Cooking Tips & Recipe

Starz,
Welcome here! So you will deliver in the same month as LittleCat? I love soups... the mummies here all provide very good recipes and ideas for soups, so I guess you'll join them soon

Van,
I like that website... haha, I signed up to take part in online surveys already, cos I wanna win that Gucci handbag

Your dd very funny... I'd like to see a pic of her with the blusher on her face! Eh, LittleCat, annlee, sons nowadays also play with lipsticks? I think I'll be super kan cheong if my son does that!

LittleCat,
I also heard about that before, that starting from 2nd trimester onwards, the food that you take "bu" the baby. Cos the doc says in the first trimester, the baby actually feeds off the nutrients from mummy's bones and blood, and only in 2nd tri will the food provide for the baby. That's why my gynae is not too concerned if the mummy doesn't put on too much weight in first tri.

Amelia,
I know what you mean... my cats also like to sink their claws into me when they get too comfy, like a kneading action. My cat book says this is because when they are kittens, they do this to their mummies when sucking the milk, so it's a "comfort action" for them. Yeah, you can check with vet about your scratch... can ask vet if there is any symptoms that you yourself should look out for.

LittleCat,
haha.... this picture is funny! Woah, even from a side profile, your son's eyelashes very pretty and fluttery, like he's already put mascara, and now just putting on the final touches of the lipstick! Eh, quite a sturdy-looking boy too!

Van,
You're probably right about the chicken rice being too oily. I just looked at a recipe, and they use garlic too, so the oil + garlic probably caused my stomach to produce tons of gas which caused the discomfort. But don't dare to drink tea leh... I drank lots of tea during my last pregnancy, so tea is a "bad memory" food for me.

Suddenly got craving for Peking Duck! Also oily, but maybe wait till I'm better then will eat it. Anyone knows where there is good and reasonably-priced Peking Duck?

sophie,
wah, yr link very yummy leh, I also drool
kao_drool.gif

I enjoyed looking at the Asian Ingredients Guide section, very educational & I realise there are so many things I don't know how to use or cook with... some maybe eat before but don't know what it is, hehehe.

Hope u will be able to satisfy yr cravings soon...

little cat,
wah, u so bad, take pic of yr "pretty" son & post here for all of us to see, hahaha...

annlee,
hahaha, yr son so clever so young already know how to act...

starz,
welcome! looking fwd to yr soup-soup recipes...

sp,
I like the recipe section, especially the Thai one, cos it's contributed by a Thai chef, and the Tom Yum is the authentic clear soup kind found mostly in Thailand, not the Tom Yum seasoning kind which gives a orangey-colored base.

Hi kakis,
I feel like persuading my hubby to buy a wok. I remember Choc said her sis bought an anodised wok from Tangs and it can even roast chicken. I've seen their promos before, very impressive (can make very think crepes), but also very expensive at $200+ I think. Any advice on buying a wok? My criteria are:
- need to be deep enough to steam stuff cos I don't have a steamer
- no teflon cos dh will grumble about the toxicity of teflon
- preferably non-stick so easier to handle (but a bit difficult since no teflon?)
- light and easy to handle

Appreciate your input if you have any!

Littlecat,
I found the Dou Su at Shop n Save in Bt Gombak! It's not display with all those sauces, but it's with the pickled Cai Xin instead.

Didn't know boys would also play with make-up.Worst I've heard of is my nephew and nieces cutting their fringe like my dd.One of my nephew shave 1 side of his eyebrow when he was young.

Sophie,
I signed up too... also because of the bag!

Visited the website you mentioned.Wah, got lots of Asian recipes.Also like the Asian Ingredients part.Was searching the website last nite for Thai Basil's picture.Read Thai Spare Ribs recipe in Chinese newspaper last nite.Easy to prepare but time consuming,and they use Thai Basi(Jin1 Bu4 Huan4).

Will share it here.Whoever try it out do let us know the result.With picture will be even better,ha ha!

