Cooking Tips & Recipe

choc
i only drank once to try. but yoga teacher said recommended to drink in week 34 onwards. so that's next week for me
i also want to try no epidural. hopefully all the yoga classes will help *fingers crossed*.

btw people have been telling me don't scream and shout. conserve your energy to push
easier said than done i guess.

i'm also thinking of bringing poppy to perth when she's a bit older. i studied there and find it to be rather child friendly. and very relaxing!

huskie
enjoy the peranakan food!!! this is the link: http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/dulukala_peranakan_restaurant/

Hey annlee, the little uncle clothes look so cute too.. maybe i have too much of those girlie stuff liao! I also had the feeling of having a boy during my 1st tri! Like lesser ms, sharper tummy, I guess these are all feelings only. haha.. so I bought many nice boyish socks.
What supplements are you on now ? I'm taking fish oil, prenatal vits and calcium. Trying not to put on too much weight on myself, so pushing can be easier.

Huskie, the last time when I had epi, the insertion of the needle into my spine was excruciating, till I broke out cold sweat.. thought I was going to die. So, a friend encouraged me not to take this time, she said quite ok, Maybe her pain tolerance is higher.
My dd2 is a tom-boy, who loves to kick football, but dd1's not.
Will enjoy my trip, it's winter now.. very cold. Yah, the packing was tedious, my hb packed everything

You ladies don't miss me.
Have a good break too!

hi all!
I had a tiring weekend! But makan was good

Went to eat at Dulukala on Fri, ordered:
- Ayam Buah Keluak (yummy, not as thick as Ivins, but nice sourish taste)
- bakwan kepeting soup (fantastic with their sambal belachan! very generous with their bamboo shoots too)
- sambal petai (yummy. Soph dipped her spoon in it and then yelped at the chili
- nonya chap chye... overall, lovely meal!

It's so good we decided to go back again on Sunday, this time brought my iLs there. They love it too... one of the few times I see my FIL order extra rice! We also ordered:
- beef rendang (tender, and sauce is great!)
- sambal kangkong (a bit oily, but sambal is great)
- chendol (so-so)
- pulut hitam (quite good, but MIL thought it's a bit too sweet)

pinkbunny,
What kind of wan tan mee? Is it the dark sauce type? I love those type... can share recipe with us?

yup of course, happy to share

wan tan - marinated with chopped onions, sesame oil, soy sauce, pepper. can also add chopped water chestnuts and spring onions

soup stock - ikan bilis + dried scallops

the mee itself - must 'cook' it in boiling water, and when almost done, sieve and run under tap water, then put back in the pot to 'heat' it up again. then transfer to plate and add tomato ketchup, chilli sauce (also bottle kind, like ketchup), sesame oil, dark soy sauce

served with cai xin on the side. if you want, some of the wantans can fry also but i lazy to mop floor so all of mine were soup wantans
to fry, fold them in triangles easier to manage i feel

tip: cook wantans separately, not in the soup stock. cos it will turn yellow and taste very much of flour. for me, i used the same pot of boiling water to blanch the cai xin then cook the wantans then the noodles.

glad you enjoyed dulukala! mmm all sound so yum!

huskie
no la, not alot of work la. it just sounds like a lot
i like to cook and i figured there won't be much of it going on in my baby's first few months so might as well lor. plus we have tingkat dinners on weekdays so weekends i usually try to cook.

hey thanks for the recipes!!!

re CL: yup. have to. also because i love confinement food hehe. mmm mmm mua yew chicken!!!

hi mummies, what was for makan over the weekend? i tried to make cajun chicken (inspired by botak jones hehe). i pan fried but the whole stove area became quite oily so i guess you can oven bake if you want.

just season chicken neh nehs with olive oil, cajun seasoning, salt, pepper, italian herbs, garlic. then fry/bake after about 2 hours of marination.

i served with fried white mushrooms and broccoli soup (broc cooked in chicken stock then blended and added milk. if you want creamier, can use cream instead)

enjoy!

Pinkbunny,
Heee… when I had my no1, I wished I can have him in my tummy longer. Cos it the only time that I can bring him where ever I go. But at the same time hope to hold him in my arms. Very contradicting hor.
U are one hardworking wife leh, yr husband must have like yr cooking a lot so that u are motivated to cook.

Joy,
Heard that those true blue Peranakan Bubiks are known for them being fussy and picky. Very traditional and really take care of the son type.
School holidays’s here, did u plan for any additional enrichment classes or holiday programe for yr children?

Huskie,
Must ‘tiao’ yr body if aiming for no.2. Cos u were ordered bedrest for sop. And believe that if mother’s body is good, health of the baby will be better also.
Btw, is Sop better now? Yr teeth cut thr the gums?
And I will not be getting confinement nanny this time round. No. 1 I engaged one but not very happy with her service. She is not very clean and refused to shower baby in the afternoon. The food she cooked for me are just normal food, at confinement food at all.
This time round my mum’s health is better. So she will teach the maid to cook and help entertain my no1. Then maid do housework and take care of no. 1 and shower for no.2 . Since I will be breastfeeding no 2, so no.1 and no.2 will sleep with us.
Pray hard it works out fine.

