Cooking Tips & Recipe

sophie: sad to say no lehz.. i will after i shift.. cos next weekend gng to move everything so i try to keep my fridge empty

Hi everyone. I vaguely recall someone's dd or ds having a bad throat and had problems eating and drinking - can anyone remember who? My dd1's fever is still high - about 39 deg and her throat looks terrible - lots of little ulcer-like craters at the back and some on the tonsils. Started antibiotics yesterday already but still no signs of improvement - getting a bit worried that she'll dehydrate - any tips on getting her to eat & drink?

sp,
From April till now?! Woah, super sian man!
I thought developers will normally rush to finish it so they can get their payment, cos I think the last dunno-how-many percent is held back till defects rectified.
Your developer probably very cash-rich, don't need the cash flow!

annlee,
Ah, he is good guy... heee... ok. I guess it must be his chio and ambitious mum who wants to get him back the Crown Prince position.
Yes, I like single eyelid guys! **drool**

twinkle,
You can get PSI update here at http://app.nea.gov.sg/ (banner on right-hand corner)
It looks like Genting from my window again... sigh, still thought of going out to jalan!

Annelise,
Try Manuka Honey?
If doc prescribed antibiotics, it's prob bacteria infection, not viral? Then Manuka got anti-bacterial properties, but only UMF10 and above then effective.
Don't dilute in water, just give one tsp and ask dd to swallow but leave in mouth and use tongue to push to infected/painful parts?
It works for my sore throats and ulcers.

annelise, think you're refering to my ds1. His throat got some ulcer and having fever around 39deg too. Went to kkh and doc says is related to hand food mouth disease. Doc never give any antibotic as his antibodies will defends. Only give some blufen and eleclye fluid to prevent dehydrated if my ds did not consume food or water due of the pain on his throat.

gtg, fetching my ds now, chat again

annelise,
yr poor dd1! hope she recovers quickly. my kid's PD got say can give diluted isotonic drink, choose those low sodium and no gas.

sophie,
our developer already delayed handing over the keys, suppose to be 2003 become 2006. then hand over keys already still got to wait till july for electricity & water supply. then our hse kena termite infested (guess u know why lah, they never did a good job at prevention) so now got defects! we spent our own money to do termite treatment, because we don't want the developer to drag and drag till the whole house is completely eaten.

the developer will get their retention sum "automatically" upon expiry of 18 months from date of handing over vacant possession. they couldn't care less since the stakeholder lawyer is they appoint one, sure will "help" them.

why u think ppl joke msia govt zzz or no law? if got law our consumer rights won't suck so big time one.

so hor, if u all wanna buy property in msia, pls pls pls buy only from top reputable developers, prefarably already completed and ready for handover! or else buy resale! don't be like us, so poor thing, kekeke.

annelise,hee.... shld be hand foot mouth disease not food, typing error... what did the doc say? It might not be viral infection but sounds like my ds condition. sophie recommend manuka honey, is a good idea too... i also give that to my ds but is painful when having the honey. You can try feeding your dd some watery porriage with mash pumpkin or potatoes and broccoli. Do add some sugar or salt to the food as your dd might like the taste so will not reject the food. My ds cannot take rice, even rice with soup makes the pain worst. Do not give heaty food like chocolate, milo fried stuff etc... If you're afraid of your dd getting dehydrated, can buy those electrolye for children, think sophie mention before can get from pharmacy
My ds recovered 1 week later and when the ulcer gets lesser, the fever will subside...

Annelise,
The electrolyte packs can get from pharmacy, but do remember to tell pharmacist it's for kids, cos I'm not sure if kids' ones are any different from adults... prob more diluted, and maybe got flavour

The other alternative featured in Time Magazine last week for dehydration was 1 tablespoon sugar + 1 pinch salt + jug of water. I'm impressed that this simple solution is actually the remedy for dehydration for children, but in 3rd world countries where people do not even have the means to get hold of such simple solution, each year 2 million children die of dehydration resulting from diarrhoea.

sp,
Woah, how come Malaysia so weird one... developer can get retention sum by just waiting 18mths, regardless of whether defects are rectified?! Yes, I agree... it's a "law-less" society there!

