Cooking Tips & Recipe

hello hello!!

Lyn,

You sound very happy

Van,

Very delicious looking food pictures! I can't tell what are some of the dishes though
Did you manage to get lots of nice disney merchandise?

Cat,

Hate office politics too!Try to minimise talk when u can...i think it does help.

so long didn't post here liao!Finally,school re-open,can have one & a half of quiet moment for myself.I 've cook some new dishes during the holidays,like muah chee,tiramisu,pear w bai mu er,cheng tung.Just try to made my red wine snowskin mooncakes for the first time yesterday,turns out to be OK lah.Didn't take any pic cause my sis had borrow my camera.

Hi Lyn,

Congrats!Looking forward to see your boy's pic.It is now the best time to rest,eat,sleep during confinement.Try to capture as much pic of your baby cause they grow very fast during these stage especially when u start to look back.I really miss those days,babies r so cute.

Hi Van,

WOW.....u makes us drooling.I really miss the fish skins,it so crispy & nice.My hubby did bought once fm Sin,ask him where & post here to share.

paranoidmummy,
Be positive and you certainly can BF successfully

Chua_family,
I try to take pictures of my boy daily, but sometimes forgot... :p
What's the recipe for pear with bai mu er?

Hello gals...
This is a pic of my boy on day 16. I find it so cute when he makes his mouth small small... lol... Most people said he looks like me. kekeke... almost my "ang ku" mould... and another pic of him smiling.. his started to smile from day 5 and his smile is getting wider

450144.jpg

450145.jpg

Lyn,
Wow your boy is so cute,yes,especially when he made his mouth small small.

Perhaps you could start a blog for your baby,for your memories, for sharing with others and as a gift to him? Record down his development,cute things that he does, he say...

I thought of starting one for my dd, though she is already 5 1/2 yrs now.

No wonder you are "happysunflower",you are indeed very cheerful.I still remember I had post natal blues after giving birth, cried everyday.

Amelia,
So long didn't "see"you here.Glad you are back. If you move the mouse over the pictures,you will see brief description of the dishes.

Got some Disney merchandise,mainly given away as gifts,some for my dd to keep.

Van,
I dun have much time to create a blog for him now... I have my own blog, also no time to update now... hee... I have started writing a diary though
. Now I gotta settle a buffet for him. Gotta settle number of people and whether to cater separate vegetarian food for my vegetarian friends...
From delivery till now, I cried once at nite... Cannot stop crying leh... cos that time my milk supply went down and I kept latching on and baby not full... But now ok already... kekeke.. when I pump, I see jets of milk coming out, I cannot stop laughing at the jets... nature is so amazing...
Oh, what is SPMCTR group? I have missed it... I wanna join... But how to?

lyn,
A separte journal/diary for him would be good also.As a gift for him.

Annelise started the Yahoo Group SPMCTR (Spore motherhood Cooking Tips & Recipes),we used to send a PM to her,then she put us in.

Annelise just had operation,think won't be able to log in.

Found the HTML to invite people to join our group,can you try clicking on, and see if you could sign up from where you are brought to.? Cos I am not too sure whether the group creator's approval is needed to join.

Click here if you want to join our SPMCTR Group,where we share recipes,links etc.

"http://groups.yahoo.com/group/spmctr/join"

Hi Lyn, yr BB is so cute.. his eyes are so big! I scare my BB eyes is mimi yan coz mine is. Hahaha. I hope he resembles Daddy more coz daddy have sharper nose than me.

Van, I had click to join the SPMCTR group, my user id hunnyhunny10... this nick was created ages ago... (when i was in sec sch?) Haha

Sorry MIA for so long. My pc has gone cranky and my hb replaced it with a Mac - although it is supposed to be very user-friendly, I'm too used to my pc and have been having trouble logging in! I guess it's hard to teach an old dog new tricks, haha!

Hi Van, welcome back! Thanks for sharing the food pics with us! Sure makes my tummy rumble when I look at it! Thanks for creating a link to spmctr group - I didn't know how to do that and had to issue invites one by one! Btw, no approval is needed to join!

Hi lyn, your baby is soooo sweet! Love his eyes! Well done on the tbf - remember to drink lots of fluids to keep your supply up
Heehee, I know what you mean by the jets of milk coming out - that was the most fun part about expressing milk! Anyway, I had to have a d&c cos' there was a polyp on my womb lining. I'm on mini confinement now - my mum & gran are preparing food for me to "bu". Still feeling a bit weak cos' am spotting on and off and my blood count is pretty low.

