Cooking Tips & Recipe

cecelia,
Start late is better than no start
One year old not late

For flashcards, there will be period when she will not be keen. Gotta try and try... I started words about 5 months old. There are period when I stopped totally cos my son not interested. Now his interests is back
It takes lots of time and efforts

lyn,
Wow, $2k is very steep... I'm buying a 2nd hand Maths set from a friend, so for English, maybe I'll make my own. But first have to go find those cardboards to write on

Cecelia,
You bought the original GD English cards?

Sophie's Mom,
No lar... the flashcard that i bought is the norm flashcard from Popular. Tot try out first if she keen then consider whether to buy or nt. I heard GD card v exp... Me so kiam siap... everything wan ai phi ai zhi...

Lyn,
Thx for the encouragement, will try again.

Hi Littlecat, thanks! I got your sms
If the potluck confirmed on 8 September, we'll be there. But I may not be able to cook something - prob da bao cos' dd1 has ballet in the morning. Your baby is so cute and chubby! Love his complexion!

Hi everyone! Sorry I haven't had a chance to log in for a long time. My girls have been monopolising the use of the computer! We managed to get a place for her in the school of our choice, so it's a big relief! Anyone registering their child this year for P1 too?

Ok, going to catch up on all the posts now - lots of catching up to do!

hi hi...

<font color="ff6000">sophie</font>
eh, not hiring CL tis time too... as i'll be employing a maid liaoz.. too much $$$ to incur...
but will definitely try to do some sort of confinement tis time.. as i completely didnt do it last time round... prob why my body is still "weak" n another pregnancy so close "strain" me lor.....

<font color="ff6000">littlecat</font>
most likely employing a filipino maid.. cos according to my hb who did e research, they only cost at e most $50 more per month...
already shortlisted a couple... going to "interview" them... then decide lor...
thanks in advance for sharing e info.....

<font color="ff6000">lyn</font>
thanks....
8th sept i should almost confirm can make it... hehehehe....

<font color="ff6000">cecilia</font>
yupz, im planning for DS's 1st bday... cos tis will be his ONLY chance of having his OWN bday...
hb already said, next yr onwards, #1 & #2 will share bday parties liaoz... cos they will be at e most 1 month apart....

Starz,
Really know hw to save... till birth month of ur children oso make it near so next time can save $$ no nd to celebrate twice... Its definitely a good idea

Hi there

Have not been around for a while, been very busy.

Starz, congrats! Blow some baby dust over.

Hope to be able to drop in more often.

hi girls,
For those who like a quick fix once in a while and don't mind frozen food, Taj Frozen Tandoori Chicken is very good!
Chicken is very tender, no MSG and preservatives too.

I just heat it up, cut into slices and made a tandoori chicken sandwich.

starz,
Yeah, do a proper confinement this time... better be safe than sorry!
If you don't mind those pre-packaged herbal teas, can even ask annlee about the Peiling Formula that she tried recently.

HAPPY NATIONAL DAY TO ALL!!!

Hi lyn

I read that u r using Aprica bottles? Are they Bisphemol A free? I m currently Avent and thinking of changing to Aprica but their teats got me a little confused.

Can I use normal teats with the wide bottles version? My daughter dont really need the colic system

muffin,
Aprica bottles are Bisphernol A free
I have tried other wide neck bottles teats on the Aprica bottles. NUK teat is fine. Bfree teat fit. Pigeon teat leaks a little. The bottles come with the colic system. Cannot remove that system, else will leak.

starz,
See you all on 8 Sep

Gathering:
Date: 8 September 2007
Time: 12pm
Venue: YCK
Theme: Eat, drink, chit chat, enjoy

1. Lyn
2. Littlecat
3. Sophie's Mom
4. Annelise
5. Starz
6. zzzcookie
7. Annlee (?)
8. Cecilia Tan (?)
9. Ambroisal (?)

Anyone else that I have missed out?

Lyn,
Gathering - Should able to attend but will come alone as come direct from office.

BTW, i will bring along a cake as dun hv time to prepare anything.... Hope that will be ok for the rest of gals. Most probably will order from Cedele (got one branch near my office
).

Annelise,
U manage to secure seat for ur gal... congrats yah. D u do volunteer work for the school? My ds' school registration next year but heard from some mummy commented its kinda late for me to do volunter now .... Me kinda shang nao jing liao.

lyn,
Thanks for inviting! Will give a miss as I'm going to Bintan for a shortbreak.

annelise,
I'm not registering my son this year but next year. Going to join the School alumni soon...I'm kiasu hee...

sop,
Can buy Taj tandoori chicken from Ntuc or Cold Storage?