Ann,
Hmmm.. think for yr ds, birdnest doesn’t make any difference in skin complexion.
I am also craving for sweet food for no1. But hate sour food. But now I love both sweet and sour food. Then no.1 like all the ang mo food like burger, pizza, pasta etc. But this one more oriental, like Japanese, local food more.
Can check with u if u feel tired easily? I am easily tired recently, and its those exhausted type of tiredness. Sigh… Gynae also mentioned baby on the small side. Think I better rest more.

Choc,
Congrats on yr girl1 
The Jie Jies must be very happy and excited!
I ordered the raspberry tea leaves before. But think only drank a few time. Did not help dilation in my case. Cos I dilated very slowly after my waterbag broke. Water bag broke, then dr induced and was 18hours labour. But again maybe different people react differently to the raspberry tea leaves.
Hmm… u must be enjoying yr holidays now.
Remember to stock up on the bonds stuff for children in melbourne. Quite comfortable and good quality. But now winter, might not be able to find the right stuff.
If u have time to spare, must go bridge road for shopping hor and bring the children eat gelato at lygon street. 
Also can go St Kildas on Sunday for flea mkt and royal botanical garden for them to roam around.
How I envy yr holiday. ;)

cookie monster
i am VERY tired now also! (week 35). yesterday i took afternoon nap and still slept quite early at night! on saturday, at about 8 plus while watching tv, it was almost like i was dozing off from taking cough medicine! hehe.

my husband has no choice *evil face*. i cook, he eat! keke.

raspberry leaf tea - i just drank my cup for today
heard it softens cervix, not sure if it's the same as dilation? but i'm kiasu la, opting for natural so anything that will help, i will try! keke

wow long time din come in. change laptop and lost this thread.

So many updates and i m lost liao. Many preggie mummies!!!!!! Congrats!!!!!!!!

let me slowly digest the threads and will keep posting.

Talking abt cooking. Sigh! now i just cook very simple meals bcos ds also sharing it.Now he is 2 liao. me very lazy hor.

huskie, can hear u calling for me . hahaha maybe tat why my ears are itchy. LOL

twinkle,
I also cook simple and tasteless meals nowadays cos DS sharing also. Only I can eat the tasteless vegetables. hahaha...

Anyone knows where is the shop that sells baking things in AMK?

hi lyn,

what type of baking things. in AMK i saw this shop sell alot of households barang barang, got some baking stuff but very normal type.

this shop is in front of This Fashion, it is a store standing on its own. somewhere near the Jubilee complex. not sure it is still call Jubilee lah.

I have 7 months old baby. He started on solid since 6 mth old.

I'm confused whether I better use the toyomi double boiler or slow cooker to cook baby's porridge.

Any mummies care to share with me what the difference between them?

Or the normal cooker will do? (thinking of getting the zojirushi cooker too)..

Tks a lot in advance

I'm back ! Came back last week. Had loads of washing to do and hb flew to vietnam, so very busy occupying kids.

Hey cookie, didn't have a chance to do lots of things. The traveling itself was tiring enough. The route to great ocean road seemed to have changed and there weren't many penguins coming up to shore at philip island. hee.. the last time i went there was 10 yrs ago! But Tasmania is beautiful, too bad, we spent only 3 days there. Ate oysters and seafood.. Yum!
I think I had enough of ozzie, maybe perth will be it, that's all.. haha..

The ecosystem in my family seemed to be off balance now.. haha.. 5 girls( 3 girls plus 2 nieces) and 1 boy.. More predators than prey..

hey twinkle and lyn, my food also very bland these days.. So only use bovril and oyster sauce for seasoning.

Huskie, I'm engaging my CL that did conf for no. 3
Find her efficient and good.

Pbunnie, I love sesame oil , wine and chicken too.. Can't wait to pop little bb and enjoy the good food!

Hey eufrasia, welcome to makan forum. I use the slow cooker to boil bb's porridge. Don't have to watch the fire and just put whatever you want to cook into the slow cooker. Think the double boiler is more suitable for soup.

Normal cooker as in rice cooker ? I know some can cook porridge too. When I use my ordinary rice cooker to cook porridge, i have to keep stirring the porridge, or else the porridge will stick to the bottom of the cooker.

Pinkbunny,
Wow very fast hor... u are in 36weeks this week! u must be so excited now. i also kanchiong for u. heee... remember to inform us when poppy pops! ;)
really very tiring now. i am constantly tired and my right side of the hip and leg ache like crazy now.
hahaha.. and i like the way u said yr husband got to eat whatever u cook. my picky husband will always complain and grumble if the food is not to his liking. and there is 'always room for improvement'.

Eurasia,
we use slow cooker to boil baby's porridge. just dump everything in. dun need to watch out the fire. but if u want to cook the porridge faster, can use hot water instead of normal tap water.

Choc,
think moving ard with children involves great logistical skills and patience. and just the packing and unpacking is tiring enough. brought the little terrorist to japan when he was 8months old and was enough to decide that no more winter holidays till the children are much older. so now can only go places that dun need to lug winter stuff.
Really the great ocean road route has changed? hmm.... luckily u saw the original ;)
arrugghhh.. tell me abt oysters!!! think the ones in oz is really big fat and yummy!
i never been to tasmania, think must ask u when u planning to go there.. but sigh.... tasmania = winter stuff = years later destination
can check with u, what herbs did u use for yr shower the last time?

