Cooking Tips & Recipe

Pris
Nice apple strudel....

I do not think my boy can sit still cos he loves to move around, and cannot be confined...so kind of worried. He was terrible when I travelled with him to HK when he was 15mths....seat belt sign on, he still want to move out of the seat...sigh...

Joy, by 2, he should be able to understand simple instructions so try to tell him.

I did not have much problem with Kai, if not I will have trouble as the journey from Vancouver to Singapore is like almost a day and I handle him alone since most time Dh cannot come with me until later dates.

Hi everyone. Sorry I haven't been able to log in - my pc totally crashed!

Hi Prisc, thanks for sharing your lovely food pics! I love the choc cake - looks moist and yummy!

Hi Joy, oooh I love Japan! We usually stay in Keio Plaza Shinjuku cos it's very centrally located in the city plus it's a Disney good neighbour hotel, meaning there's free shuttle to and from disneyland or disneysea every day in the mornings and the evenings. It's great cos after a whole day walking around at disney having the bus drop us off at the doorstep of the hotel is a great relief!

hi ladies...

long time no pop by... been bz preparing for Ayden's birthday party which was last saturday... also, a pretty hectic time coping with him (cos he's teething + crawling = super cranky + active...) n #2, n a new maid...
but *phew*... at least e party is over...

finally i have something "food related" to share here too... here's ayden's cake & jelly... altho both not prepared by me..

1036444.jpg

huskie,
I weaned off at about 13 months. It's partially natural weaning. Gotta start to introduce FM during the day. Find one that Sophie likes, then slowly change from breastfeeding to FM. That time, when I started, I bought tins after tins of different FM and threw them away cos Yu dun like them. He only likes his current goat's milk which is not sweet. Yu sucked for comfort at nite till hourly sucking till I get so sore at about 12 months. During the last few days of weaning, he cried at nite when I refused to let him suck. I woke and carried him and rocked him to sleep again. Those few nites were very tiring. But after that, he weaned off already

prisc,
Wah... your cake looks very appetising...

starz,
Ayden's birthday cake is very cute. I forgot to take lots of pictures for Yu's first birthday :p.

Starz, nice cake and jelly. My boy will love them too.

I am feeling very tired lately, not sure whether it is under the weather.

Here's another of my sharing, our dinner last night Seafood Baked Rice and with special request of sausage in it.

Straight from the oven, (Ds and my share, Dh has his own)
1037324.jpg

After scooping out some for ds,
1037325.jpg

Hi Annelise

Just check keio plaza and I think its fully book due to its peak season.

Do you have any other suggestion?Anyone can help too ?thanks

Hi starz, thanx for sharing the pics, the cake & jelly look very nice and festive! Must be really tiring for you to cope with so many things! Sorry, I have lost track of this thread - when is your EDD? Is Ayden having a didi or meimei?

Hi Joy, a mummy I know from the forum stayed in this Ryokan: http://www.housejp.com.tw/ It is in Ikebukuro and she enjoyed her stay there very much. But it is very popular, usu need to book 2 months in advance. You can try your luck there, maybe there'll be last min cancellations? Another place you could try is this Hotel http://www.palmandfountainterracehotel.com/english/index.html
It is situated in the disney resort area and has free shuttle service to disneyland. I haven't tried this hotel myself but have read pretty good reviews when I was researching for my trip. Hope you find a place soon

hi ladies...

popping by to say <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATULATIONS TO KRISJOY on e arrival of ur 2nd princess!!!!!</font></font>

remember to drop by when u free to share some photos of both ur princesses hor... long time no "see" liaoz.....

<font color="aa00aa">lyn</font>, i also didnt manage to take much photos during A's birthday cos he was very cranky due to lack of sleep... all depend on my guests forwarding their photos to me lor.....

<font color="aa00aa">pris</font>, hope u r feeling better liaoz... or else, hope tat our babydust all come true for u liaoz!!!

