Cooking Tips & Recipe

Van,
OOps... haha, my cake is still in the pan now!
I thought of leaving them in the pan to freeze.
Better go take it out now!

Eh, i just took out my cake... you are right! There are some white cakey stuff in it? You think maybe I didn't mix the flour properly?

Joy,
Woah, the make-from-scratch curry paste?! You "can" man

Yep, think I'll cut down my chilli part today.

Starz,
I still see durians in NTUC Lot1 everyday leh,not the Thai ones, it's M'sia's. I will bake into a few smaller cakes for giving away then bake a big one.

I did spring cleaning of my baking supplies cabinets just now, realised that I have sooooooo many loaf pans and round cake pans in different sizes.Don't know why I was so crazy last time, bought so many for what?!

Now you know why my user ID is nice_to_shop???!!!

Your hb had diarrhoea, not a good time to bake mango cake for him....better stay at home and do packing.

Van,
i hardly see durians anymore.. not even at cold storage.. sometimes feel like just buying 1 box to eat also dont hv...
hehehehe... too bad i dont stay nearby, if not like carole, just pop by n borrow some of ur baking stuff... then i dont hv to end up like u someday....

abt microwave oven hor,
i "mastered" e technique abit better liaoz.. compared to traditional oven, its not as hot.. so nowadays whenever i bake, always muz add additional 10-20degrees celcius more than recipe.. then abt 5-10mins extra one..
*haiz*... now regret never built in a good oven....

hb wake up liaoz... today cannot bake cake...

go off liao... ta ta for now...
kao_byebye.gif

Van,

Haha no lah.I am planning to go away, but it will be early next year.

Your Sour Cream Coffee Cake looks very delicious!Feel like having a slice.

Those steamer pots at Tangs are expensive!My budget is only about 60bucks heh heh.

Starz,

Thanks, both of you are a great looking couple.

Sophie,
You must have edited your last post,now then I see your msg about white cakey stuff.

If it's due to flour not fold in completely, you should be able to see the flour if your break the lump.

From the sliced cake photo, the white stuff looks like chopped,chunky brazil nuts, that's why I thought you added nuts.

Oh...I must let you gals know about the new silicone baking spatula that I just bought.It's very good, the big one helps me to fold in the flour easily, and help me to loosen the cake from the mould as it can withstand high temperature and doesn't scratch the pan.

I plan to get another one, the smaller one.BTW, the brand is Cuisipro,from Taka.Other brands' are either too thick,too thin, or too hard.This one is just right!

For those who plan to start baking...put this in your shopping list!

Wow, so many posts liao!

Van,
I'll scan the recipe and email to you on Wed when I am back to the office cos home does not have scanner...ok? Btw, today's Straits Times mentioned about the silicon wares but unfortunately those egg rings that u were looking were not in the list...

Your sour cream cake looks tasty...i could imagine it going so well with a cup of hot coffee ;p

Starz,
I like your idea of taking photos of your swollen feet and showing to your ds in future. Then he will appreciate the 'hardship' that his mummy went through

Sophie,
Your mango cake looks nice! But u mentioned that they were too wet? Maybe your tin size is not correct? I had this experience before and realised that after using the right tin size, my cake turned out very well...Also, did u bake it on the lower or middle shelf of the oven?

Van,
Woah, your scraper very high-tech looking! Was it expensive?

Yep, I edited my last post.
Hmm... yeah, it doesn't look like flour, cos it's not powdery. More like whiteish lumps and very moist on those parts. You think maybe my egg is not beaten in thoroughly? If so, maybe I should throw away the whole cake cos no good to eat raw egg right?

Krisjoy,
Woah, tin size also matters?! I didn't know there's so much to baking a cake man! So is my cake tine too big or too small?
I baked it on middle shelf first at the temperature the recipe recommended. Then when the top browns too quickly, I shifted it to lower shelf. When I moved the cake tin, I could still see the "watery" movement inside the cake.

