Cooking Tips & Recipe

Krisjoy,
Glad to get update from you.So you all having babies with good weight,not too big, not too small, 3kg+ just nice.

Starz,
My friend's tummy totally flat during her first visit to gynae after giving birth.(so coincidentally, her gynae also Dr Kee).Even Dr Kee also commented that her "Tyre" completely flatten.

Sophie,
What happen to your hb? Saw him alright that day mah?!

annlee,
partly your char kway teow pict,partly becos my hb ate it yesterday for lunch, but his is without hum.

lyn,
why you don't like your pressure cooker liaoz? I remember you have two right? My Indian neighbour uses it to cook beans everyday.There are vegetarian,so eat lots of beans everyday.

Joy,
You are very good, still can control.Just one day, I have already eaten half of the almond cookies liaoz.

For me... just said I want to cut down food , eat less,eat healthily, but I have just taken my red bean glutinous rice.

Today's Experiment:

555780.jpg

Slightly better than the other day's, still need lots of improvement. My 3rd try will only be after I learn from neighbour liaoz.

I used the water from cooking red bean to cook the rice.More nutritious, but the glutinous rice lost the shine.

lyn, sp & rena,
Thanks! Yes, excited to see ah girl soon!
My rashes has improved...now less itchy but marks still there..hopefully will improve after delivery ;p

twinkle,
It's true lah...old people used to say that big buttocks can give birth easier...hahaha..

Sophie and Starz,
Seems that we all have the same 'assets'..
The doc inserted his fingers into the V area to determine if dilated or not and plevis big enuff for natural delivery. I have heard from some mummies that cervix checking is quite painful but for my case it is not leh...Maybe gynae is gentle lor...Sophie, what happened to your hubby? Hope he is ok and u take care too. I had flu last week but gynae said if no fever then baby will not be harmed...

starz, Van, Krisjoy,
I think the bad air in China killed hubby's throat... bacteria infection, now on antibiotics.
He also wears a mask at home to try and not pass the germs to me

I'm asking about the fruits cos I'm trying to cut down on the overly sweet stuff too... but I love the Australian rockmelon and watermelon. Wonder if drinking tons of water will help flush out the sugar....

Van,
So this red bean version is the sweet type yeah? How come your glutinous rice so dark, issit cos of the red bean water?

Van,
i know of such a "miracle" too.. i got a new colleague, came back to our annual D&D this year within 1mth of giving birth, n she look slimmer than me leh... but i guess these r reli e super lucky ones... i got HALF tat luck can "tou xiao" liaoz....

krisjoy,
eeeerrrrr.... im quite scare of cervix check too.. jia lat.. tmr my turn..
*haiz*.. i rather dont have tat "asset" leh.. very difficult to find nice bottoms to wear leh...
now my turn to have itchy tummy liaoz.. esp at nite.. sometimes i just start scratching in my sleep, until i realise it, quickly go toilet splash abit of water on e area to soothe it....

eh... can ask e "food n chemistry" experts here hor... "bah zhang" (rice dumpling) is made of glutinous rice rite? is it super high in carbohydrates??? or sugar??????? im wondering could it be e bah zhang (with sweet sauce somemore) breakfast i took on monday contributing to e sugar level also...
kao_confused.gif

sophie,
i think rockmelon sugar content shd be quite high as its so sweet... i've been told not to take liaoz... u can probably still take, BUT IN MODERATION.. i was taking it once weekly... maybe u cut down to once fortnightly, or monthly shd be better???
but hor.... i read in this "Juice cookbook" tat i bought, rockmelon plus dont know wat juice, is suppose to regulate a non-pregnant body's sugar level leh.....
kao_confused.gif
so wat is right???

starz,
You ate that bah zhang just before going to see gynae issit?
It could be that, cos I think glutinous rice contains more simple carbohydrates which converts into sugar immediately/faster after eating.
Things like brown rice and oats, which are complex carbo, takes a longer time to convert into sugar slowly, and thus releases energy more efficiently and slowly.

