Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi Annelise,

That Hello Kity Hard Boil egg thingy sounds really cute.. wonder how muchie?

as you mention abt chinese class, not that i'm trying to hard sell or what.. but my mum is a chinese tutor teaching for pre-pri - sec.. so if you are interested to either have 1-to-1 class / form a class of 2/3 kids.. do contact me at [email protected].. i can get my mum to give u a call ..

Starz,
Your boy has lotsa hair!!
So happy for you to have such a handsome baby! Btw, is the healing for the cut ok? Does it hurt when you go to the loo to do your business?

Annelise,
Sorry to hear that...I had a bad experience with a taxi driver just now. I shared a cab with my colleague and when we told him we need to go 2 places (both are at Admiralty), he already buay song. He jammed brake on purpose at Newton Circus. Then he took us home the long way. At the traffic junction at Woodlands Ave 3, he was horned by the car behind. He stopped his taxi and went down to confront the driver. It is really a waste of time and is endangering our lives!

In fact, this is the 1st time I have come across such a taxi driver!

sp,
I will get the recipe for you maybe tomorrow cos the cookbook is in the storeroom and I need my hubby to help me retrieve it. He will be home late tonite...

Seems like today some of the mummies here got some unhappy things happened... here goes to me too.....

Brought my ds1 to kkh for check up and bring him to Mcdonald for lunch. I ordered Happy Meal for my ds and the counter auntie looks very blur... the meal is $4 and she key in $5,I give her $10 and she give me back $1??? I told her I give her $10 but she insisted that I giving her $5..... so she ask the staff to calulate the account of the cashbox and ask me to take a seat and the staff came and tell me their account is correct and insisted that I given them $5. I told them I got no $5 in my purse and I've just withdrawl $40 from atm....now left $30..and is impossible the atm will give $5 right...and of course I know clearly how $5 look like and I don't have any of it... the manager came and talk to me and I explained again furiously.. but the mgr also insist that their account is right and extra $3 more in their account!! I told him then your account must be wrong some where ...at last the mgr refund back the money they own me but i still feel bad cos i look like i'm cheating to them...haiz...really spoil my mood for the day

hello everybody!
Trying to post photo to Yahoo, wow very slow leh..

Starz, wow your boy hair really thick and nice!
My boy one like middle age man hair, less hair in the center!

Here's my boy photo
563955.jpg

Wow, two handsome boys!

Starz,
Ayden has very thick and dark hair. He looks like he's in deep thought,hen2 You3 Xue2 Wen4 kind, doesn't look like only a few days old.

I also did sit on the "swimming float" after giving birth,did help, especially the first few days.

LittleCat,
Your boy boy looks like gor gor right? So chubby and sweet! Even my dd said that!

annlee,
your experience today reminds me of a complaint I read recently.Similar case,but it's in Shop n Save. The manager also insisted that the cashier is right,the writer was so angry that she called her husband to the store.While waiting for her husband, the cashier kept telling other customers about her,sounds like the writer is trying to cheat, made the writer so embarrased. When the husband arrived, he wanted to call police. Can't remember whether they did call, but eventually, the manager and cashier re-tally their cash and confirmed that the writer was correct. The manager apologised and also sent her hamper in the end but was a little too late,the write already wrote in to press and the letter published. The Manager explained that the company did " counselled" the cashier after that.

Annelise,
I had same experience 3 times few years ago, dented and scratched the door badly, cost me a few hundreds each time to hack back the door and painted it.

I am using online translator to translate the website sentence by sentence. All the Japanese I learned already returned to my teacher liaoz.

Another mummy in the forum told me about this egg mold as well, she saw it at the Chinatown Point.I haven't got chance to go there yet.Thought of going tomorrow, but the SCV man is coming to fix my SCV digital console,so got to change my plan.

Which Japanese recipes in the Tiger cookbook are you interested in?

Choc,Annelise,
I thought of signing dd up for Tien Xia's Chinese Holiday camp near my place.DD's friend is attending classes there and said it's fun.

Choc,
The test has 1 song to sing, and 5 songs to learn to play right? Have you chosen the songs for DD1? Btw, the teacher didn't mention Song with Actions leh?!

DD's music teacher said so far nobody failed, but I actually knew of someone who failed,cos she cried during the test.

