Cooking Tips & Recipe

hi Jolene,
I think if your friend is not having any problems *touchwood* like spotting, it should be OK.
But if got spotting, must never take dang gui or ginseng (esp. Siberian).
And my gynae's stance is that if got spotting, don't take black chicken too, cos scared heaty... he's afraid if too heaty, bleeding will not stop (like in the case of a nosebleed).

How are you coping with your 3mth old dd? Are you a SAHM or FTWM? DO you cook a lot?

Huskie
I think its from malaysia.I never tried it before.
Talking about nordic, I have one bottle unopen, bought from vitakid and not sure when to use it. Cod liver oil is also very very cheaper when bought from the states, in general, vitamin are cheaper there.

Choc06
Yes, sambal chillie kind

Annlee
I like your explanation on the diet...very interesting

Jolene
Welcome

hi huskie

thanks for the pointer! my fren previously had 2 miscarriages, so wanna cook something "pu" for her present preg. i wil just put red dates and wolfberries, probably "yu zhu". i'm a SAHM. i am doing ok so far but find it a lil challenging to cook and take care of dd at the same time. so far i've tried cooking dinner, 3 times a week. other times i go over my parents' place or eat out. i marvel at how u all can manage. r u and the others oso SAHM?

huskie,
I have been giving Nordic cod liver oil to my younger son only in the night ever since you told me excessive of vit D is no good so now can switch to the morning. I also give it neat, let my son swallow that teaspoon and thats it. If I mix it with his milk it will be alot for him tasting the fish oil from the whole bottle of milk and he might reject the milk. So best to give neat

oh your sister almost had high sugar level, read that the sugar level will be high mostly on the last trim and woman over 30s.

Now looking on my diet...today lunch had brown rice porriage with salmon added some sea salt and a big plate of boiled spinach spray with some bragg soy sauce.
Tonight cooking stir fry chicken breast with chicken liver + king oyster mushroom+ onion and stir fry broccoli+black fungus with oyster sauce.

Jolene,
Welcome!
wah...you're so nice...cook for your friend. Miscarriage is also like giving birth, the body will be very weak. So the essence in fact is very bu for her. I'm also SAHM.

Joy,
I gave Nordic cod liver oil when my son is 2, it also depends on which cod liver oil you bought, for my 6 yrs old son, I gave him fish oil for Junior level.

Tomorrow going primary 1 registration for my son. A bit nervous hee...

Joy,
I am giving Soph the cod liver oil now, and she is only coming 17mths old. I give in the morning with her breakfast - half a tsp.
After a few days of it, I find that her skin is no longer so dry anymore... her toes used to have dry patches, although they're not eczema. Now the dry patches are almost gone... so it's probably just a lack of EFAs. My mother says my milk not fatty enough and therefore not enough nutrients

Jolene,
You're welcome!
Oh, your friend had 2 mcs before huh? If it's cos of spotting in 1st tri, I would say skip the red dates even, cos red dates can be heaty too. Maybe you just make chicken essence with wolfberries and yuzhu? I also heard yuzhu is good, but not sure if it's ok for problematic pregnancies.
Tell her not to worry so much.... must look on the bright side of things. My sis' friend also had 2 mcs, then after that every week bu with kampung chicken essence (she just put red dates and wolfberries)... soon after, she conceived twins and carried them till 36 or 37th week!

I'm also a SAHM. Yeah, it's not easy to cook and look after baby at the same time. I still remember the first 6 mths after dd arrived and hubby was always overseas... I practically ate one-pot meals everyday - cook one pot and eat that for lunch and dinner!

annlee,
Do you give your ds the children's strawberry one or the normal one? Do you find that it smells fishy?

Yeah, my sis was 36 when she gave birth, plus my mum has diabetes so dunno if there's any hereditary factor. Not to mention that my sis binged a lot on sugary foods when she normally didn't like too much sweet stuff.

Your dinner sounds good and healthy!
For king syster mushroom, I find that there is a funny taste, or am I just fussy? How to get rid of that taste?

annlee
Sure get in...relax

cod liver oil
Both my kids stop cod liver oil as its a bit too heaty and i only give them multi vit gummy bear bought from states.

Dinner
Not cooking for next few days as hubby not in town....

huskie,
I gave him the strawberry flavour but there's still fishy smell and that's why I don't add in the milk, if not the whole bottle of milk full of fishy smell.
Ya...there's smell on the mushroom, I just soak it with water. The smell I still can take it but not for shitake mushroom, the smell I can't take it even though soaking it, change water a few times but still can't get rid of the smell.

Joy,
Thanks... hee..
oh yes...not so good to give gummy vitamins for the kids. Has been given my kids the gummy bear vit and cause tooth decay , my ds1 dentist told me to stop all gummy vitamin

wow i see u all being SAHM cook almost every meal really spur me to consider cooking more often. cos i'm really sian of eating out. plus home-cooked food is afterall better for BF mom.

can share one-pot meal recipes with me?