Joy,
My curry didn't turn out too good leh... haha, I burnt the paste so got a bit of bitter taste. Now I remember why my mum told me before that I cannot let the paste burn! But still ate it lah... didn't wanna waste.

i went ikea! and i bought muffins tray, spring bake tin and a mini wok too... All gear up for my new oven kekeke.. i am sooo excited!

Van van van... maybe in Dec, we can cheong Phoon huat together already.. kekkee

zzzmonster.... ur bb a boy or girl? cos my neighbour.. also 4mth old baby. .whahaha. are u the neighbour? kekekeke

Sophie,
Don't throw your cake! If it's not powdery,probably it's egg white not mixed thoroughly,and didn't blend well? At 180C for 50min, the egg should be well cooked liaoz,don't need to throw.

I couldn't remember how much the spatula cost, but it's money well spent,value for money!

I remembered Choc also mentioned her cakes failed before because she didn't use the right size of cake tins.

Krisjoy,

Thank you! Sure,ok okay. No hurry to send me the recipe.( I couldn't find durians anyway).Sorry to bother you,very paiseh, you are heavily pregnant still offer to help me to scan it.

Is it convenient to scan cookbook in office? If not I just go Popular, bring the book to a corner, and discreetly take a photo of the page? Yes! I was thinking of that before you offer to scan the page...kekeke.

OR, May be you just type out the ingredient list for me will do,don't need to scan! Thanks again.

I haven't finished reading Sunday Times just now, but chiong to read after you mentioned about the silicone ware.The products listed are not comprehensive but the stockist list is very useful, at least I know where else to hunt for silicone ware besides the few department stores and shops.

Starz,
I couldn't see durian at NTUC just now! Cannot bake durian cake on Tuesday liaoz.

Gtg now!

Sophie,

Sally was playing with our fishing equipment in the storeroom, and one of the fish hooks went through her lips.Vet gave her general anaesthesia, make an incision and took the hook out.She has to be on antibiotics for a week.

Van,

I love durian cakes! Please post a pic of it when you're done.

Van,
Hmm... I think I still kiasi, won't eat too much of the cake
Will stuff my hubby's face with it.

Amelia,
Oh no! Poor Sally! Was the cut bad? It didn't tear any part of her lips right? Can she eat and drink properly now?

I've also told my hubby to be very careful with his tools in the storeroom, cos once I saw his metal saw lying on the floor, means the cats must have been jumping around, then accidentally dropped it. I actually yelled at my hubby saying what if the saw cut the cat into half, then he say I kuah zhang
But I still think it's possible, esp if the saw dropped from a high enough place and impact is strong and if the cat don't run away fast enough.

Hi everyone.... wah.. so many nice cakes. Going to show the kuay teow I had on the weekend at Jalan besar food centre. Didn't know there's alot of nice food selling over there and some store was recommended by mediacorp.
Their hum is big and juicy... is very healthy with all the veggie but I find abit wrong combination with the veggie...

van, you recommended the beef fry rice at Raffles place before... is it at republic plaza basement? And inside asian kitchen?

joy747, I used to make my belachan but now my house got no pounding stone or food processor so never make it for so long.

552121.jpg

Sophie,

Had to log off early last night because my neighbour's cat came visiting.

Sally lost a small chunk of flesh.Other than that, she's eating and drinking alright,just less energetic due to the meds.

She has proven to me anything is possible.
Think it's best we keep dangerous items waaaayyyy out of reach haha.You can try wrapping his metal saw with plastic bags or paper before storing, in case your cats still manage to find it.

amelia, oh no.....your cat lost small chunk of flesh.. that hurts... can imagine that cos once i got cut with a wine opener and my flesh just flip back, painful....now there's a scar in there. But don't think can see any scar on your cat as they got fur to cover it.

annlee,
The char kway teow looks good! Woah, I miss hums but don't dare to eat too much now. Hmm... I always thought the Jalan Besar hawker centre quite dilapidated, also got such healthy char kway teow with lots of greens? Heard there's one at Golden Mile Hawker Centre that's like that too... lots of greens. Aiyoh, you tempt me leh! I was thinking of baking a healthy fish for hubby when he comes back on Tue, now feel like going to queue at Zion Rd for the char kway teow followed by soy bean curd!