Arghhhhhhhh.... very sad if I can only take my rockmelon once a week! I eat the equivalent of 1 slice every day now, cos so yummy when chilled!
*sigh* Guess have to look for alternatives

Van

Not good ..its ai sui....I used to need lots of discipline but not now...In the past, quite crazy, I count all my calories intake....But, after years..I realised that when its become a habit of not eating so much, you will not even feel like eating it even when you see it....So, I have gained the enlighterment?

starz: rice is a carbohydrate that will be broken down in simpler sugars like glucose, and WILL contribute to sugar levels in the bloodstream.

hi Rena, Patsy,
Forgot to welcome you cos too many postings to read just now!
Here's a BIG welcome

So are you girls working or SAHMs?

wah.. you all really got lots to share... from pads to food.. miss the discussions !

van, yah.. your glut rice looks good ! Must try to figure out how to use the thermal to cook it..

I'm into plants .. just planted some mint leaves, pandan and limau purut leaves..all for makan.. will see how it goes, cos the last time, I planted, all "matied"!

Hey cookie, I not super liao.. now I sub my dinner and housework to my sis' maid.. I just do lunch and caring of the kids.. and also zzz in the afternoon..

Have you all tried frying mee tai mak ? I tried frying it with minced pork, button mushrooms , fish cake , veg and tau gei, add oyster sauce , was quite tasty..

Hey lyn, yah TBF now, so got to watch what I eat.. lots of fish for my diet now. I always buy whole batang fish from Shop and save..

How come your papaya soup smelly huh ? Got add ginger boh ? I cook the soup with grey mullet fish and added some peanuts.. The next day, when I re heated it , my ang said the smell was weird ..

Heng chye and ikan bilis soup also will boost milk flow

starz, you are next.. must tell us when bb pop for now..eat and enjoy while you can, now, wherever I go, bb has to follow, cos I'm his cow..

Soph, my gynae says piles more common in preggie ladies, but mine is reversed.. no hum for now, haven't touched any yet.. soon lah..

Annelise, what you baking now ? I can't wait for the ikea at Tampines to be opened.. want to eat the fried chicken wings..

Have been boiling pumpkin soup with nan bei xing for my girls , so that their phlegm will be loosen.. your girls ok ?

HELLO SISTER CAT, CONGRATS TO YOU ! REST AND EAT WELL ! STEADY HOR !

Hey Choc,
I'm also into plants! But all my plants like basil, mint and sage all dried up, maybe cos my home got no direct sunlight but yet hot like greenhouse. Only surviving ones are my tie shu and money plant.
Let me know if pandan and the limau purut (I guess it's lime?) easy to maintain or not!

annlee,
Your hubby went to Perth for biz trip? How long will he be away this time?

oops, I also forgot to welcome patsy & rena!

recipes and pics pls, hehehe........

van,
yr glutinous rice looks really good, I'm so tempted to try but I have to resist trying so soon ... skali no one wanna eat I gotta eat the whole 500g... pengz man... lol...

patsy and rena WELCOME!!

sophie, my hb went there for some banking stuff not biz trip. Flying this morning and come back tomorrow hee.... he wanted to get earlier flight at 11.25am tomorrow but need to pay A$90 for the fee so might as well stick to his original departing time at 3pm

Btw, do you know any 'ho liao' to buy in Perth? Think he got plenty of time to shop tomorrow.

KrisJoy
I rem u said u owned a belling. Can I chk if we are supposed to lift up the metal pc roof when baking?
There is also a metal pc at the top in the oven itself? What function does it serve. Sorry that I have so many questions. Cos I inherited this oven but I lost the operating manual.

Eh sp, I also flopped my glutinous rice before.. I tried a small portion only, then buang liao !My rice is always too soft..

Eh soph, pandan quite hardy , but limau purut ( yah..think it's lime leaves for tom yam soup)I still dunno.. my friend had one in her garden and worms kept attacking it.. Growing some orchirds too, using rice water and fish water to water it..