Fried kway teow mee for lunch today. Tonight eating out..

Welcome Jolene! I'm a SAHM to 3 and 1/2 kids. No.4 popping in Oct.
One pot meals are easy to go with brown/normal rice. Like chicken stew, beef stew.. Sometimes, if you don't want to do frying, you can make mee sua soup with fish and veg. Just use ikan bilis stock. Or you can make a big batch of beef bolognaise sauce, freeze them into smaller portions ;)
Take lots of fish and soup, it's good for bm.
Pbunny has a nice double boil chicken soup recipe just by using wolfberries and red dates. It tastes great too..

Hey huskie,
yah, don't know why these older generation think that too! My sil says that girls are problematic when they are teenagers. Actually, it all boils down to what kind of teaching they receive.
Now my 2 older girls are very close, they play together and are like best friends. But they also have their fair share of squabbles too.Whereas no. 3 is always the odd one out. So, when no.4 comes, hope he'll have a mate to play with too;)

I like king oyster mushrooms too. The veg seller was telling me to soak the sliced mushrooms in salt water, so that it's crunchy.. as for the smell, it does smell a little mushroomy.. Use lots of garlic to musk the smell?

Hey ann, yah.. tomorrow is the pri one reg.. Don't kan cheong .. . my neighbour also said she ate lots of chilli padi during her 3 pg, and asked if my children have sharp, loud voices! She said eating chilli padi caused that!

u gals hv yummy dinner tonight? me eating out cos need to run some errands. hahaha he will just hv plain rice and tofu foodcourt.

ann, i also give gummies vits, 3x a week and each time 2 pcs. he used to eat chewable then suddenly dislike it so no choice got to change liao. me mummy eating those chewables.

hey i forget to drop u email again. me too busy at work these few days. will do soon.

Pinkbunny,
So cool! poppy's going to have a white xmas as her first xmas!
Thanks for the offer for lugging stuff to montreal.

My bro and sil are in states now and will be back end of the year.
Nice no. to remember 06-07-08.
How's the pizza? hahaha.. maybe poppy's daddy not thinking hard enough.
Will pm u on the blog for yr recipes

I also woke up this morning feeling extreme hunger. Jia luk, at this rate i am eating.... will hit 25kg weight gain again.

Huskie,
Thanks, will go check Vitasense website.
Actually wanted to try their eye gel, but since is only so-so... think can forget abt it.
And thanks for the update on cod Liver oil.
Have been feeding my boy with one tsp of nordic cod liver oil each day since he is 15months old.
But pd suggestion is not to give any supplements when the childern not feeling well. So will stop his cod liver oil when's he coughing also.
What other supplements do u give sop?

Choc,
My blood type also 0+ and like u, i am also not convinced on the blood type diet.
Especially with all the growth hormones that are injected into the animals and the type of food the animals are fed on now.

I also love chilli padi. Everything goes with chilli for me. the normal chilli have no kick at all.
during preggy with no 1. the craving for chilli padi was really intense. But this one is better.
and hor.. if yr neighbour theory is correct.. then i know the reason why my no 1 have such loud voice! sigh... not only the work of cordyceps, chilli padi as well.

my pil quite biased... they only like grandson.

There was once i am quite blunt and actually told them off, they have since quite quiet.
They did not even dare to ask abt the gender this time round... or maybe asked my husband behind my back.
Actually i prefer girls. cos i believe girls will be still closer to the family as compared to boys.
In fact my family hoping hard that no. 2 will be girl.
heee.. my family was so tempted to get all those baby girl stuffs.
And i also believe that upbringing is very important. Not necessary girl will give u lot of problems during their teenage years.

Me also craving for food cooked with wine, though am not a drinker.
Craving was so bad that i actually ordered french onion soup just now during biz lunch hoping a dose of wine in the soup.
Jia luk leh...

The myrcofarm oyster mushrooms are quite nice, i fried with just garlic and butter. But my husband thinks there's a werid smell. Will try yr salt water method, hope can get rid of the smell.

Ann,
heee.. i have been eating chilli padi daily and even thinking of eating cincalok.
Cos saw it at the supermarket and told myself better control.
Is the buffalo stainless rice cooker good? Saw that at ntuc and wondering if its good.

For the gd diet, just bear with it for a while.
Everything will be back to normal soon. ;)

Jolene,
welcome to the thread.

me ftwm, but trying to cook during weekend.

Joy,
heee... time to relax while yr husband is not in town.

Twinkle,
hee.... cooking strike for u today. ;)

annlee
gummy bear without sugar coat also cannot give?what is the reason?

Cookie
You right man, he not in town,me have lots of me time, just do not have a driver....

Grinding teeth
My gal has been grinding her teeth while sleeping, whole of last night, yesterday...anyone knows what I can help to stop it....

cookies, 1 night strike worth it and i m more saint .

Who is cooking tonight?

