your bb to sleep .last time my bb also prefer maid. try to spend more time with your bb. things will improve.

littlecat
pampers premium same as the pampers for newborn. my boy can use one for the whole night. even nepia also ok. only know when he's older and drinks more milk, mamy poko also not enough.

Van, Littlecat and SY,
I also used Pampers newborn and it can't the whole nite leh...can only last about 6 hours. Hmm, maybe I can take Van's suggestion to use it at night..

Sophie,
I agree with your hubby. We can hardly taste the martini so that is why I still prefer the black forest cake. Can really taste the alcohol in the cherries and the cake is soft ;p

Btw, how many months are you now and what is your weight?

LittleCat,
I don't want to take over Seetoh leh... haha, especially his size!
I didn't really eat up all the cakes - just had 2 small forkfuls per slice, so overall not that much cos this "pseudo food reviewer" still wanna maintain her size

Don't think it's the cakes that caused the tummy uspet, cos this morning when I woke up was still OK. My stomach's reaction very fast one... so I think it's the soon-to-be expired soymilk which I didn't notice!

Eh, must let your son learn Chinese, esp. from you cos your Chinese quite "powderful"!
China will be next big economy... hehe, not Indonesia in the near future... no point learning Bahasa Indo!

Krisjoy,
I'm at 29 weeks now - think I put on 7kg so far, but tummy is definitely big and round and obvious

SY,
You not bad leh! Total express can still do so many months, cos I read that total express does not tell the brain to release the hormones for lactation so effectively compared to latching, so sometimes milk supply will dry up, like my sis'.

twinkle,
Thanks for the pic of the diaper cover!
Don't think I've seen this in the shops, cos I never saw any velcro thingy like that.
Effective or not? Roughly how much does one pc cost?

Eh, your boy is "pretty" hor?
He's got very nice skin and bright eyes!

hi ladies...

wah, me weekend very bz.. saturday went to hubby's fren ROM, then vivocity.. super shagged out by e end of e day...

then sunday hubby got "recovery time" (i.e. sleep) but i dont hv, got to look after ayden whole day.. abit upset wif hubby too... but bo pianz.. he working i'm not... he never even realise tat i'm upset... see lah.... *haiz*..
annlee, men r abit insenstive... (actually, make that very insensitive).. cant change liaoz...

Lani,
hehe.. my mentality abit like sp.. bring bb out for e weekend already so tiring.. bring them go hols, they dont know wats happening yet, plus its no longer a relaxing hols for us... i rather not go lor...

sophie,
hehe.. at least in e end u got ur bouquet... my hb already knew tat i was buying it for myself (cos i wanted white n pink tulips, got to pre-order).. alo no action...
kao_angry.gif

abt maternity photos... reli, e ones u take at home are not e same.. but if u r happy with those, then save e money... for me, i wld stil take maternity photos for my 2nd kid.. cos 1stly, its not fair tat ayden got n e 2nd kid dont hv.. 2ndly, nobody take photos for me on a regular basis.. 3rdly, i put on too much weight n look quite "horrible" towards e end.. so with a pro, at least they do e "packaging" for me mah...

dont worry abt delivery or motherhood.. u'll learn everything along e way.. im still learning... but if u free, can borrow tis book "what to expect: the first year" frm library to read.. im reading it now...

sp,
hehe.. thanks..

krisjoy,
finally got to see ur princess's photos... not boyish at all.. so pretty...
my mum wil be taking care of ayden when i go back to work.. now already "practising".. sometimes at hm whole day i dont go near ayden n let my mum take care... but always very "she bu de".. n scared he will stick to my mum more than me next time... petty hor, my own mum also jealous... *haiz*...

abt diapers, i'm still using e pampers cotton care for newborn.. i tried a few other brands liaoz, all cannot 'take' ayden's bomb..
ur girl so good ar.. never wake up for night feed one ar??? i tot ayden already very guai only wake up once, but ur girl even better leh.. usually i juz change ayden once in e nite, after his night feed lor...
talkng abt weight ar... how much weight u gain in total n now left how much to go??? my weight drop quite fast leh... but e inches are not reducing fast enuf...

sorry, hubby back liaoz, gotto go... "chat" again.. nitez nitez..

starz,
hee...actually hor, when my dd went to sunway lagoon at 4.5mths she was already FULLY aware that she was on hols! for one, she knew she was in a different place and environment, and she was excited by it, that every night she would refuse to go to bed! then end up we always have to switch off the room lights completely so that she would fall asleep! every night she would only sleep at ard 11pm (her usualy bedtime was 9pm)! and she REALLY enjoyed herself so much there!

and then the melbourne trip - wah that one don't say lah!! she was almost 1yr old then, and i know she enjoyed herself probably 100x more than she did at the sunway lagoon hols! even the plane rides she loved soooo much! refused to sleep, only wanted to play with other passengers or watch movies, then end up she only slept ard 2-3hrs on the flight (it was a night flight some more). needless to say, throughout our stay there for that 2 weeks, she only went to bed past midnight...

Good morning gals!

starz,
What do you think of Vivocity? Think it can make it or not?
Heh, my hubby used to stay around Telok Blangah area, and he said WTC area got bad fengshui... no matter how many times they change hands, it still somehow don't make it.
But I told him I think this time can leh... cos also got Harbourfront next door, plus Vivo is quite like an American mall or like the big KL megamalls that Singaporeans like to go to, then got MRT straight there somemore
Then next time got casino.

Good to know your weight is going down fast! For the inches, probably even some light stretching like yoga will help to tone and cut the inches faster?

