Cooking Tips & Recipe

Starz,

When i expecting my boy, i dun like meat, i can only fish and veg. only 6mth onwards i started to take abit of chicken. u expecting B or G?

joy,
Oh I see... hahaha... next one I go envy ang mo nose, see my baby will get ang mo noses or not... lol...

starz,
Wah.. you are in the retail industry ah.. and Orchard some more.. kekeke.. which shop? Got discount bor? kekeke.... :p
heh... we are opposite leh... I dun eat chicken.. only pork and sometimes beef.

mousey is 2008 leh...

starry,
i'm having a boy....
its not a preggie thing leh... normally i dont quite like red meat... only now during pg, then i have craving for beef... still dont like mutton n pork only my mum's dishes..

lyn,
yupz... hehehe.. can i pls not mention names here.. skully later my boss/colleagues see me keep popping here to chat... or got some dissatisfied customer see ar, "use e opportunity" to complain to/about me.... very dangerous..

ya correct lah... wait for mousey at least i rest for close to 1year mah...

starz

hee... seem like having a boy mostly dun like meat. my friend also like tat but we all eat our mum dishes. hee...

when i preggie, i only eat my mum's meat dishes and only want sweet and sour pork. Ha Ha Ha

Hey u in fashion industry maybe u can tell me where to buy nice working blouses for big size ple like me.

Van,

Part of the hospital bill is medisave deductible...Maybe you can check with the staff on the amount.Sounds like your dd is already doing very well.Hope she can discharge very soon.

today very quiet hor... hehehehe.... rainy day everyone sleepingz....

starry,
for bigger sizes hor, i only know Dorothy Perkins and Karen Millen not bad leh... i dont know how "big" u mean leh... nowadays i think e "ang moh" brands all offering bigger sizes mah...

annlee,
ar.. i'm in e fashion line, but i dont follow e trends at all one leh. all i know now is "Fall" season (some call it Autumn/Winter).. so u will see clothing wise all e thick thick stuff come out liaoz.. other than that, i'm quite hopeless actually... personal preference i wear "classic" pieces... hehehehehe...

amelia,
no leh, havent seen e commercial yet.. today will look out....

THANKS ALL! My dd started eating porridge today.As usual,the fussy eater didn't want to eat much of the"not nice" fish porridge served here,while drooling over my biscuits n toast.

I am not "sim tia" over the hospital bill, after all major part of it will be paid by hb's company insurance policy. i m glad that her infections of appendix n instestines was discovered at treated at early stage,only had her appendix removed.

i think that is still better than having stomach ache,vomitting n fever on n off at home,not knowing the exact reason, we're so helpless n really heartache "sim tia".

just heard fr SIL that her sis' 3mth old baby had lung infection,in critical condition.The baby is born healthy,is breastfed,yet got infection fr dun knw where.

van,
so glad to hear that yr dd is eating and recovering well! when will she be discharged?

oh, dear, yr SIL's sis' bb so poor thing! hope the bb pulls thru and gets well. do keep us updated!

lyn,
wow, u had a "happening" life in Europe last time and now u also have a busy home life working, studying, cooking, taking care of bb A... wow, u r really capable! how did u find the time to do it all? u r amazing......

Van

So good to hear that your dd is well now....and finally the cause to her problem.....

I guess virus somehow is in the air....Me being a very kiasi mum, I would rather put my baby at home than to bring him out unnecessary.....Waiting for him to grow bigger and have a better immunity build from within than to keep expose to the external virus when he is not so strong as to fight it yet.....that is my thoughts....maybe into too much of chinese medicine....

van, good to know that ur dd is recovering. Is sad knowing your SIL bb condition. Hope the bb get well soon!

sophie, I've just bought a anodise wok from taka today. Is from Supor, 36cm at $55. No free gift.

Van,
Glad that the doctor can find out the cause of your dd's problems... Can "diu zhen xiao yao" effectively.. and very soon she will be happy and healthy again

Wah... your SIL 3 mth old baby had lung infection ah... So poor thing...
What type of virus?

sp,
I am panting already... :p kekeke... and getting a bit stressed up lately...

