Cooking Tips & Recipe

if want the meat still be soft and nice, can try prime ribs (xiao-pai-gu) to make the soup.

only thing is that the price of prime rib is on the high side lah

Hi amelia,
Don't think the dessert is to reduce heat, is good for the skin(beauty),lung,brain etc.. i forgotten to add another ingred for the dessert which is nan/bei almond.

I know kailan stem from my MIL, is a very fat stem not those kailan veggie, i think the stem is only good for soup it suppose to be very good for the body loaded with vit.
Don't know the sweetness from the soup is from the stem or meat or xiang pa pian cos add too much stuffs but it bring out a very nice veggie smell.

Hi van,
Will check it up with the veggie store uncle for fen ge, thanks!

Thanks for sharing the recipes, annlee and chua_ family.

I got urge to bake carrot cake, anyone got idiot-proof recipe?

Carrot Cake:

(A)
220g Butter
80g Margarine
200g sugar
1/8 tsp salt

(B)
4 eggs
1/4 tsp vanillar essence

(C)
240g Flour
1 tsp baking powder

(D)
80g Gound Hazelnuts (Can be found at Phoon Huat/Giant,can be replaced with ground almonds)
1/8 tsp cinnamon powder (can omit if don't like smell of cinnanmon)

(E)
150g grated carrots
Zest of 1 lemon

Method:

Preheat oven at 180C.

1. Cream (A) till light,add (B) a little at a time(so that the batter won't curdle) , and cream until light and smooth.

2. Fold in sifted (C) and (D),mix till well blended.

3. Add in (E) and mix well.

4. Bake in greased and lined 9" round pan at 180C for 50min.

annlee,
no lah, coincidentally i have some of the info only lah.

Sp,

There is ICING TOPPING for the carrot cake, but I find it too sweet for my liking.My relatives also don't like too sweet cakes,so I always cut down sugar, or skip icing.

ICING FOR CARROT CAKE:
200g Icing sugar
30g butter
1 1/2 tbs lemon juice
zest of 1 lemon.

Van,
thanks again for the icing recipe.

actually I also don't like too sweet cakes, so maybe won't put the icing.

I hv a confession to make: last weekend I tried making double recipe for the banana walnut muffin but I put less sugar and more flour + tried to bake longer. In the end the muffins were hard, burnt at the bottom and dry. Failed miserably.

Van,
can check with u, if I want to reduce fat or sugar or both, how many % can I reduce without spoiling the whole recipe? Should I use any substitutes? What would be good substitutes? I really love to eat cakes but it's usually high fat & high sugar, must control...

Hello ladies, howdy ? miss yakking with you all !

Just came back from Timbuctoo.. my sis' place in Tampines.. cos my girls started Term 3 there, and we are all bunking there. My sis' comp is down with virus and I was so bored that I was busy dusting cobwebs from my body these few days!

Wah van, your makan trip to HK very enjoyable huh?
My ang might be going there soon, but I asked him to plan aft I give birth.. if I do go, you must tell me where to PIGOUT !

Lyn, your bb so cute, with big eyes !Are you going to shave him botak ? My out laws wanted both my girls head shaved, so that more hair will grow.. aiyoh..
What other conf food have you been eating ?

Hey anne, I'm back here ..

Yo cat, where have you meowed to ?

Thanks for the carrot cake recipe, I love ang moh carrot cake too !

These few days, my sis' maid and I have been cooking..

Here's using the thermal cooker to cook ang moh pumpkin soup ( for those who like pumpkins) :

Mash boiled pumpkin, keep some of the pumpkin stock.
Boil a can of cream of chicken in the thermal pot with small bits of ham, add the pumpkin stock
Add mashed pumpkin into cream, and boil further..
Add dried parsley, pepper for seasoning ..
( To cut down on boiling time, put inner pot into thermal cooker for 1-2 hrs_)
Best eaten with baguette

Cheers !

Hey annlee,

just to kpo .. my girls and I like the xiang luo pian aft boiling the soup.. it is chewy.. and a bit kiam

Choc,
So Glad to see you back. Was wondering why you MIA.Thought you go deliver liao.

So are you at your own house now? or your mum's.?

Jul's Women's Weekly got a few nice recipes,will be scanning it into jpg/pdf file.Will then post it up. But already posted the Oxtail stew recipe in the SPMCTR Group.

I love pumpkin! Chinese style with hae bee, and ang mo cream of pumpkin soup. In Hong Kong, I ordered a Vegetarin Pumpkin Curry dish, it's quite nice,the curry they used is the Japanese style curry.

