Cooking Tips & Recipe

Amelia,
Did you soak your scallops before using it? I asked my mum about it today, and she said after rinsing scallop, must soak in a little water so the scallop will soften and flavour will come out. So when you add scallops to the soup or porridge, add in the soaking water as well. Maybe you can try with with your leftover scallops next time? Must soak for about 2 to 3 hrs in room temperature water, not too much water, just about 1/3 of a ricebowl or enough to cover the scallops.

What is DHC cosmetics well-known for? Will go and check web now...

LittleCat,
Drunken kick? hehe... your bb prob doing some Wong Fei Hung stunts in there! Never seen those creamers in SG before, but if I ever see them around, will let you know!

My hubby used to travel a fair bit too, and to places like Spain, then my mum ask me how come not worried cos Spanish girls so sexy. But aiyah, no point worrying... my philosophy is, if he wants to cheat, he doesn't need to go so far... even in SG or Internet also can, so what's the point of worrying? Just treasure the time and happy memories together... not happy then split, better than hanging on unhappily. In fact, I once asked my mum why she didn't ask for a divorce if she always complains about my dad, then after that she never complain so much anymore.

Van,
You make the sambal belachan yourself or you buy the jar kind? I've got some belachan left in my fridge, but the last time I attempted to make a simple chili sauce, hubby said cannot even eat cos too spicy... maybe cos I used chili padis? But the big red chilis not spicy enough leh.

annlee,
Good idea to give baby sambal belachan hor?
especially when they're naughty and cry too much! *joking*

Sophie,
I used those Ready mix Sambal Belachan in jar.Usually I will mix my chilli sauce, like mixing hae bee hiam with Thai Chilli sauce for cooking Sotong,so I am not particular about whether the chilli sauce is home-made or not. Sometimes if the chilli sauce is too hot, adding some sugar will help.

Just saw shipment alert from VPOSTUSA from my HP, quickly log in,trying to pay the bills,then got this msg while trying to generate bills:

<font color="0000ff">Billing is now closed. Please generate your bill after 00.01am.</font>

So take note that VPOST does have a specific "closing time"for generating bills.

I find things in Taipei very expensive.It's only worth to get stuff that is not available in Singapore.

Amelia,
I did soak the dried scallops, but didn't soak for that long,just until the whole piece soften.

Some cookbook actually recommended steaming the dried scallop first before adding it to stir fry dish,but I have not tried that.

Van,
Thanks for sambal belachan info. Will definitely try the sambal ikan bilis fried rice one day... good source of calcium for me. I told my hubby about the recipe, and he is also keen to try it

heh, I've been tracking my items very closely - my items are already somewhere near the VPOST address already, but the local US post is taking soooo long to deliver it from one city to another within California! I even checked the map, only 20mins drive! Urgh... hoping it gets delivered soon so I can receive my first parcel
Thanks for info on the billing. I think Citibank credit card got 15% discount for US-SG shipping for VPOST - got a banner on VPOST homepage; need to enter Citibank promo code to get discount.

Just spoke to hubby - not sure if he got time to shop too, cos he'll prob be there for only 2 to 3 days as he doesn't feel too good leaving me alone at home, so may squeeze his work into just a few days. Just as well... save $$ for bb

Sophie,
Huh?!,Citibank credit card got 15% discount? What a waste!
kao_frustrated.gif

I am not aware,cos my citibank card is actually a supp card given by my hb, I seldom use and don't get to see his online statement.

I asked my hb to buy some more YOROPEN's pencils for dd from Taipei.Hope he could find it.It's a kind of ergonomically desiged pens/pencils invented by a Taiwanese for his daughter Yoyo and RoRo(thus YOROpen).I got some from HK,and wanted to have more! It's so cool!

About the Sambal Belachan Ikan Billis Fried Rice, I have tried this at Tang's cafe,they serve it with prawn crackers.

I also ate the Indian version at Lot 1's food court,they added some green vege and cabbage,but didn't give as much Ikan Bilis as shown on their picture,it's also quite oily.

Van,
Guess I was a little too slow in telling, and you were too fast in your payment! Actually, I also just saw the web banner when I went into VPOST homepage too. Bannner is just too small, plus have to scroll the page down that's why most pple don't notice it.

