Cooking Tips & Recipe

oh dear... is she given any medication?
when will u know the result?
poor girl have to suffer this, i hear also heart pain...

Thanks for the cupcake website, anne ! Terima kasih!

So you tried the cupcake recipe ?So exciting to do this big project for your bil.. Am considering also..
Did a church wedding deco for friend before, hard work, but very memorable !

Welcome hong! You are in the right thread!

Choc06 and LittleCat,
She's only given Neurofen,no antibiotics. Observe for few days, by Saturday still not ok then go back to Orthopaedics for blood test and x-ray.

Hi clover

Was wondering why I haven't "seen" you around
I have copied the recipes to Yahoo! Group, if you want to access, send me a pm with your email a/c okay?

Hi Van

Hope your dd will be better soon
Yah, heard that sheng yu may "overheal" the scar and form keloids. But I think it depends on the individual's skin. I had chicken pox and some of my scars are raised, instead of the usual sunken pock-marks, dunno why.

Hi choc06

My hb cooks - and he does a much better job than me - that's why he's very frank with his opinions about my cooking, haha! He usually cooks on weekends and I love his cooking much better than mine!

Hi Pris

Wow, you've got a wide repertoire - peranakan food, western food and Japanese food!

Hi LittleCat

Wah you very brave ah - I dare not handle "live" food. Even the pork I buy from the market the auntie must help me slice nicely - I feel squeamish touching raw meat and keep direct contact to the minimum!

Thanks gals..

Van,
ur girl walk too much?? Hope she recover soon.

BTW, anyone buying this FOOD magazine? They are teaching how to make muffin. I am yet to try out.

Anyone here doing pastry?
I tried baking last weekend.
I am using two diff fat for the skin.
1 is pastry margarine and the other is butter but using the same method.
The one with pastry margarine give a flaky skin after baking but the one with butter doesnt. I wonder why cos i follow the receipe book that stated butter.

As for pastry margarine cos i learn from my home economical class.

Anyone have any idea?

Hi Van

Remember not to let her take nurofen on an empty stomach. My older girl was given that when she broke her collarbone and the paed said should take after food cos' it may cause stomach ulcers. Hope she gets well soon

Hi choc06

I borrowed a book of cupcake recipes (next week must return already
- tried the peanut butter & choc cupcake and the cookies & cream cupcake so far - prefer the choc one
For big project, I think just use normal plain cupcake recipe can already. Apparently, those Betty Crocker type of cake mix can also be used to fill cupcakes. But so far, I haven't tried icing them yet!

Wah, your fren is so lucky
I did my own church deco together with my sister! Did hers too and also decorated her car! She was so worried the flowers will fly off when the car was on the expressway so I tied very tight - in the end her hb's cousin kao pei that it was very hard to remove after that!

oh my annelise and u never introduce the big chef to us? :D
hehe than u have pressure liao, since he can cook also..
my ang eat too much of those restaurant food, one day ask me can u cook like the crystal jade dish or not? oh my he is asking for trouble man... i said if i can cook like that i won't be here liao...

u know when we were young we use to slaughter chciken ourself, i will help to hold the wings or legs.. then help to remove the feather...
eh u know the chicken very fat and nice one, they called the 'ruo-ji', the meat is very tough and the whole chicken is fat and meat is nice! when i small, i eat one drumstick full liao!
alamak u abit too much liao lah dead meat also dare not touch haha...
So u would never buy a chicken and then clean and chop yourself one lah?
but hor if u ask them to cut/slice for u, their chopping board very dirty one leh.. imagine they chop chop the un-wash one then when u said u want ask them to chop they just use water rinse the pork then use the same chopping to chop...
And the chicken even worst, dun think they will wash they just chop chop chop, then go home do u rinse again? if rinse again the chicken taste all gone liao...
eh u can use the disposable glove to handle the raw meat.

Anyone keep two diff chopping board at home?
i have one for raw food, one for fruits.

so the Neurofen is just as pain killer ? i know it is very strong, only can give to kids when their temperature is above 38, for fever.
Hope she recover soon.

welcome hong!

Hi LittleCat

Haha! Your ang got high expectations of you! Aiyoh, you really very brave leh! I have never touched a live chicken in my whole life, much less help to slaughter it! I've seen a man kill a bat/ flying fox at a market in Chinatown when I was a kid and until now the scene still haunts me!

I ever bought a whole chicken before - dare not chop the neck - in the end brought the whole carcass to my mother's house!

Yeah, I have 2 chopping boards too - my mil only has one - I dare not eat fruits in her house!