<font color="aa00aa">annelise</font>, my EDD 1st Dec... but hoping to "offload" #2 soon... i have no idea if ayden having didi or meimei, cos we told gynae we dont wana know.... this way we still living with the "probability" that its a boy, but stil got "chance" to "hope" for a girl mah... hehehe.....

Krisjoy

Congrats and do rest well....

Got this piece of info from Van....via sms...

Van
Thanks and hope to see your postings...since exam over liao...

To the rest

Have a good sunday.

Krisjoy....
Congrats to you on the arrival of your new BB.

Been mia for long time.... so bz at work and home. Din have time to log in.

Starz,
Inform us when u pop y....

Krisjoy,
Congratulations.
When u are free, pls post yr princess' photos.
Both princess getting along well?

Starz,
have u 'offloaded' yr 2nd? Kan cheong now? pls come in to share how u coping with ayden and no. 2.

The thread has been so quiet...

hi ladies....

paiseh, took me so long to come back with e announcement...
kao_embarrassed.gif

i've *popped* on 20 Nov liaoz... to Princess Isabelle.. hehehe... i got my wish!

tis time round, labour was soooooo much longer than Ayden's time, that i got quite demoralised halfway... ayden popped within 4.5hrs of me admitting into hospital...while for isabelle, i've been having 1 week of regular contractions everynite before e "fateful" nite i decided it was strong(pain) enough to get myself admitted... and yet, Isabelle took 15.5hrs to arrive!!! in e end, its all wort it when we saw her....

juz to share a couple of her photos...

1093122.jpg

1093123.jpg

hehehe... its tough coping with 2... altho ayden is too young to understand n seek attention.. i feel guilty when i cant spend enough time with him lor... so sometimes instead of resting, i'll spend e "breaks" between isabelle's feed playing with ayden.. end up, on sunday i fell sick with fever... now got to "balance" out abit more lor...

starz congrats....

your princess is so sweet...welcome to the family of two kids...I know how you feel as I felt equally bad like you when the second one comes along...you will over that stage....trust me...

Starz, congrats.

Very sweet little princess!

Starz, still no news yet. Hope the stork remembers that I also want a little princess to make a complete family, haahaa. Or maybe Santa will deliver the good news soon, haahaa.

Very busy recently and it is snowing over here and so as usual, we are out building snowmen, have fun in the snow.

starz,
CONGRATS!!!! Princess Isabelle is so sweet and chubby

Take care leh... this is your confinement period, cannot fall sick leh!

Krisjoy,
A belated congrats to you too

Joy,
Yeah, not easy coping with 2 hor?
I've only got Soph and I'm already tired out everyday!
But will be planning for #2 soon... just not sure what is the best age so Soph won't get jealous.

lyn,
I tried many FMs on Soph, inclu goat milk, but she makes a puking face and didn't wanna drink leh *sigh*
And now I just found out she likes my oat milk! With my oat milk, she can gulp it down using a normal cup.... but I think this oat milk cannot substitute for FM leh.
Jialat, means gonna be hard to wean her off liao!

Joy,
How's your Japan trip?
I'm thinking of going to Hokkaido next March... just that I'm not so confident of bringing Soph along, so still in the stage of "thinking" and not booking yet.

Huskie

Its really not easy to cope with two esp my big one has to attend to her education needs...as in coaching her...and the small one keeps coming to destroy things around her.....

Japan trip was great as my boy learns to speak more, with the external environment stimulation.Only draw back, the weather is kind of cold and darkness set in by 4.30pm and am not used to it.

How old will soph in march?My personal experience, after two years, will be an all right age to travel as I can see a vase difference in my boy during his 15mths to HK and 2 years four month to tokyo....

Joy,
Soph will turn 1 yr old in Feb, so by March for Hokkaido trip, she'll be 13mths old.
I was hoping to wean her off bm in Feb next year, then go Hokkaido and make a #2

But if she doesn't wanna wean off, woah, then very siong to be preggers and bf-g too.

I was searching through the blogs, and made a Garlic Chicken Kei Chi Soup today... it is surprisingly very yummy without any salt or soya sauce! Garlic taste is also not overpowering afetr it's been cooked in the soup.

