Cooking Tips & Recipe

hi hi gals, how's everyone?

little cat, krisjoy, starz,
wish u all a quick and easy delivery! enjoy the last few weeks of preggie, keke.

re: freezing pork/ chicken
how long can they keep in the freezer - I didn't wash or clean them before freezing. didn't know I'll stop cooking for 2 weeks, so they have been in the freezer for 2 weeks already.

546901.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Annelise</font>,

Do you know whether BIY or other baking suppies shops sell silicone baking sheet/mat? Have been hunting everywhere but couldn't find it.

Starz,
Agree, haze is bad for bb...unless u put him in an aircon room for the time being. For me, my mom's place does not have aircon. Crossing my fingers that bb only come out in Nov cos I have HDB appt on 28 Oct...dun want to miss this important appt...

Sophie,
I oso din know that Creation is not opened on Sunday. Thanks for letting me know
I tried the crabmeat pasta there cos I like them with a local twist. My gynae told me that contractions start as early as the 5th month but I dun really feel it until recently. My tummy is always lop-sided from the baby's movements so I am kind of used to it lor...Dun worry too much about it..

Van,
I remembered u mentioned in an earlier post that the yong tau food at Goldhill Plaza is so so only..do they serve the soup or dried version? Think I'll give it a miss..hehehe...

Krisjoy,
I think they serve both soup and dried version.I ordered the dried version though,here's the picture:

547020.jpg

hmmm.... you can see I am more of unhealthy YTF person...picked all the fried stuff.

Van,
The sauce looked good...but it is not nice?
Btw, do u know where to get such sweet sauce? Cos i thot of making yam cake and need sweet sauce to go along with...

Van,
Hee, me only patiently sitting there waiting for my YTF. My hubby was the one who queued up, but it didn't really take that long cos apparently it doesn't come with noodles, just the standard pieces of YTF in soup. So just need to tell uncle how many bowls and they're pretty quick with it.

Yeah, dunno why the PD gave this kind of cough syrup for a 1.5mth old baby. Hope my sis will look into the air purifier and that it'll help, cos the papers just said the haze will be here to stay for the next few weeks!

sp,
Long time no see! How come you stopped cooking for 2 weeks? Busy with work?

Krisjoy,
Yeah, I was so looking forward to the crabmeat pasta, then they were closed on Sundays!
Will try another day.
For the contractions, it was better yesterday, more lopsided with movements, so I think it's just baby moving/stretching like what Annelise says. Just that when the baby does that, it hardens up and I get kan cheong. Was also wondering if I will also "inherit" my sis' premature births... told the gynae previously, but he says no leh, esp. since my mum never had such problems. Must really "bu" during confinement to regain back health... will check with annlee on the peiling herbs closer to my due date.

What are you girls cooking tonight?
I'm sharing a grilled salmon with my cats, mine to be served with guacamole sauce and their steamed plained

sophie,
yr cats are very lucky, get to eat expensive salmon fish, keke!

enjoy yr bb's movements! it's such a special feeling ya!

not busy lah, just happened to have leftover food to eat, so morning hb will heat it up and we'll bring to office to makan.

I miss cooking leh, I think tonite I'll defrost the pork ribs to cook porridge for tomorrow's breakfast.

thx SP ! btw how's the haze in KL ?

so gals, which is the most reasonable air purifier ? dun want to bulky and too expensive type, any recommendation?

me too also worry, base on plan baby will be out next week, but the haze will be gone in early Nov...

Van, about the card, if is normal taka DBS card, if u spend $1000 u get $30 voucher. the Platinum DBS Amex card only need to spend $500, u will get $30 voucher free.
At first i thot i won't hit that so refuse to activate. Later last minute think aiyah anyway it's free for a year so i activated and use it on saturday and it reach 400+ ..:p

sigh got to work 5 days this week.. thot of going MC on thursday and friday.. guess can not liao...

now they kan-cheong already.. the person who take over my job, no sense of urgency one leh...