Annelise,Sophie
The electrolyte packs sold at NTUC healthcare pharmacy is fruit flavoured,in small,thin and long packs.

Annelise,
Does your DS1 take Pediasure? If she can still take Pediasure then don't have to worry about not eating enough,since Pediasure is supposed to be meal replacement. Don't make it too warm though, make it much cooler then usual milk temperature,or it will cause her throat too much pain.

Have you tried barley drink and fruit juice?

I went to BIY just now.The place is so inconveniently located,parking is such a pain. The rent there must be very low to keep them staying at such place. I am sure if they shift to a more convenient place, their sales is going to be very good.

BTW, I bought s Silpat silicone mat from BIY, it's a big size one, more suitable for pastry rolling.Looks like I got to buy online for other brand which can cut-to-fit the size of pans.

carole, I kahpoh went to SAHM and happen to see your dd birthday picture. You got a beautiful daughter. And you must be the one wearing yellow colour t-shirt same as your hb right?? So loving!

sophie,
hehe, still off-topic...
the stakeholder lawyer will only act against the developer by releasing the retention sum to houseowner IF there is a court order. And u know going to court is not cheap and very slow, which poor broke houseowner who had already spent their savings to repair the hse still can afford to go court?

back to food...... yum......
today I cooked chicken rice, but not enough water so the rice very hard!

annlee,
I just realised I missed yr tips on fried rice, thanks very much! what "hao liao" u going to put in yr fried rice tonite? mine I just put chinese sausage and frozen mixed veg, not healthy, hehe.

Sophie,
I guess you still haven't got your wok right? Can your rice cooker do steaming? How about steaming rice in your rice cooker,or even put a metal stand+your bowl in a big pot with water to steam?

You can steam just 1 serving's plain rice or make steam chicken/blackmushroom rice(Just like claypot chicken rice).or pumpkin rice this way.I always use a medium size procelain bowl to steam just enough rice for dd and myself.

Sp,
what kind of fried rice do you usually make? you add the egg when the rice is in the wok or cook the egg separately type?

It helps to use cold rice,but not necessarily overnight rice.If you know that you are going to use the rice for cooking fried rice, reduce the water a little when cooking in rice cooker,so that the rice will be harder,easier for frying.

I usually fried the egg and sausage or ikan bilis(if using), separately, dish it out and leave aside(drip off excess oil on kitchen paper or a strainer),also scoop out excess oil from the wok,just leave enough oil for stir frying the vege,then start cooking other ingredients like garlic,mixed veg/onion.I only "return" the ikan bilis/eggs etc after the rice is added to the vege and well mixed.After that then I add the seasoning and mix and toss it quickly.

Sometimes I cooked plain rice in the morning, then use the rice to cook fried rice in the afternoon for picnic in late afternoon,it still turns out alright,but I usually will reduced the water a little,knowing that it's going to be used for fried rice.

Annelise,
oops, just realised that I typed DS1 instead of DD1 in my msg to you.

sp, didn't know the law is like that over there, scary man... My hb almost wanted to invest on one unit at damansari or mont kiara in KL, luckily he back out last min.

My fry rice for today no ho liao cos hb not around... mine even more unhealthy... only eggs, luncheon meat and veg...luncheon is my son favourite unhealthy food, I only give him once in a while.....
oh... you didn't put enough water on rice then I think must put more oil... for me I think fry rice is oily food but of course not to soak with oil hee....

Hi Sophie, thanks - I will get my hb to buy the electrolyte and manuka honey from the pharmacy later. The one I have at home is only UMF 5 which I drink everyday.

Hi annlee, thanks for sharing! I too suspect that it could be some sort of HFMD because I am having similar symptoms as her but mine are milder than hers. She seems okay with soft food like bread but liquids seem to cause her more discomfort. Did you "quarantine" your ds1 from ds2? My two girls are very sticky - cannot pry them away from each other - so worried the small one will catch it cos' she's very difficult when she is sick. My sis is coming over to my place with her TCM remedy - chrysanthemum & jing ying hua for my dd1 to gargle. Hopefully that helps with the inflammation!