LittleCat,
I use two chopboards as well.One for raw meat. One for cooked food/veg/fruits,for fruits I have extra chopping sheet on top of the chop board.

I also don't like to chop chicken myself, that's why I always buy from market and ask them to chop for me.

The doc said Neurofen will aslo help to get rid of the inflammation, it's not just for fever/pain.

Annelise,
Thanks for the reminder about neurofen, the PD didn't tell us that. And Thanks for the recipe database, so detailed, even the chit-chat type also recorded.

Hong,
which pastry margarine are you using? The Pastry margarine from baking supplies shop is different from margarine in supermarket. If you are referreing to the margaine in supermarket, which particular one did you use?

Fat content of butter and margarine are very different, so the result will differ.

littlecat,
I everyday come here to read but nothing to post becoz I don't know how to cook

here got a few shops/restaurants got many live seafood, u name it, they have it! We like to go see them swimming, so cute. But still want to eat them, so bad hor.

my SPR expired last month, so can only return to S'pore as tourist.

annelise,
I love yr cake deco, it's so nice, just like those in the shops!

choc06,
I used to make the Gula Melaka Sago Dessert often when I was in sec sch, my fav dessert. Usually I'll boil the sago in a huge pot with a lot of water, after cooked will rinse bit by bit under cold running tap water using metal sieve and stirring constantly with wooden spatula until the sago grains are loose and no more starch. I learnt the hard way: no saving water or time when cooking or rinsing sago, hehe.

ya, u r right, use fresh coconut milk is better, pandan leaves also essential to give it the "pang" smell, hee.

Van,
Hope yr dd recovers quickly! She so poor thing kena this pain, any idea what triggered it?

choc06
haha then easy lah every day kiam-chye for him lor, btw do u know the hum cooked with kiam-chye also quite nice. I remember my dad like that too last time.

Eh this is how i plan i will cook my drunken prawns.
Fist put in the clean bowl rinse with water, cover the top so the prawns won't jump from 13th floor down to find swimming pool :p, then carefully rinse it few times. Then put in the hua-tiao wine, little bit of salt, shake shake abit so the wine and the shaking will 'mabuk' the prawns.
Wash some wolfberries and some herbs ( i think they use bei-qi) and put in in the bowl. Then steam in a wok for about 8 - 10 min.

Another method is to boil it direct. but dun over cooked it.

when i clean/chop the chicken i used both knife and kitchen scissor.
Like last weekend, i bought one chicken, remove the two drumsticks for the soya sauce chicken, the breast meat for the claypot rice and the rest for boiling soup.

i was kampung trained that's why.
i was from Malaysia too like SP, but i converted to Singapore recently. Guess i must be the rare one, cos many people keep their citizen but i change it. anyway history liao.

annelise & van, i have a bad experience when i bought the cut fruits from one of the store, the guava got garlic taste, yiaack!

choc06 your fish left err.. another 1.5 months...

btw is the toman and the 'shen-yu' the same ?

my aunt said toman no good.. dun know what logic leh..

wow looking at this list i think my fridge should be half empty liao..
sometime u buy some sauce only use it like once or twice then in the fridge dun know for how long...

anyone make a list of what u have in the fridge?

Cat_tail,
hahahaha.. I love cooking.. gd to have a thread like this to exchange tips.

Van,
is pastry margarine. Not easy to get over supermarket or NTUC. They are specially for pastry and will give a flaky texture.

I followed the book but the flakiness doesnt turn out. May be really cannot use butter.

LittleCat,
I used to be malaysian too but i convert before 20yo. WOW u want a list? I just housekeepp my fridge, throw away so many things.

Chicken - I dun like the stall to chop the chicken up for me. So i get the whole chicken and deal with it back home.

Fish - i dare to clean the fish but if the fish is big then no point. Just let the stall seller do it for me.

hong haha so we sama sama

u study in sg or in malaysia?

i dun keep a list leh not so organized so at the end some time very peck-chek cos can't find my thing soob... it is good to have a list so u know what u have inside so no need to open the fridge door half an hour still can't find !
My bad experience i thot we have consumed the thing so go buy again later found still have alot left over there...

Eh sp, just come into this thread, and have a good laugh and see what to cook..

Thanks for the tips on gula melaka sago, will try to make any time and wash the sago properly

Yah, anne, you didn't introduce your chef .. what is your ang's specialty ? Share leh ..My ang can cook very nice indomee and chu qian yi ding , impressive hor ? Next time give you all recipe..
Thanks for the cupcake website, must copy into my recipe book tonight ..

Bought one black chicken from china market before, and they de- feather and slit the throat and lay it on the table with the heart still palpitating !! Gross ! I told them why not kill it completely first, they said like that more bu..

