Cooking Tips & Recipe

Van,

Haha not bad also!! Think when I become SAHM quite cham...won't have time to do all those.Will have to cook lunch and dinner for hub and kid.I'll definitely become super yellow-faced.

You're managing your time very time...i hope I can do the same in future.

Van,

Is there a good bicycle shop in CCK?Thought of buying one for myself and hub.

Sophie,

Your cats are having durians now?!LOL! Very Singapura thing to do.

I am thinking of ways to make Sally less bored..I really hope she's more sociable.

Amelia,
Only the first few years more Siong.When your kids attend school, you will have more time for yourself.

Like now, my dd goes to school everyday, so I have time to go market,do housework,prepare ingredients for dinner.

Previously,when she ddn't attend school daily and I have to cook lunch for her, I have a part-time cleaner to help out.

I have friends who complained that they are so free after both their kids attend primary schools,they were trying to find things to do or courses to attend.

There is a bicycle shop in central, near OCBC bank,another one is at Blk 253 near Shop n Save which shifted from Bt Gombak. DON'T buy from the shops at Bt Panjang Greenridge shopping centre! I have compared their prices, very expensive!

Krisjoy,

Partly becos response not too good,Mainly becos of me...kekeke..a bit rush for me cos I need to pick up my dd at 5pm,so can't really relax and eat many many round.

Van,

Then I'll hope everyday that my kid attends primary school ASAP!Primary school, there's another set of worries like their school work.I can picture myself being a rather kiasu parent.

Are you thinking of taking courses now?

Ok thanks.Will check out those bike shops.Ok thanks for the warning.

Here's a picture of my first experiment with wheat germ - Wheat germ is high in fibre and some B vitamins, plus potassium & some iron.

Strawberry Orange Smoothie
(strawberries, orange juice, vanilla yoghurt, wheat germ just blended together)
484186.jpg

Amelia,
OK, I'll check out that pet supplies shop, hehe, but have to wait for MIL to be free and invite me over!

Sophie,
So healthy! Looks yummy! Does wheat germ have any disctinctive taste, or will the taste get masked by the fruits and juice?

The picture looks so good,like it's from cookbook.
484202.gif

I wrote to Singpost about my lost mail this afternoon at around 1pm.At 3pm+,they sent someone at my doorstep to gather details! So efficient!
484203.gif

Van,
Wheat germ looks just like cereal... once mixed into smoothie, cannot tell at all. Can even bluff your dd that the bits are from the strawberries, cos strawberries got little bits which still remain after blending
Yami Yoghurt sells toasted wheat germ as a topping, so you can try it there first if you don't wanna buy a pack yet.

Heh, pic really nice?
I thought a bit blurred maybe cos my hand was shaking from being too hungry!

Wow, SingPost service is quite good! It's good they are revamping their business with all these online shopping + loans now that snail mail is being cannibalised by emails

Now 5pm liao, and today no postman came to deliver any packages, so I think I won't get them today!

amelia,
u sound so certain abt the coffee n tea debate that i'm convince....
thank you!!!
*heng ar*... hehehe, i didn't do the wrong thing with good intentions...

sophie,
ya, ur smoothie picture really look like it came from a cook-book...
i'm also curious, does the wheat germ got any weird taste..??? i think it would help with our constipation problem also right...???

Wheat germ no weird taste... you can sprinkle it on your cornflakes, but that you can tell.
Once blended inside the smoothie, esp. with strawberries and their little seedlike thingy, cannot see and taste at all!

- If don't have vanilla yoghurt, can use flavoured yoghurt although some flavoured ones got artificial taste. Or can use plain traditional yoghurt and add honey and vanilla essence.
- If don't want to use orange juice e.g. if kids are coughing, can substitute with apple juice or milk, but milk will be thicker.
- For those who likes bananas, can use that - gives a thicker consistency. I didn't cos of constipation and liang problem ;)

If this Sat free, I may try making meatballs with wheat germ. Bascially subst the graham crackers with wheat germ inside the meatballs, then cook a batch to freeze them... can eat when dh away in Taipei

starz,
I think wheat germ should help in constipation since it is high in fibre. But ever since I stopped apples and bananas according to the gal's advice here, my prob not so bad - everyday sure go toilet once... oops! Too much info
Plus I also sprinkle flaxmeal on my breakfast cereal now and drink a glass of warm water with it. Flaxseeds/flaxmeal provides Omega3, but not in the ready-form like fish i.e. your body has to be able to convert it. Not sure if my body can convert it effectively, but flaxmeal gives me the fibre and taste just like nuts that's been grounded, so I don't mind eating it.