I hv not really plan yet but thinking may just Wu Xiang and stir fry veg for us and stirfry fish bites for DS.

Tis morning i already put my rice cooker on timer and defoze DS fish liao... hmmm.. i hv Wu xiang ready made in freezer, maybe can use that.

twinkle,
You made the wu xiang yourself?

I am cooking tonight... a one-pot dinner which is chicken curry + rice. I know this is not right, but I will throw some carrots into my curry in case I don't have time to steam any veges, then at least I get my vege in curry

Hee, I think my MIL also prefers boys cos she has 2 boys herself, and she also remarked that my cousin-in-law's decision to migrate to Oz is a mistake given that my cousin-in-law has 2 girls and girls are more "problematic" to bring up in Oz (??).

annlee,
How did your Pri 1 reg for your ds go?

Choc,
I agree girls or boys can be just as problematic if not taught properly since young. Funny why your SIL thinks girls are more problematic... cos boys also get into things like gangs and gangfights...

Jolene,
Choc's idea of freezing some meals is good. I freeze my stews too, for emergency days, and they do come in very useful.
A Korean lady taught me this soup/stew thing which they eat for their confinement and for milk ss and quality - just fry some shredded ginger or garlic in a bit of sesame oil, then put in some presoaked and cut wakame seaweed to fry a bit, then put in some meat (pork or sliced fish), add water and seasoning and you have a soup dish to go with rice.
I made this dish a lot when hubby was travelling and I couldn't go out to buy fresh veges, cos seaweed is dried grocery which I can keep in my larder and meat in freezer.

cookie,
Now I give Soph the cod liver oil daily + Usana multivits daily + grapeseed extract on alternate days. I also give cordyceps but only about twice a week.
Yep, when she is sick, I will stop cod liver oil and cordyceps, but will continue with multivits and grapeseed extract cos the antioxidants in them actually help her recover faster.

twinkle,
no prob...thanks!

cookie,
cincalok, better don't take...full of poison hee... wah...we got a few chilli queen here, thought I'm the only one crazy for chilli. I noticed my complexion is better when not having any chilli in my diet, esp not having sambal or balachan chilli, normally if I had that for 2-3 days, there will have lotsa millias on my forehead area and if stop it will gone, so poisonous!
Hey...what is your weigh now? I put on 10kg better than last preggie which is 21kg but now feel very bloated. My hb so bad, call me a rubbish bin.
I think buffalo rice cooker is good. It has 2 layer stainless steel and using stainless steel suppose to be healthier. NTUC selling?? You sure? Only seen it at OG, and also not cheap.
oh yes... where can I get myrcofarm oyster mushrooms?

Joy,
My gummy vit also without sugar coat. The gummy might stuck on the teeth and if the kids did not brush the teeth properly, it will cause tooth decay. Gummy is very sticky and sometimes is impossible to tell them to brush the teeth after taking eating that and that causes the problem too.

huskie,
which type of curry chicken paste did your use? Hey...the soup/stew wakame seaweed sounds good, what seasoning did you add?

My ds pri 1 reg think shldn't be a prob to get in, this morning went to the school I'm #3 in queue, so there's abt 160+ seats left avail.

pinkbunny,
how are you? Did not hear from you, you pop already?

huskie,
forgotten to tell you, there's no smell on my king oyster mushroom I had it yesterday. I add some sesame oil, no smell at all, my sons like it very much.

wow ann, at least you don't need to ballot.. My dd1 was born in the yr of dragon, 52 vacancies and 130plus pp balloted! I was one who sat through the heart attack and didn't get it. That time going to pop no. 3 also. Found another parent and both of us just sat there sighed and sighed! Then left my dd's name in the long waiting list..2 months later then got in

Think I saw the buffalo brand inner rice pot in Metro Causeway pt. Got to tell them the model of your rice cooker..

Hey joy, my ds also grinds teeth at times, thought he stress or what !

Hey twinkle, I love the fried corner of the wu xiang! But, the meat in my wu xiang always doesn't stick well..

Huskie, the reason my sil thinks gals are problematic cos some of her friends are problematic. One of her then teenage friends got into trouble and got to give her bb up for adoption and some of her girlfriends smoke..I think the older folks like to give pressure to the younger generation, giving them the idea that boys are more preferred.

I have been using A1 curry paste for the chix curry, but recently found that it's not spicy at all. Thought my tongue needs some spicing up.. Anyone using Baba's curry powder ?

I had lots of wakame salad during my 1st trimester until MIL said it's not good for preggy women cos it contains too much iodine. She said she read one chinese article on that..

Today ,I made black chicken soup with red dates and wolfberries. Then cooked mee sua and vege separately, and add in the chicken soup. Think i m craving for confinement food.. Used to make that aft CL left. Will add black fungus and ginger strips and some wine if i'm not preggy.

