Cooking Tips & Recipe

starz,
how come u not tbf? last time my bb jaundice but I stopped formula after my milk came in. His jaundice slowly no more after 1 month, we just everyday bring him out to sunbathe in the morning. I also reduced my ginger intake just in case too much ginger is no good.

if u prefer to continue alternating, get someone to give the formula feeds while u pump out yr ss to maintain yr ss. take care, eat well and get enough rest too, can't wait to see more cute pics of Ayden...

Welcome, sarah's mom!

I haven't tried making steamed egg before, but I got the following tips from the SB website:

the proportion of water to egg is 2:1
use small fire to steam to get smooth surface
can cover the top of the container by using aluminium foil if you want to make sure no condensation drips onto the egg.

Any reason to leave the lid slightly open when steaming? I usually close the lid completely when I steam food.

Let us know if the tips above work or not, cheers and have a great weekend!

starz,
I checked with my friend whose baby had jaundice. Like sp, she also cut down on ginger, tbf and sunbathe baby, but only morning sun and with protection for baby's eyes. Now her baby is 7mths+ and she is still bf.

My sis was the one who supplemented with formula according to doc's instructions, and she pumps her milk out. But in her case, she said pumping does not work, cos the milk supply slowly decreased, and in the end, her supply was gone after 1 mth. That is even though she followed her friends' instructions on pumping out every single last drop, cos they say this is the right way to pump to maintain milk supply.

For ginger, maybe you can slice them instead of shredding them for your food, so you'll still get the ginger "flavour", but won't end up eating the thin shreds, cos slices can be put aside more easily?

What does your PD say about the jaundice and if you still wanna tbf?

hi ladies...

sp n sophie,
i've not eaten a single shred of ginger, nor herbs, nor DOM or any liquour yet due to ayden's jaundice... everyday eating bland food hoping it will help...
also sunbathe him every morning for abt 30mins, PD said 15mns each side leh...
i also worried my supply will drop, or ayden will become too lazy to suckle next time.. but i dont know how serious jaundice can get, n dont want to take e risk... so just hoping for e best all e time lor....

Van,

I'd love to work in a vet clinic or open a supplies only pet shop.Working in the design field also sounds quite interesting, but they need a design diploma or design degree.

Thanks for all your wishes!! Now very stressed over breast milk. So far supply has been very low and breasts are engorged like rocks...I also have piles after delivery. Think is the pushing that causes it...

Will post my baby's photos when I get home cos now doing confinement at my mom's place so have limited access to internet. My brother needs to use his laptop very frequently..

starz,
wah, u r so wei da, everyday eat bland food becoz of ayden's jaundice. how is it now, do u still need to bring him to test every few days?

krisjoy,
ouch, yr rocks sound painful! u got put hot towel and massage? does yr girl latch well? I still remember the lactation consultant at my hospital who's very pro-bf. she asked one mummy how come she's feeding her bb with FM and asked another mummy why she's pumping her milk using the hospital pump instead of direct bf, hehehe... As for me, I got no ss but was encouraged to just let my bb latch "for fun" and later the hospital nursury staff will feed my bb with FM.

sorry to hear abt yr piles, hope they'll heal quickly.

enjoy yr confinement, eat and rest well. can't wait to see yr girl's pics.

krisjoy, take care dun over stress yourself.
starz did a good job on BF till so much supply... me still mix with formula. My boy always not enough after the BF so have to top up.
Could be due to i am not TBF so supply is not that much...
yeah starz so wei da, sacrify food and sleep for Ayden.
Me eat & sleep like pig when not being "moo" time.

No choice leh can only enjoy another week before the confinement finish, by then left me and maid, will be very busy liao...

starz, how about after feeding drink some DOM ? i heard after 2-3 hours it is ok to feed baby, not immediately.
Me yesterday drink the double boil DOM, whole face red like lobster! so go sleep at 10+pm can't do the last BF.