Hey rena, I steam fish using the lee kum kee sauce, easy and nice and the lee kum kee braise chicken sauce also tasty.. can try chicken with slice potatoes..

van and soph, my ang came back from HK last fri ! Next time, will see whether we can meet at the airport ..

Hi Choc!
Glad to "see" You!

Hope to meet up with you soon! May be 1 day we have a gathering in the East.Quite a number of you staying in the East.

I thought Grey Mullet's smell quite strong? Can keep overnight?

I used to grow Pandan Leaves,very convenient for cooking dessert,but now all matied liaoz.Cos during dd's hospitalization, I never take care at all.My neighbour gave me the small pot,travelled from Malaysia. I grew it to big pot with lots of branches,very sayang.

I tried stir-fry bee-tie-bak before,added Bai Cai,chicken strips,prawns, mushrooms.

SP,
I experimented with very small portion of glutinous rice each time, 1/2 cup to 1cup the most,though still a lot for myself to finish.

Sophie,
The red bean water did make the rice turned light brown after thermal cooked.I also added some dark soya sauce, that's why my rice is Or-lu-lu.

Hey cupcake, solly kaypoh a bit here.. good inheritance you have ! I got a bb belling too.. the metal roof don't need to open.. Think the metal pc serves no function..

I tried grilling satay and chick wings before.. not bad.. but must jagar the heat cos mine burnt !

van, now I can only go out when my dds are at sch
, holiday I'll be velly immobile liao ! So when sch reopens, hopefully we can lim kopi together..
Pulling dd out from yamaha liao.. ang can't take it already..

I fried the mullet before making the soup .. then kept it over night and reheated it.. didn't spoil..

Choc,
During the long holiday, may be sign you DDs up for some 1 day holiday camp? Keep them occupied and also free yourself a littlebit?

So have you started 1-to-1 music lesson for DD1? DD2 hasn't started her music lesson yet?

My dd is pestering me to buy tickets for Bob the Builder show and Hello Kitty show.Even copied down the date,time and venue to "remind" me.My hb said since it's at downtown east,may be can also book a chalet there.You plan to bring your DDs for the show?

Thanks choc for the information!!! I kinda rem the operating manual was not v clear also...My mom would sometimes open the top with a chop stick. Only bad thing is that it doesnt hv a glass window. Cannot c wat is going on inside.

van, was also looking for holiday camps.. the longer the better.. hehe.. or some short courses to occupy both of them..

dd2 is interested in Bob but dd1 is not .. when's the hello kitty show ? Going to start dd1 1 on 1 music and dd2 with yamaha.. thought ang should attend from the beginning since I sat in 2 yrs with dd1 liao..

No worries cupcake, I know, very insecure when using belling, I kept opening the oven door to check the cake..

sophie,
Ya, better dun eat too much glutinous rice now. Might get indigestion, which can result in heart burn...
I think I might be the few lucky ones... I got lots of milk and gotta control the supply... :p I think oatmeal, brown rice, five grains, all help in milk production... I read these in books and I follow and it works for me
I have not read about fish and papaya though... :p
Yes, lotus root is very good for pregnancy, for confinement and breastfeeding too... I often boil lotus root with black beans soup
I think this also helps in milk production...

starz,
Brain development ah... Must stimulate baby's five senses
hahaha.. I try to eat raw walnut and almond nuts daily - good for the brain.. kekeke... Yesterday and today never eat, cos no more supply.. gotta go buy already.. I suppose soya beans is good too, cos that's where lecithin is usually extracted from. Recently, I just read about flaxseed oil is good, but I dunno where to buy yet...
To me, the most important is baby's brain development. Physical development is also very important for the brain development. Hence, I bring Aloysius for swimming a few times a week. I started the visual stimulation from 2nd week. Remember to keep talking and talking to baby, it's for auditory stimulation. Massage and touch baby often for the tactile stimulation. Now, when I am cooking and cutting vege, I will take those that has smell for Aloysius to smell.. hahaha.. sometimes I let him taste the fruit I eat. He licks only... This is taste stimulation...
Do you read Chinese books?? I read books by Makoto Shichida in Chinese. I also read books by Glen Doman. Shichida method is modified version of Glen Doman, I feel. There's lots of knowledge that Glen Doman have not publish in his books.
aiyo.. I can write very very long when talk about infants' "education"... lol.... later read till you all "cock-eye" and bored... :p

Van,
I got a pressure cooker from Tefal... It's not good. It can leak from the sides and the pressure hole. Make my stove dirty. I am still using it, but looking for alternatives already cos no time to keep cleaning every time wor...
Wah... your glutinous rice looks good...