Hmm... I go to Tangs Island cafe quite often, but never notice this dish. Maybe always too engrossed with Black Pepper Crab Tanghoon and the Hokkien Mee which are pretty good, although Hokkien Mee at $10 a plate is very exp! They have a salad called Pork with Spicy Salad which is also good, but very sinful - it's actually the 3-layer pork toasted in oven till crispy plus a spicy cucumber side salad. Eat it once in awhile with the layers of fats and it's quite shiok!

The Yoropen looks cool! Got disposable ones which are only a few dollars, not too expensive. Heh, will tell hubby to get one for me if he can find it.

Just got notification that my parcels are delivered; now just waiting for VPOST to match and put up my payment!

van, ok ok, any photo on good food are welcome :D
the Thermal Pot they translate to "Zhen kong bao" =vacuum pot. the one i saw is about A5 size kind of book.

Amelia, no lah i never hear of any promotion, i was trying to tell annlee, instead of going Bangkok, check if Hong Kong got promo

Sophie, yeap let me know if u do find ;) if not i will just add vanila into milk? oops..
just like my hb, can't find the gassy ribena, so he mix the ribena with soda water for me, haha!

Yesterday nite around 8+ till 9, the drunken kick quite frequent leh.. i ask my hb to feel, he also got shock... must be another active boy!

Could be i read the 4 books about italian food, cheese cake, coffee make him excited!

The cheese cake recipe quite good leh, lots of info.. and got the japanese cheese cake too, the one annelise made.
But too bad leh can't scan in colour, if not can share with u guys...

LittleCat,
Maybe it's the adrenaline rush from reading all those foodie stuff... haha, it's good, means your boy will be foodie too. Child of Out Time says the baby's brain grows most significantly in the first year of growth, and a baby who eats well will probably have well-developed brain. They tested a boy who ate alot, and that boy turned out to be the smartest of the lot, but also abit biased, cos that boy's father happen to be in the top 2% range in terms of UK's IQ.

Eh, you hubby very smart hor? Mix Ribena with soda! In a way better cos then can control the amount of sugar from the ribena, cos sometimes the gassy ribena can be too sweet.

All your talk about pasta make me cook pasta for lunch today! But I am trying the rice-based pasta, not the normal kind which contains gluten and wheat, which makes me feel very bloated in my current state. Texture is pretty good too, almost similar to the normal kind. So this is a good alternative if any of you are allergic to wheat or feel bloated after eating wheat-based stuff!

morning ladies...

i also like tiramisu... its one of my fav dessert.. but havent even eaten once since preggie.. nowadays i'm craving for chocolates all the time (i didnt used to eat choc at all previously)..

hehe, once i "stock-up" on my baking necessities shall try the tiramisu recipe.. but minus the liqour of cos...

littlecat,
my hb doesnt travel... but he work late 3-4nites a week... sometimes during my "paranoid-attack", i will worry that he's "working" on something else lor... especially now i'm preggers, become "double original size", n generally feel so fat n clumsy n ugly..

i just always try n convince myself i'm just thinking too much lor... nowadays, i "console" myself that even if don't hv hubby, at least i have my baby... i love kids tooooooo much... hehe..

sophie, i 'poison' all with the 'italian-madness' haha...
u can say he is smart or he is 'kiam' (stingy) cos one bottle cos around $1.60 and only sold at 7-11 kind of store. Try searching at Jurong West those selling cheaper drink one dun have leh..

oh u mean they have rice-based too? i saw one with whole grain (think so, darker colour type) wanted to try and hb so scare i poison him..

haha my question worry all wife liao..
but like some of u say it is true if he dun treasure the family value they can go 'out of track' anywhere anytime.

Hey Starz, me too sometime i find got my boy ok liao.. so bad hor?
after i have my son, my hb drop to 2nd place liao.. soon he will drop fruther down..haha!!!

my hb dun work late, he keep stressing on 'quality family time'. so we try to leave at 6pm or 6pm+, after dinner at the auntie's place we will bring my boy home. So we have another 2 to 3 hours time to be with him.
Since young we try not to leave my boy at the auntie's place overnite, unless my hb or me sick.
I saw some weekend parent, may be really no choice have to work late, the kids not close to parents.. if this happen to me, i will be very heart broken leh...

starz, may be after you boy is born he will cut down on working late liao...