Hi Lyn,
Thanks for replying. The aprica sales lady at robinson does not understand what I was asking her. Kept telling me that its a colic free system. The lady I called at their head office wasnt helpful too. ENd up I went to metro n bought bfree. But the flow is slow compared to avent cos my dd takes a long time to finish her bottle.

annlee,
Yep, I got my Taj Tandoori chicken from NTUC.

Lyn,
Need to ask you some questions:
- Which brand oats do you use for your ds?
- Where do you get them from?
- You started feeding ds oats from 6 tmhs yeah?

Cos I went to check out some oats from NTUC organic section... none of them put the term "gluten free" on it leh.
You are right in that oats are gluten free, but sometimes they do contain traces of gluten cos the factory they are milled at could have milled an item containing gluten previously... maybe that's why Bellamy's Baby Rice contain "traces of gluten".

For the gathering, lemme think about what to cook... heee, maybe can ask my mum to cook then I bring over, since my mum stays in Yishun.

hi Lyn/Sophie :

So sorry i can't join you guys on Sep 8, as we have company function on that day and it is a whole day event...sigh...

Pls enjoy yourselves & have fun gals!

Hello everyone... yesterday I made some chicken ghor hiang, quite ok but I prefer pork. Tonight I'm making liver mee sua with sesame oil and lotsa ginger for myself hee...

hi annlee

wow sounds decicious, i love liver!!

share with us your chicken gor hiang recepi.

I cook the Hakka Yong tao foo on sunday, then on saturday i try the tiramisu.

The tiramisu was ok, my hb love it!

The hakka YTF, i bought the minced meat from Giant, guess too healthy, only lean meat no fad, taste not very good leh..

Think is the same for the chicken ghor hiang? if use pork more fats taste better...

This morning i login here can't find this thread, i thot they deleted... lucky is back!

littlecat,

tiramisu yummy... easy to make? I read the recipe before and if I remember correctly is quite complicated right?

As for the chicken ghor hiang, I find the meat not so tender, as what you say pork more fats...

The ingreds will be mince chicken, diced prawns, chopped spring onion, chopped carrot, chopped water chestnut, 1 onion chopped, and 1 egg. Mix all togther with soya sauce, pepper and corn flour(add more flour to have sticky meat paste). I did not add any 5 spices powder cos I don't like it with ghor hiang. wrap it with fried beancurd skin and fry it..... easy hor....

oh yes....if you're making more to keep it, I suggest you steam all of it and store in the fridge. Don't keep them raw in the fridge as it will produce water.

annlee,
The tiramisu i try is rather simple.

here's the method :
Mascarpone 500g
Lady fingers (biscuit can be found in cold storage)
whipped cream 120g
sugar - 90g
instant cofee - 1 big cup
Kahlua liquor - optional*

First, mix the instant cofee in a big cup with hot water, if is not sweet add some sugar, let it cold down.

Then beat the mascarpone with sugar till smooth, put in the whipped cream.

Soak the lady finger in coffee, lay them in a container as first layer, then put the cheese in as 2nd layer. Then put the soak lady fingers as 3rd layer, then another layer of cheese.
Sieve some cocoa power to garnish.
Put in fridge for at least 2 hours.
Ready to serve.

Simple right?

Some tips : if you use the whipping cream, when you beat the cream, don't over do it, it will turn waterly.
Buy the right type of cheese mascarpone, abit more expensive but it taste good. For the 500g is about $11.
When soak the lady finger in coffee, if u you like it very soft and kind of melt in your mouth when you eat it, soak slightly longer or you can pour the coffee on top of it.
Cos the lady finger can adsorb very fast, if too long you can't pick it up to put in the container.

yeah your ghor hiang sounds easy leh, must try it during weekend !

OIC good tips.. must steam first, then when fry also shorter time right?

littlecat,

the tiramisu is simple to make but got a few qn...

-when to add in kahlua?
-how do you measure the grams? can agar agar hee..
-whipped cream, do you u use package type or bottle spray?

I know nothing about baking but this tiramisu don't need oven so is quite easy for me.

