Cooking Tips & Recipe

Van,
I didn't know Mee Siam contains coconut milk? I actually like it more "assam-y" and not so thick so I don't think I'll add coconut milk. Will try Hai's next time.

I've never seen Hai's curry paste in "tub". The one my MIL uses is the packet one. I think the back of the pack is green in color, front probably yellowish-beige. Amelia, did you use the tub or pack one?

Hmm.. Lei Garden very yummy, but I find it a bit expensive too.

How's your dd doing now?

Sophie,
That's why I didn't add coconut milk to the Mee Siam, sounds weird.If I had read the instruction at the back carefully before buying,I probably won't even buy the Hai's Mee Siam paste.

Hai's chicken curry paste in tub has green and orange peel-off plastic sheet seal in front,the "tub" is translucent. I actually thought your MIL uses this since you mentioned it's chilled.But I couldn't find other green-packet curry paste in NTUC.

My dd has quite good appetite,always asking for someting to eat, but I dare not let her eat too much and still no oily,heavy food for her.

We brought her to Mt Faber for a walk yesterday,going to bring her to take cable car in late afternoon,we still avoid taking her to crowded,enclosed places with a lot of children.Heard from my cousin that now a lot of children having sore eyes...

I've just complained to my hb that he's stopped taking us to interesing places for food, always the same old places in CCK,Bt Timah,Bt Batok,Clementi,Sianz!

Agree with you that Lei Garden is a bit expensive, but I find their Dim Sum looks and taste more "delicate".

Van,
The chilled Hai's curry pack in my NTUC is the totally plastic packet kind... I guess maybe NTUC just don't stock the same stuff everywhere?

Oh, I remember.... the totally plastic packet kind says "Instant Curry Chicken". Maybe there is a difference in the word "instant"? as in, maybe the tub kind is not "instant"?

Van,
Good to hear that your dd's appetite is good now. You're right - start with things that are not too oily, cos after such a long absence of heavy foods, the stomach will not adapt to heavy local foods so easily.

Mt. Faber is nice! I used to climb up there for morning walks and feed carps last time... yeah, when your dd is better, must tell your hubby to take you guys to nice makan places. Doesn't have to be expensive kind, as long as the food is good!

Need to go change and get ready for my dim sum lunch later... update you guys tonight!

Van and Sophie,
I happened to see the two packagings of Hai's curry paste at NTUC Civic Plaza. Sophie is right. The plastic type is instant curry paste where I guess you only need to add water or cocomut milk. The one Van mentioned comes in separate compartments where you can control the chilli amount. Van, did you add all the chilli paste cos I want to see how spicy their chilli is...

Amnelia,
Sophie has suggested some good places for dim sum. I usually go to Crystal Jade Kitchen cos I feel it is nice and not too expensive
I heard that Xin Fu Ying Cha at Toa Payoh is good too but have not tried before. Just that they do not have lifts to the restnt so if there are elderly folks then it is quite a hassle for them to climb the fleet of stairs..

Van,
Glad the your dd is feeling so much better! Hey, my friend's son is also recovering from sore eyes...seems like what you said is true..

Sophie,
Thanks for the recommendation of dim sum at Sunshine Plaza. I am also a fan of Chubby Hubby
Wooden Spoon closes quite early as their cookies usually get sold out quite fast...

Joy,
I see... hmm... You have less fats than stewardess ah? I thought the stewardess are very thin already... kekeke... cos I belong to fatty group... :p

Sophie,
The olive oil I got is from Ginvera, which I bought from Robinsons. I think John Little also have... Very cheap one...
cos my mum told me she apply olive oil last time during her pregnancy and her tummy now still very nice and smooth... lol... cheap and good...

Joy,
Coconuts during pregnancy reminds me of my knife... lol... I broke and chipped my WMF knife using it to open coconut and durian
Now replaced already... cos my hubby "pantang" having broken things at home... but I still keep the broken knife in the cupboard for future opening of coconuts.. lol..

How's Aedann contest? It must be so nice to see Aedann on stage...

Amelia,
What about Wah Lok at Carlton hotel? I love to go there for dim sum. Must call to make reservation first... cos they are usually fully packed. Plus their seating is from 11am-1.30pm, and 1.30pm-3pm. For me, I rather go to Wah Lok than Crystal Jade... kekeke... cos price difference not a lot, plus good service..

eh... Wah Lok can be within your price budget..
You get 10% discount with HSBC credit card.

