Cooking Tips & Recipe

Krisjoy and Cat_tail,

All the vets I had(local or in states) recommended Science Diet..I also heard Science Diet changed their formulation recently.Sally is adapting well to the Ocean Fish flavour so I may stick to it till she gets bored.It's sometimes difficult to know which brand is better leh...even the vets are not too sure.

Cat_tail,

Will take note of the hairball one.

Eh never trust inlaws "good lobang"..like you said it will always turn out badly.They'll always recommend their friends or neighbours or extended family but they're not necessarily good at the job.

Annlee and Choc,

I did just a brief description of the cabbage rice recipe..I will do a more detailed writeup and include in Yahoo.

annlee,
yesterday's Straits Times life section mentioned that the lamb at Turquoise Room is good. The place is at Gillman Village, Lock Road. Just opp of AIA building at Alexandra Road. Been there once for dessert and drinks only. Nice ambience.

Van,
I think you need to slowly build up your dd's appetite and weight. Dun rush into it lor...i'm sure she will gain back all her weight with a mummy who can cook so well
Btw, I heard crown prince mooncakes are no longer for sales cos they sold the hotel to someone else...

Cat_tail,
Your dd is very brave leh! I guess the early exposure also makes her develop bond with pets and it is defintely a good thing!

Sophie,
Your mom's dog is so cute..converted to vegetarian! hehehe..anyway, I only feed my dog with Nutro and fruits. We do not feed her with other things cos we want to make sure she gets the right diet to minimise any illness in future. like kidney problems, skin problems, etc..

Van,
Don't feel "pressurised" by your hubby into making your dd put on weight... give her time to do it at her own pace. No point forcing her and then turning her off from food.

Hey, you making mee siam huh? **drool** It's my fav... what paste pack do you use?

cat_tail,
Heh, my cats are not total vegetarians - in fact, I am trying to teach them not to chew up my plants... if I leave a vase of fresh flowers on the table, the flowers are normally botak by the time I come home *sigh*

Krisjoy,
My mum's dog got no choice... got cataracts at a very young age of 3+. Vet says it's probably genetic, and put her on vegetarian diet dry food + steamed veges like carrots, pumpkin, sweet potato, cabbage etc. We also feed her Kordel's Eye Bright once a day and put eye drops in, hopefully can prolong her in keeping her eyesight. So far so good - she's already 6 yrs old now, a bit blind, but still can see.

Sophie,

I feel like trying Lamb N Rice too....Don't think Sally will be too excited about it though.
The japanese food you mentioned, is the ingredients list written in english?My current vet said it's okay to try.There're owners who claim wet food is better, where others swear by dry.I notice Sally is more interested in wet food in fishy flavours.

The cat Litter I am using now is a clumping one.Just have to dispose the clumps daily.How do you handle silica gel?I saw it at a pet shop and thought it looked very pretty;)Is it rough on cats' feet?

Van,

Mine comes in a green packet and it's unchilled.You mean they also have a chilled version?Your curry paste comes in a tub?

Yah, wet market aunties don't freeze their pastes...at least the ones I frequent don't.

I normally cook curry chicken with chicken thighs.I will make with 3 thighs so it's not exactly a lot also...that's why can afford to have 3 dishes.

I like your lunch...very shiok!

Amelia,
The Jap food ingredients are not in English... the whole can is in Jap, but the owner of the shop is a Jap man, and the lady assisting him can also read some Jap, so you can ask them. Heh, animals are normally more interested in wet food... I would be very sad if my mom feeds me biscuits every day!

I tried the clumping kitty litter before, but I didn't like it cos sometimes the little bits get in-between the cats paws, then they step into the living room and leave these "sand" around. So I switched to the silica one, but use the Taiwanese or China brand one that is cheaper than the Jap one. They come in totally round or uneven shapes - I choose uneven shapes so it doesn't "bounce" around and get onto the floor around the litter area. I use 2 packs each time for a large size litter box - for 2 cats, I change once every 1.5weeks. Each pack is around $7 I think, but cos we buy from this shop very often, they give a 10% discount for everything, and free delivery for $50 and above.

Don't worry about it being rough on cats' paws... cats' paws are pretty hardy, and stepping on the silica is probably like foot reflexology to them!