Cat and Sophie, where are you?

sp,
I don't have any fixed guidelines, but usually I won't cut more than 50g sguar(also depends on the total sugar/flour/egg combo) for cakes,cos I read that it will affect the output if we anyhow cut down too much.

If you reduce sugar, don't add more flour or bake longer.Just stick to the original baking time,testing method.

annlee,
If you like chewy food( I love chewy food!) you will like the Xiang Luo Pian.

Yo van, we are back in our own house, doing some weekend packing.. next week going for 2nd appt to surrender keys.
How's your dd ?
I like pumpkin, but my ang doesn't like .. think only ladies like it more !

Which mag has more recipes ? Simply Her or Women's weekly ?

Also made curry batang fish yesterday using Baba's curry powder.. and we added some pineapples, was very nice.. Think it'll be more power to add sour mangoes in... yumm..

Choc,
My ang also doesn't like pumpkin,strange,seems a lot of men don't like it.

I didn't buy Simply Her, but Women's Weekly has enough write-ups and recipes to keep me buying every month.

My dd still complain on-and-off about thigh pain,ankle pain.This time round arms painful from too much golf with her dad.

Have tried curry with pineapples, but never try with sour mangoes leh.

So you going to shift house liao? Don't move the furnitures or heavy boxes hor, take care.

choc and van, thanks for the reply.
My hubby tried the cooked xiang luo pian and say is chewy,not bad...and i say WAIT... don't eat that first,let me check it out whether is it edible or not.
Ok now i allow him to eat.

Choc,

I havent read Women's Weekly so it's difficult to compare.

Simply Her has plenty of recipes monthly( more than 20 for July).Layout is clean and modern;a good mix of fashion, beauty, health, tech and home.Quite a good mag for $3.50.I will scan the recipes for july...no energy to type that many.

Annlee,

You mean fat kailan stem isn't from kailan veggie?I thought they come as one then you separate them..

Amelia, is not the kailan veggie with thin stem with leaves, is one big stem with a few leaves on top of the stem, only one big fat stem,normally i will buy two stems for the soup or you try to ask your veggie store owner to see whether they have it or not. They seldom have this veggie in the market but when i see it i will grab some back

What is "xiang luo pian"?

Choc,
I "bu she de" to shave him botak leh... I like his hair... :p
I eat a lot of stir fry vegetables with sesame oil and ginger. Vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower, kailan...

Van, Sp,
Yes, too little sugar will make the cake cannot rise properly.

Annlee,
I like the kailan stem very much too
Stir fry it and it tastes very nice...

Van,my MIL also say kailan stem is good to have when im doing confinement.

Lyn,I have not try stir fry before always with soup, will try it one day!

hello cooking kaki! good morning everyone !

I am back. I took one week off, stay at home do nothing... but it is a good break for me & hubby esp after the office incident. now dragging my feet to work liao... sigh.. counting down my days till the maternity leave.

Hi Lyn, wow your son is super cute!!! so i can imagine mummy must be very pretty too, eye big big!
glad u r enjoying every moment of it!

van, aiyoh sliva everywhere liao lah... eh just curious how much is the abalone ? looks so yummy!!!

choc, that's a good idae, plan a trip to HK after we delivered!

annelise, how u feeling now?

we went for the Superman show yesterday, my boy was so excited when he see the superman, but those scene without superman he will be sian sian walk around the stairs. he ask me why superman didn't wear glasses, will he beat the bad guys ? luckily he didn't ask me why superman wear his underpants outside.. :p

Hello LittleCat!

Finally see you back!!! So many of you MIA for so long...

Must be enjoying yourself during the break?! Did you cook everyday during your break?Enjoying lots of Hum?

Now we still have Sopie MIA,may be she go for holiday?

Can't remember how much is the Abalone Siew Mai, may be around HK$68-78.The picture look big, but the whole siew mai and the abalone is actually quite small.

Wah.. abalone siew mai ! tim sum in Australia very nice too ..The HK chefs make very yummy timsum there and not forgetting their viet food..
so next time, if you all tour oz, don't forget their tim sum..
and maybe you can book their campervan if you want to self-drive with your ang, the campervan has a stove, oven, grill, microwave, fridge and they are spotlessly clean ! Can do cooking in the van and lay your table outside to makan ! Eating spicy food during winter is.. shiok..hehe.. sorry to digress to tour..

Hey van, yah.. shifting maybe end july.. my packing is almost 8899 liao.. yesterday.. cleared my fridge, some half used sauces got to buang and some got to go ot my sis fridge which is almost bursting too ! yah.. will be careful not to carry heavy boxes.

