Cooking Tips & Recipe

littlecat,
hehehe... u ar, reli the ultimate.. u go for lunch also not tempted to go see see look look one ar... since u have some things left from your boy's time, then just use the same list, delete away the rows that u dont need, then still can use mah...
i think its the "side effect" of working for too long liaoz.. that time i havent make this baby list, went shopping a few times but don't know where to start. only with this list then i "accomplish" more things...

my family used to be very small, only parents n 1 sibling... now is due to my sisters-in-law families (my hubby's 2 twin sisters) who stay nearby, n we r quite close to them... so suddenly got "bigger family" lor... i like big families all the while, find my own family last time too quiet...
make cookies n cakes can keep for a few days at least mah...

Hum is toxic to the liver..not so good.

Double Cheeseburger has a lot of oil in it.

I love all sorts of fattening foods!Unhealthy foods taste the best!Kong Bah Pao is so yummy.

Little Cat,

I have pilates books and videos..Can do them at home...save $$.

sophie,
nope, not that one.. maybe i didn't "talk" properly... this is the one i have...
hehehe... i took photo of the box cos it was one of my "housewarming presents"....

484948.jpg

cupcake, i've the same problem too until i was told not to beat the egg and gently stir the egg without producing any bubbles and set aside for ten mins before steaming and before steaming stir gently so that the sauce or salt will evenly spread and not trap on the bottom. When steaming make sure the water is boiling before putting the egg on tray and do not totally cover the wok cover, left a little hole to let the steam out so the egg will not be so hot and came out rubbery. Think it takes about 15-20mins for egg to be cooked. My menthod might be abit troublesome maybe other mommies got better idea.

Ah, starz, yours is the more "sophisticated" kind with the jug! I think I may switch to something like that, but not now... too many things to buy, need to prioritise and budget

Amelia,
You do pilates too? I used to do it, but stopped since pregnancy. Don't even dare to do much prenatal yoga even though I bought the DVD, cos doc's advice is to rest. So may wait till later on in 2nd tri then do, or just do some light walking.

Yeah, where is Van today?

amelia, not sure whether is the same popeyes but think should be, there's only one in singapore and located in the airport.
So you try the chicken before? Really that good? I heard their mash potato is also very good. I think i will try popeyes.

oh my... this Popeye place sounds good... I love mashed potatoes! Got buttermilk biscuits from the menu on the website too!
annlee, let us know after you've tried it, then I may make my way there too

No wonder my ears so itchy,so many of you missing me huh?

I went to buy TOTO lah...<font size="+2">Prize $5.5Million</font> leh!

No time to read through all the postings yet, am trying to checking which Terminal is MI Flight No.Changi Airport? Need to go pick up my hb.

van, im also going to the airport to pick up my hb later. My hb cannot buy roast pigeon or goose to sg cos of the bird flu case, so disappointed.

WOW... seldom buy toto, 5.5 million is alot man...

annlee,what time you going airport? just found my hb's flight, scheduled arrival 19:25.

yah loh,$5.5m I sure buy!

But think your hb will buy cookies fro Kee Wah Bakery right?since there is branch at HK airport? Still good lah! very yummy!

Hi cupcake, the trick to the steam egg is that the fire must be very very low. We had a little discussion on how to make good steamed egg in our earlier posts - I've cut &amp; paste the recipe and tips from spmctr for your ref:

Chawan mushi (steamed eggs)

chicken stock, chicken, prawn japanese fishcake

One beaten egg in each chawan mushi cup
Fill up with chicken stock till 3/4 full
Stir to mix
Add a piece of chicken, prawn, japanese fishcake Steam over very low heat (put the eggs in BEFORE water is boiling) Takes about 15 to 20 mins. Heat must be low or else the egg will not be smooth - it will look spongy with lots of holes. Tip from Van: strain the beaten egg 1st before adding other ingredients supposed to give a smoother texture.
Tip from Choc06: A friend told me covering the egg mixture when steaming can also give a smooth texture.

Hi Van, do you give your dd Pediasure on a daily basis? I bought the Vanilla flavoured one but she didn't really like it - thinking of trying the chocolate one, is it too heaty? I feel that I seriously need to revamp her eating habits - too picky and not enough variety. Last time can get away with it cos' drank formula milk. Now, she only drinks Milo and fresh cow's milk. My niece is on goat's milk - she drinks it once a day. My sis orders it from the goat farm but I scared my dd dare not drink cos' the smell is probably quite strong. But her health has improved significantly eversince she started on it.

