Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi Annelise, good to know ur girl is ok. Thanks for sharing the Fish & Green Papaya soup.

Lyn and Home,
I'm scheduled for a c sect in RH and won't be logging in from next week cos no internet access from home. Hope Lyn will have a short and smooth labour.

Choc06,
I heard can use Ikea clips in place of Avent clips for Avent milk bags. Some mums simply use rubber bands to tie them up.

annelise, this is how i normally cook my mushroom too with oyster sauce

let's try van's method one day, sounds delicious !

Choc06, u r right nowadays taste bud not so sharp, so got to put more chilli that's why too heaty i think...
hehe feel like trying it again this weekend, my hb dun allow me to eat too often lah..
but that was the most satisfy meal ! and my hb very funny, keep shaking his head and stare at the shell, and mumble, 'i never like this, since young i never eat this...'

the picnic at botanic garden, i didn't set up tables, not sure if is allow :p anyway that time i just bring some floor mat and sit on the floor. But i think now PG can not sit like that liao not comfortable leh... also now very tired lazy to go out...
choc06, share with us your chicken feet with mushroom recipe, want to try them. cos i like chicken feet too hehe...
btw my hb doesn't like mushroom too.. but the drumbstick mushroom he said it is ok, cos the mushroom taste not that strong... heng ah

okie got to go makan liao, chat again tomolo !

Ok, thanks Jen.. will check out the ebm milk bags first..

cat, is your morning sickness over? Find that spicy food is more appetising nowadays.. Does your hb know that you have a hum kaki cum xun you on the net ? Think we better keep this hum affair from him.. heehee..my hb knows but kept quiet and shook his head too.

I stood beside the stove that day and had a quick job eating them off the pot.. plus the chilli.. I boiled some for no.2 in a separate pot and she liked it !

The mushroom recipe is easy one, my grandma and mum always cook for occasions.
Soak mushroom first until soft, then wash the gills and ends of the mushroom.
Marinate with soy, sesame oil, sugar and cornflour.
Stew in water/ chicken stock and add slices of ginger, about 1-2 hrs.
Add chicken feet , black soy and oyster sauce, cont to stew until chicken feet is tender.
Opt : add dried oysters.
(The choice of mushroom will determine the "crunchiness" of the mushroom )

Hong Seng(red star) Restaurant at outram park, river valley rd has nice chicken feet and tim sum.. check it out !

Hi Van and Choc06

Have fully recovered...too much cheese cum milk...I am lactose intolerance so can only eat lots of ice cream during pregnancy.

Choc06...your description of food make me miss Singapore even more...

Van...spoken with dh earlier, told him that I dun think I am going to continue tutoring neighbour's boy as he can't cope with ds alone and I am not willing to let ds pick up bad attitude and habit. So that's settled and will inform neighbour later when I see her, just let her know that dh and I have decided that as ds is undergoing terrible 2, it is important for me to be there to discipline and train him.

Choc06...used to like hum alot but now I am into oyster heehee....but occasionally still eat them especially when in Singapore.

Choc06 and Little Cat,
I was so tempted by all these discussion over C Hum that I ordered a bowl of laksa for lunch that day.

I used to have monthly feast at my place before I have my girl, and after I have my girl but have a maid around to wash up.

One Must-Have dish is Chilli crab! My colleagues and I love eating crabs.Sometimes we have black pepper crabs,pineapple rice,Steam herbal chicken, claypot toufu,Har Lok..

When my hb's friends came over for majong session and durign CNY, I also have to cook for about 14 or more people,quite used to it.

I have extra-small,small, medium and Large woks at home, can you imagine?

Occasionally we have sandwich party,with lots of diff kind of fillings, and aslo steam boat with live prawns.