Choc,
Try not to eat anything with MSG when TBF
MSG will affect baby's brain development.
I did not add ginger to the soup...
hmm... try not to eat overnite food for confinement leh.. I also eat a lot of heng chye.. Most of the times, when I boil my five grains and brown rice porridge, will throw in heng chye.

Re: sugar
Maybe you gals will not think the same as me.. I think sugar from fruits are natural, and will not really cause diabetes. It's those processed sugar that got to watch out for. Plus all the hidden sugars in lots of food such as cookies, cakes, breads, biscuits, processed drinks, preserved fruits, etc. I still eat grapes daily during my pregnancy... Usually gynae will advice against sweet tasting fruits...

Today, my lunch and dinner will be the same. Five grains plus brown rice porridge with black beans and heng chye

Choc,
Check out Community Club's or People Association's web sites later, they should have some holiday camps.Comparatively, they are also cheaper. But I think they haven't started updating yet.

I am thinking of some fun Chinese holiday camp,need to "immerse" her in a mandarin speaking environment,let her feel the "fun" of learning Mandarin/Chinese before she starts P1.

Hello Kitty is 2-15 Dec.
556063.gif

http://www.downtowneast.com.sg/events/

Your ang so Kuai, willing to sit in with DD2 for music?!
556064.gif

ya lor.. i did eat a bah zhang before gynae visit, n did tell him i had tat for breakfast.. but he never "pick" on tat, but rather picked on e grapes n plum i ate e nite before...
kao_confused.gif
mayb tomorrow i go clarify with him again...

choc n lyn...
hehehe.. thanks for the "wealth of information" from both of u... i learn so much here... as no time to be "researching" all these info myself...

lyn,
how old is aloysius already?? sori, forgive my preggie brain... u staying in condo? or bring him to public pool.... i also very keen on bring my bb to swim as early as possible.. but abit concerned abt e "hygiene" level in public pool..
i can read chinese... but no patience to read chinese book... english one can, i read super fast in english...

is there any other name for Heng Chye??? how does it look like?? i never heard before leh... mayb i not familiar with hokkien terms.... pls.. interpreters?????

oh.... i see before at market.. but dont think my mum cook before....
thank u very much!!!!!

going over to share all these new info with my mum over dinner liaoz.... hehehehe....

Hi cupcake,
I was told that only need to open up the upper flab when u have continuous baking, like during Chinese New Year. Otherwise no need to open it. As for the bottom of the oven, I did not touch it leh, just leave it there...

Ya, the bad thing about Belling is that u can't see the progress of the baking. Good thing is that the temperature control is very even...

Sophie,

Your hub on MC is not a bad thing too, can spend more time with you.

Krisjoy,

You're next! When my turn comes, I'll definitely kan cheong like anything!

Van,

The Hello Kitty Yew Tee shop brought in lots of items(too many to list).Looks perfect for your dd when she starts P1 next year.If you need help getting anything, let me know and I'll get them for you.

annlee,
I've never been to Australia before leh, so dunno what they're famous for... I only know my hubby's auntie always buys nougat, but so sticky and sweet and unhealthy... better not buy!

Choc,
Woah, you're very ambitious growing orchids, cos not easy to maintain leh! Pandan is good, the smell can help get rid of cockroaches I heard
so you should have a pest-free house!

lyn,
Thanks for all that info on the stuff that helps in breastfeeding supply

After you told me about the Shichida method, I checked out his books, but all in Chinese and I cannot handle Chinese well. Will check out Glenn Doman this time

For flaxseed oil, you can buy them in capsule form from Nature Farm, or you can buy them in a bottle liquid form from some Nature Farms, GNCs or some organic shops. I think the Melrose organic bottle one only selling for $30+.

