Cooking Tips & Recipe

van, given my son abc pasta and he vomit out so i think will give him later but i already feed him rice and he didn't vomit.Right now his dinner will follow us on what we eat.

I'm looking for annelise too,think she's not well right?

Actually i like to feed my son porriage cos i think is quite healthy,got millet, veg, pork bone(alternate day), alittle wolfberries, 1 red date(alternate day), fish, kunbu(kelp) and pumpkin/carrot(1 week twices)

van is right,1yr old can give solid food or else he will have porriage forever kekekke...

sp,

I am those "eat first think later" type.If I really want to keep fit, I'll exercise instead.

Choc,

I think there's some kind of cream piped on the cake.
The recipe does mention it.

Little Cat,

Kylie Kwong is a great cook.I've seen one of her episodes on poached duck, looks different but yummy.She owns a restaurant in Sydney I think?

For italian recipes, you can refer to David Rocco's Dolce Vita site.He archived all his recipes here.I also love the web design and background music hehe!
http://www.davidrocco.com/

Amelia,
Mine was recommended by two of my colleagues.Went to a lady gynae in CCK Central 1st before seeing him, not comfortable with this lady gynae, so asked around.

annlee,
I just bought some kelp from NTUC,plan to add it to my soup.

Can also use sweet potato in place of carrot/pumpkin,very nutritious and taste sweet.

Amelia, actually the kelp i add in is not for the taste, my malaysian friend recommended me kelp for baby,is a healthy food.
Not sure is call kelp or seaweed, it written kunbu and i saw some japanese food or shabu shabu they add in kunbu,don't know to make the soup tasty or what

oh yes van, sometimes i add in sweet potatoes too but not often cos books say eat sweet potato will have wind in the stomach.

anlee,

I've only added kelp in miso soups not in porridge.Should be very healthy since the japs live to ripe old age.I will try adding in porridge next time.

Van,

Didn't know CCK central has a female gynae.Thought there's only one Adrian Woodworth something at the 24 hr clinic.The clinic is so cramp and uncomfy..i will strike him out.

Amelia,
Can't remember the clicnic name of that female gynae,its a few shops away from 24hr clicnic.Her name is Dr Chia??,think I saw her name mentioned in this forum.

Dr Adrian Woodworth is my neighbour's gynae, she's with him for all her three children,she didn't complain anything.

No no amelia, don't add kelp in your porriage don't think it will be nice.
I use the spoon and blend kelp until very smooth to add in my baby porriage.
The miso soup kelp or seaweed is soft type but kunbu is dried very hard, jap add in to the soup think they didn't eat it.

amelia, my gynae was recommended by my hb friend,he's also ex-prime minister Mr Goh daughter in-law gynae.
My gynae will tell people off when put on weight. I remember i put on weigh everytime i sees him and he always keep stressing me cannot eat too much bla bla bla, i know he meant good for me but im pregnant what and im so stressed everytime i sees him.

amelia, my gyane was recommended by my colleague. as my office at orchard, and the gynae at Mount E so very conv.
I find comfortable with him so just carry on after the first one.

annlee got photo to show us?
that day i saw one kelp from Ntuc, very hard type and think really like a seaweed leave, the smell quite strong. I doubt my hb and son can take it so at the end didn't do anything with it.
Btw is it ok to take kelp during pregnancy?
dun know see from where like can't leh..

I tried the ABC pasta before, at first he was ok, but later no more liao... now only meat and rice, meat & rice.. sigh!
but i tried to introduce him spagathi, not tomato sauce, have to fried seperately. so far he ok with it.

tht day he sabo me, we went Ramen ramen then when i ask him what he want to eat? he said rice and meat. so becos of that i order rice set (imagine go ramen shop order rice...) meant for him. At the end he eat the Ramen so i got to eat the rice..

Hi everyone, I'm back! I've been catching up on my sleep - keep getting knocked out from 3 to 6 the past few days. I think I've finally slept enough cos' I got insomnia last night, haha!

Thanks for asking after me - my flu is still lingering, have the occasional sniffle and cough but am feeling pretty okay. Wah, so many posts - I can hardly keep up!

Hi annlee, like you, I prefer feeding my kids porridge cos' I can put lots of stuff in there and they'll just eat it all up! I've just logged into the Yahoo group but did not see your membership request. Could you try making the request again?

Hi Amelia, here are some of the things that I look for in a gynae: must be patient and explain things clearly to me - i.e. cannot treat me like an imbecile and have the "I'm a doctor so you should just listen to me and don't ask so many questions" type of attitude - that really puts me off! He/she shouldn't rush through the appointment and should always ask you if you have any other concerns or questions before ending the consultation. He/she must be thorough, detailed and careful and treat all medical complaints seriously and not brush them off as being "just your imagination". It's important that you can get along well with the gynae and feel comfortable and confident in him/her.