Prisc,
I love oyster too, can eat 1 dozen at one go,and like Escargot!

choc06, i think i eat too much spciy food now got sore throat, cough and lots of phelgm lor...

haha i told him that i have found more hum lover thru the net and jokingly saying we will have a hum party!
U mean your no.2 eat hum too ?
my son is exactly like his dad, no hum, no liver ... but tht day i was at one of the restaurant eating the sambal tua-tow (big head clam), cos this is the fist dish come up since he can't wait i give him some, he manged to take a few and keep making the 'shu-shu' sound cos abit spicy... :p terrible mom! but good try! haha!
So your recipe is for the chinese dried mushroom?
we have something similar to yours at home we normally cook it during CNY.
First they fried the chicken feet till very dried, then soak in cold water, this will make the chicken feet 'expand' and it taste better.
Then cook with bean curd strip, mushroom, similar to your method, yummy!
eh I like the dried oysters (hou-xi) too! esp those from hong kong huge and nice !!

Priscilla, hehe u got more expensive taste now
but i dun think they will have hum there right?
Glad that u r ok now. just wondering how u surive when u have lactose intolerance at western country? cos i thot they diet is like can't leave the milk, cheese... is it right?
Anyone try the japan hum before ? saw they are selling but it is very huge type, not sure how it taste like.

wow Van, u sounded like one of my hong-konger fren, she used to do that for us and she is a very good cook too!
I like Escargot too! eh i think carrerfour got sell those ready to cook type ? that not expensive, i think less $10, u buy back just bake it. I saw my fren did it b4, quite nice and cheap compare if u eat outside.

annelise, just wonder what happen to her why so serious broke her collarbone ?

one more question, pai seh such long long posting, is it true if the father is old boy got previledge to get to the primary school?

Choc06

No hum here ley...I am drooling liao how....

I love the dried oyster too....just cook that in porridge with scallop and silverfish for lunch for ds and myself today

I do not take milk and cheese here, just dh and ds do.

Yes, cat, about father being the old boy of the sch, son can go in.. during the initial phase.
Yah.. the mushroom recipe is the dried mushroom kind. Now they sell the ready fried chicken feet in the wet market..

My no.2 eats hum, but again, I don't want to give her too much.. I liao lao, mati never mind , but not her.. hyak hyak..

Oysters, hum, escargots.. we really have a common love huh ?

van, you gei hum for laksa boh? Some places charge 50 cents more.. Sometimes if I tell them lesser noodles and more hum, they give me slanted eyes !

Nice to entertain, how about the cleaning part ? Anybody helping ? My sis loves entertaining too and she can do many dishes like you !

Prisc, will it help if you ask neighbour's child to come to your house for tuition if ds is sleeping ?
Is there a sing restaurant in vancouver ?

Little Cat

yes if dad is a old boy has priority

I do not take milk and cheese very often...just once a while and a no no to have both at the same time, end up like what happened

Tried the big hum before, dunno whether it's from Jap.. not so succulent and sweet..

Hey Prisc, you know how to cook laksa, meesiam ?
when I was overseas for 2 yrs, I stocked up on Prima laksa paste, meesiam and mee rebus. this brand is rather authentic

wah... entertainment ah... I also like to invite people to my house for party... Think that will be the past already after baby arrives. Everytime I gotta clean the house before and after the party. And cook for the whole day...

Priscilla,
Glad that you are better now...

Wah... "see hum" party ah.. hahaha... that will be very interesting seeing you gals slurping the hum togather in a big group...

WOW ! nutritious, colourful and non-fuss !Thanks for contributing the pic! Your baby sure will have beautiful skin !

haven't tried alfafa in salads, I always put them in sandwiches. Is that almond ? Adds to the crunchiness of the salads hor ? Did you use butterhead lettuce ?

I found another kind of lettuce, forgot the name, it has curly ends, comes in purple and green.

doing broccoli with cheese for lunch today. Boil and strain broc, then add cheddar cheese into it.. It melts into the broccoli..
I made fried rice with mixed veg with chaipoh yesterday and topped it with fried ikan bilis, nice !!

wow lyn your lunch very healthy leh!!! i will luv this during normal day, but now PG, can't take raw vege. Wow is that alfafa? i like it with sandwich with avacado!
eh Lyn, imagine if everybody eat until got the juice coming is like a big group of vampire sucking blood... oops ok being too gross liao...pai seh...keke

btw choc06/van, i eat hum again just now.. since nobody at home and the only thing that came to my mind is eating hum lor... this time i didn't put the chilli padi, but put more garlic, hope it will kill the germs...
but without the chili padi sigh not as good lor... but no choice becos of my throat better 'ren' for awhile...

oh ok old boy gor priority tat is good. cos my hb is from Pei Hua, but we stay at Jurong East.

ok i know i KS :p i just want to know when must we go register or find out when to enroll etc? paiseh first timer lah..

hehe so our party won't be that boring cos we will have Oysters, hum, escargots, mushroom, petai.. & durian too?