Amelia,
Yep, the Hai brand in NTUC is also the green pack one, but they keep in the chilled section. How was your 3-dish dinner last night? Finished everything?

I'm making a cabbage (wong bok) soup with fish maw (hee peow) today. Taichi teacher says fish maw is good for joints. Got no stock at home though, so may do a stock from my konbu... hope this Jap/Chinese rojak soup will turn out well!

annlee,
Yep, I was doing taichi for about 6 mths before I got preggie.
We always see those old uncles and aunties doing it slowly, but not easy at all!
In fact, I find it more difficult than yoga cos for taichi, legs have to be very strong and have to do it correctly in order not to hurt knee joints.
Now gynae says better not do it since 1st trimester was a bit problematic.
Will probably pick it up again after I give birth... if I can find the time!

Sorry, a bit out of topic. :p

Amelia,
I think they are refering to DHA in Science Diet. Making our cats smarter?? Haha...

Krisjoy,
U are so caring! Your dog is almost blind but u din abandon him.

Sophie,
I have this problem too, they like to dig the sand out of my pot. Aiyoo..
As for cat litter, U all try the pine type? It's not too bad.

sophie, taichi and chi gong is it the same?

My MIL was very sick and she learn chi gong and cure her illness. She says she do until the chi comes out from her head but we can't see cos only ppl learning chi gong then will notice it.
Think she's good at it and can teach ppl.

yeah.... not suitable for preggie..too siong for you. Btw, never see preggie woman do taichi before hee.....

cat_tail,
yeah, my cats like to dig the little "clayballs" out from my plant pot and use them as football to kick around! Very painful when I accidentally step on the clay balls! *faintz*
I hope the DHA in the catfood can make them "smarter" so they remember that playing with plants is a no-no!

I've never tried the pine-type litter before... does the pellets stick in-between the paws? Hmm... maybe I should try it, since it's all natural.

annlee,
I think taichi refers to the whole set of movements incorporating chi gong, whereas chi gong is just the control of the breaths. I also heard about pple learning taichi/chi gong when sick, and it cured them! Hey, you can ask your MIL to teach you!

Hee, at first my shifu didn't know about my spotting problem, and kept asking me to go back to class when tummy is bigger, then he'll video-tape me to show pple that preggies also can do taichi. But I told him gynae says NO to taichi lah, plus video-taping... eh, I cannot even remember half the movements!

cat_tail,
Not my dog leh, it's Sophie mom's dog

Sophie and annlee,
My friend also once learnt Taichi and she said it is better chi-gong. Not sure how true...

Cat_tail, Sophie and Krisjoy,

There was a time my hub's ex colleague and his wife were asking us repeatly(the whole of last year) whether we can find an American DSH cat to crossbreed so we can give ex-coll and his wife the kitten/s.Problem is they left their previous cat in states leh..how can hub and I trust them with Sally's babies?Even my mother objected to it.Owning a pet is for life leh...How can one discard a pet because it doesnt suit your lifestyle or it's expensive to bring back here.Think they're unhappy with me because of this incident and the worse thing is they're only staying next block.

I kept this incident to myself..perhaps they have told other people that I am "dao" or picky or something.

Sophie,

Thanks for your info
I must must visit your pet shop soon...it's in FEP right?

Heh heh foot reflexology...Do you feel silica gel is hygenic since we only dispose once every 2 weeks or so?The cats poo on the silica too right? Yup that's the problem I am having my "sand"...the grains gets scattered all around so I have to clean often..when her paws get wet with pee, there'll be sand prints where she walks.

Cat_tail,

DHA is making our cats too smart lah..Mine can open drawers and my glass kitchn swing door just watching us do 2 or 3 times.She also makan my neighbour's plants so badly they have to overhaul them...Told her very sternly not to do it..Now she doesn't eat plants anymore, just look at them.

