Choa chu kang mummy club

How are you all doing? I MIA for quite sometime. Just quit my job to be SAHM. Kinda not used to stayong at home? Anyone staying in yew tee area perhaps we can meet up. By the way i just started to do some online biz selling childrens clothings.
Feel free to visit childrens-closet.blogspot.com

Hi Jacelyn, jia you!! Selling children clothes is my interest but so far only buying for my own son lol. Which area of yew tee?

@ jo: my husband always said no to filipino maid and said no way he would employ one. What happened? Maybe you can share your story so the we can help

hi ashley and snowball

thanks for your reply

my 1st and current maid:
-very discipline and hardworking
-clean and neat (but not hidden area maybe can't be help cos i always ask her not to do housework when my baby at home)
-things get missing (oshkosh new shoes, library books, HK notes about S$100 plus) but we have no evidence
-she sealed up the box to send home without letting me see what she packed (this was 2nd time she sent things back, 1st time she openly let me see and sealed in front of me). when i asked her why she sealed up so fast, she felt offended and told me that i can open it if i wan but i pretend i am just concern whether she packed enough things home
-get to know many other maids welfare/salary and 'share' with me,
e.g.
1) told me other maids getting 450, 500 and 600 above..etc. actually i am under pressure to give her 450 (her initial pay is 350 but i have already increased to 370 in less than half year to 1 yr) but later i changed job and get big paycut, i don't work OT and my bb is in full day cc so i pay her 420 upon her 2 years renewal (me actually asked her ok or not ;-p then she told me she checked with her fren, her fren said is still ok... me a bit 'qi kei' but maybe i asked for it hahaha)
2) threaten to go home when i was angry with her for keep changing return flight date (i didn't scold her but vent on other things but she is sensitive enough to know and didn't forgive me even i started to talk to her nicely). at the end she only agreed to stay on after i 'apologised' to her.... she said we must be open to each others...etc.
3) told me her fren took SQ home (i book jetstar for her)
4) told me her fren's employer let her use washing machine to wash clothes (initially i asked her handwash my clothes only but she insisted that she can handwash our clothes)

i am not sure whether i am sensitive cos i tot she is asking for more when she is sharing with me all these....

anyway i am still ok with her (provided she didn't steal things but maybe blur blur throw away things) cos she is still quite hardworking even after 2 years.

reason why i am sharing this because she is supposed to return from 1 month leave on tuesday but she called me in the afternoon that she missed the flight. she said said she tot she just need to be there 45mins earlier (but counter closed 1 hour earlier). i doubt this because when we were sending her to changi airport, she knows very clearly that she has to be there 1.5 to 2hours early. i did confront her but she said she donno, she tot 45mins earlier. she said she has no money to pay the ticket back, asked me to resolve. of course she knows that we need her home badly (my hubby took one month leave) cos we are very open about it but little she knows that we are so upset with her (cos we were so tired of the housework) that we have decided not to tolerate her anymore.

somehow i felt maybe fated that i can take this opportunity to change maid but last night she called and said she want to come back and asked me to wait for her till 25 Apr when her hubby receive his salary after she knows that i am not doing anything for her.

now i am not sure whether i should book ticket for her to return or just tell her we cannot wait anymore and get a new maid. BUT i really sympathise her cos i know she needs the money for her family... sigh....

actually i really don't mind to let her come back but i am thinking she might upset with me when i deduct her salary for the extra ticket cost (i am not giong to bear her mistake). if i tell her upfront, i know she is ok but when she return and i deduct her next salary, i feel she might not be happy...

any advice? many thanks.......

Hi Jo,

Few years back, I engaged Flipino maids but none of them last for half a year until I give up (issue abt day off, handphone, talk back to you). I start to engage Mymar and Indonesia maid, guess what they give us more problem than Flipino. Therefore now I only get Flipino and this current one is doing ok.

The only issue about Flipino is that they wanted day off and and holding on to handpone. If this two issue can be solve, than I advice its better to get a Flipino.

Hi Serene

actually i can still tolerate about day off and handphone especially now my baby in full day, i have no issue...

yeah i prefers philippino cos their hygiene level is better than others....

My advice is don't give way to them must be firm.

