Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi Choc, sounds like a really stubborn fever - glad it's all over! My op is on Friday, very worried about GA, I'm a control freak, so I can't bear the thought of being knocked out by the meds and being under the mercy of the anasthetist & gynae! I bought paper clay - it sets by drying too. The clay you saw comes precoloured already? I borrowed 2 books from the library by Debbie Brown, it's got lots of cute cartoon cakes like Wallace & Gromit, Mario Bros, Little Men etc. but instead of trying with fondant, I thought of using clay first - just to practise
My hb not crazy about football leh - I'm the one watching and he keeps me company whilst doing his work. No lah, no munching during the matches - need to lose weight for my bil's wedding in Dec - if not all the relatives will gossip and say that I'm unrecognisable from the last time they were at my wedding, haha!

Hi Van, good to hear from you! Sounds like you & your dd are having loads of fun! Have fun shopping - there isn't really anything exciting to buy back in S'pore!

Hi Soph, better rest well and go easy for the next few weeks

Wow van, enjoying yourself in HK now..have you been pigging out at the tim sums and eateries ? Food there not cheap hor ? Buy the clothes first, come back then go on diet lah.. heehee..

Hey soph, in that case, think you better rest well.. why 6 weeks bedrest ? sorry to kpo..
cos, the kids will burst your blood vessels prematurely and you ve got to climb flights of stairs to the classroom..
the dried scallops are good for porridge, but got to add alot to the soup to make it sweeter .. why can't take red dates ?

eh anne, actually hor, I like the feeling of GA.. heehee.. yah.. really knocked me out.. like falling into a deep sleep.. didn't feel any pain at all aft that.. But the first time when i had my GA for some foot surgery, I reacted very badly to the GA.. threw up alot !

yah.. i know what you mean, during weddings, all the relatives will always comment on how much weight we've put on, also every new year ! So, you still making the cupcakes for BIL ? The clay thingy is precoloured..

Annelise,
I know the GA is quite scary, but try to think on the brighter side, that you won't feel anything once it's been administered, like going into a deep sleep. I was also a little like you - I hate losing control of my body, and had to keep telling myself not to cry cos otherwise my mucus may choke myself! Of course I don't know if that's true, probably just me being paranoid
Try not to think too much... like Choc says, just imagine yourself falling into a deep peaceful sleep.

Choc,
haha, you make the kids sound like monsters!
Cannot eat red dates these few days cos I think too heaty; even hubby complaining he got lots of ulcers in his mouth. Maybe it's the weather; sometimes soooooo hot and sometimes rain... making me sleepy and drowsy all the time!

Have to add a lot of scallops to porridge? Wouldn't that be very expensive? *faint* I am already being very stingy with my current one; bought it at ZTP $13 for 100gm only. My mum says Chinatown is cheaper, so the next time she goes, I may lombang her to get some for me.

Choc!
I found out why the lotus soup is sometimes black and sometimes white. My mum says the dark one is cos we used older lotus root which is darker in colour whereas the younger ones are more white hence a whiter soup. So nothing to do with the meat... your theory more accurate! No wonder my spareibs lotus root soup today is white too! Personally, I prefer the older one for soup cos it's more fragrant. The young one is good for dessert cos texture not so powdery.

Van,
Enjoy yourselves in HK! Choc's idea of buying the clothes first is good... it'll give motivation to lose the weight once you come back... that's what I do sometimes

LittleCat (little_cat) & Sophie (sophie),
hehe... actually, i wuz wondering the same thing.. how cum d filling doesnt use egg? hehe.. i got diz recipe frm a fren of mine.. but aniway, d egg tarts taste delicious.. n maybe healthy too.. since doesnt use much eggs(in fact use only one egg..)

paranoidmummy (paranoidmummy),
its one quarter teaspoon of vanilla essence.. you juz agak2 can also lor.. sumtyms i put half teaspoon of vanilla essence.. doesnt make much diff.. ;p

Choc06 (choc06),
i can assure you dat its very tedious making the egg tarts.. but i get d "kick" frm baking.. hehe.. juz like i get d "kick" frm cleaning my house..

sp (spongme),
if you want 2 buy d mould, make sure you buy abt 24.. dat tym i bought only 12.. and i wuz like.. arrgh.. had to wait 4 it to cook and cool before i cld start wif d next batch.. i mean, if u r patient, den dats good.. hehe..

