Cooking Tips & Recipe

Annlee,

Yah I think it's the same one..but it's not there anymore from what I heard from hub.

Joy,

Oh it's called cai buay?It's a kind of preserved veggie with somewhat clear gravy i think...some stalls will make it darker

Amelia

Yap, its cai buay and I think sugar added too...Muai cai is usually goes with kuo rou...

Wow, all of you meat lover huh?Me more to the vegetables side...

yes amelia, is not there for few years already. Was there almost every week when pregnant having the kwap chap and my hb was crazy for it. They shifted to Liang seah st but now no longer there.

Does anyone have the bak ku teh address at Joo chiat? Now my hb still on chicken pox MC so can go and eat with me hee....

Joy,
Your boy does look Eurasian. The baby in the framed picture - is it him or is that the poster you kept looking at when pregnant?

Krisjoy, Amelia,
I also like bak kut teh! I tried the Rangoon Road one before, but don't really like it cos it's not the peppery kind of soup. Meat is super-lean though, but they don't serve with mui cai or kiam cai kind. I think they also didn't have tau pok... weird huh? I prefer the one at Balestier called Frontier (opp Shaw Plaza), more peppery soup. My mum says there's one at Middle Road which is very good... I tried it last time when they were still at the HDB block near the old Blanco Court. Amelia, is this the one you were saying? Cos my mum said they shifted to Middle Road liao.

I think my mum may know how to cook the mui cai, cos we Hakka used to eat a lot of mui cai, sometimes my grandma just chopped them up, mix with minced meat and sugar (if the mui cai is not the sweet type), then flatten it in a dish and steam. I'll ask my mum tonight if she knows how to cook the bak kut teh kind of mui cai.

annlee,
The 20% off Vitasence in Watsons no more liao... I just checked last night. But I bought online, and got the membership, so if you don't want to get the membership yourself but want the discount, I can order for you. I can also check if they do delivery to another address

Amelia,
My CL didn't make any vinegar pig's.. my mum and MIL made them, they r competing their skills.. I only like the eggs and lean meat.. My MIL soaks the egss for 2 weeks until they are bouncy like ping pong balls !

van, hope your dd better today..

Yo lyn, when you going ? Winter? Wah.. will be very nice and cold.. I will bring bb along too..

hey annlee, wah.. must try out the kwey chap near the raffles hosp.. I like the smell of the kwey chap.. the more kiam smell the better it is !

Joy,

Thanks for clearing up.
Mei Cai Kou Rou is also delicious.

Have do you like your vegetables?I love roasting potatoes, carrots and corn with extra virgin olive oil and some salt in the oven...so yummy..the natural sweetness of veggies are intact.

Annlee,

Probably they made a lot of money and retired hehe!

Cat-tail,

What's the address for Joo Chiat?Good food always puts my hub in good mood.

good morning ladies....

littlecat,
Oh, now i see e difference between hot towel n cold cabbage... hehe.. thank u for e info, otherwise i do salah thing again...

baby kingdom n hypermart can see from outside... stand along e road can see liaoz... think friday not so crowded lah..
i know e walkway, i also scared to walk.. cos sometimes not careful will slip one...
i walk there always extra slow..

Amelia,
thanks for e info on e book... i think i prefer to be able to "flip" through it before deciding to buy or not...

if u manage to find e stall tat used to be at Bugis (e HDB block downstairs one), let me know hor.. i also like theirs.... so far didnt manage to find one that i feel is as good...

e saga with Rangoon Rd bah kut teh was, there was this HK big-shot.. i think some prime minister level person or someone impt lah... visited SG, n wanted to eat at this store. BUT this store (usually closie at 5/6pm), refused to stay open until 9pm to entertain this VIP.. so caused a big hoo-ha, even HK media also blow up e news to report...

i tried e bah kut teh there i think 1-2months back (after e saga).. cos hubby curious lor.. i dont find it "super nice" leh.. n i was there around 1-2pm, they sold out everything except the soup liaoz... so i'm not convinced abt it being especially good...

