Chin Leng, PLS TAKE NOTE!!!

Hi Kanec,

Yes, we have sadly come to realise the real behind-the-scenes happening.

Chin Leng.

Hi Chin Leng,
I support your decision to restrict the particpation in Market Place,this is a better way then the minimum no. of postings rule.

The bulk of the traffic in Market Place is actually BPs of kids clothings,and most of them are obviously marking up.They are either the sellers(may be 2nd or even 3rd tier) themselves or tied up with the business and gaining $ from it.

After the new rule, they can still happily continue to sell, in the name of organising BPs.

I do feel that a ban of such BPs of apparels would be more effective. Mummies who are interested and don't mind to let the "organisers" earn some "handling fee" can continue to particpate in other means,such as Yahoo groups?!

Regards.

CL: just a suggestion, maybe all BP should list the supplier's Name. if any BP started without supplier, the thread should be just removed.

BPs like Amosco, they are from same supplier and BPs owners never fail to let mummies know where they took from and the contact number too. I guess its a better way?

JoshMummy,

Don't know leh...I don't know the market price. But she's adding more items...thus doesnt feel right to fix into BP lor.

Anyway it's up to CL to decide.

kanec: i always felt why cant they release supplier's name? why so secretive? maybe they just wan to earn a cut.

I am also very curious cos they keep saying received an email from supplier about this and that. But I never got this luck to receive such email leh.

I ever PM some to ask for their supplier's contact but either they never reply or they say they deleted already...

Recently I also asked a BP organiser for Anti-Mozzie Patch for her supplier's contact,
I wanted to organiser for Sengkang/Tampines mummies.
(Hoping to save our postage cost)
She didn't share hers too.

Carole, kanec,
I remember giving out my supplier's contact once when i did a BP.. I thought, since I have nothing to hide, why not give? But after i gave my supplier's contact, someone (whom i gave the contact) started selling off my supplier's products at a much higher price! So pissed off! So after that I stop giving out my supplier's contact.. If moderator ask for the contacts, I dont mind giving them, at least I know they wont misuse it.. But if a member from forum ask, I dont think i'll give.. Or else, there will be even more sellers in the marketplace..

Actually I have a suggestion, why not mummies with suppliers contacts forward their suppliers email to moderators (as an evidence) if they saw someone conducting BP at a much higher rate? So that with evidence, it will be easier for moderators to decide whether it's a genuine BP or someone making profit?

bliss: if u do see ppl selling at higher price, meaning that person starting the BP is out to make $, u have the right to report them to the moderators. There are ppl out who just rtying their luck to charge higher and being dishonest.

I agree tt organiser organising BP shld reveal the source, not only that, they shld state clearly the exchange rate, and how shipping cost shld be calculated so tt mummies who join the spree can hv a good estimate of the total cost and minimise discrepancy while paying up.

Leng Leng,
I remember in one of ur very recent spree on BB Cal + Desitin cream + 1st Tooth, u also state tt u wont reveal the source ... so why complain abt others when u r doing the same?

A few mths back when i wanted to join ur BP for desitin cream fr drugstore, i enquired how does the shipping cost contribute to a total of $15 for the cream (which is so much higher than what other mummies pay in their drugstore spree), u didnt answer my qn either, and instead u give me irrelevant answer like u might need to pay for GST or lost package etc.

Like most mummies here, u dont approve to spreeist making profits, and wish they can be more transparent in the spree/BP, so pls do what u preach.

Jus wana share this.. when i wanted to org spree for crocs.. i was indeed told not to reveal the supplier name cos the last time round, she received a number of complaints of her selling her crocs cheaper than other shops... Perhaps, the spree or BP organiser can email CL the email that the organiser has sent to them? & for such cases, only CL will know the actual supplier loh..

Jade,
You are still dwelling on it?
kao_yawn.gif

Hope this can console you a little;
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=2&post=1937740#POST1937740
Reason why I didn't want to share my source with you,
I don't like your attitude when u demand for the source.

