Choa chu kang mummy club

Hi Ashley,

Some parents bought stationery - colour pencils, colouring book, pencil case, etc. But, I will do this for my DD1 who is older to handle stationeries. For younger kids, think some candies & biskuits is good enough. Each goodie pack cost us about $2.

I was there to join them and take photos.

hi ashley

your son can argue! my poor no.2.....i am still waiting for him to talk and argue... hahaha

what i did for my no.1 when he was in playgroup, i packed a toy, nestle cereal and UHT milk as goodie bag

depending on the childcare, my no.1 childcare held it during snack time (after nap), so we brought the cake there, birthday song, took photos and brought him home.

Ok time for my kids to go to bed... chat again tomorrow

Hey Ashley.. Think I saw u once when u pick up Damien at abt 6.30pm... I think lib trip is still ok bah... My boy loves lib so just let him go...

Damien can really speak quite well... There was once I stayed abit longer to chat with the teachers and Damien came over to talk also... So cute... So when is his bday? I oso intend to celebrate En Jie's 2nd bday in school but that will be in sept ...

I think I remember wei zhe also... He is on half day one rite? Abit spikey hair one issit?? Apologies if I remember wrongly...

Hi Jeraldin

oh your boy loves the library trip?

wei zhe does not have spikey hair.... he has mushroom hair... i think spikey hair is Lincoln. Both Lincoln and Weizhe are half day school but I have converted Weizhe to full day from Apr 10 cos my maid returned home for one month, so we take this opportunity to convert him to full day as my hubby (he also takes one month leave to send/pick weizhe)cannot handle him in the afternoon.

after my maid return, i am not very willing to let her send/pick weizhe but if i send/pick weizhe, he will reach school at 7am and leave school at 6pm. my hubby wants to let him sleep a bit more in the morning and come home to take dinner earlier.

what time do you all send your kids to school?

yeah, i will celebrate weizhe's 2nd birthday in school too

Hi Jo,

We also leave the maid at home to do housework and do cooking & send/pick our kids ourselves.

But, our gals gotta leave home with us at ard 7am in the morning. My MIL will come over at ard 5pm to pick them up.

Thanks Jo and Snowball for your suggestion. Now at least I have something in mind

Hi Geraldin, if u see me next time, do call me ok? ;) Nowadays whenever Damien is not behaving himself, I'll say your son's name and other classmates' names like "Wow En Jie will see you crying" etc, and my son will stop hehe.

Hi Jo, it's normal for Weizhe to keep quiet and just observe things now. But once he talks, you can expect him to talk a lot too. Is your no.1 in Mulberry too?
Btw, we normally send Damien to school at around 8am and fetch him back at 6pm.

hi snowball and ashley

thanks for your feedback!

My no.1 went to Sunflower baby (formerly called happy joy), Cherie Heart, Learning Ladder and now in columbia learning.

Hi Ashley,

For my DDs' CC, for PG children, they require one adult to accompany for their outings. Probably becos they are too young.

My DD's CC finally separating the PG from the PN group as they have recruited 1 more PG baby, 5 in total now.

I am relieved to hear that as I find the PN prog too mature for my DD2 tho' she is learning well.

Hi Ashley,

Yes, my DD2 is in fullday care. But, PG and PN class is merged as there were only 3 PG babies. Now that they have recruited 5 PG babies, the CC will be separating the PG class from PN group.

Hey ashley finally saw u today... Damien very good boy ah.. Will follow stella inside the centre... My boy always cling onto me one.. Every morning also like koala bear ... But stella mention that he is doing well and starting to enjoy the lesson more.. Hope he will stop his whinning soon...

I realised the spikey hair is Lincoln after I saw his photo at the shoe rack... Oops
so I think there will be 6 full day kids now..

Hi Geraldin, during the first 3 weeks, Damien was crying every morning when we dropped him at school too.

But we are very bold, brought him there, handed him to the teacher (any teacher that was at the door), and then left. I have never brought him into the center except for first day. I think the more u stay the more he will cling onto you. Just let the teacher soothe him. Hehe maybe we are heartless lol.
I left at 9.00 am on first day too, never stayed too long in his school. But once in a while my husband popped in to school to check on him if he's got time. But only in the first 2 weeks. Now, we do not need to do such thing as my son is happy at school. Nowadays, when he reaches the school's glass door, if there are students/parents lingering outside, he will push pass them to enter the school, hardly turns back to look at us. To tell the truth, I'm both happy and sad. Soon enough he will not need us anymore.... I realized that. So nowadays, if he clings onto me at home or outside, I actually enjoy it, not scold him like before but let him do so. Cos after this stage, it may be even harder to ask him come to us, or kiss us.

Sorry for the long post, just feel a bit emotional haha.

