Cooking Tips & Recipe

lyn,
thanks for the note. Did u c your gynae after the fall? Must be a frightening experience for you...My dad also ask to be careful when taking escalators cos I blur blur one...before preggie always trip or kicked into something ;p

Sophie,
Yes, better check with gynae cos calcium and iron very important during preggie. For me, cos I dun take milk, so I must take calcium pills .

Btw, I am taking avocado milk shake during lunch these days. The fruit stall near my office did quite a good blend and I like the richness and creaminess of avocado..

Will try out your dessert next time cos my hubby also likes avocado. Have u tried the one at Alexandra Village? They are popular for their avocado ice blended. Quite thick and fragrant

Sophie,
I fell down one week before I delivered. Very paiseh... cos got drivers stopped to see if I am ok... I fell on all fours.. Now still got scar on my knee cos I bled.. I was surprised that I could not support my own weight. Then I also get muscle ache for next few days... So hor, when you get heavier especially towards the last trimester, better becareful when walking. Cos when we lose balance, our legs might not be able to support the weight.
Thank you for the website.. It's very useful with quite a lot of recipes

I think you can also find out on walnuts, almond nuts, cashew nuts... I ate them during preggie. I only remember they are good, but forgot in what ways.. :p

Krisjoy,
Yalor, I was shocked.. I have been walking a lot and swim too.. but still, not enough strength to support myself and my big tummy when lose balance! I did not see gynae after the fall... cos I felt ok lor.. just that knees and hands pain... You better becareful ah...

hmm... I also dun take my gynae's calcium and iron pills during preggie :p I have lots of stock of the calcium and iron pills in my cupboard now.. hahaha... cos my gynae will "scold" if I never take.. So I just buy and keep, later throw away... I take my own supplements...

Wah... the avocado talk here making me drool liao... Feel like eating avocado now...

Eh girls,

It's definitely not ok at all to stop calcium.The baby in your stomach will continue to draw calcium from your body/bones.There's a high chance you'll get osteoporosis when you get older.If you're having constipation through pills, get calcium through fresh or powdered milk.It may taste yucky to some people, but at least it's better than osteoporosis.It'll not be fun having a medical condition.

Krisjoy,
I heard about this Alexander V. avocado milkshake, but have not tried it. This Friday hubby may take a day off so I was thinking of asking him to go eat the soon kueh and avocado milk shake at Alexander V.
The hae mee and carrot cake there are also not bad.

It's good you and hubby both love avocado - it's one of the pregnant and nursing mothers' "power foods"
I also love avocado in my chicken sandwiches, so always tabao a chicken sandwich from Subway and stuff my own avocado in. I even do it to my burgers if I tabao them!

I've checked the calcium pills before - it's only about 360mg. We need 1200mg a day I think, so the pill is also only a supplement. One extra cup of fortified unsweetened soy milk is 400mg, so it fills the gap
I'm more worried about iron intake, so will check with gynae on both tomorrow.

lyn,
Woah, just one week before delivering?! So scary! Luckily the drivers are good, stopped to ask if you're OK... at least they can send you to hospital immed if something is not right.

Hee, that's my favourite website - my fav organic store in US. I read in the papers that the Organic supermart in Vivocity brings in their labels too - Wild Oats.

As for nuts, I don't like nuts leh. I only like pine nuts and use it in my lemon rice and pesto sauce that's all. I know cashew nuts is high in folic acid, and pumpkin seeds in zinc. The most I'l do is sprinkle some pumpkin seeds on my salad, and I wouldn't touch the rest of the nuts unless walnuts are in muffins or almond nuts in cookies. Troublesome hor?

Amelia,
I know baby will draw/leech calcium from my bones, but no choice leh, when you have to choose between that and my bum

That's why I just supplement with extra calcium-rich foods.
btw, I compared already - for the same serving, Nutrisoy fortified calcium soy milk gives 400mg of calcium while Farmhouse Fresh milk only gives 160mg, that's why I chose soy milk instead.

lyn,
Luckily u and bb were alright...

Sophie,
I also like the Rong-Guang BBQ zi-char there...The fried rice with sambal chilli on the side is very good! I hv not tried the hae mee and carrot cake though..is good? hmm, must check it out next time. The soon kueh that u mentioned - is it the Tiong Bahru shui-jing-bao stall? If yes, then I like it too! Actually I prefer the sweet ones with red bean and yam

I went to Zion road food centre last week but din get to eat the char kuey tiao cos the queue is so long...i tried the qing-teng though. But find it quite normal leh, despite it being popular...