Amelia,
I think Zuji has some OK deals on HK - around $600 for airfare + 2N stay in a decent hotel. Can extend 1 more night for a little extra.

starz,
Don't feel that way - you are pregnant, not fat! Must have faith in your hubby!

LittleCat,
I normally eat the wholemeal pasta too - takes longer to cook and more chewy. But this rice-based one is lighter; I would think it's equivalent to beehoon in terms of rice/wheat content but in pasta form. I first got to know about this pasta when I was backpacking years ago, &amp; this Aussie girl showed me her backpack which is full of rice pasta, &amp; she cooks all her meals in the hostel! Then she explained to me she's got "Celiac Disease", basically allergic to wheat. Eating wheat will make her bloated, diarrhoea/constipation at times, eczema etc. So she switched to eating beehoon, rice-based pasta and rice. I guess we Asians do not have this problem cos we eat more rice than breads/pasta in the past, so we never had a wheat allergy problem. But I must say, this girl's skin is radiant, and she's very slim like Asian, plus she was a spa manager, so I guess she knew what she was doing!

What a coincidence - last night my hubby was just commenting that SG couples work very late and after work, when they go pick up the kid at parents' place, it tends to be very late, and hence very siong for parents. We were sort of worried about it in the event that I go back to work after the baby turns 1, and we end up being weekend parents.

I posted this in SAHM thread,gathered three votes from two mummies so far...need more votes to convince my hb...
477916.gif

Need some info.

Do you gals remember the 1st jab that your baby had immediately after birth.Was it at the buttock area? Does it leave a dimple at the buttock after that?

My dd has one dimple,I remembered it's from the jab, but my hb insisted that it's her birth mark.

Sophie,
I could have saved the shipping charges for 1 of the package with the 15% discount,if I wasn't so Kan Cheong! What a lesson learned!
477920.gif

Yoropen Taiwan website has a list of shops selling it,with the addresses listed. If you know which hotel your hb is staying, can roughly let him know where to buy.Men are generally not so good in shopping/hunting for stuff.

One of my ex-staff, both she and hb are Malaysian, she has her two boys taken care of by MIL and Mother, living in different parts of Malaysia.That is even worse?! Not even weekend parents, and the two boys don't get to build up their sibling's bond...

LittleCat,
Thanks for the name of thermal pot.So the cookbook must be from Hong Kong then.

Starz,
Don't worry too much.Your hb is probably working extra hard...thinking of the new addition to the family.

Van, both my sons got their 1st jab on the buttock and leave a dimple after that. My two sons got the jab so you can have two votes from here kekeke....

littlecat,
My hubby has been wanting to go HK cos his good friend was posted there. I think I will definitely bring baby wherever I go... :p
I have a baby rocker by lucky baby.. but havent try it though...
Wah.. you borrowed so many books on cooking... good good.. got delicious recipes remember to share with us hor... kekeke...

annlee,
Oh.. HK streets very stuffy ah.. I havent been to HK before... Any shopping centers for shopping??
How to cook chap chye? Easy to cook?

annelise,
I got a sarong sling
I do breastfeed in public

Yesterday dinner, I just anyhow stir-fry vege and vege with meat... My sis said taste so good wor... hahaha...

hi carole, nasi lemak hmm.... nice... only know that need to put coconut water, pandan leaf into the rice. Gotta check more from the mamas here

lyn, i've not been to hk for 6 yrs so im not sure about the happening shopping centre now. My friend told me shopping at mongkok is better than tst or causeway bay. At mongkok you can try Argyle centre, fa yuen street,langham place.You can also visit Esprit warehouse at tst but i was told Esprit warehouse near the airport one is better. If you want branded stuff can try The landmark,and also shopping mall like pacific place, Times square...
I remember there's one shopping mall at tst, harbourfront...which is not bad. Don't like ladies/temple st cos i went in feeling fresh and came out very sticky maybe at that time is very hot

NASI LEMAK
Recipe by Amy Beh

Cuisine: Malay
Type of Dish: Side Dishes
Cooking Method: Boil

Ingredients

300g long grain rice

2 shallots

2 slices ginger

1/8 tsp fenugreek seeds ( halba )

1 tsp salt

375-400ml coconut milk (from 1/2 a grated coconut)

2 pandan leaves, knotted
Method
Wash rice until clean then drain. Put rice, shallots, ginger, fenugreek and salt in a rice cooker. Pour coconut milk over the rice. (The level of the coconut milk should be 2cm above the level of the rice.) Cook rice until dry then use a wooden ladle to loosen the grains.