Sure... Know what u mean... I oso nv complain abt him clinging to us... Coz I know sooner or later I am going to miss that... I wanted to also but he wants me to carry him when he alight from the car so bo bian...

Hi dear mummy...

M new here... Can any1 suggest which ctr is good for a 20mths old? I only wan to put my child for a few hr prog.. Can give any suggestion?

Hi Evon, welcome to the club

I think other mummies had suggested Agape or Amazing Star.
Or you can put him on half day program at CC.

Hi Evon,

I think AppleTree only accepts toddlers from 24 mths. You can check that out.

There is another group under EduFarm, also run by RC centres which you can check out.

Hi Evon, I think Apple Tree is not bad. If you like Apple Tree, maybe you can consider defer for another 3-4 months. By the time you finalise a school and send your son there, you'll not want to move him to another center
And by that time your son is nearly 24 months.

Hi Evon,

I used to send my DD1 to Agape at Blk 632A for their PG (3-hr prog) when she was 21 mths. I find their prog not bad also.

Now, both my DDs are with their fullday care.

You can check that out too.

Hi Evon,

My DD #2 attended Appletree for 2 terms after which I transferred her over to Kinderland. If I had a choice I would have preferred to leave her in Appletree. NOt bad for a 3-hourly program. SHe liked it alot and I find their lessons interesting. The teachers are good too.

Fortunately she is ssoo used to changing childcares so she did not make noise when I swithced her over to Kinderland.

P1 Registration

Any mommies here going for the P1 registration this year? Ehich schools are you all looking at?I'll be enrolling my DD #2 into DLS. Same as her jie-jie. Now waiting for the school to send out the registration letters.

Hi Snowball,

I did call Agape for more info. Think there most teacher are fr China isit? This CCC is it opp Ten Mile? If yes then is a bit inconven for me lei, but will go take a look one of this day.

Hi Dymples,

Ohh ur #2 attended Appletree... Can tell me more abt this ctr? Clean? Teacher good and caring? U mentioned that their lesson is intersting rite, can tell me more abit? As this ctr is nearer to me if is good will put my #1 there.

dymples
me me... going for P1 registration... looking at de la salle.... got to ballot at phase 2c.... if my son can get in, our children maybe can be classmates... *pray hard*

snowball
my neighbour's kids in agape, elder daughter transferred to bona vista (told u right?) they said the standard there is much better than CCK agape cos english teacher is phippino... they cannot stand their younger son, attending cck agape, speaking with philippino accent...

Ashley
go for no.2 if u miss your kid clinging to u heehee

anyway now my house is in a mess.... my maid went for one month leave suppose to return yesterday but called me that she missed her flight! no money to come back!!! i am so upset with her... i gave her bonus, advanced salary...etc. but she arrived airport late (still dare to tell me she was early at 10am but departure time was 10:50am. she knows better than me that she got to arrive at the airport 2 hours earlier cos she kept reminded us when we sent her to the changi airport).

Hi Evon,

Agape CCC is at Blk 789. Nowadays, most CCC employ teachers from China to teach Chinese. So far, the Chinese teachers at my kids' CC are OK. I visited some CCs where their Chinese teachers have got very "CHINESE" essence, which I personally, cannot take it and drop my choice.

When I visit the CCC, I bring my kids along as most importantly, our kids gotta like the place and feel comfortable with.

Hi Jo - My DD1's English teacher is a Filipino. So far, my DD1 have not learnt that "Filipino" essence tho'. But, her lessons are interesting and my DD1 enjoyed her classes very much and is learning well. I am still considering if I shd let my DD1 go to One-North branch for her K1/ K2 (my hb do not agree as she need to travel very far).

Maid - My colleague's maid also did not come back after she went for homeleave. Gave all sorts of excuses why cannot come back. When spend all their $$$ already then call us again to beg us to let them come back to work. They are like that one. That is why, I never treat them as "family" but, instead, maintain the employer-employee relationship.

Hi Jo, good luck to you on your maid issue. We are looking for a maid now as well. 1 month without maid, my parents need to fly here 2 times, cos we cannot manage housework and taking care of Damien at home.

The Agape at Buona Vista is at the NTU Alumni building is it? Heard a loe of raves on that particular Agape, but too far from yew tee.

@ Evon: The Agape that Snowball mentioned is near Yew Tee MRT. The one opposite Ten Miles is Learning Ladder.

Hi Dymples,

Since Appletree is good why u wan to chg ur gal to Kinderland?

Hi Snowball,

Do Agape provide school bus? Ur kid staying at Yew Tee there as Ashley mentioned rite?

Hi Jo,

Think ur kid also fr Appletree rite? How u find? Now still w Appletree?