Starz,
reckon u still can tbf ayden.
my baby jaundice 21 at his highest level. i continue to tbf throughout. only abt 4 feeds in the hosiptal whereby my ebm not enough, the nurses gave him fm by the cup.
if u worried abt baby refusing to latch, u can try to cup feed baby (using those very little cups which is used to contain medicine given to patients). Mrs Wong taught us to do that.
Like u, I also did not take any tonic, ginger dom, herbs etc. only normal food, try to eat more fish. baby jaundice cleared in abt 3weeks.

Choc,
I also hope to try the slimming cream, get rid of my big fat buttock and my thunder thighs.
My baby like yrs, 5months plus still sucking his fists... but his fist getting too big for his mouth, now suck his last 3 fingers together.

Sophie+Van,
did not cooked the braised tau kee and braised peanut this weekend.
Cos my niece came to stay over for the weekend. They don't like chinese food. So ended up cooking Japanese food on sat evening and grilled chicken for sunday lunch.
But baked chocolate chips cookies according to van's recipe. Everyone loves the cookies.
Heee... and all finished in our tummy without any photos.
Can check with ladies for the tiger thermal pot, my maid saw some 'orange like rust' on the inner pot. is it normal? should i go back to tiger to check?

Littlecat,
enjoy yr u can.

Hello everyone

Hi Krisjoy, congrats on the birth of your baby! For engorged breasts, I used a small avent milk bottle filled with warm water and roll it over the hard bumps like a rolling pin whilst expressing the milk out at the same time. This helps to clear up the ducts and helps baby latch on better cos' when the breasts are too engorged, baby cannot latch on properly. For piles, I used Jorubi pure Aloe Vera gel from Guardian pharmacy and it was very soothing and helped a lot with the discomfort.

Hi starz, I juz sent you a pm

Hi LittleCat, sounds like you're enjoying your confinement! So fast your bb going to be one month next week! Is your ds1 enjoying his little didi?

Hi Sophie, your burger and salad look yummy!

Hi Van, I went to Chinatown Point 2 weekends ago - bought the Kitty cookie cutter/stamper and rice mold set. Will take pics later and post

Hi Choc, I've been busy surfing the net for wedding cupcakes. I'll prob do one for my bil cos' he's only having about 70 guests for the church reception. I'm helping my sis do one for her church friend the week before - so that'll give me a chance to practice first! I'll post the pics when I've resized them.

Okay, gotta go cook lunch. Catch ya'll later

Sarah's Mom,

I'll normally add 1/3 water and add marinated minced pork to the egg mixture.The result is firmer and more substantial.

Choc,

If you don't feel comfy applying creams now, you can try pilates exercises that focus on the abdomen.

Krisjoy,

Sorry to hear about your discomfort...

Sophie,

Your Avocado and Prawn Salad reminds me of Sara Moulton's.

Cookiemonster,

I think you have to wipe pots after each wash rather than air dry.When I air dry metal appliances, I get the same problem.

Just wanna check with you all, if bringing bby overseas and do not want to live on rice cereal etc or packet porridge...is there any other alternative?I do not want to feed aedann with food that is prepared by the eatery out there...any advice...what is the best way or method if self prepared.

starz,
I agree with sp... so wei da, forgo your own proper confinement meals for your baby. I'm sure you'll do ok, don't worry so much about it.

LittleCat,
Wow, it seems just yesterday you gave birth, and now confinement almost over!

Krisjoy,
Sorry to hear about your "rocks" and piles. I think Annelise's idea of rolling the bottle is pretty clever, very convenient too.
Now I am worried about piles too - I haven't even given birth and already got the problem, no matter how much fruits and veges I eat *sigh*

Annelise, Ambrosial,
Thanks for the comments on my dishes

For me, presentation is very important... hee, so important that I refuse to order "Mu Ee Fan" or touch it when my mum cooks it, cos I think it's messy and told her it's like pig's food

Very bad to say that, I know, but I bet the Japs will be shocked to see gooey veges dished over the rice too!