Sprinkle the rest of the coconut milk over the rice. Give it a stir with a pair of chopsticks to distribute the milk evenly. Stand for 10 to 15 minutes to allow the rice to absorb the coconut milk. Keep rice warm before serving with other condiments.

Nasi Lemak #2

Ingredients:
2 cups rice

1 cup coconut milk
1 cup water

3 slices ginger, finely shredded
3 pandan leaves, knotted
1 tsp salt

Wash the rice several times until the water is clear. Drain. Put the rice into an automatic rice cooker together with coconut, water, ginger, pandan leaves and salt, and cook. When rice is cooked, fluff it with a pair of chopsticks. Keep warm in the cooker until ready to serve.

Hi Van, putu piring is a Malay dessert. It is white coloured flat rice cake with gula melaka inside - it's cooked in a similar way as kueh tutu but it's much flatter and thinner and is eaten with a sprinkling of coconut flakes. 2 votes from me too! My 2 girls have the dimple-like scar on their buttocks from the bcg jab also! I think babies delivered in govt hospitals get the jab on their upper arm, in pte hospitals they jab on the buttocks to avoid scarring the arm.

Hi LittleCat, my sis can't remember the brand liao, sorry! The last tiramisu we made was 10 years ago! If you can, put make the tiramisu in individual small ramekins cos' our weather is too hot and humid - if make in one big dish, I find that the cake melts very fast. I think those that are sold outside have gelatine in them so that the texture is firmer and don't melt so easily. I found a pic of the sponge fingers on the Net. Will post it on Yahoo later cos' file too big to post here - can try those ang moh supermarkets to see if they carry this product!

Sorry gotta go - need to finish up some housework done before my mum goes home! Catch y'all later!

van, oh my godness, your lunch looks so so yummy!!!is it hot? looks like hot though...

i find lots of malaysian will do that also.. like some work in KL, leave their kids at their kampung area... maybe if u start since young u won't feel it. like now sometime i ask my son to sleep with my hb and i sleep alone, i feel i miss him... jialat, could be due to PG the mother luv overflow.

most baby jab on buttok leh, got other place meh? my son got one too. U won liao!

Lyn, try the rocker see if he like it. i rem the bouncer is better cos more cooling.
aiyoh i borrow the book but hor some quite chim leh, dun know can find the ingredient here...
One of the book show how to cook western food, it show how to make the thick sauce.
Something like this: 1kg of chicken, some celery, some herbs.. then bake in oven for 1 hour, then put into cold water boil for about 6 hours to get the thick sauce... wow.. so much work hor?
Then the italian book show how to make the white sauce, actualy is from flour lah and also the tomato sauce and the green sauce.
It also suggest what type of pasta is good for what sauce/way of cooking etc.. cos this book is about how to open italian restaurant.
The cheese cook show diff kind of cheese with photo, so we know which cheese is for what purpose etc...
let me know if any of u interested on such recipe i will go scan or copy out.

Carole, wow u solid now ask how to cook and going to cook tonite :D hehe
For me i cook the rice with coconut milk, pandan leaf and a pinch of salt.
ok will post one i found in my hard drive.

Nasi Lemak
Rice
Ingredients:
Rice
coconut milk
pandan
salt
Method:
Cook rice as usual but use coconut milk instead of water.
Tie pandan into a knot and add a pinch of salt.

