Cooking Tips & Recipe

Woah, Carole, your new place looks really nice!
Got yard, so can plant your own organic vegetables and herbs... my ultimate dream! That is, if my cats don't chew up my plants first!
I think 99 yrs is good enough for staying... freehold are really overpriced now. Plus nowadays 99-yr lease can be "topped up" anyway.

Amelia,
Thanks for advice on bird's nest.
For steamer, you're not afraid of the "smell" that Van mentioned?
Your hubby now works irregular hours? In that case, I guess probably an 8-5 job with longer working hrs during peak periods is better lah... at least can control own timing and work from home lor.

starz,
Thanks for info on bird's nest too!
Ok, for swimming, I'll try to do it again, but sooo scared tummy will tighten up... maybe baby feels cold?
You are right that it's good - I just checked it up on a book, it says even if don't swim, the water pressure is good for the body... helps blood circulation.
Hee... I also cannot wait to bring my baby to the pool next time!

Eh, the 2kg was at 20weeks when I weighed at gynae's is cos of bad nauseousness. Now prob weigh more. My friend told me some pple balloon up at the last trimester... hehe, I think she means I will end up like that! Somemore last night just went out to eat Hokkien mee at 2am!
Don't feel gigantic! As long as baby is healthy, weight is just another "noble scar" of motherhood, although a temporary one, cos can be shed off. My sis also put on 20+ kg throughout her pregnancy, and now working it off by exercising... creates a healthier routine for herself.

Van,
Eh, my auntie told me the one she went to (dunno which branch) is the kind where you sit outside the kitchen, then the kitchen has a glass window like Breadtalk, then you watch from outside. She says there is also a TV for those sitting at the back who cannot see clearly. Probably now different.

Yeah, I stopped using the thermal pot, cos always very greedy, cook up my 5.2L pot with 2/3 food, then heavy + have to eat for a few days, very sian. I see if hubby keen to go Orchard today... if he is OK, then I drop by to buy the smaller 20cm inner pot like you.

Van... remember to show us your sour cream coffee cake if you make it next time ok? Dunno why I am so fixated with coffee cake
Probably caffeine withdrawal!

Just saw from the Makan Lost & Found snippets by Michelle Chia and Gurmit Singh that there is a good tauhuay at Zion Riverside Hawker Centre with fantastic ah bor leng. Will try to hunt it down this weekend!

hi ladies...

rarely i'm home on saturday.. so come in n update u all too...

i just came back from checkup just now... my boy is 3.2kg @ 36.5weeks liaoz.. n doc confirmed his violent kicks are a sign tat he's healthy n strong... furthermore, his head already very low, and he should be arriving in abt 2 weeks time..!!! 1.5weeks ahead of schedule!

dats y i'm back home now.. suppose to be packing my hospital bag liaoz.. but later lah.. hehehehe...

Van,
ya lor.. i also didnt know they bring forward opening GAP.. mayb try to catch tis weekend crowd, otherwise open on Sunday abit lugi e friday n saturday crowd mah...

joy,
huh... like dat not considered cheap ar??? mayb now property reli dropped too much lor.. my friend's parents bought a smaller size 2.5storey "old" property in Lentor Ave abt 5-6yrs ago, it costs abt $1m leh...
but i definitely agree, warmth n love in e house is most impt.. not e size..

carole,
u still BFing at 1years... i reli "pei fu pei fu".. i wish i can do it, but worried it will be tough as i'll be back to work by 2mths..

sophie,
u r most welcome...

abt swimming.. maybe u "inform" ur baby first lor... start talking to bb at home.. but probably dont talk at e swimming pool unless ur hubby with u, otherwise i know.. pple may think we "siao" liaoz...