Heee... last night baby kicked quite a bit when I was watching a wolf documentary on Animal Planet, mainly when the wolves where howling. Do you think baby is afraid of the howling or likes the howling?

Amelia,
Did the vet say whether the chunk of flesh will grow back?
I was looking at my cats' lips last night... so thin and small and so near the gums/teeth, must have hurt like mad!
Yes, my cats can do anything... even crawl under my sofa which only has about 1.5inch of space between sofa and floor! They're crazy animals esp. when they start playing and chasing themselves/each other
Told my hubby to wrap his saw tight already, if not I threatened to throw it away!

Annlee,
Yes the beef fried rice is from Asian Kitchen.There is also Asian Kitchen in VivoCity.

Joy
Is Belachan from Penang/Kedah good? My M'sian neighbour's relatives from Penang and Kedah always visit them,if it's good,may be I could get them to buy for me. They used to give me huge bag of Ikan Bilis from Kedah. Her father even brought fresh fishes in ice box for her.

Amelia,
I'll definitely post a pic of durian cake if I bake it,but now really boh durian liaoz.

Hi Van,
I was reading up on my failed cake and here are some mistakes that I could have made:
- Do not use disposable aluminum foil pans. They absorb the oven's heat unevenly and hot spot.
- For baking cookies, contrary to popular belief, shiny, nonstick and NON-insulated cookie sheets work best. They encourage even browning much better than insulated sheets. Dark metal is used when making tarts and light metal is best used when making cakes or cookies.

This Baking911 website even has some explanation on how to substitute pan size:
http://www.baking911.com/pantry/substitutes_pansizes.htm

Thinking of getting a loaf tin to make pound cake one of these days...

sophie, if wanna take hum make sure is fully cooked. Baked fish is so much heatlthier than char kway teow leh....
Forgtten to tell you about the nasi padang belachan chilli.... I did ask for a packet of belachan but the lady act blurr like never hear me so in the end I didn't get it... or maybe they will not give cos my rice is only $3.50

About baby kicking... I don't watch all the killing, scary, horror, ugly show, when preggie... only watch those happy,cute, funny show... and my hb colleague advised us not to go to zoo when I'm pregnant cos later my bb will look like a monkey etc... kekeke... it might not be true but I'm kiasu, so just followed

joy747, not sure about the belachan. My mum bought it, I think from those malay store??

van, ok thanks... actually wanna try it today at Raffles place but just got phone call from maid agency and my maid need to go for interview so gotta try that next time sianz....

Sophie,
hey, your cake is NOT failed lah! It's still looks good and you also said it tastes yummy mah! I consider a cake failed if it doesn't rise, or turn into kueh-like cake.

Thank for the web link,will read it later,going to fetch my dd now.

If you want to get a loaf tin, I suggest you get two small ones, instead of one big one

1) It's easier and faster to bake.
2) It's easier to store and freeze.
3) It's easier and more presentable if you choose to give half away to relatives or friends.

annlee,
Why your maid needs to go for interview? just kaypoh...

Cooked Glutinous Rice(You2 Fan4) with Red Bean just now.Used thermal pot to pre-steam the rice first, end up the rice is very soft,very cooked(in fact too cooked).Not very satisifactory,but edible.