sorie 4 d late reply everyone~! was away for a few days.. slping over at my MIL house.. ;p

paranoidmummy, we called u PM then, call paranoid like not very polite leh..:D

Annelise, don't worry too much, yeah like the rest say, just think of it as sleeping. U take care and have more rest.

van wow your trip sounds exciting! do enjoy yourself and post us some nice picture to make us envy abit leh

poor choc... aiyoh u so strong one, for me i sure very paranoid...pai seh PM borrow u name!
my hb fever still high, sigh.. so i got to sleep with my boy, then the mattress is abit hard and on the floor, abit difficult for me to sleep. So i take the first half then ask my hb to take the 2nd half eg after 11pm, i go back to the master bedroom to sleep.
But scare dun know what fever he got, will it pass to my boy.. sigh... when either one of them sick, my heart so worry.

watie, wow u really make us want to try to bake leh... any other baking tips? u and annelise sure have lots of thing to share!

Hi LittleCat, how about asking your hb to shift your mattress to your son's bedroom and both of you sleep on the spring mattress (at least not as high as sleeping on your bed - don't have to worry about him falling down). If your hb got viral fever then not so advisable for him to sleep with your ds, in case pass to him.

Hope he gets better soon - my friend said eating chinese pears good for fever. What did the GP say?

I'd prob be so nervous abt Fri that I won't be able to sleep the night b4 - I'll catch up on my sleep during the GA then

Hi choc, I'll prob make a small cupcake tree to put in my mil's house cos' church will have too many guests to cater to! I'll make a trip to b-i-y to see which cupcake stand to get - guess I can always recycle the stand for Christmas, birthdays etc.

Yesterday I tried making the Window Cling from Crayola - just to practise my tracing and piping skills, haha! It was quite fun - here's a pic:

446347.jpg

annelise,
yr pony very cute leh! u r really talented...

all the best for yr op! try not to worry until can't sleep ok! take care and rest more these few days.

little cat,
hope yr hb faster get better, u also try not to worry lah, yr hb big man u also worry so much, take care of yrself leh!

sophie,
thanks for solving the white/ black lotus soup mystery, keke. very interesting!

van,
good to hear from you from HKG! enjoy yrself with yr dd and remember to post nice nice pics for us to see!

pm,
oh, so how long u gonna keep yr microwave oven b4 u'll be using it "full blast"? can't wait to hear yr verdict on it leh, here in KL selling at RM2k... very the ex.

watie,
huh, makes 24 ah, wah, quite a big recipe hor, thanks for telling me!

yah i agree with annelies that the pony is cute! i remembered i ever tried doing a hello kitty before... but.. the HK turned out to be "out of shape" hahaha.. coz i think my hands were trembling when i was tracing.

SP, i dunno..,. i guess mayb another few more mths? target to move in new house in sept! then u all will see me postin gmore qns, coz then my hubby make me cook at least 3 meals a week. I wonder if i have the time, coz still got to look after new born...

Eh cat, i think your hb might have the virus ..few days fever already liao is it ? yah.. now you can't sleep on the floor liao.. will have backache later on..

Yo soph, yah thanks for the tips .. now we know..
eh kids in the sch can be worse than that leh.. they know trs can't do anything to them..

chinatown sells cheaper herbal stuff .. the red dates are also cheaper.. but must taste first before buying cos some are not sweet.

eh watie, so your egg tarts finished liaoz iz it ? I am thinking about egg tarts now.. must buy some before dinner!

hey PM, how old is your bb ? You can cook simple meals and soup.. read lots of good things about drinking soup, nourishing, hydrating.. when I my first one was a few months old, I also made pasta sauces in batches and freeze them.. good for quick lunches..

Hey anne, the biy shop has very beautiful cake stands.. good to invest in one !you really motivate me to bake liao !
At the first look, I thought you made a pony cake! which I think you are capable to do that !
Have you stock up some basic herbs for boiling soup ? Don't exert too much aft the op ..
My mum fried black chicken and double boil tung shen for me aft the op

tell u all hor, my bb is still inside tummy., hehe.. next mth.. next mth u all will see me log in lesser, coz i hv to learn to take care of him!