Eh cat, yah.. think toman is low grade fish, hehe..my mum will fry it with black beans.. the real shengyu is much more expensive..
My hb balding soon !! He likes kiam food !!

I use the same method as van too, one wooden chopping board and a plastic sheet for fruits.

Anyone used henckels knife sharpener? It's very good, can be found in Tangs..

Thanks van, for the list.. it's very useful.. hope your dd getting better

Choc,

It's called pork chops or pork loin chops on the meat package.
Mrs Dash is a rather popular brand overseas...you also can try McCormick or Masterfoods for spicey herb rubs.

Van,

Your poor dd...any idea what caused it?

hong,
pastry margarine cannot be subsituted by other types of fats(butter/margarine/shorterning) from what I know.

I dare to clean fish but doesn't like the smell lingering on fingers/sink/kitchen. So despite loving crispy Ikan Kuning and Smelt Fish very much, seldom have chance to eat, cos the fish monger don't clean these fish for customers.

Annelise,
Betty Crocker's cake mix can be used to make cup cake, but it's much cheaper to just mix and make ourselves.

sp,Amelia,

Probably it's some viral infections that triggered it.The doctor can feel swollen lympn notes at the back of her neck.

<font color="blue">The cause of transient synovitis of the hip is unknown. It might be due to a virus or it might be from an allergic reaction to an infection somewhere else in the body.</font>

jasmin,
I remember you asked for batter for crispy prawn fritters?

You can try this:

BATTER FOR CRISPY PRAWN FRITTERS:

<u>Batter Ingredient:</u>
100g plain flour
50g corn flour
3/4 tbsp custard powder
1 tsp baking powder

<u>Seasoning</u> (I just aga-aga, not so accurate)
1/3 tsp salt
1/3 tsp sugar

1 egg yolk (I used the left over egg white to marinate chicken for Gong Bao Ji Ding or Jiang Cong Yu Pian)
2 tbsp oil
Approx. 150ml water (again, aga-aga only)

1) Mix the batter ingredient well. Pour in water slowly and stir lightly until well mixed.

2) Add in egg yolk,seasoning and cooking oil, stir until form into smooth batter.

Phoon Huat sells packet crispy flour for fritters, I read the ingredients also the same, using flour,corn flour and custard powder,just don't know the quantity they used.

There is a tip for making prawn fritters very crispy

Heat up oil,dip the prawns in batter,place in oil slowly, deep fry over MEDIUM HEAT for abt 1 min.Remove.

Reheat the oil until VERY HOT,return the pre-fried prawns into hot oil.Deep fry until golden color and crispy.Dish up,drain well.

Oh, forgot to mention what I used to marinate the prawns,but you can just marinate anyway you preferred.

I used salt,pepper and half egg white to marinate the prawns.

Due to the time differences, can't chat much with all.

Annelise...Dh and I love food and we love entertaining friends at our place. I learn the different type of food from different friends....peranakan from mum and aunt, korean food from my husband's friend's wife, japanese food from a couple of japaneses in the running club. Baking come naturally to me as we have been training to help out from young at my maternal grandmother's house. Only regret is that I did not learn much of my grandmum's skill. She was a fantastic cook and she was a doting grand who always had a tray of cakes, kueh etc for us daily for teabreak...she made them herself and without maid, she could handle all the grandchildren all on her own but she has the cane to help her....haahaaa

Van thanks for providing the prawns fritter recipe. I will definitely try them out cos my children &amp; I simply love to eat this dish.

choc06, kekeke impressed of cos! my ang like yours also all instant noodle he can cook lah!
But he know how to kill and clean the crabs leh.. this is the only thing i dun know and he know about cooking. Cos he loves crabs lor...

thanks for the info on toman, now i know hehe. But as long as it is fish should be ok right? can't afford to buy cod fish/theraffin everyday leh.. that day my hb bought 'ang-zou' not sure if is red snapper? quite nice to steam, the meat got soft not like ang-go-li where after u steam meat turn hard.

van i like those small fish like ikan kuning or kampung fish. just fry it like that and eat with chilli padi with garlic! yummy!
I know how to clean it and dun mind doing it, BUT i hb dun like cos he said got bone... which fish no bone? jelly fish ??
So i can only buy fillet. But i love eating fish with bone type, i find it more tasty and the fish head wow!

Hi LittleCat

Dunno whether pi pa gao can take when pg - better play it safe and see western doctor.