Sophie,
I am translating the Jap websites for leisure reading only... and it's mainly Shopping sites!
564038.gif

Did you thermal-cook your kidney beans or cook traditionally? How's your thermal-cooked chap chye?

Amelia,
Emailed you an article about FTWM vs SAHM...

A few of you having bad days today...whereas I might have caused someone to fail his driving test today! An L-plate car was turning right together with me, side by side, he immediately wanted to change to my lane after turning, without signalling and when I was so close to him,I honked him, thinking that he sure have not checked his blind spot.Then my dd said," what does two L-plate mean?",only then I realised that it's a test car....
564039.gif

Hmm... so many unhappy things happen today huh?

Annelise,
Woah, I feel heartache for you! Better get it fixed, else if the paint has already been scraped off, the metal will start to corrode if not fixed in time.
For the tofu, I've tried using bonito flakes Jap style, but hubby still prefers the Chinese style cos he and I are big fans of fried garlic - we'll always fight for the last bits of garlic toppings!

Krisjoy,
By now you should be quite big liao, and the taxi-driver, seeing that you are pregnant, still drive so recklessly? Very bad of him!

annlee,
I had the same experience 2 mths ago at Guardian Centrepoint too! I gave $50 for my olive oil that costs $4+ and the cashier thought I gave $10 and gave me back loose change only! Luckily the cashier seems to have a "record" cos the manager just open the cashbox without arguing with me, and then she saw my $50 note still careflessly folded in half on top of a stack of $10 notes, so she knew her cashier made a mistake. The MacDonald's manager very bad leh... very bad customer service to point finger at customer. I think all cashier points should have CCTV!

LittleCat,
Your boy also very cute lah, where got look like middle aged man hair?! I like his lips, very sweet! Very chubby too!
Now I am more worried if my baby will be of enough weight!

Van,
Haha, you really live up to your nickname of "Nice to shop"!

I used my thermal cooker to cook the kidney beans, but still boiled them over fire for about 2hrs first, cos scared of the red kidney bean toxin! After that then put into thermal outer pot for another 4hrs.
My "chap chye" was good! Just tau kee, garlic and mushrooms - the color went in quite deep into the tau kee and mushrooms, so I think your idea of using the thermal pot to cook mushrooms ahead of your nuo mi fan will be good

Eh, how come the test driver change lane so immediately after turning right? He should have checked his blind spot and make sure it's clear anyway? Just hope maybe he got 4 or 6 pts deducted for not checking, and not immediate failure.

littlecat, your baby hair looks like my ds1 when born... look like 'M'...

van and sophie,

I did call my hb about the Mcdonald prob and hb says don't talk too much to them... take down the mgr name and he's gg to complain to their headquarter.
About the CCTV, I also ask the mgr to check if they have any...but too bad for me,they don't.

van, yes....agreed with sophie, Nice to shop nick suits you very much hee...

sophie, your chapchye sounds good... I like tau kee too

Littlecat,
yr boy looks so handsome and cute!
He's so cosy and sound asleep.
heee.. think he looks like u.

Sophie,
Can advise how u braise the chay chye and mushroom pls.

Van: two <font color="ff0000">L</font> is TESTING.. whahahahahahah I am sure he <font color="ff0000">FAT FAT FAILED!</font>

hi hi, girls, morning!

little cat,
yr boy got very sweet small lips, he's so adorable, I also feel like holding him, hehe.

starz,
enjoy yr moo-ing hehehe...

krisjoy,
oh, dear, I didn't know it's so troublesome to get the recipe for me! If yr hb no time it's ok...

annelise, krisjoy, annlee,
sorry to hear abt your bad experience...

Starz,
Wah... Ayden is so handsome... He looks like he has curly hair??
Take care and sleep well during your confinement
Glad that you are enjoying your moo-ing.. Welcome to the "moo moo club".. lol.. I am still moo-ing and still enjoying it. But gotta give up the club membership soon cos wanna plan for number 2... Quite reluctant to give it up..

Littlecat,
Your boy has high nose... also another handsome boy..

How's your confinement now??