LittleCat (little_cat),
dun say until lyk dat lah.. actuali diz is lyk my 2nd attempt at baking.. not so pro at baking.. juz started only.. my 1st attempt wuz d banana walnut muffins i found in diz thread..~! cant rmbr whose recipe it was aniway.. hehe... annelise (annelise) is d pro in baking~! hehe..

sp (spongme),
actuali it makes abt 30.. (typical size of egg tarts lah).. but its abit sweet.. you may want to reduce the amt of sugar used...

Choc06 (choc06),
my egg tarts finiz liao lor.. hehe.. i gave away sum to my aunt.. since got so much.. the rez me & my family eat until finiz already.. eat until dun want 2 eat the egg tarts again animore.. haha.. if u have too much of the gud stuffs, u'll get sick n tired of it pretty quickly..

paranoidmummy (paranoidmummy),
so u r due nxt mth hor~! congrats~! hehe.. i guez by now u muz be sick of being preggie.. im due in sept.. stil got a long way to go.. hehe.. nxt tym u deliver, u muz change ur nick liao.. change to paranoid & kan cheong mummy.. hehe.. ;p juz kidding..

I was thrilled after chancing upon this thread while searching for info/comments on the thermal pots.

So happy that I can seek advice from the expert mummies here. Can I join in ?

I am a cooking novice so lots to learn from you gals. =)

I understand some of the mummies here are using the thermal pots. I am keen to get one too but have a few queries :

- beside cooking soups, desserts & porridge can it be also used for cooking one-dish meals e.g. baked rice ?
- which brand would u recommend ? Tiger, La Gourment, Thermos ?
- what capacity should I buy ? I am cooking mainly for my 18 mths old dotter and may be more hardworking in making soup for the whole family next time if i buy this pot. hee.
- any good sale on thermal pots going on now during the GSS ?

Hey seagal, you are velcome to join us !

It's fun to join in the discussion and we ae constantly sharing tips and recipes ! Of cos, once in a while, we will discuss something off topics.. hehe

I have a 6l La gourmet thermal pot, with 2 layers.. used it once, the soup was tasty and best of all, it saves electricity..
the top layer can be used to cook rice. according to the promo, you just need to boil your soup for half an hr first, prepare your rice for cooking using the top layer and place it on top of the soup container, and into the thermal cooker,
cover it for 2 hrs or so, and the rice will be cooked.( haven't tried that yet)

I don't think it can be used for baking rice. The other mummies have a Tiger one.. According to the promoters also, the tiger one has a good history of thermal activity.
Hello Tiger thermal mummies, your contribution ?

Taka was having sale the last few weeks, for both tiger and la g, haven't see the thermos brand one around, you may want to run down to taka today ? hehe..

Will you be cooking meals for your whole family ? YOu can actually prepare the soup for lunch and dinner.. Didn't see any small thermal cooker.. What's your dd's diet now ?

Hey watie, so watz good stuff you baking nez ? I bought the flaky egg tarts yesterday and gobbled them up ! Got no energy to make egg tartz.. I m due end aug.. can't wait to get rid of my tummy liao !

Hey PM, steady lah.. so what's your diet during the last trimester ? Have you been taking coconut water ? I haven't yet..

welcome seagal!

choc/annelise/SP, the doc said my hb kena influenza, and now have to take tamilflu... jia lard...
choc u r right is the Virus :'(

i ask him to quarantine himself now.
I sleep with my son in master bedroom Q-size bed.

yesterday work so late really no energy liao.
tonite i foresee another late nite sigh.. but lucky the auntie say can help us to look after tonite.

hey choc06,

Congrats! Wah .. about 2 more mths to go. Jia You Jia You!

Is this ur 2nd baby ? =)

Thanks for your info on the La Gourmet pot.

Taka having sale ?? Thanks. Will go down look see look see.

My gal getting sick of porridge so I have started her on rice & pasta occasionally. thinking of other options to cook for her as well. We stay on our own so will only be cooking for 2 adults and 1 kid. Do u think the 6l pot will be too big?

flaky egg tarts ? u tried the East Ocean ones. they are real yummy!!

eh cat, you take care too and your boy boy.. My no.2 also cough and cough, can't stop even aft taking Gp's medicine !
So, brought her to the paed last night.. and spent a bomb ! Paed says June is a wet season with lots of people getting sick and children kena nebulised!

