Cooking Tips & Recipe

Good morning ladies!

Van,
I cannot let my hubby cook, cos I'll starve and yep, it may not be what I want... hee, he takes average 1 hr to cook a meal, and he'll probably be very "giam" with the sambal cos he's afraid of my gastric problem!

Eh, my motherhood.com package arrived at VPOST already! Now just waiting for my Amazon CDs which should be in postman's bag. But I was quite surprised that because I ordered different items (clothes & CDs), there is that base charge, and overall not that cheap. The US-SG VPOST shipment for 4pcs of clothes will amount to S$47, overall just a few dollars cheaper than if I ship international from motherhood.com! Hopefully that Citibank 15% discount can be used....

Heh, Van, I am a true blue tech-laggard in terms of data/info storage! I don't believe in digital stuff cos I am so afraid they'll just break down one day and I lose everything. So even though I use a digital camera, I try and print out everything, and guess what? I don't even trust those home printers! I go to Kodak and tell the girl I want "old-fashioned chemical printing"! They always ask me to use the kiosk, but I told them I don't trust these inkjets, even though they claim photos can last up to 50yrs. I printed some of my pet's pictures using my home HP printer with photo paper, pasted them on my fridge, and now they're all faded already! So you see, how can this tech-suspicious person like me trust digital scrapbooking?
I was just thinking of using markers and writing/drawing the scrapbook myself... very primitive hor? hehe, don't laugh!

LittleCat,
You very fast! Bought already? Eh, you'd really get caffeine rush from it - coffee + chocolate! Yeah, I don't even dare drink hot chocolate in case heaty and get constipated again. But after all you guys' advice, I stopped bananas and apples, then ate oats for my breakfast everyday + 1 big glass warm water every morning, bowel movements seem better
No more feeling like a "walking lump of sh*t"

How come you pregnant not heaty one? Can eat chocolate and durians etc? Are all pregnant women "heaty"? Any secret?

Hi Krisjoy,
Welcome to this thread... all foodies here, so we're glad to have you contribute as well!

Amelia,
It's perfectly alright for you to write about other things in this cooking thread,we all have been doing that....and no longer feel "guilty" anymore...Right? Gals? ...at least I am not...
478581.gif

After so many months of chatting on this thread, 2000+ posts, we talked about more than cooking,baking,recipes...

Sophie,
probably because motherhood.com packed your clothes in big parcels/box,that's why the charges higher? It's good to order all you want from different online stores at one go, to share out the base charge.

Your shipment alert will show base charge for every parcel, but when you generate the bill, only one base charge is used. Not sure about the CDs...think they have different rates.

Going Sheng Siong to jalan jalan...
478582.gif

Didn't sleep well last night, my elder son cough almost the whole night and was wondering why cos i gave him zhi ke tang and seems making him worst.
I went to chinese herb shop and ask the lady, she say im not suppose to give rock sugar in the zhi ke tang, it will make the cough worst and produce more phylegm, oh my goodness.... i gave that to him.
The lady pack for me Zhi ke tang and this is the ingreds:

Chuan bei mu (1 tbsp)
sha sheng ( around 10 stick)
nanbei xing ( 1 handful)
dried lily bulb ( 1 1/2 tbsp)
wu hua wuo (2 pcs) slightly mash
jing ping (1/2 pcs)
pan4 seah4 ( 1tbsp)

The amount is suitable for kid 3-6, for adult double the dosage.

sophie, i'm also very heaty when pregnant always HOT HOT HOT.... love the air-con so much. Maybe littlecat is cold blooded that's why not heaty kekeke.... joking lah.... my hb always say im cold blooded when i feel cold and when his not.

Hi Sophie and Annlee,

Actually i am also cold-blooded one
Even though i am now 6 months pregnant, i still feel cold under aircon and sometimes need to put on sweater..

Amelia, no worry, we are all frens can share anything, we also talk about kids and family and other KP thing other than food haha!
Like van said no more 'guilty' feeling liao, important is we found frens here and share and chat.

Krisjoy, good idea! ask him to get those premium one hehe! actually he is the real durian lover, no me
. that's why he keep asking me if i crave for durian during 1st trimester, cos he want to eat lah..

yeap sophie that's why i think u better dun take the coffee... wait constipation worst..
Glad to hear it is getting better now.. haha just like starz said, feel like 'full of s***'
according to book/doc, during PG we won't have it daily, but as long as it is not stuck there or very difficult to come out, the we are ok.