Starz

You are right, property has gone down a lot already...Condo can also be bought at around300plus k. For old terrace,you still can get it around 600 plus freehold, depends on which district.....buyer's market.

joy: sounds like u staying in Loyang villa to mez.. kekek

sophie: i dun like much plants, and i am nt a very plant person too. I have intention to get a water feature and i do need the extra space in the car porch for 2 cars. Another thing is my Male dog loves to bit onto things.. so i have to give greenery a miss.

starz: many of my friends still bf-ing while at work. just the troublesome part of having to express. but if u are like us so persistent, i am sure u can bf as long as u want. just sparing sometime during lunch to express.

Van,
The cakes looks so good!!! Oopss.. I am tempted out by food again. Sorry folks, din contribute too much in the thread cos this old lady really can't catch up.

Amelia,
I got a 3 tier steamer & I used it for steaming my milk bottles..keke.. I noe what u going to say.

Carole,
That's a nice place u get! It's really $680k?? Hmm... I am coughing out almost $400K for my HDB...grrrhh

sophie, on my first preggie, I swim alot... I remember when my tummy is so big i still dive inside the water and after that can feel my bb moving alot, think he also swimming with me hee.... .

van, thanks for the infor on phoonhuat!

Hallo everyone!!

I am staying in today to make dinner.Weather has been hot and humid, so gonna make soup and other light dishes even though I'm craving for curry chicken.

Carole,

Your new home is gorgeous!Totally move-in condition!You have a pic of the kitchen too?
I salute you.I can never live with elders after staying alone for so long.

Starz,

I'm totally not reliant on people and very rarely ask for help.Maybe it's because I've been placed in worse situations.
As for your question, I'm not answering in this open forum since my nick is also my name.

Van,

I am looking for your steamer too, but haven't found it yet.Have to really ask around.

Oh i didn't know foil-wrapped herbal chicken must steam for hours!Thought 1 hour can already.I also want to use my new steamer on wantons, shui jiao etc.

Yeap, I like the convenience of electric steamer.If I can find one in a good size, I'll get it.

My hub comes home about 10pm, quite alright to me, not too late.

Sophie,

I think a good washing can get rid of the smell?

Cat_tail,

At least the electric steamer is good for something haha!

Carole

No,loyang villa is at pasir ris, me near parkway parade...

Hey, do you have a wet and dry kitchen....I love wet kitchen cos no need to clean like mad...I do not use my dry kitchen at all...

Amelia,
I guess a good washing plus airing and worst case, lemon juice, should do the trick

Carole,
What kind of dog is yours?

annlee,
Yeah, I think like what starz says, I'll give swimming another try... will talk to baby and ask if maybe water is too cold, but psycho baby that swimming good for mummy's circulation too

Really enjoy the "weightlessness" once inside the water, so I know how you can still go swimming with a big tummy

Wanted to go swimming just now, but the haze is so bad... my nose hurts even when I stayed outdoors for too long. Did some light yoga at home instead.

starz,
Hee... actually I mumble to baby when I walk to do my grocery shopping too... people probably already think I am "siao"

3.2kg! That's going to be a good-sized baby boy! Esp in 2 weeks time he would have probably gained a bit more.
So excited for you
Take care and rest lots.
Just remembered you wrote that you talk to baby when you are driving... you mean you are still driving now that you are so big?

Van,
The peach jelly cake look very nice!! Does it taste as good? I think the $10 is very well spent since u can redeem it on the products...

Sophie,
I started taking bird's nest from the 5th month onwards. But I only take it once a month. I have friends whom take it twice per month and some every week. They say it will make the bb's complexion very good...

Starz,
So excited for you!! You may pop soon! My next appt with gynae is on the 25th and he will then assess roughly when I will deliver. My EDD is 19th Nov and I dun mind popping earlier say early Nov.

Carol,
Your house looks very nice! I feel that it is worth the price, considering the size and it is landed. You were saying it is at Jurong West? My parents is staying at Jurong West extention area.

annlee,
Yep, I saw that littledreamers website before - was tempted to get their stretchmark oil containing jojoba oil & wheatgerm oil, but that place is not opened everyday, and only on alternate Sats. My friend gave me a half tube of Thyme stretchmark cream - I'm using it now, quite good as it absorbs and does not leave greasy feeling. Then for days when I need heavier application, I bought the Body Shop Cocoa Body Butter... oily, but nice smell... I smell like a bar of chocolate after applying

Thanks for letting me know anyway!