552536.jpg

van, my maid agency want to interview her and in meantime some employer wants to interview her too.

heh... nice glutinous rice... love that when goes with sambal chilli

Sorry to butt in... Want to check if hard anodised wok is good to use. Does it stick? How to maintain it?
Saw a dolphin brand anodised wok on sale at metro expo sale for $49. Is it worth it?

hi ladies...

i juz came back from checkup n vivocity... hehehe.. find e place okay only, all e stores can easily be found in orchard rd except for 1 or 2.. still a number of shops not open.. dont think i'll be going there much...

my ayden's update:
dr kee said he is "engaged" liaoz.. so expecting him within the week... but my blood sugar suddenly shoot up very high.. after going thru wat i've ate recently, found the culprit to be FRUITS!!!! never tot of tat leh... so got to stop eating certain fruits completely liaoz... Grapes, Plums, Prunes, Honeydew, Papaya, MANGO and DURIAN are the main ones, plus carbohydrates got to cut down too... cannot bake Mango cake too liaoz...

littlecat update:
she had "show" earlier today, around 12+pm was admitted to hospital liaoz... she said will update again if her boy decides to arrive today...

annlee,
e char kway teow u had, also got fried ikan bilis as "topping"?? jalan besar food ctr is it e same as "army market"??? if it is, e "ar bo leng" (dumpling dessert) is also very nice there leh... i think there's only 1 stall on e higher level one..

amelia,
thank u...
... like i said.. Photoshop does wonders for me.. hehehe.. which is why i insist on going for maternity photoshoot... i've been refusing to take photos of myself since preggers...

Hi every buddy !Howz it going ?

Me, as usual , very boh eng ! Just drop by to say hello to you all and see what good things you all cooking while all 3 are zzzing ..

I just made a pot of tau suan.. trying out, tomorrow MIL and aunty coming to makan for lunch.. quite successful but no you char kuay

starz, your edd 7th Nov ? My no. 1 was born on nov 7 2000, if you see meow, pl send my regards to her and ask her to jia you..

Dom on ice is not so hot when it goes down the throat and stomach..

van, your glutinous rice looks so good, didn't know the thermal cooker can steam the rice.. I always like glut rice, but mine always cannot make it !

Soph, you check with doc regarding the stomach tightening ? Ya take care .. I went to my gynea last week for pap smear, my piles are small internal ones, so I'm using suppositories.
I was so happy to see my gynea, that I told her I missed her.. haha.. (kept too long in the house liao!)

Saw the char kwey teow pics .. very delicious, esp the hum.. the food court near my house sells $2.50 char k t without hum ! $3.00 if you want hum! daylight robbery !

What you all cooking ,ladies ?

<font size="+2">Update from LittleCat:</font>

She just gave birth at 4.32pm today, her boy boy's weight is 3.34kg!

Choc,
I used the big thermal pot to steam glutinous rice, and use the small thermal pot to cook red bean.Surprisingly, even I put glutinous rice in deep procelain bowl(not stainless steel),then put the bowl into inner pot filled with water to steam,the rice turns out very soft.I only cook over sove for less may be 5 mins or less.

annlee,
Your maid knows that you are sending her away liaoz?

CONGRATULATION TO LITTLECAT!!!!! Rest well!!

starz, yes... there's ikan bilis on top on the char kway teow, their hum very big hor... I think is the same store. The hawker centre is opp Golden Mile complex. Btw, what is dumping dessert?

van, my maid knows she's leaving and just found a new employer, she's very happy and super hardworking these few days and I'm getting my Indon maid early of Nov, now only hope that everything when smoothly on my Indon maid passport as I don't wish to wait hee....

Littlecat,
Congratulations!
Rest as much as u can now.

Choc,
the superwoman. u still can cook lunch for yr in-laws and auntie while taking care of 3 little children. Am very impressed!

Carole,
hee... me not staying besides u. my baby boy, yr neighbour also?

van+sophie,
yummy yummy cakes!

LittleCat,
CONGRATS!!!!

Don't worry about anything now... you'll be a super-mummy

starz,
Woah, even prunes and plums are too sweet? Jialat lah, if I cannot eat those, my big C problem sure worsen!

Wow, so you'll be expecting an October baby too!
You rest well this last week before baby arrives!

annlee,
I'm surprised your maid knows she's leaving, as in, you're letting her go. I thought most employers prefer the maids not to know that they are being let go, in case they do something funny.