Van,
Glad that you know the cause of your dd's sufferings and had it operated on... hope she has a speedy recovery and healthy appetite from here on!

Oh dear, hope your SIL's bb recovers well...

annlee,
Yeah, I think my brother's wok must be the same one as yours, cos he only remembered the brand starts with "S", and it costs $55 exactly! He said it's pretty good, no need to use a lot of oil as with all anodised woks. Let me know your reviews after you've used it!

Been MIA for 3 days cos internet access in company is down due to a server problem. Already suffering from withdrawal syndrome!

Van,
Glad to know that dd is recovering. Sorry to hear about your SIL's baby. Hope her bb will recover soon!

Amelia,
I've requested Annelise to sign me up in the Yahoo Group so that I can view and share pics with all the mummies here...

Lyn,
My hb used to study in England and he had been to most of the Europe countries. But I told I dun care, he still needs to accompany me to Europe in future bcos Europe is definitely one of the must-go places to me
It is full of history and culture...

Krisjoy

Travelled when you are still almost handsfree....I dragged going to London, due to its flight time and also spend few years studying there too...Its nice to visit but not staying there as I find it quite bored...maybe I am not a cultural person....

Van

Bet your sil baby should be recovering well.Initially, when my baby was in ICU and the pd gave antibioditic to him before lung infection set in.....thank goodness, its not infection but just lung is not matured yet....

Have a good sunday all....

sophie, the wok that I bought is $59 opps....my mistake. I remember the price is $55 maybe is 34cm wok. I checked with the auntie promoter about other brand and she says all anodised wok is the same only that the brand is different and some is expensive because they got free gift and that's why plus the free gift amount to the price that's why so ex.

I keep asking my hb to go with me to eat nasi padang at river valley and always no no to him sianz... he only like to eat ramen and when back to Gallery Hotel again. Actually their noodle is nice only too salty. Next week he might wanna go Liang court, Tampopo for ramen.

hey, you ladies are talking about anodise work, right?I got a 40cm wok from isetan, cost around 59 maybe....bought so big cos wanna make popiah....

Personally I like mayer anodise wok, very good. I believe you pay more for the better quality type...I think tiger wok is equally good....

Wow, annlee, your hubby ramen expert huh?My daughter loves ramen too...where have the best ramen....so far, the best I tasted was from Japan itself....

joy747, yeah.... in fact we're looking for anodise wok, me looking for cheap and good one hee........ now got one from Supor.

My hb not ramen expert, only likes to eat them. Yes I agreed in Japan ramen taste nicer. I'm having ramen from different store for supper every night when I'm there.

Sorry for my lack of posts.My hub bought me a Mac Book and I am trying to get used to it.

Krisjoy,

Maybe you can try PM-ing her.

Van,

Glad to hear she is ok now.Hope she discharges soon.

joy747, your dd loves ramen... my ds1 like it too. He can finished all the ramen or my instant noodles rather than my healthy fish porriage. He liked it so much that I've to cook udon for him most of the time than porriage. Don't know why the kids likes noodle so much??

Maybe noodles is easier to eat...she loves japanese restaurant the most...always asking to go to the one in raffles town club...burnt a hole all the time but must say that their food is very fresh and good...tonite,me frying goza for her....

Krisjoy,
hahaha... internet withdrawal syndrome... I think I will suffer too... lol... cannot resist hor?
Which part of England your hubby studied in? kekeke... I love London
shop and shop and shop... Really shop till you drop!
hmm... history ah... I am not so interested in history.. kekeke... I only like the beautiful buildings and the different kind of food of different cultures

Joy,
Where did you study in UK? In central London?
kekeke... I like London a lot
There's so much to do...
How old is your boy?

annlee,
Wah... your hubby expert in Ramen ah... Where got the best Ramen? Do you know if they use MSG in Ramen?

amelia,
I just noticed your nickname is "waterbaby"
I am reading a book in "water babies"...