Lyn

These days, no need to be so lean to be stewardess already....if you travel again, take a look at them and you will know what I mean...

Not sure what happened to aedann contest as I went home before results announced...he is tired and wanna sleep....but the show was very disorganised but its an exposure....

WOW, open coconut using knife at home...I will not do it cos taking coconut drink is for the last few weeks before due and no need to take so many times...this last pregnancy, I did not even take any coconut drinks as I find it very fattening...oh yes, me very health conscious....and that is why everything I cook, I used olive oil....

I want the dim sum restaurant to be affordable, so I can have it weekly without feeling the pinch.Also, I feel good-tasting food doesn't have to be too expensive.I have tried Red Star with my family.Think it's alright but not exactly outstanding.

Krisjoy,

Will try Crystal Jade Kitchen and Xing Fu Ying Cha.Do they serve dim sum the whole day?Or strictly in the morning?

Hi all, sorry to intrude cos saw you ladies mention about Tim Sum and Paranakan food

Tim Sum:
One true authentic tim sum will be Red Star (Hong2 Xin1 at Chin Swee Road, opposite Thong Chai Medical Insitute, the restaurant had been there for 20 over yrs,they serve hong kong style tim sum, very nice

Paranakan food:
My hubby's father side are paranakan,
his grandma cooked very nice noya paranakan food,drool..:p
but now she is her eighties so had stopped due to old age.
Today went to Joo Chiat near the new Katong Mall wif his auntie,
and there are a few nice paranakan food/restuarants and heritage shop selling the colourful and pretty noya kabaya clothes, spices and pastries, so you ladies can dropby

Girls,

My Canon powershot digicam is dying.What digital cameras or digital SLRs are you all using?I am thinking of Nikon D50 digital SLR..

happyger,

Katong Mall is Katong Shopping Centre?

Amelia,
Today's dim sum at Imperial Treasure was not bad - I think it's pretty affordable cos per dish is about $3+, typical dim sum price.
- Char Siew Bao is good
- Zhar leong (thin chee cheong fun with you tiao wrapped inside) is as good as those I used to have in HK - not oily but crispy, authentically served with soy sauce + peanut sauce + chili sauce. It's so good I asked for 2nd helping.
- Glutinous rice wrapped in lotus leaf (zhen Zhu gai), is not bad... rice is moist and soft
- Fried carrot cake is yummy - texture is just nice without being too hard and can find bits of meat in it
- Spareribs is so so... chicken feet is quite good, sauce is not too strong and starchy but tasty still
- Almond cream for dessert ($4 to 5) is good and watery, like Lei Garden... not the thick gluey kind you find in cheaper shops or instant packs

Overall for 6 of us, we paid about $120 inclu of 1 dessert each. Not too bad. I also like it cos items are served not all at one time, so you get to taste each item while it's still piping hot.

For camera, I am using a very old Canon Powershot G2. I heard Nikon is very good too!

Happyger,
Not intruding at all... good food is meant to be shared!
Welcome!

lyn,
Thanks for info on olive oil. I'll get them from Guardian house brand cos it's pure olive oil, whereas the NTUC pharmacy one has mineral oils and fragrance

Yeah, the knife I chipped is also a WMF... I think the Germans didn't test their knives on coconuts!

This thread is moving so fast even during weekends!

Re: Spice Junction
Din really go there last weekends cos I suddenly remember there's a Deepavali celeb!! Scare black out when I am out there..haha..

Re: Dim Sum
Amelia,
Tung Lok's restaurant got the ala carte dim sum buffet. It's nice & affordable!

Good morning gals! How's your weekend? Today is a rainy day... Nice to zzzz at home... kekeke...

Amelia,
I think WAh Lok is not very much more expensive than Crystal Jade...
Nikon D50 is very good... Are you into photography? I find SLR very bulky to travel around with.. :p

Sophie,
$120 for 6 people, not very expensive le...
hahahaha... What I do now to open the coconuts is to cut away the fibre first. It's quite easy to cut away... Then I use the hard end near the handle to knock on the coconut... Knock a small hole already, I poke the knife in to cut. If cannot, I will just turn it over and let the water drip into a container...
If like that, I dun eat the coconut flesh already.
Alternatively, get those easy to open kind from Carrefoure or Cold Storage. They are more expensive, but save the trouble of trying to open the coconuts...

cat_tail,
Is it the one at Chinatown? I am waiting for an opportunity to go there to eat the dim-sum buffet
haha.. I wanna use up the points in my tung lok card.

lyn,
Ya!! That's the one!! Was payin around $20+ per person & eat until u peng sanz. Another cheap dim sum buffet is at Takashimaya, something called what Dragon restaurant. Pai sek, can't recall the name.

