Childless Not By Choice Group

Lyn,
Bt u r not as insensitive as my SIL leh...Is there a rule tt the older ones must give birth first? No wat!!! U dun misunderstand in my earlier post..I said tt cos of my insensitive SIL and not u....
U dun get affected by her...children cannot compare one ok?

oh ya glad you like my sharing babyshower exp... felt quite happy when i first tried it out... so decide to share here....

hey if you gals have any good thing, must continue share share ya!

Rostrum, didnt got offended by ur post... ya actually i told myself liao if SIL got pregnant before me so wat... I will do my best to have a kid becoz DH likes kids and not because to compete with others... If she have also no need to hao lian la... cant tahan these type of ppl..

Rostrum, next time if she say this type of comment again perhaps i shld say to her this... "I think u shld quickly go and get pregnant coz u r 2 years older then me"... sound good?

Rostrum and Ling, ur MIL difficult to conceive suppose to understand ppl like us better right? As for my MIL strike immediately after marriage thats y they also think i m taking precautions all the while...

BabyG,

confirm my in laws are not sensitive at all. My folks didn't tell me and I only knew it when my mum told me much much later when I was bitchin abt the in laws with her. The things my folks have to put up with ... Duh! Best part my hubby don't control his parents even when he heard which made me a little peeved. My mum said when the in laws asked during the funeral my hubby was right there keeping quiet.

Abt the invite .. The kids had a great time but the childless couple had the most lousy time! Sian....I don't mind going out with them intact I enjoy it but to have to attend a parents seminar aka gathering so not my cuppa loh! Sometimes really have to consider whether they are friends or foe. Purposely want to corner you with questions and think they are advocate to motherhood trying to tame the DINKs like most of us here. I have a friend who does exactly that.. Anyway just have to deal with it.. I ignore the questions and she lived with it although I can feel the gloat like i and my hubby will never attain arelationship like a couple with kids. I dint interprete she said it word for word. Gosh it just typical of girls in my opinion esp when she see we are more advance in career year to year while she is sahm the streak to hurt due to jealousy or whatever she is thinking.

Lyn me too!! I always very low profile abt saying whether I want kids. Most of the time just avoid discussing even before trying.. Think is a horoscope thingy! Ha me also 32 this year..infact my 2 mcs we also didn't share with anyone except my own folks.

Rostrum, my mil big problem with conceiving. In fact some details cannot shared here because scare my sil if she ever get married will chance upon this thread. Anyhow just let them think what they continue to think. If she ever have the guts to ask me I will tell her the son got problem! Warn my hubby ald if he don't control the mum n let me get interrogate... Lol

Lyn and Ling,
Sama sama leh, think we must give ourselves some credit for our good common sense and sensibility..heehee…this kind of thing is really in the hands of the divine forces.

Tigi,
Please take your time to find your antidotes, it also took me different methods of trial and error to find peace and it was not a straight road.

K k, lets continue to share tips, everytime I kena nonsense, I also got a lot of feedback on how to deal with those big time losers

Rostrum,
U are a smart girl. I very stupid, when younger, like to sun bake myself and now really regret big time. All the sun damage starts to show in the 30s! Yes, agree that prof is willing to give the cream and not such a stone. Its just that I try to persuade him into giving progesterone injections during 2WW like what kk does but he said he does not believe in that merits of that. So I guess using more cream is an alternative.

Heeheee..u so cute, yes, we are the dark horses, the best part is that they will never know when the dark horses decide to come out of hibernation. Let them go and guess guess until they cannot tahan!

Ling,
Your mum is really a thoughtful and kind woman since she did not want to blow it up until really got no chance that time. Actually by make inappropriate enquiries during the most inappropriate time, your ILs are in a way bringing insult to themselves. Ur hb is most likely feel very paiseh inside also paiseh to aggravate it further.

Ling, your friend is showing the trait of a person like this: someone who is facing an internal struggle herself about the insecurity she has as she observes friend (s) around her living the kind of life that she believes she could be happier leading. To hide her self imposed insufficiency and lacking in that aspect, she seeks out what she believes that others don't have and she has and she attacks that spot as that will soothe her self imposed insecurity. Insecured people are often also very critical people. I know people like that who display the same traits as your friend. The best antidote for such people is to be assertive, when they highlight our perceived insufficiency in their eyes, tell them: Yes, kids are nice to have but I am ok with none. My life is complete such that I don't need another human being to complete it. And don't ever ever tell them about mcs or ivf. I only told friends I hold in high regard about my fertility challenge. I confided in a friend about such nonsense I got and she told me to hit their softspots too but I find that I cannot do that. Maybe not yet…*evil laughters*. I strongly feel that by being jealous of us and attacking us, there are poisoning their own souls and I believe deep down in their hearts, they are forever having this internal struggle and tormenting themselves. Let the losers continue to torment themselves and dig holes in their own hearts.