Hi Little cat and starz,

can i join in u all too... I see all the makan sutra and recipes u gals sharing are really interesting and seems delicious.

hello all! busy this morning got time to peep no time to post...

Welcome Gingercat!! hehe u join here no time to do other thing liao, and definately won't feel bored!

for the yahoo group, i think u need Annelise to add you in, we have quite alot of recepi for u to try out.
Take this opportunity to eat all the 'non-confinement' food ;)

GingerCat,

Hello!So many cats in this forum heh heh!

Sophie,

Wow you're so healthy!!The smoothie looks great!
I have a braun blender which I haven't touched.Been thinking of making strawberry/banana milkshake.

Starz,

Carry on with the tea..Definitely no problem.

Hi GingerCat,
Welcome! Heh, like what Van says... so many kitties here

Amelia,
I think I've got the same Braun blender as you - the stick blender right? I used the stick blender to make the smoothie; pretty good cos easy to wash and no wastage in the jug which can be quite hard to scrap out from under the blades.

Eh, you can make a chai tea smoothie! It'll be so yummy... I'll love to try that, but don't dare to drink tea cos my mum says too liang.

Van,
Not sure if I need to buy another blender later on to puree baby food, so will check with you again on your blender! Heh, plus my current blades are a bit blunt cos I used it to grind rice.

Just got my 6 motherhood.com tops from Yahoo Auction!
Very happy - the seller is so efficient, shipped out the items right after I paid her. Heh, but I cannot wear the tops now... still too much empty space in the bust area! Now just waiting for my items from Marketplace in this forum and the ones from VPOSTUSA

Sophie,
If you go IMM, there is a shop near Guardian selling my Roman(blue color) blender.Sometimes I see demo of it outside wet market.Isetan Scotts also have demo of something similar (orange color) quite often.Look out for such detachable blender demo when you go shopping......I am sure you will have more and more things to buy later on....many chances to go shopping.
484338.gif

Based on your payment date of 02 Aug, you probably will get your VPOST package tomorrow! I hope my last package will also arrive tomorrow!
484339.gif

Van,
So the brand is Roman yeah? Will go check it out the next time I can persuade my hubby to go Daiso with me
Just that IMM got no nasi padang to tempt him, unlike Great World City.

btw, if you gals like the sweeter tomato-ey spicy chili without belacan, the next time you go to the Zion Road nasi padang, ask for "sambal belado". It's just as nice as their sambal belachan, but sweeter. I had the nasi padang for dinner today and ate mostly the sambal belado, no sambal belachan cos I remembered annlee saying belachan is "dirty"

Heh, hope your calculations are right, then I'll get my packages tomorrow... yay!

btw, dh brought his flaxmeal to add to his cereal at work today, and 2 of his male colleagues tried it and thought it was yucky. They later wikipedia-ed it and found that other than providing fibre, being good for the heart, flax is also a "galactagogue", which is described as "a substance, typically a herb, that increases lactation". Heh, they started warning him to stop eating it in case he starts oozing milk!

sophie,
i dont reli have time for proper breakfast most days... its always bread-on-the-go.. n eating at my office desk.. i still "get to go" once a day, but... it still feels "incomplete" leh... (if u know wat i mean)
sometimes i go a couple of times.. n its very irritating lor....
i think i'll try ur smoothie over the weekend...

gingercat,
welcome welcome... hehehe... if u free, go thru the "archives" first n pick out somethings to cook / bake lor... we have experts in both categories here.... hehehe.. we all come n "steal" their skills lah...