Annlee/Sophie, i no cold blooded lah..
i do feel hot also, but in term of heaty in the body, i find PG time i can take heaty food.
if is normal day i dare not eat durian and coffee and cookies (btw i crave for cookies also.. :p) together.
But yesterday nite i do feel something liao.. cos every time when i too heaty, i will have the nose problem... better step on the brake liao..

Annlee, my son also cough yesterday nite.. aiyoh.. could be due to the ice-cream he took during their kid kampong trip.. sigh..
eh can u translate that to chinese ? i read till i blurr dun know what is that.. btw how is the taste? my son very picky one dun know if he will drink...

Amelia,
Like what the gals say, don't worry about talking about other topics other than cooking... look at me, talking about bowel movements in a cooking thread, what can be worst than that?

hi Van,
I think CD got a different base charge. Yeah, now I know so next time will try to order same kind of items (e.g. clothes) but from different stores in order to share out the charge.

Hi Krisjoy, LittleCat, annlee,
Heh, I think I'm more like Krisjoy, afraid of cold under aircon. In fact, I sleep with only the fan, and still cover blankets! My hubby seems to be the pregnant one, always complaining he's hot

annlee,
You take care of yourself too so you don't fall sick too. Cos your hubby will be going to HK soon yeah? Will be tough if both you and ds fall sick.

Krisjoy,
So you are due around Nov/Dec period? around same time as LittleCat & starz?

LittleCat,
I think the durians giving you the nose problem? Yeah, better hold it for awhile... woah, coffee and cookies! lovely tea break! But cookies can be quite heaty too, esp if you take those choc type... better restrain a bit!

Talk about chocolate... Choc, where are you? Eating lots of durian and doing your horizontal meditation?

btw, I just came back from gynae visit. He says baby growing fine, no more jabs, no more pills and can start to walk around a bit slowly. Aiyoh, I think I'm getting anxiety attack! Suddenly no more everything, abit scared to even walk around now! But must trust him... next visit 4 weeks later.

Starz,
This reminds me of your roast chicken...the melted plate...
478774.gif

annlee,
I tried to upload a document about cough...but file too big.Will try again...

Sophie, glad to hear everything is fine

so how many weeks now?
yeap take it slowly
It is normal to feel cold at the beginning of PG, i wear sweater most of the time during my 1st Tri. Now at 2nd tri feel warm, later at 3rd tri lagi warm!
yeap got to drink some cooling stuffs liao

hey u gals know that Ngee Ann City Office Tower B got the Gaps sales? those are sample from Gaps. u can find lots of jeans, sweater for adult and kids too.
Selling at $5 per pcs or even $5 for 2 pcs...
today is last day. if interested can go to Ngee Ann City Tower B Level 24.
I bought a maternity jeans for $5 last year. I am wearing it today.

haha... the icon is very funny! Van, I notice you suddenly got lots of cute icons!

LittleCat,
Thanks. Now should be 11 weeks. So he said go back 4 weeks later for the Triple Test (blood test).

Wow, the Gap sales sounds good, only $5/pc! Too bad I can't go that far, if not sure chiong the sales!
Today walk back a few blocks from clinic can already feel legs trembling like jelly; really must slowly train up my strength to carry the pregnancy weight next time!

What size maternity jeans you wearing? Does Gap fit well for Asians?

Putu Piring is Indian? Is it the one that looks like vermicelli but flattened and round, eaten with orange sugar and coconut gratings?

Sophie,
Good to hear that everything is fine,but must still take good care hor..

During early pregnancy I crave for cool stuff, especially Zha2 Guo3 Wen2 Tou2 Xue3,Fruit Cocktail Ice Jelly,but everyone said it's too cooling for early pregg...
478783.gif

Went Sheng Song Just now.Saw this Crab Sauce that I used to cook Chilli Crab.Only can get from Sheng Song. I used HP to take this photo discreetly,so resolution is not good.
478784.jpg

I am going to "migrate" from Yew Tee Wet Market to Sheng Song liaoz.They even have CLEANED Ikan Kuning!

Sophie, aslo tk a look at the Zhe Char store.It's the Different Taste that is good right? Magic Wok(Hala) is no good?!