Littlecat,
Your boy looks so serene...i like his slightly round nose...so cute!

annlee,
Sorry to hear about your incident. Sometimes the victims are made to feel as though they are the ones whom are wrong in the first place and it is frustrating!

sp,
no worries. will provdide u the recipe once i get hold of the cookbook...

cookiemonster,
I didn't braise chap chye leh - mine is just tau kee and mushrooms... I don't even know whether got this dish, but I just had craving for tau kee.
- Lightly wash and smash a few cloves of garlic with its skin on, soak tau kee in water for 10 mins, and soak mushrooms in your usual water or hot water.
- Heat some oil, fry the garlic clove (with skin) till fragrant, then add in tau kee &amp; mushrooms &amp; seasoning (sesame oil, light soy sauce, dark soy sauce and sugar).
- I like it more wet with gravy/sauce so I added the mushroom soaking water cos it's quite fragrant.
- Braise over low fire for about 20mins then stuff into thermal pot for the rest of the afternoon (I left it in there for about 2hrs).

Krisjoy,
The soon kueh is at Blk 127 Alexander Village (behind hawker centre and next to AIG/AIA Tower).
I tried the avocado milkshake just now - I don't really like it cos it's too sweet with gula melaka. Think I'll try to make my own with unsweetened soy milk or fresh milk tomorrow

annlee,
Now I got a scar on my ankle lor... Old already, not easy for my body to mend the scars...

Van,
Does your dd need to practice for the tests?? I remember last time my mum forcing me to practice for my music exams... :p But I am glad she did

sophie, amelia,
I also dun feel like becoming a FTWM after I graduate. I have been brainwashed by Glen Doman and Shichida books already.. hahaha.. It gonna be a big big sacrifice on my part...
Haiz.. I gonna get lots of gossips behind my back. When I decided to pursue my further education in the UK, a lot of people are telling me not to go cos I am a female... only my parents and hubby are supportive.

Choc,
I keep revising my books on and off.. lol... massage baby.. or touch baby
Then keep talking to baby... Baby needs lots of stimulation of the 5 senses. The more the better before 6 months old. And try to have a colorful environment to stimulate the visual... hee.. I did not do this.. all my cupboards and wall are white... lol...
Eh, can train baby to grab things already. hee.. I did not do this... I read that baby who are trained to grab things will do so by 3 months. And also crawling which I did not do properly...

Sophie,
Thanks for the info..is the soon kueh nice? Do they sell other kuehs as well?

Btw, where did u buy avocados? I had this drink this morning at Toa Payoh HDB hub foodcourt and it is also not nice. Too much milk and hardly can taste the avocados...

Just had dinner! Made steamed red tilapia with taucheo and stir-fry snow peas/baby corn with prawns.

Sophie,

I thought your mom is helping you with the baby?

I don't feel much urge to shop these days and I try to use drugstore skincare/bath products instead of high-end ones.I get my clothes(G2000, U2, Giordano etc) during sales.I'm quite thrifty.

Annelise,

I think I'm quite a perfectionist too.I'll be unhappy if my performance(family, work or otherwise) is below my expectation.

Lyn,

You shouldn't care about what others think, you should care about what you think.Do you think you'll feel fulfilled as a SAHM?If you don't feel like being a FTWM, why should you force yourself to be one?

lyn,
Your friends didn't give you moral support when you wanted to further your studies? Instead they tell you not to go cos you are female? Woah, I expected that to come from old folks, but from our peers, it makes me wonder what century they are living in!

Krisjoy,
My hubby LOVES their ang ku kueh too - I call him the ang ku kueh "connoiseur"! I don't like ang ku kueh at all, but this is the only one I'll eat. In fact, a lot of confinement caterers don't do ang ku kuehs as well as theirs, so we're thinking that if we're doing 1-mth buffet celebration, we may use a yummy caterer like Glory for normal menu (cos they don't have 1st mth celebration menu), then order ang ku kueh from the Alexander stall. Only $0.50 per piece. Just need to check the other customs, cos my mum said ang ku kueh for baby girls are flat kind but ang ku kueh for baby boys are the rounded kind. I think the ALexander one is the rounded kind though. Then may make our own red eggs and if Van perfects the glutinous rice recipe, I'll borrow her recipe and make that

Never tried any other kuehs there - always wanted to try the peng kueh, but end up ordering too many soon kuehs, then no room for others

A friend said the fried fish in soup in the next stall is good too, but I've also never tried it before.