Hi sp, thanks

Hi Van, ya BIY very inconvenient. Both times I went my hb drove. The last time I wanted to go on my own but after printing out the road map I got no confidence to drive there by myself! Have you checked if the Wilton's website carries the silicon products? Btw, do you know how often can I give her Pediasure? The can doesn't indicate this. Prob with Pediasure is she only drinks the old one - the new formulation she doesn't like, so I've been buying all the older stock in NTUC! After that, I'll have to hunt fo another nice-tasting brand again!

Annelise,
You could also ask the GP/PD/Pharmacist for some solution for her to gargle to "numb" her throat temporarily before taking her meals/drinks/Pediasure. My dd's had that when she had ulcers in her mouth,but if the ulcer is deep in the throat, then the gargle won't help much.

Have checked Wilton's website, they don't have it.I probably will get from amazon.com....but VPOST going to revise their base charge and weight charge upwards from Nov06!

Pediasure is supposed to be able to use as meal replacement for sick child(meal supplement for fussy eaters),so you could give her as often as she needs. PD only suggeseted restricting intake to 90ml each time for kids recovering from stomach flu, but didn't mention restriction for others.

annlee,
damansara or mont kiara is high end premium development, the developers also more established and ethical.

I think my hb will love to eat yr fried rice too as it got his fav luncheon meat, hehehe.

van,
I added the egg after the rice, should I try putting egg in to cook first, then last will be rice? u r very patient to fry the ingredients separately and remove then add back.

sp,
egg after the rice is not a problem,only that I don't like egg cooked this way in fried rice, cos the smell of egg is very strong.I like the egg to be browned a little and separated from the rice.It's individual preference.

The reason I ask about this is,if you are cooking the egg or ikan bilis separately,then got to to drain/drip off excess oil, and scoop out excess oil from the wok before you fry the rice.

annelise, if is HFMD, is better to quarantine them as is contagious... I can't separate them, as you said ..very sticky so is difficult but luckliy my younger one didn't get it.
Make sure your dds don't share the same food, spoon, water everything and must wash the hands often.. and also not to let them kiss each other and you also cannot kiss your younger one. All the things your dd1 touches must be wash or sterlize in case your dd2 put them in her mouth.
The TCM remedy looks good! I also add barley water to my ds milk instead of water. Hths!!

The doc also prescribe sorogel to numb the ulcer for reducing the pain but is quite difficult to apply cos is right inside his throat and must use torchlight to see where's the ulcer is and is so deep so my ds will feel uncomfortable when applying

sp, oh.. haha but my hb didn't get one unit in KL. My friend is staying at mont kiara so she recommend me the place after we know about damansara. I like the enviroment at mont kiara, very nice relax place to stay, different from the city.

sp,
You poor thing... waited 3 yrs for your place and still waiting!
I'm still in a state of shock after you told me about developers in Malaysia, cos if I am not wrong, it's the opposite in Singapore - means the last 5 or 10% does not get released to developer till all defects are done, and developers normally have a 12 mth period only.
Well, can't do much now that you've already signed on the dotted line... just hope everything goes "smoother" from now on, and next time buy from a more reputable developer.

Van,
Hee... yep, haven't got my wok yet

Don't think my rice cooker can steam, cos only got one mode "Cook"
Me cheapskate, moved in that time bought the cheapest rice cooker and was shocked it still costs me $79!
I think the steaming rice in big pot is a good idea. For water level in bowl of uncooked rice, it'll be the same as in rice cooker right? Cos then I'll use my rice cooker pot to measure my rice and water, then transfer to porcelain bowl in big pot.
* Confession: I suck at cooking rice... heee.. last time in US, no rice cooker, I used microwave, rice is either like biscuit or like porridge! In the end, bought the plastic microwavable rice pot and it got better cos got water indication

Tonight just making "kon lo mee" - dried wanton kind of mee with minced pork + mushroom + lots of xiao bai cai.