Weather is turning cold and unpredictable these days... people are getting the flu easily. Garlic has lots of antiviral properties, so this should be a nice soup this season

Starz,
Congratulations!
Isabelle is so sweet!
Take it slow and dun tired yrself out. (easier said than done... especially i have not gone thr what u had), but pls do take care of yr own well-being as well.

Huskie,
13mth old should not be a too difficult time. except that baby may want to walk ard the aircraft, and u will need to lug slow cooker etc to cook her porridge (if u unwilling to give her bottled food) etc. diapers/bottled food are not expensive and readily available in supermarket in japan. if going f&e, the shopping malls children dept have quite good children facilities, changing room, breastfeeding room (better than the one in takashimaya here). and latch on little sophie during take off and landings to ease ear pressure.

can u posted the garlic chicken kei chi soup recipe pls.

Priscila,
u must be soo busy that u have no time to post nice food pics ;)

cookie,
Oh dear, Soph doesn't like jarred food at all... actually I don't blame her, cos I also wouldn't eat it... they all taste funny even though I buy the organic ones.

Sorry, forgot to post the recipe cos got busy with Soph. Here it is:

Slice garlic into thin slices. Heat a little oil in pot and fry garlic over low heat for 1-2mins. Do not let it turn brown. Then add chicken, water and kei chi and bring to a boil. Then lower to a simmer and cook for about 30mins. A quick, yummy and easy soup!
- For amt of garlic, it's up to you. I use about 5 cloves of garlic for a quarter of a chicken. Amt of water just covers chicken for 2-3 persons.
- You can add a bit of soy sauce or salt at the time of serving, but believe me, the soup is so tasty you don't need anything else. The garlic gives it the saltiness and the kei chi provides the sweetness.

What have you been up to yourself?

Have not seen all the old kakis like LittleCat, Ambrosial and Van for a long while!

Thanks for all your wishes! Wow, it's been a long time since I logged in here and so sorry that I only saw all your posts now

Starz,

Congrats on the arrival of your princess! She has the birthday as my sister.
Who is doing the confinement for you?

My confinement ends tomorrow and thereafter I can go out liao. Yipee!

Congrats to Krisjoy and Starz! :D

pai seh really too busy recently... like my hb said, 'retribution' enjoy too much last time surfing net and chatting :p

Hb and I went Korea, just back on Monday. Super cold place..everyday wear like ba-chang.

While holidaying, we leave both boys at the aunt's house.. wrong decision ! esp the 2nd one, he already sick and having flu, she still bring him out to show off! so piss off!
worst still when we call back she didn't say a word about they are not well.
until the maid can not tahan call me to tell me the 2nd one is really sick and have the whizzing sound... sigh...
i am really a BAD mother!

now back to work, both are getting better now.

Happy Holiday!
Hope next year i will have more free time to chat...

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Merry</font> <font color="119911"><font size="+1">Christmas</font></font> and <font size="+1">Happy</font> <font color="119911"><font size="+1">New Year!!</font></font></font>

hi, mummies,

congrats to Krisjoy and Starz! Starz, yr girl is so cute and chubby! :D

thanks, Pris, for sharing yr food pics! yr choc cake looks so tempting... :p

here's wishing us all a Wonderful Happy 2008!

LittleCat,
Which aprt of Korea did you go to?
Woah, must have had a feast there huh? I love Korean food!!!

No lah, you're not a bad mother lah... how would you know that your kids would be sick when you've already booked your holiday?

Paiseh I haven't gone to the West at all, so no chance to pass you the blank flashcards.
Cos Soph also down with bad cough, so I've been hibernating at home with her.

<font color="ff0000">Here's wishing everyone a happy new year - may 2008 bring us lots of joy and good health!</font>

MIA for a long time. Lots of packing when we relocate back home for the time being. Not sure whether we are staying put or be relocating away which we will find out later.

Not much posting lately, everyone must be very busy.

Hello gals...
Anyone? All must be very busy...
I gave birth 3 weeks ago to two gals
They are born at 36 weeks plus and are very healthy. To my surprise, no jaundice at all

Here they are...