Hi choc, welcome back to cyber world! Hopefully your dd can get a place at the school of your choice - it'll be a pity not to be able to get in since it sooooo close by! Don't worry too much about the weight, like Soph said, it's only an estimation from the scan - just try to eat and rest more - the last time, my gynae always tell me to sleep on my left cos' blood flow to the placenta is optimal at that position.

Hi Van, thanks for sharing the pics! The kids look like they were having a ball of a time! It's a pity West Coast Park is a little too far for me! Wow, you really are a shopping queen! I've only bought stuff from Amazon once. Do you use the concierge service provided by vpost since quite a number of US shopping sites don't accept international credit cards?

Hi LittleCat, I'm also interested in planting herbs! But I don't have green fingers leh! Even the hardiest plant -the cactus, also die at my hands, haha! My hb managed to revive the basil that was wilting under my "care" and we have transferred it to my fil's garden cos' the pot was getting too small - hopefully it is thriving there, my fil's maid not very good at gardening

Hi sp, your sandwich sounds really healthy and yummy! I'm usually too lazy to cook the chicken myself - so I like to buy the ready-made ones at Cold Storage or Carrefour and shred them for sandwich or salad! Your oven toaster really value for money - you can cook so many things with it!

Hi starz, I guess we haven't "met" yet! I'm a sahm with 2 dds aged 5 and 2.5. Love to eat, like to cook but really hate washing up! Hope to get to know you better
Sorry to hear about your misadventure with the oven - hope you get over your phobia soon and start to enjoy using it!

annelise, glad to see you back !! :D
take care we miss u the cake si-fu leh!

choc, i miss your post, eh i heard eating durian baby will grow bigger, dun know how true leh.. i have been eating and recently they all say my stomach very big, not sure if is baby or me fat liao... u take care. like the rest say it is just estimation.
i heard a story, the gynae estimate the baby like normal size 3kg, at the end hor the baby is 4kg! super big type, amazing but it happen.

i luv petai!!!yes yes! told u b4, u must be my long lost sister!!! we luv hum, sambal, petai etc...

starz, eh the way u describe how u cook sounded u got potential to be a good cook. u check those good cook dun really need to weight or calculate the amount just agak-agak but it turns up well!

ameaila, putting on weight is normal, the range they give might not be accurate. i have a fren put on 18kg, after she give birth left about 5kg only. but of cos we dun encourage pg woman to eat non stop or eating lots of fatty stuffs...

Little Cat,

My hub's sis was also under a Mount E gynae.She gave birth when i was away so didn't get a chance to ask her much.
Not close to her either

This male/female gynae thing is stressing me out.I would prefer a female gynae, but on the other hand male gynaes are more meticulous.

Annelise,

So nice to see you!I love reading your anecdotes!It brightens up my day!

Yes, I am getting this imbecile treatment from my dermatologist.He's so annoying!I totally agree with you on the gynae criteria.I am not a pro-natural birth woman, meaning I wouldn't hesitate to use epidurals or go under the knife(as in c-sect) to make baby and myself feel comfortable.Any signs of distress, I would choose the easy way out.I would hate my gynae to force "his way" down my throat.Do you have a gynae to recommend me?

Amelia, my gynae is DR Chan kon hon from gleneagle.

Littlecat, no photo leh...don't know how to download the pic here.
Should be ok to eat seaweed during preggie cos i eat during preggie hee.....

Annelise, you finally here...hope you get well soon. I have send you another request, hear from you soon!

Amelia, me feel the same, i find this is a really special moment we want someone that understand us and be patience to us too.
my gynae is quite good, if u want i can PM u his contact.
i do have another female gyane name if u want can give u too, she is at glenaeagles.
cos my hb cousin recently tested postive, she only want female doc, so i check with my fren and got the name.
let me know.

hi annelise,
nice to "meet" u too... i'm a fulltime working mum-to-be.. baby boy due early Nov... will be fulltime working mum next time too.. LOVE to eat n cook too.. now pregnancy give me perfect excuse to eat... but getting worried abt too much weight-gain liaoz... "pulling handbrakes" on my food intake now...

littlecat,
hehehe.. i certainly hope to be a good cook.. but i think it just happens that i "learn" from my mum, by observing her.. n she doesnt follow any recipes either, just by "agar agar" so.....
u so good, still enjoying ur durians... i even controlling durians to once a month affair cos i put on too much weight liaoz... n i love durians so much.. nowadays try to avoid supermarkets n only go wet market on weekends...

hi amelia,
i'm seeing gynae from TMC (he got clinic at jurong point too), its a male doc, quite senior (abt 50+ or 60yrs old?).. i prefer male senior doctors cos they r experienced n patient.. my gynae quite "happy-go-lucky" type, very reassuring, maybe due to his "fatherly" or "grandfatherly" demeanour... i can ask questions freely, n not worried he will treat me like "imbecile".. if he's not rushing off to deliver, usually he see us for awhile, take his time to answer us also.. i never felt rushed when seeing him..
u got good news???