Krisjoy,
It'll be a matter of time for you to see your baby too

I forgot... is yours a boy or girl?

Review: House of Soya Bean at Zion Riverside Food Centre
- I tried the tauhuay with red kidney beans today - tauhuay is quite soft and not too sweet, red kidney beans is of good texture and just the right degree of sweetness. I like it cos their tauhuay apparently does not contain "shi(2) gao(1)", but the owner uses some stuff from Japan to solidify the soy bean. It breaks more easily than the Rochor kind but I like it cos it seems healthier than the shi gao type

- My hubby tried the tauhay with soy bean milk with ah bor leng; left only with peanut flavour so he took that. Skin of ah bor leng is slightly thick btu still soft. Peanut filling oozes out nicely and can still taste the nutty texture.
- They have other toppings like gingko nuts or lotus seeds
- Hubby commented this owner is one of the youngest tauhay vendor he's seen, and his skin is very dark for a tauhuay man

- Overall more expensive than the traditional type as my red kidney bean one costs $1.50 and the ah bor leng one costs $1.80. But worth a try

* Saw a long queue for the char kway teow... gonna try it next time!

cat-tail: yes yes is 680k. its like buyinga 3-4 bedrooms condo with 99 yrs lease.

amelia: kitchen have but i have intention to get the kitchen to redo the layout cos i hated it! totaly move in, as the seller already painted a new coat of paint.
Well, we have live enough couple/privacy ... and moreover, my family only me n my bro. Bro looking for a plc and i dun wan my mum to be alone... so bette rto fetch her lor. Well my In laws has her 2nd son to look after.

544735.jpg

joy: lol exactly.. i am doing the same too. Heavy cooking will be in the back yard while light cooking will be the kitchen.

sophie: JRTs - one male and one female.

krisjoy: yes ard that area.. those terrace near floravale!

Carole

Your kitchen looked allmost like mine except the kitchen stove and sink are in a different place...We occupied one side as in parallel part of the kitchen and empty the other side to allow more walk space...

you will enjoy your wet kitchen...the other place that I loved about my house is the big"dryer" at my second floor balcony...No need to keep cloths regardless rain or shine as its full glass and water will not come in....

Not sure you will face this problem. I have a tiny outside space that can park a small car...many strangers will park there and end up the car always blocked my front view as in the gate area....very bad for fengsui...told them to move forward but esp the neighbour boyfriend always push the car so backward when there is ample space for him to go forward....he wanted to leave her gf house front portion fully cleared....xiao

joy: nt thinknig of having a dryer as my car porch infront has a suspensed hanger thingie for the bamboo! i love to have the sink n hob together and keep walking space as much as possible as my gal is growing up, but worrying now if there is any piping for gas etc...

for the last few weeks, we noticed a car parked infront of our plc, but since we are nt moving in tt time, so we let them be. Tt nite hb left a note on that car, and requesting him to avoid parking from 20th.
guess wat, that car shifted. kekkke...

Carole

My "dryer"is the sun that shines into the balcony lately...no need to keep even its raining day....

You intend to hang cloths in your front porch?

Maybe your kitchen is different from mine, my sink is facing the window, where your door is...my door is at the side of the kitchen, leading to backyard...

I just wrote a note and put infront of that man car..he moved too....

joy: ic ic.. we are thinking of opening an opening from our room to the open space infront, do it like a roof terrace thingie where i can put clothes or even have morning newspaper n breakfast at the deck. well, all this will be subjected to URA approval

lol. u like us har.. this ppl so funny.. their plc dun park, park our plc.

That is the problem when stayed on landed area....