I will start with Xing Fu Ying Cha Restaurant at Toa Payoh first some time this week...maybe even today! I have to email my hub to check if he's free.

Is dim sum an all day thing?Or do they operate strictly in the mornings?

Sophie,

Imperial Treasures is at Great World City... a little inaccessible for me...no mrt nearby...hub and I dont own a car here.If I am having it with my family, I will make a trip down.

Cat_tail,

Thanks.Where's Tung Lok?

Lyn and Sophie,

SLRs are more bulky, but they take better pictures.My Canon Powershot has been giving a lot of problems;pictures either too dark or too light.Think I may switch to Nikon; either their coolpix(digicam) or D series(SLR).If I get the coolpix, I have to play a bit more with Photoshop for special effects.If I get the SLR, virtually nothing needs to be done loh..hmmmmm.

Hey Soph, have you tried the botak cocounut ? It's easier to open .. there'll be 3 white "eyes" on the top .. use the tip of your knife or end of a teaspoon to poke each hole.. there'll be a softer one which you can just poke thru.. use a straw to drink the juice..

Have you bought any washable breast pads ? I saw from the other website that medela brand is good.. It's contoured and laced. Went to buy it and it's really good, the "shape" of the pad cen't be seen underneath the nursing bra..

Hey van, check with the yamaha staff liao.. they say it's just to gauge the std of the student and really no significance.. Think not continuing JXC, cos dd2 wants to do JMC.. so I'll be sitting in with her..so might have 1 to 1 piano lessons for dd1.. what about you ?

Hey cat tail, yah the east coast big splash for seafood very ex ! Hehe.. nice for a one time indulgence ! Geoduck ! Bamboo Clam !

wah.... dim sum. Last weekend is my dimsum day. My sister is giving my mum and me a treat on saturday, so we're chosing either Wah Lok or Lei at chijmes and end up in Wah Lok. Is my first time there and I find the food comparable to lei, both are good but Wah Lok is slightly cheaper.I don't really like the 'extra room or place' that they seated us maybe we did not make reservation so they put us in the extra room.
On sunday, we're doing some shopping at chinatown so my hb suggest to have dim sum for our brunch, so he suggest yum cha restaurant (can't remember the name) at chinatown. We passby this small restaurant called Tak Po selling dimsum, is crowded and we presume must be good so we tried it instead of going to yum cha restaurant. Their food is comparable to the yum cha restaurant and is cheap. We ordered about 10 dimsum and only cost $31.

sophie, I tried Imperial kitchen at taka before, is nice but my hiam hb think crystal jade is better as he's a fan of crystal jade. Got one stage he's crazy for xiao long bao and had that over the weekend for few months sometimes even ask me to go for lunch on weekdays for the xiao long bao.
Did you try souffle ball with red bean and banana and carrot cake at Imperial? Their carrot cake is nice.

There's another good dim sum at Golden Peony in conrad. They make the dim sum till so nice to look at and is delicious but exp.

Van, I remembered you recommending something for the kettle to remove the stain inside. Would like to know where you it. I have tried DIY shop but they only sell those for electrical types. I remembered yours is make from fruits right? TIA!!

halo Sophie,

thks for the welcome

eh..I am not an expert in cooking like you ladies, just knowing how to eat
haa...

wah looks like you ladies been to alot of nice restaurants for tim sum,
so tung lok is one of the popular choice

Amelia,
It is the Katong shopping mall
Newly opened mall, a bit further down from the old blue/green building shopping mall

so diagonally opp the mall, is those coffeeshops selling katong laksa
hee..if you ladies like katong laksa, should know where am I referring to
and those who like bak chang,
there is this paranakan pastry shop besides the heritage shop
selling the normal size and mini bak chang, noya zhang,
the mini so cute, $0.60 each, I bought 2 and had one for breakfast, very tasty and chewy
just for the kick of it

Amelia, I would prefer you to go crystal jade or imperial rather than xing fu or yum cha restaurant. As the food is definitely better than them as you're looking for good tasting food rite....

oh yes... katong mall and katong shopping centre is not the same but they're quite near.