For avocado, I buy from the market near my place - $4 for 3 compared to NTUC $3 for 2. The market one is also more ripe cos they don't always store in fridge whereas the NTUC does, and so it's always unripe and not ready to eat. I also find that the NTUC one, even when ripe after a few days, ripens "unevenly". The outisde is too soft, but the inside near the seed is still hard, so the seed gets stuck to the flesh, whereas the market ones ripes more evenly and the seed can come out cleanly.

Amelia,
I like ni luo hong fish steamed with taucheo!

My mum can't help with my kid cos she's looking after my sis' baby (2 mths old now). My MIL says she will retire then help me out with confinement, but I think she's already planned her overseas trips/holidays after confinement, so not sure if she wants to help look after baby permanently. Plus she stays really far from me, and is always telling me she is very busy!

I also don't shop much leh, but even buying necessitites like maternity clothes/flat shoes etc (not that expensive ones), I also feel guilty! I think I have a problem lah.

Krisjoy,
I just made my Avocado Milkshake - pretty good but cos I used the unsweetened soy milk, can really taste the avocado - too hardcore... think I'll add a bit of sugar/honey next time

I used 1 avocado + 1/4 carton of soy milk, still very thick leh. That means the avocado milkshake made by the hawker that is so diluted contains very little avocado and more water/sugar syrup, so better to make your own at home for a healthier version!

Heh, a bit bored today, so here's a pic of it! It's actually much greener but this amateur photographer is not very good with lighting

565532.jpg

Lyn,

Yeah, I almost fell off my sofa last night reading about your close-minded friends.

Sophie,

What's ni luo hong fish? Red tilapia happened to be the freshest I could find last night, so I bought it.Yeah, taucheo rocks!So appetising!

Do you think your mom can manage with a maid to assist?
Your MIL looking after baby is also a good idea.Bishan to Bukit Panjang is quite alright with a car.Or you can explore the part time work option with moms from both sides to help out a little.

Amelia,
Ni Luo Hong is Tilapia. It's freshwater fish that some pple says got muddy taste, so people mostly cook it with taucheo or lots of shallots.

Eh, my mum already has a maid who helps out with the housework, but I think really too taxing for her to look after 2 babies! My sis' baby was recently sick with phlegm and keep wanting to be rocked and carried, then I see my mum mention her back aches and all that... I think it's too much for an old lady with diabetes and hypertension to look after 2 babies that are only 6 mths apart in age! Yep, I was thinking of part-time work too, but very hard to do part-time in my previous line of work, unless I give tuition lor, but tuition no "career path", so I wonder if I'd be happy doing that also?

Haha, I was lazy at first too, but then self-made shakes are really nicer, healthier and more economical than those bought from outside. Your stick blender shouldn't be that troublesome to dig out and use? Since it's a small box only.

Eh, MacDonald's Milkshakes are back! I remember I used to love them when I was a kid, then they stopped it for a long while. Gonna go try it one of these days!

Check this out!
www.lightamillioncandles.com

Help to light a candle for the innocent victims of online child abuse - no money required.

The petition will be used to encourage governments, politicians, financial institutions, payment organisations, Internet service providers, technology companies and law enforcement agencies to eradicate the commercial viability of online child abuse.

I had Mac's chocolate milkshake yesterday.Mac's milkshakes in states are a lot more interesting.They have blueberry and banana,strawberry and banana etc, and you can even taste the bits of fruit in theirs.

I am thinking of using my big stand blender to make it.Quicker to blend all the fruits,icecream and milk at a go.Stick blender is not as powerful.

Amelia,
Woah, I didn't know Mac in US has so many flavours - I didn't step in Mac at all when I was there, cos went crazy over Carl's Jnr and In-&amp;-Out Burgers, then plus where i stay, there were lots of tex-mex fast-food outlets that do not use MSG.

Yep, stand blender will be better of course, but I don't think I've got any more storage space for that. So will just be patient and make small portions of the shakes each time

OK, going off to make my Cajun Chicken in Wholemeal Pita Bread lunch... talk to you again!

I had a lot of In-&amp;-Out Burgers, Jack In the Box and Starbucks when I was there.I particularly liked this Spicey(cajun) Chicken Burger by Jacky.Jacky and Quizno Sub commercials are very amusing!

Let's add each other on msn on of these days so we can chat more privately.I made the mistake of using my real name as my nick when registering.