Drink more fluids and rest more hor ..if need be, go take MC first lah.. not enough rest will fall sick leh.
good thing your aunty can help to take care of you all. Has your ang's fever gone down ?

hey seagal, mine's the third one! hehe.. and hopefully last one..
Maybe the 6l one will be too big for you, unless you are a soup person and don't mind soup for lunch and din..
The Tiger one comes in 5.2l and a smaller one( forgot what size).. good chance to jalan jalan Taka and Tangs now.. sale should be still on I think..

Yah.. pasta's a good variation too. When my first one was about 2, we shared our lunch.. hehe.. a way to slim down.. can try fish soup meesua, or one pot chicken rice with lots of veg..

Will try east ocean tarts, I tried the tong heng one before, the crust is crispy and nice..

Thanks Choc, i will. U too take good care of yourself. i really pei-fu ni leh, i one already buay tahan need additional help. and u got 2 outside, one inside still can do many things !

choc06,
thanks! will check them out tonight. =)

if i buy it eventually, can share share ur recipes ? ur chicken rice with veges sounds really yummy!

how big r ur 2 elder kiddos now ?

Eh cat, I gila inside the house and outside also ..
I used to think that I can cope with 2 , now with third one inside, I MUST,AM determined to close shop liao !
Actually hor, my whole family came to stay with my mum for the whole week.. heehee.. so I don't need to do anything these few days..

Hey seagal,
Of cos we can share recipes ! wait till the other gurus come online, you will have a menu everyday and a list of recipes to try out ..

cat, what recipe do you have for the thermal ?
Share when you free first..

For the chicken rice recipe, we actually use a rice cooker. You can either use chicken strips or chopped chicken.

First, marinade the chicken strips with soy, pepper, a bit of black sauce, corn flour, five spice powder(opt, but more phang), oyster sauce(opt).

Soak and slice dried mushrooms.

slice up lup cheong.

Prepare your uncooked rice, measure the amt of water needed to cook rice. Add in the chicken strips, mushrooms and lupcheong. Turn on the rice cooker.. You can add sliced cabbage or cut long beans together with the chicken.. The veg will turn out soft, which is suitable for your dd..

Mine is a simple version.. some other ladies have very nice variations , sometimes, I add yam or potatoes too.. Bon appetit !

My girls are K2 and 4 yrs old..

Choc06 (choc06),
haha.. dunoe leh.. i hav no plan yet 4 d next baking session.. actually i abit lazy lah... wah.. u due end of aug ah? i oso cannot wait 2 give birth.. so sian already.. many stuffs cannot do.. hehe...

u noe, i like 2 eat chinese noodles.. becoz they are very soupy.. and delicious.. like 4 example fish noodles, fishball noodles, ban mian, hor fun.. i dun reali like 2 eat malay noodles.. use 2 much oil.. sumore not soupy.. hehe.. if u noe how to cook any of the above mentioned, dun be shy lah.. share wif mi~! keke...

Logging in from Disneyland Hollywood Hotel.
Very tiring day today,from noon to about 9pm+ at Disneyland,but couldn't finish the whole area even HK disneyland is known to be very small. Will go back to Disneyland again tomorrow.

My dd enjoyed herself at disneyland,but was scared by the 3D show.It's too "real",even comes with scent and splash of water on the audience. We regretted that we didn't prepare her in advance for what to expect from the show.

Glad to welcome a new member seagal.
kao_welcome.gif

Don't have much time to read in details all the postings yet.

Just talk about the Portugese egg tarts,since waties just baked some nice egg tarts.

We smell nice Portugese egg tarts and almond cookies while walking from Ruins of St Paul to Largo Do Senado in Macau,but didn't have time to walk back to buy.

So while at the cafe of Hotel Lisboa,couln't resist and ordered a pc to try though I never like to eat egg tarts,but the one at the Hotel cafe was dissappointing,didnt smell as good.Even the Australian couples in our tour group made the same comment.

Anyone here tried baking Portugese Egg tarts?

Did take some pictures of nice/interesting food,will post up when I am back.

Choc,Sophie,
I did think of buying ALL the nice clothes I like, and go on diet later to fit in nicely,but being a SAHM now,don't really need so much nice clothes,ended up buying more T-shirts and simple tops.Besides,our luggage are already bursting,even though I brought along two foldable travel bags.