Hey cookie,
We went by jetstar from mel to tazzie. Then we rented a mini van at Launceston, using the GPS to guide the way. My BIL and hb took turns to drive. Went to cradle mountains, glow worm cave, honey farm and Cadbury choc factory. Then drove to Hobart and back. Think if the weather was nicer, it'll be more enjoyable. The lands were filled with sheep and cows.

Think every sat at about 12 noon, channel 8 is showing Tazzie hosted by Brian Wong. The places that he went look more interesting during spring time.

The logistic is a headache, think farmstay in Perth will be great for the kids.

Hey cookie, your bb also popping soon hor ? I use Da Feng Cao, the packet kind that can be bought from Fu Hua Med shop. My sis bought from malaysia the last time cos it was cheaper. My CL will boil few pots of water the night before, pour into a pail, leave it to cool then next morning boil the herbs and add to the cool boiled water. Very leychey!
Did you trim your hair short short before delivery the last time ? The post natal massage really made my hair greasy despite washing it every morning !

What you all cooking today ? I fried salmon and added some frozen veg and tomato sauce into it. Was quite appetizing.
Then boiled some diced potato and carrot soup until soft , then add some pork liver. The kids love the soup. Just season the liver with soy sauce and sesame oil , add salt to soup if not tasty enough.

Hi choc,

yr liver soup sound nice. long time me no eat liver liao hb dun like.

i think tonight i will cook tofu , ham and drizzle with egg soup. Steam fish to go with rice. both little one can eat.

hahahaha i need to think of fast receipe to cook so that dinner can be ready in 20mins. By the time i pick him and reach home already 7 and he will wait to eat by 7.30 . otherwise u see a worm wiggle on the floor liao.

ANy quick receipe to share?

Decided to get slow cooker as it has more benefits and is most economical for me. Low in watts. Affordable in price. Hee...

Choc06, zzzcookiemonster, tks for sharing

cookie
hehe ya lor. so fast. 36 weeks liao. poppy won't pop la. poppy's mummy will pop! haha. how about you? when are you due?

re your question on herbs for shower, i just bought from hock hwa upon CL's recommendation. i think it's $20 for maybe 10 in the pack. just tell them you want herbs for showering during confinement and they will know

choc
so must have one big pail is it? to be able to contain all that water? alamak i didn't know that. i only have pail for mopping floor hehe.

wow your salmon sounds good!!!
next week i'll be on ML liao so will be able to cook all week! yay!

starry
so funny you and your 'worm'! hehe. i just bought a cook book called 'meals in 10 minutes' or something. will see what i can whip up next week and share ok?

latest cooking adventure: did bak kut teh last weekend. quite easy and quite fast too!

boil bak kut to get rid of smell - in boiling water for 10 minutes

in new water, when it boils, add dang shen, cassia bark, yu zhu, star anise, garlic (smashed lightly), rock sugar (a bit is enough - i added too much then my soup became too sweet!) and pepper seeds. simmer for half an hour

then add boiled bak kut to water, with 1 tbsp oyster sauce + 1 tsp black soy sauce + 1 tsp light soy sauce + 1 tsp pepper. continue to simmer on low heat for at least 45 mins.

surprisingly, it is quite fast for flavourful bak kut teh!

hi girls,
Haven't posted for awhile... Soph had "onset of pneumonia" last week!
Started as a viral fever which lasted only 2 days and then was well. Then after another 3 days, started coughing a bit and fever recurred again. Brought to see doc and doc says got mucous in lung liao! Been so tired looking after her in the nights.... she's OK now, but still need to monitor her coughs. And this fri got pneumoccocal jab!

hi Eufrasia,
Welcome to this thread!
Yep, I also use slow cooker. Used to use double boiler, but it's a little slow, so I switched to slow cooker.

lyn,
I think the baking shop you're referring to must be Phoon Huat?

starry,
Welcome back!!! Hee, yes, I've been calling the kakis to liven up this thread!

Choc,
Wow, Oz sounds like so much fun! I must try and convince hubby to go on a holiday with Soph again. Hee, he's terrified of holidays with her cos she cannot sleep in strange hotel rooms, so always make us so tired during trips!

Your salmon sounds good! Too bad I don't know how to fry fish! :p
btw, your pork liver soup also sounds yummy. Can babies eat liver?

Choc,
Yr trip sounds interesting and fun.
How many of u travelling together?
Will try to catch the Brian Wong show this sat.
I think farm stay and beach resort will be suitable for us now that our kids are still so young.
Edd ard national day, but gynae says 90pct chance of earlier. Boy was earlier by abt 3 weeks also. If this one also earlier by 3 weeks, will be end july.
These few days getting pain in the back and legs. And getting Braxton Hicks also. Now abit panicky cos have not even search for the boy hand-me-down new born clothing or got anything prepared. thinking if i should buy some pink stuff just in case its a girl. ;)
My last confinement lady also uses pack herbs, think must be the Da Feng Cao u mentioned. This time round my mum helping me but she told me to buy ginger, lemon grass for the bath instead. Think i must also borrow the big pot to boil water fm my mum again. and good idea to boil water in the night. cos the confinement lady usually boil in the morning and i can only shower in the late afternoon when the water cooled down.
Ya lor, have got to agree the irritating thing abt the post natal massage is the oily greasy feeling. heee... sometimes i could not take it and untie the bind and shower in the night with just heater water. Thinking how can baby tahan the oily feeling while breastfeeding.
Will do yr liver soup receipe this weekend. sigh.. the gynae checked on my blood count last fri and said was too low. need to ensure the red blood count goes up otherwise might need blood transfusion during labour.