Annlee and Joy,

Wow kids love ramen these days?lol...But I think it's more flavourful than porridge and somewhat healthy too...because of the soy beans in miso?Anyone care to correct this?

Gyoza tastes a bit like our Guotie, isn't it?Just that it has cabbage in it.I find the dipping sauce very similar to ours too;the vinegar and ginger.

Lyn,

A book on waterbabies?What is it about?Babies swimming?

I registered this "waterbaby" nick in 2002 at SgBrides when I was rather obsessed with the skincare H2Oplus, hence the nick.Not very creative hehe..

You were talking about your travels in Europe a couple of days back and I realise most people prefer places they can sightsee.My hub will never step into a museum or church or gallery unless at gunpoint or there's promise of good food nearby haha.So when i plan our travels, I have to factor this in.

Lyn

My boy turning 14 mths this 28 sept. As you know , gal is in p1 now...so different type of headache.

My uni...okay. pm you later...paid by government....

I think ramen might have some msg....I somehow can tell as anything with msg goes into my mouth, I will feel very thirsty there after...anyone has such experience too...I am so used to non msg food.Oyster sauce also has got msg....

Today gonna be a busy mad monday as usual...sending baby for massage and rushed back and get ready the older gal for piano lesson..and send hubby to work there after.....how about you mummy....I miss those days only busy around with one kid...so treasure this time for mummy with one daring now...cheers...

Hi ladies ,

Another "rid wind" confinement soup to share with you.. My CL used a bowl of ginger juice plus dom to dun with a chicken drumstick, tasted very good and not so sweet.. But you will perspire so much that you'll be scraeming for the air con..

Starz, another way to dun the chicken drumstick inside the coconut is also to cut up the coconut (with its shell).. put the drumstick and cut up coconut into a dun zhong, add one bowl of XO and double boil for 4 hrs.. tasty and nourishing too !

van, how's your dd doing today ? Hope she's better ..
Sorry to hear about your SIL's bb, also curious to know what kind of virus got into bb ..

A friend's 2 mth old bb had high fever for 2 weeks too.. paed didn't know what virus it was aft a few bld tests.. by the end of the 2nd week, it turned out to be dengue ! Scarry ! tho no mosquito marks were seen on bb and bb was always in long sleeves and pants..

Annelise, has your fever subsided ?

annlee, my dds love noodles too, esp chu qian yi ding ! I make mee sua soup for them too with batang fish and quail eggs

Hey joy, where do you send your dd for piano lessons ?

Choc,

It seems there're different types of wine used during confinement
like glutinous rice wine, DOM and hard liquors.What's the function of each?Can we only use a specific one?

Hi Choc06

My gal having private piano lesson at home. I am too tired to send her to music school...

I used "zhen "cu feng sang from the medical hall to remove the wind.....

Hmmm...usually fever is vira and it will last for a few days....weather is cool these days....do keep baby out of chill...wear sock if its raining days....

Hi Van, it's a relief to know that your dd is recovering well. Thank goodness they found out out early that her appendix was infected - it's difficult to diagnose appendicitis in young children. Hope your sil's baby gets well soon.

Hi Choc, I still feel chilly and weak - plus suddenly the lymphs nodes on my head and my neck are painful and swollen, although the fever has subsided. Drs also dunno what's wrong - had 2 blood tests already and both came back normal. I may seek a second opinion - just dunno where to go - I feel that GPs are quite useless with diagnosing anything other than coughs and colds!

Hi Joy, I'm also thinking of letting my dd have private lessons at home cos' too sian to lug my younger one along with me when I send her for lessons. How often is she taking her lessons? Can you pm me the teacher's contact? I'm currently sourcing for one to start during the Dec hols. I sold off my Eastpoint Green at a big loss but no choice, with single income we couldn't afford to straddle ourselves with 2 home loans plus the rental from the EPG wasn't enough to cover the loan repayments.

Gotta go and lie down for a bit - feeling a bit queasy and achy again

Annelise,
Hope you are recovering well ;p I've PMed you to include me in the Yahoo Group..not sure if you've received it...

lyn,
My hb studied in Sheffield...