Little Cat
If dad is old boy, get to register under Phase 2A1 or 2 A2,usually sure can go in at this phase,unless those super-hot schools.My girl will be registering under 2A2, what a relief!

NTUC used to sell the ready- to- cook Escargot with cheese, I bought it before.

When I had maid, maid did the cleaning up.When I don't have maid,my guests,who are usually close colleagues, will help out.They understood.
Not so for my hb's friends though, I have to Bao Sua Bao Hai.

Are there many cantonese here? Cantonese like dried oyster. Actually,I don't like. Prefer raw oyster with tabasco and lemon juice, or some dipping sauce.

We had durian party too! once in my house,once in another friend's house! Drooling...those durians at Balestier Road in front of the temple...

Choc06
Never thot of Gei Hum for laksa, will ask for it next time! As long as we pay extra, should be fine right?

Lyn
Thanks for the colourful and appetising picture!

Have u all tried the Japanes Peas sold frozen in NTUC? Those u see in Japanese restaurant and sushi belt.Nice and easy,can eat it hot or cold. Also brought this for picnic,not messy and easy to eat.

Van, thanks for the info... i hope it is not that hot for his year lor...

So far those come to my house one quite zhi-dong (in not dun invite them next time hehe).
I have done steam boat b4 easier one and cooking wise not many times, as i have the other HK fren who luv to cook so i dun have much of such opportunity, BBQ yes prepare all the BBQ thing and appetizer eg salads, fruits... that was once we had BBQ, cos one of my fren came to my house to help so i bought hum for two of us. We can't finish all also not much time to enjoy at the end we put it at the BBQ area. Guess what ? two of us and my HK fren eat them all and ignore the BBQ thing! haha!
So we know when we gather next time easy job! just buy few KG of hum, bake the escargo, durian and fruits and drinks. so we have a complete meal with carbo & protein hehe!

van! i like the Japanese peas too!!! and it is so easy to prepare and serve! i heard it is very healthy too.

lyn,
yr lunch very healthy and colourful!

van,
u really capable lah, can cook for many ppl!

Jenny,
All the best & take care ya, next week will see yr bb already, so exciting!

Pris,
Glad u feeling better!

choc06,
yr fried rice sounds delicious! I love fried rice very much, when eating out don't know what to order will sure order fried rice!
littlecat,
so cute, hum party! can my hb join ah, he also a fan of hum. I prefer lala, I ever bought 1 kg and ate it by myself, shiok. When small I loved going to the seaside to dig those fresh mini lala. My aunt will cook for us, mmm...

I love durian! that's my no. 1 preggie craving, kekeke.

choc,
Yes.. I used iceberg lettuce and butterhead lettuce... That's sliced almond flakes
I ran out of walnuts already. Walnut with salad also very nice

Sometimes I will add celery if I have it in my fridge, or the small sweet corn
. I am trying not to buy too much cos I gotta finish everything by myself...
hmm... for alfafa, seems like there are different flavours nowadays. I got a bit confused and just grab the onion flavour one. Dun taste very nice, but I still gotta finish them... kekeke...
I find the curly ends lettuce taste a bit bitter. I think I will eat that with thousand island sauce.
wow.. your fried rice sounds very appetising...

Littlecat,
Wah... alfafa can put in sandwiches ah? kekeke.. I havent try that. I eat alfafa cos I read that it's very rich in vitamins and minerals.. lol...
How come cannot take raw vege during preggie? My gynae told me not to eat outside, but home-made and make sure I wash them thoroughly. I soak all the vege in my filtered water...

Wow... all the strong smelling food party... hahaha...

Van,
Oh.. those Japanese Peas can get from NTUC ah? Which section? I havent see before.. keke.. maybe I will get some to stock up in my freezer. Seems easy to prepare on lazy days...