Hi Van

Hope your girl is better today. Thanks for your list - it is really useful! I always ask my hb how long this and that can keep - he'll be very happy to see me stick the list on the fridge tonight! I've tried the Betty Crocker cake mix - the result was okay - her cookie mix is much better. Anyway, you're right, it's cheaper &amp; more fun making the whole thing from scratch!

Hi Prisc

Wow, your grandma sounds like a super lady! I loooove nonya kueh! I too regret not picking up culinary skills from my hb's grandma - her lou arh (braised duck) was fantastic!

Hi Choc06

My ang's specialty is char kway teow - but he hasn't cooked it for a long time cos' he said a particular brand of dark soya sauce is a key ingredient and he hasn't been able to find it anymore

When you move to my neighbourhood, let's meet up to experiment on the cupcakes, ya? I'll try to drop by b-i-y this Sat.

Hi LittleCat

Hey, I dare to kill crabs! That's one thing I can do that my hb does not like to do! Ya, "ang zor" the meat is nice and soft - my father say must choose those with nice bright blue spots. I ate mine already, if not can take pic and post here!

"Sua jiam" is very nice deep fried too - the silvery one with the long snout.

annelise/choc06, so envy u two can meet up to experiment more cooking/baking...
But happy that u two will contribute more recipe here in future, right ?

i do hear some of them say certain soya sauce from Malaysia is better. i have a ex-colleague last time brought dark soya sauce from malaysia for us! amazing, but he drive so it is ok lah.

sorry what is "sua jiam'?

eh annelise, i can't get this leh, u dare not touch live meat but u dare to kill crabs ??
i find crabs is more scary, seriously....

eh how do u cook your crab normally?
we prefer to steam (hehe the most easier and less messy one lah) put some cooking wine, ginger. but the sauce that come out not nice, so wondering if u need to do some seasoning on the crabs ?

Hi Annelise,
I'm impressed... you dare to kill crabs? Must use chopsticks and poke it in the heart right?

Hi LittleCat,
My mum adds a bit of hua tiao wine to it when steaming crabs; gives a nice flavour and we will finish up the sauce. But of course if pregnant, cannot take alcohol. In fact, my mum does not allow my pregnant sis to eat crab pincer cos she said it's no good... she says crab legs can eat, but not pincers when pregnant... No idea where she read it from, but probably from some pregnancy books that she bought recently!

Van,
Thanks for the "How long to keep foods" cutout... very useful as an addition to my fridge door

In NTUC, "sua jiam" is labelled as <smelt> - eh, I dunno how else to describe it - it's a long slender fish about the size of lady's finger.

Crabs got no blood mah! I think it's the sight of flesh, blood, feathers and fur that makes me feel very squeamish! When I drive, I'm very scared see dead animals on the road - sometimes will cause me to swerve a bit

Hi Sophie

I usually use a sharp knife - chopstick a bit blunt and they seem to take longer to die!

Hi LittleCat

I steam also leh - same as you, I don't season the crab - tastes quite nice. Actually I like black pepper crab, but don't want the crab shells to scratch my non-stick wok!

hi hong,
Welcome here!

Hi Pris,
You know how to cook Korean food? If you have the recipe for soon dubu, can you share with me? It's the spicy soup thingy with tofu inside. I'm not sure what kind of red chilli powder to use and how to make the yummy soup stock. My favourite Korean food place in Singapore is the Korean auntie at the Meridien Foodcourt... they used to be at the old Orchard Point basement foodcourt. Best soon dubu and grilled mackarel!

annelise, u r a kind 'killer', u try to make it fast so less pain ? haha..
i think killing is one thing, another one is to remove those eatable and non eatable thing...

ok so that is the right way of steaming, may be my taste bud change... and my hb lah keep comparing with restaurant why their taste better??
guess may be they put MSG also..

Sophie, after steaming the alcohol should be gone right? so should be safe to eat?
hehe if is old folks said is like can not eat crabs, no sotong, no otopus etc...

abt the fridge list,did anyone type the list out? pai seh trying to get a ready one so i can print and paste...

i am thinking of trying the live prawn this weekend. Can resists keep seeing the live prawn there and never try it out!

Annelise, yeap i think also better avoid the pi pa gao first.. i know some got printed like not for PG woman, but i search every where dun have, better don't take the risk also lah...

wow that is dangerous leh..
talk about driving my hb ban me from driving when I PG, also after he changed car :'(

Hello gals...
Wow... all the talks about food is really making me very hungry...
hmm... I shall make baked rice with lots of vege for my lunch today
I made that for my hubby last nite and he loves it

Sophie,
There's a very nice Korean restaurant along Thomson road. I never been there before, but my sis keep recommending...