Sophie,
Agreed with sp. Enjoy the movements! Let me know whether u like it when u try the pasta next time...Btw, I heard that eating too much salmon is no good cos salmon nowadays are cultured ones and high in mercury..So remember to eat in moderation loh!

sp,
U cooking pork porridge for breakfast tomolow? That means must wake up very early loh? U r very hardworking leh ;)

little cat,
some days haze is bad then it gets better than gets bad again, everyday not the same, hee.

so exciting u going to pop soon, heh, now only yr colleagues start kan-cheong, keke.

sp,
My hubby is in China this week, so no one to share salmon with... the cats got lucky this time!

You're such a "morning" person! Last time when working, I will only wake up to brush my teeth and change in 20mins then rush out to work... cannot imagine myself cooking in the morning!

Krisjoy,
Noted! Yeah, I also heard a lot of stories about cultured salmon... like they inject food dye so they look more red/orange!
Haven't had it for weeks, so thought of making it tonight

LittleCat,
Just 3 more days to go... very fast one! "Ren(3)"!

krisjoy, sophie,
no lah, actually is use slow-cooker and cook overnite, I where got so hardworking wake up early to cook one? nowadays even more lazy, I just chop the ginger &amp; garlic then ask hb to wash rice and start the slow cooker b4 he sleeps... heh

Hi everyone. My dd1 is having high fever
reached 40 deg this afternoon and only managed to bring it down to 38.8 deg. Hopefully the Ibuprofen works better if not tonight must see PD again.

Hi LittleCat, I'm using Sharp air purifier but it is not in the NEA listing, so dunno if really good or not. But at least when it's switched on, there's no smell of the haze. Now my aircon is on 24/7 - I think I shall be kiasu and buy the 3M aircon filter also. So exciting, you're going to see your bb soon - I'm sure he'll be handsome like your ds!

Hi Sophie, oh your poor little nephew - if the meds is making him very uncomfortable then perhaps your sis should seek a 2nd opinion? Btw, on the topic of injecting food dye, my fil bought dragonfruit the other day and it was super red on the outside as well as the inside, which is unusual cos' it is supposed to be white?Anyway, it was unusually sweet too. After that when he went to the loo, his urine was all red!

Hi Van, sorry I haven't come across any silicon baking sheets. What special properties does it have? Btw, I got your mail already - thanks

annelise,
hope yr dd1's fever will subside soon, so high her temp must be very worrying for u.

re: red dragon fruit
yes, the red species is very sweet and tasty, after u try it, u won't want to eat the white type.

Annelise,
Oh no, your dd down with fever again? Take care and pump her with lots of fluids...

Yep, the dragonfruit comes in 2 types - white and red kind. Red ones are sweeter and more expensive. Origins of dragonfruit is actually South America as it is a kind fo cactus. It's only later on that Vietnam cultivates and exports it successfully as a fruit that it became known as a fruit from Vietnam.
My poo is also red after eating the red ones... oops, too much info!

For my sis' baby, she did seek a second opinion at some baby clinic in AMK, but the doc said the same thing - that the baby's mucous was probably not sucked out totally at birth, so wheezing away, and now with haze, got worse. So no difference. Hee... but for all that wheezing, my nephew is 1kg overweight already!
Although he doesn't look fat at all.

sp,
Haha, seems like you're the "director" and hubby is the implementor... might as well leave the chopping of ginger and garlic to him too

Krisjoy,
I won't say the YTF is not nice, just so-so,not something that I will want to eat again.Unlike the YTF at People's Park, if I happen to be there,will sure go and eat.

No idea where to get the sauce, but I think it's a blend of may be black sweet sauce,sesame oil,hoisin sauce etc?

Annelise,
Oh no, your dd's fever so high,could it be related to the infections starting from her eyes?

I found the silicone baking sheet listed at Shermay's Cooking School's website, but they seem to have only 1 brand and 1 size.Was reading the reviews of different brands at Amazon.com this morning.

Silicone baking sheet is supposed to be non-stick,durable (can be re-used for 2000 to 3000 times).It can be used in place of waxed parchment paper for baking,roasting....save money in the long time,some can even be used as a pastry board to flatten the cookie dough.

I am thinking of either ordering online(but the shipping charges is going to be very high due to the dimension of the sheet) or asking hb to buy during his US trip next month(but he may not be able to find it).