1363297.jpg

muffin,

I think it's lecithin granules which I took daily during pregnancy. I also drank 3 coconuts water plus flesh a day for two weeks before delivery. On and off, I took coconut throughout pregnancy.

joy,

MY mum helping me with #1. I am taking care of the gals myself. At nite, my hubby will help me. I just selected a myanmar maid few days ago. She will be coming in 1 or 2 May
Hopefully she will be of great help.

hi lyn,
CONGRATS!!!
So happy to see your princesses' pictures... makes me miss the newborn period so much!
Wow, you managed to carry the twins till 36mths! That's a great achievement.
Did you drink carrot juice a lot? Cos I think I read about that in your blog.

Hee, seems like this thread has still got some old kakis coming in.... we should try to keep this thread active. I miss the good old days of chatting with you girls here....

Calling Van, LittleCat, Choc, sp, starz, krisjoy, ambrosia!!!

huskie,
How's Sophie growing? Must be enjoying her growing up ya?

I wanted to target 37 weeks, but could not make it... kekeke... But they were indeed very very heavy. Imagine having to sit down with legs apart cos tummy could touch the chair already. I still bring my #1 to classes till I gave birth, but I will just sit at one corner to watch or chit chat with other parents. hahaha...

I drank a lot of carrot juice
Minimum is 2 cups a day, sometimes 3-4 cups a day, depending on my food intake. I did not have regular meals during pregnancy. I am afraid of not enough nutrients, so I took lots of supplements and drink as much carrot juice as I can. Sometimes, dun even have time to just pop the supplements!

Yalor... hope everybody will come back

Hey everybody,

Long time no see n hear ! Sorry to MIA for a long long period ! Been busy with the three kids and also tuition. Just stopped giving tuition 3 weeks ago. My boy's in the playpen now, 2 girls are resting after lunch.. so got time to chat for a while..

Congrats Lyn, for your 2 girls. They are so sweet. the one in blue looks like gor gor leh !Not easy to cope with 3 hor? I'm expecting my 4th one.. hehe... last one..I hope.. Now into my 14th week, still dunno the gender yet.

Huskie sophie, long tome din chat, din know you changed name! How many months is little sophie now ? Having number 2 ??

Ya, missed chatting with you all and sharing recipes too.

CALLING ALL the MAKAN KAKIS , COME OUT! COME OUT !

Today, I boiled carrots, potatoes, corn, onions, red dates, wolfberry seeds and conch soup for lunch. It was very sweet and tasty!

Hi everybody,

how's everyone doing.

finally the thread is alive again

lyn,
when is yr maid coming in?
heee... bernice and charlene are really charming.
hope to get to see them soon.

huskie,
how's little sophia doing?
are u still cooking much?

Choc,
hee.. glad to hear u are managing well with 3 and going to 4.
heee.. am expecting my no. 2 also. now abt 23weeks preggy.

how are others doing??

Wow congrats, cookie ! How's your little cookie, how old is he now? Mine is very active, at 20 months now.. doesn't sleep as much as the girls

So is no. 2 a boy or gal?

Hey joy, what have you been cooking ?

Nowadays, I manage lunch with one soup and one main dish. That day, a friend taught me a vegetarian style yam rice.

Fry onions, dried shrimps, sliced mushrooms, carrot cubes, yam cubes until semi soft. Then season with oyster sauce and black sauce.

When rice is half cooked, throw in the cooked ingredients. ( I'll use brown rice in this simple recipe). My kids love the taste of yam, even no.3 eats it.

I'll also cook a big batch of the ingredients, portion and freeze them, when i want to make yam rice, I'll take out a small portion to cook in rice

So happy that the thread is alive again

lyn,
Soph is growing well, but a bit on the petite side... hee, my mum is always comparing her small size to my nephew who is 6 mths older. He was 15kg at 1 yr old! And now my younger bro's wife has given birth to a boy too, and my mum is telling me again how potentially "big-size" he is too.