Sophie,
Thanks for all the info
For the soon kueh stall, do you know what are their operating hours? I am also a great fan of ang ku kuehs and am keen to try them ;p

For avocados, how to know if they are ripe enough? Is it when they are soft to the touch?

Your milkshake defintely looks very healthy!! The presentation looks like those desserts sold at Bakerzinn
Think need to add honey to make it sweeter ya...

Is the buffet from Glory good? Let me surf their website to see what they have...cos i am planning for a house warming party when my new place is ready is looking for caterers...

Amelia,
My friend makes his own mango milkshake. I've tried his version and it is really easy to make and tasty! Just add one scoop of good quality mango ice-cream to a glass and add low-fat milk. Then stir to mix the 2 together and you have your milkshake ;p My friends uses mange ice-cream from Tom's Pallette at Shaw Gallery.

Sorry, should be lit a candle!Cannot type well on Macbook with all the keys jammed together!

Krisjoy,

Tom's Palette sounds errrr artistic?Hehe!What other brands of good icecream are there?

Lyn

Do not worry so much about the baby progress...they will be good at some point of time...indeed you are a very hardworking mum.

I think having study so much and end up at FTHW, will always invite lots of gossips...but at the end of the day, we are the one who call the shot...and most of all, we bring up the kids we wanna them to be....

Amelia,
Thanks for lighting the candle

For MSN, you've got my hotmail address? If you've only got my yahoo address, then it's the same, just replace yahoo with hotmail instead.

Hey, I also love Quizno Subs! Too bad they don't have it in Singapore - we only have Subway!

Krisjoy,
Never tried the buffet from Glory before - but I remember Annelise said she had it for her wedding and it was good, that's why I bookmarked it.
My sis used Mum's Kitchen for her baby's 1st mth celebration - the menu includes glutinous rice and ang ku kuehs. But the food was not nice at all - chicken mid-wings were bland, tom yum tang hoon was stringy and rubbery and ang ku kuehs are too chewy.

Not sure what the soon kueh stall operating hours are - if I go again, I'll check it out for you.

For avocado, yep, when they are ripe, they are slightly soft-firm, but not overly soft, and brown-green in color, sometimes totally brown but not too msuhily soft. Once ripened and you don't wanna eat it today, you can put it into the fridge and it should tahan another 2 days. The overly soft and mushy ones will be too ripe.
If you eat only half of it and keep the other half, then you can use a slice of lemon to rub on the surface of the avocado to prevent it from oxidising (turning brown). Then wrap with cling wrap and put in fridge.

The mango milkshake sounds yummy! Got ice-cream somemore! I'm starting to drink a bit of cow milk cos the dietician at my antenatal class said soymilk may not be so easily absorbed.

<font color="0000ff">Sophie,</font>
I thermal cooked chap chye yesterday,in fact that day when you said you craved for tau kee, I just bought a packet of tau kee and then saw your message.

I didn't add cabbage and tang hoon to my chap chye. Cos both my CL and my aunt said if intend to make big portion and heat up the next day, cannot add cabbage.Not good to eat overnight cabbage.As for the tang hoon,storing and reheating cause it to turn overly soft and disintegrate.

Your avocodo milk shake looks very very thick and creamy! I like the texture of avocado but dare not take too much,very high calorie.

The Bt Merah soon kueh stall sells both the flat type(for girls) and sharp/pointed type(for boys) of ang ku kueh for baby's 1st month celebration.

<font color="119911">Joy747,</font>
My hb just back from Guangzhou, and he bought Weng Wah's Egg Roll and Egg White Rolls from HKIA this time......finally.

I think I still prefer Kee Wah's egg roll more. Weng Wahs's are harder, thicker and heavier.Both the egg rolls and egg white rolls are very sweet,compared to Kee Wah's,I would need a cup of not-so-sweet coffee to go well with. The egg white roll is very thin and fluffy,it's very closed to Kee Wah's egg roll.

<font color="aa00aa">lyn,</font>
I didn't "push" my dd too hard to practice everyday, the most only 3 times a week. But guess I might need to push her a little more for her test.

I have heard the same remarks by some muscians,about how their parents(especially mother) "forced" them to learn piano, push them to practice and persist in learning, and they are grateful of what their parents have done.

But I have also heard of a case,it's my cousin's student actually...the mother forced her to learn piano, she dutifully obliged,but after she got her highest grade passed, she never want to touch piano again.