Hi LittleCat, my dd2 and I caught the flu bug from dd1. I spent the last 2 days in bed with high fever - couldn't even sit up for very long
Plus I had to wake up every 3 hours to monitor my dd2's temp and feed her meds - wah, very jialat, reminds me of the time when I had high fever from mastitis but still had to do the night feeds! You very lucky leh, working at Taka - that's my fav shopping centre! Last time I worked at Park Mall - only got furniture shop to see! Hey, we saw the fireworks last Sat also! But it was from our car on the expressway - the view was clear except that the car window was a bit dirty, haha!

Hi Soph, your food presentation always looks so good! Where do you buy the flaxmeal from? I've been suffering from IBS for the past 15 years and nothing I took could ease my prob - it was worse during pg, the dr had to use enema for me on a couple of occassions when the constipation got really bad. Thinking of trying tcm, but dunno whether I can tahan taking the bitter meds.

Annelise,
My dd takes Pediasure 3 times / day,the vanillar flavour.I won't give her chocolate flavour, I feel that it's too heaty, and will cause phlegm.

Same problem here, my dd is VERY VERY picky and didn't take enough variety,that's why have to give Pediasure and Multi-vitamins.

Hey,you and DDs very siong huh? take turn to fall sick! Take Care huh...take some supplements to strengthen your immune system or broil soup to "bu"?!

Hey gals,
I took yoga and Pilates too! I have a very thick Pilate mat and a yoga mat,cos the Pilate instructor and other "Old" students adviced me to get one, especially good for people like me with STIFF back.

Now I don't go for the clasess at CC anymore.Just follow the DVDs that I got from US. I have a few very good ones, but also some which are not so good, regretted getting(but won't know until we bought and view it,right?). I also bought very good Kids Yoga DVD from US,it's quite interesting.

LittleCat,
who said I don't have weight issues???? Remember I mentioned Hong Kng's clothes are so nice...wish I have GOOD figure to fit into those clothes nicely?!
485058.gif
Then can't remember who told me to buy first and try to lose weight later?

Wah, 5.5 mil - must ask hb to buy toto when he's on his way home! van &amp; annlee, you gals are so sweet - drive all the way to the airport to pick up your hbs. I feel so bad cos we live 15 mins away but I always ask him to take a cab home!

Sophie,
So good that you received your package! Mine is not here yet! I was worried that they will deliver when I am not at home, but check VPOST status it's still "Hand over to Operations for distribution",so I knew that it won't be in today.
485063.gif

annelise,
I read that a lot of people who live near airport have problem getting cabs from airport,cos it's too near, the taxi driver not happy and will pull a long face,is it true?

sophie,
actually this blender is not expensive leh.. if i never remember wrongly, was $79 or $89... i was intending to buy, but thought of holding back after my housewarming, cos pple may give... reli give... i got another blender also, but the "older type" that removes the fruit pulp one... that one give to my sis-in-law liaoz...

annlee,
ya, remember to let us know if the food at popeyes or marrybrown is good...
i think JB also have marrybrown rite? is like KFC too??? all the talk abt mashed potatoes is giving me a craving...

annelise,
take care ya... u so poor thing...
maybe can try more of sophie's recommendations..all her food very healthy one..

actually hor, after "talking" to u all for so long.. quite curious how all of u look like leh.... nobody as curious as me???? all the cats here not curious cats ar.... hehehehe...

van, my hb arrive at 22:10 so will be at the airport around 9 plus. I told him to buy cookies from kee wah hope he still remember.

annelise, i should say im going to the airport and meet my hb not pick cos i don't own a car and my son and hb miss each other and my son likes to see aeroplane so i bring him there lor...

annlee,
oh, so by the time we finished dinner at airpot,may be you just reach or still not there yet.Thought I could meet you there leh...ha ha!
485078.gif

van, you're right. I used to stay at tampines before, got once the cabbie drove me from airport to tampines was so upset and memble that he's so suay, queue for so long for his turn and end up driving to tampines. Another cabbie when he knows im going to tampines he says huh....tampines and look very moody. Not my fault what.... staying at tampines.

van, cannot meet leh, you see the time different, if i go early then later i beat mosquito liao hee..... and also think my son cannot take it staying there for so long, later fall asleep.