oh ya,see my Sugee cookies.... hehehe.. my colleagues says look like "flattened fish balls"...
484461.jpg

starz,
When i eat bread, I sprinkle some flaxmeal on top too. But it's really something you must get used to. One of dh's friends says it taste like sawdust, the other says it tastes like chickenfeet (??).

hey, your sugee cookies look cute - the shape looks like my suan pan zi (yam abacus seeds which the Hakkas make). I love sugee cookies but scared fattening and unhealthy cos of the ghee... so only limit myself to chomping them during CNY

yeah, try the smoothie - strawberries provide lots of antioxidants, yoghurt gives you calcium and if you buy low-fat type, it's not too fattening.

starz, wow so many sugee cookies eh my office at Taka only leh ;)
btw got recepi to share?

sophie about the drink can kid drink? cos my son also got the constipation problem.. but dare not give cold drink, cos now he cough again ..:'(

gingercat, u can join the SAHM thread too, van is the lead there :D :D is it har Van?

morning ladies...

hehehe... sophie n van
i followed the recipe book which said "flatten" it slightly, thats y came out looking like this... my mum said shouldnt hv flatten it, and left it round better.. next time i try...
sophie,
actually my recipe mentioned using butter.. but i decided to replace a portion with ghee due to taste... if u dont mind compromising on taste, can use margarine.. less unhealthy...

littlecat,
i try n post the recipe over the weekend... very very simple to make only.... since i didnt make a mess out of it...

but its OOS (out of stock) liaoz... hehehe... the box i gave my sister-in-law family, finish within 5mins.. the kids like it...

LittleCat,
Both adults and kids should be able to eat wheat germ. You can even toast a little of it and use it as a topping for his icecream. Toasted wheat germ taste like Nestum. Or if he doesn't like the taste of yoghurt for smoothie, substitute with icecream + milk and make a milkshake for him. Or you can add honey into the milkshake/yoghurt smoothie as honey is a natural mild laxative.

Here's an article on wheat germ for your reading pleasure! http://www.healthline.com/galecontent/wheat-germ

btw, bought your camera already?

starz,
I only eat butter, but don't take margarine, cos most margarine contains trans fatty acids after going through the process of hydrogenation (basically turning vege oil from liquid state to solid state as vege oil does not occur naturally in solid state), so in the long run, even though margarine claims to be non-fattening as they are vege oil, the trans fatty acids actually cause more harm to our body as it causes higher cholesterol. So I'd rather eat butter in moderation
Anyway, I love butter! I also love ghee! Used to make ghee and add into the Indian dishes I was learning to make... then after 2 weeks, waistline expanded by 2 inches, so stopped taking ghee now

I think your mum's right - my friend's sugee is not flattened, so they are cute with a small mound on top.

Van,
Just as you predicted, the postman just rang the doorbell!
I got my first VPOSTUSA parcel from motherhood.com, now just waiting for my Amazon CDs
Heh, tried on all my clothes liao! One of the capris, though S size, is much larger than the rest, so I think it will tahan me till full term, then can save more money

miow ! glad that our Chemistry teacher is back !!! hehe!

eh what is ghee ar? cos i heard it is unhealthy? is it true?

wow must be excited for u to hear the doorbell.. hope u didn't start singing the "carpenter" song, "Mr Postman"! haha...

starz, waiting for your recepi! i always thot it is hard to make cos the texture like not easy to achieve.. u know i make cookie can taste like mini cake one

is it too much flour? any expert there?
i saw from the book it mentioned if the cookies spread too fast, must put in the fridge for awhile...

Sophie i just realized i have a thick american recepi on cake,cookies, shortbread, muffin, cupcakes etc.. all the unhealthy dessert there.
Must make full use of it one day.
Btw what is the diff between muffin and cupcake?

LittleCat,
Ghee is clarified butter i.e. butter without the milk solids. With milk solids in it, butter burns faster, but once the milk solids are taken out, the ghee can tahan a higher boiling point. So I make my own ghee by putting butter in a pan over very low heat, then slowly stir until you see 2 separate layers... the top part is the milk solids which you can then skim and throw away, and the leftover oil is ghee. You can store this ghee in an airtight glass jar at room temperature and scoop out however much you wanna use. It smells good too! But very tiring process.