Hey Soph.. hahaha.. horizontal meditation is none other than sleeping ...
Gynae says if bb less than 2.5 or so, must induce !
I am also using all the hand me downs for no.3 , heehee, last time, very kan cheong over the first two, now I boh chap liao.. I just cut away the ribbons on the girls's rompers and give bb.. hehe.. so bad hor !

Hey Amelia,
I was with one male gynae in TMC also, he controlled my weight every month, very stressful.. now I'm with dr Joycelyn Wong at TMC, she's very friendly and personal and the consultation is about 45 mins..

annlee, yah.. seaweed and kelp is full of iron , good for the blood.. what's millet ?

Hey van, I store the sambal in the freezer, can last longer.. but with my two little ones, can't always cook pedas food, got to cook extra dish for them every time..
So, what other dishes have you tried using the thermal pot ?

Read from a cookbook that blended silver fish is used for the sambal chilli.

Hey anne,
I think the limau purut( lime) plant is quite easy to plant.. And it's very fragrant.. you can add the leaves in tom yum and curry. Each time I past by these plants, I would rub the leaves using my fingers and smell them..

Eh cat, instead of seeing doc fortnightly, I got to see her every week now.. just to monitor bb's wt.. I think all went to my hips and waist liao !

Choc,
I though horizontal mediation was eating too,ha ha!

My dd's birth weight is only 2.25kg, didn't induce leh?!

My ang has been travelling, so no chance to use BIG thermal pot so often,only cook soup. But I am tempted to try out Kong Bak in thermal pot after seeing the long Q at Xi Hu's stall at the food fair in Lot 1 last night.

Annelise,
I didn't use concierge service.I get around by emailing the merchant and got my credit card verified manually through fax.

Heard that adding VPOST address as billing address helps, for sites like Old Navy and Gap.Have added the biling address to my UOB card, but have not tried buying yet....cos "Money No Enough"mah! kekeke!

Starz,
Ya! What a small world. My other colleagues also see him.

initially i was abit concerned abt Dr Kee, due to the fact like nobody in this forum sees him... after seeing him for awhile now, i'm very comfortable with him liaoz...
somemore i invited him to be my JP during my ROM ceremony....

annlee, Amelia,
I got a pack of Jap kunbu in my larder, the kind that is dark green/brown and hard type. So I can just make a soup with it? Pregnant cannot take kunbu? My kunbu is the first one shown on Annelise's website.

Annelise,
Glad you are back! I think flu bug going around now... I have a friend who has a flu going on for 1 mth, then went for bloodtest, doc says it's some myoplasma thingy, a combi of virus and bacteria, and she's still on antibiotics after 1 mth now. Continue to take care and rest well!

Choc, LittleCat,
I also love petai. My favourite is the nasi lemak and sambal petai at Madam Kwan at KLCC! But eh... my ex-colleagues told me petai gives bad fart?

Choc,
haha... so my guesses on horizontal meditation were both wrong! Sleeping will put on weight? Must eat also! I've heard abt Annelise's gynae's point about sleeping on left side for more blood supply to baby. Also read somewhere that drinking more fluids will bring nutrients to baby more efficiently. Heard inducing less painful right? As in, no need to go through contractions?

starz, Van,
I just realised I already have a VPOSTUSA account and address all set up long ago, so now just going through some sites other than Amazon for my shopping.

amelia, email sent!

van thanks for the infant care link
seems like east side got more hor?

eh anyone got maid to recommend? like good transfer maid?

choc, dun like that leh, bully your boy..
but hor me also leh, since both same are boys, the 2nd one sure wear his brother's everything liao! even my elder one also get lots of 2nd/3rd hand clothes from frens & colleague etc..
choc, how much weigh u gained this time round?
u really kapok all the weight and nothing for him huh?

hi all mummies,
Need a little advice from you. Please don't laugh at me for being kiasu and buying these stuff now!

How do you guys roughly know what size you will be by 2nd & 3rd tri? I am going through some maternity websites online to buy stuff, but am not sure how much I will expand by 2nd or 3rd tri?