Oh, so this char kway teow is the same as the one I mentioned at Golden Mile then. I thought Jalan Besar was the one opposite Kitchener Road, as in, the one nearer to the sambal fried fish place. So it's the one that Michelle Chia showcased on one of her shows, with lots of green veges.

Eh, my haridresser says she watched a lot of Star Trek while preggie with her first son, and he's got a funny shaped head! So she told me play safe, don't watch funny stuff.... but I think animals should be OK lah
My hubby says I look like a cat, so I won't be surprised if my baby ends up looking like a cat too!

Van,
The glutinous rice looks good! So this glutinous rice is the savoury kind? I didn't know savoury kind comes with red bean.
I have this craving for red bean now, dunno why... maybe body needs iron...
If I don't have a smaller pot and just use my big thermal pot, can?
Can you roughly tell me how to make it?

Thanks for the encouragement about my cake

I told my mum before i made it that I'll bring her some today, then in the end didn't bring cos I felt it wasn't good enough.
She remembered about it and said she was lookign forward to it, and told me next time just bring a bit to let her try even if not nice or too sweet

Choc,
Haha, you're very funny... happy to see gynae?! You must be sooooo isolated during confinement... poor thing!
So now confinement over liao issit? Hum time?
Yep, I checked with nurse, she said to monitor more, but since I stopped swimming, no more of that tightening liao. Just the usual "turning" feeling and hardening on one side, which I think is the baby moving. Cos when I touch my belly button, that area is soft. They say contractions means even the belly button area hardens up.

Good to know your piles is not serious! Maybe I should ask my gynae for the suppositories next time too... but woah, that area already lumpy and sore, still stick stuff up, a bit sian just thinking about it

Mine has this one lump that comes out once in a while and goes back in if I rest enough on my side *sigh* still praying hard it'll go away by itself!

Sorry gals, too much info on this topic

hi yve,
In case you need this info cos going shopping tomorrow
, here's my summary of what I remember in this thread:
Not sure if anyone used Dolphin brand here... some gals here own Tiger, Supor and U-Like, if I'm not wrong.
General consensus here is that anodised woks are good to use, but must buy those without non-stick coating so you won't get stuff being scrapped off.
Off-hand, I think Tiger is more expensive at more than $100-150, and Supor which Annlee bought is about $60 from Taka. My brother also uses Supor, and he says it's good.

zzz: ya.. tts why i ask.. whahahaha...

Van: u no talk to me..
u angry with meezz?? lol! I am getting old i guess.. cant do much to my stupid kitchen, so i urge hubby to save some $ every yr so that we can change the whole kitchen by 2 yrs.. whahahaa...
at least then i have a reason to tear the whole damn thing down as its gng to be 8 yrs old in 2 yrs time.. whahhaha... Can u share with me more cooking recipe and baking skills once my oven is up? pls??

<font color="ff0000">Congrats!!! LITTLE CAT!!!! Many Blessings to your bundle of JOY!!!!</font>

hi ladies...

luckily littlecat got other messengers here in e thread... e first and only nite i stayed out SO late in my entire pregnancy.. i also got her msg, n was so gan-cheong to come back n inform.. but got gathering with in-laws.. now then come back...

choc,
ya, my EDD was suppose to be 7 nov.. but today update is my boy head already engaged, so may very well end up being an october baby instead..

annlee,
yupz, we shd be talking abt e same place liaoz.. dumpling dessert.. e one tat inside got either peanut or sesame paste one... this stall sells it in clear "soup" with peanuts too.. i only know its called "ar bo leng" leh..

sophie,
yupz, plum n prunes r also high in sugar content.. but not every preggers is so susceptible to it.. just check with ur gynae lor...

ok lah, good nitez...

little cat,
congrats! eat well and rest well ok!!!

starz,
wah, u are very energetic leh, can stay up till so late!
I also like the "ar bo leng" dessert.

van,
yr mango butter cake pics very power, I tried out yr recipe and Sophie also, keke.

lyn,
which condo u bought? u so poor thing the developer bankrupt! so now how?

sp,
You tried the mango butter cake?
Where are your pics?

statz,
You stayed out so late at this stage?
Who's going to be your "informer" when you pop?