What are you girls making tonight?

sophie, xiao bai cai is liang veg... but now you're stable so is ok to eat,but moderate. Have check with the veggie aunti about eggplant but she didn't know whether preggie can consume or not... but then again eat moderately hee.....

annlee,
Thanks for info on xiao bai cai. I think now 2nd tri should be safe right? Somemore I get constipated easily, means heaty right? Plus I haven't started bird's nest yet.
I'm so tempted to go see a TCM now, ask him/her to ba mai for me and tell me if my body constitution is heaty or liang now, and if can start taking bird's nest and those stuff...

btw, has Vitasence called you yet? Cos I saw the Order Statud, still "Not processed" yet?

sophie, yah... is safe but don't eat too much.

Go check with TCM whether when can take birdnest .... i've heard that is not advisable to take birdnest from physician or someone cos it might cause asthma to your baby in future... but then again don't know how truth as you can see so may mommies taking birdnest but children still ok... think also depends on the health history of the parents, so do check with the doctor.

sophie, sometimes I encounter this problem here like I can read the message you ask on the xiao bai cai and birdnest but did not see your vitascrience message and only sees them now or later... even van earlier post too...

No calls from vitasense yet.

annlee,
My fault... sometimes I am paiseh to start another posting, so end up editing it if within 20min time limit, so you see it later.

I've just sent an email to Vitasence *sigh* I cannot find any tel number online to call, so no choice, have to write to their "Beauty Helpdesk". So let's see if they end up calling you or me

Basically, I've asked them if tomorrow's delivery can be confirmed and that they are to reply ASAP. I'll check my account again tonight... hope they haven't knocked off yet!

Carole,
Your girl is very pretty indeed!

woke up from a 1-hr nap and the PSI is 113 now!

Sophie,
I used the rice cup to measure.1 person's portion is about 1/2 cup, used 1/2 cup of water,you try once then + / - from there, don't need to use rice cooker to measure lah.

My previous rice cooker which doesn't come with "steam" function also can steam,just press the Cook function,but it comes with a plastic steaming rack,does yours have it?

About the birds' nest, heard that not too good to take during early pregnancy, when the baby's organs are still "manufacturing-in-progress",or the tiny feathers in bird's nest may get into the lungs and cos asthma.Not sure how true,but no harm to follow.

But it's true for my niece that her eczema and asthma got worse after consuming bird's nests.Her PD confirmed that it's better not to take for her condition. My friend also read about it in Chinese Newspaper.

annlee,
I also keep editing and appending the postings until the 20 minutes limit is up.

sophie, oh... didn't know can post again on the previous post that has been send. I always forgot to add on something so everytime must post another new one and I'm thinking how come you gals memory so good kekeke... excuse me for saying that..

heh... sorry to trouble you... if is so troublesome for you, is ok... can just cancel it... i also paisay asking you to do for me

HEllo gals...
Have been busy...
How are you gals doing?

Sophie,
I am lazy to go out tonite... but dunno what to cook yet :p Gotta search through my fridge to see what I have... Last nite, cooked "Aglio olio"...

Better dun take too much birdnests... Birdnests is famous for nice and smooth skin for babies.. but it's rather contradicting in the MTB thread I go... Those who took birdnests are having babies with eczema...

sp,
You bought undeveloped projects ah... My condo depreciated almost 50%! Some more developer bankrupt and we havent got the "garan", wanna re-finance also got difficulty... The lawyer typed the wrong address and we waited for more than a year already...

carole,
Wah... Clarisse grows so much already... Very beautiful gal with big eyes... I think she looks like her daddy...

annlee,
No trouble for me at all! I'm more worried about you having to sit at home and just wait... but eh, can save $20+ then buy other stuff

Somemore I like to "tekan" them lah... if they say delivery by next day, then they must fulfil their promise... it's a business, not some child's game, so they should take it seriously. Basically, I have a problem - I just don't like companies who don't make good their word
They say same day delivery if order placed before 10am, so let's wait and see... if our order is placed today at 10:53am, means it's considered tomorrow morning before 10am order, then they should deliver by tomorrow.