Sambal Ikan Bilis
Ingredients:
dried chilies soaked
tomatoes
asam juice
onions - lots
sugar
ikan bilis
oil
salt
blachan - grilled
Method:
Fry ikan bilis in some oil till slightly brown, throw in some sugar,
cook for a while longer, remove from oil and set aside.
Grind chili into paste. Fry onions with oil till soft, add chili paste
and continue to fry for a while. Add tomatoes, asam juice, salt
and sugar, cook till it's thickened.
Add fried Ikan bilis and cook briefly.

lyn, chap chye is easy to cook, just that you need to prepare quite a few different types of ingreds. This is my yesterday chap chye recipe

1 whole cabbage
a little carrot(slice thinly)
long bean(optional, my left over one)
black fungus
Dried mushroom or can button mushroom or both
tau kee (dried bean stick)
tang hoon
gold needle(not sure about the name)
garlic( slighty mash and chop)
tau cheo( i use half mince tau cheo)
pork meat(pork belly is better but im health concious)
Fish ball(optional, is for my son)

Method:
1)start to boil less than half pot of water,
2)Fry garlic till fragrant, add in pork fry until almost cook, add in tau cheo(i add 2 tbsp)and a little sugar, add cabbage and all the ingreds accept tang hoon and cook till the veggie is soft and transfer to the pot of water, add in tang hoon, can add soya sauce if is not salty.

You can add more water if you want more soup. The ingred i agar agar one, you can add in more cabbage or other ingred to your liking.
Oh yes, peranankan they add in belachan if you like.

Van also knows how to cook chap chye

thanks for all the "comforting" words... aiya, sometimes i know i'm simply "hu si luan xiang".. but i guess when i'm alone at home too much.. alot of women will also start to do that lor... then sometimes i will "blame" these thoughts on my "preggie hormones" leading to mood swings...

littlecat,
i agree that once my boy come out, hubby will become #2 liaoz.. hehehe..
for me, my parents were "weekend parents" to me.. i even remember once saturday my mum came to bring me home, and i cried n screamed n didn't want to go with her... i was staying with my granny, n i didn't want to leave... now i think back, then realise how painful my mum must have felt. tats y i promised myself i'll never be a weekend parent... (n tats y i bought a flat sooo near my mum's place, so she can come over to my house to look after my son.. n i can simply go home everyday n see my son...) hehehe... cunning hor...

Van,
ur fried rice look very spicy n tasty leh... i reli envy u all.. always got to cook... me after work feel like collapsing onto the bed liaoz...

Hi Lyn and Annlee,

My brother-in-law cooks the chap chye with 'nam-yu' (fermented beancurd) instead of tau-cheo. U can try this version too to see if you like it

starz, not cunning lah, it is called SMART!!
Good for both party, cos i am sure your mom will be very happy to take care of her own Grandchild

lol tks for all the recipe.... too bad, decided not to cook already as i am really sick with stupid head spinning.
will try this weekend..

Carole,
What head spinning? You feel giddy like spinning? I have this problem once in a while too.GP said it's Er2 Shui3 Bu4 Ping4 Heng2,inner ear imbalance or something like that.

Starz, Little Cat and Sophie,

No need to compare lah..mine's the worst lah.

Starz, my husband works late almost every night for 5 years...He comes home about 1030pm in S'pore.I feel better here because I can call anyone freely and have them come over.

Starz, it depends on the industry your hub is...Certain industries got to work longer hours..Also position within the organisation determines working hours.

In States, I have it REALLY BAD.My hub's working hours were much much worse.The area I was living in had(still has) a very high crime rate.Murders, thefts etc were very common in my estate and I heard gunshots daily.Once, I even had a man murdered infront of my doorstep.I suspect that's how my OCD condition started..trauma(checked), loneliness(checked) and stress(also checked) hahaha.Anyway, this is the ugly side of living abroad that people don't really talk about.

Hi Amelia...

after hearing ur story, i guess i shd feel better...
kao_embarrassed.gif

but sometimes, the heart just won't "listen" to reason... the other thing is, my close frens both just had kids.. so the "support" group is only my mum.. who i see every night at dinner lor...

what's OCD?

My fried rice looks good huh? Thanks! It sure taste good, with the Sambal Chilli and hae bee hiam...very spicy...and crispy Ikan Billis.

Carole,
lol,after hearing your account of cafe Lao Ban Niang,who dare to open cafe liaoz.
478218.gif

Amelia,
Put the past behind you...you are now in Singapore, can chat with us, and Lim Kopi with us...

ya, what is OCD?