Previously I had one who keep getting advance pay from us, tell us that her children had no food to eat. Initially, we give her advance pay up to four mths, and yet she still asking for more. In another case the maid request to let her sms her family very night and spend so much money on phone call. She even lie to us that there's no value in her card (which in fact she has another card with $10 value with her)and want us to top up the card value for her.

From then on, I learn not to be soft hearted and be firm to say no to them.

Hi Ashley,

I am staying near to the stadium. How old is ur son? Maybe we can meet up one day... Ur interest is selling childrens clothes? Have you started selling?

Hi Jo,

That is a common problem with Filipinos and I guess, also the same with other maids. They always think that they are indispensible if you rely too much on them.

Pay-wise, my previous maid told me the same thing, thinking that I will sure increase her pay since she is helping my MIL look after my kids and also my BIL's son. But, I told her off that we will increase her pay only if she show us that she "deserve" the pay increase. In addition, she also asked for off-day after 1yr (stating that Contract state so). I took out her Contract & showed/ proved to her that Contract clearly stated NO off-days with $20 compensation. If she choose the off-day, I will deduct $20 from her pay.

Nx, she begged and begged us for a HP, promised to use only during her off-duty time. We gave in to her and in the end, she use it all day long (even in presence of my MIL).

She threatened to be transferred out upon contract expiry (do not want to continue with us). I let her go.....She found another employer whom pay her higher pay and also 2 off-days. In the end, this is her 3rd employer in 8 mths and she recently SMS me, apologised for all her "wrong-doings" and requested that I give her chance to allow her to work with us again. I DUN give her a damn.

In fact, comparatively, my previous maid is better than current maid. But, due to her attitude issue, I decided not to take her back.

My current maid is also Filipino, with us for 9 mths now. I insisted NO HP for her (Agent keep her HP so she cannot make noise) nor off-days. So far, we only allowed her 1 off-day to meet her auntie (also working her) who is going for home-leave for her to pass things she bought for her son and also to send $$$ home. She came home after 4hrs (altho' I gave her whole day off).

So far, she is still OK, but, cannot guarantee what will happen next. They can be fickle-minded and now that she has finished repaying her loan, she may come up with funny stunts.

I allow her to call home twice a mth (30min each) & I provide the calling card for her FOC.

I agree with Serene that you have to be FIRMED with your maid and do not give in to them too easily.

Maid went on homeleave and never come back - This is not uncommon. I have friends and colleagues who have such experience. One of my colleagues even booked her maid on Silkair return flight & pay her $1000 bonus when she went back after 4 yrs and she never appeared again. My advice - Dun take this maid back and look for another one.

@ Jacelyn: No i dun have time to set up the business but I love to buy a lot of clothes for my son, enough to open a small shop lol. May I know the clothes you are selling are from which countries?
Sometimes my mother can find nice made in Vietnam or Cambodia clothes for my son, those clothes are supposed to be exported to America or Europe but somehow (maybe illegally) come out to the market.

@ jo: my gut tells me that you should not take her back. I assume all the maid issue is due to luck. I don't generalize any nationality. Filipino is ok for me if I can find one that I can trust. With $420 you can easily find another one, hopefully better one.

My ex maid is indonesian. She really was a gem.
- I have no experience in maid salary so I just paid her $350 without day off as in the contract. No increase at all during her 2 year contract.
- Neat and clean. She took care of Damien whole day but my house was still so clean, even windows, cooked dinner and sometimes lunch for us.
- TOTALLY in charge of Damien, his daily needs and his bags when he went out. We even left Damien in her care overnight many times and not only for 1 night.
- We love to go pinic sometimes sleep overnight in the park (with her and D), she prepared everything and did everything for us.
- Never showed us attitude even after we scolded her or throwed tantrum.
-Very patient with D. Bought him presents during birthday, Xmas, etc.
-Can wake up in the middle of the night for D or even for us.
-Paid for her own things. Paid her own calling cards. When I bought for her, she insisted on paying me back.
-Best things: no TV, no hand phone, no after lunch nap.

Too bad she went back home cos after 2 year contract her husband and her MIL forced her to go back to take care of the 2 daughters (the MIL dun want to take care anymore). She used to call homes many times to persuade the husband but could not.