Eh cat, I also mia last week.. went to Timbuctoo.. no internet access. You better liao boh ? Take it easy hor.. You r in 2nd tri right, wah.. can go tour tour abit first hor ?

hey annlee,
Sometimes, NTUC has the kailan stems, if you really can't find them, chinatown market sure have ..

Eh lyn, what've you been eating for breakfast ? I ate roti the last time.. heard from my aunt that during conf, can't eat roti.. something inside the body will "fa".. haha.. I only know my waistline will fa..
Think I won't shave bb's head also lah..

Xiang luo pian is dried conch, macham a kind of big sea shell.. mine is cubed form.. the one they sell in Fu hua is sliced up, dried ones..
It adds sweetness to soups..

Hey Amelia, I bought Simply Her also, this issue got all the one pot dishes like glutinous rice.. and also local delights like laksa, mee siam,..
There was a laksa recipe in yesterday's life section.

Went to Fu Hua and Eu Yan Sang in CCK Lot 1,can't find Xiang Luo Pian. Also thot of buying dried sea coconut(good for lungs and cough), since didn't see fresh ones in market nowadays, but can't find dried one also.

hey van,
I bought mine from De Xing at chinatown, opp Eu Yan seng.. the cubed dried ones..

Soph mentioned that she looked for it in FH, but only managed to get the dried sliced ones.. think it looks like dried abalone.
Did you buy any dried stuff from HK, heard that they are good and cheap.. A friend bought a roast goose back ..

What colour is the sea coconut? Brown one is it ? The ones they sell in the dessert stall ?Didn't see in market before leh.. I only saw the round white translucent ones. How to cook huh ?

MIL says luo han guo also good to dissolve phlegm. First crush the dried LHG, then boil in water for half an hr, to let out the sweetness, then add chrysanthemum.. Off fire.. ready to drink. But, the taste a bit kam (siap siap)

Choc,

I couldn't even find the dried sliced ones in FH here.May have to go other smaller Chinese Medicine Shops in Teck Whye to buy.

I didn't get any dried stuff from HK, don't know how to choose,don't want to kenna Tok Cai Tao. Last year, we brought a roast goose back also, but I didn't eat it,gave the whole goose to my MIL.Heard that it's very Fat!

The fresh sea coconut I saw at wet market is white.The dried ones may be light brown color.

Recipe for Sea Coconut Soup:

Sea coconut Yi4 Liang3
Nan Xin and Bei Xin(less of Bei Xin)
Wu Hua Guo 6pcs
ginger 1 slice
Lean Pork about 600g
6 bowl of water.

Add salt to taste.

The one I drank in HK used fresh sea coconut,Huai Shan,Qi Zi, Dried Longan,lean pork and pcs of black chicken.

Good for Yang3 Yan2 and Zhi3 Ke2.

Littlecat,
Welcome back! We miss you leh...
hee... So far, I am enjoying
This morning, my boy cried, I also can laugh... hahaha.. cos he pulled his own hair and cried... so funny... Wish I got a camera ready to capture that... lol...

choc,
oops... cannot eat roti ah? Every morning, I will eat wholemeal bread, or oatmeal. I know bread is no good, cos will "fa" when inside our tummy cos contain yeast. And no good for our digestive system. Wholemeal one better than white bread

Van,
I love sea coconut.. kekeke... I used to sliced sea coconut and make a drink with "chin chow"...

Choc,
Fresh sea coconut is translucent or white... those brown ones at dessert stall is becos of the added sugar and honey. If the shell not removed and brown, means not very fresh already...

Oh.. that thing i saw is the sea coconut ! Can it be eaten fresh from the market ?
Thanks for the recipe van .

Hey lyn, haha.. you must be having a good laugh aft seeing the funny sight huh ?
Yah.. I like wholemeal bread and oats too.. My friends have beehoon soup, kuey teow soup for breakfast.. I find it quite jeh lat aft a while..

see you ladies soon, going off to Timbuctoo!

Hi, is the fresh sea coconut same as the green coconut selling at the fruit store?

I usually buy my dried stuff and bugis,si ma lu near kuan yin miao(temple).
They have alot of stuff and is cheap too, i bought my xiang luo pian from there.
Do drop by there if in bugis area.

Choc,

Yeap yeap!Lots of recipes in this issue!The veggie pot and char kway teow appeal to me.I like one pot meals, saves time.

Van,

You tried the medical hall at yew tee mrt?It's on the small side but they should carry common herbs.I like the wet market here...can't say the same for ntuc though..

Annlee,

It's near OG bugis? Sorry, I have very poor sense of direction.

Amelia,yes is near OG bugis.
Is at Blk 271 on the 2nd floor,i go to dragonhorse to buy dried stuff.