More renovation upon moving in?I had further renovation after rebuilt my present place...its hassle and lots of dust flying around and gave me lots of frustration...never want to go through it again..not to mention the saga with the contractor

joy: lol.. i understand.. REbuilt!! kaoz.. ex lor.. i just wan to do minimum just to make sure things are in the order i wan it to be. contractor saga.. i will get my friend to do tt, so far my gfs using him, and no problem.

Carole

All the best in your renovations...

For me, once bitten twice shy...contractor is my brother best friend...so strain that me and my brother were so sour at one time....

Sophie,

Or soaking in soapy water should do the trick.

Last night, I made chicken soup with winter melon and onions, and normal yong tau foo in tom yam sauce.I found a super lazy/save gas/save time way to make nice soups!!

Carole,

It depends whether you're in the kitchen a lot.If you're not, can actually leave it the way it is.Renovation is very dusty, don't think you'll like it too much.

Amelia,
So you are actually are more into the electric steamer or the stainless steel stove top type? Will look out for you if you still intend to get the stainless steel,deep pot type.Sometimes this can be found at make shift stall outside wet market.

Sophie,
You will be dissappointed....my sour cream coffee cake is not coffee-flavoured. This is a popular cake with cinnamon,brown sugar and nuts, best served with coffee.

http://www.coffeecakes.com/coffee-cake-faq.html

So you mean Phoon Huat used to have this watch-from-glass panel type of baking class? The one I attended has a big mirror on top,positition in a nice angle for us to see the ingredients or what the instuctor is doing.I could even take photos by just aiming at the mirror.

Taken directly:
545310.jpg

Taken from the big mirror on top:
545311.jpg

Van,

Thanks for looking out for me.

Think I should get both, since electric steamers are normally on the small side.Stainless steel stove-top type will be for big whole fishes( occasional use), and electric steamer will be for small food items( frequent use).

You mean CCK market?The only wet market I've been to is Yew Tee.

Phoon Huat's baking classes are professional-looking!

Amelia,
My stove-top steamer is actually quite bulky,but I didn't even bother to keep it in the kitchen cabinet(and not enough space anyway),cos I use it almost everyday...steam tau sar pau for breakfast, sweet potato or corn for snack,rice/meat/fish for dinner.

I used to see the stalls at Bt Batok Blk 153 market and Keat Hong Blk 253 market, but haven't seen them for quite some time already.If I do see them again, will ask for the contact no.

Yew Tee market seems to have more of the Korean pots and Xue Di Zhi+anodised wok, and normal stainless steel cookware.

Missed out on the herbal chicken....though 1hr to 1hr hour is usually enough, but I always steam for about 2 hrs,till the meat is so tender and can easily be removed from the bones.I also stuff chestnuts in the chicken stomach,very Pang when open up.

The instuctor at JE's Phoon Huat is actually quite good,but when we tried out his recipes at home sometimes can't achieve the same result.A typical example is the bread that I learned and tried at home, not very satisfactory,may be didn't knead the dough long enough.

Krisjoy,
The peach jelly cake tastes good but the Passion fruit jelly a bit sourish.The instuctor said could add more sugar if we find it too sourish. But this type of cake a lot of work....3 layers (cake+mousse+jelly) very troublesome.

cat_tail,
I thought only Sophie's yummy fish dishes can lured cat_tail out! So yummy cakes and cookies also can huh?!

Starz,
Wow, your baby is 3.2kg, easier to take care...that's what the elderly said.Dr Kee estimated my baby to be about 2.3 to 2.6 kg,my dd's birth weight is actually 2.25kg.Let's see how accurate is he this time.

You still can drive now? I remembered during the last trimester,especially last two months, I couldn't drive liaoz, even though my tummy is not really that big.

hello just drop by to say hello! guess tomolo onward will be busy liao...
thinking of last working week before the long break hehe, so happy!