Eh, is it also too early to buy nursing tops now? Cos I just wanna consolidate shipment and don't wanna ship twice. How do I know waht size I will be by the time I give birth and start nursing?

van,
i have few options, still thinking...
1- to get the current auntie to look after the new born, then i will need a maid
2- no maid, send elder one to full day, 2nd one to infant care and order tingkat rice
3- quit after giving birth, no maid no auntie issue... only me a big issue...

the 3rd option abit 'sayang' cos after i go back to work (assuming feb, intend to extend few weeks), then work for 2 months got bonus. our bonus in April time, collect in May. somemore this year i got work very hard leh... expecting better bonus for my early retirement...

Sophie,
I might not be the right person to give advice cos I gave birth more than 5 years ago(forgot details liao), and I didn't "expand" much during the pregnancy,only ballooned after I gave birth.

But I remembered i shop for maternity twice, once during at end of 1st trimester, cos most of the clothes can't fit at the waist by then.

2nd time was half-way through, got a few more,I was a Size M then, so I bought Maternity Size M,based on what my friend taught me.

But did infact need to buy new bras a few times.Initially I just use a bra-extender to hook on, but later on ,i think I got 1 bra size and 2 cup size bigger by 3rd trimester.

Littlecat,
If you really want to quit, it's really Sayang to give up the bonus, especially if you would need the $$$ even more when you become SAHM.

2nd option is something I myself would consider, but will be heavy on the pocket and rather tiring,unless both are in the same childcare.PLUS,after sometime, you will be so sick of the tingkat food.

What about sending no.1 to childcare,get the current auntie to look after baby until you quit? Is this a possible option?

choc, millet is one of the grain that im using for my baby, is more nutritous than white rice, quinoa another one is good too.

sophie, yes that's the kunbu.

Van,
Thanks for the tips. I just measured myself... eh, bust size still the same although my bra is a bit tighter. Only thing is waist expanded by 2 inches. I'll prob follow like what you did - do one "batch" of shopping now, but limit to only a few pieces first. Will prob put the nursing wear on hold too.

LittleCat,
Your 3rd option of giving up the bonus very sayang esp. when you worked so hard. Van's last suggestion is a good option to tide things over.

annlee,
Thanks for the confirmation on the konbu. I'll see if I can make some soup out of it. Seems like most Jap recipes throw away the konbu after getting the stock out of it. Do you eat the konbu?

hi Van,
I just placed orders with 2 online shops using the VPOST USA shipping method. One of the shops says my order may be filled from multiple fulfillment locations. That's OK with VPOST too yeah?

Starz,

No lah I am not preggie.Checkup first then TTC.

JP for your ROM..Can tell you really like your gynae

Annelise, Annlee, Starz, Little Cat and Choc,

Thanks for all your emails and gynae recommendations!

I finally know who to look for.

Sophie,

You add the hard konbu(kelp) in water, bring it just to a boil then add miso paste and bonito flakes.The hard konbu is quite tough, don't think it will taste that good.

Sophie,
It's ok as long as you put in your VPOST account no.next to your name when you check-out.

Just that if there are multiple Sender/Shipper's Name(which differ from your original invoice/order),it may confuse the VPOST stuff,they don't know which invoice to match, but they will email you to inform you about that.

I just bought a packet of kelp two days ago from NTUC, they cut and tied into small pieces,and look softer and can be eaten.Will take a picture later and post it up.

Hi Van,
Thanks for the info on VPOSTUSA. I am qute excited... hoping to receive my shipment before the end of August!

Your kelp looks better and more edible than mine. Will go hunt for it in NTUC next time.

Hi Amelia,
Thanks for the info on the konbu. It does look quite hard and yucky next to Van's more appetising one... no wonder the Jap recipes all call for the stock to be strained and konbu to be thrown away.

sophie, i don't eat the kunbo but i let my baby eat it.

Van, double check the ingred with you on the sea coconut soup,- huaishan, dried longan, nanbei xing, wu hua guo, baihe, honey dates and i use dried sea coconut,how many sea coconut did you put? And did you add any pork or chicken in the soup?
My hb is going to have sore throat and always had it so making this soup hope it helps! Thanks!

sophie,
You should be able to receive your parcels BEFORE end of Aug,based or 3-5 days US shipping, about 3 days processing at VPOST(if they can match smoothly and all arrived at about same time ), and then 5-7 days from VPOST to Singapore.

annlee,
Yes I use lean pork to brew.If you are using dried sea coconut,what do you mean by HOW MANY sea coconut?

I think I used about $3 lean pork,Liang3 Qiang2 of sea coconut.

I didn't use honey dates,but used Dried Longan to sweeten instead...I copied Hong Kong's Ah Yee Liang Tong's recipe.

I brewed the soup for hb before he fly off to Bangakok as he has shown sign of having cough.Also brew some for myself last nite.I think it really helps.

van, previously i saw your fresh sea coconut comes in whole small pieces and tot is the same as dried one, just bought the dried one and they cut it into very thin slices. Your dried sea cocnut is it white in color?