Amrlis,
I found my Xiang Luo Pian and dried sea coconut at Yew Tee. Took photo but can't upload cos my PC Monitor is spoilt. Alwasy black out after a few seconds, very troublesome. In fact, I am typing in the dar, then on the monitor again for a few seconds,keep doing this. Dun know is it Monitor retire or virus.Won't be able to log in again until the monitor is fixed or get a new one.

Where do you stay? I like the wet market at Yew Tee too,but the NTUC is really too small.

Van,
hope u get yr new monitor asap, so troublesome to keep on off like that.

re: ang moh carrot cake
last nite tried making a low fat version, 1 cup of flour only require 1oz of oil. the texture is very heavy but can eat lah. never thought it would work, hehe. was thinking if it didn't turn out I'll try yr recipe next time.

choc, little cat, amelia,
great to see u all again! miss u all so much...

re: one pot meals
looking fwd to the recipes...

annlee,
I also go to those shops above the hawker to buy when I am there...
"sea coconut" is "hai di ye"

choc,
hahaha.. you are so funny... When will you be back from Timbuctoo??

Annlee,

Ok thanks
Will check it out when I go bugis.

Van,

I am at 684C, one of the blocks along the canal.

sp,

Will scan the recipes but it may take a while.

I'm cooking green carrot soup today recipe from ellenaguan,i skipped the cordycep and huaishan and put dried scallop hope it will be nice without them.

Can someone tell me is tian qi and tian ma is the same thing?

amelia,
thanks, let us know when the recipes are ready.

last nite made sweet potato dessert, quick and easy, hehe.

Sweet potato dessert
sweet potatoes - remove skin and cut into chunks
ginger - remove skin, slice or smash
water
sugar

1. boil sweet potatoes and ginger in water till cooked
2. add sugar to taste
3. serve hot or cold

annlee, tian qi and tian ma is not the same.
i know tian qi for tie-da thing and tian ma last time i took for headache.
But it is always better to check with the medical hall people, they know best which one is good for what.

Have u gals try the Ramen Ramen at Bukit Timah?
My hb luv it so much, we went there on thursday and sunday. Then he is asking me to go again this weekend... i scan around liao the restaurant no pretty girl, so must be the food! :D

hi lyn anymore update from your baby ? more photos ? and story to tell ?
hehe miss that.
Choc soon is our turn

van i went to the Prime supermarket that day can't find the dou-su leh
will try again another day.

Like to read the post on food receipe, thanks for sharing

Would like to ask any suggestion on making soup using wolfberries(gou3qi2zi3) for babies?

Hi LittleCat,

HaHa...u so funny!If he's want to see pretty girls,don't think he will ask u along.He just want his pretty wife to enjoy gd foods.

Yes Lyn,any update pic of your boy?

Hi SP,

which type of sweet potatos did u use?Heard that the red skins ones(fm Japan) more sweeter.Thinking of cooking this with green beans too.

the weather nowsdays very hot,cannot tahan liao!Boil some liang cha to drink yesterday.
I saw market selling water chestnut & somethings like 'sugarcane'at the veg stalls.Anyone knows how to cook these?Or any other recipes to share to cook for hot days?
I'm into baking breads now.I've try to bake ham & hotdogs buns last Sat using Ellena blog recipe.
http://ellenaguan2.blogspot.com/2006/06/homemade-assorted-bread.html
I've also bake meatfloss buns yesterday.It taste alright yest but find it a bit hard when eating today.Wonder what did those baker shop add to their bread to make it so soft even after a few days.Went to Popular & bought two cookery books:-Soup of the day & Alex Goh Breads.Mummies,can take a look at the book 'soup of the day'.It has a lot of gd soups,ingredients can be easily find & even indicate which soups is for what purposes.I will scan the cover later.Will share some of the recipes with u all.

hi, meow,
u so cute go check whether got pretty girl, kekeke...

chua_family,
wah, u r really patient to try making bread! the link got many foods pictures, yummy yummy...
kao_drool.gif

re: sweet potato
I used the usual orange type. how to cook both sweet potato and green beans? *blur*

chua & SP
haha, cos he quite fussy on food type. I rem when i suggested to go there on Thursday his face is like 'just had 1 ton of sour plum'!
btw their Sour plum cola is good must try also!

chua if is those traditional type of sugarcane+chestnut, the sugarcane is not those normal sugarcane u know right? it is less sweet they called it 'zhu zhe'.
What we used to cook is just clean the water chestnut and zhu zhe. use a 'hammer' or back of the knife to flatten them.
Then just boil it for about an hour.