Ambrosial,
Sometimes I also fantasize about a change of job... like I wouldn't mind working in some organic or healthfood cafe

Hi Joy, will the airline allow a small slow cooker to be brought in as hand luggage? If so, can bring one along to cook porridge, soup and stew. It takes about 3 hours to cook a small pot of thick porridge.

Pigeon has a pretty good range of instant meals -Taka Baby section stocks them. I brought some baby jar food along with me on my trip to Tokyo and stocked up on more when I reached there. Does Aedann like drinking milk? If I remember correctly, he's one-plus year old? If so, you may want to consider letting him drink Pediasure to supplement his nutrition - in case he's not used to the food. Hope this helps!

Hi Ambrosial, how's Sally's wound? Hope it's all healed up nicely. Yeah, I find water stains on my metal stuff if I leave them to air-dry. Do those detergents for stainless steel ware work? I remember seeing Taka household dept selling them but never got down to buying it to try.

Hi Sophie, how about publishing a healthfood book? I find that most of the publications are more Western and some ingredients hard to find locally.

Hi Annelise

Thanks for advice.That is what I had in mind...slow cooker cum some jar food, at least its not rice cereal as personally aedann cannot take it as its too heaty for him.

I do not like aedann to drink too much milk too as milk is deem heaty too..so just the regular three feeds will be fine....You must be wondering why I believe so much heat or no heat for the baby...I had personal experience with my older gal, who was a milk queen and I will supplement her with pediasure too...actually that did not help in her health...she tends to get flu, phelgm quite often...Just imagine, if we take lots of milk , body will tend to be heaty too...I had that when I drank one litre of low fat milk while I tried to go on diet many years back....

Just my one cents of thoughts

Baby food

like Annelise mention taka has good range and some big supermarket like cold storage in taka or PP hv good range too.

Slimming,
i also neeed and alot of it

Sophie, u can work in organic cafe . There are more and more of such cafe surface in the market now.

u gals saw the news? GST up to 7%

Sophie,
Wah.. your lunch is very healthy and good for you and baby
Alfafa and avocado are very nutritious...

Purple sage food is good
Food presentation and decor are nice too. Quite impressive. The cheapest package is $12/person. The only food that my guests did not take a lot is the garden salad... lol... not many people likes vegetable, I find. During the full month party, I only ate the garden salad and mainly consumed by me and my sis... lol...

So far, the cheapest salad I can get outside is from Carl's Junior
Delifrance is quite pricey, so seldom go there already. For the same amount of vege, I can get at $2.50 from Carl's Junior...

Starz,
Breastmilk jaundice is not common... If your milk supply is a lot, it's better to TBF, if you want.. Else your milk supply will go down one...

Joy,
Interesting, I didn't know milk is heaty. I only know cow's milk promotes mucous, so whenever me or hubby has cough or gets phelgmy, we won't drink cow's milk.

Annelise,
Publish book? haha, you see me too "up" already lah!

twinkle,
That's what I was thinking too... maybe after baby comes out and I go back to work, see whether wanna work in those organic cafes

lyn,
Yep, I read that avocados and alfafa are "power foods" for pregnant and nursing mothers, plus got craving for it leh, so might as well make a salad out of it.
I didn't know Carl's Jnr salad is so cheap?! Must try one day.
Thanks for info on purple sage
I always see their shop around Arab street area when I go there for my nasi padang, but never really tried their food or seen their website before.

Ambrosial,
thanks for the info.
my maid still insist that she use cloth to 'wipe very very dry' before she kept the inner pot. sigh....

Littlecat,
i used neo garden. economical and food good (commented by the guests).

Sp,
if i remember correctly, u made yam cake? good?
cos dh likes yam cake. hope have time to cook this weekend.

