Cooking Tips & Recipe

annlee, got photo for the petai? aiyoh drooling liao..

thanks Sophie and zzzcookiemonster on the BM info.
btw for electric pump which brand is better?

where r u gals staying? what is the best way to get the book from u?
or do u think i can find the book at Library?
cos pai seh to trouble u two lah...

Annlee, $50 per kg, for such size at least 3kg & above so it is about $150+. guess is the average price?

sophie for cake, i have tried order from this website before :
http://www.ecreative.com.sg/
the power ranger one http://www.ecreative.com.sg/cakes_details.asp?PSID=88
i order the Power Ranger for his 4 years old birthday celebration at the childcare. he so happy and proud he got the power ranger cake!

carole, that is true. like they said neighbour is better than your own relative (in mandarin).

sophie, it just a dream dun worry too much. yeah i think mom feeling affect baby too.

no need birth plan lah, just make sure your gynae know. for my case he put note in the admission form :
pethidine for pain or KIV epidural if <4cm

annlee, got photo for the petai? aiyoh drooling liao..

thanks Sophie and zzzcookiemonster on the BM info.
btw for electric pump which brand is better?

where r u gals staying? what is the best way to get the book from u?
or do u think i can find the book at Library?
cos pai seh to trouble u two lah...

Annlee, $50 per kg, for such size at least 3kg &amp; above so it is about $150+. guess is the average price?

sophie for cake, i have tried order from this website before :
http://www.ecreative.com.sg/
the power ranger one http://www.ecreative.com.sg/cakes_details.asp?PSID=88
i order the Power Ranger for his 4 years old birthday celebration at the childcare. he so happy and proud he got the power ranger cake!

carole, that is true. like they said neighbour is better than your own relative (in mandarin).

sophie, it just a dream dun worry too much. yeah i think mom feeling affect baby too.

no need birth plan lah, just make sure your gynae know. for my case he put note in the admission form :
pethidine for pain or KIV epidural if <4cm

lyn &amp; zzzcookiemonster
for the nipple if is too sore did u apply any cream?
i heard some cream is not toxic so after apply still can feed baby?

lyn &amp; zzzcookiemonster
for the nipple if is too sore did u apply any cream?
i heard some cream is not toxic so after apply still can feed baby?

Sophie,
heee.. actually cannot remember the pain well now.
think after inducing, the pain is slight like our normal menses cramps. and it will get more intense and the frequency more often. for me its like a bad case of stomache ache + menses cramp. Each contraction will feel the tummy hardening and tightening.

Littlecat,
for electric pump, if u do not intend to breastfeed for long, i heard fm my friends medela mini electric is good. i am using the medela pis advance. heard that the ameda (think wrong spelling) is not bad also. to be ultra kiasu, after delivery while still in the hospital, i went to tmc parent craft center to try out the ameda, avent and medela before deciding which one to buy. and if buy meedela fm tmc, after 6months using, they can buy back fm you at half price. as there is a waiting list for 2nd hand pis medela.
Sore nipple - usually after breast-feeding, can use breastmilk to apply to the nipple and air it (without bra).
but mine cracked and bleeded, so mrs wong suggested using avent nipple cream which is safe for baby. but after putting the avent cream, i kiasu and will usually use wet towel to wipe off abit before feeding baby.
me will be at near jln bahar area sun to thur evening and working at near raffles place area. can pass the book to you?

Sophie,
heee.. actually cannot remember the pain well now.
think after inducing, the pain is slight like our normal menses cramps. and it will get more intense and the frequency more often. for me its like a bad case of stomache ache + menses cramp. Each contraction will feel the tummy hardening and tightening.

Littlecat,
for electric pump, if u do not intend to breastfeed for long, i heard fm my friends medela mini electric is good. i am using the medela pis advance. heard that the ameda (think wrong spelling) is not bad also. to be ultra kiasu, after delivery while still in the hospital, i went to tmc parent craft center to try out the ameda, avent and medela before deciding which one to buy. and if buy meedela fm tmc, after 6months using, they can buy back fm you at half price. as there is a waiting list for 2nd hand pis medela.
Sore nipple - usually after breast-feeding, can use breastmilk to apply to the nipple and air it (without bra).
but mine cracked and bleeded, so mrs wong suggested using avent nipple cream which is safe for baby. but after putting the avent cream, i kiasu and will usually use wet towel to wipe off abit before feeding baby.
me will be at near jln bahar area sun to thur evening and working at near raffles place area. can pass the book to you?

oops... I forgotten my cake is more than 1kg so shld cost more...