About the ghor hiang, yes...will be shorter time if u steam it first.

annlee

-if using kahlua add it in the instant coffee
-the cheese is alrdy in a tub, so no need to measure. the whipped cream i really agar-gar, cos i over beaten the thing turn water..:p so i just scoop a few. then the sugar also i dun want it too sweet, so just pour abit - estimate
- i buy those whipping cream, like milk is liquid, then beat with the mixer. not sure those spray type can use or not? but more expensive leh.. cos the 1 pack of whipping cream about $2. if the bottle spray one i think $7+?

good, can try during weekend

I'm back from my M'sia trip... we cut it short and just went KL only! Will explain when I'm free

Wanted to post and tell you girls I cannot make it on 8 Sep too leh, very very sorry... a good friend's baby's first mth celebration is on that day from 11am to 1pm, so it clashes. Sooooooo sorry, cos I was looking forward to meeting up with you girls!
Will have to join you girls next time!

LittleCat, then it is not exactly the exact Italy Tiramisu. I know of a friend who does it and she only used certain brand of expresso too. I too missed the tiramisu but I lost the recipe she gave me. I think I will be on my quest to look for the recipe haahaa.

Nevertheless, it should be very tasty too haahaa...did you take photo of it?

Hi aLL

How is everyone...

Sophie"mom
Trip must be quite tiring with a little one right?

Little cat N Annlee

WOW, tiramisu sounds tough to me, some of the ingridents looks greek to me...

Hey mommies
Remember the Seletar Hill Restaurant that was mention long time ago?How was the food and pricing?My aunty birthday is coming and cousin want to give her a treat...wonder the food is nice, and any special dish to recommend...need reservaion?

Do you all have any good chinese restaurant for recommendation?thanks in advance.

Joy,
Yeah the trip was really tiring.
Both hubby and I took turns to drive, but we could not drive long cos we get very broken sleep from the night wakings and feedings.
So in the end, decided to be safe and not push ourselves to go all the way to Penang.
Hee, guess we were a bit ambitious and too positive about it!
An expensive lesson learnt cos we had to pay one night's accomodation for the Penang hotel cancellation.

As for the Seletar Hills Restaurant, food is VERY GOOD! Pricing is not too expensive, esp. since they do not charge service charge.
Special dish to recommend:
- Smoked duck => lovely crisp skin with smokey flavour
- Tung Po Rou and buns => their version of kong bak pao... the meat is so soft it melts in your mouth!
- If you call ahead, book a table and tell them it's your aunty's birthday, they'll give complimentary red date buns!
- Better to make reservation cos it's really crowded!

http://makansutra.com/Makanzine/sep01/seletarhill.html

Trying to post but keep having problem posting.

hi Sop's mom, welcome back!
oic.. true that driving can be tiring plus u guys have to be on night duty...
one tips is to get one person on night duty and one be day time driver.

Post some photo for us to see see leh

last weekend watch 2 programs happen to cover Penang, Ipoh and KL...may be can plan to stop by Ipoh so shortern the journey.

Joy the Tiramisu is really easy to make and the ingredint can be found at cold storage.

Will try to post the lady finger and the cheese.
but the end product, cos alrdy in stomach liao!

Anyone visited the NTUC Finest at Bukit Timah?

LittleCat,
Heee, we were so tired we didn't take any pics during the trip at all!

I thought of Ipoh too, but then decided could be quite boring cos there's nothing there right?

lyn,
Congratulations!!!!!!

btw, check with you, did you implement the flashing of GD English AND Maths card to Aloysius simultaneously?
Wasn't it siong, as in, everyday got so many sessions of cards to flash?
Are you still flashing now?

Little Cat
Thanks for info on tiramisu....

Sophie's mum

thanks for reminder too

Pork for little toddlers porridge
Hi , can I just check with you mummies,how big is the pork loin that you put for one meal of porridge, as in for two big bowl of porridge...Think my maid put in one piece that is 9 cm long by 1.2cm thick. I feel that its too big. One day she will use two piece of this for two meals....

Appreciate someone here can advice cos boy always suffer from overbloated tummy...thanks

hi girls,
so sorry... i'm not able to make it on the 8sept for gathering liaoz... maid agency juz called me yesterday n my maid is arriving then...
altho its extra help coming for me... but still very very *sian*... worried will hv problems with e maid.. worried abt training & communicating with her... *haiz*....

btw, <font color="ff6000">Lyn</font>
CONGRATS too!!!

<font color="ff6000">joy</font>
i think e piece of pork (zhu yao rou) i used is abt 8 x 4 x 2-3 cm thick??? i always buy $3 worth n cut into half to use each meal.. but then again, A is only 10mths old, i cook his porridge w 1 small adult bowl of water, 2 tablespoon of brown rice... he doesnt eat e meat at all though... only occassionally i'll blend a portion of it till very very fine n cook again, so e porridge will look abit "powdery"...
dont think i helped very much hor...

littlecat, starz,sophie,
Ooo... cannot come for gathering already ah...