Annelise,
Agree that S'pore is quite a boring plae to shop,always the same mix of shops in all the shopping centres.HK and Bangkok are a lot more interesting.

You take care.Relax and don't worry too much.

LittleCat,
I also admire Choc.Have 2 older kids,preg now still can teach,sew,bake,cook,surf the net.... Was wondering how she could be such a superwoman too,that's why did ask her before,were she staying with her in-laws.

kakis,
Are u gals aware that there is a type of wrist bands for travel sickness,nausea caused by pregnancy,chemotherapy? Does anyone of you see this type of wrist bands in Singapore?

I bought one pair from the Watson here,not sure if it's available in Singapore.My dd wore it throughout our Macau tour.If it's really effective, can recommend it to those suffering from morning sickness.

Eh watie, I only know how to eat Qiulian ban mian ! The soup is very kiam and chilli very appetizing ! cat can make mee hoon kuey.. and van got lots of recipes to share if you scroll up to see ..

My fish ball noodles very simple one..and anyhow huntum ! I always fry lots of ikan bilis before hand and store in the fridge.. When i need them, I just boil them with sliced ginger and soy beans. Can add fish sauce for more flavour or salt..
then boil your marinated minced porkball and fishball.
Scald your noodles and veg separately.
Add in the soup and liao.. and there's your homemade fishball noodles.

As I have a salty tongue, I also use bovril to make beef hor fun.
First saute minced garlic, then add in sliced beef and beef balls, don't fry the beef too long, add boiling water and beef bovril(I add about 1 tablespoon)and soy , stir into the soup, add tau gei. Wash your hor fun under tap water, drained and add into beef soup..

van, wait till you come back from your shopping spree, you must share your variations for soup noodles with us, ok ..

Eh van, aiyoh.. paiseh lah.. I am no super woman lah ! I surf the net to release my pressure! I tried staying with my mum, heehee, she can't cope with us.. my MIL will nag alot ... recently, my house is upside down with dust ! Think that's why we all fell sick !

heard about the wristband too.. read from ang moh books.. maybe you can buy one to keep first for future use.. heehee..

Hello cat and anne, hope you both are ok.. rest .. rest.. zzzz

hi choc/van et al
Today at work damn sian, kena bombard for thing i didn't do wrong. But due to office politic issue i kena.
I was crying this morning and now both eye like 'hum'... sigh...
just have to 'ren' for another 4 more months lor what to do ?

Today Anne going for the ops right? hope she is fine and get well soon.

watie, my noodle soup very simple one. i use ikan bilis to boil the stock (can add the dried scallop too, the soup base very nice). Then i put some fresh slice fish, fish ball or meat slice in. Then the whole pot soup turn very nice cos of the soup base + fresh meat. dun cook too long. then the noodle can be the yellow noodle, mee hoon or udon etc..
U can also replace with seafood like prawns, sotong etc.
Also vege can be the golden mushroom, chai-sim, tou-geh etc.
Also important is the dipping, chop the chilli padi+some minced garlic. for dipping and eating with noodle/mee hoon.
alamak, after describing all these details, i hungry liao, chat later!

Eh cat, take it easy ! Office politics are terrible ! Esp kena blamed for something that you didn't do, sigh .. go eat something that makes you happy.. something cold and sweet..
TGIF!

yah anne going for op today.. maybe she's out of OT liao !

Thanks for keeping me in your thoughts! I went for the op at 9.30 this morning - was awake by 10.30. Choc, you're right, the ga was pretty good! I had a great nap cos' I couldn't sleep well last night!

Thought I'd just drop a quick note to thank all of you for the concern and reassurances you have given me in the past few weeks and to let all of you know that I'm feeling okay - just a bit weak from the fasting and the blood loss but otherwise quite alright

Going to take a nap now - still feeling drowsy - will catch up with all of you next week. TGIF and have a good weekend

watie, yah loh u are right... i am sooooo tired of carrying myself around...and beiong breatheless for each step i take. Cant wait for BB to pop.. but then again, I guess I will miss him and his movement inside my tummy. it's a whole new experience for me!

Choc, My diet still the same, but i try to take smaller meals now..coz my heartburn is irritating me. I also realised i eat lesser liao, coz i put on 23kg so far... and i feel i dont want to put on more weight withour benefiting the baby... Yup, I've tried coconut juice already..