Krisjoy,
Qing-teng at Zion Rd is good? I've never tried it before. I also never tried the char kway teow, cos the Q is forever so long!

For ALexander V., it's not the shui jing bao, but real soon kueh. It's not at the hawker centre itself, but at some coffeeshop behind the hawker centre. If I really end up going this Fri, I'll note down the block number for you!
Woah, sambal chili is good? I cannot eat that leh, too heaty for me now. That day ate at Oasis porridge, hubby ordered a claypot beef brisket and it's got star anise in it. Then after eating it, my bum immediately don't feel right, and I thought I sat down for too long, but only sat for 30mins to eat only. Then later realised star anise super heaty and it brought on the lump on my bum again. So now avoiding heaty food like plague!

Sorry gals, too much info on non-foodie stuff

Choc,
Its so heartwarming always to read abt yr children. Yr dd2 can help u look after the little one also
, more relaxing for u.
during pregnancy, told myself one is enough and after baby out, even more firm on my decision. Also with one baby, can give him the best we have/can.
But after reading yr posts, my heart melted. Its must be a kind of joy to have more children, companion for the children. The things yr children play, reckon will be different if we adult play with only one baby.
heee... maybe u can 'sub-contract' the washing of toys to yr sister's maid... or even better, let yr dds play water and wash the toys at the same time. ;)
think i must also spend sometime on myself to do some hair treatment, facial etc.
Everyday is mad rush, work and rush home take care of baby and pump milk.
Think my milk drying up soon, and hope have more time to do things when no longer breastfeeding.

lyn, aiyo.......poor you, fall when pregnant. How's your ankle now?

sophie, Da chang jin show in the afternoon? When and what time?

krisjoy, my hb tried the qing-tend too... he don't like it and complain so small bowl, not very nice and not worth the price.

sophie, or you want to try oat milk powder, high in calcium too... I got mine in organic shop when preggie.

choc, my Jap curry I bought medium hot curry cubes but my ds1 say is spicy although I feel nothing. You might wanna try the mild one... I wanted to get the mild curry but took the wrong packet.

annlee,
The Da Chang Jin is in DVD - my hubby bought it for me cos we're always out on weekend evenings, and he knows I like to watch the little girls and the colorful food.
If you want, I can lend it to you when I finish. But this one got no English subtitles cos he bought it in Carrefour in China. It's original, but I guess the Chinese there don't need English subtitles

Oat Milk powder? OK, I'll check it out this Friday! I sometimes drnk Oat/Rice Milk, but in ready carton form.

sophie, is ok... I've da chang jin before and thought they show in the afternoon so I can watch again...

The oat milk powder is in tin form, I'm very kiasu afraid the calcium not enough so I added some soy milk or fresh milk to the oat milk.

Cookiemonster,

How do you cope with work and kids?I've been thinking of the FTWM issue, even though I am not preggie.I don't mind being a SAHM, but I am afraid of the mundane-ness.Let's assume money is not a problem.What will you choose?

Hello everybody!

just drop by for a quick second, while i can tahan for sitting here..

Thanks for all the well wishes
!

pai seh no photo as all the photos with my hb's notebook.
btw name not decided yet also :p

hehe, u r right me like a moo liao! good life moo, drink wine somemore :p

I am quick heng really, other than the nanny from hell, the hospital poke me twice cos can't find the, then kena stitch twice, bleed too much (slightly more than usual), then got to carry catherer back cos can't urine... luckily now everything back to normal.

just some pain at the buttom.. hopefully it will go away soon...

okie chat again!

Littlecat,
U rest well!

Sophie,
Thanks in advance! What a coincidence! I also went Oasis 2 weeks ago..I brought my boss (whom is from China) there to get a taste of Taiwan porridge. She said in China, they only eat sweet potato porridge during winter as sweet potato is supposed to keep them warm. But over here, sweet potato is supposed to be cooling right? I ordered the chye-poh omelette which is my favourite!

annlee,
Agreed! The plastic bowl is super swallow...And they said the qing-teng is supposed to be traditional sytle but I find it is nothing exceptional...the cold version somemore got white longans...

littlecat, your delivery stage sounds quite suffering... take care and bu all your lost blood back.

amelia, no choice...always geh leow when preggie.

sophie, the oat milk they comes in sachet for 1 serving. You might want to try the sachet form in case is heaty or not suitable for you. oh yes...is very tasty when mix with soy milk.

krisjoy, the qing teng not only got longans, got one lychee too... all from the can.

hi little cat,
it's great to hear from you! gosh, yr delivery sounds painful, you are so brave!

have a good rest and enjoy your good life!!!