<font color="ff0000">Krisjoy,</font>

The soon kuey/ang ku kueh stall at Blk 127 Jln Bukit Merah is closed on Sunday/Public Holiday.Operating hour 8.00am to 6pm,Tel:62762287. They do take orders of ang ku kueh and glutinous rice for 1st month celebration.

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123 near main road opposite Queensway shopping centre</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh/Ang Ku Kueh</TD><TD>Blk 127 Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>also have Ku Cai Kueh/SuanPanZi</TD><TD>8am to 6pm Closed Sun/PH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ayam Penyet</TD><TD> 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02</TD><TD> Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8</TD><TD> Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Dae Mun Korean Food</TD><TD> Le Meridien Foodcourt</TD><TD> Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice</TD><TD> Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon</TD><TD> Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre</TD><TD> Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili</TD><TD> Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian Beehoon</TD><TD>AMK Ave 4 Blk 160</TD><TD> only $1.50!cheap n good</TD><TD> Avoid 1st &amp; 15th day </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBQ Seafood</TD><TD>Blk 450 Clementi Ave 3</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>11.30am-12.30am</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Soup Tulang</TD><TD>Beach Rd Golden Mile Food Ctr #B1-13 #B1-15</TD><TD>Soup Tulang/Mee goreng</TD><TD>Long waiting time/close alternate Wed </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mee Jiang Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Timah Hawker Centre</TD><TD>small/dry peanut filling/traditional version</TD><TD>cheap and good </TD></TR><TR><TD>Putu Piring</TD><TD>Haig Road S11 Food Court</TD><TD>recommended by Najip Ali</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crab Beehoon Soup</TD><TD>Blk 232 Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>Seafood</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hor Fun</TD><TD>Mei Ling St Hawker Centre/next to Multi-storey carparkk</TD><TD>chicken feet/braised duck/braised chicken hor fun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ISTIMEWA NASI PADANG</TD><TD>Stall 3 Chong Wah Restaurant Block 28 Hoy Fatt Road</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> Opens: 6.30am to 3pm closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Golden Rooster</TD><TD> blk 284 bishan st 22</TD><TD> fried chicken</TD><TD> open 5pm to 1am close on alternate wed </TD></TR><TR><TD>hill st fried kway teow</TD><TD> Blk 16 bedok south #01-187</TD><TD> fried kway teow</TD><TD> open 1030am to 730pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>longhouse miow sin popiah n carrot cake</TD><TD> lavender food ctr 380 jln besar @01-04</TD><TD> nice popiah superb carrot cake</TD><TD> open 10am - 1230am (sun-thur) 10am - 1am (fri &amp; sat) </TD></TR><TR><TD>hill st tai wah pork noodles</TD><TD> blk 466 crawford lane #01-12</TD><TD> delicious pork noodles previously at marina sq</TD><TD> open 930am - 9pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>whitley rd soon li pork porridge</TD><TD> 39 macpherson rd jackson centre macpherson kopitiam stall 31</TD><TD> pork porridge &amp; macaroni</TD><TD> open 530pm - 2am (close on alt tuesday) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lao zhong zhong five spice stall</TD><TD> 39 macpherson rd jackson centre macpherson kopitiam #01-01</TD><TD> fried five spice stuffs</TD><TD> open 12pm to 11pm (close on alt mon) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tiong bahru lien fa shui jing pau</TD><TD> alexandra village food ctr blk 120 bt merah lane 1 #01-10</TD><TD> shui jing pau esp the yam one</TD><TD> open 9am - 7pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhen Zhen porridge</TD><TD>54 Maxwell Food Centre</TD><TD>Yu Sheng porridge</TD><TD>Long wait of 30min to 1hr/closed on TUES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hua yuen porridge &amp; yu sheng</TD><TD> BLK 22A Havelock Rd 01-661G</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

Van

Thanks for info and will try kee wah next time round...

Wow the ang ku kueh sure looks very nice...

Oh yes...anyone has a nice hi tea buffer to recommend...

Van,
I didn't know this stall makes glutinous rice too! Then I don't have to make it myself!
I forgot you used to work near there right?
These pictures are great! I'll save them as a guide so next time 1st mth celebration, I'll just refer and call them.