Littlecat,
Yes... some soya sauce from Malaysia is nicer and not available in Singapore. I usually buy "Po-Po" brand soya sauce from Giant in JB. This brand is good and not easy to find too.
I get my dark soya sauce from JB too. The taste is very different. Dark soya sauce is sweet in Singapore, but salty bitter in Malaysia.
For sesame seed oil, I also get from Malaysia. lol... So many sauces from Malaysia hor? It's made in a shop in Penang...

lyn, yeap i think the 'po-po' is the one last time my colleague get for us
i remember there is a baby there one..
eh u go malaysia so often?

the oyster sauce premium is it the one with a 'boat/sampan' one?

there is one korea charcoal BBQ at Pasir Panjang quite good too. And they have small play area for kids.

Littlecat,
Yes... there's a baby there
Not easy to find... My parents are staying in JB

The Oyster sauce premium got some golden lining design. It's written, "Lee Kum Kee Premium brand oyster sauce". This oyster sauce is tasty enough to just use as a dip for steam vege
kekeke... for the lazy me again... :p

Hi lyn,
I think it's called Auntie Kim at Upper Thomson, next to some famous kampung chicken rice. I've been there a few times, they are not bad, but their soon dubu and grilled mackarel still cannot beat the Meridien foodcourt one. But the good thing about eating in restaurants is that they give a lot of little plates of appetizers, so it's quite nice. I also prefer the Meridien foodcourt one cos they have "brown" rice, which is more like a purple colour... full of wheat and stuff in it. It almost look like the bubur hitam colour.

So many types of sesame oil &amp; salty bitter dark soya sauce? hmm... if AF comes next week, maybe I'll take a short break to go Penang for a holiday. Never been to Penang before!

LittleCat,
Korean charcoal BBQ? Never had it charcoal-style before... will go explore it one of these days *drool*

As for alcohol evaporating, it's probably not 100% evaporated. This website at http://www.ochef.com/165.htm gives a table of how much alcohol is remained in food after cooking. Although it doesn't have any steaming method, steaming should retain more alcohol than simmering since it's not direct heat i.e. if you take 15 mins to steam your crabs, the amount of alcohol retained in the hua tiao wine should be more than 40%. So better play safe, wait till after giving birth then eat steam crabs with hua tiao wine!

Hi Sophie,
Yes... That's it... It called Auntie Kim. Oh, Meridien foodcourt one is better ah... hmm... next time I will go there and try
Thanks for the recommendation
The brown rice sounds interesting and healthy...
Penang is very nice for a short break

hmm... my "baked rice" is not bad
But I have finished it before I remember to take a picture of it :p. I just stir fry the rice with cabbage, carrots, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, yellow capsicum, dried cranberry, plus some garlic, and salt to taste
I think add an egg to stir fry will give the rice more taste, but I dun have eggs now. Then put on the plate and top with a slice of cheddar cheese and grill for 2 minutes for the cheese to melt...
And add some chilli flakes on top since I love chilli now... Bingo!!! My lunch!

thanks sophie for the website, sigh so i can't take anymore steam crabs with hua-tiao liao

yes, the BBQ is nice and i also like the unlimted flow of appetizers, vege to wrap with the bbq stuffs! yummy!
but hor, dun order extra rice hor, i think is $2 per bowl :p

Lyn, i can imagine your baked rice must be very good, u dun even have time to take a pics ! hehe, eh next time remember the sisters here waiting to see more nice pcs leh, so cho-to-ma-tei for 5 sec just snap a photo first lor

Cat_tail, r u referring to normal bird nest soup with rock sugar and red dates type?
if yes then is easy. Soak the best nest till soft, then try to clean as much as u can. Some grade one less feather so no need to clean that much. Put the bird nest into a 'dong-zhong' then double boil for 2-3 hours.
As for the rock sugar, i heard some say must put in at the last hour not in the beginning.
But my lazy method throw everything in and wait to drink it after 3 hours later.

I will normally use the thermal pot to double boil (put the dong-zhong in the thermal pot) about 45 min. Then remove from stove put this thermal pot (inner pot) in the Outer pot. And leave it there, no need to watch the fire, and save gas too.

For hashima (xue-ge) soups, similar to the bird nest, soak it overnite, clean it.
That's one extra step, put the hashima in a pot with a pcs of ginger, boil it for about 2 min. Then remove it from the pot, throw away the ginger and put in the dong-zhong. To cook it with ginger is to get rid of the smell.
Then the rest is the same, put rock sugar, red dates then double boil for 3 hours.

I saw from books hashima is good for 'strengthen immunity system'. Good for kids who cough too.
I have trained my son to eat, and tell him this is 'jelly'...