Twinkle-Starry,
was laughing out loud when saw u wrote 'otherwise u see a worm wiggle on the floor liao'. ;)

Eufrasia,
U are welcome.

Pinkbunny,
sorry, its poppy's mum pop!
hee.. u looking forward to more cooking during maternity leave... think u will be looking forward to cooking for poppy as well. ;)
Think the BKT can also add pork liver and kidney hor... then can also become confinement soup.

Huskie,
Hope soph is better now.
my boy also started coughing again last friday. and vomitted on sunday and last night. sigh....
pls make sure she is well before u bring her for any jabs. as the doctor usually will want the children to be well when taking any vacination so the body will be strong enough to fight the 'introduced virus'. If she is still coughing, suggest that u call the pd before u make a trip down to check if soph cn take the jab.

*New Born Essential Items
Anyone still have the list of New Born Essential Items to prepare, can pls pm me or post here pls. Thanks in advance.
Cannot find my old list. Jia Luk.

Good late morning ladies,

Today making pumpkin soup with chinese almonds. Steam ladies fingers, drizzle with soy and onion oil. And baked beans.

The potato, carrot soup cum liver soup can also add some minced pork and peas in it. Boil the pots and carrots til soft, add salt and peas, then add liver , turn off fire and leave for about 20 mins

Huskie, during the trip, no. 3 was coughing too, and I gave him half teaspoon of acidophilus mixed in warm water and juice for 3 times a day, surprisingly his cough stopped and it became productive cough( can hear phlegm coming out). Aft 2 days, his cough was gone. maybe you want to try that?
For liver soup, sometimes I "tok" the liver and add into the porridge for no. 3 . The remnants from the liver will be mixed into the porridge, so not so hard to chew the liver.

Going for trip during winter is indeed not easy. No. 3 didn't sleep well in the cold too. He's the one that's most fussy. The girls slept in their sleeping bags and snored ! Curling up like a cat. It was a good field trip for the girls on rock erosion caused by waves and the ocean, and the outcome of a blowhole.

Was telling hb that it's a break away from work for all of them, but I'm still with my little "subordinates" working, haha.. washing poo backside

Hey twinkle, had to fix quick meals at times too. How about making curry or stew and freeze them ? Or freeze beef bolognaise sauce? Or a one pot fish soup with rice ? Know it's challenging to rush back home, and still cook, very tiring indeed!
My hb doesn't like liver and kidney too.
U can also make liver soup for yourself, grandma's recipe of boiling water first, then throw in the marinated liver and cover pot for 15 mins and drink the soup

Pbunny, yah, got to get a bathing pail enough to wash hair and body and maybe additional pail for bb's soiled clothes.

Cookie, total of 6 adults, 4 children and 1 infant went for the trip.. hehe.. my girls were recycling their clothes over and over again until they were very sian.. haha..

My sis made beef steak in Oz one of the nights, wow! the beef was succulent and tender unlike th airflown beef here.. slurpzz
Solly, i don;t have a newborn list, I need one too.. hehe.. any mummies ?

this list? http://www.mumcentre.com/essentials/baby_checklist.htm#

pork liver and kidney? :S i don't like the taste... but if it's just in the soup, don't eat it, can or not ah?

re bathing pail - ok will get one, thanks for sharing! and i guess a scoop too. for soiled nappies, i got the pail liao

re liver soup - marinate with what? so the whole soup is just liver in boiling water? what does it taste like? sorry, i'm not a liver fan so i don't know!

Hi ladies...
didn't come in here for awhile...was very busy, maid not around and hb not in town but now everything is back to normal.

huskie,
oh dear... how is sophie? Hope she's better now. I'm also having dry cough now.

choc,
welcome back!!
pumpkin soup, how do you make it? But pumpkin there's a smell that my dss don't like but I went to try pumpkin soup from restaurant it taste very nice.

cookie,
huh...sounds quite bad if you really need blood transfusion during labour. Eat more red meat, liver or what did the gynae say? Shld drink more cordycep soup, good for bb lung and was suppose to help the bb grow bigger.
I don't feel tired easily leh...don't know why? don't dare to take a nap cos afraid will not sleep in the night. Sometimes even though didn't take nap also cannot sleep in the night. Don't feel tired at all unlike during my 1st trim, very tired and sleepy.
Ask you something, don't laugh at me hor...although now with my number 3, I still don't know what's the feeling for braxton hicks, how does it feel like? But occasionally I will get very sharp pain. The last 2 pregancy I'm fine.

pinkbunny,
wah... you're giving birth soon...
abt the liver, no need to marinate, just drink the soup if you don't like the liver. Make sure the soup is thick by putting more liver in it.