Finally got sometime to log in here.....
I got my new maid over the weekend and luckily she's experience and hygiene person. I got to know from my maid that she knows how to cook some of my favourite food too...like spicy lemon chicken, chicken curry,rendang, mee siam, mee rubus,chicken rice,nasi lemak,asam fish head etc... and some simple chinese dishes...she used to cook everyday for her ex employer and working in food court as cook in indonesia so if her cooking is good, I will put the pic here and recipe.

sophie, your salad looks very yummy...did you put any dressing?

starz,do take care of yourself...Now is ok to take some ginger and dom,if you're afraid of alcohol content then put some with chicken and cook it so the alcohol will evaporate.

Joy747, you can cook some porriage for you bb and when reach destination, put them in the fridge immediately. I cook the porriage for 2 days supply as I don't want to keep for long,afraid will spoil and produce wind so I will add in some ginger to porriage. Like what annelise recomm pigeon instant food, I've bought that and is tasty and you can also buy some organic baby jar food. Remember the jar food don't give immediately,must put them in hot water to warm it first,hths!

sophie, which nasi padang store you went in Arab street?

annlee,
Yep, I put dressing, but Asian style type cos I don't like creamy stuff... the only creamy stuff I will eat is Caesar dressing.
For the dressing, I boiled the prawns with shells in just a little bit of water, so I used that same prawn water and added abit of grated ginger, lime juice, olive oil, sesame seeds, a little soy sauce to taste and ground black pepper.

For the nasi padang stall, I don't know the name, but it's next to an Indonesian restaurant which serves buffet, and my stall has green signboard. The stall is downstairs where you pick your food, and you can choose to eat upstairs which is airconditioned. Best thing is - sambal belachan is self service with the fork and spoons upstairs too!
Next time I go, I'll try and remember name and let you know. Their fish with black sauce and onions is sedap! Brinjal with sambal is also lively - this dish is better than the one at River Valley cos RV one is different style.

Woah, you maid can cook rendang and all that yummy stuff?! Must remember to let us know recipe and see pics if they are good!

annlee

Thanks for info. Can I know where can I get organic jar food...

Guess you mums here are giving me more and more confident to travel....Actually, I was still pending on to go or not even ticket is booked...

I guess I will cook fresh porridge day after I reached there. But, for the same day, I do not mind cooking in advance...Like what annlee said, there might be wind in the porridge....

rgds

sophie, think your salad dressing with lemon, olive oil,black pepper,soy sauce taste good enough and healthy...nice!

About the nasi padang store, do let me know where do they near to eg hotel or the road, thanks! Arab street is near my hse so I don't have to go river valley to have it. Oh...so the fish with black sauce and brinjal is nice...will look out for that when im there.

yes...my maid says she know how to cook all that but wait till I try it first and if is nice,will post it here.

joy747, you can get organic jar food at NTUC, cold storage or some of the organic shop like brown rice paradise at Tanglin Mall etc...think the brand is earth planet,Jerber and Heinz got organic food jar too...as for pigeon instant food, I bought them at seiyu bugis and taka iirc
Is better if your hotel room or apartment got a small kitchen to cook baby porriage..normally if I want to travel, I'll look for those apartment that has a mini kitcken. With baby or toddler around, no choice!

oh yes... you can also buy those organic instant oat or rice cereal for breakfast, is so easy...just add water. Can get from Ntuc etc...

Where's Van?

Sophie,

I don't eat Lor Mee because it looks messy and gooey too!
When my mom cooks, she's quite particularly with presentation.Everyone must have their own soup bowl, dish for meat, dish for veggies etc, no communal sharing.She claims it's more hygenic.

Are there organic or healthfood cafes here?

Annelise,

Her wound completely healed I think.Can't see too clearly.

I haven't tried those detergents.I feel there's no pressing need to get special detergents.Just wipe down all your metal cooking stuff will do.

Starry,

I heard about the 7%.Our govt is running this country like an enterprise!!

Cookiemonster,

I don't know leh...it shouldn't happen...

Ambrosial,
HALO Van's reporting!

Has been busy...hb back from US already,got to cook "full meals" again,and need to coach dd to do her homework and practice her music and ballet.