Amelia,
Yes.. the book is about swimming for babies

Oh, you are a fan of H2O ah... Quite good rite? But not very easily available..
hmm... I am also "sick" of museums.. lol... We entered every museum when we backpacked around different parts of Europe in 1998. kekeke... For the past few years, when we travelled in Europe, we did not go in every museums.. lol.. We rather sightsee, and enjoy the food
I love ice-cream from Austria best... I used to be an active member at virtualtourist.com... So I will ask and search for good food in the places that I am going to
. My last visit to Paris was very enjoyable... 4 days of relaxation and no museums, but with good food..

joy,
Wah... Busy day for you.. Where do you bring you baby for massage? Massage for babies sound interesting.. can share infor with me?

Annelise,
Hope you will recover soon.. Is it virus infection? Recently, I just read about the pneumoccocal injection for kids... there are different kind of virus for pneumoccocal and adults also can get infected too...
My friend got dengue two weeks ago. He had high fever and the GP overlooked dengue...
Take good care... Drink more water

Amelia,
Actually, I also dunno what each alcohol is good at .. hehe.. but they all supposed to rid wind.. For me, I find that dom is very sweet and hot if uncooked.. very very sweet if cooked or double boil..almost like sugar syrup, but adding ginger juice will neutralise the sweetness..

For XO, the taste is good aft double -boiling, glutinous rice wine is good for cooking meat, tho some say can drink it as it is.. think the Hakkas make real good rice wine..

My friend was allergic to dom, taken as it is, and for me aft taking xo without cooking, I develop rashes..

Hey annelise, the lymph nodes swelling is common in viral infections, my ang had that during his fever too..might be the same kind of virus lurking in Tampines.. Rest well and remember to drink gallons of fluid !
have you thought of doing a full-body checkup?

Hey Joy, I'm interested in the piano lessons also.. can share the contact ? Was thinking of sending dd to cristofori initially..

Hi Choc06
Maybe you can give me your email and I send you the teacher contact.

Annelisa

I have pm you the contacts.She is having once a week for the lesson.I understand what you meant by single income and sold at a great lost....We are single income too but hold on to it as the lost is like 200k...so its better to rent now as still can cover the monthly loan for the time being...which tower were you then?

Lyn

I send my son to yu guo chinese tui na for his overall well being and he has been there weekly since two months old....

lyn, the ramen I went is at Gallery Hotel, Miharu and liang court, Tampopo. I know that you're BF but Japanese restaurant normally added msg and the ramen i had definitely has it. Sometimes my hb will go to Ajisen for ramen but I don't like it as the noodle cannot compare to Gallery and Tampopo.

choc, my son love zhu qian yi ting too.... he can finished the whole thing. I think my home cooked food no added msg that why when i cooked the instant noodles, he love it so much. Thanks for the msg:p

joy747, there's non msg oyster sauce but of course not the real one, is those vegetarian type.

my dd supposed 2 discharge today but she had bad joint pain last nite,so PD said stay 1 more day to observe n mk sure it's not virus infecting joints.

Choc,
thot ur dd1 taking JMC?Going 2 switch to individual lesson? heard that test is in Sep,is it over already?

annelise,
guess fr nw onwards,will only br dd to c GP for cold n cough n for travel medicine, will stick to PD fr now.
you tk care,n better 2 carry out more detailed tests.

Great to hear from you van ! So, is your dd up and about ?

yah.. thot of switching liao ! during my conf, my ang sat in with her, think he cannot take it.. blur by the taugeh.. and teacher is training them for exam in dec. Do you know the significance of the test ?

Lyn,

I was a fan of H2O till I found something cheaper that worked quite alright.

Oh you backpacked around Europe! I hear of people backpacking...but I can never do it hehe.My idea of a holiday is relaxation,comfort(not too shabby hotel), good food and interesting places to shop( i like looking at weird stuff).

Icecream...I havent tried enough but I do like Ben&Jerry's.