Eufrasia,

twinkle,
do come in more often... how abt claypot rice, I just throw everything in rice cooker, rice, chicken, mushroon and I used those spice for claypot rice bought from NTUC, can't rmr the name, all throw inside the rice cooker and is done.

Hi Ann,
I tried claypot using the sauce off the shelf often but ds dun eat anything that is black in col . hahahah he is also not a fan of pork and chix. he will say Black Black dirty , cannot eat and not nice.

terror hor

cookie,
Thanks, yeah, tomorrow I will bring Soph in to PD for a check and get the go-ahead from PD before I do any jabs on her.
She had no more cough since she took her antibiotics, but I still want PD to listen to her lungs and be sure.

Wow, this blood transfusion thing sounds serious. You better take more liver and tonics!

Hope your boy is better!

Choc,
Thanks for the info on acidophilus. But the Nature Farm lady told me it's only half tsp per day for a 16-mth old baby... wonder if I can give Soph more?
Anyway, her cough has stopped and phlegm came up to the throat last week i.e. productive cough.
I also gave her a bottle of EYS Hou Ning San over the last 2 days, and she pooped out sticky mucousy poop!

Will try the liver soup and give some to Soph too... hee, I love kidneys and liver! Always taking in the aromas of confinement food when my one of my neighbours has given birth.
If I have #2, will definitely hire a CL to make yummy confinement food this time!

And all this liver talk makes me feel like eating pate! Gonna dig out recipes and see if it's easy to make.

annlee,
Hey, I was just thinking about you, wondering how come never see you for a while and if you have popped!

Soph is OK now... hope she won't get too much of a fever if she takes jab tomorrow. I'm giving her pao sheng today.

I'm also very prone to dry cough, esp. in the nights. Really hate it, but just thank God dry cough is upper respiratory and not lungs type.
If it gets really bad, maybe you should see your gynae for some med?

Soph also hates pumpkin... why huh? So sweet leh. She gags and shakes her head vehemently when I feed her that.

Hi Ann, tot you popped too
When my hb not around in town, really difficult to cope.
Braxton hicks is like tightening of the womb for a while, but when you change position like lying down or sitting , it'll go away. I had during my 2nd tri of no. 3 . Gyn gave some med to stop the contractions as she said it was too soon.

For pumpkin soup, I'll use pork soft bones, almond seeds and pumpkin wedges. Initially my kids didn't like pumpkin, I told them it's good for their health, now they drink the soup but not eat pumpkin at all.

Tonight boiling black chicken soup with fungus(wild ones) , paoshen, red dates and wolfberries. Steam fish and fry ladies fingers.

Pbunny, Ya, don't need to marinade liver also can, i'll normally marinade it with sesame oil and soy sauce. You can just drink the soup only. Thanks for the list.

Twinkle, my kids opp of yours.. Or lu lu food then they eat.. haha.. maybe you can fry rice, kway teow, noodles, all white white food. Carbonara pasta . U have a thermal pot ? can also boil soup in morning and leave it till night ? Then da pao some food outside and also drink your home made soup.

Huskie, on normal days,i also give half a teaspoon in no. 3 s milk. But when I hear coughing, i'll increase dosage to 3 times a day. Think should be ok.
Good to hear that soph is ok and pooping out mucous. I bought a small bot of bragg amino for , smells like maggi seasoning

I love fried kidneys too. Just that the cleaning of the kidney is a bit leychey, got to soak kidneys in water and change a few times a day.

Hey cookie, spinach is high in iron too, eat more beef.. and cockles.. haha.. bu xue

twinkle
your son is so funny not to eat black black 'dirty' things!!

cookie
i think broc is also high in iron!

annlee
yup i am due soon! just checked yesterday. at week 36, i have a sumo wrestler at 3kg!

i THINK bh is when your tummy feels a bit uncomfortable and tightens all at the same time and feels hard. is it, mummies? cos that's what i'm getting now, on and off

choc
wow you can reason with your kids this way? tell them it's good for their health then they will eat? cool!

re liver
so any normal soup, i just add sliced liver towards the end, should be ok right?

next week my ML starts liao! i can't wait. which means i get to cook dinner every day! hehe.

ha...huskie, choc, no lah...me haven pop yet...still got 2 more months to go.

huskie,
my cough is not that bad, still can scream at my boys. you're right...in the night my cough will get worst.
I think pumpkin there's a smell that why soph don't like it even though is sweet. At first my thinking is as same as you too, is sweet how come they don't like it.

choc,
Thanks for the info on acidophilus too...I'm going to try it on myself hee...
oh...bh is actually tightening the tummy, I think I got that feeling too.

pinkbunny,
wow...3kg quite big ... I think right now mine is only 1.5kg. what ho liao did you eat, share share leh...

twinkle,
my sons also like that, sometime there's a small little turn black fried shallot they will refuse to eat, says is dirty. My younger son got weird imagination and says is ants, faintz...
Using thermopot is good idea too...can use that to stew chicken, also throw everything inside thermopot but must stir fry the ingred first.

It's been hot hot day !