Thai Fried Spare Ribs (4-6 servings)

Spare Ribs(Prime Ribes)-2 kg
Chopped Garlic
Sugar
Thai Fish Sauce
Soya Sauce
Lemon Grass,minced
Spring Onion
2 tbsp water
pepper 1 tbsp

1) Add all seasoning to spare ribs,marinate for 2hrs.

2) Boil water, steam the seasoned spare ribs for 2hrs till tender.Leave aside.
3)Fried spare ribs till golden brown.
4)put some fried garlice slices and Thai basil on top before serving.

Starz,
My dd is 5 1/2 yrs old.Probably becos last week when she sprayed my new perfume on her head, until the whole room filled my perfume scent,I didn't scold her.So she is getting very bold, and now wanted to explore with other stuff.

Annlee,
When my girl want to ACT like doing cleaning, I'll give her a wet cloth and ask her to help me to wipe tables,chairs and her toys. She got her Pretend-Play and I got someone to share my housework load!

Sophie,
I have got TWO of the anodised wok from Tangs.One big and one medium. It's good, can even "bake"cake,pop pop-corn and roast chicken in it.I also use it to cook chilli crabs.But it's not non-stick.

There is another type also anodised,but with a non-stick coating on top.Not sure if it's Teflon coated.

starz,cantonese is very good in making soup,can share some recipe?

sophie,im also looking for a good wok.The teflon on my wok got some stretches i think it will produce toxic right?A good wok is it those kind make of iron,very heavy,my MIL is still using now cos she's health-conscious type and very traditional person. But very heavy and is non stick.

Any good recommendation mommies?

Van,
TWO woks? *faint*
Your kitchen must be very big! hmm... I'm surprised the anodised wok is not non-stick, cos the auntie at Tangs says it's got no coating but is non-stick as long as we "season" it well. hmm... I think when I got energy, I'll go there to take a look... but dh sure say soooooo expensive, and no electrical functions for that price!

Sophie,
The medium one can stack on top of the big one mah!Still need only 1 wok space lah! But I put a kitchen cloth in between to "protect"the wok.

I bought my woks in 2001,it's been 5 years already.I think it should have no problem lasting for another 5 years.So divide that price by 10...

The promoter told me it's not non-stick, but if you heat it up long enough, and wait until the oil is hot enough before putting in any ingredients, it will not stick so badly.

Non-stick ones not advisable to put steaming rack in it, will scratch the coating,but some comes with a steaming tray which you can place on top of the work.

morning ladies...

littlecat, ur little boy so cute.. hehehe.. he muz have seen u doing that often then copy ur actions right...

about woks, can i add my 2cents worth..

i just bought a 40cm wok from OG, the brand is U-like.. i bought it with my mum who approved of the wok cos its very "thick" n heavy enough.. she's very good with frying fish (with very little oil, n can get the fish to be so crispy that we finish the entire fish bones and all)... so if she approves it, it must be good lor..

BUT she told me, NEVER use the wok that you want to fry stuff to steam stuff... cos the steaming would actually "spoil" the quality of the wok, and the next time u fry, the food will stick to the wok..

when i bought the wok, they were having a promo.. free gift of either the "xue3 di2 zi3", a smaller frying pan, or a steamer...also got free recipe book... the promoter at OG also helped me "prepare" the wok, by heating it up, n wiping a layer of oil..
i think they also have "counter" at ck tangs...

annlee,
I think is Tiger.My friends also bought with me, also happy about it.We refer it as our Tiger Woks.

Didn't notice Taka has it.But Taka has other types of anodised woks, even Titanium ones.

wow, thanks for all the input on woks!

One more question: are these "anodised" woks made of iron, aluminium or stainless steel?

I know aluminium ones are lighter, but I heard long-term use of aluminium causes dementia. Van mentioned Titanium ones... I'm sure those are light and good, but they'd be the Rolls Royce of woks... don't think I can afford

Van, so since yours is not the non-stick ones, you use it to steam stuff? Or do you use a separate steamer?

Starz, I saw your wok! It's here on
http://www.og.com.sg/og-accessories2.htm
It's only $49? or my eyes playing tricks on me?

Van, i really know nothing about wok, what is the different between anodised and titanium wok?