8 September Gathering:
1. Lyn
2. zzzcookie
3. Cecilia

sophie mom,

I am still doing flashcards. NOt so much of GD cards already. Mostly A5 cards similar to those used in Shichida. Yu is not interested in GD cards. I think they are too big and not interesting to him already.
I started with Maths dots at 2 months for about a month before I started the English cards. Then went on to Chinese cards. I do Maths, Eng, Chi all back to back. Save time leh... Gotta build up the concentration span slowly to see more cards at one go.

starz,

I am considering maid but my home no place for her to sleep already. Maybe will get part time cleaner 3 times a week. Then send clothes for laundry service.

lyn,
Thanks for info on the flashing... hee, cos I just bought the cards from my friend 2nd hand, and was wondering how to fit in 15 total sessions of Maths and English, so went to read your blog then saw the good news.
So excited for you!!!

Keep us updated ok? Or I will go kaypoh your blog anyway

Hi Lyn

Congrats! hehe i sent u SMS also, really happy for you!
After this can close shop liao.

gals, where to buy those huge card then we can cut to smaller size like A5 to do the flash card?
those GD like so expensive leh...

Sop's mom, haha! yeah sometime we forgot to take photo also. Can Sophie take long journey, did she make noise?

Oh Lyn, btw i just IM Cookiemonster, she can't make it to the gathering on 8/Sep too.

Is the gathering still on or shall we change to a Differnt date ?

LittleCat,
Blank flashcards?
I bought my A4 ones from one of the girls in the foum in "Want to Sell" section... 350gsm, 100pcs for $5.80.
I think the cards come in A5 size too, then no need to cut.

This lady here has a lot of blank ones, but she's bundling them with her DIY Shichida ones for total $50.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/934938.html?1187770385

Oh, changing gathering to a different date will be nice so we can all meet each other! But leychey on lyn or not?

Sophie made noise during the long journey leh... but after awhile, fell asleep...

hi ladies...

<font color="ff6000">lyn</font>
with your double blessings and aloysius at tis age, its juz my personal opinion lah tat i think a maid could help out more... cos parttime cleaner only does e housework.. but there will b times you'd need tat "extra pair of hands"... like when u r bathing 1, and e other is crying for attention... in e middle of the night when you'd need help, but also want ur hb to get enough rest cos he's working... etc.... sleeping arrangement, can she bunk into ur baby's room or study room???

<font color="0000ff">gathering</font>
i also agree to change to another date... but then again, im getting reli big n lethargic liaoz... i stil might not b able to make it even if u all change dates... *haiz*... u all make all e plans first??? if i can make it, i'll definitely join....

hey gals,
Anyone using garment steamers? Like the kind that G2000 staff use to steam/iron their clothes?

Any feedback or recommendation?
Are these garment steamers good for "ironing" shirts? Cos shirts need that pressed "line" along the sleeve to look good.

I'm wondering if it's useful, cos everytime I iron my hubby's trousers, I get those whitisg=h starchy marks near the pockets, even though I don't use starch.

Sophie mom

Someone told me, nice to see but not nice to use....

Why don't you try it out there and see is it that easy to use before buying...

sophie mom,
I got this garment steamer. I thought it was good. I hated it, especially so if I am in a hurry to go out. The steam will leave water patches all over, and sometimes the clothes feel wet after ironing. It's not easy to control, especially when ironing the edges. I often get scalded... It's not only me actually. My sis all hated it too, cos they get scalded too and cannot get the lines. This iron is good for tee shirts only, not at all for shirts and trousers. Like what joy mentioned, really nice to see only...

Long time no 'see'. i hv been sick for 2 wks plus liao still trying to recover. 1st was cough then kena brochities, now finally able to get my vocal tape back, i m back to flu. Sigh! extracted my wisdom tooth this morning <ouch> and kena flu due to the area was near my sinus gland.

i think i better rest before i meet u girls.

Lyn , congrats and take care. Dun get upset over A mess lah, it is normal and u rest well hor.

Joy, lyn,
Thanks so much for the product review!
Luckily I didn't go out and do an impulse buy last weekend... had some suspicions about it so thought of asking you girls first

I guess my good old iron is the best then

starry,
You take care of yourself!

Lyn, congratulation. I hope to join in soon, do send me some baby dust.

So long have not been here, this is my sharing of homemade Bak Kwa, we missed this over here as the ones sold here are not as nice as the one in Singapore and very dry.

955628.jpg