LittleCat,
Next time got this type of lobang must tell me earlier leh, now too late for me to go...
478785.gif

MU,
Was your ear itchy last two days? Was telling Carole that you are also sercret reader of this thread.

Putu Piring Not Malay Food huh? hee,should have asked you earlier..
478802.gif

hehehe... Van, u must "suan" me lor... but the icon reli cute...

i think i also heaty & HOT during pregnancy... last time i very scare of cold one, but i since start of pregnancy, already not feeling cold. but very heaty... i everyday drink lots n lots of water.. if eat durian / chocolates, must drink extra somemore...

sophie,
do things slowly lor, don't have too "big" movements.. i was told don't stretch upwards, n don't squat... even sit / kneel down also do it slowly..
but i think u need to start walking about more, n take more nutritious food.. cos i nowadays already feel like my feet not supporting the "extra weight" liaoz.. tired very very easily...

littlecat,
last day then tell me... if not i chiong the sales earlier liaoz.. usually last day not much things leh... did u go??? manage to find anything?? i thinking want to drop by later or not... want to look for Baby GAP stuff... only jeans n sweater ar?? got lighter material or not huh??? i bought maternity jeans n pants from GAP USA when i was there, till now also never wear yet, cos feel too hot liaoz... i keep wearing capris or skirts or dresses...

Van,
Yep yep... Different Taste is yummy! The halal magic wok has an outlet at Capitol which I tried before - not nice! And this branch at 10-mile junction is empty most of the time.

Eh, I didn't know Sheng Siong sells fish too? I have the impression they only sell dried groceries cos my friend says toilet paper cheap there!
Hehe, yeah, that icon looks like me last time, before my bowel movement discussion & advice from the gals in this forum

starz,
Yeah, I told hubby now must go for a light stroll after dinner every day, else when tummy grows bigger, sure jialat. My mum also told me not to squat or bend, so I've not been doing that for the last few weeks. Will start to cook some simple light meals now so we don't keep eating outside food. Tonight making "breakfast" for dinner
I love places that serve all-day breakfast...

Hi all MTBs here,
A friend I got to know from this forum just told me the concept of taking "fetal love breaks" explained to her in a talk by Four Trimesters. I checked online, and here's a link:
http://www.prenatalparenting.com/philosophy/fetal.html
Sounds like taijiao, but heh, the term "fetal love breaks" is more romantic!

Will go take a fetal love break now with my "coffee music" and try to imagine the smell of coffee! Talk to you guys later!

hello ! just back from the Gap sales.
aiyoh i also just know after lunch.
but hor dun expect nicely display stuffs for u to choose hor.. it is like pasar malam, few piles of clothes lying on the floor, everyone stand around or squart around to pick and 'fight' type.
Definately not suitable for Preggie. For me i go with my colleague, so they help me to pick and i jaga for them.
They have diff type other then denim, sweater also some light clothes. But quite dusty and crowded.
Starz, not sure what time they closed, last time is like 6pm.
And they also quite diff now, last time 2pm will open, but today 2:30pm then open and so many people around there, scary.

Sophie the one with orange sugar one is 'mutu ayam'.. not sure if they are 'relatives' or not...

about Sheng Siong fish, if can buy those live one (still swimming..). cos i had one bad experience I went Sheng Siong at Jurong, the promfet looks very fresh, but when go back to cook, the meat taste very funny! suspect they put some thing to prevent it from rotten or become soft. So no more next time liao...!

krisjoy, you're not cold blooded, im joking only hee.......

littlecat, my com cannot translate to chinese, can the expect mama here help.
Should be the ice cream causing your boy to cough. Zhi ke tang taste abit sweet, can taste abit of the jing ping(dried mandarin orange) and almond taste. My son don't like it that's why i add in rock sugar to make it sweeter and he finish all but rock sugar makes his cough worst so can forget it. Seeing him cough make me feel very heart pain, always got that kind of worry don't know whether he will vomit out blood or not... touch wood.. Take good care of your boy ok..

sophie, thanks for your concern! My hb is leaving next week, don't worry im very tough one hee....

van, sheng siong near my house sells alot of fish,is cheap and sometime very fresh. Going to sheng siong this saturday to grab some diapers, their diapers is very cheap when having promotion.

littlecat, sheng siong fish sounds very scary, never buy any fish from there before cos my hb worry will dirty his precious hand, but we bought the crab, hope they did not add anything to the crab.

littlecat,
no wonder you MIA...

i think i dare not go liaoz... long long time ago i went for those branded warehouse sales... alamak, can faint ar... that kind of crowd, i promise myself i will never "torture" myself by going there...

so far hum & crab ok, since it is still alive when u buy.. but the fish i kena this one after that never buy liao...
Also i dare not buy the pork from there too, got once bought got smell one...
Ntuc one is ok. Giant one once bgt the pork got smell, so hb ban me from buying.