Hi choc, hope you're okay. I noticed you haven't been posting in the past few days. Hi LittleCat, haven't seen your posts either - hope the stress from the office politics isn't getting to you. Has your hb recovered from his viral infection?

Ok, gonna take a look at Van's pics now - will be back again if my dds aren't awake from their naps.

Oops, approval IS needed to join the Yahoo group - sorry, I forgot! Anyway, I've approved all the requests
Hong Kong disneyland looks nice - thanks for sharing the pics with us, van!

Annelise
Glad to see you logging in. If your mum and gran have been preparing food for you to "bu",then you should be well taken care of.Do remember to take the supplements too,effect of Chinese herbs and diet not as instant as the supplements. Rest more,don't stand or walk for too long.

Wondering why Choc and LittleCat didn't log in too.Could it be due to school re-open?

Prisc and some of the others also MIA for very long liao.

I am trying to add the spmctr to My Yahoo but don't know possible or not and how to do it,still reading Yahoo's online Help.

PM,
so you are using a Longgggg ID again huh,must call you hunny then,ha ha!Actually, some of the memeber in our group,I am not sure who's who in our group, except the very obvious ones.

My dd has my hb's small eyes and my flat nose.....She also inherited bad skin(prone to eczema) from her dad.

lyn,
yr son soooo cute!!! yes yes, u'll definately miss bf-ing yr son next time, so u must bf as much as possible and enjoy every moment...
kao_love.gif

annelise,
hope u'll faster recover yr strength! do eat well and rest as much as possible. what bu r u eating?

van,
I'm sure in yr eyes yr dd is the prettiest girl u hv seen! Well, at least I admit I'm totally biased - my son is the most handsome little man even though he skinny/ crooked teeth/ botak hahaha...

van,
thanks for sharing the pics, yr dd looks so happy! Disneyland looks really fun place to go.

chua_family,
wow, u cooked a lot of things! hope u got time to share the recipes with us.

Chua,
Awaiting your recipe for pear with bai mu er too,sounds like it's good for cough and nourishing the lung.Just right for me,cos started coughing.Do share it when you are free.Thanks.

sp,
Indeed she enjoyed the Disney trip,she felt sad that the holiday has to end.We have to keep explaining to her that holidays must end,everyone needs to get back to work,to school.

<font color="0000ff">Long time didn't go Phoon Huat or visit their web site,didn't know that they post up recipes in their web site now:</font>
http://www.phoonhuat.com/r_list.htm

Yup Van its kinda of nourishing for the lungs i think, its good for my smoker hubby....

wsow i didnt know phoon huat got website and offer recipes too..

Lyn,

your bb boy is so cute..looks a bit caucasian-ish

Annelise,

Glad to see u're ok.I think foods that have iron does help with blood count like liver, dark green vegs etc..Do rest well

Imac!Great machine! I wanted to get the new Macbook but all my softwares are pc compatible.
No choice have to get your typical notebook
not as stylish

Van,

I was rushing some stuff so didn't have time to post.

Saw the hk photos at yahoo group.Your dd looked like she had a great time with the rides and shopping

Did you have a good time shopping? I hear Stanley and Women Street have great counterfeits(99.9% genuine).If i were there, I wouldnt mind getting a gucci wallet or two.

Hello gals...
Thank you for your comments

Annelise,
"bu" well and rest well
Try not to walk too much cos that will increase the spotting...

sp,
Yes... I quite enjoy breast feeding him though it will hurt at the beginning and at the end of each feeding session.

paranoidmummy,
My hubby also got bigger eyes than me... lol...

Ya, I miss the rest of them leh....How come all missing?

I notice in HK and sometimes Taiwan, it's very common to have baby's celebration after 2 months, instead of one month.I thought it's quite a good idea,at least after the confinement, can eat,exercise,go out freely(Facial,shop for new clothes etc,if have time),may be can appear in the celebration party slimmer and prettier...ha ha!

Cooking Fen Ge soup today,will be using the Tiger Thermal Pot.

Cooked Qing Bu Liang Soup with Lean Pork yesterday.The Soup is very clear. My dd smell the aroma coming out from the boiling soup, said it smell good and wanted to try. She finished the small bowl that I gave her.So glad!