littlecat, forgotten to take picture for petai, next time hor...
About the electric pump, I'm using medela and is with me for 4 yrs but I heard ameda is good too... is not that noisy like medela. Think you shld get a eletric one if you intend to BF for long.
About the sore nipple, i did not use them cos i don't see any effect at all and also don't want bb to swallow the cream although is safe.

sophie, don't worry too much about bb, is just a dream...did anything worrying you recently? talking about dream, my hb told me this morning that he dreamt of his stock went up super high and so happy that he woke up and cannot sleep after that hee....

oops... I forgotten my cake is more than 1kg so shld cost more...

littlecat, forgotten to take picture for petai, next time hor...
About the electric pump, I'm using medela and is with me for 4 yrs but I heard ameda is good too... is not that noisy like medela. Think you shld get a eletric one if you intend to BF for long.
About the sore nipple, i did not use them cos i don't see any effect at all and also don't want bb to swallow the cream although is safe.

sophie, don't worry too much about bb, is just a dream...did anything worrying you recently? talking about dream, my hb told me this morning that he dreamt of his stock went up super high and so happy that he woke up and cannot sleep after that hee....

zzz monster: westwood.

annlee: ya.. cheap isit? nt sure 1st time trying a durian cake

little cat: yaz.. so far she is real nice.

zzz monster: westwood.

annlee: ya.. cheap isit? nt sure 1st time trying a durian cake

little cat: yaz.. so far she is real nice.

carole, zzzcookiemonster , eh we stay near each other leh.. me at Jurong East.

thanks gals, for the tips on eletrical pump.

so cupcake, interested to taste the petai or not ? keke.. wait she faint after trying ;)

hi van, got the message thru Starz, thanks for the info!! :D
will drive 'lorry' there tomolo to load up ! haha just kidding!

zzzcookiemonster, i check with my hb first, cos i need transport to bring me there if i need the book. will let you know.

carole, must 'bribe' her with more of your cooking and dessert! :D

carole, zzzcookiemonster , eh we stay near each other leh.. me at Jurong East.

thanks gals, for the tips on eletrical pump.

so cupcake, interested to taste the petai or not ? keke.. wait she faint after trying ;)

hi van, got the message thru Starz, thanks for the info!! :D
will drive 'lorry' there tomolo to load up ! haha just kidding!

zzzcookiemonster, i check with my hb first, cos i need transport to bring me there if i need the book. will let you know.

carole, must 'bribe' her with more of your cooking and dessert! :D

Hallo all!!

Carole,

The Tweety Bird D24 durian cake is so cute and I'm sure it's very delicious.$50 is very cheap leh!Do they deliver?

Aiyah, CCK is so nice and convenient.Why you wanna move?I've moved a couple of times before, and I find CCK the best place to stay.

Hallo all!!

Carole,

The Tweety Bird D24 durian cake is so cute and I'm sure it's very delicious.$50 is very cheap leh!Do they deliver?

Aiyah, CCK is so nice and convenient.Why you wanna move?I've moved a couple of times before, and I find CCK the best place to stay.

amelia: movig to jurong west.... they charge for delivery as for how much i think from 12 i guess. i went to pick up myself

Carole,

$12 is quite reasonable too.
Thinking of ordering one for Christmas.

I read from your previous posts that you're moving opposite Jurong Point SC.Also good;rather self sufficient.You completed your renovation?

Carole,

$12 is quite reasonable too.
Thinking of ordering one for Christmas.

I read from your previous posts that you're moving opposite Jurong Point SC.Also good;rather self sufficient.You completed your renovation?

amelia: no leh. its westwood. near to gekpoh. i get my keys on 20th and shifting on 28. reno comes in later. cos gng to stay there for long.. so reno anytime also can.
as the seller already painted new coat of paint, we dun have to do much.. maybe just the kitchen. cos i wanted something more lighter in colour and something which i prefer.

amelia: no leh. its westwood. near to gekpoh. i get my keys on 20th and shifting on 28. reno comes in later. cos gng to stay there for long.. so reno anytime also can.
as the seller already painted new coat of paint, we dun have to do much.. maybe just the kitchen. cos i wanted something more lighter in colour and something which i prefer.

Woah, come back from lunch so many postings?
Van must be still shopping at Taka

annlee,
I like your hubby's dream! Hee... if I got dream like that, baby sure very happy
If that dream can come true, don't sleep also never mind!