Annlee, i scare he cough cough and vomit out the 'dou-hua'... jialat...
can tell u must be very tough, take care of two never make noise, me one only so much noise.. :p

van, u check the ikan kuning first, cos some of this fish still fresh. but for the promfret i bought the dou-chang to steam teochew style, the taste is terrible,. if is kuning u fried untill crispy, no problem lah :D

Ok Thanks,LittleCat
478941.gif

Will try out the Kuning first,since it's going to be fried until crispy.

Bought some chicken from Sheng Siong just now,hope it's ok.Anyway I braised it with soya sauce and wine,should get rid of whatever smell,if there is any.
478942.gif

Hi Sophie,

I am due mid of November and is expecting a bb gal ;p Will need to do a blood test end of this month to test for diabetes as my mom has it..

Hi Van_G,

Have you tried the chilli crab sauce from Prima Taste? It's very close to the real thing. I used it for making spagetti and it was very well received by my family
I tried this dish in a cafe and tried to replicate it at home...Just need to add eggs and crab meat...

Talking about fish, I do not really take much during my pregnancy as I have developed a low threshold for the 'fishy' smell. Hence, I take fish oil as a supplement since it is good for bb ;p

littlecat, 2 days ago my younger son vomit alittle dou hua, aiyo..... so smelly, my nose got the smell for the whole day.
ok now i make noise, i called them little monster, so naughty.... fight for toys, me sometimes headache man

The above document is about eating raddish with carrot,Chinese file in rich text format. I tried using a new software to extract out,still couldn't post it up as image file,file size is too big.

Krisjoy,
Thanks for the recommendation of the chilli crab sauce.

So you will be due in the same month as LittleCat and Starz.

Krisjoy,
Wow, it's a princess for you then!
So fun... can dress her up!
Is this your first child? Are you a SAHM or a FTWM?
Hehe, sorry for "interrogating" you
Just wanna know you better!

Van,
This doc is interesting cos my mum always cooks radish carrot soup, but it's in Fan Ti Zi? Trying very desperately to read it, but I can only make out that radish is rich in Vit C, and mixing it with carrots causes a loss in Vit C? Eh... can tell me if I have interpreted it correctly? And what does the last para say? Paiseh, my Chinese not so good, and Fan Ti Zi gives me headache...

Van,
Thanks! Hmmm... but I think my mum won't take kindly to the suggestion of adding even a wee bit of vinegar to her soup!

Regarding mutu ayam, yes, LittleCat, that's one nostalgic food for me... but nowadays don't see it anywhere liao. hmm... so not the same as putu piring...

Sophie, thats the Putu Piring. It rice vermicelli eaten w orange sugar.

Van, my ear not itchy lar. I'm a silent reader here.
Then i saw u ppl post wrongly so I tot I correct.

By the way, u use the SingLong chilli crb sauce to make chilli crab?
Suddenly feel like eating chilli crab!!
Is it easier to make using the sauce?
But I find all these bottled sauce not up to standard!
hehe... I mean it dun taste like the real thing!!

mixedUp,
Heh, a bit of confusion here... let me sum it up:
- I thought the Putu Piring that Annelise was talking about was the rice vermicelli eaten with orange sugar and grated coconut sold by the Indians
- Then LittleCat says the rice vermicelli with orange sugar and grated coconut is called Mutu Ayam, which actually sounds familiar to me now, cos I remember the rice vermicelli thing is called Mutu something

So now we are all wondering which is which?

P/S. I just found a weblink here!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putu_Mayam

Extracted from above weblink in blue here:
<font color="0000ff">Putu mayam is a sweet dish of rice noodles with coconut and jaggery as main ingredients. It is popular in southern India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, and Singapore, as a snack or breakfast food.