LittleCat,
Thanks for the info on the Taka card.Saved me the time to read up,but don't think I have $500 worth of things to buy at the moment. Are you leaving your maid at your aunty's place while you are working?

Sophie,
I ever bought papaya that is unusually-artificially sweet, wonder if they also did something to the papaya?

sophie,
nowadays my hb is the one washing milk bottles, some more he got to help me with cooking, hmm, my MIL sure very "bueh song" with me.

got to wait after we move out, no more staying with MIL, then I'll train hb to do the chopping, kekeke...

Hi sp and Sophie, thanks. I just hope she doesn't pass it to my dd2 cos' she hates to drink meds. Oh, so the red dragonfruit is natural and not injected with some dye. My poor fil got a fright when his pee was red cos' he had UTI recently and he thought he kena again - luckily my mil ate some too and had the same red pee!

Annelise,
Aiyoh, your poor FIL must have almost gotten a heart attack!
Don't worry about them genetically modifying (GM)dragonfruits... I seriously don't think they are that advanced in Vietnam yet.
India, maybe, cos I read they GM potatoes, but Vietnam, hee, I doubt it. Here's a link to reassure you!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pitaya

sp,
Haha, I can see the horns coming out from your head now!

Van,
For papaya, I'm not sure if they GM it leh... cos it's such a cheap and easily available fruit, no reason for them to GM it right?
I know they GM potatoes in India so that the starving pple can pay lesser and eat potatoes, but pple cannot survive on papaya alone?
I sure get loose bowels!

btw, if you guys are curious... I just found out the reason why my MIL (after talking to some Indian Professor at NUH) told me not to eat papaya during first trimester. Cos unripe papaya contains a latex substance that can cause m/c. And some pple who have sensitive uterus may get uterine contractions from eating papaya too.
I was taking papaya last week for my bowel problems, and I had some tightening. So starting from today, I stopped papaya and will observe to see if the "tightening/contractions" lessen.

So pai sek din post any pic recently &amp; here's what I have for dinner last nite.

stir fried celery
547430.jpg

chicken chop
547431.jpg

cat_tail,

Feeling VERY HUNGRY after seeing your pictures!
547451.gif

sp,
Your hb so good...help you with so many things at home.Usually the MILs will be very Sim Tia when they see their sons being "bullied" by the wife....

Some MILs buay-song just keep quiet,some make sacarstic remarks, some worse,either broadcast to relatives or add salt,add vinegar....

Sophie,
I thought only pineapple have this problem,which may cause the menstruation cramps or even m/c,so papaya also?!

Van,

Thanks for helping me to get info on stove-top steamer, so paiseh for troubling you.
Endo sounds like a respectable brand and not too expensive.I'm going to look out for it.

I was at Sheng Siong last night checking out electric and stove-top steamers.Their stove -top ones are quite expensive at 50plus and 60plus, and it's only 1 tier.For electric steamers, they carry Tefal and Aerogaz.Hub doesn't like the awkward oval shape of electric steamers.He thinks it's difficult to find a dish that fits.Don't think I'll bend backwards to specially order a big electric steamer.We may consider getting a multi-purpose cooker instead.

I like the customer service at Limbang's housewares shop, MUCH better than the stuck-up Yew Tee one.Housewares shops normally have very bad attitude loh.Maybe because they're earning too much!

The dim sum place at Bukit Panjang Plaza is called Pick And Bite.I ate their Baked Chicken and Mushroom Rice, Siew Mai, Shui Jing Bao and Lotus Rice for dinner last night, and it's pretty good, especially the rice.I tried some of their other steamed items the other time and it's delicious as well.Prices are $3 for the rice and $2 for a bamboo basket.Can try it with your dd if you want.

Amelia,
No problem at all, cos I like to go window-shopping at houseware shops!

What mutli-purpose cooker are your looking at? Just curious.

Are you referring to the Limbang one opposite 7-eleven? I am regulars there as well. The Lao Ban Niang is very helpful, even helped me to order and specially tailor-made(a mattress cover) stuff that her shop doesn't have. And can bargain with her too!

The Yew Tee houseware shop is very expensive compared to the shops at Limbang and Bt Batok.