Carole, wow nice house! do post some photo after your reno

My hb got this fear of buying landed property, u can't choose your neighbour.. think of the joo chiat neighbour thing ...
But still our dream to have a landed one.. another option is to get those low floor at condo. u have the so called landed feel also can enjoy the facilities.

cupcake, i saw Petai at NTUC today. So i bought one pack and ask my maid to cook. and.. forgot to take phot :p pai seh!
it's a kind of seed, green in colour, we called in 'smelly bean', it does looks like bean.

sophie i took bird's nest too, starting from 1st trismester. cos during that time no appetite some say it is good to take. but not regular just like 1 or 2 bottle for that period. later i also take hashima, i double boil it myself. once or twice a month kind of thing.
i think depends on your body too.

van, i sign up the amex card liao, guess what? Saturday a lone already reach four hundred +! Guess i need to buy just another $20 can get the $30 voucher liao ...

Amelia,
What easy way to make soup? The winter melon chicken soup sounds nice! No pics?

Van,
Yep, my auntie said she attended one class at PH many years ago, and it's see from window one. She said not so clear... so maybe now they changed to this style which is much clearer.
Oh, the sour cream coffee cake is not really coffee flavoured cake then
Hee... think maybe I really got caffeine withdrawal!
Ok, will wait for you to make your cinnamon cake to eat with kopi!

btw, I think you previously mentioned yong tau foo at People's Park Complex? I went there today - it's at #01-1082 next to a sugar cane juice stall. Heard from an auntie sitting at the same table that they only open from 1pm-4pm. I was there at 12:50noon, and the queue already started. Throughout the whole time I was eating, there was a constant queue. I find it pretty good, and the soup base is yummy without making you feel thirsty after drinking it.

LittleCat,
Thanks for info on bird's nest and hashima. Think I will try when after the 7th month, just to play safe.
Wow, last week of work... Good for you!

cupcake,
You can go this this website to check out how stinky beans look like. It shows a pic of raw petai, and if you click next at the bottom, it shows it cooked with sambal prawns.

Choc,
You were the one who mentioned that the tightening of the tummy was Braxton Hicks contractions? I checked with my sis, and she confirmed they are, and that I have to be careful and keep track of them. Cos for her first kid, she had so many Braxton Hicks contractions that she ended up with real contractions and gave birth to her dd at 7 months!

So scary... then today when baby shifted position in my tummy and suddenly one side went hard (maybe cos that's where baby's head was and the other side was soft), I got a bit paranoid!

i am the only one who cooks at home. and the feeling in the kitchen is really horrible as the cupboard on the top is rather low at the sink side. i dun like the feeling of worrying hitting my head. esp. myhb rather big n tall... and the colour in the kitchen sucks big time... making it super dim.

annlee,
I am stayin at Blk 1.

Sophie,
U should try it! The Char Kway Teow at Zion Rd is damn good! They put a lot of lards & hum! *yum yum..

Carole,
That's a good price!
Hmm... the kitchen is very 80s type hor. If u want to redo it, I recommend Kitchen Classic. Had my kitchen done by them & I luv their designs & workmanship! They have a lot of show kitchens at their shop, so no harm going down & see.

Van,
I luv cakes!

But that's my worst skill..haha..

Sophie,
Heard that the char kway teow at Zion Road is very popular! Cat_tail says it is nice...i hv not tried cos queue is always long leh...

Btw, mine is a baby gal
Not to worry too much about the baby moving inside your tummy...my tummy is always lop-sided whenever bb moves...then when u gently massage bb, she will shift back to original position...lately can see her moving her arms across my tummy. So cute!