Hi Van.. nice to hear that u n dd are enjoying yrself there. Yes, I love the 3d show too! It;s very entertaining... hey, u nust try the eggtarts at one of the cafe in disneyland, they are pipping hot, fresh when i ate them! Yum yum...!

I knew of an ex colleague who wore the band when she was preg, but it seems tat it didnt really work on her, coz she still vomit til dehydrated...

Talking abt fishball noodles, I tried that day myself, the stock initally tasted ok with ikan bilis, but after i add in the noodles to "sa".. the soup will have a kind of yellow noodle smell.. u know the "kee" smell?

Anyone knoes how to prevent or take away the smell?

PM try to use diff pot of hot water to cook the noodle b4 putting in your final soup.
just like when u cook dumpling (shui-jiao) also, normally we will use diff pot to cook first till 80% cook then put it in the soups base. this will get away the kee and the starch also.

Anne, gald that u r well, have a good rest chat with u next week!

thanks choc, this just make my sahm dream closer and nearer.

enjoy your weekend!

Hey PM,
When you "sa" the kee mee, the kee will go inside the soup, and the soup will turn yellow and aft a while the soup will be a little gooey..
Sa your kee mee separately and veg also. When you sa the veg in the soup stock, the stock will turn green also.. bee hoon and kuey teow must cook separately too, I tried to cook the beehoon in the soup, the soup was starchy ..

So, did you boil any hao liao for you and bb ? Like bird's nest ? I am very lazy.. think I must start to drink coconut water liao.
I have been eating.. er.. nonsense like pot chips, ice cream..

Hey anne, glad that you are out, rest and eat well..

OIC, so must do it separately. Hehe I always lazy... all in one, as if i am cooking maggi mee. Thanks thanks!

Choc, yah i need boil birdnest, but its so ex.. i do it like once every mth. Just bought 4 coconuts from cold storage, they are damn hard to open loh, end up i just any how poke one hole and drain out the juice. Hahaha. Yah same, I been eating rubbish too.. u know i can finish skippy peanut butter
(with spreading on bread) in 2 days! I love icre cream too!

little cat,
sorry to hear u had a bad day, hope u'll hv a wonderful weekend to make up for it!

pm,
I used to use separate water for instant noodles also, nowadays lazy so stop doing it.

van,
nice to hear u had a wonderful time in Disneyland! hope u get to try the nice egg tarts...

choc,
agree with the rest, u r really super!

what's cooking, ladies?

My microwave just arrived.. and I've asked the delivery man to chuck it inside storeroom, hohoho! So excited to use.. but i my "ren" keke!! U know the first recipe i wanna try is to bake chiffon pandan cake, coz my hubby loves pandan cake!

I am back!

Spent whole day unpacking luggage,washing loads and loads of clothes and cleaning up the house.

LittleCat,
Can undertand how you feel.My ex-companies have some people who like to play office politics too.So I was always extra careful when dealing with these people,asked for black-and-white,facts and figures when handling them.If memo is not feasible, I will even ask them to scribble some notes/instructions on the relevant documents and signed for it.But sometimes still got stabbed for mistakes that my subordinates made,sign.

Cheer up! Think of the happy moments,nice food....Be extra careful next time.

PM,
Too bad, only saw your msg today,didn't try any egg tarts at Disneyland.Becos of the special promotion,has Buy-1-get-1-free main course, so managed to get two free main courses with our Extra Magic Coupon and a free Disney lunch box for my dd.

Have you ever baked chiffon cake before? It's one of the hardest cake to make a successful and nice one.Do gather all the tips of baking before your start.

Choc,
Besides coconout juice, can also drink barley and Yang Shen water to cool your body down before delivery.

Read in SAHM thread that you suspect you may deliver early,you take care huh.

Annelise,
Glad to hear from you.Take Good Rest.

Hi, mummies. This is really a wonderful thread. I try out the beef hor fun receipe already, very very nice and simple to make. My hb like it! Thanks choc

Think I saw the wrist band in planet traveller store and some watson store before.

Maybe can share a simple mee sua receipe here
too. (help me during my 2rd & 3rd months of ML)

1. Marinate ingredients (pork or chicken) with salt, shaoxing wine & pepper. Fish & prawns no need marinate

2) heat pot, throw in garlic. When nice smell, throw in all the meat ingredients (plus some sliced mushroom). Fry till nice nice put vegetables then put bit oyster sauce.