Hi babyG and Ling, ya some ppl are juz enjoy asking ppl abt wat having kids and why u dun want to have kids etc etc... I feel they r juz losers coz they may feel inferior to u in term of income, career or others... this type of ppl i hate them!

n not forgot there are also lot of people who like to fire questions like these when introduced to each other... Are you married? -Yes. Do you have any children? Some will straight away shoot "How many children you have?" -Silence. If answer is "no", kpo people will go on n probe, "How long have you been married?" & i ever encountered "helpful" aunties that even gimme tips on how to conceive! why do ppl like to assume children with married life? Invisbly i find these questions add pressure n stress to married couple like us.... seems to say we are social freaks that are out of place in this world....!! Sometimes It is these little things that add up that stress us up! Or am i too sensitive huh??

BabyG,

My mum is one of those scare that I offend the elders and ppl will say she never teach her children properly. So in whatever circumstances she will avoid making it difficult for me to face my in laws. Old School kinda.. if it happen to my daughter I think I will confront them loh! LOL! In laws are a bane lah..

Girls, Exactly loh! We dont need the pity these ppl are self inflicting on us. Unfortunately there will be ppl constantly like that in our circle of friends. Key is to act nonchalent and just brush it off.

Frankly after my mc, I become very sensitive abt asking ppl in regards stuff to personal life. I think we know the pressure so well so I will avoid putting other ppl in the same shoes. The adage " It takes one to know one" apparently is pretty true dont you think. I think it taught me some facts of life in the process of it all.

Exactly hate those kinda who just want to ask you to admit until you would be close to spill out yes I fertility problem.. happy!?

Really glad got a thread here so can vent!!

Ling, i think sensitive ppl will juz ask once and thats it. As for those kaypoh ppl they will ask and find chances to ask till u say something like i m trying very hard but still have then they will say like.... huh... ok lor...

Gals
when people ask me whether i have a kid i will say i have a dog! And if they insist further on how a kid is so much better i will list down the things in which a dog is better
1. Loves you UNCONDITIONALLY
2. No need to go to school, attend tuition, enrichment classes = cost savings and no worries
3. shit, pee, eat, drink by itself
4. I only need to bathe it once a week
5. no worries abt it being delinquent
6. cheap to feed abt 100 bucks for 2 months..
7. will always look cute and adorable
8. Will never talk back to you.
9. will be with you ALWAYS

ermm... reasons to have a kid????
really doesn't make economical sense...

hi, Ladies
I am back.Never have chance to post comment here due to the heavy workload I am having now. My boss is trying to drown me with all sorts of rubbish as he knows I am stuck here. Haiz. I am in my 14 weeks now and have few bleeding episodes till today, with the quite serious bleeding just last Sunday. But fortunately baby is ok.Not sure is it due to the stress or not, been having the persistent cramp these few days.
This is going to be a long post. Bear with me, sisters. hahaha, i really need a place to vent after these stressful days.

Ling
So sorry to hear to your losses. U'll make it the next. Lots of baby dust to you

Insensitive IL, I have it too. It's my MIL. She also has difficulty in conceive but yet she totally cannot understand how I felt. She can even comment like, at least I 5 years already give birth, but you almost double mine still nothing. So now finally conceive,I never share anything with her.She din even know how long I have conceived.She even tried to dig info from DH. But DH also never say much. hahahaha. I know I am being evil but I really want her to taste her own medicine.
My SIL in opposite is very understanding and never mention anything about conceive and she herself also has problem. When relatives ask my MIL about my SIL, wah, my MIL will defend till like no tomorrow. She will even complain to me saying, why ur SIL just married 4 yrs only ppl already ask y she din got child. She's still newly wed mah. Though I din say it out, in my heart I comment, when i just marry for 2 months, u already pester me with all those questions, even suspecting me having protection. Haiz, double standard indeed. Anyway, I just console my SIL not to think too much and if there's anything I can help, dun hesitate.

BabyG, going for holidays? so envy........
I also want to go for holidays for the last time as couple. hahahaha. But with my frequent bleeding, I really dun dare to take the risk. Hope still got chance for holiday before 6 months.

Rostrum, how're u now? Dun think too much about ur SIL's comment. She's helping to shift unwanted attention to her. Let her feel the pressure and you enjoy the freedom. Once u strike, she will envy you. hahahahah.

Lyn,u're preparing for the next cycle? jia you jia you. I have a container of baby dust for you, please sign the receipt

For the rest of ladies, sorry if I can't address one by one. Cos I am stealing some time to reply now. hehehehe. Now is a very crucial time as boss tries to pick on me and I've had few frens who had encountered such thing as well and ended being sacked. I dun want to give them any reason to do that to me.