PM,
The recipes in Phoon Huat's web site should be quite reliable, cos these are what they used in their baking classes. Only that the baking tips that are taught in classes are not recorded.

Anyone else going to share their photos in our Group? Babies,growing up photos.....?

sp,
My confinement will be 40 days.
We cannot celebrate full month this month, so will only have buffet. No cakes, no kueh, nothing red...
It will be on 22 July.

Hi to all the mommies,
I'm new here and would like to join you with all the cooking or anythings.
You mums are such an expert, honesty,and i've tried some of the soup and taste wonderful.

I've bought some xiang luo pian and will cook the soup tonight.
I read ellena blog,she mentioned xiang luo pian is cold in nature,is it ok for consuming cos i thought most of the woman body are cold or yin.
Sometimes i will get slight rhematisim when drink chrythemum think because is liang or cold in nature

Hi annlee,
Welcome to this thread.You can click the link above to join our SPMCTR group. The recipes posted in this thread have been compiled by Annelise and stored in the "database" of the group.

What are you going to put in you Xiang Luo Pian Soup?

Didn't know that Chrysanthemum could trigger rheumatism.It's interesteing, will have to read up more on that.I have arthritis, so I am always interested to learn about diet that trigger the symptoms.

I believe my body is "heaty" nature,unlike most women,that's why couldn't take the heaty confinement food during my confinement,got fever and bad constipation.

Hi everyone. Thanks for all the wellwishes and advice

Hi Van, Is the Tiger Thermal pot more expensive compared to the La Gourmet ones? Thought of buying it for my sis' birthday - do you know if Taka is still having a sale?

Hi lyn, you may want to squeeze a little bit of your breastmilk onto your fingertips and smear them on your nipples after feeding to prevent them from cracking and feeling sore. Some mummies use nipple cream but I feel more comfortable using my own milk

Hi annlee, welcome to the thread! Sorry I'm not too sure about the yin/yang, cooling/heaty concepts, so I can't answer your question - I'm sure some of the mummies here can enlighten us

Hi van,
I put kailan stem, two pcs of pork bone,some ikan bilis,ginger and one big xiang luo pian.

I cooked for twenty mins and transfer to thermal pot since afternoon and just try the soup and has a light sweet taste, tasty!
I did not add any sugar or salt.

Is the ingredient ok for xiang luo pian?

oh van, i think my body is liang after giving birth and the chrysanthemum makes my leg slight aching after consuming,sometimes barley drink too

Annelise,
OH YES, my Tiger Thermal Pot 5.2L cost $188+,after discount(Original price is $200+),whereas Choc bt the La Gourmet6L,can cook rice somemore, for only $99.According to Choc, her soup also very good,so La Gourmet must be a very good buy then.

Think Taka still have sales till tomorrow,when GSS ends,but they no longer have free gifts.

annlee,
Your ingredients of soup is very interesting, especially the kailan stem,never thot of adding that to my soup

Just tasted my Fen Ge Soup,very tasty,even before adding any salt.

annlee,
I posted this photo before, it's also in our SPMCTR group. Post it again, just for you lah.
You can find this in wet market.Never see it in any supermarket before.

452085.jpg

I boil it with pork ribs(Pork loin also can), peanut and red dates .Also threw in 3pcs of scallop(optional),can also add some chicken feet/chicken bones if you have.When the soup is done in thermal pot and transfer to stove to boil for 20mins, I added some Mei Dou (Brow Beans).

Thank you very much van!!
What is that call in English as i really don't know what is that, looks like sweet potato

Here is a receipe from my MIL,i think is a very healthy dessert because she is a very health-conscious lady.

Lian zi,bai mu er,dried longan,dried lily bulb,red dates,gingkok nuts,water and rock sugar.

Add all ingredient into slower cooker or double boil claypot and cook until the ingred soft.

Hope all of you like the dessert or maybe you mommies receipe is even better than these

Hi Lyn,

your baby's eyes so big &amp; a very smiley face,just hope my son have half of his eyes size.He resemble his father,no double eyelids,smile only can see half of his eyes.
I only managed to breastfed my son for one mth only cause too stress so result no milk,secondly bought the wrong pump,no time to manually pump out.So in the end,give formula.

Hi Van,

Have seen your photos,look so nice &amp; enjoyable.Your dd must be very happy to have the minnie umbrella.How's the Disneyland Hotel?