Amelia,
my reply will be too long for this cooking thread. will pm u tomorrow.

littlecat,
yr labour experience very dramatic.
take good care and rest more, enjoy yr time being 'gu'.

annlee,
Thanks. I'll keep a lookout for the oat milk powder!

LittleCat,
Sounds like quite an ordeal you went through!
You take care of yourself and rest properly ok?

Krisjoy,
I also ordered the chye poh omelette... they do it very well!
Best quote I got was from the waitress/captain when I asked what zhao(1) pai(2) cai(4) they recommend and the answer was "No zhao pai zai, all jia ting xiao cai here"

Yep, I thought sweet potato is cooling, although it produces wind.

Haven't seen Van for 2 days already?

Sophie,

Calcium pills will cause constipation.Think it's best you take "geh leow" milk like what annlee suggested.

Cookiemonster,

Thanks!Waiting for your email!

Girls,

I'll like to ask all of you the same question.Will you choose to be a SAHM or FTWM if money is not an issue?Do you worry about not having enough time to stimulate your kid/kids if you're working?

hi, amelia,

re: SAHM vs FTWM
I prefer to be FTWM because I get restless at home, hehe.

I don't worry that there's not enough time to stimulate my kid, as during weekend hb & I will bring hh out and show him things, hehe.

Sophie,
Thanks for the info!
You can eat yam now, just don't eat it for 100 days after delivery cos the sap will make your V area itch. This is what my friend's confinement lady told her...

Hahaha...I like the answer from the waiter leh..so funny and ignorant!

Amelia,
I'll choose to work cos I may feel bored and frustrated at home. I prefer to be in touch with outside and also to have my own income. But this is just a personal preference. Of course if you feel that nurturing your kids is a priority and you don't mind doing it full-time, it is definitely worthwhile to do so...

Anyone have any idea what to cook apples with?

I have like 10 over apples sitting in my fridge.. wanting to clear them.

eh dun ask me to juice.. bored with the juices liao..

sunsweet, how about making apple soup? Add 4-5 apples,pork bone,nanxin,beixin,and red dates.Can double boil for 2 hrs or use our favourite thermo pot to cook.

Remember to cut the apple into half or 4 pieces. If making a big pot,you can add more apples. Suppose to be good for the throat and skin.

oh yes...can skip the pork bone if you wanna make dessert. Can add more ingred like white fungus and rock sugar to taste.

Krisjoy,
Thanks for the info on yam - I'll add that to my list of confinement foods that I cannot eat

Sunsweet,
How about making pork chops with applesauce? Instead of buying those over-the-shelf applesauce in jars, it may be more satisfying to make your own, plus can control the sweetness level.

Amelia,
RE: SAHM vs FTWM
I'm in a dilemma like you too. If money is not a problem, I'll like to stay at home at look after my kid, but like sp, I'm afraid I'll get bored. Then I'm afraid my working friends will think I am just a yellow-faced hag who is out of touch with this world. Lastly, I'm afraid I'll no longer have market value when I finally do decide to go back to the working world.

Annlee,

Will nanxin and beixin give the werid taste?

need how much of each for a pot of soup (abt 2 big bowls)

Krisjoy,

Any simple recepie of apple crumble to share? what kind of liquor to add?
I'm off tomorrow so can make that for the weekend

Good morning ladies, tho it's going to be 12 soon !

Hey Sunsweet, the nan xing bei xing will not taste weird if you don't put too much.. for 2 bowls of soup, I always add about 1/2 to 3/4 tablespoon..
yah.. apple crumble is good and yummy !

Hey annlee, sorry, the jap curry powder I can't find in Shop and save.. is it S&B brand ? pkt kind ?

Hey cookie, thanks for the idea, will ask the girls to wash the toys in the toilet and also have fun ! Haha.. they'll love it..