Choc,

It makes a lot of sense.Different alcohol for different kinds of food and cooking methods.Thanks
Yah I also think eating food cooked in alcohol is better than drinking straight up.

You mean Hakkas ferment their own wine at home..wow so amazing.

Annelise,

Maybe you can try hospitals for your checkup?They're better equipped..

choco06

Your email not activated. Maybe you can mail me at [email protected]

Van

Good to know everything is well now....

Ice cream..me no fan...

Annlee...I am using veg type of oyster sauce...still thirsty....

Yap, hakka fregment wine at home but too big quantiy and really for selling is illegal in singapore....my grandma used to do it...supposed to learn from her but too lazy but maybe one of the day as I love the residue....

Lyn
One more reason that I go for tuina is due to baby as they are growing phase tend to have flu, cold, cough quite easily...so I am trying to do that to help build his immunity system and along the way, learning chinese treatment way for cough and cold...interesting...I do not like feeding baby english medicine esp when the hand and feet turns cold...that was what happened to my older gal...sick, doctor, and medicine..unless like serious case like bronchantis...will seek western treatment....

van, good to know that your dd is going to discharge tomorrow.

choc, my confinement nanny also make chicken with ginger juice. She also make half a bowl of fresh ginger juice+honey for morning, super spicy even added honey on it. Did you take soh hup pill in the morning?
My MIL make chicken essence for me which is very good. She uses one chicken and chop until very small almost mince, put chicken on a big 'tong' and chicken on top of a ceramic plate with hole and let the chicken essence drip down to the hole, no water added. One chicken can only make about half a bowl of essence. Can add some wine if want to.

Would like to check with you mummies, anyone knows where to sell children single + pull out bed below the bed?

van, relief to hear your dd is ok now.
Hope your SIL's baby recovering soon...

Sigh, it tough to be a mom, to go thru the 9 months PG then seeing your baby not well and worry about almost everything...

my son was down with fever on saturday evening. then whole nite fever up and down. Sunday morning went to see doctor confirm is stomach flu, he refuse to eat anything solid, only soups.
At nite he ask for milo and biscuits. But due to the stomach thing every time after eating will go toilet... wet so many pants liao...

Update about the shopping at Kaki bukit:
Was there around 11am, since they only open at 11am. Raining so heavily till we can't go down to the shop. So went to the automobile center, 'stuck' there for about 2 hours.
Later on manage to go in to check, but the price is so so.. worst still we found some of the item like the washing power, baby milk bath is more expensive then i bought from Jurong West..

annlee

No, there are many levels and shops...

Recently I got a cheap deal of baby detergent powder from giant...though their price is not competitive during the usual days....

Little cat, how your son got stomach flu?How old is he now?

littlecat, my son is also having fever right now. Van dd also having stomach flu at the beginning and is recovering. Do watch out for your ds, if worsen better get details checked like what van did. What's the symptoms of stomach flu?

Littlecat,
Agree wif you - Hypermart and Baby Kingdom do not have really attractive prices, just that they have a wider range. When JL or Robinsons on sales, their prices are much better...

Is your ds better now? Sigh...seems like a lot of pple fall sick..

annlee, Thanks for sharing the honey and ginger juice recipe.. no need to boil right ? Aft taking all these heaty stuff, I drank one cup of honey and calamansi .. really soothes the throat..

yah.. drank the ess of chicken before, very tasty indeed!

What's soh hup pill ?

Ikea is having new items, thought I saw it there before, do you have the new catalogue ?

Yo cat, hope ds better now.. read about stomach flu in children a few days ago, check with doc whether can take yakult or not, cos the lactobacillus in the drink suppose to kill the bad germs..

When my no 2 got diarrhea, we'll also give her H2o, can't remember whether H2o or 100 plus, as long as its without gas.. it helps to replenish fluid in the body.. take small sips to avoid throwing up..

Nature's farm sells lactobacillus capsules, and I take them when I have diarrhea and indigestion, it helps..

thanks joy, will pm you !