<font color="0000ff">Choc,annlee,Sophie,</font>
You gals are very encouraging,my glutinous rice is really not up to standard, but you all still gave me encouragement.
553459.gif
553460.gif

Look at this,cooked by my neighbour's MIL and you will know why I said mine is not good:
553461.jpg

I think I really have makan luck.I was craving for glutinous rice, especially those with Red bean ones.Made some myself, not satisfactory, then at night my neigbour gave me a plate,cooked by her MIL visiting from Penang.

I am trying to learn from my neighbour's MIL all her tips of making such yummy and good looking glutinous rice,but will need translation by my neighbour,cos I sometimes can't "catch" her Penang-accent Hokkien.

<font color="ff0000">Sophie,</font>
I have tried savoury red bean glutinous rice twice at Food Street in Yaohan Plaza Singapura when I was a kid.Miss it so much. Other Japanese red bean rice are usually just red bean with glutinous rice,with black seasame seeds sprinkled on top.

Are you are referring to red bean glutinous rice, or just glutinous rice steamed using thermal pot?

If you are craving for red bean,try using your Endo thermal pot to make it.It saved a lot of time,don't even need to soak over night.Boil over stove for 5 to 10 mins, transfer to thermal pot, after about 1.5 hours,it's very soft liaoz. Boil over stove again until it thickened, then add sugar.

If you are referring to the glutinous rice, I just tell you roughly first, cos I am still experimenting, and I also want to try again after getting the tips from my neighbour's MIL,and will also take more precise measurment.

Soak the glutinous rice over night.Put water and rice in deep bowl,place in the inner pot filled with boiling water cover and steam for about 5 to 10mins. The water level should reace about 2/3 to 3/4 of the deep bowl.Themal cook then the rice is very soft liaoz.

Saute lots of shallots till golden brown,removed from wok.
Sauted haye bee till crispy and fragrant.

Saute mushroom and pork strips using sesame oil,add in glutinous rice,mix well with ingredients,add seasoning,light dark soya sauce,salt and sugar.

Mix in some of the fried shallots.Served with balance fried shallots spread.fried peanuts on top.

<font color="119911">SP,</font>
got pict of you mango cake to share? Did you use big cake pan or muffin cups.I would like to know how the cake turns out in bigger cake pan, and what is the size of cake pan to use.

<font color="ff0000">Carole,</font>
Are you serious? I thought I replied to you regarding Phoon Huat's class/membership and your maid's/fan's electricity consumption?? Did I miss out any other of your questions? Pardon my "old-flower-eyes" if I did miss out.And is there any thing I should be angry with you?
553462.gif
553463.png

<font color="aa00aa">Starz,</font>
Wow, you really good, heavily pregnant now still can stay oup till some late/early?

Littlecat gave me her HP no. and asked for mine only few days ago,noticed that you must be off-line liaoz,that's why posted up her birth-announcement up,not really her messenger lah.

But can I volunteer to be your messenger/informer when you pop? Since I already have your hp no.? And I am very kaypoh you know...
553464.gif

Was telling littlecat her boy doesn't like people to plan for him/or make decision for him,prefer to choose his own birth date...

You packed all your hospital bag stuff already? Remember to bring enough pads(sori gals,mentioned this in this cooking thread),better get those soft Cottony type.Those net-type will make you uncomfortable...a tip from my friend who gave birth 2 months before me, and I find it useful.

<font color="ff0000">Sophie,</font>
Are you going to airport to welcome your hubby back today? I am going airport later.

<font color="0000ff">annelise,</font>
How are your DDs now? Fully recovered already?

Have finished two rounds of Thank-You baking for my cousin and neighbours.Two more rounds for hb's colleagues and my friends. Hb back today, and dd brought back stacks of worksheets which she missed out doing when she was absent from class,need to guide her, will be busy again....may not be able to log in often liaoz.

Bye...