OUI VAN, where are you ?

Yo lyn, thanks for the tips.. I did let didi sleep on his tummy, he can sleep longer like that..When Aloysius was 2 months, how did you stimulate him? Thanks alot, treating you like an encyclopedia..

sunsweet,
I have a simple recipe at home..will post tonite or tmw morning, ok? Hmm, the best liquor to go with apple crumble should be dark rum (Myer's brand) but u can add other brand that u may have..

Has anyone tried the banana and mango crumble at PS Cafe? I love it very much! But it is quite ex at $10 per small serving...so next time thot of replicating it at home.

APPLE AND CARROT WITH CHICKEN SOUP
Ingredients
2 apples
300gm carrots
15gm chinese almonds
2 pieces honey dates
1 whole chicken
5 litres water
Method
Peel apples and carrots and deseed apples. Cut both into bite sizes. Cut chicken appropriately for boiling.

Rinse almonds and dates. Boil water, add chicken and other ingredients. Cook with high flame for 45 minutes and turn the flame low for three hours.

====
from a recipe site..

Sophie,Choc,
Have been busy....brought dd to park,NLB's art & craft and story telling sessions, PD for Pneumomia jab,bake banana cake, coach her to do homework, translate Japanese websites......

Choc,
Yesterday dd's music teacher finally brief us on the coming test...quite a lot to practise and prepare huh?! Your dd1 not going for the test already? Started 1-to-1 yet?

GTG...pick up dd now.

Van,
Ah... sounds like you've been really busy!

Translate Jap websites? Is that work or for your own leisure reading?

Krisjoy,
I just came back from my gynae checkup.

I asked about the prenatal vits & calcium - he said it doesn't cause constipation cos the iron content in it is too low, but if I don't eat it, he'd be very happy too, cos he prefers and believes in a balanced diet rather than relying on supplements. Nurse suggested that only if I am not eating well/properly that day, then I pop the pill. She said I don't have to worry about the iron cos when they tested it at 15th week, my iron level was pretty good.

Hey Soph, now I'm also on Calcium.. doc says if I don't drink enough milk for a day, I have to pop in a 1000mg cal pill !

Scared that milk will make me bui bui, so I am taking a 500mg cal and drinking fresh soy milk.. good that you shared the info on nutrisoy and its amt of calcium..
Aunty here always forget to check what nutritional value the food contains !

Eh van, good for your dd ! My dd1 told me that she wished that I could bake a cake ,I told her I can do it with her, but when dd2 wakes up, the cake will be upside down

yah.. a lot of pieces to practise , solfege singing and a song with actions ! the fees is 30plus. Haven't started one on one.. thought of enrolling her in swimming lessons during the hols.. looking for chinese prep courses for pri one too

Thanks for replying.I worry about not being a good enough mother if I decide to be FTWM.Some women are great at multi-tasking, but I don't think I fall into that category.I also feel guilty when I don't put homecooked food on the table at least 3 to 4 days per week.Anyone feels the same way too?

Sophie

When do you intend to go back to work?

hi ladies...

i can only drop by a second... ayden going to wake up from his nap anytime..

Thank You SO MUCH Van, for helping me update...

my labour was considered very short for 1st time mummy according to dr kee n e doc who administered epidural for me... i asked for epi tat time only 3cm dilated, but within 1hr after epi became 10cm..
got stitched.. now if i sit too long, its abit painful... but if i take e painkillers, then dont feel too bad..

breastmilk is sufficient... i think ayden installed a "remote sensor" in my body during his stay there... now whenever he cries, my breasts will automatically start leaking...

wasted alot of precious milk, cos havent buy pump n storage bag yet... hopefully hb can get it tonite for me....

ayden says hi to all e aunties here...

563492.jpg

starz,
WAH, Ayden so chubby & cute, I love his black and thick hair!!!

pris,
so good to see u back here, where are you now, in S'pore or Canada?

Hi Pris,
Are you back in SG now?

Choc,
Woah, 1000mg calcium pill? That's a lot, cos my calcium pill is only 300mg per pill and to eat one per day only. Breastfeeding still must input so much calcium? Ordered by gynae?