It's really fun watching her grow up everyday, but woah, when she is sick, it's so siong!
Like now, she caught the flu bug last week and then has been having on off fever (high of 38.2, but mostly hovering around 37.6) for one and a half weeks!
PD says she is still active so her little body is just fighting the virus with the fever, and just leave it.
Today I tried giving her a bit of diluted carrot juice

Your girls are of quite good weight right? How heavy were they when born?

Choc!!!
Hee, finally see you again!
Soph is now coming 14+mths, and very naughty!
When I beat her hand, she beats me back! **faintz**
Yeah, I wanna try for #2, but need to wean Soph off first.
I really salute you... you dare to have 4 kids!
With the sleepless nights with just 1 kid, my hubby is already wondering if we should stop at 1!

The conch soup sounds so nice. Think I'll try it after I recover from my flu too.
Seriously, when this thread was alive, I had more motivation to cook

The vege style yam rice sounds yummy too, but heh, it's not exactly vegetarian hor? Cos got shrimps! ;)

How do you like living in Tampines? Must be fun staying so close to your sis.

cookie,
Not cooking much liao lor... cos no inspiration from this thread!
I even tried tingkat dinner twice, but woah, I fell sick after eating the food, maybe cos their oil is "dirty" and lots of deepfried food.
When is your EDD?

lyn,
btw, when you said you took carrot juice, did you take the organic one or normal carrots?
Did you juice them yourself or bought the bottle type?

At what age did you start giving Aloysius carrot juice too?

Joy,
u cooking anything new?

Choc,
u really have excellent time mtgm skills. can teach tution while managing 3 of them. yr malay dd still like malay food?
my little cookie coming 23months and in his terrible twos. and serious bout of jealousy now that he knows no. 2 on the way.
can check how u manage the siblings jealousy?
how's didi reaction to no. 4?
will try yr yam rice recipe this weekend

Huskie,
heee... no need to wean also can strike.
i was still breastfeeding during the 1st trimester. but gynae asked me to stop.
think the tingkat dinner food really not doing yr tummy good.
i also think without this thread.. really not much inspirations to cook.
dun think too much abt what others say, as long as sophia is healthy and happy.
my edd is national day. but gynae says likely to be ely as the first one was earlier by 3weeks.
did u try any good food place recently?
went to the seletar hills that u recommended with my family. and they all like it.

Hi everyone....

huskie,
I'm here...always around, waiting for you ladies to come out hee... yah, you're right, sometimes also no inspiration on cooking cos here so quiet.

cookiemonster,
Congrats! I'm pregnant too, coming to 23 weeks. Same as you, due in aug.

Lyn,
Congrats! Beautiful girls you have!!
wow...you drink alot of carrot juice during preggie. I dare not drink it only drink them when I feel like it, afraid baby might have jaundice. But luckily your babys is alright.

choc,
will also try the yam rice, look simple to make and is what I want, simple and delicious. My MIL made some soup for my dss, she only add carrot, kailan stem, red dates and dry scallop but not too much water, the soup turn out to be very sweet. Think she use thermopot or pressure cooker.

cookie,
Hee, if don't wean, very difficult leh... haha. So I went and order preseed a few days ago too ;)
Eh, bf while preggers... aren't the breasts sore? How you tahan latching when breasts are sore?

Wow, National Day?! Good leh, so patriotic!

As for makan, I haven't tried many new places recently, cos baby's sleeptime is 7-8pm, so very difficult to go out for dinner.
But recently went to a Teochew restaurant at Beo Crescent with my family... simply shophouse chi char restaurant kind. Very fresh food, esp. fish. Name is called Quan Le Yuan. Not expensive too.

I also like this Korean restaurant at Novena Squeare2, called HangSang. Their BBQ beef is fantastic, kimchi jigae very good... soon dubu so-so only. For soon dubu, I still like the Meridien Foodcourt Korean foodstall.

Choc,
I also peifu you... dunno how you manage the kids plus the jealousy part!

annlee,
Have you found out if your #3 is a girl or boy?