Joy,
ur boy really look like e poster leh... sooooo cute!!!!! i think u have to start "fending off" girlfriends for him once he start going out... any marriage proposals yet?? hehehehe.... if i'm having a princess sure ask for ur permission to introduce her to ur boy one... hehehe..

lyn,
paiseh ar, i was under e impression tat u r a SAHM... wat u working as??? so nice, bring aloysius to UK.. u r going there for work huh??? remember take more photos to share share hor... hehehe...

sophie, oh... so no more discount. Was still considering for the pores essence cos their products is no cheap.. hey.. you're so kind, wanna order for me. Thanks alot, will let you know again.

choc, the kwap chap no longer there and don't know where they shifted maybe is the one sophie mentioned. Now only go to old airport rd hawker centre for kwap chap, think you should know them they're quite popular. They used to locate at blanco court but shifted to old airport rd. Also popular in their pig legs but I don't think is nice.

annlee,
I bought the Pore Clarifying Essence to try, cos my forehead got a lot of tiny bumps... I think they're oil clogs? I emailed them to ask about their products and pregnancy, and they said Pore Clarifying Essence contains a bit of salicylic acid, which is OK for pregnancy, but some prefer not to use it. I checked online too, and most web says applying salicylic acid is OK, but not orally ingesting it. So I may give it a "patch test" on one side of my forehead to try

No prob about ordering for you, cos I think they can ship to a different address, and can even pay cash upon delivery, so pretty flexible.

lyn,
It'll be fun to take Aloysius to UK! The drive will be nice too... which part of UK are you driving around?

joy747,
We can be partners... kekeke... I am also more towards vegetables side

Wah.. cai buay and mui cai.. making me confused... lol..

choc06,
Yap.. will be in winter
I dun wanna wait till the next summer already.. it will mean delay in my graduation if i go next summer... kekeke.. I buay tahan with my work hanging in the air liao... secarly, next summer, I already preggie... lol... cos I want 2007 baby... :p

starz,
hahaha... I am SAHM with Aloysius.. When I have "free" time, I do my work. I am in the process of writing my thesis
hee... I am paper chasing lor... :p
kekeke... I will definitely take lots of photos... I actually love London a lot.. Cannot get sick of it though I used to go there almost every weekends in the summer when I was still in the UK. This time, I wanna show Aloysius London

If I can be in time for the graduation ceremony in December, my whole family will go
and maybe to Austria, Slovenia or Croatia
. Sure will go somewhere in Europe.. kekeke... got chance to show Aloysius some parts of Europe.

Lyn
Yeah...found a soul mate like you that goes green....which part of UK are going....I still dare not bring my baby out yet....Oh yes, rest of mum, I no muslim, do take pork at times but more of a health freak....

I think Wu de Ting is also quite a good brand for ba kut teh , can get it from shop and safe or prime.....

Sophie, ya, that was the pic that I stared during my first pregnancy and not second but turned out the second baby looks like this and with a dimples too...don;t know why...see attached....

Starz

Got people asking for "his hands" already...hahaha

Amelia

All my veg are cook with pure olive oil, less oil better so I very scared to eat cze cha....

sophie, I think salicylic acid shld be fine for preggie. Chck how many percent they contain. It might be too harsh for you if is high cos you got sensitive skin right? The tiny pumps, any white dot in the centre and issit hard.

lyn, wow....going to london. I quite like the place but find their weather abit moody when im there, maybe the wrong season when im there. People there are friendly but be careful of pickpockets. You going to show Aloysius there... don't think he understand lah... but i know what you mean.
I bought my ds1 to Australia when he's 4 mths old, now I ask him about the place and show him the photo abd he can't recognise them.

You going london for your graduation ceremony?

Sophie,

Maybe it's the one you're talking about...I need to check with my hub regarding this.Wow so many bak kut teh lovers in this thread!

Starz,

Will update you when I manage to find them.

Ooooh the saga must have happened when I was away.Wah this Rangoon Rd stall so "dao" and unfriendly ah...did our own ministers reprimand the stall?

Lyn,

I like travelling too.S'pore can get a bit boring at times.Will be planning our vacation year end...likely to be somewhere near.

oh joy747 and lyn,

I love veggie too... can easily eat 1/2 kg in one go. Since I know my hb then i start eating more meats. Last time I will get rid every little meat on my plate.

I uses olive oil too... sometimes switch to grapeseed oil recommended by a lady from organic shop

joy747,
kekeke... good good
I am also going green for health... My Uni is in Loughborough, halfway between Leicester and Nottingham
. 2.5 hours drive on the motorway from central London.
I still do eat meat though, but only pork. I seldom eat out cos I am breastfeeding. I am avoiding food with MSG
. Do you have any particular meat that you eat?
I use olive oil or sesame oil at home for cooking...

Annlee

Agreed with you they do not really understand much, maybe till two years old, that is what happen to my gal.I asked her about perth, hk, curise, she does not remember a thing as she went there around 1 plus, but Los angeles
disneyland, she managed to remember a bit.....

Lyn. do covered aloysius nose when you are in the underpass for train as its real dusty....bet you will know if you have been there...nice building there and the big ben....

Oh yes, forgot to attach the dimple pic

here it is
514866.jpg

annlee,
My graduation ceremony not in London... It's in Loughborough...