Van,
This heng chye is yim choi in Cantonese? Altho I think the normal yim choi got no purple centre?
If heng chye = yim choi, then I am banned from eating it now cos my mum read from a Taiwanese book that yim choi causes uterine contractions, but maybe it's good for after birth.

Amelia,
Heee... my hubby slept the whole afternoon cos I think he's probably too stressed and tired out from his trip

Cooked porridge for him today cos his throat is bad and cannot swallow overly hard stuff.

Good morning ladies!

starz,
Aloysius is coming to 5 months soon. I started to bring him swimming since 12 weeks old
I read a book that it's good to start between 6 and 16 weeks, so I "cheong" to start his swimming
Must get at least a swim diaper just in case baby poo in the pool. It is rather unhygienic and messy if that happens...

Van,
Thank you for interpreting...

During your DD P1 registration, which phase did you fall under? hee... KPO here :p Do you know if Sengkang Pri is good??

sophie,
If you really wanna consider stimulating your baby from birth, and learn how to enhance baby's visual and motor skills, I will recommend "HOw smart is your baby" by Glen Doman. Need to prepare some things even before baby's arrival. By following some things from the book (not all, cos no time), Aloysius can lift up his head on his tummy, flip, eyes following someone at a distance, sit with support, by two months old. I dunno whether the development is fast or not... When I revised the book a few days ago, it was stated that if I have done the motor skills stimulation properly since birth, baby should be able to crawl at 3 months.. hmm... I have not done that consistently and properly lor... Aloysius can only lift up his buttock and hands separately now...
Thank you... I will go Nature Farm and have a look. What I read is that flaxseed oil cannot be subjected to heat and light, cos the nutrients will be lost... dunno whether those off the shelves flaxseed oil will still have the nutrients...

sophie,yeah.. I don't like nougat too...always worry whether will break my teeth when having a bite on it.

lyn,Aloysius is coming to 5 months... same to my nephew. Do you put Aloysius to the walker now? Does he like to stand?

morning everyone!

lyn,
Saw your recommendation on the book by Glen Doman...seems interesting. Were did u get the book from? I am keen to take a look leh

sophie, do you take DHA capsule? I read in the papers quite sometimes back recommending fish oil on some brands that carries no mercury or organic types of oil, do you know where can I get them?

krisjoy, when are you going to delivery? Excited to see bb face right?

lyn,
The Nature Farm flaxseed oil in capsules comes in a dark glass bottle on shelves, and the Melrose bottle comes in a white opaque bottle stored in fridge, so should be ok. Just try not to buy those bottles of oil that is not in the fridge. There's another bottle (cannot remember brand)... black bottle with blue label with a "sun like" logo from USA, also not bad cos I've tried it before. I've seen organic shops store them in fridge before.

annlee,
Yep, I take fish oil
but since preggie, I've switched from the normal type to the prenatal kind, cos prenatal type (Neurogain) contains a lower dosage of EPA. Overly high EPA may cause uncontrolled bleeding in labour.
Normal ones that are recommened in papers cos of low toxic levels or good processes to get rid of toxins are :-
- Nordic Naturals
- Shaklee
- Usana

The first 2 brands can be found in most Guardian, but the last one is an MLM brand in Singapore.

Krisjoy,
I checked out the Glenn Doman book at libraries, all on loan! I think a lot of young parents read them

Kino bookweb shows that they sell them too. Aiyah, if we knew this a bit earlier, last weekend Borders got 30% cut-out coupon! Heee... I should have been more "on" about asking lyn these stuff

Good morning ladies !

Wah lyn, thanks for the info.. I've got no time to read books nowadays.. so your info really helps ! Can't wait to go swimming.. didi is 2 months liao.. is there a special diaper for swimming ?

didn't know MSG affects the brain development.. when we were in china, the food outside is all "spiked" with MSG, and aft eating, dd2 will be tau hong and jumpy ..