I think tomolo lunch gotta be steam sweet corn and steam sweet potato already... else gonna spoil...

Eh cat, don't worry, I also first time registering my gal.. also blur blur.. somemore, I helped out in registration before... hee.
Think van and annelise also first time, they'll tell us when to do it right ?

How many kgs did you eat this time ? Do you drink chrysanthemum ? Good for your throat.. I got no time to make now, so I just pour boiling water into yong sum sau (yang sen) and add salt. Good to relieve heatiness.

van, where to find the escargots in ntuc ? Have only seen the shells in Tierney's . Is it in cans ?Escargots in garlic is yummy too like Jacks'

What seasoning and sauce do you use for chilli crab? Btw, what's Har Lok ?
Where you get live prawns ? sorry , so many qns..

Add salads to the party also.. we must have a balanced diet..

we chat until forgot the recepi liao!

i bought a chicken last saturday, half i used it to steam with herbs and the other half i stir fried it the next day with mushroom & ginger.

here's the recepi for the steam herb chicken:
It was cooked during my confinment last time. The CL use the Dom to steam, for us PG now can replace it will hua-tiao-wine.

Ingredient:
half chicken
salt (abt 1/4-1/2 spoon)
cooking wine/DOM
red dates
dang-shen (for bu-qi)
wolfberries
*u can put other herbs like Pau-shen etc that u find it is good for u
for confinement, after certain days u can eat tang-gui time u can put in too

Wash and clean the chicken. Put salt on the chicken evenly & under the skin, put in the fridge about half an hour.
the herbs, wash and clean, pour some hot water there to soak for the taste to come out.
When ready to steam, take out the aluminium foil put it on a plate, put the chicken there, pour the herb with water in too & the wine. Fold the foil to cover the chicken leave some gap to let the hot air go in. with a plate at the bottom no worry the juice/soups will leak out.
Steam for 45 to an hour.
U can eat the chicken and drink the soups too.
During non PG time i like to put the DOM and it is so yummy! but too much of DOM wait very sweet. My aunt once put the hard liquor also quite nice.

sp,
hee... I try to eat 6 types and 5 colors of vege and fruits per day for a balanced vege meal... Nowadays I am eating more green color vege cos I need to "bu" my blood
. Today, fulfilled the 6 types already

Nowadays, I am craving for potato too... Last nite, went to Carl's Junior with my hubby and had a sinful meal there... lol...

Oh ya... I still got my bunch of watercress... hmm... u gals think watercress with sweet corn and sweet potato soup will taste nice? It sounds a bit awful to me now.. lol...

hmm... Or does watercress go with potato? I just remember I bought 5 potatoes last weekend...

Lyn, it is me only lah, somehow i can't take raw vege while PG now
but i like it during normal day. kind of taste buds change...sigh i use to take healthy food, but this time PG only think of the unhealthy food leh..
didn't know alfafa got diff flavour .. haha amazing!

Sp, of cos of cos, everybody can join! and we can train u to eat more hum also haha

Choc06, i bought it from market but like more expensive leh, one plate like that $1, but that day at sheng Song, about the same only 80cts.
i guess it is less then a kg. may be around the 800+gram

I sw sheng song at jurong west got live prawn, and live flower crab and some fish swimming there.
During CNY time i know IMM Giant got live prawn too, but not sure.
Steam drunken prawn using live prawn very nice.

hehe i am more like scare i miss the registration period lor... anyway leave it to the 'old boy' to figure it out haha!

btw do u gals take care of the PUB, tel bill etc? take care means u make sure monthly it is paid thru giro/checks, for sahm of cos money come from hb... and make a plan how much to save etc?

When I run out of ideas for cooking, I come to this thread..these cooking gurus will give you lots of idea.. the ikan bilis to add to fried rice is from van..
chaipoh fried rice, is from a chef call HUN TUM,though he passed away long time ago, his legacy and recipes live on in the minds of young and old..

Hey mums, did your newborns have jaundice when they were born ? Was observing that chinese tend to have jaundice, but not so common in malays and indians.. Could it be our diet ?
Actually jaundice is the break down of blood cells that leads to an increase in bilirubin(the yellowness of the skin),correct me if I'm wrong.. anybody done a research on that?