Eh... I can also eat lots of vege at one go
I love the feeling of not feeling yucky after eating a lot.. lol... Even I go for buffet now, will be lots of vege and fruits...
and wun have yucky feeling that I used to have when I eat lots of meat..
hmm.. grapeseed oil can withstand heat??

amelia,
I think I will not travel to Europe often in future already. kekeke... I prefer Asia now. All the ang-mos coming to Asia cos it's cheap.. and we kinda not so smart, go Europe instead...
Haiz.. I missed my travelling days too.. I used to travel around Europe 3-4 times a year. Just before I left UK, I travelled to Austria every alternate weekend for their Christmas markets... kekeke... I love Austria a lot... My dream is to bring my parents to Austria, Slovenia, and Croatia too, cos I been to these places and I love it

joy747, you brought her to so many places!! I don't think will bring them so far right now unless they understand and enjoy it as it cost alot for the whole family to go far places.
So your baby is a girl... I thot is aboy

lyn, normally I stir fry my food with medium heat so shld be ok and the lady says no problem for it. I never deep fry anything in my house before so not very sure.

But using those healthy oil to stir fry chinese dish don't taste that good compare to those peanut etc type of oil. Now im used to it.

Lyn

You are well travelled too...what do you do for living...I yet been to austria...

Annlee...because mummy cannot sit still, so want to go here and there, also bring her and thank goodness she is a good traveller.....now with baby boy...cannot do so much...Second one is a boy, first is a gal...this one you see is boy...hahahah

Amelia,
The Bak Ku Teh is beside the AiMin Acupuncture & Weight Loss Ctr. Can eat anytime u like cos it's open 24hrs
Address: 437 Joo Chiat Rd

lyn, I love to travel but now with kids is a bit difficult maybe when they're older.
I envy you... going to Austria... their christmas market ,wahh... those musical..fairy tales ... places , now my heart is there. In Austria, what is their lauguage?

lyn,
u so fast already plan for 2nd one, n somemore next year ar!!!
wat "paper" u chasing??? write thesis sounds so... "advance"...
hehehe.. i'm one without "paper".. n no time/energy/money to chase after also... i just hoping my "track record" in tis industry will "speak" for me.. so next time not so difficult to find job... otherwise, stay in this co. till my hubby can make me a SAHM too lor...

hey, i also want to join e "Vege Gang".. heheheh... if not for "Fish" alone hor, i was seriously considering turning vegetarian a couple of years back..

Joy,
alamak... ur son so fast got "choped" liaoz ar.. like dat i cannot catch-up liaoz.. even if next one guarantee is a princess, also must wait at least 2years before she'll be born... too far back in the queue liaoz...

starz, same here... i'm thinking of turning vegetarian. Have tried for one week, can make it but find vegetarian food from those shops i eaten very oily and fattening.

ya, i agree lor... those "zhai" food stalls right???
i think unless most of e time u cook urself, otherwise it seems "worse" to turn vegetarian... cos of e oily food they sell...
for me i cannot give up my mum's fried fish... dats y didn't make it..

Starz,

the method of fried fish fm u is definatly crispy but i cannot make it to that skill level
i think i will order fm those Indonesian restaurant.

not even those zhai food stall... small restaurant also. Very oily, most food make of flour or starch, lotsa msg... I eaten for 1 week, put on weight and didn't eat much some more

annlee, lyn,
Think I read somewhere grapeseed oil actually has very high boiling point up to 200+ degrees Celsius so should be safe for frying.

annlee,
I also don't really like chinese "zhai" cos Chinese zhai are mostly gluten, very fattening. For vegetarian stuff, I prefer real veges

Those bumps on my forehead - they don't have a white "head"... they're just bumps making my skin very uneven. Then sometimes they dry up and you can scratch them off.

sophie, then must be those millias. Salicylic more for oily skin, helps to dry up the sebum or lighten marks. For millias think you need some extraction but must be gentle with it.

sophie,
kekeke... just met my friend who came back from Cambridge... I will drive to Cambridge too
And maybe the peak district. Very tempted to drive to Wales...

annlee,
Oh, got difference in taste ah... hee... I did not realise it with olive oil... I also dun deep fry at home. hahaha.... deep fry not healthy and waste the oil too... :p and also must clean more... I even forbid my mum to deep fry in my kitchen.. lol..

joy,
err... what I do for a living ah... my friend gave me a label - professional student... lol... I got side income also :p

annlee,
Austrian speak German with a different slang. Austria is very beautiful. There are many towns that we have not heard of here. I love Graz
A very romantic town... ahh... bring back my memories... I was there alone and wished that my hubby was with me that time.. It was really peaceful, beautiful there with a romantic feel. My sis just went to almost everywhere in Austria and she loves Graz too
. hee... I am hosting my sis's friend from Graz next week