Yep, can edit posting... this little icon on the right-hand corner allows you to edit within 20mins.
549232.gif

Van,
Thanks for info on bird's nest. Think I'd better start in 7th mth then, cos I read that baby's lungs are fully formed by 7th month.
Thanks also for the rice/water measurement. I'll try it tomrrow with a chicken and mushroom rice probably

I think my rice cooker came with plastic strainer top that sits on the rim, but dunno where I stuffed it

Carole,
sun to thur i stay at my in law place and its near u. but i dare not invade my mil kitchen.
so i can just pop over yr place to watch u cook.
heee.. after 28th, if we are strolling ard the estate and u happen to be in the garden, will go over and say hi to u.

sophie... thanks for helping on the products and also teaching me edit posting.

Remember the picture of your chicken mushroom rice tomorrow.

zzzmonster: lol... wah! so good DIL.. i am sure ur MIl will love u for staying with her! u can always press on my bell, and we can go playground together too.

carole,
its not good dil. its better don't step on her toes.
i used to do some light cooking in her kitchen, but can sense that she don't like it.
so now will only cook when we go back to our own home.
heee.. good idea can go playground together, but my baby only 4months old.

hello ladies...

my maternity leave have started!!!!! hehehe...

not reli lah.. i'm clearing my annual leave.. plus feet too swollen, so from tomorrow onwards not going back to office until prob 2.5mths later.. so happy.. hehehe...

krisjoy n carole,
why 28th??? my mum also told me wan her grandson to arrive on 28th also...?? is it a 'auspicious' day??

carole,
i also kaypoh went to look at ur dd's photos... i think u whole family look very similar, u n hubby got "fu qi xiang", n ur dd look like ur hubby esp e eyes.. but got ur complexion..

sophie,
ya, actually u can go check with TCM if ur body is heaty or liang now.. i did tat in my 2nd tri too.. cos i've always been extremely heaty type.. then preggers liaoz, still want to drink things like chrysanthemum, barley, radish & green carrot soup.. all very liang, n my mum don't allow.. until TCM confirm i'm still as heaty, then she allowed...

Sophie,
1 more point to add about steaming rice, after the water is boiled, put in the bowl of rice, steam for 20 minutes,whether big or small bowl the timing is the same....I learned this from the promoter at Tangs,and it works when I am steaming a small rice bowl for 1, or a medium bowl for two.

Leave it in the pot for a while for the moisture to evaporate further,don't take it out immediately after you off the fire.

hello all!
i login to read but no time to post...

the check up is ok, baby head is very low, he said average size like 3.2-3.4kg. the reason why looks so big cos he said still got lots of water there.
He will see me on 26/oct at the ward liao.
But if baby decided to come out early then it will be diff date.

starz, this week also last day at work huh?
aiyoh dun make krisjoy envy lah...keke..

me planning next week ask for MC, then only start ML on last week of Oct.
another words not going back to work also lah..

last 2 days at work still busy

dun care got black and white i handover liao means ok!

zzzcookiemonster, got your message liao,
will plan a date and let u know
Thanks in advanced!

sophie, founder of this thread that is ME ME ME! haha!

annelise must learnt from Choc, let's have another one

btw how's your girl? try the chill milk.
my son kena aiyoh it is nightmare
he refused to open his mouth to drink/eat or clean. so scary.
another tips from my fren is to give vanila ice-cream. Try which one works.

ok got to go, have not finish all, will catch up tomolo!

star: isit a GOOD date?? nt sure lehz. cos happens to be 28th lor.. whahha. we all looks alike.. keke cos we all fat fat mahz

zzzmonster: 4mth? okok. then i open my girl's play room to welcome ur little baby.

annlee,
Hee... I will remember to post a pic if I don't gobble down my food. Appetite nowadays pretty good!

btw, Vitasence replied to say they cannot find my order
I've replied their email, copied you and attached the PDF invoice for their reference.

starz,
Heard or read from books that swollen feet means soon to give birth right? You take care, rest with your feet up and don't run about too much now!