Think I better eat like you.. your diet is so healthy healthy ! Yesterday I made heng chye porridge for dds and me.. threw in some meatballs and use ikan bilis as stock..

Eh van, ang boh pian liao.. he got no music background, so he will go for training.. hehe.. A friend's hb sat thru with his 2 kids ( 4 yrs in total!)

My dd2 also needs immersion in chinese.. going for pri one orientation tomorrow.. when's yours ? You packing food for dd's recess or giving her money to buy food ? Thanks for the hello kitty info

Hey starz, are you using any bottles for your EBM ? I took alot from the TMC nursery and found that they are not as good as the advent ebm plastic bags.. those bags are really convenient and cheap..and very easy to thaw and reheat..

Eh soph, yah.. testing orchirds only.. to CONFIRM that I really don't have green fingers.. I also bought one gebbera(sunflower)..my house not pest free since yr 2000.. got 2 big pests and 1 baby pest..

Hey Kris, when you due ?

sophie, that's the brand I'm looking for..thanks!

About Glenn Doman book, I think is very exp right...about 1k+. And shichida method using flashing cards, my hb friend says need alot of patience for that. Actually I wanted to enrol Shichida for my son when he's 18 mths old... but I'm very impatient type of person...afraid that will only do a fews time and lazy to flash card to my son. Not cheap too..

Choc,
Sunflower can grow in a pot? How long did it last?
I got a bit of green fingers, but my flat not conducive cos no sunlight. Next time move must move to something liek LittleCat's type, face east got nice morning sun type. I had a tomato plant last time... very nice leh, eating my own homegrown tomato

Heee... don't say that about your kids! If it's real cockroach pests, I can lend you my cats to catch them...

annlee,
Which brand are you buying? I think Nordic is the one with lemon flavour for those who are sensitive to fish smell.
About the Glenn Doman book, I think 1k is the whole kit issit? cos Kino bookweb says avg per book is about $30+ I think

annlee,
Aloysius loves to stand and jump now. Sometimes very tiring... hahaha.. the parents get tired before he gets tired...
I am "brainwashed" from the books I read. I think walker is not good for baby's development. Crawling on all fours is very very important for baby's language development. It's about the brain development when babies crawl. I did not crawl, then can walk already... I told my mum maybe that's why my languages so poor in school... hahaha...
Aloysius has a pass me down walker. But I leave it in JB :p Maybe just sit in that once a month...

Krisjoy,
For a start, you can read up on "How to multiply your baby's intelligence". I got the hardcover version and cost me $60+. I have it in softcopy too. My friend shared it with me after I bought the book. PM me your email address that accept big files.. I can send to you

Another book that is very good from newborn to 1 year old will be "How smart is your baby". I am a believer of Glen Doman's method. The most recent book is by his son, Douglas Doman, and is about swimming
I have yet to buy that book.

Sophie,
Thank you for the information... I will go and look out for the "sun like" logo one... hee.. if you go shopping and saw, let me know ok? Thank you in advance
If you go to Junction 8 to shop, if have, let me know ok? Cos I go Junction 8 very often

Glen Doman books at libraries have long reservation list, I think... That's the feedback I got from my friend.

hee... I also read books by William Sears and Martha Sears. It's about attachment parenting
I also believes in attachment parenting. When Bishan library just opened, they have all the new books by William Sears, and I rushed to the library to browse and borrow. hahaha... But now, all on loan already...
I read Tracy Hogg book, but not for me... cos my situation got worse after following the tips in there...

Anyone knows how to cook "lei cha"??

I think it's healthy and very tasty
My hubby also likes it when I brought him to a stall in JB to eat "lei cha".

lyn,
OK, later if I go to my mum's place, I may pass by J8, will check out for you

Aiyah, you're the one who rushed to get all the books from Bishan Library!
I went there 1 week after it opened, eh, nothing much on the shelves! Only some pregnancy books which they put on lowest shelf... very silly... which preggie woman can squat so low to pick them up?