Annlee,

I haven't done it yet...Will do do up a nice one with pictures..test-drive my Mac software.

sophie,oh... in that case I think my MIL also know taichi, saw her making some hand shaking movement maybe throw away the negative chi away. My hb also told me that taichi or chi gong cure her mum as he say that time she almost died.

ok thanks amelia!! You can take your time cos I already make the cabbage rice. I agar agar hope it turns out well.

sorry gals.... on this kitty talk

Amelia,
If your hubby's ex-colleagues are like that, better not give them any kittens or even recommend any friends' pets to them. It's not that expensive to ship a cat back here right? Plus our SG quarantine is only 3 months or lesser, compared to UK's 6 months, during which the cat may end up quite stressed up.

The pet shop I go to is at Far East Shopping Centre, not plaza. It's next to Wheelock place, just go up the escalator on the pavement. So far silica gel seems OK - cos the poo sticks to the gel, so the poo do get a layer of silica sticking to it when the cats bury their poo. Only my small cat a little "chao kuan", sometimes don't bury her poo...

Talk about smart, my cats love it when we turn on the dryer to dry our clothes, and the small cat will always climb on top of the dryer for the warmth and the vibration. And now we start to see claw marks on the dryer timer knob - she was probably trying to turn on the dryer! Woah, Sally is now trained not to eat plants? Mine cannot leh... they can't seem to resist the sweetness of gerberras, cos I love gerberras.

annlee,
Kaypoh a bit... where did your MIL learn her chi gong? Not a place in Geylang right?

Krisjoy,
Are you makign your mooncakes? Today's Life section has a recipe on snowskin mooncakes!

Sophie,
Tis pine litter is my fav & u must try it!! The pine pellet will absorb the urine & dissolve them into powder form. Somemore your whole place will only smell of pine. Very good.

Krisjoy,
Ooopss.. sorri. Haha.. wat happen to us today? All mix up. :p

Amelia,
I support your decision, u did it right. What kind of cat lover are they if they can dump their cat back at states.
Aiyoo.. your kitty is super smart. I think better cut down on DHA..heehee..

sophie, not sure where my MIL learn from but don't think is geylang cos quite far away. My MIL also told me her master stop teaching her cos she's too good and afraid she might teach his student in future and afraid better than the him. Unless you heard before your master mention there's a woman in her 50s very good in Taichi hee....

Amelia,
I support your decision as your intentions are good. You did what is the best to the cats' welfare.

Sophie,
I am not making my own mooncakes cos I hv never tried it before..dun want to waste effort and money...i bought 3 boxes oredi but is collecting 2 of them only next week. Another box is for family gathering this sunday so not nice to eat first...controlling very hard
What about yourself?

cat_tail,
No problem lah...sometimes there are a lot of posts to read and can get confused

annlee,
Oh ok, not the Geylang one. Cos I attended a "sales talk" by a martial arts place in Geylang before... for $500, they guarantee that you can pick up chi gong and break a brick with your bare hands in 2 or 3 mths time! I didn't sign up, but went there just to look see and have a laugh. The way their master sells is like those men selling "go yok" (medicine man) in olden days

cat_tail,
OK, I'll remember the pine one and try it next time.
Heh, yeah, the almost blind dog is my mum's dog

Krisjoy,
I am not a big fan of mooncakes, so I neither make nor stock mooncakes in my flat. Just that I remember you saying you wanted to try making

The newspaper ads about the durian mooncakes at Goodwood sounds tempting though.

annlee,
I remember you mentioned buying California Baby products. Is it only available through sprees/bulk purchase, or is there any local shops that sell them?

Sophie,

You're making such a nutritious dinner...cabbage, fish maw and kombu stock.I have a feeling your cats will join you for dinner.
What else are you having?

We finished our 3 course dinner last night.I bought those translucent white 10pc pack NTUC plastic containers in case of leftovers but we didn't use it.
I intend to make shui jiao or wantons in bulk and store them in the containers..reduce my cooking time on weekdays.

Amelia,
Heh, the cats were eyeing my fish maw just now - kept meowing away! Ok lah, I felt a bit guilty feeding them biscuits while I eat fish maw... hee, will give them wet food today.

Woah, you and your hubby really can eat for your sizes! If I cook 2 cups of rice, my hubby will sure complain I'm trying to make him fat, and the rice will go to waste. I normally cook half a cup for both of us only - I think we eat more for lunch than dinner.

I'm adding egg tofu, fish dumplings and meatballs into my soup. Then stir-frying a long bean. You cooking tonight?