Hb is in HK now,I didn't cook today. Am thinking of where to go for dinner later,can consider BPP now,since my dd likes Chicken and Mushroom rice- I am assuming that this is the Chinese style?! but how come it's baked? not steamed?

About the oval-shaped dish,you can find stainless steel ones,in different sizes, at some houseware shops.

annelise, aiyoh why fever so high? is it due to haze?
my son also recently can hear his nose like block.. i quickly spray his nose every nite. His fever was high last week also 40. then we feed him bufen. plus the spray i think it helps.
On last tuesday got fever and also constipation for few days, so we worry the constipation cos the fever so bought the thing to insert and everything out.
but hor after that never poo-poo also till yesterday. We brought him to see doc again and insert another round... jia lat, i really scare he got so use to it and forget about doing it himself.. haiz..

thx annelise, hopefully he will looks like his brother :D

about the 3M aircon filter, i heard from the person who service the aircond said it will damage the air cond filter, cos it need stronger suction to suck. i bought once, after that left another half of it dare not use...

van, yes will be sending the maid and kids to auntie's house.

the maid hor so hardworking till finish everything... like nothing to do at home liao...
she sweep and mop the floor twice a day, then wash the toilet also twice a day...

this morning ask her to cook fried rice, told her the night b4 how to cook and she ask for the portion. so i told her the prawns about 8, then i want to show her the mixed vege (the peas, carrots, corn..) but accidentally took the sausage, then i think she ask the quantity, but i thot she was asking the prawns again, so i said 8...

So at the end i have fried rice with plenty of liao! imagine 8 praws, 8 sausage (small one luckily!!!) with eggs, with mixed vege... aiyoh!

cat_tail, yeah lor i must go home liao, very hungry after seeing the photo!!

eh sp, i still remember you told us last time u two wake up to cook spagathi one leh.. u should can wake up early :D

sohpie, not tail coming out from buttokc :D keke! mine tail is coming out soon.. the tail end with a triangle one..

Cat_tail,

The chicken chops look yummy and i m getting hungry now. i like something plain like celery to go w deep fried stuff. me not cooking today got migraine , i think the haze is hitting me liao.

Annelise, hope yr dd is getting better soon. now haze is getting worst.

cat_tail,
Your chicken chop looks lovely! Makes me feel like eating it too... but I am so lazy to fry stuff then have to mop floor!
Will go hunt down a fried chicken chops at the foodcourts tomorrow!

Van,
Yeah, I also thought only pineapples, but apparently even Yahoo Health says so about the papaya, so it can't be only the Indians who believe it, cos I also read about it in my "Indian/Ayurvedic" juice book. The Indian/Arabic doctor told my MIL no pineapples and papaya during first trimester.
http://health.yahoo.com/ency/healthwise/tn9779

LittleCat,
Haha, your story about the fried rice and sausage very funny! You mean you didn't realise you took the sausage till rice was totally fried?

Eh, what tail with triangle one? Hmm... am I missing out something with my preggie brain?

twinkle,
You get migraine too? Today I also got a bit of headache on my left side, prob cos of the haze too.

annlee,
If you like Vitasence products and wanna buy more, they are having a 20% discount online till 24 Oct. For members, you get 25% discount.

sophie,
ya terrible day for me. migraine , then menses cramps. aiyo i thought no more cramps after delivery. look like only first few times, now starts to hv cramps. Well, at least the cramps is not as bad as those b4 preggie.

twinkle,
Are you still breastfeeding? If you are, then cannot take much migraine medication right?
I used to take cafergot or dicophenac (think it's spelt this way), but then doc says preggie cannot take, so I just try to sleep it off in a darkened room.
Maybe you can do some temple and neck massage then try to sleep it off? Avoid chocolates, cheese and red wine - I find that these normally trigger off my migraine faster.
Today mine is more like tension headache... I think lack of oxygen cos I open my window a little bit only, due to the haze.

Oh dear, cramps also? I used to get bad cramps last time too, then while TTC-ing, I took Omega-3 fish oil, and surprisingly not much cramps.
It was only later that I read that Omega-3 oils may help in cramps because of its anti-inflammatory properties.

Van,

Don't know why it's called baked rice.The rice looked and tasted like steamed rice, very moist and delicious.