3) Pour in hot water and wait to boil. Can put in beaten egg after boil. (then egg will not stick to mee sua and become gogey)

4) Put in mee sua, wait for one last boil. And viola, one yummy bowl.

Maybe will be making this for lunch!

Hello gals!
*wave* *wave*

My boy arrived on 6 June

Annelise,
What happened? Hope you are recovering well
Get well soon...

Wah... talk about lotus root soup ah... I have been drinking lotus root soup with black beans, lotus seed, "bai he" daily
I am still enjoying this soup cos it's my favourite
My hubby sick of it already, but I still dun mind having that... kekeke...

Hey gals,
Got one mee sua very nice for confinement...
Just boil mee sua and kailan or broccoli, drain. Stir fry ginger in sesame oil, then add mee sua and vege to stir... Bingo! Very nice mee sua...
My mum got this idea from a recipe book for confinement and tried... Very nice and simple

Van,
Sounds like Disneyland HK is very fun... Glad that you and dd have enjoyed yourselves there

Choc,
When is your EDD again? Paiseh... I very short memory now... I drank coconut water twice a day a week before delivery
My baby comes out with no jaundice at all for the first few days.

paranoidmummy,
When is your EDD? hee... when I preggy, I love lots of peanuts too... lol... peanut butter taste the best, but gotta refrain from eating peanut butter too much...
Can go to Carrefoure to get the coconut with hole... Just poke in the straw, can drink already

I hate opening the coconut from cold storage too... Very troublesome cos sometimes the water ooze out till my whole kitchen... then gotta wipe here and there...

Van!!! U are makin us drooool... hehehe

I haven bake chiffon ake in my life! okok, i shall remember to ask for tips! Hehehe. I thought it shld be quite simple, coz its not fanciful at all frm its looks... hahaha

Lyn, my EDD is 16th July ;) noted! I shall shop at carrefour next time!

van,

you are really making me drooling..

annelise ,

thanks for the recipe..

but let's organise one time for a cooking gathering.. that will be fun.. but i may have to bring my 5mths old son coz me sahm...

celine, lyn,
thanks for the mee sua recipe! both sounds delicious... yum...

lyn,
so happy yr bb no jaundice! wow, didn't know coconut water is so good...

van,
welcome home! glad u & dd enjoyed yrselves very much! the food pics made me drool too, kekeke. overall, do u think HKG food tastes better or S'pore food tastes better?

Rena,SP,PM,

Ha ha! That's my objective.... to make you drool....
kao_drool.gif
. My dd likes the deep fried fish skin served in Cha Chan Ting,she ate it like potato chips.But the same thing served in Disneyland Hollywood was horrible,hard as rock.

SP,
Though I enjoy the dim sum,desserts,cantonese cuisine and cuisines of other parts of China in HK, I still miss S'pore food.Have been eating Yong Tau Hoo,Won ton noodles, claypot noodles and Char Kway Teow(Gei Hum!) since Sat morning.

Some of the HK dishes are quite salty,they seem to be quite heavy-handed in terms of adding soya sauce/salt.

Rena,
What do you mean by cooking gathering? Go to one person's house to cook? Quite tough to organise that, cos some are working mums,stay in diff parts of Singapore and have kids of different age. Or just gather and talk about cooking??

Where are all the kakis today?

Van,
I am coping well
Now on total breast feeding. I think the lotus root soup can help in increasing milk supply...

Wah.. you making me drool with all the pictures of food... Are these the food served in Disneyland? Looks so nice...

paranoidmummy,
Wah.. You gonna see your baby very soon already...

Rena,
Good idea... hee... Can I bring my 1 month old boy? kekeke...

lyn,
u sound happy all the time, and yr happiness is infectious! I see yr posting I feel happy already! jia you on tbf, enjoy the bonding and LOVE~~~ with yr bb...

sp,
kekeke...
ya, I will jia you on TBF. Thank you
Hope I can last more than 6 months. Just now when I was feeding on the bed, I had this wonderful feeling that baby is so cute in front of me... and wonders if I will miss this moment in future... :p My boy will open his eyes very big during feeding and look at me.

Happiness can give health and wealth