Japanese peas are found in the frozen food section, always placed near the frozen vege.

Escargot used to be at the chilling section,with the fish cake, but also saw it the the freezer section.It's not in can.It's packed like those fish cake/fish balls.

I got my live prawns from Yew Tee market, but they don'thave it all the time,depends on my luck. IMM Giant usually has live prawns.

I used Chng Kee's chilli crab sauce,mix with Maggi's tomato sauce for my chilli crabs.

About Jaundice,my fren taught me to take cooling drinks,like young coconut juice,sugar cane after 7 mths of pregancy, babies less likely to have jaundice.It worked for me, or may by just coincident.I did an informal survey among my friends, found out that those who did that, the babies all don't have jaundice. Yet to find out whether there is any scientifc proof behind this.

Lyn,
You are very discipline about the vege and fruits intake! You must have very nice complexion!

I add ikan bilis to fried rice too....learn about that from adam road market...and chicken to fried rice together with ikan bilis....

Priscilla, then how about your potato ?

other than mashed potato, baked potato, potato salad...what else ?

van thanks for the tips must try it out!
My son got jaundice although not that serious no need to put under the light, but i so scare...

Hi littlecat

She was running towards the sofa holding a big bouncy ball - bounced off the sofa and fell on her side, I think. I wasn't in the room with her and it happened so fast my mum didn't really see. I think it was the angle which she fell and hit the ground!

Hi Jenny

I gave birth to my no.2 at RH too! The ambience is nice - more like a hotel than a hospital! Hope you have a smooth delivery and a speedy recovery from your c-section. Take care & hope you'll come back and join us soon!

Hi Lyn

Wow, super healthy lunch! Looks really good too - thanks for sharing the pic

Hi choc

We will need P1 reg tips from you - my girl only K1 this year
You're right about the jaundice - I think breastfed babies may take longer to clear up the jaundice. There's a really good write-up about jaundice on Dr Sear's website at:

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/t029600.asp

I agree with van about the taking of young coconut water. Seems to work - maybe Malays & Indians take more coconut in their diet that's why jaundice is less common among the babies?

Btw, at Raffles Hosp's Paed clinic, they offer bilirubin measurement using a special handheld device. No need to go for painful heel prick for blood test. My poor niece who was delivered at KKH had to go to the polyclinic almost every day after discharge for blood tests to monitor her bilirubin levels!

I checked out MOE website for last two years ballot info to find out how "hot"are the schools around my area at different phases.

Hi van

What is XO type lup cheong? Where can I buy it from?

Hmmm...great minds think alike
So have you decided where to reg her?

annelise
I bought the extra lean lup cheong with XO liquor from NTUC/Giant. Already thrown away the packing, will check out the brand next time I go.

Hey annelise,
Thanks for the website.. are your babies sleeping, my two are.. ironing clothes and reading your posts..
I went into the east spring website and the others, but couldn't find out how "hot" they were leh..just hearsay from people around. Looked at what progs they offer and the pics of staff .. heehee.. kpo around..
Yah.. can meet up next time..to drink kopi.. do you drink kopi?

About the jaundice, my first one was hospitalised for a day.. as for the second one, discussed with hb and experimented that I shouldn't eat too much meat prior to delivery,since the liver breaks down red blood cells(meat provides rbcs)and yes, I took young coconut juice too.. the second one was discharged the same day as me(3 days)..clear of jaundice. Must try that again on no.3..

So many recipes,will copy and paste into ms word at night.. Do you all have a short cut?

Eh Lyn, sweet pot. with watercress? Haven't tried leh.. you making dessert ?

I think I saw live prawns from AMK SS before, now that you mention chilli crabs,must go find it and cook.
Woh Hup mix for chicken rice is nice also, but a bit oily..

cat, I don't handle the bills.. one thing about sahm is that hb must zhi dong give money,

aft nagging for sometime, he auto set aside the $ for savings and the giro is from his ac.
What about the rest of you ?

Jenny, take care and rest well..

van, apa Har Lok?