I think there're 2 houseware shops in Limbang.One nearer to the main entrance and the other one further away.You're refering to the shop further away?I bought hood filters from her recently, and I agree she's really very friendly
Yew Tee shop so bo-chup and always recommend more expensive and useless items.No ethics.

The multi-purpose I am looking for is somewhat like this.It steams, stews, stir-fries and BBQ.
547596.gif

cat-tail,
yr chicken chop looks so delicious, all hungry after seeing it, hehehe. me also
kao_drool.gif

last nite dinner was porridge, so my hb used the pork ribs to cook herbal soup, "bu nao" (nourish brain) soup, keke. Will be having it later as my lunch.

sophie,
hehe, my horns coming out and little cat's tail coming out... "tis the season to be evil, tralalalalaaaa... lalalalaaaaaaaaaaa........"

Good morning everybody!!!
counting down the days very happy kekeke!!

so Sophie, did u have Chicken chop last nite?
aiyoh cat_tail really make us drool man... eh remember to post receipi hor?

sophie, i just gave instruction on the nite b4, then morning she already fried and leave it on table. Then my hb said why so much liao.. then i look at it wow really leh.. later i told her the fried rice is good, then i ask btw why got sausage? she said mdm said put 8... oh gosh...

Sp! alright man give me 5 !

Cat_tail,
I like your chicken chops leh!
Think they will go very well with Japanese curry! Did u use breast or thigh meat?

Sorry to make u all drool &amp; flood this thread..wahaha... Van, I take your last advice to enlarge the pic, so it works!

Thanks for the compliments on my chicken chop. It's a very simple recipe &amp; pardon me, cos I dun measure the portion. Here it goes:

1) POund the chicken fillet (can buy from NTUC)
2) Pound 3 shallot &amp; 3 garlic and squeeze the juice out onto the fillet. Then add light soya sauce, sesame oil &amp; pepper and marinate whole day
3) Before u fry, add some egg white on the chop &amp; leave it aside for 10 mins.
4) Pound the soda biscuit (or use breadcrumbs but I like soda biscuit cos it's more crispy)
5) Coat the chop &amp; fry it until golden brown.

Krisjoy,
Good suggestion, next time I add Jap curry sauce. Normally I bot 1 pkt of chicken fillet (breast meat) from NTUC, which is easier to handle.

I had steamboat buffet at Tung Lok Paramount last nite. The prawns were really fresh and they were still moving when served to us! The scallops were big and juicy and they have clams (bao-bei) too. Though the menu selection is small, they compensate for quality. At S$28.80+++, I feel that it is value for money...

But this morning when I wake up got a bit of sore throat cos I drank a lot of the soup and they say it is heaty...

hi sophie,

tks i feel much better after a good nite sleep. luckily my son din demand much last night. i no BF liao but also try not to take medicine.

LittleCat,
Not counting today - it's just 2 more days for you! Yay!!!!

I didn't eat chicken chops last night - had my grilled salmon. Today wanna go find chicken chops, but near my place type mostly not the crumbs-coated kind. It's the no batter, just fry and add sauce over kind - the typical western food stall kind which I find got a "chicken-y" smell. See how... now that cat-tail gave recipe, I can go to my mum's place and ask her to fry for me. She's better at frying, and got maid to clean up oil splatters

sp,
Woah, your hubby dunno what's up your sleeve hor? Still "bu" your "nao".... hee, but he's so sweet!

cat-tail,
Thanks for recipe! Heee... will ask my mum to help fry

Krisjoy,
Jap curry is a good idea! I love Jap curry... There's a shop at United Square basement next to Subway that serves pretty good Jap curry right? I only tried 1 teaspoon that time cos first tri and puking away, but my hubby said not bad.

Eeeks... you dare to eat the prawns after you see them jumping away?

But of course this kind is the sweetest... just that I will keep imagining them feeling the pain when they get dunked into the soup! Oops... better stop my morbid thoughts here... sorry!

twinkle,
Glad to know you're feeling better - try not to expose yourself to too much light today and also flashing lights from TV. Take care!

Kris,
I only ate 2 pcs, my maid ate 2 pcs &amp; then the rest all shoot by my lao.... want to eat more oso dun have.