Do you think taka other types of brand is good too or Tiger woks? Cos i got taka voucher hee... but if Tiger is still the best then i might get one at TANGS.TIA!!

starz,your wok at 30%disc is it at TANGS?

Sophie,annlee,
Tiger is the first one to introduce anodised wok in Singapore.By now, I supposed other brands have already catch up, and can make equally good, if not better anodised woks.

I actually did suft the net regarding anodised woks before I finally decided on investing in it.

I use it to steam stuff quite often, until I got a 3-layer stainless steel steamer.After which I only use my steamer and don't use wok to steam,unless I need to steam a big fish which can't fit into my 26cm steamer.

Do a seach on "anodised" should be able to get lots of info about it.

about soups hor, actually they are very simple to make.. i'm not sure if these are authentic cantonese soups or not.. its just what i take at home..

the first n my favourite one..

Raddish & "Green carrot" soup
(hehe.. i'm not sure of the exact name, but this is direct translation from the chinese name. this soup is "cooling". early in my pregnancy, my mum forbid me to drink this..)

Spare ribs or "Bah tau" - I buy from market and tell the uncle i want S$5
1 pc Raddish (or "bai2 luo2 bo2") - choose a slightly "bigger" piece
1 pc "Green carrot" (or "qing1 luo2 bo2") - pretty standard size
optional ingredients - dried scallops abt 5-8pcs
Water quantity - about 4 big soup bowls (approx 3l)

I use those metal pots that we can buy from neighbourhood stores to boil soups.. these pots usually come in light yellow (or sometimes light green) colour exterior, white colour interior...

Bring the water to boil,
add in spare ribs/bah tau (remove fat n cut into smaller pieces during cleaning)
boil for about 20-30mins
Peel "skin" off the raddish n green carrot, n cut into smaller pieces.. add into boiling water
using higher heat boil the soup for about 30mins (be careful of boiling over, leave cover half open n monitor)
(if want to add dried scallops, add in about 10mins before reducing the heat)
reduce heat to low and simmer for about 1-2hrs.. the longer u simmer, of course the more "ru wei"..

that's all folks... hehehe... we don't add seasoning to our soups at all...
some people add carrots to this soup, but it actually "counteracts" the cooling properties of this soup.. so i don't.. n the taste actually comes out different too..

sophie,
the wok in the website doesnt quite look like the one i have leh... i try n take photo of my wok tonite n post here lor...
but hor, why this one also 40cm but so cheap.... hhmmmm..........
the one i bought supposedly original px was $239 or $249 leh....
kao_confused.gif

starz,
You must learn from your mum how she fried fish with little oil yet still can make it so crispy, then teach us leh!

annlee,sophie,
I think it would be good to check out those stick-resistant,abrasion-resistent anodised wok.

<font color="aa00aa">The Hard Anodization process alters &amp; hardens the structure of the cookware surface, making it incredibly abrasion resistant
Twice as hard as Stainless Steel
Combines the best attributes of a very hard surface treatment with the quick-even heat transfer of aluminum
The process seals the aluminum preventing any direct contact between the core &amp; food. Hard Anodized Cookware allows heat to quickly &amp; evenly spread across the bottom &amp; up the sides of the pot making it one of the best cooking surfaces available</font>

<font color="0000ff">ANODIZED ALUMINUM COOKWARE
The anodization process hardens the surface of aluminum cookware making it non-stick, scratch-resistant and easy to clean. Manufacturers claim that a final stage in the anodization process seals the aluminum, preventing any leaching into food. This cookware doesnt react to acidic foods, so these pots and pans are top choices for cooking rhubarb and sauces with tomato, wine and lemon juice.</font>

starz,
Thanks for the offer of the pic. If it's too troublesome, don't stress yourself over it

oooohhh.... I love crispy fish... can eat up all the fine bones and fins too! You have to tell us her secret.

Van, thanks for the info. I think I'll let dh do the analyzing, cos study Materials Engineering before, so he better do it, else I'll kok his head

OK, gotta go make my lunch now! Talk to you guys later!