P/S. My indian friend says ghee, when taken in small amounts, aids digestion and is healthier than butter. So I think everything in moderation... I probably ate too much of it in the 2 weeks that's why put on 2 inches
Confession: I actually dip a spoon into the jar and swallow the ghee direct from the spoon.

Heh, super excited man! I even bugged the postman and asked him to check his bag to see if he missed out my small package of Amazon CDs, but he says don't have leh

LittleCat,
Me no baking queen... heh, I think need Annelise or Choc to tell you the diff between muffin and cupcake

Eh, maybe you can "modify" those recipes and make them more healthy then share with us?

sophie,
wah... i never realise the difference between butter, margarine n ghee.. only tot margarine is "healthier".. now i know its not...

littlecat,
no problem.. i'll try n post it asap...
seriously, i think this sugee cookie is simple.. just follow the recipe n i got this result liaoz...
this weekend i getting more ambitious.. intending to try making "kueh bankit"... let's see how it goes lor.... hehehe...

sophie, wheatgerm is very healthy food. I always buy yogurt ice cream at suntec and ask for wheatgerm sprinkle on it.

Is your Braun blender good? Is it make of glass instead of plastic and can blend ice cube right? I've have seen the blender long ago and almost bought it as i was having this jap avocado smoothie at Tampines mall, it tasted so good so i peeped at the lady and see what she add on it, Mummies here might wanna try it, she add a mug of chocolate milk, half a cup of coconut sugar( those brown coconut sugar), avocado and blend altogether with some ice cube after that she add some cook sago seeds. Is very nice and i remember quite ex around $4+ or $5, now the shop no longer there.

sophie, our chemistry teacher, is olive butter better choice instead of normal one. I given my son olive butter instead of butter or margarine cos i've read somewhere says both are not very healthy

annlee,
Heh, I suspect you would know all about wheat germ too, cos you're also into such stuff

My Braun blender is OK, but I think it's not sophisticated enough to blend ice cubes. Van's blender should be more advanced and can do ice-cubes. Mine is this piece (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004S9GX/104-6331897-1918350) which costs only $59.90, bought 4 years ago.

Avocado smoothie! That's my next experiment - now just waiting for my avocado to ripen. The recipe you mentioned sounds good, but it's probably too rich for me cos I don't drink milk. I was thinking of this Citrus Avocado Smoothie, but I'll skip the bananas and add wheat germ.
http://www.sunkist.com/recipesearch/displayrecipe.asp?id=577&servings=4

no no sophie, i know wheatgerm is good but don't know much about the details like you do. I know wheatgerm oil can be a carrier oil for essential oil cos i use to take aromatherapy classes years ago.

The blender i saw is not the same as yours cos i think that i mention can blend ice cube. yours is also good for blending baby food.

Oh yes you did mention before you can't take milk,my mistake,and yes the avocado smmoothie is very rich in taste.

annlee,
I'm not sure about Olive Butter - I don't dare to buy it cos I cannot understand how olive oil can exist in solid state without hydrogenation. And most tubs will not use the word "hydrogenated oil" or "hydrogenation". Does your tub say anything like that?

Basically, hygrogenation is a process whereby manufacturers add hydrogen and some other metals (some books says magnesium) to the oil over very high heat, then the oil solidifies and so increases the shelf life of the oil. During this process, a kind of trans fatty acids is produced as a by-product. Some books argue that trans fatty acid is not a natural fat (i.e. its molecular structure has changed due to the hygrogenation process), and hence they are afraid these "alien" molecules may wreck havoc in our system and hence cause long term problems, maybe cancer etc. But of course nothing has been proven on this yet.

Since beginning of this year, the FDA in US has required all manufacturers to list the amount of trans-fatty acids in their products, so all US-manufactured foods should have that in the Nutrition Panel. Here's an interesting article: http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/fats.html

annlee....
No, don't worry about your "mistake"... other gals here can try it, and my hubby is a BIG fan of milk... obviously, cos he kept asking me when I will start producing milk

You thinking of buying a blender? I also like the glass types.... maybe check out Van's recommendation?

annlee, the avacodo smoothie, hehe i like avacado also .. the chocolate milk is it like those HL chocolate milk?
i know the indonesia version think was it choc who tell me how to make, blend the avacado and gula melaka and coconut milk.
eh your eye side very good hor ? auntie's secret u also know ka-liao, no wonder they close shop.. haha!!