You also like lei cha? It's my hubby and my favourite, but my kind of Hakka don't eat lei cha, so I don't know how to make it. A stall in China Square Foodcourt sells very good lei cha and comes in brown rice option too. I think they even open on some Sundays cos I ate there on a Sunday before.

annlee,
I m delivering at Gleneagles..yalor, very excited to see bb's face ;p The book is so expensive one ah $1000??? Btw, i also take the DHA pills but I got mine from gynae. $29 per bottle.

Sophie,
Thanks for the lead. Will check out Kinokuniya this weekend for the book.

Choc,
I am due in about 2 weeks' time. Almost the same time as Starz...how is it coping with your didi? I intend to let baby sitter take care of bb when she is 3 months old. Then at least I have one month to test out baby sitter and make changes if necessary. Otherwise need to get back to work liao..

Good Morning!

Just back from Cold Storage @ Rail Mall.

Annelise,
Cold Storage does sell both Karo dark and light corn syrup but now light corn syrup is out of stock.It could be an island wide OSS situation,since there is only one distributor of Karo in Singapore.Unless you can find shops that still have left-over stocks.

Sophie,
Yes,Heng Chye is Yim Choy is Cantonese.Didn't know that it also has this problem,like pineapple and papaya,learned something new again.

Amelia,
Thanks for your infor on the Yew Tee HK items.Will go take a look soon.Thanks for offering to help me to buy, but don't need lah, cos I go there quite often.Taka is having a Sanrio fair now, are you aware? Just SMSed my friend who works in Taka to ask whether there is a lot of stuff or not.
556516.gif

Choc,
Your DD1's orientation is so early! Mine is 18 Nov.I will pack snack as well as give her some money.But I am worried, if left to her to buy, she will sure buy the deep fried stuff, and crackers....her favourites!
556517.gif

A male friend of mine actually sat in with his niece for Yamaha's music class for 2 years,cos the girl's parents have no background in music and not really keen to let their dd take up music.We all said he is very Wei3 Da4 uncle.

lyn,
My dd's P1 registration falls under Phase 2A1,a big relief to me.Cos her school usually needs balloting for Phase 2C, so glad that we escaped that!
556518.gif
Not sure about schools in Sengkang...I am the typical West person...

Krisjoy,
I also delivered at Gleneagles,their service is very good.I remembered when I had blood "flushing" down when I stood up the day after delivery,the nurses asked me to lie back on bed and cleaned up for me.My colleague's wife who delivered at Mt E, having same problem, the nurses asked her to go to the bathroom and wash up herself!

Krisjoy,
Try Kino bookweb - http://www.kinokuniya.com.sg/site/?m=100&f=100
Go under "English Book Search" and type in author name "Doman", you'll see the pricing and the titles. Unfortunately, they don't put the number of stock, but some got content page, so quite informative!
E.g.
How Smart Is Your Baby? : Develop and Nurture Your Newborn's Full Potential-Price:SGD31.04
How to Multiply Your Baby's Intelligence(PAP) -US-Doman, Glenn J. / Doman, Janet / Publisher:Square One Pub Published 2005/11 SGD28.71

Van,
Railmall Cold Storage big or not? A few times I asked my MIL to go there makan so I can go there shop afterwards, but she gives all kinds of excuese
I also suggested the yu tou lu near Courts, then she came up with another excuse. Finally I realised my MIL is nto very adventurous, only likes to go eat at Ten Mile Junction!

For the yim choy thing, I think my mum is more kan cheong cos of my history and my sis' history of premature births, that's why she spent some time to read up on these preggies do and don'ts and confinement stuff.

Blood "flushing"??? **faintz**

choc,
There are swim diapers. Cheapest is from mothercare. Else get the disposable ones from huggies. Must buy the size that just fit, else will leak if baby poo poo. Then on top of diaper, wear swimming trunk...
double protection.. kekeke...