Toa Payoh is very convenient for hub and I mah...because the hub transits there.Then I'll try Crystal Jade at Woodlands then since it's the near CCK.

happyger,

I'd like to check out the heritage shop.The kebayas and beaded slippers are very pretty...I don't mind getting a pair of the slippers actually.

Amelia,

oh yes, the paranakan clothes, slippers, accessories and jewelleries are so so pretty and expensive too..
The artwork and design are so unique and exquisite

I think paranakan has a very interesting heritage, too bad I am more interested in their traditional food

happyger,

Veyr few people are making their costumes and accessories, which is why it's so expensive.

What are their traditional foods?

happyger, I likes peranakan food... they're good in making bua keluak(spellin??) and crab meat roll on sugar cane right? Do you have any good peranakan food to recommend?

Amelia, there's crystal jade kitchen at Toa payoh central. I rememeber at Toa payoh branch is good cos they served dim sum and la mian in one restaurant.

annlee,
I find Yum Cha Restaurant quite expensive and touristy. Yep, Crystal Jade or Imperial is good.... heard a lot of the staff of Imperial used to be from Crystal Jade, cos the boss of Imperial came from Crystal Jade.

cat_tail,
Tung Lok is good? Will try that next time!

Amelia,
In the past before we got a weekend car, whenever hubby and I are in Orchard, we'll go to the back of Orchard MRT station and take bus 14 or 65 to Great World City... hee, it's one of our favourite places cos got our favourite nadi padangs there.

Choc, lyn,
I'll try to find thr "botak coconuts" at Cold Storage next time, cos NTUCs don't stock them. I know supposed to drink coconut juice only in 3rd trimester, but nowadays so heaty that I kept getting sore throat, so that day juts bought a coconut on impulse, then was stuck as to how to open it. Thanks for the tips on opening coconuts!

happyger,
I also like Peranakan stuff. Bought a pair of beaded heel slippers + kebaya from Malacca before... they're gorgeous! I heard Katong Mall area is quite happening... will prob go check it out sometime!

Amelia,
Hmm I think a few of peranakan dishes are:

Assam fish, nonya gueh, beef rendang, sambal kangkong etc...most of their dishes use alot of spices,
I like their assam food range, not so spicy and sour kind

Annlee,

Thanks! I am still waiting for my hub's email reply...He may have to work late
.Crystal Jade Kitchen at Causeway Point carries dim sum and la mian too?

Sophie,

I used to go GWC pretty often because the hub was staying nearby.

We wanted to get a car when we came back.After doing some calculations, we find cabbing still cheaper leh.We may consider getting a car only when we have kids..

Annlee,
there is a good peranakan rest. in Beauty World Shopping Centre. Its on the top flr, next to the hawker centre. My family goes there almost every weekend. My fav dish there would be Assam fish head and the babi ponteng.

Recently, I went to Zi Yean restaurant somewhere in Bukit Merah (near ABC mkt) for dim sum. Food is ok and cheap. We ordered quite abit and the portions are quite large, all for $20 for 2. The best part is that they open early (7am) compared to the rest (11am).

annlee,
hee..you like bua galak( I think this is the spelling?)
I dont like the taste..ehh dunno how to describe but to me it taste funny..
but this is an interesting dish but alot of preparation

Amelia,
ya crystal jade restaurant at toa payoh branch, hv both dim sum and la mian,
under one roof, so best of both worlds

Sophie,
ya check out the place when you free,
so nice of you had a set of the kebaya and slippers!

Amelia,
Yep, I agree with you on the car.
When hubby and I came back, we also calculated that cabbing is much easier and cheaper, even if this lazy pig of me cab to and fro work and home. So we never got a car for the last 4 to 5 yrs since we got married... plus a car is not necessary when kids have not arrived yet. We only recently got a weekend car in preparation for the baby, and hubby still prefers to cycle to work

cupcake,
My friend told me about the Peranakan restaurant at Beauty World too! It's on my list of "to-try" food places

happyger, annlee,
I also love Ayam Buah Keluak! I love the nut... bitter-y taste which I liked it when mixed into my rice
Yeah, not easy to make buah keluak... and I think my cookbook says it is posisonous when not cooked...

Amelia, I'm not sure about Causeway Point, the last time I went there is 2 yrs ago, no la mian. Do take note that their dim sum only serve for lunch. So far I only find Toa Payoh branch served both dim sum and la mian and other branch don't.

sophie, you're right. Yum cha is exp and not so good to eat hee. I saw some Japanese tourist when im there.

happyger, assamfish is my favourite. I can soak the rice with assam fish gravy and eat it.