Van,
Thanks for the feedback. I really like the picture of the jelly cake and u can try doing that for special occassions: )

Carole

I understand what you meant by a dim kitchen...redo when you do not like....For me, I view many ready made house...do not like the design and that is why go and built and design that I want...very hassle indeed....

morning ladies...

haze reli reli bad this past weekend hor..??? today also, wake up machiam in genting like tat.. *haiz*.. everyone take care hor.. take some vit C n more fruits n veges...

amelia,
no prob abt e qn.. hehehe.. its good tat u r independent.. i cannot make it one lah.. those feminist sure "blast" me for "sia suay" e female gender one.. other than holding on to a decent job, i'm 101% a "small woman"...

sophie & van,
yup, still driving now... other than my very frequent urge to pee, i find it still okay to drive leh... cos more or less used to bb's movement, so wont get affected by it liaoz... tummy is huge, but still can fit in comfortably behind e steering wheel with space somemore..
i'm thinking of driving for another week.. next week then stop... cos taxi fare to and from work will cost me up to $35/day leh.. very ex.. i "sim tia"...

abt baby, i also know e weight estimate is not very accurate lah... but at least e range can't be too far off.. then now 3.2kg, with 2 more weeks, he'll probably be gaining abit more weight... so definitely will be more than 3kg bb lor...
my only "concern" is, Dr Kee measured his head diameter at 9.6cm liaoz.. n i remember our cervix only dilate up to 10cm... *CHIAM*.. sure need to cut liaoz lor....
kao_scared.gif

krisjoy,
hehehe... me too, want bb to come out earlier.. tats y last checkup remembered to ask doc abt baby size n weight.. so i know if he comes out now, safe or not...
abit concerned on e haze situation too... keep asking hubby whether he remember news got report when e haze expected to go away or not.. scared baby come out now not good for him due to haze...
kao_sad2.gif

starz,
Yeah, haze is really bad... it looks like it's snowing ffrom my window! Ladies who are giving birth soon or have toddlers at home, be careful too... my sis 1.5mth-old ds has been wheezing and coughing - she brought him to the PD and PD says it's the haze so now have to close all windows at home.

starz, you "can" lah... so big liao still can fit behind steering wheel!

When you mean need to cut, do you mean episiotomy or C-section?

cat_tail,
Hee... thanks for confirmation of char kway teow. I'll try it next time! **drool**

Krisjoy,
Yeah, I'll try the char kway teow soon. Yesterday night went to try Creation Pasta at Shaw, but didn't know they don't open on Sundays! Ended up eating at the Ayam Penyet place across the road, which was featured in Bryan Wong's show before. Other than the sambal chili which was power-packed, the chicken was tough cos prob frozen type, and the gado gado so-so only.

Oh ok, so yours is the only princess in this thread

This morning, I felt a movement in my tummy again... it's like a moving inside plus a tightening... then after that one side is hard the other side soft... then after a few seconds, the hard side became soft too. Is that Braxton Hicks or just baby adjusting her position?

So many info and fun while i was MIA . hee

Van,
i like cinnamon cookies. where got sell huh? me not thinking of baking it leh but love to eat. Too busy to bake now .

Mdm Kuan - her food is nice especially the curry chicken and beef rendang. Best to make reservation otherwise long long Q.

Steamer
it is a good investment. I usually steam stuff in it or use it to make hot my pau. Also when i travel i pre-cook dishes in 3/4 cook stage then hb can use steam to make it hot and it will be fully cook liao.

Carole, yr house very nice and my dream hse too. thinking of moving but i guess got to stay put for awhile . Dun think i can cope w taking care of my little one and do packing at the same time

Hi everyone. I've been busy with my dd1's school concert - finally it's over! Took her to the PD this morning cos' some of the eye shadow got into her eye and caused an infection - there was a lot of yellowish discharge last night and this morning but it's cleared up quite a bit now due to the antibiotic eyedrop. Will put some wolfberries in her porridge later

Hi starz, my sis drove up to the full 40 weeks! My bil doesn't drive so the only time she took the cab was when she went into the hospital for delivery! Actually the episiotomy is not too bad - for my first one I told the gynae not to cut - push like mad but baby cannot come out - when she finally cut, my dd came out in one push! If you're worried about the haze, maybe you should consider buying an air purifier and putting it in bb's room. I've got one in the living room and one in the bedroom - I'm using Sharp. The NEA website has a list of air purifiers too.