Choc06
ha ha, miss out Har Lok! It's prawns stir fried with sweet chilli sauce and honey/mai ya tang lah. Xia Lu in Chinese.Common in Ze Cha Stall.
If no time to mix, can buy the Asian Home Gourmet's ready mix sauce

Hahaha.. thank you lah van ! You have lots of recipe huh? you tried all the mix in the supermarket liao, is it?

Annelise and those stay in Tamp.. last week, read in the papers about a serial molester in Tampines.. he is still at large, be careful ok, ladies.. bring an umbrella along wherever you go.. to huntum

Yo mums,
anybody got nice bbq recipes to share ?
Tried terriyaki sauce to marinate chicken wings, has a sweet taste..
Marinated with sesame oil, oyster s , soy and lots of black pepper for 1-2 days, nice and not too spicy.
Heard from a friend that milk is used for the marinate as well..

Hi choc

My 2 were sleeping - now up already. Eating roti kosong and watching hi-5!

I love kopi - next to Simei mrt got starbucks
Oh dear, serial molester - then I better not roam around too much alone when my girls are in school! Last time when I was in college, whenever I go home at night on my own, I used to carry a pair of scissors in my pocket (those razor sharp kind that I used for dissection)!

Even when I was working, my hb paid all the bills - so not much adjustments had to be made. Shopping/medical bills etc. charge to credit cards, supermarket use Nets - easier to track exp so I always try not to use cash if I can help it.

Hi van, thanks
Yeh, tomorrow I will cook har lok!

choc06,
err... not sweet pot I am going after... hahaha... Just hoping to throw everything I need to eat into a pot... lol...

Oh.. cannot eat too much meat before giving birth ah? I am drinking coconut water already
Anyone know is there a maximum?

Eh.. lyn, testing only, about the meat thingy.. we might need the energy for pushing leh.. But again, energy comes from carbo..
Annelise,
Wah.. you want to dissect him ah ?
The serial molester goes around in a bicycle esp in the lift and flips up the skirts of students using the handle bar. He uses his bike to stop girls from going out the lift and uses his hands.. there is a photofit of him put together by the victims.. he's dark skinned . Worried about my nieces too!

wow u gals so good can meet up liao..

aiyoh so scary got serial molester, better becareful. is this in the news already ?

annelise, sometime u really dun know how and which part they fell causes that. sigh...
My boy lips kena the table side,twice bleeding abit 'po-xian' liao... me so heart pain, but boy ok lah no need to look so 'pretty'

eh u really KS, but i LIKE! haha... so we just keep each other informed when is the right time, make sure we don't miss out.

Anyone want recepi in Chinese ? let me know your email address.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD></TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD></TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (9 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> </TD><TD>love food;seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> boy(2yr)</TD><TD></TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
pai seh i thot i have posted it this morning, but check check how come no table there.. here u go..

anybody agreed we should put our email address here? or too P&amp;C ?

Choc06 and Annelise

Sori some corrections

I always use Sin Long's Chilli crab Sauce for my chilli crabs,but it's hard to find, not even in NTUC.Usually have to get from Sheng Song.Only When I can't find Sin Long, then use Chng Kee's.

Saw another Tai Sing Brand also have chilli crab sauce, not sure if it's nice, anyone tried?

The Ready Mix sauce for Har Lok is Lee Kum Kee's, not Asian Home Gourmet.

So far only tried very few types of ready-mix sauce, but those that I tried are all good,like the GONG BAO Sauce,really good.I always add some roast cashew nuts to my Gong Bao Ji Ding.

BTW, has anyone tried fried rice with Canned pork cubes and ikan billis? My hb loves it, but it's spicy, so not for kids.

Prisc,

Ingredient of Suan Pan Zi( Hakka Abacus Beads)

600g yam,peeled and cut into about 1 cm pcs
300g tapioca flour

(Some people prefer more yam,less chewy,the ratio can be adjusted accordingly)

*Dried Chinese mushroom,soaked and diced
*Minced pork or chicken
(Dried cuttle fish, cut into thin strips(Optional)
*30g dried prawns or hay bee,soaked,drained and pounded
*3 to 5 cloves garlic
*salt for yam

<u>Seasoning</u>

salt
pepper
fish sauce
dark soya sauce
sugar
chicken stock granules(optional)
Abalone sauce(optional, but i used)