Sending my dd to class...chat again.
kao_byebye.gif

Woah, so many postings
and a nlovely picture too!

Van,
Your fried rice looks delicious! Aiyoh, this belachan mama here drooling already... must show this picture to dh and ask him to cook for me! Eh, on second thoughts, maybe "safer" to cook it myself

LittleCat,
Woah, now I know how persistent a pregnant woman's cravings can make her! Eh, I don't have a good "impression" of Jap coffee leh. You gonna buy it? I remember seeing some Hazelnut flavoured coffee at the "Australian/Liberty" section of J8 NTUC, but don't know if they still stock it. Tomorrow if gynae gives me permission to walk there, I'll go check it out for you!

Carole,
Is your giddiness what Van said the ear imbalance situation? Is that vertigo? My friend has that too. If he sees too many moving things or even swim for too long, he gets that, and in bad cases, even starts vomitting. I told him to use a swimming board so his head does not have to move so much going in and out of water, but he says very paiseh for a big man like him to do that... wait the aunties laugh at him.

Amelia,
The gunshots must be scary. But like what Van says, don't think about the past... look forward to the future! Think of building up your health with all these good food... eh, maybe belachan not so healthy
and we're always here to chat with you!

Starz,

It's good to keep yourself occupied..like maybe start on your bb's scrapbook..organise and beautify some photos and do an online photo album etc or you can chat here when your hub is working late..

Sophie,
I have tried the hazelnut flavoured coffee from Cold Storage and Isetan Scotts, not "Pang" leh.

My hb also like vanilla coffee, let me know which place is selling.

Amelia,
Now got to know that is OCD.

I remember a member during our NZ trip has this problem.She always feel that her house is not clean enough, keep wiping,washing again and agian.Even when she goes for holiday, the first thing she would do when she step into the hotel room is to wipe and clean the whole room,including the door knobs. I then understood why she gave me a very weird look when I place my grocery bag on the floor near the cashier in the NZ supermarket.

Hey,you,me and Carole all stay in CCK, can meet up for kopi...

BTW Carole has 6000+ posts, she is very OLD member liao...kekeke

Amelia,
Don't worry about your OCD. Like I mention before, as long as you are aware of it, it's already one step closer to solving the problem. My uncle has this problem too; he wouldn't allow any cooking in the flat cos he feels it's dirty and attracts ants, he washes his hands all the time and scrubs the flat with bleach till his hands are all dried up. My auntie has just given birth to a baby, and with another 8-yr old son, she found it difficult to handle this and couldn't even speak with him about it cos he got all worked up about it. Finally, he realised and admitted to his OCD problem, and to overcome it, he took up a job in a shipyard. Working in a shipyard is not exactly the cleanest place on earth, but he's trying to use it to overcome his fear of "dirt". He's doing well now, not as compulsive as last time. Heh, of course I'm not asking you to work in a shipyard, but as long as you are aware of your OCD, you can take a step forward to helping yourself.

Carole,
Welcome!
Even though I know you are an "OLD" member as I sometimes peep into the SAHM thread.

Van,
I couldn't find any vanilla coffee today. Sneaked out to Cold Storage Great World City again just now, saw the Farmland brand that LittleCat was talking about, but no vanilla flavour there. Instead, bought a jar of Glory sambal belachan in anticipation of cooking the Ikan Bilis Fried Rice

Envy you guys... all stay around the same area... so fun!

LittleCat, Van,
This website shows the kind of creamer I was talking about, although the one I had in US was not this brand, but similar concept. I like this cos then I just buy normal coffee, and I can choose the different kinds of coffee I want to drink each day by using the different creamer.
But never seen this in SG before.
http://www.coffeecow.com/detail.asp?id=1730

starz,
Amelia's baby scrap book idea is a good one! I may even do it myself but probably will not buy those baby journals, heard it's really expensive. Will probably just make one myself.

sophie, i bought the Farmland coffee and tested it liao

It put there 'Chocolate vanila Flavor'. The taste is ok. Except it is not the creamy.. so u must put more milk.
Of cos can't beat the US one, but still close

But hor if u have constipation problem better dun take, i think is rather heaty. Cos they have coffee+chocolate.

oh yeah that is the creamer we saw plenty at US. hmm... may be can ask hb to get since he is going there haha.. but ask him to go shopping is like chopping off his head

Amelia, now u have a cat at home and one cat here (me, me) come to join us more !