Hi Sophie, for Braxton Hicks, the whole tummy goes hard into one tight ball. What you're feeling is prob your bb stretching himself/ herself! Hope the haze clears up and your nephew gets better soon.

Hi Carole, your house is very nice! The layout of the rooms sounds a lot like a house I saw in Changi - I loved it very much but the location not so good, very ulu and near Changi Prison plus the house vacant for more than 5 years. I'm sure your dd and doggies will enjoy the nice big space!

Hi Van, thanks for sharing the photos
Glad to hear your dd has a nice hearty appetite now!

Okie, gotta go prep lunch, catch y'all later.

cupcake,
I just realised I asked you to go to the website to see petai beans without giving you the URL... blur me! Here it is:
http://shw.fotopages.com/2004523.html

cat_tail,
Hee... hi-cholesterol foods once in a while is OK... plus I don't waste my cholesterol and calories on not-so-good food, only the best, so it's OK

Sophie,

No pics, sorry.

1)Pound 3 chicken thighs with meat hammer or the back of a knife.
2)Slice onions and winter melon, add a little salt.
3)Place everything in casserole dish.
4)Fill just enough water to cover all ingredients, cover the lid.
5)Cook in preheated oven for 35mins at 200 to 220C.
6)End result is a very "ru wei" soup.

You can also steam veggies or fish in baking paper at the same time.The entire meal will be done in half an hour.

GTG, come back tonight.

haze is real bad.... my nose is so itchy and uncomfortable.

My hubby is going to shanghai tomorrow, anyhow knows what local food that can buy from there?

annlee,

Shanghai ...hmm... i bought the frozen ready made Wu Xi sparerib fm the supermarket there. it is nice. this dish orginate fm Wu Xi province.

tat all i bought lah but my friends they all bought something back which i dare not eat. chicken feet, duck tougue etc... tibits and it is individually wrapped. can get fm any of the tidbits or snack store.

now it is getting cold there . the lamb kebab is very nice there and very cheap RBM$1 if u dun mind the dust. the shop are normally outside bus stop or station but they bbq outside their store.

Hi Annelise,
Thanks for the reassurance. The first day while swimming, I experienced a whole tightening, up to the upper ribs area just beneath the breasts. But the subsequent ones were to one side of the tummy, so I hope it's really just the baby stretching

The air purifier works? I'll let my sis know about it...

Amelia,
Thanks for the instructions on an "oven-baked" soup! Sounds easy... will try it when I get a deep casserole dish.

Went Ma Kwang for acupunture to treat my arthritis just now.While having my sesion behind curtain, the physician saw a few patients with haze-related symptoms,coughing,wheezing,painful eyes, rashes....

Drag going for acupunture but no choice, cos hb flying off to HK today, I am on my own, so better take good care of myself.

Went to Omni Theatre for another show,Roving Mars, last Saturday.hmmm....not recommended for young children, too "chim" and "dry" and boring for them, my dd actually dozed off half-way through.
546255.gif
Deep Sea is better for younger kids.

Sophie,
I miss the Yong Tau Hoo at People's Park...but find it very troublesome to travel all the way here just to eat this,unless I have other things to buy or try in that area,then may be I'll drop by.

LittleCat,
You spend $400+ on Saturday at Taka? So need to drive a pick-up van there to load is it?
546256.gif
You mean if sign up now got free shopping voucher for spending certain amount? I didn't even read the letters,and can't think of any thing that I need to buy now.

twinkle-starry,
Didn't notice anywhere selling cinnamon cookies,.There is a stall outside Night Safari selling Cinnomon Churros, but not sure if they are still there.

annelise,
I was afraid of my dd sharing the makeup with other children as well, especially now a lot of children fall sick.Luckily the school wanted us to put on make-up for the children at home, they only touch up a little.