Was thinking about pbunny too. Hey pbunny , have you pop poppy ?

choc,
For your dd1 reg, why take 2 months to get in? That's long wait.
yah...I wanted to get the buffalo inner pot but my rice cooker model don't fit in so must get the whole rice cooker from buffalo which I did not, very ex leh...
I have tried A1 curry paste, is delicious but v v oily. I tried baba's curry powder but only try their fish type, not bad. Also tried this vegetarian curry powder from NTUC, no msg, quite good too. Any idea is there any chicken curry paste that no msg and less oil?

Cookie, I using Buffulo rice cooker now, it's gd cos stainless steel.

Choc, what brand of worchester sauce do you use for your chix stew?

Huskie, what's wakame seaweed?

Joy,
if u hanging up yr apron, yr maid take over or u eat out with the children?
my sister grinds her teeth, and the doctor says is due too stress.
will that be the case for yr dd?

Twinkle,
Very true. Sometimes its good to give yrself a well-deserved break.
u made yr own wu xiang?

Huskie,
is usana multi-vitamins good.
thinking of giving multi-vitamins but when asked the pd, he says there is no need to.
a healthy daily diet is sufficient.
so am still looking at what multi-vitamins can i give my boy.
btw, do u give sop fruits daily?

will try out yr korean recipe when i back to my fresh milk supplier job again. ;)

ann,
why cincalok full of posion? becos of the prawns?
think i really must have chilli, and recently like tasbaco sauce alot.
sigh... my weight... so demoralising.. have gain abt 16kg so far. crossing fingers and toes that will not reach 25kg again.
another month more for us hor...

I saw the buffalo rice cooker at bt panjang or bt timah ntuc before, but that was some time ago.
i got the myrcofarm brand mushroom at ntuc. think the farm is in singapore, somewhere near jalan kaya i think.

Choc,
u very lucky, can get into the school of yr choice in the end.
when will no2 be back in school? or u will continue to homeschool her longer?
didi too much stress, so grinding teeth?

I also think A1 curry paste not as spicy as before.
And notice a few different packaging for A1 curry paste. or different company all claiming to be A1?

Pinkbunny,
poppy decided to come out to play or u busy cooking?
opps... sakali in labour ward now ;)
update us when u have time okie.
we kanchiong for u.

ann,
Dd1 didn't get a place aft the balloting.. so we were on the waiting list. Then we went to another sch with only 14 vacancies left, 20 people to ballot. Another heart-attack! But this time round, hb went , and got the place. But I was very reluctant to send dd to that sch cos it was too far and I got to lug my 2 other kids down early in the morning to let dd1 take the sch bus. My neighbour, who also didn't get a place in the same sch i balloted for, went to look for the MP before us, then she got a place.. They also suggested we go. So aft a tedious process, just before the pri one orientation, the sch called to tell us that dd1 got a place! haha.. I really appreciate the vicinity of this sch cos it's just a shout away.. next to my blk!

Have you tried making curry yong tau foo ? I've tried the Hai's brand, think laksa paste, but still not so spicy..

My hongkong friend loves to make this ginger onion dip to go with chicken rice. First, grate one knob ginger until very fine, then chop spring onions very fine. heat up about 1-2 tablespoon oil, pour into the ginger cum spr onion mix, add some salt to mixture.
Use the dip for chicken.. Yummy! Some will replace spr onion with garlic

Giggler, the worchester sauce is Lea and perrins, orange label one.. I always use that on beef, somehow it's a good combi with beef.. So this time round , decided to try in on chicken.

Cookie, dd2's health is getting better now. The GP told me that her asthma is triggered by virus and will be more jia lat than other kids. The asthma will be accompanied by high fever.. He suggests vit c and to keep her at home as long as I can. But I think now she's ready to go back to sch. So next yr, she'll join dd1 in the aft session.
I'm also giving her some powdered herbs by chinese med hall, it contains cordeceps, almond powder, some ginseng and dunno what else..hee,,

Maybe milk monster chasing didi, so he stressed and grind teeth in sleep !

cookiemonster
When I do not cook, she will either has to cook basic dish for my kids or I will bring my gal out for food. The younger one still has his basic porridge at home daily.

cookie,

i used to make my own " wu xiang" but minus the pork fats or use the "fat net" . i saw some cooking program use the fats in a net shape.

then of cus mine dun turn out nice lah. so now i bought fm my nearby store which has nice taste , but not so fat type. hahaha i think i m lousy leh

hee, maybe pbunny popped liao!~

annlee,
I love cincalok too! hee, esp. with the small bits of fatty pork in them!

Curry paste: used to use Hai, but yesterday 1st time tried My Mum's Cuisine one... so good that hubby finished the whole pot of curry, even without rice left! Taste is spicy but not just hot kind of spicy... and a bit of nonya type of curry taste.