Though i won't comment frequently here, but I will remember all the ladies here and you all have my support.
Be positive and lots of baby dust to all

Elle, i have signed the receipt and sealed with love. Thks, i wil jia you...

Liz, good reasons not to have a dog then a kid...but hor i dun like pets..

Lyn,
Ya...its a good way to tel her to go get preggie soon...haha...so bad of us..

Ling,
Me too..I also tel my dh off tt if he dun go and tel his mum tt he is the one whom got plm..I will flare each time my mil ask...cos they always tink tt i m the one whom got plm...act to me whom got plm is the same...bt the old folks always push all the blame to women...which I dun like...

babygalore,
No matter tan or fair, our skin will shows signs of ageing one..for me, my neck lines starts to show and I really regret giving little attention to my neck....Now oni starts applying neck cream which is too late...
Act I prefer progestrone jabs or more inserts during 2ww...though Prof begs to differ....bt he mention he will give me more support on my next try...

I m glad my frens stop asking me.....all of them noes the stress and unhappiness tt I hv went thru...and the pains just to hv a baby....bt I din share wif them the failed IVF tt I hv went thru though...I only hopes to share good news wif them one day oni...not sadness...
Act, I find the best way to react when ppl ask when we are going to hv a bb is to smile away and act ignorance...haha...

elle,
Nice to see u here....do take care ya...dun be too stressed..I feel nothing is more impt than the bb now for u...esp when we hv gone thru great pains jus to hv a bb....
Does yr boss noes u r preggie? If he/she noes and still gives y a hard time, I find he/she is simply heartless!

do u hv any nice soup recipes to share? those not too cooling ones? I m trying to cook soups every weekend...reason cos dh and I always eat out during weekdays and do not hv the luxury to enjoy home cooked food...so I try to cook soups...even though we were to packet back during weekends...we still hv the home cooked soups to take...
Thanks in advance ya!

Do u tink its safe to take enzymes while ttc-ing/IVF?
My fren gave me a bottle of kiwi and lemon enzymes bt wonders whether its safe to consume or not?

rostrum
don't really have recipes but some suggestions for u.

1. ABC soup - potatoes, carrots, onion and pork ribs
2. Chicken with canned button mushrooms or dried mushroons
3. ba ku teh
4. Fish soup - fish, tomato, tofu, ginger, spring onion
5. egg flower soup - just beat egg and add into soup with small silver fish or dried canpoy
6. wanton soup with cai xin
7. Black bean soup with pork ribs
8. peanut soup with chicken or pork ribs
9. Chicken herbal soup
10. minced meat ball soup
11. Liver soup - just add ginger, spring onion and liver

For the bean soup, use a thermal pot. i.e those japanese pot which u boil then leave put in a container and it will cook itself. save time and energy. can get at OG. should cost abt 50 bucks

Soup to avoid
1. old yellow cucumber soup
2. bitter gourd soup
3. winter melon soup

In general, add a few red dates into soup to counter the effect of cooling.
For fried veg with no meat, add one slice chilli or ginger. suppose to counter effect of cooling also.. that's why for vegetarian food always have chilli and ginger. that's wat my grandpa said.

Liz,
Wow!!! Thanks for the contribution! Tt is alot of varieties as compared to my usual ones...
The ones tt I cook frequently are:

- lotus root soup, with mushrooms, dried scallop & sweet corn
- carrot soup with onions and spare ribs
- pigtail soup with black beans
- pork liver with lean meat (I usually cook this after my AF). I will half fry the lean meat and pork lover with sesame oil first, then add water to boil for another 10 mins...

U can c hw miserable my varieties ah...

As for the thermal pot, we dun need to use gas? So we can get it from OG? Issit dark brown in color? Okok..will go check it out, sounds interesting...

U noe I used to cook old yellow cucumber soup for many years cos I like it so much till my ex-TCM shakes his head and ask me to stop immediately...I hv not drank the soup for years eva since I visit the TCM

O yes, please also avoid white carrot soup or the "chai poh" of the chwee kueh and carrot cake if we are taking chinese medi cos these are v cooling stuff and will dissolve wateva medi we take...

I normally fry veg wif garlic tts all...so must add a slice of chilli or ginger ah? I din noe tt leh...Is veg cooling? I m not aware....thanks for the tip...

Do u cook often? U seems like an expert...Hee...I m so happy to learn from u yeah...