My hubby says he may have reservist training in Taiwan in Jan-Feb next year, around my 38th week. His superior told him no need to defer now yet, cos pregnancy sometimes early sometimes late, so wait till nearer to date then see how. So maybe I got a bit worried then got the sad dream. Now I know what the books mean when they say dreams during pregnancy are more vivid and real!

Remember to take pic if you cook petai this style next time... I've actually never tried petai cooked like your mum's style before. Next time - pic + recipe please!

cupcake,
Hee, the stinky bean does not really stink, esp. if fried with sambal. But your pee will!
If you are ever in KLCC and wanna try some "high-class" nasi lemak + stinky bean, Madam Kwan at the top floor does a good version. Their nasi lemak comes with very yummy chicken curry, and I like their sambal petai - no smell at all.

LittleCat,
Seems like you and cookiemonster both stay in West. Me stay in Bishan, so don't think so convenient for you. But if you really desperate and cannot get hold of the book, I can scan in those pages you want and put them in Yahoo.
Let me know!

Amelia,
I was just thinking about you last night! Was wondering if your hubby still coming home early then maybe you spend time with him, so not free to come into the forum

Woah, come back from lunch so many postings?
Van must be still shopping at Taka

annlee,
I like your hubby's dream! Hee... if I got dream like that, baby sure very happy
If that dream can come true, don't sleep also never mind!

My hubby says he may have reservist training in Taiwan in Jan-Feb next year, around my 38th week. His superior told him no need to defer now yet, cos pregnancy sometimes early sometimes late, so wait till nearer to date then see how. So maybe I got a bit worried then got the sad dream. Now I know what the books mean when they say dreams during pregnancy are more vivid and real!

Remember to take pic if you cook petai this style next time... I've actually never tried petai cooked like your mum's style before. Next time - pic + recipe please!

cupcake,
Hee, the stinky bean does not really stink, esp. if fried with sambal. But your pee will!
If you are ever in KLCC and wanna try some "high-class" nasi lemak + stinky bean, Madam Kwan at the top floor does a good version. Their nasi lemak comes with very yummy chicken curry, and I like their sambal petai - no smell at all.

LittleCat,
Seems like you and cookiemonster both stay in West. Me stay in Bishan, so don't think so convenient for you. But if you really desperate and cannot get hold of the book, I can scan in those pages you want and put them in Yahoo.
Let me know!

Amelia,
I was just thinking about you last night! Was wondering if your hubby still coming home early then maybe you spend time with him, so not free to come into the forum

Littlecat,
So near to each other, we can meet up easily!!
Just let me know when u want to collect the books. ;)

carole,
mind to give hints on which side u staying? near the childcare/playground side or the kje side?
heee.... i go kay poh...

Littlecat,
So near to each other, we can meet up easily!!
Just let me know when u want to collect the books. ;)

carole,
mind to give hints on which side u staying? near the childcare/playground side or the kje side?
heee.... i go kay poh...

I am thinking of buying this steamer, but in 3 tier, so I can spend lesser time in the kitchen.
543383.jpg

Carole,

Not too sure about Jurong West area.You mean you're shifting 28th this month?That's quick!My favourite part of the reno is also doing up the kitchen.;)

Sophie,

My hub is having some reservist thingy, so he's back early.He has been thinking of changing to an 8 to 5 job.Don't know leh..not used to him being back so early daily.

Cookiemonster,

You also staying in Jurong West?Which part?

I am thinking of buying this steamer, but in 3 tier, so I can spend lesser time in the kitchen.
543383.jpg

Carole,

Not too sure about Jurong West area.You mean you're shifting 28th this month?That's quick!My favourite part of the reno is also doing up the kitchen.;)

Sophie,

My hub is having some reservist thingy, so he's back early.He has been thinking of changing to an 8 to 5 job.Don't know leh..not used to him being back so early daily.

Cookiemonster,

You also staying in Jurong West?Which part?

amelia, I got that steamer but different model. Didn't use it cos most of the time I stir fry veggie etc... I find abit troublesome to wash them as a few layer and parts to wash. If you steam alot then it will be very useful

sophie, oh yes... sometimes worry or too happy will have dreams...think of the bright side, don't stress yourself or later bb kick your tummy hee...

okok next time I will take pic of my petai.

amelia, I got that steamer but different model. Didn't use it cos most of the time I stir fry veggie etc... I find abit troublesome to wash them as a few layer and parts to wash. If you steam alot then it will be very useful

sophie, oh yes... sometimes worry or too happy will have dreams...think of the bright side, don't stress yourself or later bb kick your tummy hee...

okok next time I will take pic of my petai.

Cookiemonster,

Where's your own place?