Seasoning for wakame soup/stew: I just use my Tamari soy sauce or I think any soy sauce will do. Just a bit enough already, cos the meat and seaweed actually has its own flavours. SOmetimes I want it lighter and I'll use Bragg.
See below for links to the recipe.
I buy my seaweed from the Korean Solmart at Novena Square2... not sure if they are wakame, but taste good in this recipe!

As for Pri 1 reg, I don't understand leh... thought you said your ds already got a place in Tao Nan? How come still need to queue yesterday? Soemhow I have the idea that yerdat's reg was just taking a starter kit... like a goodie bag? :p
Woah, this Pri 1 reg thing sounds very stressful from Choc's account!

Thanks for update on the oyster mushroom. Think I'll try it again... cos the last time I tried, hubby didn't like it cos of smell.

Choc,
Eh, your SIL's friends really sound quite problematic! Think I'll be very stressed if my kids are like that *sigh*

As for wakame, I know the Koreans eat it like a confinement dish afetr giving birth, but not sure about during pregnancy leh. Here is a version of the recipe... for you too, annlee... I prefer the first link cos it's one of my fav websites

http://drbenkim.com/recipes-seaweed-soup.html
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Korean-style-Seaweed-Soup/Detail.aspx

Gig,
Wakame seaweed is a kind of seaweed mostly found in Jap miso soups. But the Koreans actually use other kinds of seaweed, not just wakame.

cookie,
I'm not sure if usana vits are good for Sop leh, cos she never tried other brands of multivits.
All I know is that it's not very srtifically sweet, cos friends' kids who are used to the usual sweet type of vits don't like usana cos not sweet enough. But Sop is ok with it.
I give her usana cos I've always been taking usana myself cos of the natural Vit A content, so just give her the kiddie one lor

As for fruits, yep, Soph gets fruits every day with her breakfast... mostly papaya cos it helps her poop. But yesterday I gave her persimmon and today nectarine.

choc,
oic...woah...at that time must be kanchiong for you but luckily it went smoothly. Somemore the school is the choice you want and next to your block, so envy!

The worchester sauce from Lea and perrins reminds me of my childhood food that my dad used add to his beef. Wanted to get 1 bottle but changed my mind as I only know how to use that for beef and my hb do not take beef so afraid the sauce will display in the fridge for yrs and spoil. How to you find the sauce with chicken? If is nice I might wanna get a bottle.

I have tried Hai's brand for chicken curry, nice too but I prefer A1.
Have not try yong tau foo curry but sometimes I will add some tau pok, tau kwa into my curry veggies. I liked tau pok in curry.

cookie,
yah...becos of the prawn lor...but nice hor... aiyo talking abt spicy food think I'm gg to get my kimchi soon hee...
Don't think you will put on 25kg lah...we got 1 month+ to go.

huskie,
oh you use My Mum's Cuisine curry paste. Wanted to try that but everytime saw them in small pack so not sure whether issit enough but will try it when making curry, maybe will get 2 packets like what I get from hai's curry paste as it was also quite little in a pack.

Thanks for the korea food link! I like korea food, must be very useful!
The Korean Seaweed Soup reminds me of korea drama show that when their birthday is a traditional soup to hav for their birthday.

Abt the school, yesterday is the official date for registration. Before that I have join the alumni so chances is very high to get in a place. So after yesterday registration, they will let us know the result by next week. This morning the school clerk called me and says there's a document I did not give it to them so just now my hb bring it to the school and they gave my hb a official confirmation slip that my son has secure a place in the school. So now is confirmed hee...

ann,
The worchester sauce will not spoil, i think. Cos I also put inside the fridge for long long time. Only make beef stew when the kids asked for it or when it 's a cooling day. The sauce goes nice with chicken. The recipes I have for chicken stew is always oyster sauce.. you have other variations ?
I bought the smaller bottle of the worchester sauce.

I like curry vege also, and yes lots of tau pok. What paste you use ? Do you pound the rempah from scratch ? The market kind not spicy leh..

Yah.. really thank God the sch is so so near ! Can swing from a rope down the sch too.
Tho it's not a pop sch, the vacancies are always snapped up cos there's only one sch within the 1km radius. We've spoken to the MPs and principal, they said they know.. and asked us to go to a further sch! What answer !

Huskie, I'll give "my mum's cuisine' curry paste a try .. Where can i get it ? Sorry, so swa ku..
The korean food link is good! The soup is easy to cook too! Thanks!

Tonight, cooking 5 grain porridge to go with chicken drumstick mushroom fried with pork strips and fry french beans with eggs..
Looking for more dishes to go with plain porridge.

Have a great weekend ahead !

hi mummies i am home! here's my birth story as requested, all the gory details!