Van, many thanks to you! But i still very blur...all i want is a no toxic wok. I like your wok, can bake cake and roast chicken iirc

hehe... okay, i go check out my mum's secret to the fish..
i guess one factor is the type of fish, we always eat pomfret only... depending on the thickness, those not too think ones really can eat until left the skeleton...

but recommendation on good place to go for deep fried fish ar..
1. Jalan Besar, near the stadium/swimming pool - i think the restaurant can "Lai Huat", sambal fish. they deep fry the fish n top with sambal "he bi hiam"... very delish!!! i also always order the pomfret, n 1 vege, its enough to pig out liaoz....
2. Coffee shop at St George Road (behind Blk 1). the "deep fry soon hock" is reli good too... remember to ask them to do it extra crispy n u can eat the bones too...

starz,
Is the Jalan Besar sambal fish the one that's a little far in from the main road? i.e. you have to walk into a side street and it's at some small junction opposite a car park? Cos I've seen it before passing by, and can smell the yummy sambal, but not sure if that's the Lai Huat you are talking about?

Annelise,
Haven't seen you for 2 days... hope your fever has subsided?

Choc,
Don't get too busy with the moving... rest well in Timbuctoo!

Cripsy fish wow my fav! i like to eat the head and those corner corner one , dun really like fillet.

sophie, i like peking duck too! miss the Crystal jade one! the other day had buffet at mandarin, the roast turkey skin also yummy!

Anyone try making the Roll cake b4? swiss roll type, any tips?

starz have u got a name for your boy-boy yet?

my sister choc, have u think of a name already?

Annelise, hope u r feeling better.

eh lyn, busy with baby ? how r u and how's baby?

paiseh, ya, Lai Huat is a coffee shop not restaurant.... i got telephone number even if anyone interested... hehe.. cos i usually call n "book" a bigger fish if i going with alot of people...

peking duck i don't know where have.. but crispy duck (eat with popiah skin n cucumber n a sauce) one.. i always go to Punggol Seafood, near Changi Prison there... the half duck is $18, whole duck is $32 i think... very crispy n nice too...some smaller bones is crunchy n can be eaten... (see i so greedy until eat bones...)

hehehe... seems like i'm more of a "foodie", than a cook....

littlecat,
we did go thru some names.. n narrowed down a few names to pick from.. but will decide when he's actually born.. chinese name i'll bring his birth time etc to see those geomancer lor....

i'm going home for dinner soon liaoz... my mummy say tonight got fried fish... hehe, just nice..

Little Cat,

I PMed you the link to my cat album.I haven't taken any new pics yet.She's very dark..ppl may say she's bad luck so not posting here.

Sophie,

We'll be bringing her to the vet tomorrow night.Hope she doesn't scream all the way there and back like the last time:p

Amelia,
Dark cats are bad luck? Thought that is only a Western belief cos of the witches? I don't believe in that... I love black cats... their coats are so lovely &amp; glossy, and they look like elegant panthers! Can email me your cat album link too?

LittleCat,
You are truly a meow!
I didn't know Crystal Jade has Peking Duck... will go check it out next time.

starz,
Hehe, you are quite a foodie... know where all the good food are! Thanks for the recommendation on crispy duck.

Sophie,

Emailed you the album link.
I had my cat pic as my msn icon for a while then someone was repulsed by it and she didn't even bother to hide it.Saying she wouldnt come to my house even if i invited her..full of drama lah.I don't want to go through all that again.

Been wanting to ask you whether you are/were seeing a TCM specialist.I came across this book called Chinese Natural Cures at Popular.Very tempted to get it.I am very keen to nourish my body for baby making.

Your gynae is very well-know in this forum.
Will check him out along with some other recommended ones.

Sophie,
Can you PM me your gynae's contact too? My friend has been TTC since 1999, still no good news yet.

Amelia,
Your friend very "dramatic",so "Ban Tang" about the black cat?Couldn't believe it!

Littlecat,
I made swiss roll before,very troublesome,must quickly roll it up while it's still hot.