I think opening pet supplies shop suits you very much,and would be much easier then switching line into design.
577435.gif

Sophie,
Publishing healthy cookbook, based on Asian ingredients sounds like a good idea! You should do some research and give it a try! Actress Jaslyn Tay can write books and even open a health spa,I am sure you can also do it! You have our support!
577436.gif

cookiemonster,
Glad that you tried out the chocolate chip cookies and like it!

annlee,
Happy for you that you found a good maid!

annelise,
Hope to see picts of your cup-cake wedding cake!

How much you paid for the cookie cutter,$7.90? I might be able to drop by Chinatown Point this Friday, as I will be meeting someone at Raffles Place.

I saw the HK egg mold in someone's blog, it really works.the egg has a HK face on it!

Did you see these at the shop:

577449.jpg

577450.jpg

577451.jpg

Van,

the egg mould really works as i saw live demo in one of the taiwan shopping mall. if you hv friends or hb going to taiwan can get them too.

Taiwan hv lots of cute amazing stuffs as kids bring 'bian dang' to school everyday.

Van,

You're one busy woman.

Daiso sells some HK items eg cups, lunchboxes, rice bowls, sauce containers.There's also another HK shop at United Square.

Haha no money to open pet supplies shop...probably when i'm much older.

Been busy these few days.. ang went to Vietnam and HK on mon.. will be back on fri

Hey starz, good that your supply is high !Maybe you can take dom or XO aft it has been cooked or aft you bf.. My bb had bf jaundice for 1 and half months.. got to bring him to the polyclinic every wk..

Kris, congrats again !
you may try using very hot towel to massage b4 you express your milk.. take care that it doesn't develop into mastitis.. I kena twice this time round, had to be on antibiotics.. It was due to infrequent feeds at night.. Had a few lumps in my breast, now cleared already..

Hey van, you know where to get the hello kitty egg mould ? Very interested to get one..

Thanks Ambrosial, I know nothing about pilates leh !Maybe can get the vcd and do it together..

Ambrosial,
I went to the United Sq HK shop(Used to go U.Sq every Sat).They have some cake molds,selling at $20+,but didn't see those that I am interested.

Choc,
Was told that the HK egg mold is sold at the Chinatown point shop.

twinkle,
I used to get HK stuff from Taiwan and Hong Kong during my overseas trips, but only got stuff for my dd.Only crazy over the bakeware recently.Hb travels to Hong Kong and Taipei quite often,but can't expect him to buy.He's either too busy to shop or totally clueless where to buy. Even his US trip recently, I got to find the Shopping mall nearest to his hotel for him, list down the address, store name,unit no. and print out the pictures of the stuff for him.

577753.gif

Hi Van, here're the stuff I bought: the cutters are $25.90 and rice mold/stencil/sauce container set $29.90. I forgot to ask about the egg mold!!! Ok, here comes the pics:

577791.jpg

we're thinking of making this for her friend's wedding next month - but the thought of having to make 100 of these roses makes me shudder!

577812.jpg

Annelise,
I MUST chiong to the HK shop.
577838.gif
That's the cookie cutter/stamp set I am looking for! It's sold at JPY1260 in Japan. The rice mold set also very sweet! I WANT them!

Hey, you and your sis can set up online business making cup-cake style wedding cakes/birthday cakes? It's so pretty and look so professional!

Annelise,

the cup cakes look extremely nice leh. if i did not read the content i thought it is fm one of the hotel's wedding .

Van,

Quickly chiong down to get the HK stuff! I noticed things that were mentioned here would go OOS.Like the elementary dressing-making course by Gim Foon was fully booked just a few days(think 3 days) it was listed, and I have to wait for the next intake.

Annelise,

I love your HK items!
Your rose cupcake looks very elegant!