750am on 1 july
on the comp cos couldn't sleep cos poppy woke me up at 5am (hungry). some more than night i slept at 2am. then i felt A LEAK! went to tell my hubby. he said 'no la, it's just discharge'. so i purposely wipe and show to him. i said 'see? no smell, no colour, and it's not JUST discharge ok?'. so how so how so how? wait go hospital then kena sent home then how? so pai say right? call gynae? but his clinic only open at 9am. so how so how? then we remembered oh, we have the gynae emergency number. so called. then operator got our contact and in 5 mins the gynae called back. i was peeing when he called and my husband told him ALL THE WRONG INFO. he said i was bleeding, and my water bag BURST. *shake head*. i had to scream from the toilet to give him the right instructions. so gynae said go to hospital.

9am
reached hospital and got put on CTG. 1cm dilated. contractions were nothing to worry about so we thought ok la, sure can go home. that's when my famous craving for red star dim sum started. we were so confident that we'd be sent home so my nua already start to lao. then gynae called to say better stay in hospital cos i leaking, so he scared got infection. WEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2pm
1.5cm dilated. they thought it would be to speed up my contractions so i was put on the drip. at first i thought eh, ok leh, i can tahan. pain but the yoga breathing helped hor? give myself a pat on the back and smile smile smile. hubby so confident that he went out of the room, bluffing me that he was going out for "a walk" but....

5pm
.... he came back smelling of food. the minute he walked into the room i threw my stress ball at him. very stressed. and contractions had gotten very painful. i tried laughing gas that didn't really help. hubby asked 'how? you want epi or not?'. i still stubborn. didn't know if i wanted to cave in or not. then maybe about half an hour, it grew more and more painful and when nurses checked i was only 2cm dilated. basket. from 9am to 6pm, only 2cm??? how to tahan all the way to 10cm?? so i screamed "GIVE ME EPI NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!". hubby said 'sure or not? you want to try the thigh injection or not first?'. i think i grabbed him by the throat like trying to strangle a chicken and i said "EPI! NOW!".

6.30pm
doc epi came and asked 'how are we doing?'. i said 'i want to die'. he said 'don't die, if you die, how to administer epi for you?'

6.45pm
epi made me happy. ahhhhh......

so tried to sleep, nothing much happened. you know how some mummies say with epi they are so much more relaxed that they dilate very fast after? did not happen for me. epi stopped the pain but also made me lose feeling in both legs. it felt like MAJOR water retention. like thighs all the way to toes were filled with water and numb. i made poor hubby massage me almost all of 3 hours.

1am
nurse says i am 9.5cm dilated! said maybe in half an hour can try liao! happy!

1.15am
another nurse checks (by now the V checks all no feeling liao cos of epi) and said 'your baby is still very high up. maybe another 2-3 hours'. at THIS point i really wanted to cry. my legs were so uncomfortable, i was so tired, and i was tired of saying 'i only want one child ah! no more sex from now on ah! if we have sex, i take 10 pills and we use 3 condoms ah!'.

1.30am-ish
gynae comes in and says 'ok let's get this baby out'. HAPPINESS!!!!!!!!!!!! push push push but very tough to gague if i'm doing it right (or even pushing) because i can't feel anything. got sai come out or not i don't even know.

then gynae asks my hubby 'can see the head crowning liao, you want to see?' so he did. at that moment gynae snipped me (didn't feel that either). then hubby came to my side and leaned forward, i thought he was going to kiss me AND THEN HE FELL ON ME. he FAINTED! fell on me when i was pushing and then fell to the floor.

both nurses that were helping me went to help him. gynae rolled his eyes. i think i did too. so we concentrated on the more important task at hand and hubby woke up just in time to rest a bit and take photos of....

1.59am
.... the arrival of our little poppy :)

1534471.jpg

but my milk supply is still not here yet (nnp still soft soft!) ... getting rather frustrated! hopefully CL's cooking and massage lady will help. but meanwhile, still trying to pump to stimulate, and whenever possible, trying to let poppy suck suck to maintain the bond.

pbunny, Congrats!!!
Must be very happy now to be able to carry poppy on your arms rite? Your hb really funny leh, I cant stop laughing reading that part that he fainted. Hehehe

PinkBunny.
Congrats!!!
Hahaha, your hubby fainted?! So funny! ;) Luckily not C-sect... if C-sect, he surely faint earlier! :p

Rest well and your milk ss will come in soon.

Aiyoh, I see that pic I feel like having #2 now!

pinkbunny,

your birth story is so interesting! kekeke...your hb fainted. My gynae telling my hb he might faint if he wants to follow if I op for GA. But he's fine with me when my last 2 preggies having c-sec with epi, he saw everything...the knife cutting on my 3 layers fat hee...