Sophie let us know how your healthy smoothie taste like.

Starz, before you kueh bangki OOS, remember taka, taka, taka hor! :D
i used to bake them last time during CNY time. But too long ago. Last time the succesful rate higher leh.. wonder why.. maybe have to get use to the oven, know how to adjsut the temperature etc..

sophie, yeap will try to make something nice and healthy. those outside selling one really too much sugar, no wonder they taste to good.
anyway let see how long my cookies-madness last !
now dun feel like eating pasta liao :p
i watched the Party Planner at channel 16 last nite, saw the sandwich, wow feel like eating it later!

where is annelise, choc & SP ??

talk about cat, i think woman like cat better hor?
like my ang dun like cat (except me lah), he very jialat, keep telling me last time how they as a kids like to 'torture' the cat... i hear already so angry!
so i told him, bao-ying lai liao.. cos he got me and he kena 'torture' by me liao...

sophie, i didn't give u a wrong nickname, u r realy the guru of the guru!

how about thos ghee selling at supermarket ? r there Ok? also any recepi for using ghee?
cos i keep associate ghee as something unhealthy ..
pai seh, must clear 'his' name LOL

okido, going for lunch now! chat later!

Hallo gurus!!

Oh dear!Think I'm the most unhealthy person in this thread hahaha!Craving for double cheeseburger now mmmmm yum yum yum..

Do you girls exercise?I bought a pilates mat 6 months ago but haven't started using it=P

Starz,

Your sugee cookies looks cute! I agree it's a lot like Suan Pan Zi.

sophie, u say until like that now begin to worry liao... when i buy things don't even think of how they made it, some more hydrogenation... chimology leh... No, my olive butter didn't stated any of the words, so now don't know should continue to give my son or not.

littlecat, i even go and ask that aunti what that brown colour syrup she's using cos that drink is so ex and im thinking of making it. I think they close shop cos the drink is so ex and Tampines mall rental also not that cheap lor.

sophie, why don't you take milk? Don't like the taste or lactose intolerate?

hi hi... back from lunch...

hehehe.. Amelia,
dont worry, dont think u the most unhealthy one... my household eat stew pork must have the thick layer of "fat" meat then we eat one...
especially the west lake "kong bah bao" that type of "fattiness".. whole family snatch leh....
i hardly ever exercise.. last time used to swim once a month or in 2mths.. for the past 6mths, have not done a SINGLE exercise other than on my mouth... hahahaa..... jia lat right...

littlecat,
provided my kuey bangkit "survive" the weekend first lah... then can think of "taka"... hehehe... did u go to the baby fair since its just downstairs for you?? or u finish buying ur baby stuff liaoz???

i have that braun blender that has a glass mug n can blend ice-cubes one leh.... but havent even "open ceremony" yet...
think i'll start with one of the smoothie recipes here...

amelia, eh u r the last person i think will eat unhealthy one, cos i rem we talk about hums and other stuffs, u r the one against it ! double cheeseburger ok what, cheese is good!

must u go for the class ? or u know how to do pilates?
i think after given birth must really think of all the possible excercise i can do. now eat like nobody business.. got excuse mah...
envy Van, go hi-tea so often and never heard she complaint weight issue.
van any tips?