Gotta start slow with baby. The pools here are not heated, so gotta hug baby first and let him get used to the cold water first. Cannot suddenly put him in the water. hee... to me, the cold water is also a form of stimulation of baby's skin
Whole body stimulation... Save me the trouble of stimulating different places :p I also read in Shichida book that should not wrap baby up or put them in warm places. Cold can stimulate their skin, and also they will not catch cold easily. But I get weird looks from a lot of parents and grandparents when I bring my boy out :p cos I dun wrap him up since birth.

My hubby also asked me if he can learn the piano fast and teach Aloysius.. hahaha... but not easy leh...

Trying to avoid MSG is not easy in Singapore. Even in western restaurant, also got MSG. I usually gotta eat fresh salads. Go high-tea, I also eat the salads...

annlee, sophie,
The 1k+ is for the sets of cards. From the books, you can DIY the cards to save money. There are detailed instructions in the books. But I think DIY the cards is a lot of work. I bought all the cards, and already panting just changing the cards daily. Last two weeks slowed down the program liao cos I am very busy and Aloysius not interested... Gotta try to pick up the pace again...

I am considering going for Shichida class for a term to know the know-how...

k k.. I gotta go out liao...

hi hi, ladies! it's friday!!!

lyn,
thanks for sharing about bb brain development! yr aloysius's physical development is very advanced for his age! hmm, any idea what we can do with toddlers? I don't know how to educate or stimulate my kid.

choc,
u so bad, say yr lovely kids "pests" kekeke...

starz,
everyday must come in here to "report" if quiet-quiet we may think u deliver already, hehehe!

van, choc,
how come I never thought of trying small portion? silly me... but then, skali turn out well not enough to eat? hehehe......

re: yam cake
this morning wanted to cook this, but my hh woke up early and took away 30 mins of my precious time, even my hb helped me to cut up the yam also no time to cook. In the end all the ingredients just stuffed into the fridge and off we rushed to work.

has anyone tried this dish and any tips for me? I'm using Pris' recipe (half recipe) as her original recipe is for 15-20 ppl.

Sophie,
Cold Stoarge at Rail Mall is quite small actually, but still managed to get things that I couldn't find in NTUC Lot 1.And only recently then I know that they sells Half of a whole roast chicken for $2.90.I always thought need to buy the whole chicken.

You MIL is like my hb,not adventurous in food.This morning I asked him to eat at Rail Mall,at first he also refused.Finally went there, still complain this complain that.

My gynae said the blood is "old" blood, nothing to worry about.

Choc,
NTUC sells swim diapers as well.

SP,
I learned some tips of cooking glutinous rice from my neighbour yesterday.Her MIL said she doesn't know how to tell me, so wanted to watch me doing,but I didn't want to make it so soon,so only got verbal instruction from my neighbour.

She said her MIL soak the rice overnight, then steam it WITHOUT adding any water!!!! This is a SURPRISE but BIG tip!

Tip No.2-Fry lots of shallots till crispy,dish out,then use the oil to fry the hay bee, pork and mushroom.

She cooked the mushroom and belly pork strips over very very small fire,after adding the seasoning,that's why it's very Ru4 Wei4.

Final tip-she didn't add any more dark soya sauce when the rice is added to the meat,the tossing and mixing slowly will turn the rice into light brown colour,

Van,
$2.90 for half a roast chicken?! That's cheaper than making it ourselves, inclu the electricity bills for roasting!
That's what I miss about Cold Storage - they have that nice deli area where they sell chicken steaks, roast chicken and even roast duck at some places. NTUC don't have, so very sian. I was so happy one of the NTUCs closed down near my place
But with it the POSB ATM also gone! *sigh*

Yeah, I didn't know my MIL is like that, till after a few rejected suggestions, my hubby told me as a boy, he used to eat at the same hawker centre every weekend... I asked him so many different hawker centres around, why must always go to the same one? His reply was that his parents are like that, till one day he grumbled and cried about it, and his mum still insisted on eating the same thing at the same hawker centre! Poor thing!