Hi van, ya really need to build up our immunity. I thinks it's partly gotta do with the girls starting school in an aircon place this year. Last year when dd1 was in PAP (no aircon) it was okay. I used to fall sick very often in my first few years of working too. So far my hb hasn't come across any grumpy cabbies, leh. But he does feel a bit bad for them cos' like what annlee said, they wait very long to pick up the passengers so he usually gives them a small tip.

Hi annlee, your son must be so excited - get to see aeroplane and pick daddy up at the same time!

Hi starz, thanks! Yeah, must learn from Soph and all the health-conscious ladies here! Hmm...I'm not curious leh, the thought never crossed my mind!

annelise, u so poor thing ...
hope they get well soon and u take care of yourself too!
Is goat milk that good? may be u can put little bit of milo to cover the smell may be she will take?
how about cook some 'bu' stuff for all?

ask our teacher/si-fu/guru, how to build up immunity! we need that !

van, i dun have this type of luck one leh.. do remember us when u strike ok? give u more luck!!

starz, how can me not curious? that's why i have been asking u to post photo here and u just pretend u forgot.. :p
but hor sometime when i walk at lucky plaza or wisma aread during lunch time, when i see any preggie woman i will think could it be u?

van, :D weight problem is all the women's problem!
eh dun trust those who say "buy first and try to lose weight later" it will never happen one!

so we all agreed hor after we give birth we will talk more on healthy stuff and excercise.
Glad we have gurus here as well!!

Okie gals, have a good weekend!

If it's the same Popeye from States, then the fried chicken is excellent.

Van and Sophie,

Used to do Pilates and apply Clarins body product frequently..More for toning than losing weight.Superb for asian women like us, since we're normally not overweight and just need firming.

I have Windsor Pilates videos
...Also got a very thick pilates mat.Van, did you get any from the Windsor series?

Sophie, what CDs did you buy from Amazon?Did your gynae say anything about doing exercises in later trimesters?

Annelise,
Not many places sell flaxmeal, only one organic shop in the basement of United Square. But most Cold Storages or Origin Health brand at NTUC stock flaxseeds, so what I do is I use my blender to grind the flaxseeds into sawdust form, which is the same as flaxmeal. Store them in a jar in the fridge, as I read that too much light will destroy the Omega3 content of flaxmeal. Sometimes I don't like it "bloating" up my cereal cos it soaks up the milk, so I eat my cereal with yoghurt and top with flaxmeal. Can top onto oats too, cos annlee reminded me that oats also good for my constipation. Try it before you resort to TCM! Take care of yourself and dds!

Van,
My little parcel of CDs has also got the same status as yours, so I guess I won't be receiving it this week either.

What is the title of your Kids Yoga DVD? I'll like to keep as a reference for future purchase

annlee,
Wow, will you be getting the airflown goose too? *drool* But the cookies are already yummy enough!

LittleCat, starz,
You both work in Orchard area? So lucky! Can go jalan jalan during lunch time!

Heh, I also want to learn how to build immunity through Chinese tonics and soups!

As for weight problem, how about yoga? Yoga in the long run helps to balance out our glands, such as thyroid glands which is responsible for weight balances, pituitary glands etc. Pretty good... I've been doing it for years now, and I think it helps in weight and mental balance.

Amelia,
I bought a Baby Bach CD + Postnatal Yoga Workout with Shiva Rea. I like Shiva Rea as I've got her prenatal yoga DVD, so I thought of sticking with her for postnatal DVD too.
Gynae says only do light stuff like mild walking and light swimming, but think he don't dare to agree to yoga, that's why I haven't been doing the prenatal yoga.

annlee,
I just saw your posting about the bird flu that's why no goose or pigeon. Never mind, better to be safe than sorry. The cookies are good enough

Been catching up with the posts as I was away from the office yesterday...

Sohpie, where did you buy the wheat germ from? I have an oatmeal cookies receipe that calls for wheat germ to be added but I have not tried out cos dunno where to get...

Was at the Taka baby fair last evening. Bought a Pigeon steriliser at $87. Comes with 2 free milk bottles. Also bought some detergents and washing powder for bb use.

Actually wanted to buy some bb clothes but dunno how to tell if they are for infants. First time mummy lah, very inexperienced ;p

Van,
Lucky you! I just missed my package this morning! Postman came while I was out grocery shopping at Carrefour... so have asked them to redeliver next Monday.

Krisjoy,
The Origin brand (green coloured logo and words) can be found in some NTUC supermarket health corner, NTUC Unity Pharmacy or some Nature's Farms.
Woah... I love oatmeal cookies!