Sophie,

Ok, will drop by Far East Shopping Centre soon.Deciding between your silica gel and Cat_tail's pine litter.

Your cats are smart! Can operate washing machine!Train them to help you with laundry next time hehe!

Sally used to eat all my flowers but not anymore

Cat_tail, Sophie, Krisjoy,

It's about 1.4k to 2k sgd including airfare, medical expenses and a 30 day quarantine to transport a pet from states.Better accomodation will cost more.Expensive but affordable if we cut down on unnecessary shopping or dining out for 3 months.

I'm introverted and don't like talking much or explaining to them so probably that's how the misunderstanding started haha..

amelia, you and your hb really can eat and you look so slim. Your metabolic rate must be very high. Me, my hb and my ds1 only eat half cup pf rice.

Sophie,

Your dinner sounds very delicious! Can you post a picture if possible?

I am not cooking tonight.Ran out of seasonings.Got to make a trip to Sheng Shiong Ten Mile Junction tomorrow to stock up.It's cheaper there.Also, my hub will only be back around 10pm.Will be having tabao dinner with him then.

If I cook less than 2 cups of rice, my hubby may think I'm trying to starve him.

Annlee,

I have high metabolism..I also like drinking tea throughout the day..It helps.

annlee,
Thanks for the website! Unfortunately, they do not have the stock for the California Baby Intensive Pregnancy Oil for stretchmarks now.
My hubby is complaining that my tummy "stinks" cos of the Body Shop Vit E lotion I use... I think the "perfume" in it is too strong for his nose, and he only "talks" to baby through a blanket - no skin-to-skin contact.
So I am thinking of switching to an oil type to pacify his nose.

Amelia,
If you do decide to buy from the pet shop at Far East Shopping Centre (called Sundream) in the long term for their delivery service, you can ask them what it takes to get the 10% discount card.
They gave it to my husband after he went there 2 or 3 times on a friend's recommendation, and now we don't even have to show it to the lady... she recognises us and have our address etc.
Only drawback is that we used to be able to order by phone, now cannot cos of credit card security... we need to be at the shop to sign the transaction slip or pay first then they deliver.

I also have Pet Lover's card, but I find their products more expensive, and sometimes sales pple not so friendly.
I once forgot to bring my card and ask if I could give my IC number, the lady told me "I believe my staff has already informed you that from now on, you always need to bring the card along."
When I told her if no card got no discount, I'd come by another day, she quickly replied "The card is really for the bonus points only, but you can still get the 5% discount now".
Very sian when she told me this... she could have told me nicely like "Ma'am, it's better if you bring your card next time so you can collect your bonus points."

$2k is not expensive to send a beloved cat home lah... I think your hubby's friend are just not the committed to pets kind.

Eh... will not post my simple soup picture today... another day when I make something nicer!

Sophie,

Pregnancy oils may be a little too heavy for our weather unless you have dry skin.Have you tried Body Shop's body butters?I like their grapefruit and passionfruit butters.They are selling body butters in smaller tubs now...3 for over 10sgd..can try a few flavours and see which one you like best.

Aiyoh, Pet Lover's Centre is so rude?I go there only because they're the nearest pet shop. I usually just grab what I need and go..occasionally ask the staff for recommendations but they're not much help.Pet Lover's toys are expensive and not fun to play with.I spied another pet shop near CCK Mrt called Pet Hut...Am going to jump ship soon.

We can't pay cash on delivery for Sundream?Suggest this to the shop owner lah..

I guess his friends are situational cat lovers

Simple soups taste really good too

Amelia,
I am actually alternating the Body Shop Vit E lotion and Olive Body Butter, but hubby's nose is still sensitive to the Body Butter's scent.
I also like the passionfruit scent... I use that scrub

Didn't know they have the small tubs at 3 for $10... didn't see it when I went there this afternoon?

Hmm... I just checked some of the ingredients of the pregnancy massage oil - even mild oils liek chamomile and calendula are not recommended during pregnancy. Guess I'll just stick to my Body Shop Olive Butter!

Not sure about cash upon delivery for Sundream... can check with them. They're really friendly, you'll like them!