My son went to Kid's kampung yesterday, lucky no fish follow home ah!!
i think for N2 they dun get to catch the fish but more on the marine life. i ask him what he saw he said got star and tortoise... must be the star fish and turtle? anyway glad he enjoy himself, even sing the 'Old Mcdonald' song to me

Yesterday my hb bought ang hay durian. not that expensive leh (not sure got kena con or not) only $5 each, he bought 2. not many seed, but the meat is really good! very creamy and sweet. To me it is like the D24 or D101 taste.

sophie/annelise, for tiramisu if dun put "kahlua" whatelse can i put? of just ignore it?

Sophie,
How about digital scrapbooking? I have been doing it for a few years. Just got a new digital scrapbooking software from amazon.com a few months ago.

I print it out on A4 photo,laminate it myself ,paste a filing strip along the side,then file it up.

Though I like the idea of scrapbooking, but I find it expensive and tedious,most importantly,photos will get spoilt by the time your children grow up.

I have done a lot of photo touch-up and repair for my relatives and friends'old photos.Even those that are framed or stored in sealed albums are spoilt.So I wonder how those scrapbook photos will look by the time say, the child is 18 years old?

What do you mean when you said it's "safer"to fry the rice yourself? So that it will be spicy enough for belachan mama?
478504.gif

Hi Little Cat,

Next time you can try out 'kim-hong' durian. It is considered the most superior in terms of taste and it cost about $12-$15/kg.

Since such durian trees are not a lot in Malaysia, it is quite difficult to get them. I went to Balestier twice and they have no stock

Amelia,
thanks for sharing abt OCD. last time my sec sch got 1 lady teacher, she use tissue to hold chalk. when she goes toilet she cleans the sink and tap first before she use it to wash her hands.

carole,
wah, how u achieve 6000+ posts? u super lah. how's yr head, no more spinning and hope u feel good as new.

starz,
ya ya, good to blame it on hormones, kekeke. Can consider starting a blog for yr bb if u haven't, hehe.

van,
yr fried rice looks so good! yum!

this morning I tried to fry rice but I burnt the onions and towards the end I burnt the rice... it's so dry and hard and yucky to eat, sad sad. I'm the real burnt queen.

annlee,
thanks for sharing the chap chye recipe, sounds healthy and delicious.

little cat,
I'm still "infected" with your Italian madness, will need to cook one more round spaghetti to rid the obsession. Standby the basic ingredients already, see when got time to cook it, hehehe...

lyn,
never go HKG shld go and look see, but it seems not baby-friendly leh, the ppl all walk so fast and so rushing. I'm so tempted to go holiday but can't bear to leave my son behind, he only 1 yr old.

Annelise,
Thanks for the description of Putu Piring...though I still have no idea what's that.Probably can ask my friend,she grew up with lots of Malay neighbour,speak very good Malay and knows a lot of things about Malay food.

Littlecat,
478517.gif
You are tempting me... I feel like going out to buy the ang hay....drooling...

morning ladies.....

now i know wat OCD stands for... Amelia, like everyone says.. now u can always have us to talk to...
thanks for all the suggestions.. its not that i don't have anything to occupy myself with.. but even tho' i'm busy.. will still "hu si luan xiang" lor...

speaking of durians.. i can only wait until the weekend then can eat.... tomorrow going for gynae checkup liaoz.. cannot let their weighing machine detect too much weight gain...

Van, Sophie, sp,

Actually, I didn't know I had it till my GP saw my hands and fingers cracking and bleeding..she referred me immediately to A&amp;E psychiatrist.

I am taking steps to help myself so don't worry about me..it's tiring but i am working on it
Very paiseh to write about it in a cooking thread.Wonder why I brought it up also haha.Let's talk about food yah?Talking about food makes everyone here happy.

Carole,

6000+ posts hmmmmm...not that bad since you registered earlier.

Little Cat,

You're the humourous cat!