Hi Ashley,

The Agape at Buona Vista is the one at NTU Alumni Bldg. They have a nice waterplay area & its on the top-floor. So, I guess the view is nice.

I heard Learning Ladder change name already, right?

Jo,
Yeah! Pray hard you boy can get in. WIll be great if they can be classmates. hehehe.. then we can also sms each other to follow-up ontheir assignments and projects. *lolz*

Evon,
I find their lessons uses a lot of visual aids which is good for young children. Plus they also got simple spelling and 'ting xie'. Good preparation for P1. I took my DD out cos I wnet back to work and thus need her to attend full day care. My DD attended the Appletree at the building next to Lot 1. THe principal's name is Wendy.

Heard that DLS is moved to a new location in Teck Whye due to renovation works right? My friend's son is in there too. Maybe next time I will send Damien there cos it's a Catholic school.

@ Snowball: Oh then that Agape is quite far. I'd rather pick some other schools if he already needs to travel that far :D

Hi Mummies..

Any mummies send their kids to Sheffield Kidworld? Jus spoke to the Princple (Mr. Puhal) nice & very helpful man. Give many advice lol... But i would like to hear mummies who had sent their kids there to get me some feedback...

Thks...

Ashley,
DLS will be shifting to Teck Whye next year for about 3-years cos of the renovation. Yup yup. DLS is catholic school but catholics comprises only about 30%of the total student population. So my girl is considered a minority in a catholic school.

Evon,
So nice... to have 1 boy and 1 girl. Just nice... me got 3 Princesses. *faintz* Was trying for boy but God choose to bless me with girls instead. Guess he knows me best... cos I also scared dunno next time can get along with DIL or not.

Serene,
I don't use GP for my girls cos I find most of them give the wrong diagnosis. Like my girls got HFMD, the GP initially told us is normal flu. Even though there are already a little tell tale bumps in the mouth and hands. I currently bring my girls to KidsLink, Dr Winston Ng.

Hi Dymples

Is it the one above Singpost? For the HFMD what is the earliest symptom, is it fever or bumps in the mouth and hands.

Hi Serene,

My gals have been seeing the GP at Clover Medical Clinic at Yew Tee Point. So far, normal ailments like cough and runny nose can be cured by taking their med. My kids also like to see the Drs there.

HFMD - My DD1 got it twice. I will start with mild fever and ulcers will grow on the tongue and gum. Blister-like bumps will grow on the base of foot and also on the hands.

Hi Dymples,

Princess are good too lol... They will be more caring then boy lol.. Agree? But some men also very caring even they marry la. Hee...

U kw any mummies send their kids to Sheffield Kidworld?

Serene, I vote for Dr Winston Ng at Kidslink as well. Yes it is the one above Singpost, next to Lot 1.

@ Dymples: wow you really can think so far until DIL lol. Anyway, girls nowadays are precious. I find people generally have more boys than girls, next time hard to find wife for Damien haha.

Even the teacher in Mulberry said the school got much more boys than girls :D

Thanks all mummies for information.

Ya, my DS is from Mulberry N2 class, his class has only 3 girls out of 18 students in the class.

Personally I think Winston Ng is not that experience especially dealing with infant sickness so please be careful... Personal experience which make my son suffer nothing for a week when he is just 2 weeks old!!! Always remember to seek another pd's advice if your kiddo doesn't recover soon...

Hey Jeraldin, just last night my hb commented the same thing. He said he feel that Winston is not that good. Actually we only switched to Winston after Damien turned 1. Before that we brought him to his PD in TMC.

Yesterday he has a bit of fever, we brought him to Clover (thanks to Snowball's suggestion) cos Kidslink was closed. Not bad for the price we paid, not even half of what we paid at Kidslink. The doctors are friendly, the medicine there include better brands too.

Hi Ashley,

Hope that your son is feeling better now. Yes, Clover carries better brands of med. Most of the med used by my kids' PD, they also carry. When I bring my kids to see the Dr there, I will also request for similar medication and paid a fraction of what was paid to the PD

Hi Jeraldin,

We too, have not too good experience with Dr Winston Ng actually. He maybe good for common aliments but for diagnosis of more serious problems, he is still not too experienced.

hi mummies, i am new in this thread
. currently both my kids seeing kidslink cck branch. ok i would say. is the only pd in cck area, right? btw mummies, nd advise. my gal is 26mths nw, currently with nanny at cck north 7. am looking for a playgroup near there so that easier for my nanny to fetch. my boy currently at k1 at flamingo childcare. any advise for any playgroups near cck north 7? thx.

Hi Snowball, thanks. I hope he will get better soon.

Happygal29: there is one learning center behind the 24hr coffee shop at CCK North 7, dun remember the block. It's opposite the camp. You may check that out.