Which TCM did you go to? I don't feel like going back to my old TCM leh, cos he sure nag at me for not going to see him once I knew I was pregnant etc etc... he is nice, but cheong hei, then of course also he feels I should continue to see TCM and eat his herbs once pregnant, which me and hubby are not so comfortable with.

Van,
Thanks for the additional tips on steaming rice. I've never steamed rice before - always thought rice is cooked over direct fire/rice cooker with water. Will try tomorrow

LittleCat aka Founder

So you'll be induced on 26th Oct? Will cross fingers for you and hope baby will stay comfy in tummy till that day!

Carole,
You're not fat leh, quite petite in fact, I thought! Eh, but your hubby definitely is... heee... or diplomatically, he is just big-sized.

annlee,
My email to them which I copied you bounced so I cannot send the invoice through to them.
So I used back the Beauty Helpdesk to contact them - told them to find the order and contact you regarding delivery.
They say cannot find my order leh... dunno true or not, or act blur cos they never respond in time to my order

They say I may re-submit another order again, but I don't dare leh... wait their system so screwed up they end up sending two orders to you!
So if they call you up, I guess you can just tell them your order of 2 cleansers at that discounted price in the invoice I sent you.

Hope they call you tomorrow!

Sophie
Need to ask u abt vitascence. Do u use the whole range? How is the pore clarifying essence and acne detox serum? Issit very drying when used together? Having a bad outbreak now, thinks is due to heatiness from lack of sleep. Super painful cos they are at the chin and near the eyes area. Din have this prob for quite awhile. hiaz. Think my skincare losing its effect again. Does anyone have this prob? Regimes that work previously suddenly dont work anymore.

Starz,
My appt is fixed by HDB so it is a coincidence that Carole is also moving house on the same day ;p Enjoy your leave now while waiting for bb to arrive

Carole,
Your dd is very pretty and sweet! I like her round eyes

Sophie,
Seems that Vitasence support team is quite badly mananged...Just feel strange that why they did not receive your order. And the fact that they encourage customers to order online means that they should have a strong support team to manage it...Anyway, hope they will receive this time round

Littlecat,
Share with us your birth story ok? :D

Littlecat,
sorry me blur sotong. just sent u sms.

carole,
hee... thanks for the invitation.
will sure bring baby over. and can go see u do the cooking.

unit 101, the new owners has quite a nice balcony now. we like to stroll around the estate and look at other house renovations.

starz
i bought the medela elctric pump, the mini one. One of the mummy here recommend, can't remember who liao pai seh, pai seh...
i have the manual one, like they said is true, pump till hand so tired, then plus the engorgement pain, u just want to give up.

Tips from most mummy i check with (in this thread and outside) BF must be patience! and prepared to have less sleep at nite hor..!
i think we feed half way will sms each other to complain haha!

this morning wake up feel stomachache.. ok not the contraction pain, is due to diarhhrea... aiyoh! sleep in the car, when reach office refuse to wake up... sigh...
my hb said i ask for it, cos initial plan was to take MC after yesterday visit so i can shake leg at home these two days. But the handover thing still not complete, i dun want they say i never do a good job... although most of the time even u did do a good job, nobody appreciate also..

anyway last working day for the year, cheer up!

i also find my ankle swollen, so it is time liao..

krisjoy, sure sure, but i think will be a boring story since it is all planned

zzzcookiemonster, got the message liao, but hor i just change my handphone set, need to figure out how to reply liao...
your weekend is saturday or sunday? morning of evening?

thanks Sophie, the date is confirmed, unless he want to be out earlier

carole, i heard 28/oct is good day leh, even some opt for induced/cesearan mom also choose this date leh...
saw the photo liao, wow you looks so young! like your girl's look so pretty! she really got your features hor?

krisjoy it is at the right side, may be need to scroll to the right? if your setting is diff, there is a printer icon there too..