Van,
What time you going to the airport?
I was thinking of going, but very sian to sit there and wait... heee, if timing is right, maybe can meet up with you!
I think he will each Changi at 1655hrr, about 5pm. Your hubby's?

Sophie,
My hb's flight touch down at 5.30pm,thought of leaving at 4.45pm.Today's public holiday, traffic should be quite smooth.

Hey, may be I can meet you there looking at the timing,I can go early!

Hey, I don't mind meeting up... hee, give my hubby a nice surprise!
Will be nice to have a cuppa coffee together too!
Your hubby at T2?
Where do you wanna meet and what time?
I'll email you my handphone now

OK, i'm running out to tabao a quick lunch now... talk to u later or we'll SMS!

Back from my tabao lunch

Van,
Thanks for the recipe for both the red bean and glutinous rice. I was referring to the red bean glutinous rice cos I've never had them before.
Then you know me, so lazy, if wanna eat the local glutinous rice, will probably just go market and buy... but your neighbour's one looks very professional, like those sold outside. Yours also not that bad - I like anything with lots of different colours! Hmm... maybe I'll add in carrot strips for mine too, for that bit of color! My mum will faint cos I always alter traditional recipes

I wonder if my Endo pot is good enough, cos it doesn't seem to retain heat very well, but I'll try it anyway. Probably make the local one to let my mum try, cos she's diabetic, better not let her eat sweetened red bean stuff.

Van

You are really into cooking and backing huh...your hubby and princess are so lucky to have a good cook at home....

Meantime, do have a great time with sophie at the airport....

Oh yes, I love the ice earth grey drinks from coffee club...

hi hi...

i know, atrocious for heavily pregnant woman to b out so late... i was with my hb n sister-in-law families, at a family karaoke place nearby... having fun lor.. hb always like tat one lah, enjoying, he will "forget" i'm preggers.. think next time when he's out enjoying, will forget got son liaoz too...

just now went out for my favourite Beach Rd Prawn Mee at Siglap area.. *haiz*.. went abit too late, no more "jumbo" prawn liaoz... my "last" prawn mee feast also not satisfying enuf......

Van &amp; sophie,
littlecat was suppose to be my messenger... hehe.. but she probably mite be abit overwhelmed e next couple of weeks...
Van, if u dont mind, can b my messenger too? i still hv ur number..
juz abit paiseh trouble you again...
thanks for e tip abt pads.. i did buy e "highly recommended" 35cm sofy pad.. according to some mtbs in the nov thread, they say its good to use... i dont know whether its net or cotton leh.. later go check....

hospital bag ar.. halfway packed...

sp,
i got to abstain from e "ar bo leng" dessert until after delivery liaoz lor.. been told to cut down sugar intake...
where's ur cake picture??!?!?!?!? i cannot bake, can see also shiok mah....

Van's mango cake reli power.. if not i "suddenly" cannot touch sugar, i wld also have baked it liaoz...

Littlecat,
Congrats!! Take care and rest well during your confinement period

Van,
No worries, I can scan the recipe the email to you tomorrow...No durians at NTUC? What about Carrefour? They seem to sell durians all year round...Btw, yours and neighbour's glutinous rice look good!! I am also a huge fan of it and had 2 servings when I attended my friend son's 1st month celebration last month..so greedy of me, hehe..Her confinement lady cooked it for the guests and it was really tasty! But I have not tried the red bean version so far leh..is this Hokkien style?

Starz,
Hang in there...I think eating apples should be the safest for now...

LittleCat,

Annlee and Sophie,

The chunk of flesh comes from the area near her gums, not visible when she closes her mouth.She has been very moody for the past few days, so I think it must be pretty painful.But she's back to her normal self today.Super affectionate and wants cuddling.

Didn't ask our vet whether the flesh will grow back.The accident happened around 8pm on friday night and we were super kan cheong at the vet's.

Starz and Van,

I agree with the soft cottony pads recommendation.Those netted ones are so uncomfortable! I like the new kotex slim overnight extra long with wings.No leakage so far.