Hey pbuuny, wow, 36 weeks liao, wish I can pop soon also! I lost count on mine, 20 plus weeks. Everytime , go checkup then I know.
Great to start your ML next week, do whatever you want, pedi, manicure, eat whatever you want, like crabs, seafood, etc.. aft that confine to one month. My first one came when I was still working, so not much of an enjoyment.
Share with us what you cooking next week ;)

Will be trying out red raspberry tea leaves when I get hold of it, and see if I can "dong" the contraction pains without epidurial this time.

Liver can put into any soup I guess, some quick fast cooking soup else the liver will be hard if you want to eat them.

I ve been telling my children about cancer and immunity. One of my friends has br cancer and she has 3 young kids like mine, recently in remission. We pray for her every time and the reality of death strikes my girls. Another of my friend , died at 34 yrs old leaving behind her 5 yr old gal. Really morbid to tell them about death, they are scared and now when they are sick, they have no choice but to take garlic oil, chinese powdered herbs. haha..

Hey ann, I found acidophilus useful when I weaned ds off bf and started adding acido into his milk. It's been one yr plus liao.

Yah, bh is tightening on and off and hardening of tummy, but goes off aft you lie down or change position.

Me frying udon tonight
you girls cooking ?

Chocs,

I really peifu u can reason out with them.

Ds also dun like pumpkin so i just add the soup into his rice.

I use magic cooker, the one that has multi function and can set timer. so i normally set timer to cook soup . We had soup alternate days and ds luv soups . On the days that no tonic soups, i just make simple fishball or tofu soup.

Ann, ya he can say got ants even it is a stripe of mushroom in a bun. So funny right?

At least no coke for him hahaha not that i dun give , he simple refuse to drink. he also dun eat chocolates and ice cream.

i think i am not cooking tonight. Very tired liao. Eat out also a problem, he dun like outside food and only take fish and veg.

hmm, any receipe for reduce water retention?

annlee
i feel very guilty actually. i ate alot of chocolate and drank chocolate milk...

choc
i love fried udon! try with tom yum, very nice
i think i will cook that next week!

twinkle
for water retention, cut down on salt intake!

Thanks everyone for the concern. ;)
Hope its really not that serious and probably only gynae trying to scare me.
my no.1, i also had low blood count but everything is alright.
Thanks for the suggestions to eat greens as well.
For my 2 pregnancy, don't know why i cannot stomach any greens at all.
will puke within an hour. sigh... even those spring onions chopped till small small still the same
on a few occassions, i did not know i did not pick out all the greens fm my food. sigh... and i will know it after the merlion act and looking at the toilet bowl.
quite werid hor. but gynae says its okie.

Choc,
hahaha.... yr girls must be complaining why all the photos they wearing the same clothes.
the meat in oz is really much nicer. i don't eat beef. but feel the pork, lamb and chicken all makes a difference.
the lamb only needs to marinate with pepper and salt and pan fry.... its so succulent, and don't even need to buy those expensive cuts.
just those $3.99 per kg will do ;)
good idea hor... i got excuse to tell my husband now why i need to feast on cockles!
think hor... by 6am if i still wide awake and no1 still sleeping, will go buy liver and kidney then make lier and kidney mee suan for breakfast.

Pinkbunny,
thanks for the list! its what i am looking for. ;)
WOW! poppy is of a good size, she will be easy to handle.

no worries abt fragile little newborn.

am hoping my baby can be like gor gor and pass the 3 kg mark when deliver also.
so will load up on more meat and durian!
jia luk.. at this rate i am going, can't imagine how much weight i will put on.
will u be engaging malay massage and confinement lady as well?
who will take care of poppy after yr ML? or u decided on sahm?

Ann,
will to drink more cordycep soup also. but this baby don't really fancy the taste.
no. 1 really likes it, and was drinking so alot more when carrying him.
sigh.... i also having problems with sleep these few nights.
am very tired, but look at the time now... i am wide awake

feel asleep at 10pm when making my no. 1 sleep.... then woke up at 2+ till now.

don't know what's wrong also... maybe baby preparing us for all the night feed again.

Twinkle,
how abt using the girls method, but don't put the dark sauce into the claypot rice until u scope ds portion out.
also can try bake rice, pasta, mee tai mak soup, fried bee hoon, noodles, sandwiches etc.
and yr son so cute! can reason with u.
am still waiting for mine to talk more... he's only saying 'papa', 'mama', 'yes' and 'no' now

can i check is it generally slower for boys in term of speech development? we checked with the pd and he mentioned just monitor first and nothing of concern now. as boy's speech development usually slower.
for water retention, heard that red bean soup helps and also by drinking more water to rid the body of toxin and hence reduces the water retention.

Huskie,
what did pd says abt sop? hope she has recovered.
heee.... since u yearn for confinement food, another motivation to go for no. 2 ;)
think this time round i will also try to eat better confinement food and try to touch water less often.