I rem last time at gelyang got one store opened by hongkonger selling dim sum till mid nite. Near the red light area. pai seh can't rem the name, anyone can help here? i know we have lots of people reading but never post but they are the one who know!
Other than that, crystal jade lor hehe...

annlee, i c, the auntie still answer u not bad leh...
so is those normal chocolate milk like HL type?
yeah sometime u might have the idea but just wrong place wrong timing. cos i found some young couples they very willing to spend money but if u open at the wrong place also teruk.
i had sandwich for lunch just now. from the library 5th floor. long time didn't eat so find it nice.
then borrow two books on cookies. haha, must do something this weekend liao!

sophie, about the camera, sigh.. my ang is a 'thinker' he will think and plan and think and plan .... till very last minute then he will go buy. anyway i will remind him once in awhile.
I used to take my son picture at least once a month. now with camera problem only take thru the handphone.
talk about handphone lagi pek chek. my motorola one i dun know where i dump the thing so can't download to PC. my hb's nokia one can only do one way download from pc to phone...

starz
tell u, i am the most teruk one, taka fair just downstair & i never step in yet.
finish buying? more like have not started!

for my case abit le-che, i need to check what i have first b4 buying. but for u guys easier just go thru the list and buy.
i can save on the clothing wise, but need someone to 'dig 'out and check and clean.
My ang won't do it, cos he will say dun know how to do. I can't do it also cos lazy & difficult to bend down etc...:p
then my ang said wait for the maid to do, but we have not even go look for one...

eh u from big family? haha i like to do baking last time at home one of the reason is we have big family, anything i made hor, very fast finish and u feel got sense of 'achievement'. but now only two of us and my son seldom take, before i plan what to bake, i already worry how to get rid of it. If if taste good ok can still bring to office, if is really not that succesfully one u dare not bring to office too...

amelia, so coincidence... im craving for double cheese burger too but i ren ren ren, very high calories leh...

About the dim sim so far i only go to crystal jade. Tried yum cha, fortune and that buffet dimsim at harbourfront but think crystal jade is better.

Littlemeow meow, can use HL milk and any normal one as long is sweet chocolate milk. You work in taka? Never had sandwich for so long, now craving for subway sandwich.

Can check with all of you, have you'll been to popeye fastfood or marrybrown at the airport before? Is the food good? I'm thinking of bringing my son there.

Where's Van? So quiet today... busy??

Need to read all postings since National Day.

Amelia,
For dim sum, my family likes to go Wah Lok at Carlton Hotel. Luv their char siew bo lo pao... Can gobble 3 at a go and take away. Must make reservations cos they are quite packed during weekends. Prices are reasonable, abt Yunan Garden (IMM) prices but better quality.

Sorry, cant remember who is updating the list, Janice/Toh Yi/SAHM/11 month gal/new at cooking, for the yahoo group, I am janfyp. HTH

Seems like a stupid question but anyone knows receipe and method to steam egg? I tried to steam egg for my gal but it came out rubbery...quite unappetising to look at but lucky she not v particular abt food and gobbles anything I cook hahahaha

annlee,
Don't worry so much about the olive butter - I think everything in moderation is OK. I don't really like the taste of milk, so actually stopped drinking milk as a kid. And now, doc says milk gives gas, so try to avoid it, heh, got excuse not to drink milk cos MIL is a big advocate of milk! Now just take more ikan bilis and yoghurt for calcium.

LittleCat,
Actually, I don't cook a lot with ghee, so not sure about it. I only used to add a bit of it to my indian yoghurt salad (raita), and my indian friend makes a buttermilk with ghee and some coriander in it for me before - eh, taste interesting, but I won't make it myself so you know what that means!

Nevermind about the camera, if you ang can think and plan, means he has a good idea of the specs he wants. Better that way, cos then you'll end up with a camera that fits your needs!

Amelia,
You're not the only unhealthy one here! I also love kong bak with the fats plus kuay chap (esp. big intestines), but don't eat them that often that's all. My fav is the MOS Cheeseburger... so juicy! Hey, read somewhere that this place has a good Wild Rocket Burger, but last week when we wanted to go for brunch, the whole restaurant is fully booked! http://www.wildrocket.com.sg/

Read from one of the MTBs thread that dim sum at this place not bad http://www.harbourcity.com.sg/
Anyone been there before? Ah... I just saw annlee's post as I am editing this... so this Harbour City one not so good then.

I normally got to the one on the upstairs of China Sqaure... now suddenly cannot remember name!

starz,
You have the same Braun stick blender? This blender can blend ice cubes? Cos my mug is a plastic one, and the pictures don't have anything with ice, so I thought it cannot blend ice cubes.