For the photos, yep, after what sp and you said, I think I will consider it carefully

Ambrosial,
Heh, maybe if I really become a SAHM for 2 to 3 years, can make clothes for baby too!
Wow, curtains will be quite fun to make. Just let you know, if you want it less hot for your room, there is a kind cloth that you iron onto the outside of the curtain. It's just white and cannot be seen from the inside at all. My MIL made it years ago for 1 of her rooms which has morning sun. She said she bought it from Spotlight.
Can wait till Xmas or post-Xmas sales, then see if Spotlight got any bargains for anything.

krisjoy/starz, aiyoh ur babies so guai! my baby still follow the 3 hours interval at nite so u can imagine, hv to wake up to feed at least twice. Plus he will make some noise at nite so u got to keep waking up to check.. sometime want to burp again lah, sometime hot lah etc..

sophie/choc, aiya-ya, u gals r right, cos she is not those skinny type plus she is busty type.. no wonder lah!

sophie, btw the (qiao-mai) is soba, u know right?

i am using the 3 points plastic pin too when using cloth diapers. Then when i breastfeed him will wrape with the diaper cover with velco, same as twinkle-stary.
twinkle-starry, how many months is your baby now?

SY, i find the pampers newborn can not hold as much as the Huggies leh.

starz, but at least is your own mother, but mine prefer maid leh...
eh u mean u bring your baby to attend the ROM then go vivocity also? u solid leh!

Heard from the teacher my ds1 beat two boys in the child card, buay tahan!
I ask him why ? he said the two naughty lor.. alamak.. i thot he more naughty!

LittleCat,
Haha, Choc is right! It's cos you are skinny lah... remember I thought you were quite lanky from your pic? Babies sure find our bones and skin uncomfortable

Yep, I know soba is made from buckwheat (qiao mai). That reminds me... think I'll add some buckwheat to my porridge tonight.

Is the 3-point plastic pin strong enough to hold? It looks like if the nappy gathers inwards, the pin would drop off, cos it needs the cloth to be pulled taut in order for the fork to hold right?
I'll go check out the velcro at Kiddy Palace J8 later.

Eh, your ds1 very "righteous" hor?

Hehe, I cannot comment on it too much cos I also quarrelled with my teacher when in kindergarten last time! And insisted to my grandma I did nothing wrong

Hi everyone. After a crazy week of baking and washing up - I'm gonna take a break from baking for the rest of the week. Next one coming up is FIL's bday on 19 Dec - will be baking e Jap cheesecake for him cos' he hasn't tried tt yet.

I'll just post up e pics of e wedding cupcakes and my nephew's first bday cake which we had last night. We catered from Glory - e chicken satay and beef rendang were fantastic! Burbur chacha my ang can cook better - but it's quite nice also lah. Forgot to take pic of e buffet spread - will check if my sis did. Will catch up w all e posts later - I've got loads of housework to do!

Will post e recipes later - sorry for e delay!

611350.jpg

611361.jpg

Thanks Van for your deco ideas
I bought e ribbon from Ikea - e cake boards from PH and e styrofoam cubes from my mil's new DVD player box (wrapped in aluminium foil)

611425.gif
.Your cakes are SOOOOOOOOO Pretty! Professional Standard! The 1st Birthdaycake is prettier than store bought one! Did you use a No.1 cake pan or cut-out from rectangular pan? Those pastel color deco, are they marshmallow or cream?

The cupcakes deco also very nice! So creative to use the silver color cake board,instead of the white platsic types,and wrapping the styrofoam cubes with aluminium foil! Really very very pei-fu!
611426.gif

hey, you can start compiling photos of all your projects, and start taking orders liaoz!

Annelise,
Your cakes are gorgeous! Can sell liao lah!
I love combination of the white frosting of the cupcakes together with the silver color of the props! Very snow-white fairy-tale wedding!

Twinkle, LittleCat,
I checked out the velcro diaper cover just now - Pigeon ones not that expensive at $8.10/pc, and the material seems breathable but only comes in smallest M size.
Will wait for any post-Xmas sale, see if got additional 20% off then buy

Kakis,
My Tokyo trip is finally confirmed.
611450.gif
Now busy checking on the hotel.Since there will be 2 days I will be hanging around Tokyo alone with dd while hb's at work, need to find a very convenient hotel

Thanks to all who wished me GOOD LUCK in getting the flight confirmed!
611451.gif

Sophie,
I have a few pieces of those velcro nappy cover, and they are all very new and mostly in pink,think the most only used once or twice,cos I don't really like to use them.

Withought digging from the top shevles of wardrobe, I already found 3pcs. 2 Pink,towel type material, Size M. One Brand New, Pink,Size S,water-proof type material.

I'll see if I can find more.

Annelise,

yr cakes so so so so nice leh. I like both

the cupcake look very class with the deco theme. hmmm do u take orders?

Littlecat,
my boy is 7.5 mths liao.

Sophie,
i bought the diaper cover fm Cheng choon , the one in Chinatown. i think it cost abt $3 or less. sorry ya i forget liao , very forgetful these days

Van,
Yay!!! Glad to hear that your Tokyo trip is confirmed!!!
Wish you a pleasant journey and I am sure you will have a great time there!

Thanks for the offer of the velcro nappy cover!

But do take your time cos it's really no hurry.
Plus I really don't want you to climb up and down lah...
And if cannot find, it's OK, cos I'll probably buy at least 2 first.

starry,
Cheng Choon so cheap? Hmmm... maybe this weekend drag hubby to Cheng Choon to check things out!
Thanks for info!