Don't be desperate for your milk supply, must relax, the more desperate you are the les supply it would be. Relax, rest and eat well!!

mummies! my susu come already!!!! been pumping like siao but only 30ml so far but better than nothing! and it's only my first day. felt i should pump cos have been giving poppy FM for the past few days cos didn't want her to go hungry (must be realistic right?) so she's used to about 50-60ml. so now supplementing with FM, and also getting her to re-latch on, and just keep fingers crossed.

huskie and mommies,

I remembered you using slow cooker to cook porriage right? Normally how long it takes to cook brown rice porriage? my maid has been using the stove to cook brown rice porriage and takes for more than 2 hrs to be cooked. So was wondering shld I use slow cooker or stove to cook it to save electricity hee...

choc,
for the veggie curry, I used vegetarian curry powder bought from NTUC, no msg type. Actually I don't really know how to make curry only buy the paste and my maid will do the rempah. She will add extra stuff like chilli, garlic, shallot, etc....it depends on what she cook. .

pinkbunny,
I'm also like that...pump and pump at the beginning but milk only 30-50ml. It takes awhile, must let bb latch on more often.

choc,
glad to hear dd2 health is better now and can be back in school soon.
what sort of vit c will be good to give children. did not give my boy flu jab despite sending him to childcare. so was thinking to give him vit c instead.
but he is eating 2-3 portions of fruits each day (is it too much?). my mil likes to feed him fruite all day, cos that is the only thing she can feed him.
i don't allow junk food or sweets, and the boy doesn't want the ah ma to feed him meals. only the maid of me can do it.

maybe u can check with the doctor the next round when didi goes for his vaccinations.
i always accumulate the questions i want to ask the pd.

u into eating porridge these days?
jia luk leh... out of sudden i craving for those chinese fermented beancurb 'tou lu' and instant noodles.

Joy,
heee... will u try for no.3?

Twinkle,
u are very hardworking already.
sometimes our healthy cooking cannot be as tasty as outside food or food that are tasty but cooked unhealthy ways.
yr children will sure to appreciate what u have done.. and yr boy is showing by preferring yr homecooked meal to outside food.

huskie,
thanks for the link to the korean dishes ;)
thanks for the insight into usana vit.
do u know if there is any difference between fish oil and cod liver oil?

ann,
i also pray hard will not hit 25kg.

have u arranged yr c-sec date?

using the elephant brand brown rice.
if cook over stove, need abt 45mins (mixed with millet and white rice).
If slow cooker needs abt 2hours.

pinkbunny,
Congratulations!!!

poppy looks like u or yr husband?
hahahaha.. yr birth story really hilarious.
and it also reminds me during my last labour how pissed off i was with my husband.
hoping to kick him out of the labour ward!

pls try to latch on poppy as much as u can to establish yr milk supply.
personally felt that latching is more effective than pumping to inscrease milk for me.
and not forgetting to take more fluid like red date tea, soups, milo etc.

and dun be too hard on yrself on the milk supply.
happy pinkbunny = happy poppy! ;)

enjoy the confinement food. ;)

pbunny,
Wow ! congrats and enjoy your motherhood! Real nice to have a baby in your arms right ? When I had no.3, "packing" him home from hospital was such a wonderful feeling..
Your ang real funny! Haha.. couldn't stop laughing..

A friend who had given birth 5 times advised me to walk and walk when having contractions and not to be strapped up on bed , so that dilation will be faster. So, will see how this time. My labour for no. 1 was as long as yours.. but I more kia see than you, ordered epi 2 weeks before I gave birth..

Don't be too stress, eat well, sleep well and your milk supply will be in abundance

Enjoy your confinement and tell us what you eating .. slurpzz

Cookie,
fruits are good, Ive read and heard somewhere that eating fruits are good for the brains.

I ve stopped giving vit c to my kids liao cos they help themselves to it, as and when they like aft seeing the dosage 2-3 per day. So one day, 3 kids will be 10.. tho that didi doesn't know anything, the 2 older ones will ask him if he wants! They take the 250mg per tablet.

Have been looking at websites serving porridge with dishes.. not very many tho. I love the tou lu too! But now, I substituted it with the organic kind, red tou lu with some beans. Can get it from organic shops.

I have been very xiao4, heehee.. I bought all kinds of brand of instant noodles, until I told my ang I can do a instant noodle review on Life! sunday times.. haha..

So far, my ang and I like Tung Yi' s noodles, very fragrant.. Paldo brand( from certain NTUC) for kimchi noodles is great.. think I better not continue in case I cannot stop..

ann,
will try the veg curry paste from NTUC.

Today inspired by your soup, lotus root with black beans.. and also fried rice with mixed vege

cookies,
yes...arrange my c-sec date already, on 13 Aug.

check with you, your brown rice is those round in shape look like Jap rice type? I bought mine from NTUC unpolished brown rice that look like normal rice, so dunno what is the different?

choc,
the veg curry powder I just bought it yesterday, the brand shld be earthern pot.
Tung yi noodles nice huh....my fav now is korean noodle, esp the seafood flavour, no msg type, so nice...but I stopped taking that already .

I'm making veggie curry and padai(spelling??) with white ikan bilis and chilli.

Ann,
Wah ,you making spicy spicy stuff !Petai lagi sedap!

Which brand of korean noodles did you buy, with no msg ?