Did you see any cheap/good-value cots or strollers at the Taka fair? Didn't know bb needs different detergents/washing powder?

sophie, i did not try popeyes cos their menu is mostly chicken and my son can't take chicken but i tried their mash potato.If you like kfc mash potato then i think popeyes one is so much better than kfc.

Ya, no goose and pigeon for me. My hb tried tai ping roast pigeon and he say so so only... maybe he don't really know how to enjoy it hee.... i think 2 weeks ago on tv they're recommending tai ping restaurant and recommended their famous dish which is the chicken wing.

Thanks van and sophie for recommendation. My hb bought alot of cookie from kee wah. The walnut cookies is very nice, egg roll is also good but i think singapore one more 'pang'.

krisjoy, i went to baby fair this morning. I saw alot of infant clothing. You might wanna get some infant romper for your bb.They put on those sign board written infant romper or infant clothing, is very easy to find and think you should get 0-6 months size first. You can also ask the sales person to help you.

van, I bought this body lotion, bath gel and powder for my sons at taka baby fair, is good for sensitive and eczema skin, is organic product. I like the smell so much, it reminds me of stepping into a spa having a good aromatherapy massage. It's not those artificial fragrance, all natural product. I bathe my son for all these years and this is the first time he smells so good cos all the product im using on him either got no fragrance or mild almond scented. If is good you might wanna try on you daughter. This brand is GAIA from Australia.

Sophie, thanks. I will keep a lookout for the wheatgerm if I want to bake the cookies. Will try to post the recipe later...I saw bb cots at taka fair but not many. Later going to baby kingdom to see if can get any cot. I also saw some prams but din check them out as my fren has given me one oredi. The detergent are extra mild and they are used for washing milk bottles, toys and vegetables. I guess bb's skin is delicate so we have to use those specially for them...

Annlee, thanks for the advice. Think I will drop by there again to get the infant clothes. Do you know what is a good brand to get for car seat? I am looking at something that can cater from 3 months to a few years old...

I saw the GAIA booth too. Do u know if infants can use them? What other brands should I get for bb to shower?

Sophie,

Hey!My home cordless phone's ring tone is Bach's Prelude in C Major! I have a Bach For Reading CD somewhere..

I got What to Expect When you're Expecting book and there's a detailed section on exercises during pregnancy.You can go through the book with your gynae to see what's ok and what's not.

annlee,

I heard of GAIA from the BPs in this forum,and other forums,but have not heard any reviews from someone I really "know" and "trusted".Good to hear from you about this product! I'll check it out. My dd will be happy if it makes her smell good, cos she always comment that I smell so good after shower and hair wash.
485975.gif

Krisjoy,
You don't intend to put your bb in car seat until 3mths old? The first car seat that we got was suitable for infant,my dd use it till about 2 years old,then we bought another car seat,which she is still using it now. It's good to start from very young, not only for safety, but also let the bb get use to bieng buckled up in a car seat,then you won't face any resistance when they are older.

Van: i am a GAIA user. my sis in law brought a pack of 50ml bottles from aust for my girl. then yesterday went to Taka specially to buy one of their lotion for clarisse. I love the soothing lotion.
Thick and very good for clarisse.

today lunch, i finally managed to cook Nasi Lemak. kekeke... and green bean soup too.. my mum tot i went out to buy.. whahahahaha

Carole,
Wah must be so good that your mum thought it's of "Commercial" quality! You cooked complete Nasi Lemak set,inlcuding chilli and Ikan Kuning?

Another trusted user of GAIA..hmm... must be really good then .

Amelia,
I have pilates DVDs by Denise Austin and Melinda Bryan,but the one that I use most often is by Lara Hudson,cos it's split inot 5 parts of 10 minutes each, can selectively do different parts,play all at one go or set our own sequence.

486004.jpg

I bought Aeromat pilates mat from my pilates instructor, but the mat is so thick and bulky that I couldn't find any bag in Singapore to store and carry it to class.

I finally managed to get one bag from US online store, but I didn't take the measurement accurately, the bag turns out to be TOO BIG.
486005.gif

Wow, Carole, your nasi lemak must be very good! But siong to cook everything from scratch right?

annlee,
Thanks for reviewing Popeye's mashed potatoes! Think I may make my way there when dh comes back from Taipei

Next time when the bird flu scare dies down, you can do your family trip to HK and eat the roast goose and pigeon there. Better eaten hot at the restaurant anyway!