Annelise,
The cupcakes are gorgeous! You mean you guys actually made the rose yourselves? I thought it was something that you bought and stuck it into the cake! Lovely...

annlee,
I don't know the name of the road of the nasi padang stall, but if you imagine Arab street on a bird's eye view with the mosque on top, then the stall is on the street along the bottom right side of the mosque. Here's a rough pic:

578151.jpg

Ambrosial,
Yep, there are more organic cafes in SG now.
One that I always go to now is Green Sense near Thomson Plaza - very yummy with reasonable pricing.

annlee,
yr new maid sounds great, how is her cooking so far?

van, annelise,
the hk moulds are so lovely!

annelise,
<font size="+2">WOW!</font> the cup cake wedding cake looks very professionally done!

sophie,
yes, do consider writing a health book, I'll definately buy your book!

Annelise/Ambrosial,
Do you have the contact number of the HK shop? Wanted to call up to check their operating hours.

If I know earlier that the particular set of cookier cutter can be found there, I would have chiong down weeks ago liao.
578279.gif

Ambrosial,
There are a lot of secret readers of this thread...
578280.gif

Hi Van, thanks
Hee, I told my hb that from now on we should not buy cakes from bakeries for birthdays anymore cos' I want to use the money saved to buy baking and Hello Kitty kitchen stuff! My next project is a number 1 cake for my nephew - but my bro doesn't want it made out of cupcakes but a whole cake. Does PH sell big rectangle cake pans?

The rice mold set may have been the last set - unless they didn't display all their stocks. But they did sell the rice molds alone for $12.90. The small sauce containers were also sold spearately at $6.90. I didn't want the sauce containers actually but I bought the set cos' I wanted the stencils. The lady said they used to sell the stencils separately too but those sold out pretty fast. I think the lady did show me the pink and white cake molds in your posting but I didn't buy cos' I think it can only be used in microwave oven - or used to make jelly and pudding. Is your dd's ballet with Crestar? They're having combined performance with other centres next week - maybe we'll see each other?! I'll pm you my hp and details

Hi twinkle starry, thanks for the compliments! My sister built the cake stand herself too - everything also she DIY, including the flower arrangement!

Hi Ambrosial, thanks! It was our first attempt at making the fondant and modeling it into a rose. We had a lot of fun
When is the next dress-making intake? The teacher is really popular, she must be very good!

Hi Sophie, thanks! Yeah, we wanted to buy pre-made ones but the gum-paste roses from PH didn't have nice colours. The papery wafer roses from BIY were lovely but very expensive, that's why we decided to try making them ourselves! It kind of reminded me of the time when we were kids and Monopoly was so popular in school but we didn't have the money to buy one for ourselves. So we "memorised" the layout of the board when we played in school and made our own out of the drawing block cardboard backing. The only thing we couldn't replicate were the Chance cards cos' we couldn't remember all of them, haha!

Hi sp, thanks

Okie, gotta go - dds don't have lessons today - need to go play with them.

Annelise,

i saw some huge bake tin in one of the store in Chinatown. I cannot remember the name but it is near temple street. that shop sells alot of professional stuff and even hotels ordered fm them. They sell lots of things like drink dispenser, knives, bakery ware etc...

i can go and search the name for u as i been there once .

van, your running Hello Kitty so cute....

sophie, hey thanks for making the effort on the pic map...think I'll be able to find the place.

sp, have tried my maid's cooking....ok for time being...never try her malay food yet only some simple chinese dishes..

annelise, your cupcakes look just great....you can open shop liao

Annelise,
Yep, why don't you make cupcake making a business? This website was featured in the papers sometime ago, specialising in cupcakes... I'm sure yours can sell too!
http://www.c-cup.biz/

annlee,
No prob on the map... hope you'll be able to find the place and enjoy the yummy eggplant, black sauce fish and sambal belachan! **drool**

twinkle,
Is this the one? Cos I saw it featured in HDB Tai Tai before...

Sia Huat Pte Ltd
Kitchen Utensils &amp; Cutlery,
7 Temple Street
6223-1732

Think they also have a warehouse at Pandan Road, but not sure if warehouse is open to public all the time?