The process for making putu mayam (also known as string hoppers in English) consists of mixing rice flour or idiyappam flour with water and/or coconut milk, and pressing the dough through a sieve to make vermicelli-like noodles. These are steamed, usually with the addition of juice from the aromatic pandan leaf (screwpine) as flavoring. The noodles are served with grated coconut and jaggery, or, preferably, gur (date palm sugar). In some areas, gula melaka (coconut palm sugar) is the favorite sweetener.

Putu piring is a Malaysian version of putu mayam in which the rice flour dough is used to form a small cake around a filling of coconut and gur or jaggery. Putu mayam is also closely related to the Malaysian cendol which substitutes green pea flour for the rice flour in making the noodles. In all forms of the dish, pandan flavoring, as an extract or as chopped leaves, is typical.</font>

Sophie, then i'm the mixedup one here!!!
So there's no mutu ayam? Its putu mayam!!
Anyway after reading the above, Im still as confused!!
hahahaha.........

The putu mayam is still available here in any Indian stall!
I see the Indian stall at my place still sells that for breakfast!

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ayam Penyet</TD><TD> 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02</TD><TD> Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8</TD><TD> Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Dae Mun Korean Food</TD><TD> Le Meridien Foodcourt</TD><TD> Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice</TD><TD> Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon</TD><TD> Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre</TD><TD> Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili</TD><TD> Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian Beehoon</TD><TD>AMK Ave 4 Blk 160</TD><TD> only $1.50!cheap n good</TD><TD> Avoid 1st &amp; 15th day </TD></TR><TR><TD>Putu Piring</TD><TD>Haig Road S11 Food Court</TD><TD>recommended by Najip Ali</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">If you have any recommendations, please type out in the above sequence.I will cut-out and append to the table.</font>

mixedUp,
I was just telling my hubby that I haven't seen putu mayam around for a long time, and he said all roti prata stalls sell them! Wonder why I never saw them? Anyway, I just had it for breakfast about 10mins ago cos hubby decided to buy me my childhood nostalgic food

Van,
Thanks for the picture of putu piring! Now I finally know what it is! Looks like Kueh Tu Tu huh? But have never eaten it before.

Hi Sophie,

No prob, this way we can all get to know each other better ;p

I am a FTWM and this is my first child
excited and scared cos dunno what to expect...

What about the rest of you mummies? SAHM or FTWM?

Btw, Putu Piring is available at pasar malam stalls. Just look for Malays selling them. They taste like our kueh tutu but the filling is gula melaka instead of peanuts/coconut. The flour that they use is also slightly different. They are best eaten hot otherwise they tend to stick to each other...

But personally i still prefer the chinese kueh tutu :D

little cat, mu,
u all so funny, "mutu ayam" translates as "quality chicken" leh! my mum's hse area got 1 putu mayam man going round on his bike selling it, yum!

van,
thanks for the pics! I love yr cute cute icons too! it's so sweet of u to maintain the table of good foods, wonder when I got chance to come S'pore to try.

sophie,
yr hb so sweet! yay, glad u r ok and can start walking more and shop more? hehehe! I also never eaten putu piring before. I like to eat the thick chinese pancake with crushed peanuts inside. It's a super big pancake (size like a big pizza) that is cut into slices.

annlee, little cat,
this morning my son woke up coughing, he only 1 yr old, can he take the zhi ke tang? or better stick to western medicine?

KrisJoy,
welcome! looking fwd to yr recipes and pictures, hehe.

starz,
u can "hu si luan siang" while busy? kekeke, u r so cute! trust yr hb lah, u got good taste and married a good man!

today having chicken soup for lunch, last nite hb help me put into slow cooker to cook.

Good Morning Ladies!

LittleCat,
479156.gif
Think it's time we refresh and update our Member's Table liaoz,since we have a few new members...

Finally got some info and the reason...this red and white carrot not supposed to mix...which you mentioned before.

Krisjoy,
don't worry, we have some experienced mothers here,always willing to help and share experience.

479157.gif

sp,
Heh, I also thought mutu ayam was some chicken, but thought maybe since the dish is Indian as MixedUp said, maybe ayam meant something else in Indian
Yep, can shop around already... this weekend already planning to go for brunch with friends! Won't walk that much for a start but good to be able to go out. I also like the Chinese pancake - Mee Jiam Kueh in Hokkien yeah? It's my teabreak at least 2 times a week!

Woah, chicken soup for lunch... this is what I call ai(4) xin(1) chan(1) (love meal?)!