Amelia,
You like Bach? Actually I'm pretty new to classical music; used to listen to more rock and alternative grunge last time. When I started listening to classical, I actually prefer Vivaldi cos it's more lively, but dh introduced me to Bach cos a lot of Bach's music gives dh a sense of "flowers in the field", so we decided to order Baby Bach for the baby

I borrowed What to Expect When Expecting from my friend before, but now feeling a bit "giam" to buy it cos got so many real-life tips from this forum and also babycenter.com and other websites
Will probably save the money to buy something useful for baby needs.

Krisjoy,
Thanks for the info on baby detergent... now I know!
I just met my sis today (she's giving birth on 1 Sep), and she told me she got a cot-cum-playpen from her friend. I didn't see it, so I have no idea what it's like, but she says for cots, better to get one which can double up as a playpen so don't have to spend extra money on playpen.

Van,
Thanks for the pics on the Kids yoga. Have noted down the titles so I may buy them next time. I do yoga quite regularly, so am looking forward to doing it with my kid next time!

Wow... this GAIA brand sounds interesting... going to check it out online now

Carole,

Yah making Nasi Lemak from scratch is quite siong..but it's worth the effort.

I made fish congee and some side dishes for dinner today.

Van,

You mean Lara Hudson's pilates targets specific parts of the body 10 minutes each?

Mine's the entire Winsor series..Marie Winsor is the pilates trainer for hollywood actors and actresses..each video concentrates on butt, thigh, abs..etc.I can share the videos with you if you want.

Big pilates bag is okay lah since you're only using it to store the mat.

Sophie,

I am okay with Bach.When it's classical music, I prefer something soothing.
Love rock, grunge, house, country..mandarin.
Mandarin, it will be David Tao.
Country, Faith Hill and Tim Mcgraw.
Dance, I like Madonna's latest Confession On A Dance Floor.
R&amp;B, Missy Elliot.
Espirito makes very good House music.

Amelia,
Hah, you're obviously from a "younger" generation from me
cos I don't know how to appreciate R&amp;B and House. I belong to the era which listens to U2, Oasis, Suede, Coldplay kind... I also used to like Prince &amp; Michael Jackson, so you can guess that I'm from an older generation! Actually, I also like Faith Hill, Sheryl Crow.

I also love U2, Oasis and Coldplay.Coldplay is actually fairly young i feel...I like their songs The Scientist,Clock,Speed of Sound,Talk, Fix You etc( heh I have them on my ipod)

Sheryl Crow's new Wildflower album is quite well done.Love her Good Is Good and Perfect Lie.

Wah Michael Jackson is getting freakier and freakier

Yeah lor... once you see Prince and Michael Jackson, you know which era I am from

btw, if you are TTC-ing next time, my instructor says not to do Pilates if your period is late cos if not done properly, may be too taxing on the tummy.

Yah Pilates really focuses on the tummy(powerhouse).

I see lotsa preggies doing yoga..the moves looks a bit dangerous...but the mommies seem to be doing fine.

I just watched Lisa Ang's What Women Want Really, and they featured an interesting restaurant called Hog's Breath Cafe at Chjimes. They are apparently famous for their steaks, and on Sundays, 1 child eats free for every adult menu ordered. They also have a nanny to watch over the kids in the play area. Sounds like quite a nice place to gather with friends if need to bring kids along.
http://www.hogsbreath.com.sg/

Sophie,

I also happen to watch this episode in CNA. The food sure looks delicious!! And I think the ambience is great for family lunch on a lazy Sunday afternoon

Have any mummies been to the Sun Moon Jap restaurant at Chjimes? I like it so much but the set lunches are cheaper compared to dinner...Also, it is less noisy compared to the one at Wheelock Place..

Last nite went to a zi-char stall for dinner at Changi Rd (near Kembangan MRT station). Cheap and nice food!

krisjoy, GAIA product can be used on infant.

van, GAIA body is thick,soothing and not that sticky after use.
Will you feel tiring or aching after pilates, i never try that before.

Talking about the music then i'm consider the older generation lor... i prefered the 80's music when in my teen's going to tea dance. My hb likes techno, to me is very headache kinda music, he's on 91.3FM and i'm 95 type so sometimes chiong when listening to music.

sophie. Hog's Breath Cafe i think they're also famous for their ribs. Wanted to try there but went to Esmeralda instead. I like their lamb kebah.