Just sharing with you to somehow make a justice for Indon maids. My in-laws' Indon maids also are very good.
My maid also knows other maids who stays in the same block and her SIL also works here. She knows what she was entitled to but she never asked for anything.
When we are in difficult times, paid her salary late she didnt even complain but kept telling me its ok, pay me when mam can.

But of course we consider her part of family, always flied with us to visit my home town, my parents and relatives/friends praised her too. And when we have extra money we will give her as some pocket money.

So Jo, find a new maid. You have chance to get a better one but if you stick with this one, no chance liao.

Ashley,

your maid is so good.

I didnt have maid myself.. Heard too many story till i dun dare to get any maid.

I do agree maid is by luck.

Jo,

maybe u wan to get another maid. Look like your current one have alot of request.

thanks for your sharing.

snowball, your colleague is really generous! 1k bonus!!! her maid is really very cold hearted....

ashley, wow... your indo maid is really really good! so there are good and bad maid, regardless of the nationality....

jappooh
i am the type get angry and forget easily... she really needs the money badly so i tot maybe i should take her back again... maybe she is my first maid, so i have feeling for her.

my gf is very kind type but after changing 3 maids... she told me her heart is hard liao... last time she dare not search her maid's bag, now she will do it.

sigh... let me think about it again tonight... *headache*

if i took her back ashley and jeraldine might see my maid sending/picking my son... heee...

Hey mommies... Anyone happen to realise that your child took back the wrong bedsheet?? I just realised that my son bought back the wrong bedsheet

Hi Jeraldin,

Its quite common to take wrong things back esp for older kids where the they do their onw packing.

My daughter brought back her friend's laundry bag and someone took hers.

It happened earlier this yr when their teachers start to train them to pack their own bag after shower.

But mine is PN class... It's the teacher who pack for them... Stella called me just now to say her colleague says that is my son's bedsheet...He has been sleeping on it the past week... And I'm like u mean he has been using the wrong bedsheet since early last week??? But seriously.. How can I not remember what bedsheet I bought??? Am abit upset by this incident... I muz go get those iron on to mark his name else I scare I will keep losing things

Hi Jeraldin,

U mean Mulberry do not use standard bedsheets? For my DDs' CC, they have their standard bedsheets and I write my child's name on the bedsheet (right smack in the center for identification):p

hi jeraldin

now u reminded me to get those iron on label for my no.2 i have been delaying for so many months.

this coming friday they have hortpark outing... all of u let your kids go? i actually called stella whether i can go along cos i am quite worry but stella said no need and asked me not to worry.... ;-p

They don't.. we will bring our own bedsheet... But anyway they called to say they found the one I described in his classmate's bag ... So at least I found mine and I'm feeling better.... Well i can understand that things can get mixed up in school but the most impt thing is muz be able to find back...

Yup I'm letting my son go this fri... I think will be fun coz my son likes Hort park... Anyway any mommies planning to attend their mother day's celebration???

jeraldin

aiyo my son is very suaku... he has not been to hortpark.

jeraldin & cutebaby
yeah, i will attend too... hope to see all forum mummies there... do we need to wear something so we can recognise each other? haha

Hi Jo,

My kids like Hortpark too....They like running ard there....I bet your son will like it there too.

But, going there in mid-morning or afternoon can be quite hot.

hi all! havn't posted for a while coz my family been down with flu, one after another...

serene: for doc, we like to see dr helena wong at e cck 24hr clinic op cck interchange. v patient and detailed, a gp, but sees many kids from gynae dr adrian (same clinic). downside is she's only on in weekday mornings..

maid: i prefer indons, feel that they're more humble.. even if work is not up to fil standard. maybe got scared off by my first maid a filipino. very attas, tried to give "advice" like massaging my tummy when i had bleeding during pregnancy etc and when i'm talking to my mum, she'll keep interrupting to give her opinion..

also prefer new maids so they have no basis for comparisions... 2nd maid tho indon, was experienced and always using hp, told us dun like to go out, prefer to stay home, dun like to look after kids etc, all kinds of nonsense..

my current maid is indon and new, had to train from scratch but attitude is gd and willing to learn...picks up fast and loves my children. fingers crossed she stays that way...

any mums with babies here? i'm abt to start my baby (6mths in may) on solids and wanted to buy healthy times cereal.. was wondering if anyone keen to share to buy their products. For purchases above $150, there will be a 10% discount. For purchases above $250, there will be a 15% discount. http://www.healthytimes.sg/
let me know if anyone wans to order together thanks!

