<font color="0000ff">Choc,annlee,Sophie,</font>
You gals are very encouraging,my glutinous rice is really not up to standard, but you all still gave me encouragement.
Look at this,cooked by my neighbour's MIL and you will know why I said mine is not good:
I think I really have makan luck.I was craving for glutinous rice, especially those with Red bean ones.Made some myself, not satisfactory, then
at night my neigbour gave me a plate,cooked by her MIL visiting from Penang.
I am trying to learn from my neighbour's MIL all her tips of making such yummy and good looking glutinous rice,but will need translation by my neighbour,cos I sometimes can't "catch" her Penang-accent Hokkien.
<font color="ff0000">Sophie,</font>
I have tried savoury red bean glutinous rice twice at Food Street in Yaohan Plaza Singapura when I was a kid.Miss it so much. Other Japanese red bean rice are usually just red bean with glutinous rice,with black seasame seeds sprinkled on top.
Are you are referring to red bean glutinous rice, or just glutinous rice steamed using thermal pot?
If you are craving for red bean,try using your Endo thermal pot to make it.It saved a lot of time,don't even need to soak over night.Boil over stove for 5 to 10 mins, transfer to thermal pot, after about 1.5 hours,it's very soft liaoz. Boil over stove again until it thickened, then add sugar.
If you are referring to the glutinous rice, I just tell you roughly first, cos I am still experimenting, and I also want to try again after getting the tips from my neighbour's MIL,and will also take more precise measurment.
Soak the glutinous rice over night.Put water and rice in deep bowl,place in the inner pot filled with boiling water cover and steam for about 5 to 10mins. The water level should reace about 2/3 to 3/4 of the deep bowl.Themal cook then the rice is very soft liaoz.
Saute lots of shallots till golden brown,removed from wok.
Sauted haye bee till crispy and fragrant.
Saute mushroom and pork strips using sesame oil,add in glutinous rice,mix well with ingredients,add seasoning,light dark soya sauce,salt and sugar.
Mix in some of the fried shallots.Served with balance fried shallots spread.fried peanuts on top.
<font color="119911">SP,</font>
got pict of you mango cake to share? Did you use big cake pan or muffin cups.I would like to know how the cake turns out in bigger cake pan, and what is the size of cake pan to use.
<font color="ff0000">Carole,</font>
Are you serious? I thought I replied to you regarding Phoon Huat's class/membership and your maid's/fan's electricity consumption?? Did I miss out any other of your questions? Pardon my "old-flower-eyes" if I did miss out.And is there any thing I should be angry with you?
<font color="aa00aa">Starz,</font>
Wow, you really good, heavily pregnant now still can stay oup till some late/early?
Littlecat gave me her HP no. and asked for mine only few days ago,noticed that you must be off-line liaoz,that's why posted up her birth-announcement up,not really her messenger lah.
But can I volunteer to be your messenger/informer when you pop? Since I already have your hp no.? And I am very kaypoh you know...
Was telling littlecat her boy doesn't like people to plan for him/or make decision for him,prefer to choose his own birth date...
You packed all your hospital bag stuff already? Remember to bring enough pads(sori gals,mentioned this in this cooking thread),better get those soft Cottony type.Those net-type will make you uncomfortable...a tip from my friend who gave birth 2 months before me, and I find it useful.
<font color="ff0000">Sophie,</font>
Are you going to airport to welcome your hubby back today? I am going airport later.
<font color="0000ff">annelise,</font>
How are your DDs now? Fully recovered already?
Have finished two rounds of Thank-You baking for my cousin and neighbours.Two more rounds for hb's colleagues and my friends. Hb back today, and dd brought back stacks of worksheets which she missed out doing when she was absent from class,need to guide her, will be busy again....may not be able to log in often liaoz.
Bye...