Annlee,

Yours 3 tier ah?How much did you pay?I am going to call one of those neighbourhood appliances shop in Bukit Batok for the price.If it's reasonable, I will get one more for my 2nd brother.

Cookiemonster,

Where's your own place?

Annlee,

Yours 3 tier ah?How much did you pay?I am going to call one of those neighbourhood appliances shop in Bukit Batok for the price.If it's reasonable, I will get one more for my 2nd brother.

hi all!
Been resting whole day so now get up to read all the posts...

Littlecat,
I read from other threads that the cakes from ecreative look very nice but taste wise so so only...have u tried theirs before? I got to eat the blackforest cake from Pine Garden at my friend baby's 1st month party. It is indeed very good! The cherries were soaked in rum so the cake is not too sweet. I heard that their lychee martini cake is popular too!

Amelia,
Some steamers that I saw cannot put a whole fish inside. Is this brand (Takada) big enough?

Sophie,
I also have not tried petai before but heard that it is good for people with high blood pressure and diabetes...

hi all!
Been resting whole day so now get up to read all the posts...

Littlecat,
I read from other threads that the cakes from ecreative look very nice but taste wise so so only...have u tried theirs before? I got to eat the blackforest cake from Pine Garden at my friend baby's 1st month party. It is indeed very good! The cherries were soaked in rum so the cake is not too sweet. I heard that their lychee martini cake is popular too!

Amelia,
Some steamers that I saw cannot put a whole fish inside. Is this brand (Takada) big enough?

Sophie,
I also have not tried petai before but heard that it is good for people with high blood pressure and diabetes...

amelia, i got two 3 tier steamer. I bought from robinson when sales around $60, is big and can stew too. Another is free from bank, never use before. krisjoy is right, if wanna steam whole fish might be too small.

Sophie,
Hehe you are wrong.I was at Taka for about 1 1/2 hr only.Rushed back to put porridge and sweet potato to cook in thermal pot,so that when I come back from Phoon Huat's baking class the porridge is ready.

I bought the 20cm inner pot, with addtional 10% discount.The promoter said he didn't really measure the capacity,but estimated to be around 3 to 3L plus.

Actually other stainless steel pots about half to 3/4 size of the 5.2L can also be used as inner pot,....BUT....other pots usually have big handles which make the whole pot not able to fit into the tiger thermal pot.Those without handles are hard to take out, and he said those Indian stainless steel pot's quality not as good.

I know how your feel about your hb's reservist close to your full term.My hb travelled a lot too,even during my last trimester.

Amelia,

I have a three-tier steamer...but non-electric ones!.I find the electric, plastic/acrylic ones too small,and they tend to retain the smell of food, especially....errr....fish!

LittleCat,
Did you also got my msg about the electric pump offer? Madela ones also having sales.

annlee,
Thanks for asking! My daughter has VERY good appetite now.Just need to keep feeding her to gain back the weight and muscles.

Carole,
D24 duriank cake sounds very tempting....drooling...liaoz!

Next month LittleCat will on on confinement leave,how to go your house warming huh? Don't sian her lah!

<font color="0000ff">I have got photos from the baking class to tempt you gals,will post it up soon.</font>

Sophie,
Hehe you are wrong.I was at Taka for about 1 1/2 hr only.Rushed back to put porridge and sweet potato to cook in thermal pot,so that when I come back from Phoon Huat's baking class the porridge is ready.

I bought the 20cm inner pot, with addtional 10% discount.The promoter said he didn't really measure the capacity,but estimated to be around 3 to 3L plus.

Actually other stainless steel pots about half to 3/4 size of the 5.2L can also be used as inner pot,....BUT....other pots usually have big handles which make the whole pot not able to fit into the tiger thermal pot.Those without handles are hard to take out, and he said those Indian stainless steel pot's quality not as good.

I know how your feel about your hb's reservist close to your full term.My hb travelled a lot too,even during my last trimester.

Amelia,

I have a three-tier steamer...but non-electric ones!.I find the electric, plastic/acrylic ones too small,and they tend to retain the smell of food, especially....errr....fish!

LittleCat,
Did you also got my msg about the electric pump offer? Madela ones also having sales.

annlee,
Thanks for asking! My daughter has VERY good appetite now.Just need to keep feeding her to gain back the weight and muscles.

Carole,
D24 duriank cake sounds very tempting....drooling...liaoz!

Next month LittleCat will on on confinement leave,how to go your house warming huh? Don't sian her lah!

<font color="0000ff">I have got photos from the baking class to tempt you gals,will post it up soon.</font>