Sophie,
Lucky got maid to clean the kitchen or else I am lazy to fry anything..hee
Btw, how u grilled your salmon?

krisjoy and sophie, I wanted to make Jap curry on Mon but my hb says he's abit heaty so gotta do it on Friday. I even bought the Jap curry bar to standby. Got one stage, I'm crazy for Jap curry.

cat_tail, thanks for the recipe! I might try your chicken chop recipe for the curry but will use pork instead of chicken.

sophie, yes yes.... I want to get vitascience cleanser. Can you get for me?

morning ladies...

yesterday me on leave.. but run around e whole day, more tired than working leh...
hehehe.. i had my maternity photoshoot yesterday too, cos thinking maybe due anytime, so quickly went to take it liaoz... very tiring ar..!!! but fun, n bring back memories of my bridal shoot... everything e same, especially with hubby complaining away...

thanks sp!!!
i now already thinking i will miss ayden's movement inside me liaoz...

sophie n annelise,
i'm terrified of e episiotomy...
kao_scared.gif

hehehe.. i'm still driving now, everytime before i'm going to drive, i start talking to ayden, tell him to behave when i'm driving.. so i can save taxi fare, n buy him more things when he's out... hopefully can tahan until next week.. then i'll be taking leave to stay at home n wait for his arrival liaoz.. reli cannot bear to spend $$ on taking cab leh...

annelise,
how's ur dd's fever now?? much better???

sophie,
i got an "old wives' tale" to add regarding papaya.. i was craving for it abt 2 weeks ago, so ask mummy to search for me at market.. but e fruits seller told my mum last few weeks of preganancy cannot eat papaya, as baby will get jaundice due to e colour of e papaya... *haiz*.. after hearing it, altho i know its old wives' tale.. but dont dare to take liaoz...

abt e haze n baby's health hor..
if ayden reli arrive earlier, then i think i'll also hv aircon on whole day lor... but hor, my aircon is "old", cos took over from e previous owner n didn't change it... anyone hv any idea if older aircons use more "electricity"?
i'm still trying to figure out my Singapore Power bill these few months.. 2 person at home only (n hubby hardly use anything), but my bill S$150+++.. super scary leh.. i think i only on my aircon 3 times during tat month.. trying to find e "culprit"... i'm thinking its either e 8yrs old aircon, or e 6yrs old refrigerator...
kao_angry.gif
any experts can advise???

littlecat,
u start ur maternity leave nex week liaoz huh??? i also feel like taking.. but scare later not due next week then "wasted" a few days... i guess only decide after nex Mon checkup lor...
wah... wat u buy at Taka $400+?????
hehehe.. my office colleagues &amp; boss all gan-cheong liaoz... i'm doing an "official" handover tomorrow with my boss present.. then after tat shd be "free" liaoz... so today n tomorrow rushing abit...

cattail,
i love ur celery dish.. plus i see mushrooms there somemore... *drooling*.. too bad my dad n bro dont like celery, only mum n i like.. cannot ask her to cook.. cos dad will be angry if there is something tat he don't eat on e table...

sophie,
littlecat is having e "devil's tail".. tats why got triangle one... hehehe...
i dont know if its too far for u or not.. but Compass Point 4th flr foodcourt got very good Chicken Cutlet.. its not e breadcrumbs coated type..n super crispy.. everytime go there no need to think wat to eat, me n hubby both love it very much...

krisjoy,
wats e appt on 28th for? u buying resale flat?? 1st appt???
where is Tung lok paramount?? hear abt buffet i'm drooling again...
now hubby controlling my diet so strictly, but my "tastebuds" like getting rebellious.. e more u control, e more cravings i have... *haiz*...

Sophie,
The Jap shop has changed management liao. The new shop offers cheaper set lunches. Now that u mention, maybe I should eat that for lunch ",)
Btw, I din eat the prawns last nite bcos of my rashes but my friends were raving about it. I can tell from the bright orange colour that the prawns were very fresh

Cat_tail,
That means your chicken shops are very nice! It is always a good feeling that others finished the food u prepared so u feel being appreciated

annlee,
Will u be adding potatoes, carrots and onions to the curry? It'll taste even better!