Hope the kuehs can keep overnight, else if having the celeb on a Sunday, then they're not open.

Krisjoy,
You must try them one of these days!

For caterers, I chanced upon this thread which gave some names I never heard of, inlcu some halal and 2 Thai ones.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/546832.html?1162654345

Hi Sophie

Thanks for the thread. I am actually planning for a birthday party for my 7 year old gal. I will bring in the mcdonald party cum organiser for her, but some simple hi tea for the parents...but most parents will not stay, so just in case, I still have to cater, maybe 15 pax but I do know that those will come without warmer...anyone knows of one that come with warmer...more presentable...I know neo garden comes with container which is quite unpresentable....

Hey all!

I've uploaded the Quiznos commercial to yahoo group.Watch it and have a good laugh!

Sophie,

Will add you to MSN soon.Should all of us here add each other?

Joy,

I've read good things about Buffet Paradiz and YLS catering from this forum.

Amelia, sophie, joy
Yalor... gotta really think about it..
There are still young "lao gu dong" people around...
My mum's kids are "yan zong ding" in the relatives eyes too, cos the way my parents brought us up are different from them, and we are more "xing fu" than their kids lor.. Lots of gossips gonna come my way...

Sophie,
Looking after a baby is already very time consuming... Sometimes just baby and cooking meals, no time for other things already...
I lit the candle last month.. :p
You also on MSN frequently??

Van,
Last time, I gotta practice everyday for at least an hour a day... Actually learning the piano at a young age is good. There's a research by the British that kids with music background do well in mathematics... My mum believes in kids must learn piano so that can improve concentration in school...

Amelia,
Haha, the Quiznos commercial is very funny and out-of-tune! Makes me miss their subs sooooooo much!

Joy,
I think most caterers require a minimum of 30 pax before they provide food warmers, but maybe you can bargain and see if anyone of them can provide for 15pax.
Otherwise, if you're having it in your home, and if you have a maid to help you warm the stuff in oven, how about ordering the frozen mini pizzas, swiss rolls, eclairs, profiteroles from Amosco and then just warm them up and take them out from fridge? There's also a jelly heart cheesecake that I see mummies order in BP that is not bad, cos my ex-colleague ordered it once before. Can also make some finger sandwiches beforehand which can be served chilled too. These finger foods shouldn't require a warmer?
Then of course if not enough, can make a curry chicken beforehand which can be kept warm in a pot and fry a quick beehoon (ingredients all prechopped beforehand)?

lyn,
Yep, I'm on MSN most days - chatting with ex-colleagues and friends

Yeah, I hope when baby comes along, I'll be so busy I won't have time to worry and think about feeling guilty not working!

Van,
Forgot to ask you how's your chap chye? If cabbage and tanghoon cannot put in cos you're keeping it overnight, then what did you put in?

Amelia,sophie

Thanks for the advice.

I think I want to hand free as hope to catch up with the rest of the friends during the party so may just leave everything to caterer instead. I am not holding the party at my house, but at the condo.At least, my whole house will not be messey.

Thanks again and will check out lemon grass catere maybe....Their high tea is not bad.

Went Zi Yean Seafood today.They have shifted from Stirling road to BLK 56,Lengkok Bahru.This time they have a coffee shop set up of zi char plus a chinese restaurant,just next to each other.

Their Dou Su Soon Hock is very fresh and yummy with lots of Dou Su spreaded on the fish. Shang4 Tang1 Xian3 Cai4 and Kam Heong Chicken tasted slightly different from before.

Lyn,
I didn't read into details the advantage of learning music on children's other aspects of development.But I did notice the effect on my dd. She is more perisistent and do not give up trying easily. She get very frustrated when she started learning a new tune and couldn't get it right, but once she perfects it, can sense her satisfaction and sense of achivement. Good way to reinforce the never-give-up,practise makes perfect attitude.

Learning music also helps her in other areas like ballet and her concert dance performance.

Sophie,
I didn't add any meat to my chap chye, but I still like it,I can finish one big bowl of just chap chye with a small bowl of rice.

My chap chye has garlic, tau kee, dried lily bulbs,and black fungus. I only add tang hoon when I eat the chap chye the next day.Sometimes I also add in the sweet,flat tau kee.