Breastfeeding:
read that bf mums better to avoid brinja and also lemongrass....
cabbage said to reduce/ease the engorgement pain when chilled and put on to engorged breast.
and it will also reduce milk by doing so.
but if eating cabbage will have same effect?
this silly me actually did not eat any cabbage for the 18months while bf no. 1.
cos worried will reduce milk supply... can anyone enlighten me if will have any effect??

choc,
huh...is rather sad when hear friends pass away and leaving their child behind. Is good to let the kids know abt, not to scare them but to let them know that life some of them having incurable sickness, haiz... Sometimes my hb will exaggerate very scary to my sons that must hold hands or look left & right when crossing the road, saying if the car bang on you the head will crack, blood burst out from head, aiyo... but just to let them know is so serious. Also showing my boys the poor kids in the paper looking so poor thing, torn clothes, holding a plate of plain rice just to let them know that they cannot waste food and cherish what they have it right now.

twinkle,
wah...no chocolate, ice cream and coke, good for your son leh kekeke... how I wish my boys hate all these but is impossible.
For reducing water retention, can try black bean soup but go easy with the salt and if possible without adding salt will be good. Chinese barley water helps too.. cookie mentioned red bean soup which is good too...when doing confinement having a bowl of red bean soup is good but not too much will cause wind in the stomach.

cookie,
I'm also having difficult sleep. Are you having stress?
Ask you something, I've been waking up every night,every 2 hrs just to pee, and is a lot, I don't know where does the water comes from as I don't or try not to drink water after 7. How abt you? There's once,every hour just to wake up to pee.
I have read from thread year 2008 aug mums that one of the mommy having anemia and she's having steak everyday. Maybe you can try having meat esp red meat everyday? Yah..spinach and broccoli is v high in iron.
Abt the cabbage will reduce milk supply, I'm not sure...but will cause wind in our milk so try not to eat too much.
oh yes...my sister went to Shermay's cooking class before and there's this french chef teaching how to make steak & lamb. To get rid of the smell, need to add lemon juice on lamb overnight. Skip this if you find your lamb ok.

pinkbunny,
I'm having kinder bueno choc almost everyday ha... just can't stop it, craving badly esp after dinner like my meal is not complete if doesn't hav one. Just bought a small jar of nutella but going to cut down my kinder choc. Today is my younger son birthday and going to have chocolate cake hee...

cookie
i wish i could be a SAHM. but no la, will be taking care of her during ML then off to babysitter when i go back to work. we were lucky enough to find one who stays just opposite us

yup got my CL already and massage lady. in fact, have already been doing massages for a few months liao hehe. simple pleasures of life la. now my fingers are VERY stiff and very painful. like lao ah ma boohoohoo

annlee
oh my gosh you will not believe it - in my fridge there is kinder bueno AND nutella! i just put my spoon into the jar and eat eat eat... my husband says i'm disgusting haha. but i stop liao la. really too heaty

red bean soup is good for water retention? cool, will go take some at the soonest opportunity! barley - anyone got recipe? every time i make it, it's not very nice hehe.

re engorgement
me too, i heard that if you put leaf of chilled cabbage on engorged nnp, it will help. but other people say put warm towel. like very opposite schools of thought huh?

re pee
i counted and i pee about 20 times a day. gulp. at night now i try not to drink water when i get up to pee in the middle of the night. thirsty but no choice. can sleep better

Choc,
So sad to hear about pple who passed away so young and leaving their loved ones behind, esp. young kids.
Re. breast cancer, I have a bit of different view... I read some books and believe dairy could be a major contributor to it, so I don't actually take much dairy.
Of course pple like my ex-nurse MIL will say there is no clinical evidence when I tell her

But then I tell her she drinks milk for all her life and she has osteoporosis... my grandma never touched dairy, had 16 kids, does not suffer from brittle bones and is still very healthy at 85 yrs old... then MIL will just keep quiet.
Hee, anyway, I never liked milk since 4 yrs old. I only have a weakness for Brie cheese!

twinkle,
I read somewhere... think someone posted in this thread, that winter melon is good for water retention?

cookie,
Soph is all well now! So well that PD says can take 2 jabs (pneumoccocal and chickenpox) last Fri. Now just monitoring her for fever.
Dunno if it was the Hou Ning San that worked though - cos I gave her 2 dosages of it on Wed and then she did extra poops which was extremely sticky on Wed and Thur, and by Fri morning, no signs of phlegm even in throat at all.

Re. speech, how old is your ds now?
I read in a Dr. Miriam Stoppard book that some kids get so engrossed learning other stuff e.g. motor skills, then they are slower in other aspects, so have to give them time.

BF:
- someone told me cabbage will cause wind in babies if we eat them leh, so I never touch things like cabbage, brinjal and coconut milk till much much later.
- as for cabbage vs warm water for engorgement, yep, a lactation consultant told me better to use warm water if I do not want my milk ss to decrease

annlee, cookie,
You girls take cordyceps regularly?
I went to EYS that day to look at them - almost fainted at the prices!
But I must say it really works. I had some leftover phlegm for 2 weeks after I recovered from my flu, and just won't go away.
After 1 day of cordyceps soup, phlegm disappeared the next day... amazing!

What are you girls cooking today?
I don't feel like cooking... so tired, think will just eat Soph's porridge

Yah, me tired too. Just steam fish and blanch vege to go with brown rice. Conquering Mt LAUNDRY today. Going for church camp at Malaysia tomorrow.

Re the cabbage leaves to relief engorgement, also heard that it reduces breast milk ..Tried eating cabbage, it caused wind in baby. So I cut down on it.

Wow Joy, I love leek too. What else did you add inside ?