Hi Sophie, the NEA website is a bit cranky today, the list of air purifiers can be found here:

http://app.nea.gov.sg/cms/htdocs/article.asp?pid=1290

I'm quite surprised that the PD did not suggest getting one. Hope it can really help in improving your nephew's condition. Here's a write-up about air purifiers which I copied from the NEA website:

Portable Air Cleaners
-------------------------------------------------

Portable air cleaners are compact, stand-alone appliances designed to keep the particulate levels of an enclosed space low.

Several models of air cleaners have been found to be able to reduce the level of fine particles in a typical bedroom to an acceptable level during a smoke haze, such as that experienced in Singapore in 1997.

A list of these air cleaners is available in the Annex.

The assessment is that the air cleaners in the list will be able to provide adequate protection to a typical HDB bedroom with its doors and windows closed, except for occasional opening and closing of doors. The doors and windows should be opened up occasionally, or at least once a day, to ventilate the room.

The Babycentre UK website has a detailed write-up on Braxton Hicks contractions - it's too long to post here so I've just pasted the link:

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/braxtonhicks/

Exercise and physical activities sometimes do bring on BH. When I was pg and having terrible bouts of vomitting, I will also get BH from all the retching. Maybe you could try not doing too many laps or just bob around in the water to enjoy the weightlessness!

Hi Amelia, yeah, your soup sounds quite simple to do. Good idea to do a baked fish etc. at the same time! I didn't know I could make soup using the oven, thanks for sharing

Hi Van, I remember using a gel-based eye-shadow from Body Shop a long time ago - dunno if they still have them or not - better than using the powder type cos' less risk of it entering the eyes. Yeah, the PD gave the antibiotic eye drop just in case got bacterial infection cos' she said it's not so hygienic when so many little kids share the make-up. I just bought the Tiger Thermal pot from Taka yesterday - haven't tried it out yet - will need expert advice from you & LittleCat when I start using it!

Van,
Yep, I think it's ridiculous that the queue for the YTF is so long leh... it's quite yummy, but to have such a constantly long queue is crazy!
I was there to buy elastic band to extend my maternity pants - if not, I also won't go all the way there just to eat the YTF

Annelise,
Welcome to the Thermal Pot club!

Thanks for the links for the air cleaner & BH... yeah, PD didn't tell sis about air cleaner leh, only gave her bb cough syrup which PD says may cause gastric problem, then bb eat already keep crying, very poor thing. Forwarded your cutouts & links to her liao

For the BH contractions, I got a few more just now, but it went off after I shifted position, then also didn't do any more strenuous stuff or exercise. Hope it goes off... cos it does scare me!

i have gotten my own friend to do my kitchen... nt gng to be expensive one, but more or less self-sufficent. At least a higher head room at the wash area, cleaner & brighter colours and a plc to roast n bake, as i will be cooking the meals n not my maid.

Annelise,

Welcome to Thermal Pot Club!

my dd's previous school used the gel eyeshadow as well.Agreed that it's better than powder. This time round, I happened to have a brand new lip-eye palette, so just nice to use for her make-up.

Sophie,
you are very patient...preg still Q-ing for the YTF.

Your 1.5mth nephew so poor thing, so young got to take cough syrup,somemore may cause gastric problem!

Amelia,

I was at Blk 253 Keat Hong just now.Saw Endo 3-tier steamer pot, 28cm $59.50, 30cm $68.50.

The owner put the whole box high up, and there isn't any sample display. From the picture outside the box, the base pot looks deeper then usual steam pot, though not as deep as mine.

I tried to ask the boss for more info, like roughly how deep is the pot by referring to other pots on display, but he's not helpful at all, very stuck-up,so DONT BUY FROM HIM! Check out other places for this brand of steamer pot instead.

Alternatively, you can get the steamer racks separately,then get a deeper pot of matching size, as these pots usually come in standard size of 24/26/28/30/32cm.

Will still look out for you for the steamer pot that I have.

BTW, electric steamer also comes in big size, but you are not likely to get from department stores and normal elect.appliance shop,may need special "Kang Tow" or specially order. I saw pictures of food steamer that can fit a whole fish.If you get this then you don't need the stove-top type.