Sophie,

Pregnancy oil from Clarins also contains essential oils...guess it's best to avoid just to be on the safe side.

The 3 small tubs are selling between 10 to 20 dollars;around 14.90 or 16.90.Have you tried their shea butter?It's suppose to be a good one.

I have just log in to the yahoo group, but do not know how to go about in looking out for the delicious recipie that you ladies are talking about....any one can enlighten me?Thanks...

Hey, any ladies here ever tried wearing the lovely sari?Hubby just got back from delhi and told me that he follow the crew to the shops there and there are so many beautiful sari...he actually wanted to buy for me but fear me not going to wear...but actually, he should have bought, so I can wear for the wedding...

I remember quite a few friends wear sari during function like wedding...very elegant and nice....

annlee,
What about lamb shank at Fullerton? My hubby love the lamb shank there...

sophie,
Wah.. your cats very healthy.. They know which are the healthy food eh...

You can get Tiny Love mobiles from CK Tang, Metro, and some shops at Paragon (forgot the shop name :p) I think Robinsons should have also. I did not notice it in John Little though..

Choc,
Standards of hygiene and cleanliness is always a problem when a few people stay togather.. lol.. I already experienced that when I stay with others in UK. I frequently see good friends falling out with each other due to different standards of hygiene and cleanliness... It's indeed not easy to stay togather with someone else...

Joy,
Wow... Wear a sari.. I have not thought of that before cos it seems difficult to wear... kekeke... You are very adventurous...

Sophie,
What about applying olive oil on your tummy?

Lyn

Not adventurous ...many stewardess attending functions will wear it usually and I have seen it and that is why...The drawback is that me do not have much fats, so might not look good in me.....sari needs a bit of fresh to bring it out.....

Amelia,
Yeah, I didn't dare buy the Clarins oil, even though I see a lot of MTBs in the forum talking about it.
I had a bottle of Clarins Relaxing Body Wash as a present - have also stopped using it since pregnancy.

I wanted to buy the Body Shop Shea Body Butter last time, but it was out of stock, so I bought the Olive Body Butter + Olive Dry Oil Mist instead.
I think I saw a new Vit E Body Butter too. Will go check out the small tubs again tomorrow.

lyn,
Thanks for the info on Tiny Love mobiles. I'll check it out next week.
For the olive oil, I couldn't find any place that sells just the olive oil - Body Shop sells Sweet Almond Oil and Grapeseed Oil only.
Where do you get your olive oil from?

Joy,
A sari is nice... it's my fantasy to wear it too

My brother bought me one before, but then my mum's maid "misplaced" it, and till now I cannot find it *sigh*

annlee,
Heh, my hubby wanted to see the martial arts place, so I accompanied him.
I must admit, even though that shifu is very "go yoh" sales kind, I am very impressed with his students' demo.
Lots of 40-60+ year-old men and women can control their chi, and invited us to go up to hit them on their back, necks and chest, and they were not hurt at all!

Sophie,
Have you tried the stretch mark from MotherCare? It is greasless and just mildly scented.

Joy,
The pregnancy oil discussed here is for anti-stretchmark purpose. Clarins' massage oil is supposedly very good for this purpose but I've not tried it...

Hi mummies who drank coconut juice during your pregnancies,
Did you buy the whole coconuts from NTUC? I did, but had problem hacking it open, so much so that my knife got a small chip now!
Is there any easier way to open the coconut other than resorting to using a saw?

Amelia,
Thanks... I'll check out the pharmacies for olive oil.

Krisjoy,
I heard some people talk about Mothercare stretchmark cream, plus Choc mentioned Palmer's.
Which one are you using now? Cos I remembered you mentioned about belly getting itchy?

I went to Shaw @ Beach Road today, but Wooden Spoon was closed. Didn't get to buy the pineapple tarts so went to Ah Chew's Desserts to have my "dun dan" (steamed egg with fresh milk). Will try Wooden Spoon again next time.

Krisjoy,sophie and all mummies

Good morning....

I used Elancyl stretched mark cream during my pregnancy. Very good, not oily and I have no stretch mark, after two pregnancy.....

Rgds to coconut, sophie, you may want to try to buy from fruits stall where they open the coconut for you...its easier I guess.....