Hey cookie, my sis bought 2 legs of lamb and a rack of beef back to Spore. She seasoned with mustard and baked it. Was a little tough tho. But, the beef steak she prepared there was yummy and so tender. Guess aft it has been frozen, it'll be tougher. The girls did complain about wearing the same clothes over again, told them cos it's winter, so can't bring too much clothes, but they each packed their own favourite smelly pillow and comfort toys. They thought that was most important.. haha..

Soph, I also read about milk drinking from some brochures in organic shops. Apparently, the calcium from the bones is drawn out by the cal in the blood, which ultimately causes osteo, something along this line, dunno how true it is.

Re speech delay in boys, somehow, it was true for my boy. When he went for Poly assessment, doc was concerned he couldn't speak much except for papa and mama. Asked my boy to go back for review aft 6 months. Now, aft 6 months, he understands what we say and his sisters will ask him to repeat aft them.

Pbunny, I like tom yum too. How did you prepare the paste to fry the udon ?

hv a good wkend? i m so tired now and today DS childcare closed so i m home and we gog for a swim later.

tks gals on the water retention dishes and soup.

Cookiemonster, yr PD is right , hv to monitor and it is too soon to analysis their speak progress. I think it helps if u talk to him more like i always talk abt what i m doing, what he is playing etc..i dun care he understand or not, i just talk lah.. i think tat why he pick up words when he is not talking. Out of the blue, he will say it aloud.

Guess what, over wkend i ask ds what he want for lunch, noodle or rice? he respond noodles, so i ask bee hoon or kway teow, he wants kway teow.
so i made kway teow fishball soup. 5 mouths only he demand for rice . aiyo.... end up i dun care he force him to finish and end up drinking milk.

like my friends always say kids these day hv their own mind.

Choc06

For leek, I had yellow bean paste chop, mince prawn and pork, taukuay and fish cake,sometimes I added dried mushroom...

Hey, anyone has got good anti wrinkle cream to recommend...think fine lines coming out....

hehe twinkle your boy is so cute

choc, i cheated. i used tom yum paste mixed with water. i did it with rice instead cos we had leftover rice. ingredients were fish balls, straw mushrooms, luncheon meat and onion

not the healthiest blend of stuff but realised that the meat we had thawed for our original meal smelt funny so i had to improvise for a really quick dish!

anyway. fry till fragrant and almost cooked, stir in tom yum mixture and when it's boiling, throw in rice (or udon). can also add prawns but i didn't have time to thaw. total time to prepare and cook it all was 15 mins!

pbunny,
Wow, your tom yum udon/rice sounds good leh.
I also love tom yum. Think I'll try making it when I'm not so heaty.
Scared I get too heaty then it passes on to Soph in my milk!
What brand tom yum paste do you use? I tried Asian Gourmet one before... not nice leh.

twinkle,
How was your swim yesterday?

Choc,
Re cow's milk, besides the calcium portion, it's also got to do with cows being injected with lots of antibiotics and growth hormones nowadays. Growth hormones cos it helps to increase their milk supply and of course makes them grow faster. Then the book also says that becuase of the increased milk production, like humans, cows also get mastitis, and therefore get pumped with antibiotics. So I think all these substances eventually passes on to us in the milk... maybe that's why we see an increase in allergies like eczema etc.

There's also a very interesting and controversial study called The China Study. Apparently, it found that pple in China have very low rate of breast cancer compared to the West, cos they do not traditionally consume dairy products. And then a breakdown of the provinces shows that those in more developed cities like Shanghai have higher rate of breast cancer, probably cos they lead a more Westernised lifestyle.
In case pple start wondering if it's genes, Chinese immigrants who migrated to USA and adopted a Westernised lifestyle have an increased rate of breast cancer.
That's why in China, they call it a rich man's disease.

Your friend who has breast cancer.... does she consume a lot of dairy and beef?
I know the last thing she'll wanna read is about another person with breast cancer. But if you're interested, you can read this book called Your Life in Your Hands by Jane A. Plant.
She's a geology scientist who had breast cancer 2 or 3 times and survived. She made the observation about dairy products and cut it out from her own diet. It's available in the library.

hehe thanks twinkle. i was feeling a bit guilty about it actually *blush*

huskie
the brand i used was AAA instand tom yum paste. glass bottle with metal cap. just mix with water. but interestingly, i have never made tom yum soup! hmmm.

oh got recipes to share! (i'm really enjoying my ML hehe). today's dinner:

cream of potato soup
i used 2 potatoes, skinned and cubed, fried in butter with half an onion. then added 1 small pack of HL milk + about 250ml of chicken stock (either home made or the packet kind). when boiling, reduce to simmer, until potatoes are soft. about 20 minutes. then just before serving, stir in 4 tbsp of light cream (i used president's brand, extra light). add a dash of black pepper. very yum!

oven baked salmon
season salmon with lime juice, lime rind (grated shavings of the skin), salt and black pepper. bake open for about 20 minutes (depending on thickness of salmon). i served with french beans (fried in butter and garlic), and cubed mango (actually the recipe said use papaya + mango but i didn't want to carry a papaya home haha). shiok!

hubby and i really enjoyed tonight's dinner :D oven stuff and stove stuff can be done concurrently so it took about half an hour to prepare. quick and easy! and now hubby is enjoying the washing up hehe