Sophie,

Yup owning a car in states is very cheap compared to S'pore...sigh...Those were the days.When we sold our car, the depreciation wasn't that drastic too.

Your hub is working nearby?

Think we got married about the same time.Hub and I just passed 4 years.

sophie, yeah.. the nut is nice and is rich in iron too.

amelia and sophie, I agreed with the car that you'll are talking about. We bought our place because of the location so my hb can easily go to work and the school is walking distance too. My hb once said to the cab driver whose complaining about ERP thingy and hb told him why buy such exp pieces of metal and that's why not hb do not want to buy car although car is cheap now unless he's super rich kekeke

Annlee,

Owning a car is still not cheap now.I mean the vehicle is cheap, but they strangle you in other areas like parking, petrol, ERP thingies and summons(LTA people very efficient).It's about 1k sgd every month.Depreciation is also pretty scary.

cupcake, thanks for recommending the restaurant!
Btw, babi ponteng sounds familiar..... what is that? never had peranakan food for quite sometimes cos hb don't like spicy food.

amelia, agreed with you. The car is cheap and is the extra thingy that costs. Oh yes... those LTA people very on hor.... maybe they get comm in every ticket they summons.

Amelia,
Yeah, even fuel etc is cheap in the US.
We didn't buy a car in US tho, cos we were only staying there for 3 to 9 mths, so the company rented a car for us.
Yep, hubby works nearby... from my flat, I can see his office building too. By bus, it's only a 3 mins ride exclu walking and waiting time. And by bicyle, it's only 15-20 mins door-to-door inclu parking his two-wheeeler

I'll be having my 5th year anniversary this Dec
so I think I got married prob about a year before you.

annlee,
Heh, cabbies sometimes very bad... tell me stories about passengers who bought a car, but then chose to take cabs cos ERP and parking very expensive. I also chose my home cos we didn't want to spend money on a car unnecessarily.

Buah Keluak is rich in iron? Hmm... must eat more then! How was your cabbage rice last Friday?

What are the ladies here cooking tonight? Me lazy to cook today... Monday blues!?!
Going to my mum's place to makan.

Annlee,

Yah, I am quite sure they have summons quota to meet..inhumane..

Sophie and Annlee,

What's the valuation of your flats?

It's good to stay near town.Hub and I are thinking of selling our CCK flat and moving to the east(near his workplace) when our flat matures.Still a long way...we just renovated and got our current flat a year and a half ago.

Hub can't get off work early...I will be making teochew porridge dinner.Sophie, I got married on 09092002.I was 25 then.

hi gals, my PC crashed! can't start up at all...disk read error!

annlee,may b c if sophie can help u locate my posting of citric acid for descaling. i can't log in.

sophie, yes... i was told by one peranakan friend recommending me buah keluak and says is rich in iron. I wanted to tell you to eat more but you mentioned poisonous if not cook well so better not to say lor...

hey sophie... you still remember my cabbage rice!! Is nice, maybe i added some belachan chilli. I cooked too much so keeping them for the next day but turned watery on the next day. I did not put the rice in the fridge so maybe is the reason to turn watery.

My dinner is easy today. steam Shitake mushroom stuff with mincepork, stir fry bai zai+carrot+fishball and baked beans. Wanted to make chicken soup with huai shan and conch but can't find huai shan at NTUC and market is closed today so will make the soup tomorrow.

happyger...welcome ...you stayed around the east coast area..the stall you mentioned is just five mins drive from my house....

Sophie...ayam bro kuler is one of the authetic dish...my mil cooks very good authentic peranakan food...her version of it is with prawn...

Babi potei is one with pork right?I do not like the smell...she usually replaced with chicken instead....

Another signature dish is maybe pong tahu...

Bukuler is not that difficult to make actually...Just that the seeds need to soak for three days and brushed it ....I ate it very regularly during my pregnancy....

Good day all

Annlee

Old folks always say that overnight cabbage better do not eat as it trigger wind...or the next alternative, maybe you put some giner before you fried the cabbage.....

The buah keluak rich in iRon?Not sure about that, I had lots of it but still very low iron during my 35 weeks check up, probably I am really that bad in iron in me....

As mentioned in the earlier post...mrs leong has got very good recipie for peranakan food, including this buah kula recipie...I did go thr this section, almost like what my mil recipie....