Rostrum, thermal pot got alot of brands, the more ex one is Tiger.
I bot the brand Endo from Carrefour, 2.5litre at $49.
Don't buy too big a pot, buy one that is just nice for your family, so that the heat retention is better.
I bot the 2.5 litre and find it just nice for me and hubby. can cook soup, curry, red bean soup.
Put the inner pot on gas for 10mins then put it in the termal pot. will "auto" cook. For soup, normally i will heat over gas for 1/2hr and then put in the termal pot
Can buy from OG, Taka,NTUC EXtra most places sell

rostrum, lyn,
no lah. my grandparents use to cook everyday so had a wide variety of food to eat loh..

Rostrum
the thermal pot is made of 2 pots. u need to put the inner pot over the stove and boil the soup for abt 15 to 20 mins then put it in the outer container.. then it will continue cooking by itself. It will work for other things like dark soy sauce pork, curry, beef stew. You can also use it to cook desserts like gingko nuts, lotus seed. I have attached a pic.
3736443.jpg

no need to get the expensive one. the one that Gan mention will do.

Dunno abt the veg. that's what my grandpa said last time. so for vegetarians, better to put chilli or ginger when frying veg.

Btw, another easy soup to cook will be to fry the spinach with garlic, add fish ball or fish cake and soy sauce, add water and let it boil. and you can spinach soup.

Gan, u r back from phuket?

Liz, wow u r a lucky child to have great parents cook for u everyday. Now u must be thinking be a child urself better then to try making for one right... same here la... children no worries, grown ups so much worries...hehehe..

lyn i came back midnight after sat...too short a trip!! but enjoyable
Back to work, abit sianz....piles and piles of things to do =p

Lyn my menses never come....
But body temp is higher when i took bbt today..think my o is late.
abit crampy feeling too, so think af shld be here soon

lyn
totally agree.. being grown up has so much issues and headaches.

Gan
never come for how many days liao? try testing lah if your luteal phase is always fix. u never know.

Gan, do a HPT la u never know hor....

Attention ladies, there will be a gathering for ladies from this forum on 21 march sunday for breakfast and chit chat section. Myself, Liz and babyg is confirmed, pls let me know if u ladies wanna join...
Can sms me at 91734741 or post here.. waiting for ur answers and hope more ladies can join..

Gan,
U r back! Hw is yr phuket trip? Fun?
Ok...I will go check out the thermal pot hopefully by this weekend...
Thanks for the info...

Liz,
Thanks for the info!
Ya..I like spinach as well...another option to choose...

hi hi !!!

lyn, babygalore... *waves*

babygalore told me abt this thread she started and i HAD to kaypoh. hahaha..

i seldom log to this forum already.. cos lazy and nothing to say also lah.. like what lynn said. all graduated 1 by 1.. a bit xian to read also. hehee..

i'm scanned thru the previous postings in this thread.. u ladies are really strong pple... well.. although there will be bound to be ups and downs.. but u all can manage ur emotions so well. well done gals n i'm inspired by u all.. thanks for all the positive energy vibes..

Meow, u starting ur cycle soon right? Jiayou... Its sian to see ppl graduating but we r all to support and learn from one another lor..

liz, rostrum and lyn, my bbt is around 36.4 now, higher compared to the 35:8/35.9 i have been recording lor. Today 50plus days since last menses le. Abit phobia to take hpt la and i think likely not so lucky coz dh and I have not been babydance much these 2 mths. Too tired from work.

Lyn, can't join coz meeting friends these sun..next time ok!

Rostrum, phuket is fun!! Enjoy the snorkeling very much, ur cruise is next wed???

lyn can;t join this tm on sun coz got appt...njoy!!

gan, any signs of chaos in phuket ah? seems political unstable in thailand now...

been reading but not loggiing cos bz these days...

Gan,
Perhaps u O late...bt jus to play safe, its better to test HPT ok?

Its been a long time since I went Phuket...the last time I went is 4 years back! Haha...Nope...my cruise trip is end of Mar...Time to nua!

Hi meow,
Good luck!!! And jia you!!! Hope aft a chg of hospital will hv a change of good luck!

gan
how many DPO are you? if more than 14 days, can test leh.. good luck! btw, for those gals with PCOS, please try to take royal jelly. 1 spoon full every morning. use plastic or porcelain spoon. i think it works for me. my cycle seem to have shorten from 45 days to 35-36 days for most cycles.

gals
anyway, just some tips on food that i got from my friend
1. kiwi, mango, asparagus, avocado, peas, onions, corn, broccoli, cauliflower, peas are foods which are uses very little pesticide but food like apples, grapes, strawberries, celery, bell peppers, spinach, pears actually use a lot of pesticides. so it is better to eat those foods that use very little pesticides. guess it is healthier and cheaper option as compared to organic food.

2. when ttcing, it is impt to avoid raw papaya, banana and pineapple cause u never know when u might be pregnant.

Liz,
Gosh...I hv been eating apple everyday cause tt is the oni fruit tt I find not too cooling or heaty...jialatz...