Eh van n soph, both of you velly good photographers leh !

soph, your milk shake looks so pro.. children will find it appetizing !

lyn and joy, agree with both of you! My friends also asked me not to continue my BSC aft they knew I wanted to be a SAHM ..
They told me I was wasting my money.. haha..

not that I'm having fun taking care of these 3, but I appreciate the time that I have with them, teaching and guiding them principles..
My dds always comes back to share about what happened in sch and I'm glad to be around to listen to them..

Hey van, dd1 chose marrionette dance and gypsy dance and sing my grandfather's clock.. Teacher training them all the solfege (about 16 tunes).. Some songs from bk 3 and 4 are compulsory.. so there are LOTS to practise..

My dd is like yours, when she can't do the song well, she'll be upset and wants to give up, once she gets it, I'll hear the same song everyday !

van, tian xia very far leh!

YO MEOWZ, your bb looks so cute.. quite a lot of hair leh.. mine like goby desert .. hehe..

Starz, my dd2 says she wants your bb!

lyn, thanks for sharing ! My bb loves the musical mobile in his cot cos it's very colourful.. and he gurgles to the ceiling fan when it's spinning!

Annelise, we can plan the activities.. yet to find a chinese class .. You still planning to bake for your BIL's wedding ? I can't liao
.. My Bro asked me to forget it.. think he scared I make him lose face .. He has 400 guests !

me no time to come in past few days.. ayden admitted for jaundice on last fri, till yesterday, progress still v slow..
rite now still waiting for PD's call, to see if today can come home...
i've been crying almost everyday whenever i see him cos "she bu de" leave him there... n i spend almost e whole day there for e past 3 days liaoz...

Van,
After reading your post, today feel like making braised tau kee again. This time, I am trying something different - instead of using soy sauce, I washed and baked some ikan bilis till fragrant, then will put them into a grinder to make them into powder form as seasoning for my braised tau kee, lotus root and carrot, instead if using soy sauce.
Dietician said 2tbsp of ikan bilis = 1 glass of milk, so am trying to incorporate more calcium into my diet

Choc,
My milk shake pic looks pro, but actually taste not so nice, cos not sweet

starz,
Sorry to hear about Ayden being admitted.
Don't worry so much - cos jaundice is pretty common right?
How high is the jaundice number?
Most importantly, if the docs tell you not to breastfeed, must challenge and ask them why.
Cos my sis didn't ask, and just fed the baby formula as what the docs suggested. After that, her baby didn't want breastmilk anymore (cos too tiring to suck probably), and then her milk supply also dried up in a month.
FYI - my sis baby's jaundice number was only 9+, and her doc told her to feed formula. My friend's baby's jaundice number is 11+, and still continued with breastfeeding.

Spent whole night and whole morning today trying to install driver for my CD-writer. Download the driver for win XP from HP site,still couln't get it work.HEADACHE!
567201.gif

Starz,
Not to worry too much of Ayden's jaundice, like Sophie said, it's quite common for new born to have jaundice. As a new mum ,you will be very worried and Sim Tia, but do take care of yourself, cos you are still on confinement.

Do you take hospital's confinement food, or your mum cooked and bring to the hospital for you? Do eat well and rest when possible so that you have the energy to take care of Ayden when he's back from hospital.

Sophie,
I left out 1 ingredient, the dried mushroom! I added quite a lot of mushroom to my chap chye, cos my dd also likes to eat mushroom.

Your braised tau kee is very unusual, has lotus root?!

Choc,
My dd also chose Grandfather Clock and Gypsy Dance,but the other song hasn't confirmed yet.Hey, I don't even know that there are 16 tunes for solfege! Think her music teacher only play 4 to 5 each time, I didn't consciously list down all of them, must go through all the old notes liaoz.

I am also glad that I am around to listen to my dd's updates of what's happening in school, and have time to sit down with her to do her homework,learn spelling/Ting Xie with her, and practise her music and ballet dances. I am sure if I am working full time, I definitely won't have the time and energy to go through all these with her.

Sophie,
thanks for the recipe. Will try out this weekend.

Starz,
don't worry. Ayden will be fine in no time.
My baby was also warded for jaundice. His jaundice level was 21 at the highest. I still went to the hospital breastfeed him, or my husband will send the ebm to the nurses and they will cup feed the baby.
U must take good care of yrself. I went to the hospital daily till 3-4am during baby stay there. Now always aching all over.