Starz,
kekeke... I looked at the "ba zhi" of mine and my hubby. Better to have 2007 baby. 2008 not very good. 2009 is very good for my hubby... But 2009 a bit long to wait... :p so 2007 lor...
Which industry are you in??
Why did you consider becoming a vegetarian?? Singapore's vegetarian not healthy also.. kekeke... those deep fried stuffs are not healthy.. I have 3 cousins who are vegetarian and they have grown horizontally...

annlee,
Yalor... the vegetarian food in normal food court not healthy... oily and I think worse than those with meat... Usually I eat yong tau fu with all vegetables and not those fishball and not the deep fried stuffs.

sophie,
hmm.. I am thinking about whether the nutrients will be lost at high heat...

lyn, travel from UK to Austria is quite far right? How you travel to Austria for every alternate weekend for their Christmas markets?

my dd has improvement today.Tube remove fr her nose,which luckily is not painful when removing,just ticklish. she can drink a bit of soup,n 60ml of pediasure at 3 hourly interval.

Hospital bill already accumulated to$6k+ just for these 4days.

i could read the postings here but quite troublesome for me to post using handphone.

Hi Van

Good to know that your dd is well.....

I guess as long as she is well, money is secondary , right?

My son was in ICU for ten days when born. Bill came up to be more than ten k and we are glad that he is well....

Hi Van,
Good to know that your dd is fine now. Take care of yourself too and don't over-tire yourself... lots of flu bug going around now.

annlee,
Take flights lor... That time, I started my journey on Friday nite, then "camp" at airport, and take the 6am flight out on Saturday... then back on Sunday evening... kekeke... Now with baby, I think cannot travel this way already...

Van,
Glad that your dd is on the road to recovery
She's in good hands

lyn
I like your life style as a professional student....fun huh....so, now is a house CEO?

Agreed, you cannot travel like how you used to travel....how big is your baby now?

Van, glad that your dd is better now..thanks for the update..

Hey Joy, does your boy boy look like you or papa ?

Annelise, how are you now ? Managed to get out of bed yet ?

van, glad to hear your dd is doing well! For gleneagle the bill definitely is ex, think can use medisave. You must take care of yourself too, sophie mentioned lotsa flu bugs now so try and take some Vit C to boost your immune system.

joy,
hahaha... "house CEO".. good one... Tonite I tell my hubby I am the CEO at home.. wahahaha...
My boy is 3 months 1 week now

Do you have any "mi jue" for your handsome boy?

starz, I went to eat belanchan fish yesterday. I think I will like the fish when im pregnant or after birth when i'm still big. Now I lost some weight and my meals are lighter and healthier. The fish is nice but after the meal I felt very bad maybe too oily and my tummy cannot take it. Btw, the fish is nice and cheap.

Lyn, Annelise is down with a fever that persisted for 5 days.. doc checked and it's not dengue.. she's having aches all over her body

CHoc06

Maybe annelise is down with a vira fever....

Mi jue...hahaah. no lah...just look at nice thing, praise when others deserve it...and that it is....Oh yes, I remember during my pregnancy, after sending my gal to kinderland, just go home and blast the sound system and watch the MTV...LIKE eagles, michael learns to rock....etc....ency the ang mo nose....hahaha and that maybe explain a bit why he looks a big ang mo....

Son looks neither me nor hubby

morning ladies....
wah... here in orchard e sky like night time so dark.. n heavy rain.. how i wish i'm at home sleeping....
kao_sleep.gif

Van,
so glad to hear ur dd is improving... if ur med bill can subsidise by medisave then not so bad lor.. as long as ur dd recovers tats e most impt.

lyn,
wah.. must check "ba zhi" one ar.. i never even tot of that.. just tot i wan a "doggy", dont want "piggy".. so quickly pop one out first.. hahaha.. next one for me maybe a "mousey"..

i'm in retail (fashion) industry... only got an "A" Levels n a "useless" diploma.. slowly climb my way up.. i already grow e bizness by 5times since i took over, so got "track record" to speak of..

tot of turning vegetarian cos there was this point in time i dont like meat at all.. other than fish n sometimes chicken. i dont eat pork, mutton, beef.. it was just a thought lah..

annlee,
ya i know its very oily (can see e "chilli oil), cos e "belachan" n e "he bi hiam" need mah... hehehe.. dont take it too often lor, i only take it once in a few months... speaking of which, long time no go liaoz.. maybe pester hubby bring me there this weekend..

dozing off soon......
kao_sleep.gif