Hi Littledot,

CCK 24-hr clinic - I used to go to this clinic myself as its one of my my Company's - appointed clinic. The drs and med they give quite effective. But, agree with you, waiting time is SUPER LONGGGGGGG.

Healthytimes baby food - I still have 2 boxes of HT Oatmeal Cereal. Both my DDs love this. But, they are now in fullday CC and do not take this anymore for breakfast (they eat in the CC). Does your DD take this? I can give it to you.

snowball

yeah... guess he will like it there... maybe i should prepare a hat for him tomorrow since it is so hot

calling ashley...

have you celebrated Damien's birthday in cc? did you go during snack time or lunch time?

hee thanks! any mummies heard abt cherie hearts at gombak camp? wonder if there's any gd review abt it coz quite convenient if i send my girl there...

I'm back
Welcome all new mummies!!

Hi Jo,

Damien was on leave whole week last week since we need to fly back to my hometown urgently. We did not celebrate his birthday in school due to this. We'll celebrate this friday (belated birthday). There will be 3 other kids celebrating on that day too...hmm...

Forgotten about the motherday celebration, so many things in my mind last week hehe

Geraldin, we dun bring bed sheet for Damien. Think there is an option to buy bedsheet from the school right? Or has he been using mattress without bedsheet? OMG I need to call Stella. Thanks for reminding me!

Hi Ashley

Thanks, I have called Stella. She told me if i wan to celebrate with the whole school, it will be 3pm. If celebrate with his classmates only, it will be 3:30pm.

Hi Jo,

If celebrate with whole school then you need to prepare alot of things?

I also going to celebrate my son birthday at school but not sure what to buy beside birthday cake.....

Hi cutebaby77, just buy a bigger cake and prepare more gooddie bags for all the kids.

We have actually prepared 60+ gooddie bags so now must celebrate for him anyway, otherwise very wasted. The problem now is that this friday there will be so many birthdays in Mulberry.

Hi Ashley,

You also celebrate with whole school? For the cake you need to order how many KGs? At the moment Mulberry got 60+ kids?

Hi Jo & Ashley,

What goodies did both of you put inside the party bag?

This is my 1st time celebrating my son birthday at school, hopes to get more info. Thanks

hi cutebaby
u know i am buying many cakes in the month of May.... one cake for DS2 on 14 May (actual BD on 15 May), another cake on 15 May (to celebrate DS1, DS2 and DH birthday with family) and another cake for DS1 on 21 May (actual BD on 22 May)... too many cakes, so not getting for my DH on 23 May ;p

Hi Ashley
ashley u prepared 60+ goodie bags?!?!?! wow....
how about celerating earlier this week instead of Friday then?

Hi Jo,

Wah!!!! May is your most busy month. Ok lah, you did buy 1 cake for your DH that celebrate together with family. Then your DS2 will just celebrate with his classmate or whole school?

Ok, then i need to start looking for the goodie bags item.

Hi Jo, ok we have confirmed shifting to this Wednesday. Actually I enjoyed preparing the goodie bags, nothing much, just some chocolate and cookies, hope the kids like it

Wow your house has lots of used-to-be May babies hehe.

Hi cutebaby, heard from my friends that you should buy 3kg cake.
I ordered for Damien according to size, not kg so I dunno how heavy it will be.

We decided to celebrate with the whole school because PN class only has 8-9 students. Some day I noticed that there are only 3-4 students in the class, maybe due to illness or some family issues.
So I'm thinking on that day if some PN kids are not there, it'll be very empty lol. My friend joked maybe not enough kids to stand beside Damien to take photos.

hi mummies...mi new here...am I welcomed? hee

mi staying at YT, have a boi 15mos who is such a handful these days!

tis is such an informative thread esp on CC & PG...coolz!