Hi Amelia,
I saw Sally... she's very pretty and not that dark, as least not as dark as my small cat. In fact, Sally is not black, she is brown, and a lighter brown than my cat. Don't take your friend's comments to heart!

Have replied you in email regarding the other issues, cos I think it may not be so appropriate to discuss those topics here in "Cooking Tips"

Hi Van,
I'm not sure if my gynae is a fertility specialist, but I know for sure he is a high-risk pregnancy specialist. But no harm for you to check him out in forums and decide for yourself.

And no harm keeping his contact even if your friend may not want to see him now, cos if she does get pregnant after such a long time, she may want to see a high-risk specialist to protect the precious pregnancy.

Have PM-ed you!

Thanks Sophie.Your gynae has a thread dedicated to him in this forum!

There is this thread which we used to talk about anything under the sun,though it has quiet down for a period of time,but is alive again.

Link:
Stay At Home Mums-Temporary Holding Place

Not only Stay-at-home-mums, FTWM,PTWM,WFHM are also welcome to join.

We used to have a long list of "registered" members.Carole has just spring cleaned the list last night, removing those that are inactive for many months,and adding in new members who have just joined.

thx Amelia, will take alot at the album.
to me black cat looks more elegant.
aiyoh why they so superstitious? for us in singapore if pan-tang here and there, can't do anything liao... somemore we eastern+western type.
i stay at 13floor, ang moh will think is bad luck, but if u use cantonese to pronouce is quite good what hor?

sophie, haha that's why i am 'little cat' mah :D
eh about the peking duck, pai seh i forgot is Crystal jade or the rival - Nan-Bei (Imprerial Treasure) at 4th floor opp Cj.

i keep eating and eating cos the rest said worry high cholestral.. guess i will become garfield pretty soon...

starz, can PM me your geomancer name? i think this time i will get them to pick a good name.
My elder son, every time when he sick, the auntie will blame that due to his name no good so always sick....
another result of people too pan-tang... sigh...

morning ladies...

hehehe, i bought a flat in the block opposite my mum's place mah, not more than 100 steps away.. thats y everynite can go back for homecooked food.. my hubby works late 3-4 nites a week.. if not for mum, i'll be eating out almost everyday, i think i will die....

the secret to really crispy fish according to my mum is PATIENCE... she says she spends up to 1hr per fish in order to get it that crispy..
the trick is, heat the wok with higher heat till its dry, add abit of oil... when the oil is hot, reduce the heat to very small, then put in the fish... give it sometime to be thoroughly cooked before turning over.. do it for both sides.. (also when the fish is completely cooked, it won't stick to the wok) only after you see the fish completely cooked, then get the heat to slightly higher (but still not too high), to get the fish to become "chao tar"... of cos not reli let it be black colour lah... monitor lor..

Check out this cup cake site for ideas of "dolling"up the cup cakes.

http://www.c-cup.biz

This site which has a BP going on in this forum also not bad:

<a href="http:/wwww.roomfordessert.com.sg/cupcakes.htm" target="_blank">
http://www.roomfordessert.com.sg/cupcakes.htm</a>

Starz,
Thanks for checking out with your mum regarding tips of crispy fish!

i want to ask question about the bake / grill chicken recipe from earlier hor...
when you stuff carrots n onions etc into the cavity, do you boil / cook the carrots n onions first, or just put it in raw???
i'm intending to prepare it this weekend.. thought of asking first, dont "gey kiang" anyhow do.... hehehe....

littlecat,
i get the geomancer info from my girlfren first, then let you know....

i pm you the photos lah, paiseh to post it liaoz... hehehe..

I'm making this chicken soup for tonight, i know this from the show DA CHANG JIN while she's preparing the ingred for the soup for their emporia.

Ingredient:
One chicken ( i put 2chicken bones and 1 breast meat cos we can't finish the whole chicken)
garlic,7-8 pieces
ginger,5 slices
spring onion,2 stalks
black fungus
Egg( i skip the egg as i prefer to have clear soup)
salt

Put all ingred except black fungus and egg into crockpot for 2hrs or can use thermopot.

Cook the black fungus and egg for 10mins when about to eat, garnish with some chop spring onion.