Here's is the recipe for the snowing Pear &amp; Snow Jelly Fungus Dessert:

Ingredients:
2 chinese snow pear(Xue lee) or korean nashi pears(Wash,cut into 4 pcs,remove cores &amp; hard stems)

1 small pc white fungus(bai mu er),soak in water first till soft &amp; trim off the woody roots.

20g of bitter &amp; sweet apricot(nan &amp; bei sin)

honey or honey rock sugar

Method:
1.Add pears,fungus,apricot kernels into a large pot w 2L of water.
2.Bring to boil,reduce heat &amp; simmer for an hr or longer.
3.Add honey rock sugar till dissolve or honey to
taste just before serving.

This is gd for soothes throat &amp; lungs &amp; those who been indulging in excessive drinking &amp; smoking.

MMmmmmm yummy!! I love soups and desserts!! Gonna experiment the recipes in my Tanyu.

What is Xiang Luo Pian by the way?

Annlee,

Your dessert is to "reduce heat"? Kailan stems to soup is something new to me.
How does it help the soup?Sweeten it?

Chua,

This recipe, I have to try.I may even do it this weekend.Having pears and apricots in dessert sound so good.

chua,
Thanks for the recipe,before I saw your recipe, I was imagining digging out the flesh out of big pear and put ingredients and water to double-boil,ha ha! Sounds quite easy,and can use my thermal pot to cook. BTW, Nan Xin and Bei Xin are Chinese Almond right?

Disneyland Hollywood Hotel is highly recommended for family with young children. It won my dd's heart with the TV program at lobby with kids size sofa, table and chairs,lots of cartoon program,kids size slippers for her to bring home, kids size bath robe,mickey waffle....No other hotels she stayed before has treated a child so specially,except the Regent Hotel in Bangkok, which let her choose a welcome gift from a tray of toys.

annlee,
Fen Ge is called pueraria roots in English.It's more popular among Cantonese and Hong Kongers. I first this soup in a eatery owned by a Hong Konger Chef.

When the market stall holder saw me frowing when choosing the Fen Ge this morning, he voluntarily cut of the two ends for me to see the the flesh is not black, which means it's good.

Thanks for the dessert recipe.

Amelia,
Xiang3 Luo2 Pian4 is conch in English.The dried one is sold in Chinese Medicine shops.

Van, I tot so too.. coz when i ate that in restuarant, they serve that inside a pear.....So i tot i can "surprise" my DH that hey! I can cook restuarant style ok" hahaha

PM,
I think you still can "surprise"your hb with restaurant style Pear soup,ha ha! Will look out for such recipe.

I drank a soup at Ah Er Liang Tang in Hong Kong,it's quite nice and nourishes the lungs.

They put lean pork,pcs of black chicken,Sea coconut,red dates,dried longan and Huai San in the soup. I was starting to have dry cough and throat itchy before I drank the soup, but when I reach home, my throat doesnt feel itchy anymore. Sounds too good to be true right? ha ha!

Oh yah.. too good to be true.

Van, check with u.. I am double boiling codyceps now. but doesnt seem to taste good. I use lean meat but i boil the water and use the water only, coz they say the meat will "take away" the goodness of the cordyceps. I also add guo qi zi... and dbl boil for 2 hrs...

PM,
I assume you mean drink the soup only when you said "use the water only"?

Actually I found that a lot of soup recipe which recommend using lean pork would advise to drink the soup and eat the meat,dip the meat with some black soya sauce.

Usually I will add red dates,Qi Zi to the cordycep soup, so it will taste sweeter,some people also add dried longans.

Van, I mean as in, I first boil the lean meat until water is boiling then I throw away meat and use the water to pour into the pot to double boil.... erm... u know what i mean???

PM,
That is very unusual method of double boiling soup leh.never heard of such method.Must go and find out more.

I would think it's better to scald the pork first that let it "cook" with the herbs, so that the meat will release its flavour into the soup.If you are afraid of the meat "taking away" the goodness of the cordyceps,perhaps you just eat up the meat?

Coz the reason given is that the meat will be very tough after double boiling... that's why the meat is of no use liao. Most likely I m wrong la, otherwise how come soup got no flavour at all....

PM,
Indeed the meat would be quite tough,but my hb still eat the meat,if he happens to be not very full when drinking the soup.

I find that using Pork Loin the meat will be tougher,Using Lean Pork not so bad.