Think there are 2 types of the brown rice.. one the calrose(short) kind and the long grain kind. I use both before, but found the long grain one with a kind of smell.. If not wrong, i think the calrose one s from Aussie

hi girls
i think poppy looks like a mix of us. but got my nose. alamak. i also asked her why don't want to take papa's nose.

annlee
good luck!!!! kempate!

confinement food
loads of ginger and garlic, fish and soups! but CL is cooking less ginger stuff cos don't wanna pass on to baby for fear of jaundice. she's got very mild jaundice

cookie,
I don't know the difference between cod liver and fish oil leh... only that cod liver contains natural levels of Vit A and D which the article says is safe.
For myself, I have been taking fish oil, but seeing Soph's dry toe skin improve now, I may switch and try cod liver myself, cos I got a lot of cracked skin on my feet.

Eh, you got craving for fermented beans? Go ahead and eat them! Fermented soybeans are veyr high in protein... so maybe your baby is asking for that!

annlee,
Yep, I use slow cooker to cook porridge. For brown rice, it also takes about 1.5-2 hrs, but sometimes faster cos I put the slow cooker over the stove to heat up until it boils first then transfer to the electric outer pot.

As for unpolished red rice and brown calrose rice, I think it lies in the degree of milling and that one is Thai longgrain the other is angmoh shortgrain. But read that general nutritional level is about the same.

How so you cook petai? I'll also liek to try cooking it, but hmm... not sure how to clean the petai and need to boil it before frying with sambal?

pbunny,
Hee, don't worry, babies' features will change, so she still has a chance of having her papa's high bridged nose!

Woah, the talk of confinement food makes me drool!

choc,
my petai not spicy but quite nice, I eat with alittle chilli padi hee...
The korean noodle brand is Samyang, they stated no msg but taste good, think they add alot of flavouring stuff.

huskie,
oh...in that case I might as well use slow cooker to cook brown rice as can save gas electric. I'm thinking of getting a mini slow cooker but can really put on the stove to heat it up?
Ha...my thinking is the same as yours, always thought that the shortgrain that look like Jap rice is angmo brown rice and long one is more asia type.
Abt petai, just rince it with water and need to cut half to check whether there's worm inside it. I only ask my maid to pound chilli, garlic and shallot but if want lagi sedap or I'm not pregnant, will add extra candle nut and dried prawn. No need to boil petai, stir fry the paste and then add in the petai, I will add in some water to let it shimmer for awhile. Can fry the white ikan first if you want to. Easy right...

pinkbunny,
hee...what is kempate?
How is everything now? Show us more of your baby pic.

Hey ann,
I also used slow cooker when I cooked my children's porridge when they were very young. Very convenient , no need to watch the fire too ..
When the porridge is almost cooked, I'll add in a piece of fish and some chopped up veg. Sometimes, I'll add in a small piece of pumpkin or liver to cook together with porridge..

Eh huskie,
Jia you for no. 2 !! Don't forget your folic acid

Nowadays, really dunno what kind of vege to buy from market.. Seems like no variety.. or i'm running out of ideas!

annlee,
Yep, my slow cooker inner pot can put over stove, but it's the brown earthern type, not the white one. Think just pay extra $10 for it. The shopkeeper will be able to tell you if the pot can be put over fire.
It's good for pple like me who have no patience to sit there waiting for the water to boil in the electroc outer pot, cos it takes forever!

Thanks for instructions on petai! I'll be trying it out soon!

btw, the A1 curry sauce has MSG leh... I wanted to get it the other day but saw the MSG so got My Mum's again.

Choc,
Hee, not trying for #2 yet... I hope to go on holiday by myself in Sep then try after that.
But yes, it's not too early to start popping vits now.

Veges in market: I'm so lazy sometimes that I just buy the raw salad vege from the wet market, then make a stir-fried beef/pork/chicken korean style, a doujiang sauce and rice. Hubby and I then put rice and meat onto leaf, wrap and dip in sauce to eat.

kempate like 'jia you!'. or maybe wrong spelling. kua kua kua....

confinement food is nice but soooooo heaty that i've gotten heat spots on my stomach and chest :S how la.

here's poppy saying hi!
1546014.jpg

annlee

Just to add, my mil says for petai , stir fry a while first before you cook with the paste, will have less petai smell. she also add a little bit of assum water in the paste to make it less dry....

Joy,
you're so early!
adding assam water is good idea!! Thanks!

huskie,
oh ok will look for the brown one as is better, me also impatient.
Yah..the A1 curry has msg in it. I was complaining to my maid last time that I'm so thirsty after having curry and she told me there's msg in the curry paste and I was so goon, din know there's msg in curry paste until she told me infact most of the curry paste contain masg.The mum's cuisine no msg!! Must try it one day.

I also read somewhere if wanna pregnant, is better to take folic acid for 1-2yrs before pregnant.

pinkbunny,
Thank you...will kempate!!
Baby poppy so nice to sleep huh... got mixture of your look and papa look