I feel that you do not deserve my effort,
and I do not want you to join my BP, that's all.

As for the source to my recent BP,
if you ask me, I still won't review to you,
if the moderator ask, I'll seek approval from the organiser who shared the source with me.

Do ask around, I do share many lorbangs around,
taught a few mummies to start Sprees/BPs.
I will, if they ask me nicely.

Leng Leng,

I think u get my point wrong. I have never asked for the source of ur bulk purchase. I was just pointing out tt since u can state tt u r not going to reveal ur source, why complain abt others?

I m not swelling over anything, i m just stating the fact tt u were not transparent in ur shipping cost calculation. U were selling the desitin cream which u purchase fr drugstore at $15 while other mummies were getting them for $8-$9 in other drugstore spree.

I m not sure what "attitude" tt u r referring to. I kept all our emails correspondence, coz i m using gmail, no need to delete emails. All i asked was simple qns. on shipping cost. And in the last email of our correspondence, u even invite me to join ur next BP for drugstore, it didnt show tt u dont like my "attitude" like u mentioned.

I m not picking a quarrel here, and i dislike confrontations. But since u like to point out others mistakes, and mention how well u did ur BP, i feel tt i shld let u see ur own mistakes also. I believe u r really good to the mummies, coz i do see other mummies singing praises abt u. but i also know tt u r not transparent in ur shipping cost, and u indeed sold the desitin cream at a much higher price than others. I m just stating the facts. Nobody is perfect, and we shld learn fr each others mistakes. U really did the above, just learnt fr the mistakes, and practise what u preach.

A suggestion:

All who want to start a BP should forward the supplier's email stating cost/price to CL or the moderators and they will verify and decide whether the BP can start.

Hi Hello Kitty,

We considered that approach. What if we allowed a BP to start, then after a few days, we received another e-mail with a lower 'cost' price? There is no way we know which is the true cost price. Then what should we do? We've 'approved' the BP initially, now do we immediately remove the BP then. If we do that, it is likely many mummies in the BP will blame us for not investigated properly. Also, it is quite hard for us to keep track of 600 BPs and sprees per week. That is how many BP and spree in the category we get.

That is why, we hope to administer by charging a listing fee. We'll let the organisers decide if it is worth it to start a BP. Anyway, unsuccessful BP will have the fee refunded.

Chin Leng.

Oops! Allow me to correct myself:

To be fair to CL/forum owner, who indeed has costs to cover for running the forum, all who are interested in the products their suppliers forward to them should forward the supplier's email stating cost/price to CL or the moderators and they will verify and refer these suppliers to the rightful and legitimate thread - business thread.

This forum has been set up to benefit mothers. The least we can do is not to let suppliers abuse it at the expense of the forum organiser.

Hi Hello Kitty,

Thank you for understanding. This is what we hope to achieve.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

<font color="ff6000">...not to let suppliers abuse it (the forum) at the expense of the forum organiser.</font><!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Chin Leng.

Hi Chin Leng

U stated that unsuccessful BP will have their deposite refunded.

However, what if at the end of the day some organiser announced that the BP is unsuccessful, but they actually collect thier orders thru' emails. How are you going to justify on that and make sure that they do not abuse on this loopholes.

Leng Leng quoted below:

"Recently I also asked a BP organiser for Anti-Mozzie Patch for her supplier's contact,
I wanted to organiser for Sengkang/Tampines mummies. (Hoping to save our postage cost)
She didn't share hers too."

Leng Leng,

Firstly, I have not received any email from u regarding this supplier's contact issue. If I did, I will definitely make a check with the supplier's permission and consent before I can pass it to u.

I think it would be polite enough for you to resend me an email if you dun get my reply within the next 3 to 5 working days, right? Hope u understand that we are all either SAHM or FTWM, busy with our work, kids, housework etc.

I have tried few other brands over the market which are not so effective. I have came across this brand of mozzie patch from one of the mummies in this forum who has earlier shared after she has used for her kids.

