annlee,
Don't worry about telling us here... we're here to console each other when we're down!
LittleCat's strategy is also good - what he wouldn't know would not upset him, so next time can choose not to tell too!
Tonight I think not cooking - got a mild case of food poisoning just now... stomach so pain I thought I was going to give birth. Then when I started to retch and vomit, then realised I probably ate something wrong. Checked then realised my Nutrisoy soy milk expiring today! So maybe stomach sensitive to that.
As for my MIL, cannot "un-involve" her leh, cos she already made up her mind to join us for the 1-mth confinement. But hubby says if I don't want to follow any of her wishes, just tell him and he will tell her, cos he think I am not insistent enough for his mum!
LittleCat,
You're not useless! Never think of yourself that way!!!
The fact that you carried the baby in your tummy for 9 mths + labour and delivery is already a testimonial of your strength!
Plus remember you had to suffer all the side effects like constipation, swollen feet, piles etc... I think even men can't do it, so don't put yourself down just cos baby wants to cry.
For the multi-grain rice, I normally use it in porridge only, cos I tried cooking it as rice... very hard and not so nice leh.
For porridge, I also find Greenmax brand not "starchy" enough, so I add in some Jap white rice to make it more gluey like porridge.
I don't normally put anything other than sweet potato in it, cos I mostly eat my porridge the Teochew style with dishes.
cookiemonster,
Hahahaha.... I like your theory of Dec babies!
Eh, actually my tummy is round enough for other to see liao... plus my T-shirt tops are tight kind, so can see a little round "balloon"
I think some Singaporeans are just not nice lah... my aunt-in-law says that day a young chap fought with her for a seat in the bus! She was walking towards the seat and this young guy quickly walk past her on the narrow bus aisle and sat down quickly then started to close his eyes and pretend to sleep! And my aunt-in-law is 60+ with white hair liao!
Yep, I'm lucky hubby is on my side...
Oh no, pui pui on food strike again? But I think as long as the baby is growing healthily should be OK?
Krisjoy,
Don't worry about her looking like boy boy! I look TOTALLY like a boy when young... really! Plus my mum either has me topless (cos I get heat rash easily), or I am in boy-looking clothes/shorts/dungarees. In fact, there isn't any pictures of me in a dress or skirt!
But now still feminine-looking lah
Hey, my grandma also said the same thing! She said first kid girl good so next time can look after didi!
Ah,
Pine Garden cake shop! I was just there last night!
Bought assorted slices of cakes to try and verdict is:
-
Black forest: Very good, cake is moist and cherries soaked in cherry wine.
-
Raspberry choc cake: So-so; I find raspberry topping a bit too sweet.
-
Lava Flow: Supposed to be the Lana type of cake, but cake too dense and dry, although the chocolate used is imported German ones and quite good. Cannot even come close to Choc-a-Bloc or Awfully Chocolate. I'll have to go buy a Lana one someday for old times' sake
-
Lychee Martini: My hubby said not bad, sponge cake is nice and soft, altho he said cannot taste any alcohol/martini. I didn't dare to try cos of the alcohol.
-
Ikea Cheesecake: Fantastic, even for me who is not a big fan of cheesecake. Bottom crust is thick and tasty while cheese is not too dense with tangy flavour. They make in bulk for Ikea, that's why they call it Ikea Cafe Cheesecake.
Still got a Triple Choc slice and Orange Zest slice in my fridge to try tonight!
Ambrosial,
Yep, baby confirmed a girl
Hey, how's your sewing getting along? Sewn anything for Sally?
SY,
Your boy forgot how to latch? How long hasn't he been latching?
Hey gals,
Thanks again for the extra info on bumwear and diaper pants!
Van showed me some safer plastic safety pins, so I may stick to those - cheaper, plus all you girls' reviews on those pants are "hot" and "thick", plus I saw th elastic band, scared that part may irritate baby if baby got fat thighs!