Krisjoy,
I'm a SAH-MTB
that's why so "eng" can surf net so often! Also very afraid about my pregnancy, but the gals in this thread have been very supportive, both emotionally and in terms of well-being tips (e.g. on my bowel movements
) So don't worry so much, just go ahead and talk about anything under the sun... we're all here for one another!

sp,Sophie,
So sweet of your hb hor, one help to cook soup, one bought you childhood nostalgic food for breakfast early in the morning...
479213.gif
,no wonder the coffee I am sipping tasted so sweet, must be the sweetness overflowed from the PC...
479214.gif

So heart-warming to be in this thread...can feel the warmth and friendliness from everyone already

sp,

I can imagine the chicken soup must be soooo flavourful!!

Sophie,

How many months are you into now?

Not sure if any mummies experienced this - dark patches developed on the armpits! So ugly!! My gynae said it is pigmentation. I only hope it will go away after delivery

Krisjoy,
I am in my 11 weeks now.
For me, no dark patches, or maybe too early?
But I find that I perspire more! Makes sense to perspire more, cos I think pregnant woman's body temperature is higher, so in order to cool down the body, it has to perspire more.
Sometimes very embarrassing to wear clothes with sleeves cos can see "wet" patches in the armpits
, so I try and wear sleeveless now.

Van,
I just paid my VPOSTUSA bill, so should be getting my parcels in 1 week's time! So excited!
Calculated it too - works out to be about S$45 per pc of clothing, which is not that bad, cos I think most bottoms in SG are around $60.

Have been busy past few days.. Still staying in my sis'.. shifting this weekend.. and then will come bb.. very shiong !

Does putu piring taste the same as kueh tutu ? Looks the same tho..

Soph, my first one kena induced cos the cord was seen around neck during the 37th week and when I gave birth, true enough, the cord was one round the neck..
2nd one amniontic fluid low.. so got to induce..

Maybe you can try prickly heat powder for this hot weather..I have been using prickly heat every day and bathing 3-4 times daily to keep myself cool
How's your appetite now ?

Yo van, my no.1 has test individually every week, this teacher is speeding up the lessons so that the children can be ready for the test.. but stressful for me lah ! There is a list of things they'll be tested, it's printed on a yellow flyer.. if your dd's tr didn't give, think you can ask from the recep..

Hey lyn, you steady huh ? Cook with one hand and carry bb with the other .. My ang will be going HK in Oct too.. thought of bringing bb there too.. weather should be nice..

Sorry ladies, for digressing from makan! Thanks contributing to the list of places to makan! yumm..

Hey welcome Krisjoy,
I'm in my 36 weeks now.. yah.. sob sob.. i have dark patches on my armpits! but don't worry, it'll go away aft giving birth,

Soph and Kris
have you started using stretchmark cream ? Can use now liao.. The Palmer's brand can cause allergy, some of my friends and I experience that.. but it is quite effective to prevent stretchmaks..

Hey annlee, my no.2 coughs every month .. She's diagnosed with mild asthma and has to be on the inhaler since.. now she doesn't cough as much and I give cod liver oil too.

hi Choc,
So nice to hear from you again! Hey, you take care and remember, just do the "director's job" in the shifting, don't attempt to shift anything at all OK?

Thanks for your explanation on the inducing; sorry if I asked too much
. Your gynae must be quite good and experienced to have detected all that!

Will try the prickly heat powder, else really don't know how to step out of the flat! As for stretchmarks, I didn't use Palmer's cos the nurse told me not to try any new brands of creams during pregnancy in case of allergy. She said stretchmarks are hereditary, and cannot be helped so just use my usual body lotion/cream. I'm currently using Body Shop Vit E lotion and for something heavier on tummy, I use the Body Shop Olive Body Butter.

Hmm... not sure if this helps, or maybe old wives' tale? One of my friend's son has asthma attacks very often and lots of phelgm. She used to feed him Del Monte bananas, but has since stopped cos she heard that Del Monte are extremely liang. He has since had lesser attacks and less phlegm. Actually I told her about the Del Monte bananas then she went and check with her other friends and sinseh. I heard from my mum that 1 of my cousins was fed Del Monte bananas everyday when young (her mum more westernised), and she's the only one in the whole extended family to have asthma. So for me, Del Monte bananas is a no-no for anyone with weak lungs.