Hope that u can check and re-confirm that the other party receives your email and refuses to share before u jump into conclusion to state this sentence "She didn't share hers too"

Hi Precious Moment,

I'm aware about the loophole but I believe it is actually more convenient and beneficial for the organisers to openly conduct it through the forum. I believe this potential abuse is less likely to happen.

Seriously, I won't be able to predict the future and I'll just have to adjust as it comes.

Chin Leng.

Hi Bliss,

No lah, then no one will dare to start BP and spree already. There are BPs and sprees which were not successful due to the lack of participation. It is only right that we refund the listing fee.

Chin Leng.

Someone might kill me for this... but if the BPs are causing so much headaches, why not stop them totally? It is diff for the mods to monitor what is genuine and what's not. And diff to assess if the BP organisers are profiting from it anot. All these monitoring takes up so much time and effort for the mods which can be re-channeled into maintaining the website better.

This forum started out as a form of "helpdesk" for those who is in need of advise, for those who can advise, for those to find companion for their growing bellies or growing kids... Maybe it should go back to its original purpose? Then no one can abuse this goodwill service provided.

I would HATE to see this forum shut down if the costs keep running too high to manage. It kept me going when I miscarried and supported me when i got preggie again soon after. More than my husband!! And it is really one (if not only) forum that is so active where others could get the support/help I gotten too. Although many have benefited from BPs, but I would suggest that the foundation of this forum should be kept in first priority, which is a support/help forum.

Reading the above posts, I wonder whats wrong with organising a BP with qty availability and sizes left stated out in the thread. Organisers can get supplier to provide this informations very easily if their stock is not in high qty.

Since the stock is limited, of course it will be better to get the stock status and state it in the thread, to make the organiser job easier. For my BPs, I even have mummies collecting their clothes from the supplier.

BTW, there are a lot of suppliers out there selling the same designs and brands of apparels so definitely there will be different offered price so how do we judge if organisers are profiting?

One organiser is telling me to choose other colours cos the supplier has no stocks for the colour that I ordered. Is this still a real BP / spree? I thought the organiser should ask the supplier for a refund (since supplier can't fulfill the order) but she told me no cancellation is allowed.

Hi Linda,

I agree with you totally. We would like to return to our first objective, which is a support/help forum, a large community of genuine parents and parents-to-be. However, we also recognise that there are mummies who like to participate in the BPs and sprees. I believe that some of the items sold through the BPs are really at a cheaper price and that would benefit the members here. As such, we implemented the $25 listing fee which we believe will reduce the abuse and number of BPs here, while mummies can continue to enjoy BPs.

If this implementation does not work, we are prepared to stop all BPs and sprees in future. For the benefit of everyone here, let's hope by charging a listing fee of $25, it would solve the current predicament.

Chin Leng.

Hi Taurus033,

With the implementation of charging a listing fee, we are actually allowing businesses to organise BPs too. We'll let the mummies decide if the BPs are attractive enough to participate.

It is exactly because we can't identify if the organisers are profitting, we've decided to charge a listing fee for all BPs and sprees.

Instead of stopping all BP and sprees (which would be our last resort), by doing it this way, we can still allow BPs to be organised for the benefit of the mummies here.

Chin Leng.

Hi Chin Leng,
I think most of the profit earning BP are from the local supplier. Do you think you can allow mummies to organise the clothing BP without cost for overseas purchase? Like Childrens Place BP? Dont think they can earn any profit as the price is stated in the web.

Hi Chin Leng,

I also hope that you can reconsider Deari-e's suggestion. I thruly think if is an open public website for cloths, I dun think there should be any profit margin involve.

Hee honestly spreeing also becm part of my hobby liao..keke. Really enjoy it as i can get to know many nice mummies.

Is it possible if you can allows overseas cloths sprees at no cost?

Just sharing my opinion.

In addition to dearie_e's comments, I hope all BP organizer should also refund any excess and not set a fixed exchange rate....

I hope BP for overseas sites can still be allowed cos many mummies benefitted from such sprees!