For the Nutrisoy, must remember to buy the new Nutrisoy Omega No Sugar Added High Calcium one then will yield 450mg calcium per 250ml/glass.
Doc says I am mad to read labels until like that, says just eat more tofu or tau kuah can liao

Sorry, previously my comparison to Farmhouse was a bit off cos this preggie brain remembered wrongly. It should be:

<font color="0000ff">Nutrisoy Omega No Sugar Added High Calcium = 450mg calcium per 250ml glass
VS
FarmHouse Low Fat Milk (Green Pack) = 360mg calcium per 200ml glass</font>

One of my fav ways of eating tofu is just "cold tofu". Open up a pack of silken tofu from fridge, wash and put on plate. Then fry a big bunch of finely chopped garlic till brown and put on top of cold tofu, then pour a bit of dark soy sauce on it. My mum prefers light soy sauce, but I like the dark one. My hubby's family has never eaten tofu this way, but now it's one of his favourite dishes.

Amelia,
I also feel that way - I always feel guilty when I go shopping, even though hubby gives me some allowance every month and don't stop me from buying what I like, but I still feel guilty about using "his hard earned" money.
Not sure when I will go back to work, probably wait till after baby arrives, then see if got anyone to help look after baby. Or maybe do tuition like Choc, except of course tuition does not give a "career path" in the corporate world. Reading Glenn Doman's book now, and he is pro mom staying at home to nuture baby

Starz, howz the feeling like ? Overwhelming right ? to carry bb in your arms.. I had that feeling when I was wheeled into the ward with bb.. That's the fruit of your labour

The engorgement should come in aft the third day, standby your pumps liao.. if u ve no storage bags for your ebm, take the empty ess of chick bottles and sterilise them first..

If not enuf caps, just use glad wrap to wrap the top then followed by an aluminium foil ( 4 u to label the date .. So happy for u esp first time being mummy !

Soph, ok .. will read the labels esp now bf , got to watch what I eat..

Hi everyone. Been busy and moody
Scraped my car quite badly against the carpark pillar. left a dent and lots of deep scratches. Should have stuck to taking taxi - this is the 2nd time in 8 months! sigh, must waste $ on repairs again.

Hi Van, you read Japanese? Did you happen to translate the Jap recipe book that came with the thermal pot? Some of the recipes look interesting but I don't understand. Thought of asking my sis to help me translate but her Jap not fantastic - JLPT level 2 only, I think. I wanted to deco the mickey cake with milk, dark and white choc and use a pink fruitella sweet for his tongue! Thanks for the info on the silicon bakeware sale
Have you checked out chinatown for the bakeware yet? I saw this really cute hard boiled egg shaper for Hello Kitty on ebay. A freshly boiled and peeled hardboiled egg is placed in the mold. lock the mold and immerse in ice cold water for 5 to 10 mins and you get a cute hardboiled egg in the shape of kitty's head!

Hi Choc and Sophie, ikan bilis and white bait have lots of calcium too! Soph, I love eating agedashi tofu at Tonkichi in Taka - have you tried sprinkling your tofu with bonito flakes? Choc, you can bring your kids to my place to bake/ play during the hols - my place is pretty close-by
When you find a good chinese pre-pri prep class, do let me know. My dd1's 2nd language is really quite bad.

Hi Amelia, I'm a bit of a perfectionist and not much of a multi-tasker - so I knew I had to make a choice between excelling in my career and looking after my kids. My job was very demanding and the hours very long, and I couldn't be a weekend parent even if I wanted to cos' there's no one I could rely on.

Hi starz, congrats!!! Ayden is so handsome - yeah, he's got beautiful hair! 1 hour to go from 3 to 10 cm is really fast! Good to hear you've got ample supply
Have you tried sitting on the swimming float? My friend says it helps with the pain.

thank u for e compliments...juz now ayden woke up, been fed, now back to sleep liaoz...
been told by family tat he looks more like me than daddy, esp e hair n eyes part. daddy got deep set eyes...

hb juz went out to get for me e pump liaoz...
i'm definitely in e "moo moo" club, n happily so.. was abit worried i wouldnt hv enuf for him last time...

choc,
definitely overwhelming... i was crying e minute i feel e "whoosh" feeling, n dr put him on my chest... at tat point, all e pain i juz experienced moments ago, all forgotten...

havent tell my hb yet, but i'm definitely willing to go thru this all over again....
hehehe... best part, i havent even weigh myself... better to continue deceiving myself...

ta ta for now.. till i hv time again.. take care girls....