Anyone care to teach me how to open up to the recipie section in yahoo that you mums posted as am very keen to learn...thanks...

Oh yes, bringing aedann for baby contest in a while....just for the fun of it....

Krisjoy,

What good food did you have this weekend?

You got a nice dimsum place to recommend?

Sophie,

You're suppose to hack it in the direction of the fibres, which is top to bottom direction.Did you knife it the other way, as in side to side?

Joy,

Morning! You're early!

Ok, as for opening recipe section,

1)Sign in to the group

2)Click on the word "Database"

3)You'll come to a page "Recipes"(Group Recipe List)

4)Click on "Recipes", you'll see recipes contributed by us members.

5)"Messages" also has some.

"Links" shows you recipe websites.

Amelia
You are early too...could not sleep much as overly tired by the wedding function attended....

Thanks for telling me how to go about in opening the recipe section...will try....

Rgds Dim sum...depends on what is your budget.Heard asia hotel near scott road has got very good dim sum. Goodwood park quite ok too...High end will be places like shang palace ....

Have a good sunday.....

Girls,

I included 3 links in yahoo group.Egullet is a popular forum where foodies all over the world gather.Anthony Bourdain and Alton Brown make appearances from time to time.Two other links are on japanese home-cooking.

Joy,

Thanks for the recommendations.

I very cheapo...My budget is within 50 for 2 person.Any stand alone restaurants, as in not within a hotel?

You have a good sunday too!

Amelia

Not cheapo but trifty..Lucky restuarant in Toa payoh?Hmmm....that also depends on how much you can eat...

You can try goodwood park hotel,heard not that expensive for per head...maybe you can call them now and check?My friend always rush there to have dim sum on sunday....let me know

Pricilla

Are you a peranakan?Saw quite a bit of baba food posted by you....

Thanks mummies, quite a interesting website....You gals are really nice to write in all the recipie..I will do that when have consolidate the thoughts and write it down...me is more of a verbal cook than writing down type.....anyway, will write one day....

Sophie,
I used Hai's Mee Siam paste.My hb said it's nice, but I think is so so only,may be I should add in some Tau Cheo.The direction also said to add coconut milk, but I didn't.

Amelia,
The chilled Hai's curry paste in in a small rectangular "tub", with 2 "compartments", one for curry paste and one for chilli paste, so can control how spicy the curry you want it to be.Your Hai's paste is not this type?

I like the Dim Sum at Lei Garden, located at Orchard Plaza.

My favourite is their Crispy Bai2 Fan4 Yu2(the silver fish/or bigger size white bait,it's called Bai Fan Yu in Hong Kong)

http://wineanddine.asiaone.com.sg/news/events/20060327_001.html

cat_tail,
my CL was already quite old when she did my confinement 5yrs+ago, probably would be too old to do confinement by now?

I still remember my MIL kept saying that my CL must have lied about her age, cos she think my CL looks older than her age,though I don't agree with my MIL.

Joy747,
Why don't you just print out the recipes you are interested instead of writing it down?

Amelia,
Eh, yeah, for the coconuts, I hack it just like the way the uncles in hawker centres do. Maybe my knife is not the correct kind? Guess I will just buy a big cheap chopper from the market to do that next time.

I had dim sum last weekend and going to have it again today. Last weekend, I went to Teahouse at China Square. Food is so-so only. We had the Peking duck, btu I find it not crispy enough. $25 each for a table of 9 people.

For today, I wanted to try East Ocean at 2nd floor of Shaw Centre @ Scotts. Friends all say it's very good, and atmosphere like in HK i.e. very noisy
But they are closed for renovation, so I'll be trying Imperial Treasures at Great World City. Will let you know tonight how good it is.

Wah Lok is pretty good, but I find it a bit expensive - slightly more so than Teahouse. Red Star is quite famous for its "old-style" dim sum, but I don't really like it cos I find the dim sum not very nicely presented and quality not as good as the HK kind.

For something cheaper and good, I'll try this place at Sunshine Plaza called Victor's Kitchen next time. The review is here on this blog and it seems quite good!
http://www.chubbyhubby.net/2005/08/damn-good-dim-sum.html